Premature babies support group

hi mummy yan,
Welcome

Costa,
did you find the swimsuit for Bern Bern already ?

mommies,
Got something to check with you, do you know how to prevent the occurence of bronchitis ? as that day Dylan was brought to pd as he was coughing and having a runny nose badly, and he was wheezing so the pd told us that it might be bronchitis, and after that it will be asthma, and he was given the chamber thing to inhale for 3 days.....

hi costa,
thanks 4 ur warm welcome.
my twin babies are born in TMC so are nw in the TMC NICU.

The younger one shld be able to go home earlier but its the elder sister that i worried. coz she the one who was in stress when deliver due 2 placenta prob and very afraid if there will be any complications to internal organs or weaker health in her growing process.

didi,
i hvnt found the swim suit yet..u got yrs at taka and the brand is water carnival is it?
bern just recvrd from runny nose so i thot better dun brg him for swimming yet..i m oways the last minute type...

will ask u again if nded...

i oso nt sure abt bronchitis thingy..did i tell u i brot my son to see a doctor nr my house supposedly better for lung issues..saw first time, meds din wk..wt for second time (and after being a few hundred poorer) then his condition better

think chamber thg shld be okay.....are u talking abt the so called "elephant nose" where its a plastic thingy and you pump the medicine at the end.....?

mummy_yan,
yr bbs in gd hands wif tmc...

noe its easy for me to say dun worry but at least u noe tt yr bb is taken care well in hospital till shes ready to go home right?

maybe gd for one to go back first, slowly get used to life at home and then welcome second bb home..many twins mummies oso lidat...can ask for advice fm them

hi kkf, powergal and strawberry
thanks alot for ur assurance!!
really help me alot..
feeling better liao...
now I starting to learn how to feed them liao..
hope they can go home soon..

mummy_yan
u r here too!!

Hi mummy_yan,

During my hospitalised, I was in B class and when my boy was borned, need to stay in SCN, the social worker there came to visit me in my ward and automatically downgraded my boy to C class so that most of the bill will be subsidized.. Were u in B class or A?

Anyway my boy was borned 1.5kg and stay in SCN for 3 weeks and we dun hav to fork out any cash..

didi,

I dun know about bronchitis but I read from this forum, a mummy said the Bao Yin Dan from Yu Ren Sen is very good for curing cough and phlegm for bb.. I bought it last week at $16.50 for 6 tube and been feeding my boy cos he still got a bit of phlegm.. so far so good leh.. U might wana try, but dun mix with western med..

Jaslyn,

No problem! Glad we can help u in some ways.. Come in and chat with us more often and update on the development of ur princesses k?

*wave to jaslyn*

hihi jaslyn,seeking advise from the experienced here too ah?

hi powergal, TMC ward goes by # of bed. I know the cost will be high so I choose the 4-bedded room. But the charges for NICU is charge separately not according to what room I stayed unlike KKH.

The cost staying in NICU per day vs SCN per day is different. NICU is much more expensive.

Anyone here babies born in TMC and babies had to stay in NICU for certain weeks? I would like to know a rough gage how much the bills will chalk up to be.

me busy with work...but got read the thread

kkf
hehe ok la, go ahead to add my blog :p. re the duck tour hehe, me also keen ler :p

welcome mummy_yan,

my boy is born in KKH. I think there is some babies from TCM here. NICU is like intensive care..so defintely be more ex. At KKH it is also so.

there is many friendly mummies here. hope you can find answer and assurances. do chat here more and keep us posted of your updates of your twins girls

Costa,
Yes, the brand is 'Water Carnival', weather bad better don't let Bern Bern swim 1st
ya, Dylan's lungs according to the pd, got 'water' hmm... the doc that Bern see, is it a lungs specialist ? yes, he was given the elephant nose thingy, to pump every 4 hourly for 4 days then stop
now I can't sleep well cause got to watch out his breathing

powergal,
thanks for the info, will go eu yan sang and check out

precious,
ic. that's great!

mummy yan,
welcome! cant help abt e bill coz my girl is also born in KKH(wk 32)

didi
hmm not sure abt bronchitis. respiratory - heard fish oil will help. oregano too. but I'm not sure if oregano ok for kids. I go to vita kids at paragon to buy supplements. Have naturopath (like dr like dat) there. Naturopath uses all the natural stuff as medicine. maybe u can ask for recommendation. He recommended me oregano for my hubby's asthma. Oregano have in pills or oil do let me know if u go. I have 20% off for June

http://www.pacifichealth.com/products/oregano.html

powergal
yep.. will come in more often..

*wave back to mummy_yan*
ya lor.. here to seek advise..
cos that time really worried for them
and crying everyday...
u choose 4 bedded ah..
cham lah..
I still stay single bedded leh..
this time the bill dun noe will go how high..

jaslyn,

I choose single-beded during pre-registeration for delivery. But switch to 4-beded after knowing the condition for my case. If still stay 1-room, think I can declare bankrupt liao..haha..

But as always, TMC 4-beded always full wan. So free upgrade to 2-beded. Not that bad actually, only that hubby cannot stay with me.

This morning PD call say the younger twin now increase milk to 18ml and jie jie will increase to 5ml. Hopefully both can take it. They need more milk inorder to grow! 5days in NICU liao...still counting down...

hi didi
oh...i just read your post about dylan not feeling well. hope he get better soon.

for siang, he is on preventive puff. everyday one puff. and i am given asthma action plan (he is diagnose as potential asthma). Now siang is under review with the lung doc at KKH (referral by the neo nat).

i understand from the lung doc that the preventive puff that siang is on does not have any long term effect..it is just preventive...

for phelgm... i know hou san is good (from eu ren shen)

do take care and hope dylan recover fast

mummy_yan,

welcome. dunno if this helps : I didn't stay in TMC but mt a. my ger stayed in NICU for 2+wks & SCN for another few days. so altogether, she stayed in hospital for 3wks & her bills is abt $10k (before medisave deduction)

hi mummy_yan & Jaslyn,

be prepared for the huge bill cos mine spent abt $59K for 52days in nicu, charges will be high in initial stage cos more medication needed. Dun worry, TMC will give some discount to your total bill.

Jaslyn,
since u have started to learn feeding & bathing, very soon u will be able to bring your gals back.

daec, Jane,
Thanks, aiyah, really must take good care of my bum bum
that's day my mom was telling me 'Now you know how tough to be a mother'

Jane,
Yes ! I must Jia You and boost up my caffeine intake ! oh, ya when is Siang Siang's IQ test ?

mummy_yan
oic..
ya lor.. so I cant imagine my bill..
dun worry.. ur gers will be fine..

Strawberry
wah. .so ex ah..

yep.. PD say jie jie maybe can go home tml..
and mei mei maybe 2 to 3 more days..
have to wait till her weight is 1.8kg then can go home liao..now she is 1.74kg.. 60g more to go.. hehe..

Welcome on board Jaslyn n mummy_yan.
Hope both of u can cradle ur little ones at home soon
My girl is a 27 weeker at 1034g. She is now about 10.5kg at 21 months

Costa
How's Bern? Hope his cough is gone...The other time for Ezann, jus gave her the medicine n the cough was gone. But u remember Itold u about the vagina infection? It came on n off.. Sian.. Cos she will always whine when thee rash appear... Recently it has subsided liao..

DM
Ya, she is into her terrible 2. Very touchy and mischevious.. Always know how to buy the daddy's heart. When I ask her to call mama, she will call papa n dada..N keep pointing to daddy.

KKF
The prmie that I mention had the infection about a week after her birth.. The intestine prob is always there... She was never discharged until recently when her condition is more stablised, they were preparing her for home.. so got home leave but she din accustomed to the environment n was sent back... Then after a few weeks.. Din make it

Precious one
Wow! Back to work! Congrats
Me on the other hand hope to be a full time SAHM. Really miss all my children when I'm at work.Busiew now as i am jus back to work.

Any advive on the rota virus jab? Is still hesitating whether to let my No.4 take it a not. Did not let Ezann have it... Is it gd n necessary? Heard from a fren that the earlier version of the jab has a bit of prob.. so am scared to let my 3 mth old take as there is not much studies on it..

Hello mummies, wow so many post yesterday!

first reg the duck tour costa, erm, sorry think is ocbc fairprice credit card promotion. here is the link, I booked from citytours.
http://www.citytours.sg/ocbc.html

Mummylian, you mean the premiee stayed in the hospital for 1 year??? Very long, the bills must be high, yet the baby did not make it. So poor thing...

Welcome mummyyan, dun worry too much. Your gals should be home soon. Both gals? I hope your elder gal will catch up fast, and go home soon.

didi, dash got bronchitis before last year for quite a couple of times. Me was so sianz, got once even admitted hospital because of high fever.
I am just giving him multi vitamin now, since my padetrician told me only vitamin is proven to be useful.

Costa, consider getting thermal swimwear. It is really good, wun get wet one, except for legs and hands. Me not yet finish wat I am suppose to do...sigh.

Sigh...now dash is coughing. I dunno when he was supposed to be better, now cough again...sianzzz...was about to bring him to chalet to swim on friday, but think not possible.

hi didi

siang iq test is scheduled at CDU - Children Development Unit at KKH on 3rd July 08 :p (we just received the confirmation appointment letter yesterday. and also after the IQ test, the neonat will see us.

hi kkf
me thinking get thermal swimwear for siang too. you bought via BP?

oh dash is coughing? is someone not well in his school? i just wonder...hope dash recover before the chalet

kkf,
juz wondering..u feed dash cold drinks? cos i tot, since dash cough so often, maybe it's due to cold drinks? cos my nephew oso fall sick q often & he's been drinking cold drinks (eg. packet drinks) .. anyway, hope dash recovers soon

mummylian
Tks
Rota virus is not a jab is a oral syrup....best for baby before 6 mths....A missed it caused by the time I knew about it, she was 2 yrs old....

jaslyn82
Glad to hear that your girls going home soon. Congrats.

kkf
Dash is not alone. His gf here also coughing, just finished antibiotics....better liao. A has sensitive nose so on/off phlegm caused by the backflow of sinus is quite often. As long as the lungs is clear (no sound), no worry unduly. Wishing Dash speedy recovery.

jaslyn
dun worry abt e bill. somehow can manage la. now more impt ur babes health and ur own health. tt worry adds on to ur other stress.

mine was $30k, after subsidy=$7.5k. 42 days in KK. nearly 3-4 weeks in NICU. I took Class C as per dr advice.

didi/kkf
dun think multivit is focused on respiratory. better to try others supplement. I also worried Nada will get asthma/allergies etc. seems most of e boys on hubby side hav. hut hubby worse. have a feeling its also coz his weight tho.seem that boys are more prone to this ?

daec
ya.. their health r more impt..
oic.. 47.5k still not so bad..
and jie jie can come home today..
going to fetch her home!!

I add to to MSN..

jaslyn,
i just pm u...can u add me into msn...

daec,
i will add u in later, dun noe y i got pblems adding pple in my msn fm work

jaslyn,
dun worry about bills like wat daec said..my bill was $32k but that was after staying for 5 mths..mine was C class, i stayed in hospital for 40 days..after birth i wanted to downgrade myself to C class so tt bb can hv the same class but they said i din nd to do it for myself (i stayed in hospital 2wks after birth still in B class without TV and telephone line)..bb was downgraded to C class....the costs will slowly taper off like wat i told u..

kkf,
thanks, Dylan has been taking multi-vits too...

daec,
Actually, I am not sure about boys got a higher chance of gtg asthma, as all the girls @ my hubby's side also have asthma

Jane,
I thot of gtg those dehumidifier for Dylan, have you got 1 ? wonder if it works ?

Jane, yah, I got mine thru bulk purchase for the thermal swim wear.

Dash is on holiday with me too, so he is not attending school. Disneymickey, I did not feed dash with cold drinks, but could be due to some food he ate yesterday. I brought him to swensen, and he was eating spaghetti, and lots of biscuits.

Could be due to like wat precious one said, the backflow of his sinus. He is still having running nose since the hotel stay. Not yet recovered fully.

Congrat Jaslyn you can bring your gal home!

Daec, I just want to build up immune system. Btw, there is this lung tonic from padetrician, I let dash took it before. It was supposed to help build up lungs.

Later bringing dash to my colleague's house for a small gathering. Going to let our kids play together.

Tomorrow booked a govt chalet 2 days 1 night. Thought of playing dash to swim, and play sand. But think swimming not possible, and if it rained tomorrow, think playing sand or cycling also out of question. haha. But anyway, going to celebrate father's day for my dad tomorrow as my mum will be overseas from soon to europe.

kkf,
thanks for the info on the duck tour......

wat is the lung tonic tt dash took? tink dash wld enjoy the party as he is so frenly

where are the government chalets located ?is it at east coast or the changi colonial style type? i tot the east coast chalets bo liao..but last sunday when i walked past, i saw pple enjoyg themselves there...

wah, yr mum so happenin'..go europe...tink she is really the hip type....

hi didi
defumififer...i do not have one. i just have the air refresher.

i understand weather plays a part - ie will affect those who lung is more sensitve or have sensitive airways.

only thing we can hope is really that as they grow up their lung system build up to be stronger and airway become broader... and they stay healthy...

siang so far has been hospitalised for bron 2 times and one time is croup... so i hate the "B" word.

i wish sometime i can see what is happening inside our body :p so that we can get the correct cure...and not just by trial and error (eat medicine/vitamins etc).... :p

kkf
oh i see. ok ok i shall watch out for BP. wow! have fun fun fun. enjoy your self.

been awhile. mmummyyan hang in thr... ur bb's will be back soon.

jaslyn, congrats. e othr will soon follow too.

i'm getting e rotarix (1 dose) for bb arvin end tis mth. he will be turning 6 mths corrected on 28th June. 2nd dose will be a mth ltr ++ i think.

kkf,
where is the doc that see Dash's lungs practising ? I am also interested in the tonic for Dylan too

Jane,
Rite !!! I heard the phrase 'sensitive airways' being mentioned..... does Siang Siang sleeps in air-con room ?

Costa,
think the next time I go for follow-up at kk, will check with Dylan's pd and see what to do about his sensitive airways

Ask u all a question horr.. Do u gals suffer from irregualr menses after giving birth? Even since I stop expressing, my menses came almost twice a week and sometimes it will last more than 7days.. I did my pap smear at nov 07 and result ok.. Hmmm.. is it me or its normal cos of hormones imbalance at the moment?

hi didi

siang is diagnose with sensitive airway (which is why he is potential asthma candidate). but the lung doc always tell me. with good care, he may not have so much issue as he grow up and as his system become stronger. but i must take good care of him.

TCM doctor advise me not to give him any honey made stuff. avoid HONEY... avoid cold cold stuff

nope siang does not sleep in air con room. its only last few months when weather is really really horrible warm then i let him sleep in air con room. other wise, its fan.

maybe u can ask the neonat with regards to handling dylan's sensitive airway... but to be honest, its not only premature baby that have this issue...

Jane,
I agree, that not all preemies have this issue
my hb's nieces and nephews are full-term babies they also have this problem
now, I ask my maid to clean their beddings, toys etc diligently and my room as the boys love to play on my bed
the lund doc that Siang Siang consult, is he practising in KKH ?

hi didi

i heard for sensitive airways, one must keep the environment clean. no hairy soft toys, no carpets... thats why i never really buy soft toys for siang. he have those very 'short hair' soft toys though...

and his pillow and bolster i buy those fiber typer (Not cotton)... scare of dust la :p

oh this lung doc that siang is seeing since young is referral by the KKH neo nat. and yes she is a doc at KKH.

powergal,
i dun hav the menses prob as u hav mentioned so can't advise. but if ur prob persists, can chk with your gynae..??

mommies,
juz came back frm motherhood @expo..nothing much. bougth some chinese bks 4 ws.. but if u r looking 4 huggies or pampers.. got long long q, so i assume got sale?

hi didi
i learn over time (pai say to say...) sometime meet some parents (who kids have abt same issue) talk abt it...so hear say hear say. some i feel is can help ones, i implement...some i think like not so logical...i filter off :p.

i think the honey things is true thou. as i heard many parents told me that. doctors too...

oh also TCM doctors say if baby is not well..don't give fruits. which i really diligently obey. i give veggie for siang (catch up on his fiber)...

jane
she is back home liao..

costa
ok.. add u to msn liao..
saw jie jie bill just now..
after medisave about $1800+
so less the $2k deposit i pay..
they still have to return me $100+..
heng ah..

kkf

mimeole

hi jaslyn,
CONGRATS!! jie jie finally back home to your arms. Your days will be difficult now with your baby back home but all the effort is worth it!
Mei Mei shld be home soon too since she is feeding well.

I also hope my babies will be discharge soon and in time for their 1 month..*sob sob*

kkf
I see. can consider take health tonic. honestly head spining with work, and the 'daily transition' from work to home, not to mention relationship issue sometimes feel overwhelmed to think abt those.

sigh just quarrel again with hubby. he dun fully support me not work