Premature babies support group

Jane
my cousin is 28 now. hubby did sleeping test, that how they know he got apnea. CGH said his worst result of all 2008. coz of apnea, no matter how much he sleep always tired, headache, irritable, get sick easy. he has asthma since toddler age. hope my kids dun inherit his health. thk lifestyle impt too. eating, sleeping habits to ensure nuff rest/nutrition. have to start when young. hubby habits bit gila one

Hope Siang get better. think asthma - key factor is management. mum told me one fella went to see chiropracter then was healed of asthma. so now that guy bcome chiropracter as it did wonders for him

Joining this thread liao cos I delivered my boy prematurely at wk 31.3 at 1720g 7 days ago. he is out in NICU but now in SCU. now seems like everyday is a roller coaster cos got gd or bad news updates fr nurse. hubby delivered ebm early every morning and I only visit bb once a wk cos now I'm doing CL. everything came in unexpectedly and we were also at very loss. hope bb progress well cos he is losing weight and had high jaundice now.

hi afcai,
I delivered my boy at 34wk and he was only 1500gm when borned, even smaller than ur boy.. During his stay in SCN, he was also losing abit of wgt initially but after some nutrition drips and constant feeding, his weight gain was pretty fast.. My boy stayed 21days in SCN so I believe ur boy will stay shorter than that..

Oh, he also had jaundice and was put under the blue light for 1 whole day.. Dun worry about it.. As long as he is drinking well, sucking well, and breathing well, u can rest assure he will be back home real soon.. Meanwhile take good care of urself..

Hihi Mummies

Jerlynn is doing well, now waiting for her to grow bigger and to go home. She is now 1.840kg only
She is off her tube on 1st Feb and is being bottle-fed now, glad that she is suckling well...
So far so Good, hope she passed all the tests required for her to go home soon.
She is now gestational 34 weeks old, hope she can be back by end Feb...
After my confinement, I have been visiting her daily, instead of alt days, the more I visit, the more I miss her leh...

Wanna share something:

Today I tried bottle-feeding Jerlynn, I have not tried yet, my hubby was the one who tried 1st, he was very anxious to show-off
how good he is at that, keke...

I was feeding her well and she was sucking pretty fast and then I heard the monitor that detect Heart rate and Respiratory etc sounded, and the rates all dropping...I had a Scare and quickly stop feeding and try to burp her...she started to turn abit bluish and at one moment, I think she stopped breathing...I was So GanJiong and the Nurses were busy feeding other babies...
One went to wash her hands and asked me how Jerlynn was, I told her like not breathing...but she still took her time slowly to wash her hands...I was really pissed...luckily Jerlynn started breathing again about 15 secs later when I keep burping her...that nurse did not even came over and check on her...I was very disappointed with this nurse...simply don't like her since I stepped in the room today...she was the kind who u can identify as lazy and only speaks loudly and takes her time to do the things. She is non-chinese and can speak mandarin, she kept flauntly her fluency of the language, like waiting to be praised...disgusted...And you know what, I don't know what she is up to, like afriad the parents around to see her work...She actually asked me and hubby to leave and tell us it was passed visting hours already, when it as only half-past 8... True it is that the Visiting hours is 6-8pm, but she knew we reached at 7.45pm and just finished feeding our girl...hardly have time to look at her...and this is the 1st time in 35 days that we were asked to leave...we went before at 9plus 10 pm and no nurses have problem with that...

I was about to leave and I looked back and saw Jerlynn kicking on the wires that are attached and hindering her kicking, I walked back from the washing basin and put the wires to aside, and that Nurse commented, let her kick..
I think she is simply unsympathetic, and this is the first time I see a Nurse in SCN reaction like that...usually I can see other Nurses feeling warmth and smiling when the parents took extra care on the babies, I don't see it in this woman.

She was also feeding a baby and another was crying for milk...and U know what she keep saying to the babies...She said to the one she is feeding " Come on, be Speedy Gonzales, drink faster, you see another baby wants to be feed already, why u so slow..."Then she said to the other baby " See la, don't cry, always cry, this baby drinking so slow, I know you hungry la <baobei>" Maybe you girls find the talking above normal, but i don't like the sarcastic way she speaks to Babies who barely understand...

P/S: paiseh for the Long Story, really must let off abit, if nt very pek chek..

Something Happy next...My Girl's pic
With Tube : Taken 31st Jan
Without Tube : Taken 1st Feb
2131127.jpg
2131128.jpg

afcai,

Glad to see you here...It is indeed a roller coaster ride and I believe all mummies here have gone through what you did...Believe me, your boy is going to be fine with the expert care in kkh (Don't be scare by my story above, it's only this particular case and maybe I was too skeptical)...Every baby is a fighter here!!! That's what all mummies here have told me and I really believed.

Jerlynn was borned even smaller @ 29 weeks and 1.355kg, she has to be on the breathing tube for 6 days and had high jaundice that required 2 photolight machines, but within a few days it came down, all preemies will have Jaundice from what I was told, so not to worry. She also lost weight, which is normal, they are losing water and all babies will lose this few days after they are borned. Jerlynn even lost weight about 70-80grams in 7 days in later stage when she was taken off the warmer incubator and put onto opened-bed in SCN...I was told that was because they are trying to keep their body temp and thus burned more calories and fats etc. It only improved after Dietician came and gave supplements to her.

Only seeing your baby once a week will be very difficult for you. I went on alt days wearing long sleeves and long pants during my confinement days, seeing my baby progress leaves me in more comfort, and hearing from the doctors and nurses myself, puts me like battling with my girl together. I was told that as long as we avoid Rain and wind, going out but to stay indoors is alright. I don't know how you feel about it, but it is ultimately your choice...Take Care and get yourself nursed well, so to prepare taking care of your boy when he is back...

If you wish to meet me up at SCN for some chit chat, feel free to contact me...

Hi Gingal,

Jerlynn looks chubby and cute. with her weight now, i think by end of this month, she sure can goes home.

Have the nurse started to teach you all the preparation for yr bb to go home?

Any mummies can teach me how to load the photo?

When i uploaded the photo, a code was given to me, but when post the message, the photo cannot be seen.

tree_ice,
take ur time. maybe bryan is juz not ready yet. like wat jane say, once he started gg sch &amp; mix ard, he'll start talking faster

afcai,
same like tree_ice, my ger was born @34wks @1.5kg only. she's approaching 3 yr old soon... dun worry, ur boy will b good &amp; go home w u soon

gingal,
i read ur story oso frustrated w the nurse. scold her la. if it's my hubby, sure scold her 1. ur gal so cute..eyes big big hor? got double eyelid some more..pretty gal

dm..hahaha... cos ws can express her preference for long hair now..my gal still cannot talk so i just cut! cos she is afraid of heat! i also talk very fast..and i wonder if its bcos of that so she canot catch? :p re milk scenario, my gal will keep grapping one water container and another, keep playing.... no response no matter how much i prompt... if she is very hungry, she will twist and turn and cry.... sigh...

costa, i am going pte therapist for assessment first.... i just hope tat it will be good news (that she is just slow and will catch up dont need therapy).... my concern is tat she might have some 'illness' or neuro issues... u mean kkh got pte ones that dont need to Q long?

tree ice, same thing, my gal mumble very early..but till now... she can said daddy, but not mommy, not mum mum (eating)... my gal does not even say yes/no, nod the head... sighh ..wah ur camera very good! very fast ! ahaha..thats why till now i dont dare to teach 'eyes' afraid she will poke my/her own eyes! :p

jane, like tree ice, my hb seldom talk at home,,either do work or watch tv... only me like siow po talk to myself/kate..

afcai, wahh..u make it sound like i force u to join this thread like taht.. :p

gingal, talking abt the more u see ur gal the more u miss her..yest quite paiseh, i was at foodcourt for dinner (will fetch my gal after that) then heard another kid cry that sound like my gal, i almost cry in the food court..so paiseh :p re the nurse..i guess nursing is like teaching, alot of dedication needed and not every nurse/teacher have the passion that we ('customers') wanted.... next time u just buay paiseh lah, nurse tell u to leave, u say 'leaving leaving' but just stand there loh :p

xiaowanzi, din hear fm you for a long time..glad tt everythgs fine wif yr boy.....me also not sure..just browse for the photo and then preview and see if its out...

afcai,
hv faith...my son was born at 750gm now big boy already 2 plus..so hang on there and be strong...

bloom,
i thk kkh has speech therapy too....but maybe nd reference letter??maybe u can check wif ktse's neo nat or the rehabilitation centre at the basement...

hw old is kate now?

afcai
my baby born at 1kg at wk 32. i noticed that it tend to take some time for her to adjust before the growth is more constant. at first the growth was lost weight till below 1kg,not gd, then later more steady. her pattern for weight gain tend to be bit-bit-then-lot. had jaundice for few days. hang in there

gingal
heartpain ah. maybe u wanna complain? so cute lah ur baby, chubby too

Wow so many posts to go through, I just browse through.....Many good looking babies and toddlers here....all so handsome and pretty.

afcai
Welcome! Your new born has good wt at 31wk +...loosing weight and jaundice are common in premies. He will be alright!

All mummies with newborn at home during CNY .... I'm sure your babies added most joy and fun during this season .....

Tree Ice
Throwing tantrums .... more to come.....will tear us apart eventually yet laugh until close to tears at times.

Joanna
Jia You!

Jane and Xbliss
Your toddlers still looking alike .... are you related somehow ? hahaha

bloom
KKH has speech therapy .... to address your concern on yr girl's speech....previously I also had the same concern as yours. A was slow in speech until last year when I put her in MIL house, then she was 3 yrs 2 mths already. I was pushing KKH speech therapist to put her in special school but was refused always as she kept saying that A is just lazy/shy to speak, and true enough, she is bilingual now...chatting non stop...so be patient. As long as your girl can understand and carry out the tasks as per your instruction, she should be alright. Like you, I also speak very fast so I bet A did'nt pick up fast fast, but in my MIL house, there were a handful of children there daily, and that's where/when her speech improves tremendously. Children learn faster amongst children. Jane is right here!

DM
Tomorrow is A's birthday but this year we had a BIG celebration at her request last Sunday. We have close to 100 guests as we never celebrate her birthday previously. We engaged a magician and had Mickey Mouse theme deco, cake, gifts for children etc. Mickey Mouse is what she likes now. She participated spontaneously and she was so happy and high. Tomorrow I will be bringing cake and goodie bags to her school. I find all these damn tiring for the parents ... but boh bian, we just want to bring joy to our child at the end of the day!

Parents are damn 伟大!

Afcai
No worris your baby will be home soon jiayou ba.

joanne
Ya I gt same pro here I also scare I ren till too late wait pop at home.From last night I stop my medication le as gynae say its ok to pop now le my baby is 35 week tom weight 2.4kg so very safe I ask him him is very confident baby will come home with me if I pop so I decided to stop mine medication just let nature take its cos.I think will nt hang for very long since morning I keep having contraction just waiting see when cannot ren than go hospital le. Jiayou ba

Will update again if pop haha.

precious,
wow, mickey mouse theme. ws oso requested a mickey mouse cake. but i told her cannot. but will try 2 make the goodie bags mickey mouse bags. oso looking 4 stuff 2 put into the bag, saw a nice little toy frm toy's'rus..maybe will buy tat 4 her frens.

wanted to wait till tmrw then wish angel happy birthday, guess can do it now? u bringing her out tmrw? we thinking of celebrating ws' bday in sch 1 day earlier, cos we took leave on her bday, planning 2 let her skip sch &amp; bring her out.

hope she hav an enjoyable day tmrw &amp; wish her health &amp; happiness

Caca

Doctor ask me to stop my injections first. She thinks the medications is enough since my contractions appears to be better. Yesterday got another attack of contractions. I can't wait till I'm 35 weeks like you. At least I know it's safe to go anytime. Right now, It's so worrying everyday.

Gingal

Jerlynn looks so cute.
About the breathing problem when feeding, you better let the doctor know. I saw a documetery on preterm babies on discovery. There is one baby who turn blue when feeding. There is some problem with the heart. There is a blood vessel that is suppose to close but for most preterm babies, the blood vessel is open. Thus the blood flow to the lungs and cause breathing problems.

Joanne
I understand how u feel that time when was 30week gynae told me my cervix open i was so stress every day also dun dare do big business as gynae say if baby still small than my cervix open baby will drop out . Until 32week that time contraction became serious No choice gynae had to admit me for drip to stop contraction that was i think the worst as when in hospital reali total bed rest lor cant even stand up reali torture to me i also spend me cny in there but lucky manage to hold on till now last night saw gynae he allow me to off medication and let me down to walk is reali a big good news for me but of cos again hope to pass 35week which is tom. Jia you i can do it so can u just bed rest lots. Hugs

xiaowanzi,

You try to resize your pic, it has to be i think 400 x 600... too big cannot load.

Yah, I have already started the "Preparing to Go Home" Lessons twice weekly for 2 weeks, and Nurse also showed me how
to bathe my baby and hands-on will be this Sunday. Also CPR lesson this Saturday...I don't know what else also, but the
nurses are very actively telling me once they settle the schedules for me to be in...

dm,

scare scold her liao later she bully my baby...she looks like a bully to me, very rough kind...

Bloom,

so cute ah, when other kid cry u will identify with your girl's... I can imagine that...I also heard b4 that when we are lactating and hear other babies crying for food, we will leak milk...When i was expressing milk in the nursing
room at the nursery, I can produce more also... Maybe it's Mother Nature...

I didnt leave immediately... i stayed for another 15 mins... other nurses in the room very nice, I think they don't like the nurse i'm talking about too, cos when she talks, no one answer her and not even grant her any attention too...

Re: Going Home

I am getting a little anxiety on getting my baby home. My hubby has decided that we will move in with my Parents-in-law for a few months so that my MIL will help me take care of my baby with me. The thing is, my MIL is also looking after his Sis's 2 kids, who are staying with my MIL 24/7. His Niece and Nephew often get Flu/Cold and Cough, which also often spread to the adults (My FIL and MIL)as the kids sleep in the same room as them. Apart from that, my MIL has alot of friends in the neighbourhood, and they visit
her and spend time in her house for some chit chat, when I was doing my confinement there, almost all of them will ask to see baby as they thought baby is back. Then some of my FIL friends will come in the evening to play MJ, these uncles and aunties smoke in the living room. Not only that, as my MIL is a respected figure not only to Friends but also to Family, alot of my hubby's aunties and uncles/ and cousins also will visit her, and they are especially concern and keep talking about once baby is back, they are coming over.
I feel a little unsafe for my baby to be there, as my MIL is a rather nice person, I don't think she knows how to reject them coming over. I think my PILs can reject the MJ games, but will not be able to reject the visitors... They might think that as long as the visitors come and don't touch baby will be ok liao... but I am still afriad of what virus alot of people will bring in with them to affect my tiny baby.

I really wish I can bring my baby back to my house, more space and more privacy...and less exposed to germs...but am afriad I can't handle house chores and baby alone...anyone can share your experience? I told my hubby that I can only compromise to stay there for the 1st month and to bring baby back Home every weekend, if he wants me to stay 24/7 for months, I don't think I can take it. Another thing is, my own Mum and dad also don't feel comfortable to visit me in my PIL place, though they have no issues with them, but it's just the case of familarity...thus even as much as my Mum misses me during my confinement, she only visit me like twice for 5/10 mins during that period. My mum always stays at my own place on Saturdays from Morning til Dinner time... Now my Parents also visit their 1st Grandchild in the hospital for alt days..I feel sad that they will get to see my baby less if she is at my MIL's place, therefore my decision to bring her back every weekend...
My hubby seemed rather unhappy about my decision, and I don't want to make things look bad, but if it benefits my baby, I will still do it!

Soon, I might get some form of depression just by going through all these in my thoughts and trying to compromise to all these. I am already quite depressed with these issues during my confinement month, though I don't show it or told anyone except my best friend...I was very desperately sad when my friends and relatives wanna accompany me during that month and visit me at my own home, but changed their mind when they know that I am at my MIL's place...Only received their gifts and gift money...I can see that happen again...i only have support from my own friends and family over the phone...

Anyone can share your experience in bringing your baby home, and how to handle similar situations like the above?
Anything that I have to take extra caution on and I need to stay Firm at?

Joanna,

yah you are right, my baby has a tiny hole that is not closed yet, at least from what I last know as they have yet to do another scan to see if it is closed. The doctor told us that all Preemies has it, just depend on whether some has it big or small...What Jerlynn has is rather tiny and is supposed to close on it's own, no operation is required. He will do another review and see and let us know before she goes home.

All preemies also will forget to breathe when sucking and swallowing, thus I think ytd was because I wasn't careful and she was sucking too fast and too long...I shld have stop at intervals for her to breathe.

Caca
Hugs Hugs. Sobs.
It's a really tough time for me now. Hope time will pass by really quick. I'm glad to know you are doing great. It's a great comfort for me.

Gingal
How about hiring a part-time maid to come during weekends to help you? It's not good for newborns to be exposed to germs and smoke. Also the noise level is pretty bad. Plus your girl is preterm. So getting flu or cough is bad for her.
That's why My mum ask me to spend my baby's first month at home first when he's born. My mum is baby sitting 2 of my neighbour's kids. So she's afraid if they get sick, my Nigel will be sick too. My MIL will be getting a part-time maid to help me out also plus the confinement nanny. After that my mum will look after my Nigel.

Joanna,

I was told by the doctor to restrict being exposed to too many visitors and ppl for at least 3 months. My MIL thinks that to do that to keep us with her for at least 3 months, but little is she aware that she has more people in her house than my house. My hubby suggested keeping baby in our room in my MIL place, but I think my baby needs fresh air loh...

My intention is like yours... but though I feel comfy that way, but I don't have understanding people like yours that agrees with what I think...

As much as I want Jerlynn to be back... I also wish she can stay longer in the hospital... It seemed like a safer environment than if she goes back...

dm
I'm taking leave tmr and will bring the cake (i did not order mickey mouse cake for tmr, intend to just get it off the rack) to the kindy at 10:30am, this is the time they take a break. Too bad, hb is outstation but it is in my heart that I want to spend time with my daughter perhaps after her nap. Her session finishes at 11:30am and according to my MIL, after shower and lunch, A will sleep. Hey, I'm using the Mickey Mouse party bag for the goodie bag.....

gingal
I informed all relatives that they are not to come to my house to see baby except PILs and my parents. I make sure that they wash their hands etc. before going into my girl's room then. For those who came impromptu (sure have some), I ensure that they are virus free, then they can enter the bedroom. I'm damn strict on this cos SHE is my daughter and if she fell ill, we suffer and not the visitors. At that time, I have a maid. Most people who care for you and baby will be very cooperative.

I took pictures of baby and show to the relatives periodically.

precious_one,

My situation involves another party which I don't wish to make things look bad... I can be strcit and am very strict and bossy to my own family and relatives and friends, but to his family, I always try to compromise, as tongues wagged, and this has maintained for 10 years...Now coming to my Baby's situation I'm at a Lost!!! If I can be in my house, I will be like you and everything will be solved, problem now is, I am asked to stay in my MIL's place where I have no control of everything, from minor stuffs of finding things and using things in the house...based on manners, i have to ask to get something right? And her place is crowded...

gingal

You are wrong, hospital environment has the most viruses. That's why until today, I will not bring my girl to visit anyone in the hospital except for her own medical appointments. Upon reaching home, I make sure I gave her a good shower and change her clothes including mine and hb's.

When baby is at home initially, everything to be used on her have to be super clean. Even if parents want to touch her, please wash hands. If hb returns right after work, make sure he takes his shower first, change into clean clothes before touching the baby. This is what I was taught by KKH docs and nurses 4 years ago.

I wash my hands until they turned so dry ....
Until now, I think it becomes a habit.

gingal
You have a tricky situation actually, get the neo nat. to talk to your hb to let you stay in your own house. They can do a very good job. Then get yourself a part time maid to do the housework while you care for your baby until you return to work!

When you need help, you can get your MIL or mum to come over ....

gingal

You should have a talk with your hubby and let him know your concerns. If it doesn't work, maybe you can try when you are with your hubby, in front of him, purposely get your doctor's advice about your baby being around young children, lots of people and smoke, ask what precautions to take. Maybe hearing it from the doctor, your hubby will change his mind.

If really no choice and you have to stay in your MIL house. Let her know your concern about letting too many people in to see your baby. Let the relatives know it's the doctor's advice. They will understand. Get a hand sanitizer for those who wan to see your girl. You have to be firm about this.
You have work so hard and gone thru so much to get your baby healthy and out of the hospital. No point going back home getting sick and going back to hospital again.

wow many posts...let me reply tom. now my laptop keyboard "k", "m" are spoilt so everytime i type those letters have to copy n paste...very jialat.

anyway, so many cutie photos here! siang, bryan and craydon!

gingal, when dash went home, same here, i was very protective towards him. my mum in law is like urs, very hao ke, her relatives fr indonesia will flood here and see my boy, n i was very unhappy. at that time, my parents and in laws wld come my place to help. they took turns to do so.

Now with my gal also, they take turns to come...but after confinement, dun think they will come anymore, and i have to handle gal myself. I dun think u have to worry too much, by the time u are alone with your gal, you die die also have to noe how to handle. Like me, i also fear whether i can handle baby alone, but when I am alone with her, die die also have to noe, change diapers, feed, bathe etc.

first 6 mths best not to expose baby too much as advised by the nurses right? so do wat you think is best for ur baby.

for housework,why dun you employ weekly cleaning lady if you dun like maid. I m doing that now.

Precious_one/Joanna/kkf,

I think I will really need a Third Party to speak with my hubby... I will see if the social worker can help...

gingal
Get the doc. to talk to yr hb. Social worker not so convincing. Neo Nat/Doc. knows the condition of your baby best. Good luck!

Perhaps my girl was long staying guest in NICU and discharge at NICU, so both hb and I get to hear the message on importance of not to expose baby to viruses etc etc etc from NICU nurses every now and then and both of us became very protective over our girl....

precious_one,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ANGEL!!!! MAY ANGEL STAY HEALTHY AND HAPPY FOREVER! and wow! wat a big party! can we see some photos here to copy copy ideas for bryan b'day next yr?! hhehe.

Gingal,
beautiful jerlynn! so proud that u made it there everyday. Me too rain or shine go twice a day somemore. Not to forget lug the heavy pump everywhere. Mummies are indeed wei da like wat precious one says.

Yes their overall coordination still not so good cos they lacked the time to practise in our tummy, so have to stop every now and then to burp. When i started bottle feeding, i kept looking at the monitor.. haha. until the nurse scold me.. say must learn to see the bb color.. honestly until now i still dunno how to see.. but i KS, every 5-10 sucks i pull the bottle out and let bryan breathe.. hahaha.

I think our premies mostly have hole in heart. Bryan's cleared by the time of discharge. While there may be minority that may result in feeding issueds like what joanna says, i think the kkh docs will monitor closely so no cause for concern.

I delayed Bryan's homecoming for a week as I had just shifted into my new house. Was determined to care for him and do household chores on my own. I m not the most hardworking mum, and my area very dusty cos still a lot of renovations going on. I know the docs mean well, but really, babies dun need 100% sterile environment to be healthy. I had visitors and bryan was fine. I was happy to be on my own to bond with bryan. Trust me lah.. do what you think is right. Stay with mil got good and bad..i know for sure they will want to handle bryan, and having built such a close bond with him at NICU/SCN i was not prepared for that. I dun like her style of caregiving anyway so i wanted to avoid conflict. I stayed on my own and felt happy! i never regretted!!! Like wat kkf said, can always employ part time help or confinement lady.

me loaded with work.. but think i missed replying some msg so here i am haha

day-c
yup the lung doctor also told me astma is all about good management. that is what she belief and what i try to practise for siang lor. hopefully (still hopeful) that he will outgrow it. i met a few parents (with astma kids) and they also told me good management is important.

I am very diligent in doing the puffing routine to make sure that siang does not cough/wheeze and he recover within a short period.

Don't worry, i am sure your kids will be fine

I ever ask the lung doc if its necessary to do the sleep test for siang but she deem it not necessary.

precious_one
haha, well me and xbliss may be related somehow hehe (dunno ler haha). oh Happy birthday again to Angel
cheers!

bloom
re speech; if you ask me (my own 5 cents of opinion as a mother who kid - siang has hearing impairment), so long that the kid responds to your command/instructions it should be ok if he/she is not picking up speech. kath is not attending school right? perhaps its time? can try send her to half a day school? she may give u some very big pleasant surprise ;) but nonetheless, if you felt that it may be better to seek some professional adivse, it will be good too.

gingal
i read about your experience with the nurse. don't be too upset.

oh i gotten say Jerlynn is pretty and pretty! wow her eye so big and somemore double eye lid. charming ler. cannot help but love her

when siang first came home i aso was quite protective. but in fact is my care giver (my mum) who say cannot be too clean but then i still very much insist on cleanliness (until now :p at my own house haha). like what precious_one say, when siang was in hospital, the nurse always trained us to be clean (wash and wash hand) so... up until now, i still insist on being clean :p - sometime my mum cannot tahan me

costa, kate is corrected 2 yo (actual 26 months). i am thinking if need long term therapy then get referral letter from polyclinic for subidised rate..see how it goes...

preceious_one, my nanny's pl have 3 kids of her own, and she is attending 2 hr playgrp daily... wahhh...100 guests? it must be real busy and stressful for u! Happy birthday to Angel!!!!! Pictures pls!

caca, good luck and welcome to motherhood soon!
keep us informed ok!

gingal, eh? why u got to attend 'going-home' course..last time i never have that... hehehe... good..must asset ur right to stay awhile more..so long as we are not interfering with their work (i am bad hor :p). Will ur PIL be taking care of ur bb after u go back to work? How old r the other kids? Cos if the other 2 are still quite young and dependent, can they cope with 3 kids? Good suggestion from the rest re asking doc to speak to ur hb... like that u can be hao ren and hopefully get ur way too! Last time I have to argue with hb re this, thankfully I 'won' in the end else I have to travel 1.5 hour one way everyday to pass my bb to my MIL.... If PIL is just helping out these few months, then u have to get 2 sets of everything and 1 set will be 'unused' after those few months...worth it?

chloegal, ahha.happy bd to u too! :p

jane, as mentioned, i am ok if she is just taking her time..my concern is that she might have memory issues... hopefully my fears are unfounded.... at times like this, i really wish i got those MMI childcare background so that everyday i can have interesting ways to engage my gal and teach her language... ahahahha

bloom,
oic..hp the session wif the therapist helps...but dun thk it shld be long term bah....?

my son is still gg for OT sessions at kkh....next session is in mid feb...

why u worry abt memory issues??cant be related to talking bah?

bloom
i see. for me, siang been seeing the speech and audio therapist since young. so i just pick up some simple skill (have not really manage to follow all the method that they taught me) they advised me. mostly is to talk and talk and sing and sing and read lots of book (lesser tv), encourage siang to speak up. input more narrative words and set a target by when and by when he must know and able to speak up how many words...

kath will do well. hope the session with the pte therapist will bring you some tips

bloom
oh i forgot to say.. the speech therapist has kind of give a open date for siang appointment (thou if need be i can turn back and ask for help). right now, they are quite ok with siang progress and now the thing is for me to send him to school..

noted that kath is on 2 hour play group
erh may i ask if the did the teacher highlight anything to you with regards to kath speech

Finally get a new keyboard...!Typing is a lot easier!

First, happy birthday to dash gf angel!!! happy birthday! muacks! kiss from dash. haha.

realised jane is very you xin, always take note of whose babies are born in the month and wishes them happy birthday. Me a bit lazier...hee...wish all feb babies happy brithday!!!

Bloom, dun worry about kate speech, i remember i read before that the top scholar for one of the year psle speaks only when he is 5 years old. but on the other hand, i must alert you first, my friend's son also speaks late, he was diagnosed with autism. Not to scare you, but it is better to bring kate for a check...cause if choy! any problem, early intervention is good. If all the checks are cleared, then you dun have to worry that much, maybe kate is just taking her time to talk, and who noes she may be the top scholar in future!

gingal, hope u and your hubby can work something out.

Strangely, i am very protective towards dash when he came home, but for my violet not so protective liao though she is also premature. Even going to throw one mth celebration for her (intend to have no more kids liao leh, if i dun do one mth for violet, i dun have chance to do any in future for my kids liao). Will be celebrating one mth next sunday. And yah, i still remember gathering for us here! most prob in march, k?

Gingal, btw, saw your post about the nurse. which nurse is that?

kkf
you are one happy mum ;) can sense it. really happy for you
thou u must be pretty tied up with dash and violet

no la (pai say), just that i have the habit of checking my 'own' birthday calendar list

oh yes, must throw a one month celebration for violet. you and her have work very hard (with dash). so really deserve to have the one mth celebration. its harvest and enjoyment time for you and your family.

wow this sunday violet is one month liao. time flies

re our gathering, hehe sure, u just let us know when
- at your convenient time

jane, i am one stress mum. a bit at a loss on coping with two children.

I am so busy watching over violet (dunno why till now i still scare of things like apnea, haha), pumping milk (going to give up liao), sterilising bottles, changing diapers (wow violet can poo so many times!!), surfing net (can't kick this habit), caring for my own self etc, basically no time for poor dash...
he is a pooor boy, i kept scolding him, cause he is getting so naughty, and during nites, his nose always got block, and he will be kicking and screaming, and i will be yelling at him cause i am one tired mummy...poor boy, guilty.

I really think I am neglecting him.

I have difficulty coping with 2 kids...

btw, i dunno why recently dash nose got block at nights and he will be sniffing and feeling so uncomfortable. his teachers at childcare also say he will suddenly wake up and cry due to block nose during nap time.

is it a cause of concern? thinking of bringing him see doctors...dunno if any prob with his nose?

thanks precious, i oso went k.palace &amp; bought the mickey mouse goodie bags
now thinking of wat to put inside. wow, u good har, nev celebrate angel's bday in sch, but still give goodie bags 2 the kids..

hope i'm not falling sick man..but feeling q bad.. ws' cough still on/off. ltr hav to bring her 2 doc again!!

kkf,
do u hav air con in his rm? ws oso coughing &amp; hav nose block. hubby say, her nose block, so she breathe thru mouth, then make throat dry, then cough. sigh..really hope this time can really cure it. ..4times in jan man!! she's like, recover alrdy for 2 days, then started coughing again. 3 x alrdy

kkf, disneymickey
siang was having runny nose and cough since last week. but since this monday he is like on path to recovery.

i pity them when they have block nose. siang also will alarming wake up (in the middle of the night) when his nose block.

kkf - you are still in confinement. must take good care too. i think really not easy to handle 2 kids hor

Bloom,

I'm a SAHM, for at least for a Year...Not intending to go back to work until next year. Hopefully financially-wise can
cope, if not then gotta make plans to go back to work earlier. Yes, initially was the plan that my MIL looks after my baby
when I go back to work, I agreed to that, and thought it was really nice of her willingly to take care with 3.
But now I am having a Preemie, alot factors are different, esp. when baby's immunity is low, and shld not be exposed to too much virus, ppl and noise...unlike if I am having a Full-Term baby, thus I still feel that my own House will be a better environment for baby to grow.

MY SIL's kids are aged 8+ and 3+, though they are quite big liao, but they are very dependent...i.e. the older one sometimes still needs to be spoon-fed..!!!
That's how they are being pampered. That's why I see no difference in how much my MIL can help me if I move over, as in maybe I don't need to do the laundry and prepare my own food. But yet again, washing the clothes in my house is more convenient as I have a better washing machine and I use Dryer, which means dirty laundry only needs about 1.5 hours to get washed and dry.
What I'm getting worried now is, my MIL is keen on taking care of baby, I think I might end up doing the laundry and other chores and not being able to handle my baby that much as I would like to. I hate doing the laundry there as the bamboos to hang-dry the clothes are always full and I hate hanging-dry clothes. Food-wise I can't expect my MIL to cook what I like to eat and buy what I wanna eat, whereas I can always cook what I wanna eat at my own house. I think I will be rather miserable staying there, though we have no direct conflicts, but being too nice to each other sometimes is difficult also.

BTW, my FIL fell sick again... down with Flu... When my hubby knew his dad caught flu again, you know what his first reaction to his mum is ? He said "Huh, why Papa sick again?" I can see his worry...
I think was spread by my SIL's 2 kids as they were having it during CNY!
This is what I am really worrying about, they always get sick and it goes round and round. My hubby knew that his dad is sick again, and he agreed ytd that if anyone of them fell sick when baby is there, we will move back for a few days until they recovered.

But I don't see it a point in moving around, why make it so troublesome? I got a guess that since his Mum already thought she will be looking after the baby since Day One I am pregnant, as much as my hubby understands that it's not a good environment there at her place,
he does not know how to go about telling her that we will be bringing baby back home to look after ourselves. It also happened when we wanna
move out ourselves after staying with them for 3 years. But he took the step to tell his mum and I was never happier...
She also understood and our relationship remained good...I'm sure she will too now at this situation, but I cannot be the one telling her...

Knowing my hubby, I can only see this as a reason... Now I can only Pray that he will realise what is good for his baby...

Suddenly as Baby is approaching Home Soon, I don't seemed happy at all... I have went through so much in having this baby and have not shed a tear and always smiley and positive despite all the roller coaster events...BUT not now.....

BTW, yes, already started buying 2 sets of everything and really it's a waste I feel...