Premature babies support group

tks daec and precious_one for the advice.have a nice day cheers

Fairylander, 34 weekers shd be fine. Dun worry, think at most stay 2 weeks in SCN.

My birthday 15th november! yeah! will remember yours cause two days after mine.

Daec, forgot when we started our boy on solid...hmm...think around 6 months, non-corrected.

Disneymickey, bookfair? great! my family day over there, can go see see.

Precious one, me going batam too, think a week before lindah!

Mich, yeah! holidays coming. Looking forward. My colleague taking no pay next year to take care of her 1 and half year old gal. Me so envy. She is a good mother, sure will teach her girl very well. Her girl already very smart. Me wish can afford no pay too. Btw, no christmas for me. Ever since my elder boy died on christmas day, I never ever celebrate christmas anymore.

haha, fairylander, i m not kkh! hee.

Yup yup waiting for my hubby to celebrate for me leh...but me very ma fan one, me always tell him "not too far, must have lots of clean toilets, and must be very cosy". keke

kkf, Dash is CUTE !!!
Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, huh
did he say 'potato' ? thot heard that

fairylander,
rest well after c-section. Your bb should be doing quite good after delivery as already 34 weeks. We had another mummy here deliver at 34 weeks with about the same weight as your bb, and i think bb was discharged from SCN about 2-3 wks later. For yourself, care for C-section is very important. You will need lots of rest in bed for first 3-4 days where the pain is still not so manageable. Do take care.

sorry can't post too long, v busy this week. will update again.

kkf
Dash voice is so pleasing to the ears! Can sing well, ming ri zi xing! You don't have to worry that you've to beg in the street already, you busy count $$.

Hi fairylander,

Dun know if I m the rite person to give u some assurance.. I was hospitalised in KKH when I was in my 33week cos my waterbag leakage too and waterbag broke during 34weeks and my baby was only 1.5kg when borned.. but lucky I was given 2x injection to stablise the baby's lungs during my hospital stay.. And my baby only stay in SCN for 21 days to gain weight.. Bill came out only 3k++ cos our baby is in C class..

Dun worry so much as what other mummies here said.. 34weeks is very stable liao.. Baby jus need to gain weight only..

I m back.. keke.. can only surf net when my hubby back from work cos using his laptop.. No more pc for me cos it was removed for putting Craydon's baby cot.. I m like a zombie now cos not enough sleep.. Craydon is super cranky & cries for milk every 3hrs and need alot of attention.. Now his weight is 3.2kg and drinking 80ml..

Hi xbliss,

Glad to know ur boy is doing very well too.. Once he is in SCN, he will be going home too.. And u will hav alot of sleepless nites like me.. hahahaa.. :p

alicia,
I am so happy to see you. I knew you must have been very busy with Craydon. His weight gain seems really good and his appetite is wow! U are doing a great job! Must share more with me on your daily schedule so i am well prepared for bryan aka the loud hailer when he is back!

Are you breastfeeding him or giving ebm? Your supply got improve? I met a mummy at NICU who tells me fenugreek is very helpful.

Actually i am already zombified.. very very busy this week settling bryan's 1 mth mini "celebration" (keke.. only give cakes to the docs and nurses and our parents!) and lots of renovation stuff for new house which will be ready end Nov. I will be returning to work for 1 mth next week, so need to clear all these things. I am really so tired I stone at the PC dunno what to do. Already not enough sleep cos i have to pump every 3-4 hrs and i dutifully force myself to wake up at night cos i have had enough of relieving myself of blocked ducts which are really painful. I am really going to have to catch up on sleep this weekend.

Updates on bryan
He has started cycling and has managed up to 2hrs cycle. We carried him for the first time yesterday.. so small but so warm. When off CPAP, he loves to make the sucking noise when he has his milk! so cute! His weight (+/- 1.3) has fluctuated quite a bit since started cycling, i'm guessing it's adjustment. Today draw a lot of blood for tests so he is tired; only got to carry short while during night visit. Thanks to the mummies' reminder, we took pictures of our first time carrying bryan!

precious_one,
thank you for giving me your dates! i opt for 13 nov cos i will be back to work by 15 nov. I'll look for you at ENT around 12+.. 11.45am prob can't cos my confinement food comes around that time. I'll pm u my contact. So excited to see Angel (and u lah!!)

Anyone else going to KK?! if not, we shall meet on preemies awareness day! maybe we should all wear a rose (old fashion hor?!) to identify ourselves! heee...

Paiseh, Mich...too many pairs of twins and I am so confused that I ended up "calling" the wrong name. This shows that I am aging! By the way, thanks for reminding us about the temporary nappy changing areas and milk making counters, will let the rest of my fellow colleagues know and we will try to see into it. Thank you. :>

kkf, of course, I have not forgotten u and dash too. Yes, I will "introduce" you to the rest of the parents and colleagues on that day, for you are a good ex-preemie and you have brought dash up well too. We can look into that if you want us to arrange dash to perform. But, there are quite a handful of activities lining up on that day and so we are also worry that we may run out of time too. Erm, are you giving us a montage too?

Yeah, for mummies who are putting up the montage on that day, we may need you all to stand beside your montage and share your experience in NICU /expertise in rearing up the kids now. Not to worry, if you afraid that you can't locate your montage, there will be ushers around to show you(and I will be one of them). :>

Our main worry is that the turn up of the parents/families will be poor as we want to create awareness in Singapore, therfore, I am now "promoting" the event here, do come and join us on 30th November 2007 @ KKH for the Preemie Awareness Day! It's a day for our little heros and look forward to see you all.

xbliss,
I was around all these while in the ward but we just "rubbed" against our shoulders only. And I did see you carry bryan on thursday night. Though, never really have any chance to nurse Bryan, but on and off, I did pop in the room and said hi to him.

Mich, Costa, kkf and lindah
I will not be seeing you guys on this coming monday when you come to pass up your "homework", but nevertheless, hope to see you guys on our hot date! ;>

tata

buzzbubbly,
tonite not working huh.....how are you?wah, kkh vy lucky to hv you as mee see leh...off work, still come here and promote the event....dun worry lah...if you all contacted the preemie parents, sure they would come one lah.....

you not around to see my so called "masterpiece" huh...guaranteed after i pass up..u wld be famous leh..got alot of yr pictures..after the event, either you or yr kaki can bring one of my montages home....if you wanna throw away, dun let me noe hor..if not i vy sad...hahaha...

i just put the finishing touches to it..tink i better faster pass it up..the more i see it the more i see like not nice and i correct here and there..hahaha..cheers..see u again hor..call me in my office when you free....cuz i dun noe when is yr off day..

Buzz
I was smiling at the screen while reading your post. KKH is indeed very lucky to have you as their mee see.
Stand next to our montage?!! Must ah?
Thanks for the advance notice. Then i must go and do my hair and dress nice nice that day. Hahaha...
No worries about the names lah...
Didi and her lovely twins will also be attending the event on that day
Jane will be submitting a poster.

Costa, Lindah, Jane!!
Finally.... i completed the poster. Finished the last part after putting the boys to bed.
Now very zombie liao.

Xbliss
Bet you must be very curious to find out who is Buzzbubbly now? hee..hee..hee..

Buzz

Just kidding one. Will not really perform lar. haha.

Yup, I got a montage and a poster. But I m still figuring out how to print it out? Anyway, think will try to print out today, and submit today. Go to NICU to submit to any nurse is it?

Anyway, stand besides our montage? Ok, interesting.

Xbliss, wow, bryan is really doing well! I believe he will be home very soon.

Anyway, my boy did an interesting thing yesterday. he was reciting chinese poem "jing ye si" by LI BAI. For chinese mummies, you shd know the 3rd sentence is "ju tou wang ming yue", my boy changes it to "ju tou kan MOON". haha.

Here is the video. You will see me posting videos, cause me just found an interesting site to put my videos!

http://www.dropshots.com/kkf#date/2007-11-09/20:16:22

Aiyo, kkf, Dash soooooooo cute... I can't wait for my gal to grow up. kkf, isn't it all worth it when you look back? I'm so happy for you... Happy Happy Happy... Aiya.. I don't know how to express my joy!!

Daec, looks like nana is about the same age as Coco. My gal, coco is about 6 weeks plus for non-corrected and 4 mths for corrected. If you did not miss my previous post, you will remember that I'm the one who started on avacado and she doesn't want the rice cereal!!!
Anyway, this morning, I added avacado to the rice cereal. So advice.. maybe should give plain rice cereal first before any tasty food. Anyway, I started with the first meal in the morning. So far, this is the 5th day. I intend to carry on with the avacado with rice cereal rice cereal until I get back to singapore next week and switch to brown rice with added ingredients from the chinese medical hall..

kkf,
dash so cute! can multitask wor.. sing and do other things at same time. next time ask him to teach bryan di di to sing!

Mich
ya, buzzbubbly is like phantom of the opera! haha. So scary.. i better not post anything bad about NICU here!

Buzzbubbly,
Thanks for dropping by to see Bryan! Bryan seems to be infatuated with all the pretty mee sees there! everytime they talk to him, bryan never fails to open eyes big big! I call him dunno how many times, he still sleep like a log!

Lili
wish i stay with u! i love avocado!!! always long for the avocado inside those sushi handrolls. After i finish my confinement, i am going to wipe out sushis and sashimis!

hi kkf, avacado is niu you guo (butter fruit -direct translation) in chinese. You would be able to recognise it when you see it. quite common in the supermarket.. rough green texture shaped like a pear with yellowish, green flesh.

xbliss, yeah.. I had to stay out of sashimi during my pregnancy.. after that.. i really wack! Cos near where I stay got a jap restuarant with all you can eat buffet at about S$20plus. I enjoy going there to wack the sashimi!!!!

alicia,
tks for the info.really appreciate
alot of mummies here did provide useful info.tis thread is so heart warming.glad to hear tat craydon is doing well.

xbliss,
muz be happy to carry bryan for the 1st time so happy for u.jia you bryan n mummy

juz came back from regular check up.hurray bb weight increase from 1628g on wed to 1768g today.wat a relief phew!!!so happy today.wish u all have a happy weekend cheers!!

xbliss
I'm a BIG fan of sushi and shashimi too...but go slow lar cos you still ebming, remember, whatever you eat, go to your bm, so eat moderately then see how's baby taking the raw food. If ok, then whack until your heart drop. I didn't eat raw food nor drink tea tarik (which is my opium) until I stop ebm cos I've afraid baby kena diarrhea and also worried caffaine over stimulates the baby, keeps the baby awakes. I'm just a kiasu and kiasi mummy. But will respect your choice. hehe

fairylander
High chance your baby's wt might hit 2 kg on 17 Nov. Think of food and carry on eating.

kkf,
If I see Dash on 30 Nov, can I hug and kiss him?

Haha, precious one, and fairylander, dash will have no problem for you hug and kiss him. he will love it!

Yah yah, fairylander, eat more durian, and drink more black chicken soup.

Lili, yummy! I dun take raw food, but I love sushi. Wow say, if I stay at your place, will sure go everyday to eat the buffet. I love buffet. Btw, babies can eat avocado? thought it is very hard?

xbliss
Gee, I just recalled that I drank teh tarik during ebming, not like daily but during those buay tahan, tired and stress moments.....shhhhh but I confirmed stay away from sushi and shashimi.

precious one
I am lucky i am not a caffeine addict! i dun take coffee or tea or soft drinks. Mummy train me to like plain water cos of my childhood asthma. Yar, i am worried my ebm will smell like raw fish.. hahah.. so i will start monitoring when i eat sashimi. Poor bryan will get a new taste that he might not like! heheh.

fairylander,
good job on piling on the weight! it's worth it cos only one more week. BB's got a very good birthweight already so i dun think you need to worry much. Rest well and continue to be positive.

kkf
avocado is very soft! a lot of ppl have this misconception. Only the skin and seed is very hard. It has a solid looking shape but is actually very soft and kind of melts in the mouth, sweet and a bit buttery taste! yummy.. today no time to eat, i'll go eat tomorrow!

TOday is another day of hugging bryan.. so enjoyed it esp when he looked at me with his big big eyes. *heart melt already*

kkf,
just read your blog. i quote this line off your 8 nov posting.

"I find it very interesting, and worth the money."

i thought that post was from dash's point of view?! hehehehe..

xbliss, have cancelled that sentence liao.

Enjoy hugging bryan.
I really think he is a great boy progressing very well. I think he is very eager to go home!

kkf, u very cute leh! go and cancel the sentence! hehe. i just thought it was so interesting that dash would have thought the puzzle was "worth the money"! All toys to children are worth the money! haha.

Yes, bryan is such a cute small little warm bundle.. we keep reminding him he has got a bigger bed, more toys and clothes at home! (Plus we promise to attend to his dirty diaper more diligently. hehehe, that should be a plus point since he is such a cleanliness freak!)

To all: Enjoy your Sunday!

I will not be able to see all the pretty ladies bringing the posters tml, because will only come on duty at night.

*pat* all mummies here, well done for putting in all your effort in the montages and taking good care of the little heros!

good morning mummies

i really got lots to work on today. then tomorrow won't be in office.

mich, costa, lindah, didi, kkf....about the poster. i am almost done! but then need some tiny touch up (need to print somehting).

costa - can you check for me if i can submit this weekend? because there is no way i can go anytime during this weekdays. if not, i think i can only submit on 20 Nov (when my boy has physio session) :p. i will let the NICU nurse know that i won't be attending the event...

how i wish i can go thou.....

hello xbliss

congrats on bryan progress
do continue to keep us posted.

if you still need any bottles or caps hehe let me know ;) cheers. my sis say..you are one brave mummy.

jane,
not bad ar..u also quite fast finish...for me, everyday like do abit and the more i see the more i go and correct tis and that..lucky i am going to submit today if not hor..my fingers sure vy itchy....haha...

can lah, can submit anytime to nicu..they 24hrs one mah...only if you want to see specifically any meesee then you go on that day the meesee is on duty...haha, i want to see buzzbubbly but she not free to see me today hahah..

haha, i lugged the poster by bus and now going to lug it to kkh during lunch..haha..

Hi all, counting down to the days to be back home to savour the bak chok mee, laska, curry puffs... yum! yum! By the way, how the weather like in S'pore? Hot hot? or rainy rainy? Sigh.. I hope my gal wouldn't fall sick with the change in weather...

kkf, yeah, avacado has a smooth, soft texture. Like banana. It doesn't look appealing so I guess we wouldn't go and try this fruit. I wouldn't have tried it too if I had not read about it on those baby's recipes websites. Usually like xbliss, only eat it with the sushi, but I hardly could recall the taste. But on its own, really not bad lei.

xbliss, yeah, glad to see bryan progressing day by day. You're right, talking to our babies helps a lot..You know, my husband is the one who always visited my gal during my confinement and he will always praise her being pretty. Now, my gal smile at the word 'pretty' and she will always quieten down to look out for daddy's voice when she hears it. Daddy's girl!!

My gal nowadays so grumpy and throwing tantrums and gets frustrated easily.. dunno why lei.. when we carry her when she is frustrated also very difficult now cos she will wriggle and sweep her head from left to right so vigorously! Already ganna some scratches on her forehead before when she rubbed against my mum's specs and ear rings.. sigh.. I hope it is a phase and will pass soon.

Some more frustrations with my gal. Nowadays, except for the avacado with rice cereal which she gobbles down eagerly, I always have problem getting her to drink her milk. Now I dread feeding time. I really must say a prayer before she drinks. When she doesn't want the milk, she will screams and push the bottle away. So we have to resort to me 'performing' with the puppet to distract her while my mum feed her!! Aiyo.. like that how can? I can't imagine me 'performing' every meal time!! Cannot ta-han. Want to hard-hearted and let her go hungry also can't bear it. Any similar experiences and advice?

lili, someone told me that during this period, bb is more active and ready to learn and explore.. of cos i dunno what relation that has to their drinking milk but it seems pretty true for my nephew too! Also for my nephew, they started sweet stuff like apple puree mix with water at the same time, so he learnt to ask/cry for sweet things and refuse to drink his milk and water!

Jane, all of us here are brave mummies wor. We got a whole lifetime to be brave as long as our kids are still staying with us! haha. everytime worry this worry that.

lili,

is it any consolation 4 u tat i'm oso dreading meal time?? seldom, i would say maybe 2-3 times out of 10times that she'll guai guai eat her porridge??

precious one /disneymickey/ kkf /lili
thanks for the reply! looks like Nada be starting solids soon. I'll be seeing the dietician etc on dec 17.

lili, Nada was born in May. how abt coco ? can I ask - what made u start on solids already ? thx

alicia
welcome back! wah 3.2kg is gd
gd luck as the period when baby back from the hospital is tough for sure. I remember being zombie too ehhehe but feel gd to see baby sleeping near u, ya ?

lili,

is it any consolation 4 u tat i'm oso dreading meal time?? seldom, i would say maybe 2-3 times out of 10times that she'll guai guai eat her porridge??

lili/disneymickey
Count me in as one who also dreaded feeding previously. Now, sometimes dreads sometimes doesn't, it all depends on princess' cooperation. What makes me more upset is I spent hours cooking the food and she refused to eat. Damn gek sim.

lili
Yes, mummy is also the crown sometimes...i.e. to entertain the little one. Do funny action, dancing, imitate cartoon character or whatever to make the little one laugh or eat.

daec
Happy feeding solid to Nada. Aiya, I have rehab appointment on the 18th and not 17 Dec.
Miss one chance of meeting another mummy.

lili,
i think my son also same case, i really cant stand feeding him...he wld shut his mouth and turn away and twist here and there to avoid eating..but bo pian...just try to feed watever i can..

how long wld u be back in spore?

who was the one asking wats avocado?tink both er li guo and niu yu guo are terms used interchangeably...cuz the avocado's texture is supposed to be like butter...can be spread like butter..

but my son doesnt really like the texture of avocado..

precious/lili/costa,
looks like our 'group' is getting bigger haha. sometimes i can't help but selfishly think "heng! i'm only feeding her on sat & sun! weekdays my mom will do the feeding" but surprisingly, my mom say feeding her is a breeze. she'll finish her porridge in 10-15mins. think my ger bully me

precious, ya, sometimes spent so much effort in preparing the food & yet she's not eating. might as well juz cook plain porridge & throw away haha

disneymickey
hahaha, don't throw away plain porrige lar, can eat myself lei. Come to think of it, have not given her plain porridge, may be she will love it hor... like put some light soya sauce...easy man.
Do you notice your gal, as you bring the food to her, she will look at it, like machan spot check to see if it suits her taste kind of look, if she sees the same old thing, she rejects the food instantly. So everyday, I have to cook different food now. Like you, I dump a lot of stuff inside the soup to make it naturally sweet. Then use the soup to cook porridge, abc pasta, kuay teow or mee sua.

Now I understand why my mum got so angry previously on why we didn't tell her in advance if we're not going home for dinner. She hated our last minute call. hehe