Premature babies support group

kkf
Dash so cute and clever
so clever can recite poetry! gimme motivation to teach Nada at that age, didn't think they could recite at that age leh.

ur blog say leart from Shicida Toy R'Us toys not gd ? can share more ? thx

dear mummies

In my midst of playing my office email games keke

I just received text from xbliss
Bryan graduate to SCN in a while
yeah yeah yeah!!

happyz day

hello mich

hehe, wonder of technology, that news get spread so far isn't it keke. You know, xbliss saw our person (in picture) keke. opps!

yes, really so happy for xbliss and bryan

just now when my hp beep.... i was really shack but when i press the open button and saw the text from xbliss, wow...suddenly i feel so energetic and think of siang at home waiting for me. so i must work hard and finish work in time hehe...

hello fairylander,
take care and eat more and rest more

xbliss,
wonderful news! i'm sure bryan will b gg home v soon

precious,
my ger will eye the food, spot chk got anything she likes, esp FISH, like salmon (cos pinkish colour, easy to spot). she'll point to it & demand u to feed her tat first!

her new love: mushroom! i dunno if u gals rem, meat was her favourite, now mushroom!! any kind. shitake, button, chinese mushroom..haha

jane,
today raining some more. no mood 2 work. my sis on leave, she say bringing my ger to junction 8. wish i can go with them

my ger juz learnt to say gor-gor. but she pronounced it as dor-dor. 4 few days, we dunno wat she's talking abt. finally, she pointed to a boy & say dor-dor, then we know she's trying to say gor-gor. haha

xbliss
Good news! Very soon you will be carrying Bryan in your arms everyday. Looks like you have to assume your maternity leave pretty soon. Like Alicia, when Bryan is home initially, you will have lesser time to post liao, cos bz feeding and changing diaper.

disneymickey
hehe, our girls so picky when it comes to food, wonder if they will be as picky when they choose boyfriends... hahaha. How do you cook salmon for your girl? I have not tried this. So your girl will be at Kinderland next year? Every time I go LOT 1, I hope to bump into you and your girl.

hello disneymickey

Me too wish i can stay at home and play with siang too. he really cute now...haha...my boy still at mamamma and papa dunno wat aaaaaa.... keke. but i know he saying 'pao pao' (carry) haha. even my maid figure that out keke. but i am not sure, he is just one year old (corrected) so i wonder if he will speak now or not..or just babbling haha. anyway, we encourage him to speak la...even if just babbling

your ger is wonderful to be able to utter so many words at this age. you have coach her well

hi fairylander
haha, you can sense i am stress? yes, i am very stress up because time is running short and i won't be in office today and then have to rush off at 6pm sharp to rush home :p. sigh...playing office email game (i called it so myself) can be a tedious and brainy game to play. sometime i wish the network is down :p opps! see i can be that wacky keke...

opps fairlander, see today and tomorrow i also cannot differentiate liao. its tomorrow that i won't be in office keke

hello mummies, i am finally back home and finished washing and sterilizing all the pump equipment with my new bottle brush. Last time i am so proud of my IT gadgets, now i am so proud of my bottle brush collection. sigh..

And yes! Thank you all for the well wishes! I was joking with the doc that they were promoting bryan cos NICU no space! they needed the room to isolate one infection case. The doc insisted that if bryan had not been stable, he wouldn't be able to go SCN too. I am so excited. Things happened very fast.. last week he was still on CPAP and yesterday just started his 3-1 cycling only! Somemore his incubator and monitor kena short circuited, heng he know how to breathe already! haha. Nurse also said he could suck cos she put his pinky into his mouth..(daddy is going to have a lot to say about this cos he insists no thumbs in the mouth!) but of cos, must wait til he is bigger then intro the bottle.

I told bryan not to be scared when he change room later too! hopefully he can adjust well and continue to put on weight.

It's a mixed feeling graduating from NICU. So close to the nurses there and less babies. DIn get to meet buzzbubbly too! I'm starting work for 1 mth from this wed and kind of sad that i can't be there in the afternoons to watch bryan grow and talk to him (disturb him lahh). Nights are very precious.. have to split the time with my in-laws. sigh. I'm sure i will miss many of his milestones.

fairylander,
hopefully your bb won't even need SCN ok? But if really do, we can meet up already lor!

Jane,
u blur from playing too much games!

Mich, Costa and Lindah (3 chio mummies!),
nice meeting you all. sorry dress so shabby cos haven't return to work and still in holiday mood!

hi fairylander...
you are right. i am really lost (hand like leg and leg like hand)... so much to finalised and so little time like that... :p

ya...breath in and out. get things more organised keke. i love to see the way siang clap hands...hehe. its really cute sight :p. he seem to put in so much effort to clap hands (when to me, its such simple task). so whenever he clap hands i will get everyone to clap with him :p hahahah... must sound funny to you :p

precious,
no leh, haven't decided if kinderland or not. cos now there's another option - 3hr playgroup. gg to chk out 1 in fajar this weekend.

i juz steam the salmon, with tomato & wolfberry. then use finger to mesh up (to make sure no bones oso). but if u buy those 1piece type frm NTUC, most of the time no bone, but juz 2 make sure.

1st time i make, the smell q strong (u know, the normal salmon smell). not sure if she'll like it. but in the end, she loves it! think she's like me, likes fish

jane,
no matter if siang is calling papa mama or juz making noises, he's learning. i read somewhere, u must repeat after him. juz follow him make those funny sounds. most impt do not laff at him, though it may sometimes sound silly (like dor-dor, try pronouncing it, u'll oso laff haha).

today 4got to bring my yoga pants, so skipping 1 lesson heehee.. told hubby will go back & cook dinner. dunno how long nev cook dinner 4 him alrdy. nowadays if i cook, it'll b 4 my ger only. my BIL brought back some German sausages frm Germany. maybe will make western food tonite - sausages & roast potato..hmm. means got to leave early, go NTUC buy food

hello xbliss

we are all so excited and happy for you
. oh you are starting work? don't worry, soon bryan be home with you. take care after you start work, don't over tired yourself with the in between trips to see Bryan.

haha i am proud of the brushes and etc that i buy for my boy too hehe... :p when i used to be so proud of producing a big sum of budget at a short time frame keke... things really change after we enter motherhood isn't it.

haha 3 of them really chio right

hello disneymickey

yes, the speech theraphist told us to repeat after him too. it help them to learn.

oh u cooking tonight? wow..so nice of you. me only get to cook during weekends for my lao gong and its always the same old stuff :p because i have no time to go market and he does all the marketing hence he always buy the same old ingredients (being man keke) that he likes.

have fun cooking tonight

Jane, you are really making me so eager to see the 3 chio mommies
on 30 Nov 2007
hopefully can make it

Daec, yup shichida mentioned that toysrus toys are useless and not helpful in learning.

congrats! wow, bryan is really doing very great!

disneymickey, jane, I everyday also no mood to work one. Wish can be with my boy.

Btw, disneymickey, bags are here!!!when you want to collect and where?

No time to post. Yesterday meet parents. Today also.

Oh yah, my boy is really undergoing stage of terrible 2 now. He is so naughty. Whenever we go shichida lesson, he will be throwing things, taking other people's things etc. so malu.

Thinking of enrolling him into some music course to tame him down? you think it helps?

Btw, haven't submit my poster leh. How to print out??? The best is A4 size, can consider as poster?

Disneymickey and precious_one... gee, which means this feeding 'drama' is not going to improve but may get worst?? Arghh....

Daec, coco is born on 30 Apr. I started solids for her because she was drinking less and less milk and I thought she was getting tired of the taste and wanted something different! But hor, don't follow my theory cos nowhere have I read that babies start on solids because they are drinking less milk, usually the clue to starting solid is that you noticed that milk cannot satisfy their hunger. But also, when we are having our meals, she will look us so eagerly, biting her hands and moving her mouth. She looked so pathetic, like a house pet!! The decision came when she refused to drink for the entire night, for almost 10 hours and by morning, she still doesn't want her milk. So I thought better give her something else in case she is really hungry!

xbliss, congrats.. you can start getting ready Bryan's stuffs at home now

lili,
haha. dun b scared haha. but there r times (though q rare) tat my ger can guai guai eat. n it's really v satisfying when u c she can finish her meal fast - means she likes wat mommy cooked haha. on sat ard 5.45pm, she actually point to her porridge then to her mouth & say "mum-mum". bit rare, cos she normally eat her dinner 6-6.15pm. but means she's hungry.

dun worry 2 much la. i'm sure coco will b a darling
a little trick: try to feed her when she's REAL hungry. much easier to feed. if possible, try to train her to sit in high chair & eat. i've failed tat, cos my mom always let her run ard during meal time. sigh

hullo mummies! wah. the thread moved so much while i was MIA. I'm not sure what I did this weekend that I din even pop in on the board leh... hhmmm... ?

fairylander,
good to hear that your bb is 1.7+ oredi.
think it's good weight, no more VLBW (Very Low Birth Weight) i think. You have 4 more days to eat

xbliss,
good news abt Byran! Must be costa, mich and me borught some luck yesterday to NICU. Hahaha. *joking only*. But seriously, it's a very celebratory moment!
Hurray. Plus about sucking the pinkie, my mum says it's a sign that baby is very intelligent. You can tell that to your hubby.
Nice to meet you too!

SCN will be noisier as the babies cry more! Hehe. Esp during milk times!

costa, mich,
thanks for reminding me to bring the poster. Because got hot date, then I remembered.
Your posters were very well done! Hope to see your boys on the day itself.
. My hubby din say much around you all (he's like that one esp when i'm talking like an MRT... as you can see I am the noisy one) but then later that day he ask me to ask you two for tips how to lose weight! After birth, still so slim! Any secrets?

lili,
my boy oso sometimes like that when drinking milk, he will shake his head from side to side until we give up and gv him the pacifier. then he will shake head again, then we give him milk. so, have to alternate and see what he wants. when he dun wan means dun wan so cant force oso. i have little patience. but no choice have to grant is wishes otherwise he will cry like nobody's business.

but it's good that coco's starting on solids oredi. the dietitician says that at 6mth, bb main food is milk while being introed to solids but by 7 mths, bb main food should be solid supported by milk. so maybe it's a sign tt she's ready for solids and to cut down on milk.

jac,
where are you ah? Miss you leh.

----------------------------
just a generic update on my boy, yesterday checkups nothing much lah. PT and OT gv exercise and told me bb is behind... esp in grasping things. Lung dr oso din say much. Just told me to increase pulmicort x 2 because Hami's chest retractions is only slightly better than the last time he saw him. Then SLT said his swallowing is ok but slow. Dietitican ask me to increase his milk intake (i honestly dunno how, as he nowadays dun even finish his milk). But I am happy to report he has caught up in his height. It's only at 3rd percentile (while his wt is at 10th percentile) but it's much better than last time when he was like way below average in his height! At least he's growing.

lili

thx! I c. I think if Nada looking like dat when we eat-my mum would wanna start her on solids too. So far not. Nada also dun drink milk after 7pm, but will drink first thing when she wake up.

hmm sounds like after teaching them to sleep at nite, the next thing is to train them how/when to eat.. good luck heheh! I will join u soon

Lindah

Nada also at one point dun drink then always have colic coz hungry later. I make her sip bit by bit while she awake and playing. no choice. slowly she learn drink more at one go.

that's gd he catch up on his height
Sure Hami boy will progress more and more as time pass

lindah
no ah, not making. would like to go c u all but can't go down either. too far as I work at pasir ris.

Lindah,
aiyoh, yr hb mouth so sweet huh...i put on liao loh...after discharge fm hospital last year...choy choy choy...i lost alot of weight bec i was hospitalised for so long last year mah..

no way, anyone shld be like me

hami really so adorable leh...love his expressions..he machiam noes who is his mum and dad and will only smile and manja you......so cute........a real heartbreaker next time...

xbliss,
whos going to help you take care of bryan?must get ready to get yr helper to standby to get training from the SCN nurses..wow..so excited for you and so happy tt bryan is progressing so well........

daec,
oic... pasir ris? nowadays white sands not bad. heard got new halal sushi plc there.
. planning to go wif my frens. hehehe. b4 pakai tudung, i used to go sakae. but not animore... so happy got new plc to go.

costa,
my hubby sweet mouth? hah! on other ladies maybe lah. but not so on me! haha! ya hor... come to think of it, being hospitalised accelerates weight loss. but it's not a healthy way to do it. in the end, still hv to exercise...
. Lazy.

my MIL say same thing about hamizan. heartbreaker. haha. heartbreaker is ok, as long as studies oso ok! if heartbreaker only, susah oredi, man...

good morning mummies,

finally my confinement is officially over and all the tension in the house dispelled already. back to normal! just wondering for the chinese, those who had their mothers or in laws do confinement for them, do you give ang pow? my mil refuses to take my ang pow cos she say she din cook for me at all (we catered). But she got help me a lot leh.. so paiseh not to give anything. How can i convince her to take?

Regarding SCN
Yesterday was bryan's first day in SCN. The nurse there told me that they will change diapers only every 4 hrs as they try to avoid touching them 2-hrly like in NICU so as to let them stabilise. But i see bryan diaper quite full and butt a little red leh.. KIV and monitor first. hehe. We found all of Bryan's ex-neighbors at SCN at the same room.. quite a gathering! And Aiyoh.. my MIL made her debut again at SCN.. when the nurse flipped bryan over from prone (correct spelling?!) position by grabbing his head and body, she screamed and scolded so loud that i was so embarrassed... (lucky nurse is indian so she dun understand, else she would have been really angry..) sigh..what a beginning! haha. Do you all know what's the difference between SCN pink and blue? Previously bryan was with NICU pink and now SCN blue.

Lindah,
u are right! must be all the luck from all the mummies who have successfully graduated! haha. Eh, sorry i very zombie yesterday so not in the right mind to chat.. forgot to even intro myself! hahah. wanted to tell u that hami looks very adorable, esp his chubby cheeks! glad that he caught up in growth too!

costa, mil says wanna help me.. but i think our ideals kind of differ.. she kind of hint that she wanna put bryan in the sarong but i am not for it since he is already used to the bed/incubator. we broached topic of getting her to attend training.. she laugh it off cos she thinks she is experienced. So i guess hubby will go in her place. I will transfer the CPR skills to her later on. Now MIL place having lift upgrading.. if it's too noisy, i will move to my new house at sengkang lor. I really dun mind caring for bryan myself for the 2 mths remaining maternity and weekends with MIL to familiarise bryan with her. hai.. i wish i could care for bryan on my own and not have to work! he's such a darling! hee.

xbliss, maybe on her birthday or new year, you give her a bigger ang pow than usual will do?

thanks on the note on hami, i am sure bryan is oso very adorable.
hope he gets discharged soon, before the awareness day.

Xbliss, for me, both my mom and mil take turns to cook for me each week. So I gave them both angbaos, they refused but I insisted, in the end they still use the angbaos to buy things for my boys, stubborn
maybe you could tell her it for 'heng heng' purpose ?

Lindah,
dun worry, hami got a vy alert look....always stare at the mum and smile...wah i see already heart also melt liao....

hes really vy adorable...

xbliss.
tink there is not much difference in scn blue and pink..tink dpds on that day when you gv birth which team is on duty...if that day is pink, then bb goes to pink etc...dun noe whether i m right or not....sekali buzz reads and says i m wrong...my son was from blue if i not wrong...

yes, we are not used to the care at scn where the nurse to bbs decreases as compared to nicu..tink i understand tt they try to minimise movement to the babies and dun try to touch them too much in fear of overstimulating them...

wah, i talk like KKH PR officer, dun mind hor.....

tink maybe just gotta tell yr mil tt its sort of good to learn cpr etc etc...of cse hopefully dun need to use lah..

rgding the way they hold the bbs to change their position..i noe wat u mean, its lidat..we are not used to it but i guess they shld noe wats best for bb...i hv seen it before..to put it crudely like holding a rabbit right...?sorry if it sounds terrible but i tink tts the way i view it...

Costa, thanks, my boys were both put in SCN's pink, is buzz in blue ? as strangely, I never seen her b4 during my boy's stay at NICU/ SCN

xbliss,
my mom cooked 4 me, so i gave her an ang bao. my MIL nev do anything 4 me :p nev even bought anything 4 me & bb, till now. so angry. whenever i go back there 4 dinner, she'll make soup 4 my SIL (who's pregnant)! so angry! i nev got anything during my pregnancy. maybe tat's y my ger not close to her now. sorry har, wrong forum 2 talk abt MIL

well, some old pple r rather stubborn & insist tat they know everything. there's sure to be conflict of interests in the way to care 4 bb. hav to close 1 eye sometimes. or maybe it's better 4 hubby to talk to his mother? i oso hav arguments w my mom b4. cos of preemie, we r v strict on wat she eats. i even hav a notebook to record how much milk she drinks daily & wat food she eats. my parents say i kia su. but i dun care, better b safe than sorry. had a v heated fight w my parents cos my mom fed her strawberry w/o tell me. only after days, she 'casually' mention tat my ger doesn't like strawberry. i lost my temper & say y din u ask me b4 u feed her?? cos i dun wan her to eat citrus fruits 2 soon (read somewhere not supposed to la). i had the notebook till she's 1yr old.

disneymickey, never mind, mils sure love their daughters more
cause that is their flesh and blood. Don't bother about others, so long your gal gal has you to love her, that's more important

xbliss
suggest later u highlight to ur MIL the critial parts from the class relevant to Bryan and also highlight premmie is bit diff. Need to emphasise the latter a lot coz they may take it for granted once out of hospital, no need special care. but premmie still need some extra care- just in case lah.

that's what I did with my mum. it worked out ok. not to worry.. anyway they will give notes, can ask her to flip thru. heheh I go also, I got lost sometimes.

cpr if she can attend - very gd.can just say dr say compulsory for her to go ? heheh.

lindah
yes near white sands. need to take bus down. white sands recently lot changes coz lot renovation, change shops. new jap pl? haha I didn't notice. I miss tempura, hmm shld c got or not.

disneymickey

sound lot like my sis. her r/s with parents was v affected coz this. now oklah. hope urs is ok.

I tend to say dr say this that so its easier to take. if they say dr dunno everything, I try to cite real life examples where baby health was affected. hehe if not tru nevermind lah as long as they scared and think twice ;)

eg.if flu, cannot let this people near baby. my parents say never mind lah, dun b so kiasu. Nada strong already. I jus say got real case where baby had to be hospitalised coz that. I dun want take such risk.then they keep quiet oh.

didi,
SIL is BIL's wife, so oso her DIL. sigh. maybe i nev por her enuff so no chkn soup 2 drink :p

i nev mind la, but sometimes feel not worth it 4 hubby. cos he actually q gd to parents. will think of bringing parents out 4 dinner, go zoo/botanic gardens, go hol. but the mother oso nev treat his wife & daughter well. not worth it. 1 day when i tah boleh tahan, sure will blurt all out!

wan to ask something, anybody take cerals or oats? i mean like quaker or nestum cereals or oats. wan to chk, is it like bb cereals, slimy slimy kind? wan to introduce something like this to my ger 4 her bfast. but she doesn't like bb cereals, so scared she'll reject the adult kind of cereals oso.

disneymickey, yep, sometimes also need to 'por' mil, to 'por' someone is not my forte too
but for me, I am the only dil that they have so they can't compare
please try not to blurt out, when we quarrelled with our mom, she will forget and forgive us, but.... with mil, think she will remember it somehow
must 'REN'

costa,
thanks... haha. hopefully our kiddies will be on par with the full term babies by the time they go to school. it's nice to hear from mich n you tt day on your experiences w your bbs... so I wont worry so much next time. My mum thinks I worry too much oso.

daec,
the place is called Hei Sushi, it's a SakaeSushi's subsidiary but they are in process of getting certification. Guess Sakae got the idea from Jack's Plc which opened Eatzi.

xbliss,
i think costa is right. abt the team thingie. cos i asked before, they say no diff between the blue and pink. just that the pink team is one team, and the blue is one team. my son was in nicu pink and scn pink. so i hardly see sister yuen. but always see sister choo. anyway i rememberd if the pump at the SCN pink is taken up, I will walk over to SCN Blue to pump. Pumping at the NICU room more fun as you self-service on the steriliser and got closed doors... in SCN, i feel a bit more 'stressed'.

disneymickey
I recently bought one quaker oats (pour hot water can liao kind) for myself. The texture is not the smooth kind for baby. It is rougher. I fed my girl two times (once last week and once the week before, she just swallow since she doesn't have the habit of chewing...hahaha.

lindah
I've been bumping onto Sister Yuen and Sister Choo lately. I bumped onto them just now when I brought my girl for ENT post ops review. They are chasing me for montage...I saw yours, very nice. I don't think I have the time to do one. So may be will siam the event altogether.

I met up with xbliss too. She is such a cheerful lady. She gave my girl a hello kitty balloon. So sweet!!

I also guess right on who's buzzbubbly liao.

hi precious,
you saw my poster? they got display oredi, meh? i did the poster in end August... outdated by 3mths by the event day!

how's angel? hole closed up ok?

you know your photo montages that you put up on your website? Just print those two into 8R, then stick it up onto a board and add some letters and words lah. Think should be good enuf, right? Ur pics are already there. Just need to put everything together. Maybe Angel can even help you glue the thing.

yah, xbliss is very smiley!

you saw buzzbubbly's photo, is it?