Premature babies support group

Me and Craydon has recovered from cough and flu.. Thanks goodness his appetite came back as he was refusing milk to an extend that he only drink 60ml per feed that time..

And guess what.. I got a shock of my life yest.. I was feeding him porridge and he was pushing away the spoon and struggled abit to refuse the porridge then next time I know, his hand "punched" his nose and it bleed!! His nose drip down fresh blood!!! Luckily my mum was there and she quickly shouted for my niece's help.. 3 of us were bz putting cold towel on his forehead and cleaning his nose bleed and trying to get him to calm down (he was crying very loudly and struggling as well) After a few mins, the bleeding stop.. I didn't take him to see PD cos my mum and hubby's colleague said its pretty common for bb to hav nose bleed if they rub their nose too hard.. Sighzz.. Dun know leh.. U gals think I shd go check it out with PD?? Is it really common???

kkf,

if I m u, I will change the appt.. not only just to feel better also, that day, 3 of u (u, ur hubby and of cos Dash) can hav a mini celebration.. Bring him out to play, enjoy urself too..

daec... i had healthy diet, mainly carb n protein as well as Ca supplement, still i had preeclampsia. I lost abt 10kg during my pregnancy n had morning sickness till 2 wk b4 i deliver... i read from research paper saying tt oral hygience also will cos preterm delivery... so mommy remember to go for dental checkup....

Jane, KKF, PAige was in NICU for 34 days and SCN for 30 days, she can come home earlier but we delayed her hernia surgery for abt 1 wk. Now tt she is home, i spend more time lying on bed just lookin at her....

Btw mommies, is it common for baby to sound phelgmy? cos Paige is v phelgmy tis 2 days n her milk intake also decrease....

didi,
u can try to give finger food like biscuit. i used to give ws gerber star biscuit. it can almost melt in the mouth. so it's q safe. she loves the banana flavor

powergal,
poor thing, the 2 of u..u must take care of yourself, then hav energy to take care of craydon. hope both of u recover soon

kkf,
i oso think u shld postpone the appointment. my resaon oso same like powergal. go out & enjoy urself. even dun go anywhere, bring dash 2 eat a nice meal

shellow
I c.. some dr say have baby - the genes for mum and dad dun gel so well.second time onwards shld be ok
for me I suspect stress and emotions played a big part.
well all this speculations ;)

jialut leh.. i still look preg..
during preg.. beside my tummy, none of other parts of my body grow. i look like those south africa kids.. thin with big tummy. now my tummy still big.. i take MRT, people thought i preg, wanna give up their seats to me.. malu leh.. i go shopping, the assistant also thought i preg, intro me all big flare tops and dressess... urrrrrgghhhh~~~~~ how to slim down? help~~!!

aiyo yan,
i think i never ever shed my 15kg that i put on during pregnancy.. in fact, i think i put on more!!! sigh sigh.. look at my big fat bums. i am trying to start jogging, but i realised nowadays my knee joints very weak and painful. sigh sigh..

shelllow

go see doctor if dun feel good. it's not ok for them to sound phelgmy. infants very prone to infections of ear, nose, lungs cos the connecting tubes are so fine and can get stuck easily. Go paed if u want more assurance.

i often try to hear bryan's breathing by listening on his back.. if noisy noisy, then must watch.

maybe try to make sure she got no big mucus stuck in her nose by sucking out with those mini pumps. cos in kkh, nurses will suck for them cos their body dunno how to clear themselves. when bryan came back, i had to pick for him everyday and it was a lot everyday. made him very uncomfortable, and after taking the goo out, he always slept better.

wat bread do u give? can give the bonjour brand flavored breads like banana or pandan?

yan,
i also same la, ppl still tot i pregnant also.....
xbliss,
i saw milk comin out fron her nose when she vomit. i tried cleaning her nostril la... the phlegmy noise is only when she drink milk (BM) sleep wise not muchnoice lei.....

xbliss
bonjour banana and gardinia rasin bread are nice. my elder girl love it.. pandan so so only..

shelllow,
think better to see doc or call up kk to check.

i not proportion leh.. tummy very obvious.. i even try to tuck in my tummy when i walk but still look big..

Yan
My understanding that it takes 4 mths to slim down....some lucky ones took one or 2 mths only.... anyway, ebming is supposed to help slim down....so you still hv ample time....

kkf, that mommy had 2 30weekers bb... so did dr tan say anything abt the headaches? its a woman's right to feel that they look terrible during pregnancy lah... confinement is worse though ahahha

daec, i have no water retention previously unless i walk alot ... (shopping lah ahahha)

xbliss..ahaha..last time it was my hb asking 'got one bottle or not' .a.ahahhaah..try swimming if u can..... i gave my gal whatever bread i am eating.. but only weekends lah (cos weekdays she is with nanny..duno what nanny gives her)

nana, no prob...they are planning to haev a farewell for Lil..but date not confirmed... but it will be a weekend...

costa, keep us updated ok?

dm..ahaha..last time my niece also like to report abt her biz..i think its only after we grew up that doing biz becomes something taht we do not talk abt..eheheh

didi, try cheerios... taste bland to adults but the kids love it..its the only thing some of my dec mommies frens swear by taht will keep their kids guai guai at the table during adults outing... i got it from the supermarket at vivo.... big box...

powergal..adhh i am so psych on all these bb talk when u say u got a shock i thot u r going to say u r preggie ahahahhaha *siow liao*

yan..ahahha..bf-ing is supposed to slim u down... anyway good that pp let u sit..cos u are still tired from motherhood...

shelllow, yeah better bring paige to see a doc...

Shelllow, my boy used to produce funny sound when he was about a few wks old too.. I dun know how to describe but it was something like yeek yeek sound when he breath and it got loudly when he was asleep.. I brought him to PD specially for this case cos I thought something is wrong and he might got difficulty in breathing.. But then the PD said it normal as the airway was not fully developed hence it produces sound when he breath and said it will go off by itself in a few mths time and true enough, the sound was gone in abt 2mth time.. But then again, ur case maybe diff from mine so better get a PD to confirm so that u can rest ur mind too..

DM, We recovered liao.. Thanks for ur concern.. It was really a torture when both of us sick.. Think my hubby is really very scare of us.. If 1 fall sick, the other will follow.. hahahaa..

didi, my boy is also taking the gerber finger food and he luv it!! esp the banana and sweet potato one.. Even my 4yo nephew said it nice and keep eating from my boy's snack box..

Yan, tok about figure.. I think all of u wont win me one lorr.. instead of losing weight after giving birth, I gain.. sighzz.. all my pre pregnancy clothes till now 11mth liao I still can't fit in and now still resort to wearing my maternity pants leh.. see laa, become SAHM stil wont lose weight.. hahahaa..

bloom, u won't hear good news from me so fast la.. hahahaa.. hav to at least shed off 20kg before I start my next pregnancy cos if pregnant now, guess i will look like Lin Yi Ming during my 3rd trimester..

powergal
heheh I also wanted to lose weight beforehand. I did some but not all of it :p

http://www.drspock.com/faq/bio/0,2004,mgreenfield+ARTICLES,00.html
For two out of three mothers, pre-eclampsia will not come back, but there are some risk factors for recurrence such as high blood pressure when you aren't pregnant, and thrombophilias, which are disturbances of the blood's clotting mechanisms. Getting tested for thrombophilia may be helpful in assessing your risk of recurrence. Also, the earlier in your pregnancy that you developed severe pre-eclampsia, the higher the risk when you try again. New evidence indicates that waiting longer between pregnancies also might increase the risk of recurrence or pre-eclampsia, while closely spaced pregnancies offer some protection.

While you will be considered higher risk than average, the likelihood is that your pregnancy will go better this time, and that you will have a healthy baby. Take care, and good luck!

Didi, I gave watever I eat to dash. Getting more and more sui bian liao. He is eating things like biscuits (my in laws always nag and nag say must brush teeth, in fact i brush dash's teeth every night, but she still nag), bread, poky, watever.

Talking about weight, this pregnancy really makes me looks like lim yi ming liao, haha. Anyway, I will have a hard time shedding off the excess weight I guess.

Bloom, your friend lucky leh. 30 weeks ok, cause if earlier will be more worrying. I wish I can carry this baby beyond 30 weeks like that.

Yesterday night, I had a fright out of my life. I felt pain in my tummy and lower back ache too. Sounds like contractions right? Thats wat I feared too!!! I kept observing see if contractions or just too much gas. I did not not sleep well! I think I am very panaroid! But I have every reason to be! sigh. I am into my 16th weeks liao. Now is starting of my fear period. sigh. I think 16-24 weeks, I will be very fearful everyday! how? Watever pain will be of fright to me, cause I am really afraid it will be contractions!!! I know once my contractions start, there will no one to stop them.
Last two times also like that, watever drips, pills are not effective to me.

I was actually thinking whether to see dr ann tan today just to play safe, but then no longer feel pain liao, so I did not. My appointment with her is next thursday.

One thing I keep telling myself "shi fu bu shi huo, shi huo duo bu guo". pessismistic right?

honestly telling you all, if this pregnancy fails me, I dun think I have the courage to try anymore. My health is not good, and if 3rd time premature like that, that means my womb is a failure. I have done watever I can, rest once I know I am pregnant, never go out, hubby even becomes vegetarian, I will just give up and be contended with dash. But I know whenever I see people with 2nd of more kids, I will be very envious, and perhaps even jealous.

Sigh...I really pray and hope very very much, please let me have this baby successfully. I dun ask for much, I just hope this baby can survive, preferably at least 28 gestation weeks.

Sorry to talk so much, but I am really fearful. Now having headache cause did not sleep well. sigh.

Btw, have postphoned dash's cardio appointment to earlier date so that dun have to go kkh on his birthday. Just realised he will be seeing dr agarwal on 16th october, a day after his birthday for his yearly review too.

actually daec, I envy you at least you can find solutions to your problems. For me, there is no solution at all.
I just have to pray and hope.

Cause I really do not know when my contractions will come...sigh.

I am really very fearful now.

You know mummies, I just realised a colleague of mine has edd 2 days away from me, and my close friend 2 weeks earlier. I can tell you, when I had jared last time, it was a torture. I gave birth to him, and he passed away, when his edd was near, I was sooooo upset, especially when I knew friends or colleague of mine who had edd close to mine gave birth successfully to healthy babies.The feelings suck!

I am afraid history will repeat. I am really afraid.

So sometimes dun blame me for being so envious of mummies like mummylian who has so many kids. For me, I just want two but it seems like it is so not easy.

I kept remembering the qian I gotten from guanyin temple last time "pregnancy will bring disaster".
I got the qian twice from different temples but same qian. I had wanted to wait, but every month I went to ask, I would still get xia xia qian, so eventually I asked guanyin to just grant me a baby when she feels the time is right.
Thats how I have this baby, but that qian still disturbed me a lot.

Think i am going crazy.

kkf
those are not solutions. those are maybes. If u read on, there are some ideas of what could cause premature labour.

again, all are maybes..

I think someones' advice sums it best lah
- as long as got baby, already gd. some people cant conceive.
- prem baby is still better than none
- if not workout also, we stil have one baby. is already good leh..

I also have lots of ?!! thinking. I surf, look info. Yesterday I went to mums meeting at Parentlink. Met with doula, midwifes, other mums. though they dun give me conclusive solutions, I guess the hope and ideas make me feel better. I thnkiing I am tired of worrying. The answers are not there. Its in me just accepting each day. They told me just relax lah - that is best. That is true isnt it ?
I was thinking pity my child also when I worry like this, not gd environment for her/him.

kkf I think u do a lot already to help urself. The next best thing u can do for urself and ur child - is just take it easy. easier said then done - I know. but very tough life to keep worryiing everyday..

abt envy- I also envy others ah.preg 1 thg, own home also dun have. but I want to feel happy too, keep compare with others will not help do that, rite ? think there are others who envy us, thos have issue conceiving or even those who dun have own family - coz we got one kid already and own family

sian..on wed ntie, discovered some very faint red spots/dots on ws' tummy..ytd morning, found few more dots on her arms & thighs.. but they r very very faint & smooth..

this morning, checked her like no more alrdy. juz now my mom called & say her legs & face macam oso hav.. but very faint.

anybody has similar experience?? wondering if it's falst measles..but she didn't hav fever recently, so may not b???

kkf,

I think u really worried too much.. Dun keep thinking of the gestation weeks btw when to when to stress urself.. I know its difficult not to think so much and I was like u, think so much and cried and cried when I 1st know Craydon was not growing well inside me.. But when I had something to do or occupied myself, I temperary forget my worry.. So my advise here is dun just stay at home cos by staying at home u will anyhow think here think there.. I rather u to go out to catch a movie with ur hubby or go for a stroll in a park and sit to rest if u r tired.. Or go to ur frens or mum's hse to hav someone companying u, chat with u, watch tv with u.. Dun think about edd, dun think about the gestation weeks, dun think abt anything that do with pregnancy.. just relax and play some psp, or computer games.. best if u read some comical books.. cheerup!!~~

DM, if is alot, think better go see a PD.. Did u ask her whether is itchy? My boy used to hav what u describe but is only on his body and we asked the doc (went for routine checkup that time so "soon pian" ask about the rot dot) and he mentioned a term (I forgot what term liao) that it is pretty common if the affected area was not kept dry.. Can due to sweat and after showering, not dry properly and the moist causes the dots.. we were given some cream and was told to keep the area dry.. My fren 10mth old daughter has false measles before.. u wan me to ask her about the symptoms??

didi
last time we cut to small squares, now we just give direct.

powergal,
i also gain weight after preg. now i weigh more than when i was preg..

when to see the GP, she just gave Paige med for decongestion, and told me tt no fever means no infection... hope tis is just the part n puzzles of growing up.....

daec,
i have tok to a few moms who had pregnancy induced hypertension, seems like bed rest is the only thing tt can help to keep baby longer in the womb. and most of them do has 2nd child w/o any problem. But 3 out 5 has high BP in their 50s.

kkf,
i know is easy to tell u nt to worry, but try nt to stress urself, bad for the baby.

shellow
thanks, useful to know. well my parents both have high bld. my granny had high bld pressure preg for her fifth kid.other preg was ok. cld be genetic for me too

Thanks to all mummies who gave me encouragements. I have decided some things that are bound to happen will happen, and I know even if I worry, I think, also will not help. Guess just got to let it be.

But as I have said, I am resting since week 5 of my pregnancy, hubby goes on to be vegetarian, and we have done everything we can. If choy! this pregnancy still fails, I can tell you, I will give up totally. My health whether physically or mentally can no longer take it anymore, think will just ren ming (give in to fate).

But I seriously hope that my little baby will be strong, and joins our family!

daec, mine also genetic factor cause my mum has my sis at 32 weeks, and me at 27 weeks.

dm, i think rashes cannot take it too lightly?

Cause I heard my male colleague baby has rashes (baby, not sure about toddlers), and doctors told him rashes cannot be taken lightly, sometimes its due to blood count.

Yan, never tried that before. i just drank lots of green papaya soup with fish, and also lots of other soup.

Happy lantern festival to all children and mummies here!

I can't go anywhere so will just bring dash downstairs playground to carry lantern. My mum used to bring me and my sis to playground during lantern festival too.
I love it.

This year, dash has 3 lanterns! 2 free from some sengkang lantern festival event (my in laws brought him), and 1 from my mum.

Sadly, none from me, cause I am bound at home.

Next year, next year I am going to go all over singapore and other countries.haha...after confining at home for sooo long. Really hopefully, will have another little one with me.

kkf/powergal,

brought ws 2 doc on fri nite. doc says it's allergy. but since we haven't introduced any new food 2 her, doc oso can't b sure wat caused the allergy. he said can b due to many factors - food, environment or even viral infection (be it frm herself or someone else is sick, etc). so no conclusion. but he says it's nothing serious. gave her some cream.

the rash started on wed nite on her tummy, then thurs tummy ok, thighs & arms. then fri, arms ok, face. then sat face better, bit here & there.. so the good news is, (self-derived) either the cream is working or it's really not serious. juz hope it'll go away soon

didn't really enjoy the lantern festival 2. guess ws' still young. she didn't really enjoy holding the lantern. walked awhile only, say wan to go home haha.

DM - Glad ws is getting better.. Its always better to get a rest of mind after seeing PD even though is not a big prob..

Anyway Craydon still having block nose.. can hear it since yest.. sighz.. He has difficulty in drinking milk now cos he sort of use his mouth to breath now.. Will bring him to see PD later to see how it goes..

kkf - 3 lanterns!! wow!! hahhaa.. Craydon got 2, 1 from his daddy and 1 from his ah mah.. but he dun know how to appreciate it and keep biting the handle.. *pengz* anyway just endure another 5mth++ and I m sure u will enjoy ur new bundle of joy.. U know 1 of the member from 5566?? His wife Ji Qin also confine in the hse once she was known pregnant.. Although the reason is different but if she can do it for the luv for her hubby, u sure can do it for the luv of ur bb.. I m sure u can go thru this..
We r here for u!!
U hav SCV?? go watch some hk series or korean series.. now I m hook to the korean show on ch 55 every sat 1030pm.. :p

yan - I never heard of Motherlove´s More Milk but hav u tried fenugeek?? heard its good but dun know how true..

kkf
yeah lor I guess best is to surrender to fate. Nothing else can do since we have done wat we can. I still pondering which gynae to thk. due to $, maybe just take the nearest one. Dr Aziz for now. later can transfer depending on progress..

dm
hmm sounds like bad rash. gd that it gets better.

powergal
hope Craydon gets better.so poor thing hard drk milk

kkf
abt having 2 kids or more - I think depending on how this one goes - maybe I close shop afterwards heheh. I wanted 3 or 4 but now like urmm I dunno.
even if ok- preggy is scary coz got history.I guess i dun have the heart. maybe I see others I will feel envy. dun like to feel envy coz feel envy cannot be happy. hmm must work on that.
hmm we cant live thru or for our kids only.

anyways many kids also v tough ;) one or two may be 'easier' to handle hehe

hi daec, for me def just settle for two, is already a blessing for me.

powergal, yah, yesterday hubby rented some hongkong drama series for me. I watched and watched, until dash was left alone to watch his octopus on computer, poor boy. haha. Think very hard to watch drama series with a kid around. Very hard to read books too. Dunno wat else I can do.

dm, glad ws is getting better.

waiting is really a torture right? If wat you wait for will be fruitful in the end, then it is all worthwhile. But if waiting ends up getting nothing, it will be very sad. Waiting is really a torture!!!! sigh.

Looking forward to thursday seeing my gynae. Hopefully, I can announce to you all whether dash will be having a didi or meimei. haha.

kkf,
i understand. during my 30th-34th wk pregnancy, i was made 2 rest at home. so every morning, my mom will come n pick me up 2 her place. i juz do nothing, except eat (forced to eat 6meals a day!!), & sleep. wan to go lot1 my hubby oso forbid. so i finished 3 series of 妙手仁心 haha. tat 1 mth is really torturous..everday got to pop med, measure BP, monitor bb's movement. every visit 2 gynae (during tat period) is oso a torture. expect gynae 2 give good news (bb grow bigger), but oso scared of bad news (hav to operate 2 take out immediately).. aiya.. can't imagine gg thru tat again. sigh.

dun worry.. u r almost there alrdy. i guess once u reach 3rd trimester, shld b safe 2 at least go out?

kkf,

i read thru ur posts n really feel ur pain n stress. well babez hang in thr. a big big hug! tho time crawls by nw.. all will be well in time..

kkf can one can one!! jia you. i was on CRIB from wk 19 to wk 28 until i delivered bryan. U can do it! i spent my time surfing laptop, reading, watching discovery channel(duh!!!), reading up on my hobbies like cooking and gardening.. and out pops bryan!! BUT IT WAS A TORTURE!! i had to lie on my left all the time cos it helped improve the bloodflow to bryan. after the delivery for about a good 7-8 months, my right toe remained numb.

i am looking for lili or lindah.....i read on the thread before on hypertonia?

my baby of six months have been scissoring her legs for about three months, been to see neuro at KK and physio therapy once and they said she has hypertonia limbs but is not severe...
can someone share similiar experience?

nagsterak,
lili is residing overseas so she may not be so active on the board..maybe you pm her...

lindah also is busy with her other commitments..so maybe pm would be better..

guess as a mum of a prem bb, all i can say is to keep yr appts with the kkh physio (if they advise you to) and also keep a lookout for her developmental milestones...i assume yr bb is not premature...??

powergal,
hws craydon?

Hi Costa,
Yest Craydon has another episode of nose bleeding again. This time to play safe we took him to a PD immediately.. Luckily nothing major, PD said its due to his running nose and itchness that cause my boy to rub his nose and causes the tear and bleeding.. We were given some salt spray, nose cream and a med for curing the phlegm..

Tell u all a funny thing, when the PD is writing and telling us what he was giving us for the med, he said oral med for curing the phlegm, for a moment I thought he said horrible and I was so worried thinking that it must be a terrible med that will cause vomit or lose appetite so I said HORROR??? And the PD look at me and laugh, ORAL not HORROR.. pengz rite?? I m so scare of feeding Craydon med until I can hear wrongly leh..

Powergal,
u are a capable mama...i dun tink i can manage a bb on my own at home.....the paedi must be happy to be cheered up by you in the morning hahah..

guess the bleeding is just a superficial wound but better to go to paedi to assure yrself..

powergal,
u 2 stressed? haha

anyway, juz 2 let u know, u r not alone. i oso had phobia feeding ws med. need 3pple to grab & force feed. but sometimes, after force feed, she'll vomit out..but now, she's ok.. i dunno y, juz suddenly ok. last fri when we brought her to c doc 4 her rash, doc only prescribed cream, she still can ask me no need eat med?? peng..

Hi costa,
Yah, at least know that its nothing major.. Was so worried cos my little boy like to hit his head against the toys he is holding.. scare is internal bleeding lorr.. choy choy choy!!

DM,
Yeah, tell me about it.. I realy hate med feeding time.. And WS so cute!! hahahaa.. children r like that horr, so innocent and cute saying all the funniest and least expecting stuff

powergal,
ya lor. at least u know u r not alone. guess, they r fearful lor.. but as they grow, they'll prob 'enjoy' medicine cos the med is sweet rt?

on sat nite when my hubby carried ws after her milk, she suddenly sang the barney song "i love u..u love me.." to hubby. hubby was v happy. asked her who taught her the song, she say nobody?? but she nev watch barney vcd, so i oso dunno where she learnt the song frm.. maybe in sch? haha.. but we were q pleased tat she's learning things.

Thanks thanks, mummies, know there are mummies who had been ordered bed rest before, and went thru the ordeal too.

Not easy rite? mummies are the greatest!

ws is very clever one, can learn things very fast.

talking about feeding medicine, my nightmare too powergal! my boy will cry and shout and scream and struggle if direct feed, so got to mix in milk, but sometimes he can taste it in the milk and refuse to drink. my nightmare.

so quiet nowadays... seldom see jane, costa, mich, didi etc liao.

must start a new topic, then can have more people joining in ah? haha.

Hello Mummies

KKF
I am here!! Staying at home alone with the boys cos my maid had went home. The new one will only be here this Saturday.
I am busy entertaining the 2 bums. One moment " mummy, can u read this please?" Next moment, "Mummy, where is my mcqueen?" "Mummy, i want nan nan!".... I am breatheless.