Premature babies support group

kkf,
relax! maybe u r giving urself 2 much stress, cos u r like in a hurry 2 get a sch 4 him. sometimes, this type of things cannot b rushed. let him take his own pace. if he's happy in tots hse, let him b while u search 4 another cc. but i understand ur frustrations abt nobody to care 4 him after tots hse. not sure on ur mom's stand, so can't comment. but relax, ok... things will work out, dun worry

kkf
Is your mum giving you any time frame that you have to pull Dash out of her house? Otherwise, do not rush, work out your sums, discussed with your hubby/in laws and see which way of educating/caring for Dash is best and work towards it.

kkf,
Ya, It is understandable that your mom needs to have her own time, intially when my mom was helping me out, I feel bad as my mom is not so young so with the discussion with my hb, we decided that we shall let her take a break and I shall take care of my boys myself and with my maid (cause when the boys are younger, it is more tedious to take care with nite feeds etc, actually she still wanted to continue helping me out), but I felt that she should have her own time and spend more time with my dad, if I have something on during the weekends the I will ask her to come over
it might not be a bad idea to put Dash either half-day/ full day cc, imo
maybe your mom is tired already, not easy to take care of young kids, you know

hi didi - haha in advance cos next week i maybe no time to come online ... :p haha

wow your aim is Uni..my aim for siang is can work and earn money to support himself is good enough :p

precious_one, hmmm.. frankly, spacious constraint is something that shld be taken into consideration (you are right ah), so don't need to feel bad.

actually me quarreled with my mum yesterday, cause she knows fully well that she has to take care of dash every monday and friday, and yet yesterday night she called me to say today she has tu feng wu (dance)! and she is going to have lessons for every monday! Everytime she will have this and that program and not to take care of dash. I understand she wants to enjoy since she is not young anymore. So I might as well place dash with my in laws and to put him in half day childcare, so that my in laws also can relax a bit in the whole morning.

I am even thinking of placing him in sengkang childcare so tat both my in laws and parents can enjoy their old age. But then, me really cannot bear to put dash in full day.

I am rushing because it seems like most centres are full. If I delay even more, think wun have any more vacancy anywhere liao once everybody settles down.

Jane too engrossed with my problem forgot to reply you. I have also a tricycle at home lying in my balcony gathering dust. haha.

Guess wat? I am even thinking of buying a cottage house for dash cause he likes to open and close the door sooooo much! but like wat precious one said, I dun think I have space for that!

Yah. I also nearly fainted when she told me the fees. Plus the difference between half day and full day is marginal. What to do....aiyooo...
The most I buy less handbag lor or I cut her inheritence (if she have any) lor. hiaz

kkf,
I know, which mother and child don't quarrel, rite
good idea, if you can put Dash 1/2 day cc, at least your mom can pursue her interests and your pils still can relax in the mornings
maybe you can let him get used to the 1/2 day cc then next year then you put him in full day ? Don't get stressed
if your pils are willing to take care of Dash, then put him there in the afternoons, then it is settled already .....

kkf
Can understand, good ccc, sometimes even has waiting list.... that's the problem of singaporeans not having babies, no one to help out plus as one marry and have kids later, the old folks are even older, no stamina to run after toddlers...rising living costs, dual income is always better than one....
I concur with didi that looking after a toddler is really no joke....look at me, always saying so so tired and sleepy....first time in my entire life that I do not look forward to CNY!

kkf
Just a suggestion, choose a school with a playground that has a house and the car etc. then Dash can play with them everyday....no need to buy. In school they will teach them to share...and take turns.... Save $ for your 2nd one ...kekeke

hi kkf...i think very soon my tricycle will start to collect dust liao... maybe by then we sell both at a price (to didi maybe cos she need 2 haha). hey, cheer up. i can sense that its no joke to decide how to handle care giving issue for dash + you are planning a 2nd kid.

stay calm and relax. where there is a will, there is a way. the mummies here are giving very good constructive suggestion. work out the best way for dash.

about cottage house...i ever thot of buying those inflated play house for siang (think my mum will scream if she know i bought a tricycle, imagine if i buy a play house haha)...

Jane,
Actually you lucky leh, your mom can take care of Siang but actually having a maid over at your mom's place helps hor ?
maybe next time should I work then I will put my maid with my parents to help them out otherwise chiam
is your mom young ? my mom is hitting the big 70 soon

jane,
think we both q lucky, as our moms can help take care of our kids. my parents not tat young. 66 alrdy. but lucky thing, they hav each other as company & they always like to bring my ger out. can tell my parents really dote on ws a lot & think she oso brings them fun la.

kkf,
dun worry, u'll work things out. but frankly, if there's really really no other choice, go 4 full day cc lor. since full day & half day cc px not much diff..

hi didi, my mum hitting 65 this year. frankly caring for siang is not easy for her. but siang stick to her like glue...he call ah ma is always with echo one...ahhhhh mmmaaaa..very pitiful like that :p. my maid.. ok la, just help here and there lor.

disneymickey, yes i am very grateful my mum is helping. as siang grow up...i hope can ease her by bringing siang home more often. else at night my mum cannot rest well. for old pple, sleep is very important...

so ... eventully i hope to find another alternative (the best there is) for siang. because in 3 years time, my mum is moving to seng kang though she told me, by then siang is big and if really cannot travel every day, siang can stay at seng kang then weekend then go home...but then i think...if can, i like to find some alternative ...

for now, i just have to see how siang goes (in terms of developments...)

Jane,
oh I see, actually Siang is keeping your mom company too
my mom and dad loves to travel (my dad used to work for the airline), me and my sister are happy to see them travel
this coming march they are going to Sydney to visit my god-bro for 2 weeks
and now every weekend they will pop over to my place to get fish for my 2 boy-boy and cook for me lah
I am a spolit dotter according to my hubby

hi didi

yeah kind of but this 'companion' is really rocking the whole house haha :p. oh i see. yeah, me too hope this year my mum can go taiwan for a holiday. hence i am keeping my leave so that she can go holis.

wow D&D has two lovely grandparents
and you have a great parents

haha precious one thanks for the suggestion, yah you are right, choose a centre that has all things. Tots house dun have. Character montossori has quite a lot. Oh forgot to mention, I was pretty impressed with the hall they have! I thought only schools have that, never thought childcare also has!

Jane, good idea! didi you want our tricycles haha?

next time when I have 2nd one, will also employ a maid to help my in laws if I can afford.
Also, will put dash in full day childcare most prob, else my in laws will be tired out. Actually, they really dote on dash, and they are very good already to help to take care. My mum always say THEY SHOULD TAKE CARE, cause dash is with their surname, but dun think thats fair right?

My mum is always travelling most often to genting, china watsoever.

But I do understand lar, they only can afford to travel recently when all their children are grown up.
So I really shd put dash to half day childcare and not just two hours. Shd let my in laws rest more. When dash's immune gets stronger and he is used to the routine, full day.

Btw, mummies, do you think school bus is safe? Dash will need to take school bus to character montossori leh, maybe a 15mins journey.

Jane,
You also, Siang Siang got a popo that loves him
ya, that's y I loves my dad very much (as he spoilt me mah)
me being youngest dotter got the privileges
it's nice to let your mommy travel, she will enjoy it, is she gg with her 'kakis' ?

so tired..only 4+ ..ytd skipped my jogging, so tonite 'got to' go jog w hubby..dreading it.. but cannot dun exercise, cos no more yoga now..dun exercise become fat again, then jia lad

nev mind me, i'm juz typing wat's in my mind now :p

hello kkf
i can sense you have cheer up a bit. talking it out is good. oh i think school bus is cool! can train dash to be independant too. and i heard some school bus driver (accompany with those auntie) really look out for the kids well. making sure all the kids reach home safe.

didi
haha. you suddenly have 2 tricycle reserved for D&D.. haha. and both is of good condition. mine i just bought (new) for $55. so the 2 tricycle is pre-loved by only one baby. one is dash and one is siang. both boys! isn't that wonderful hahaha... didi going to *faint*. haha

yes, we so fortunate to have loving parents. my mum? i intend to sponsor her so that my bro and sil (who is both young and broke) to bring her to taiwan haha.

disneymickey
a happy woman tends to put on weight *wink wink*

kkf
I personally feel that Dash is still so young (Oct 05, 27 weeker premie, only abt 2 yrs old to-date) to take school bus on his own lei....plus new environment etc. quite siong for him initially. May be get your ILs to pick him up from school first for a couple of month or so, when he is more or less settled, then try out school bus....not advisable to introduce so many new things at one go....too over whelming.

Though the distance is very short, you must check with the driver, how many stops before he drops off Dash, cos it might take more than 15 mins at the end of the day.

DM
You are so slim and I don't think you will put on weight kind.

KKF,

Is CM the closest (in terms of locality) to your MIL's place? I would choose one within walking distance even if i may have to compromise on the quality of the childcare. Our kids are too young loh. Maybe I abit paraniod esp so when I'm a seatbelt believer. Me safety comes first.

precious,
pls la. i hav lost 4kg since ws' birth, but seems like put on another 2kg alrdy. must really watch my diet & exercise.. u r so slim & pretty mommy.no wonder angel oso so pretty

kkf,
i 2nd stressed' tots. 2 me, closeness most impt. i think 4 convenience oso. easier 4 ur in-laws to pick dash up if the sch is within walking distance.

hi precious_one, ah yo! if like what disneymickey describle you. then you are maintaining well hence never put on weight.

mummies, true hor, distant is important. good if can within walking distance.

kkf, is the school within walking distance (since by bus is 15mins?)

DM
I didn't see you before so can't comment on the before and after birth size, but you definitely are slim and pretty when I see you on Sunday, I felt that I am fatter than you. You set very high standards for yourself. Don't lose weight, otherwise people might think you are unhappy by looking at your slim body....hahahaha (I like Jane's words).

HMM...thanks for the advices leh. me got to rethink now...maybe you are right, he is too young, but then like wat jane thought, maybe can train him to be independent. hmm....

Aiyo, more question marks.

oh, the nearest to my in laws is YMCA which I have went to see too, but is full! Somemore long waiting list.

aiya, precious one and disneymickey, saw both of you before, both are slim and pretty.
and both have pretty sweeties!

Jane
Here is my weight statistics, when I married my hubby, I was 42 kg, it took me 4 yrs to become 44 kg. When I was preggy and last weight measurement taken at week 21, I was at 47 kgs so I also dun know the actual weight when I'm at 24 weeks....When I was nursing Angel in the early days, stress and worries made me lose weight till 42 kg and lower, now I think my weight is at about 44 or 45 kgs....I don't exercise but I do housework and A makes me run after her all the time ... must thank A??

DM is actually very slim, I don't know why she thinks she put on 2 kg.....

kkf, I wish I can help you, if you are not staying at SK but CCK, then I can help you pick up my potential Son-IL....kekeke (this joke is between KKF and I only). I tell my hubby, that die die I must keep my own car cos I now chauffeur princess to school and return. But because it is for princess, I officially took over my hubby's car and he drives my mini car... hahaha
so shiok!

I agree with Precious one. Sometimes because of distance, the driver picks your boy boy the earliest and drop him off the latest!

Wahh...that time it will be really shiong to him. What if he want to zzz during the trip how? Got bus auntie or not? Aiyooo...the more I think, the more worried for you leh. I also stressed for you. Too bad I go back to work liao. If not I can help ferry ur ds back to your PIL.

Can ur PIL's pick him up personally? Got alot of Ah mahs and Ah Gongs waiting outside the gate. My mum included.:p

precious,
tat's cos my fats r hidden under the loose clothes haha.. anyway, now at home, waiting 4 hubby to come back, then we can go jog together. tmrw on leave (heehee..kkf will scold me again ) will go chk out kinderland. if everything's ok, will register ws tmrw

stressed
Yes, many ah gongs and ah mas waiting anxiously for their beloved grand children outside A's school daily. In fact, out of 20 children in playgroup classes, 14 are on half day session. I believe the parents are trying out and see how their kids' react first. The elders waiting outside the school also make me feel young again....and they are my friends now.

DM,
wow, I wonder if you take an aeroplane home, how come so quick from changi to CCK? what time you off work?

Ask for trial lesson if can, then you sit in to observe the teacher at work.

disneymickey how will i scold you leh? I envy you. But if you take leave, will you feel guilty one? Me always feel guilty when I take childcare leave or mc one. Also got to worry about the many many things to settle after the day of leave. sigh. Today I also think and think very long b4 I apply childcare leave. I dunno, I always have the perception that people judge people by their mcs and leaves. If you never take mc and leave, you will be considered hardworking. If you take many mcs and leaves, people will say "wow, not again".

Kinderland not bad I heard. So good leh all of you have good schools nearby you. My in laws nearby no good schools, thats why I am having such big big headache.

My colleague's daughter also taking school bus, so I thought is ok. But yah, I also worry, like what if the bus meet accident? Think I really have to reconsider.

My in laws do have car, but their car is used by their youngest son, who always use the car to ferry his girlfriend to and fro changi airport (she is an air steward).

Dun think they can fetch my boy. Need to take a bus if they fetch him.

The best place now is YMCA. I worked in that organisation before. I know how it is. They will say prayer before eating. But then, I dun like something is that their teachers can be temp staff, like me last time, A level waiting for results.

Dunno, think for the time being, got to let dash stay put at tots house, before I make my decision.

Oh yah, you r right as well, dash is always sooo tired and dead beat after his 2 hours of tots house, I think he will def fall asleep in the school bus, dangerous.

stressed you so nice, offer to fetch dash, hee.

how's your julia gabriel? Its rather fun right?

dash is sleeping. so early right?
he only napped ard 1 hour today, so he fall asleep around 7 plus just now.
Think maybe half day program not yet for him. He may be too small. His nap time around 12pm, half day program will be too tedious for him.

Thanks for all the advices from the mummies here. Think I will stick to tots house. He is getting used to that place and the teachers too. Somemore other centres are simply too far. I m not comfortable with the idea of school bus too. Think will just let him continue, and hope my in laws can get enough rest for that 2 hours when he is in school. Also, have make agreement with my mum that she will take care of him once a week every friday only from now (got to have my mum come to my house cause my weekly cleaner will be here)

If there is vacancy at YMCA, may consider putting him which is nearby my in laws place.

You see me so fickle minded. waste my cab fees today to go around amk to see those centres.

Oh stressed, wanted to tell you, if you dun want to join jg anymore, you may want to consider zoo phonics. Its program I find is very very similar to jg, and somemore cheaper. Me tempted to go there after jg ends, but then, i dun want to drop mandeville. still considering. fickle minded me again!

kkf,
initially wan to take leave today, but went back 2 finish up some work, so taking leave tmrw. my boss/colleagues ok w us taking leave/mc, since it's our entitlement anyway. as long as we hav backup plans, it's ok i think. 1 thing gd abt my work is, got q a lot of leave + childcare leave. n flexible working hrs.

precious,
like i say, i got q flexible working hrs & flexible boss.. official working hrs is 8.15-5.30, but today reach office @9 (cos company bus late cos of jam), but i hav a colleague who's staying in cck offering me a lift home, so left at 5.15. tat's y can reach home early

kkf,

yah. I no quite like JG. Soooo noisy. Make my ears ring. Although the programme per se is excellent, this mummy here feels that dd's cc is enough.

5 days a week, dd goes cc to learn I-dunno-what. Then Sat still got JG. Aiyoo. I think overload liao. I prefer to bring her to Botanic Gardens/airport to run/walk/scream/cry....or best....my favourite place - Orchard Road to shop. hahahaha...I want to spend quality time with her and not to stress over classes/tuitions etc.

So Zoophonics is out. I don't see the value in dd learning her ABCs so early. Although she can sing her ABCs, to me it means nothing if she cannot connect A = aeroplane, apple, astronaut blah blah. Doesn't impress me leh.

I think I study too much until I scared my dd end up like me - looney. Hahaha...

I think u can start putting ur name down on the YMCA list and ask them if they can bump u up the list because u are urgent case. Bluff bluff abit lor. Have to act pitiful sometimes. hahaha...

kkf
You are okay. Most mummies will be fickle minded when it come to the child's needs. I was also very fickle from Oct 07 to Dec 07 last year, trying to find which school suits A best. Waste a bit of time and dollar here and there but it is $ well spent.
No harm waitlist Dash in YMCA as you don't know when the vacancy will be available. I also have a waitlist in YMCA at Bt. Batok branch and I put in the name since last Oct, no phone calls yet (before I found TLL). A will stay put at TLL though.

DM
Yes, Nestle seems to be a nice co. to work in. So good for mummy like you with a young kid.

Precious_One,
You know what
my internet was down that's why QUIET, hey SAHM like us, ph or not no difference lah
just wondering do you cook your own lunch ? do you stay near Lot 1 ? cause I ever tried the Ngoh Hiang beehoon, quite yummy

didi
Yes, I can walk to Lot 1, under 5 mins.
Really ah the ngoh hiang bee hoon yummy, i didn't try, i usually patronize the kuay chup stall. Yeah, SAHM everyday is the same, and I always tell A that when she refuses to bathe or do daily routine...hehe

didi
oh I didn't answer your question. I cook A's lunch and dinner daily but I dun cook lunch for myself unless hubby outstation. Like today, he is in indo, I'll cook rice enough for myself for lunch and dinner than either fry egg or whatever I can find. Nowadays, I also don't cook dinner for hubby so if he is not travelling, I will wait for him to da bao, for lunch, I anyhow eat, may be instant noodle, bread or whatever I can find at home.

I used to cook quite a bit previously but now with A at T2, I very very tired everyday.