Premature babies support group

Hubby working in renci. Just saw the news about MOH looking into renci finance...sigh.
Another nkf? hope not.

Yes, precious one. Health is most important. I really wish all our kids will grow up healthy and strong.

How's angel now? resting at home? is it painful?
How is she coping?

kkf
She is full of energy and drive, in fact after surgery, she sort of became very very mischevious. When I changed her dressing for her, she didn't show signs of pain so I bet she is taking it very well. And what surprised me more was she was so awake right after the surgery and then when we were supposed to feed her water slowly as she was under GA, she snatched the straw cup that contained 200ml of water and drank it within 5 mins cos she was so so hungry. She fasted since 0630 hrs that morning. The nurse was so worried that she might threw up but she didn't. Half an hour later she drank another 120 ml of milk and another half an hour, she drank another 120ml of milk.

When my hubby recovered from his illness, we gonna shop for her swimsuit but what colour is Dash's one huh?? May be buy same colour machan couples suit kind.... hahaha .... just kidding lar, I know you are eyeing disneymickey's girl liao....

Hi, mummies

How have you all been?

Mich, costa and lindah,
We are looking forward to see your montages soon. To the rest of the mummies, jia you, we are waiting for your montages too.

Regarding kkf's post on the teachers' view of premature child did not fare well in studies, that is why this preemies' awareness day comes in. We want the public to know that these warriors are also doing well in their life or talented in some ways. We have some ex preemies want to come back and do performance by playing piano and drawings too!

Hope to look forward to see you all there. We are extending our invitation to those preemies' parents born in other hospitals, beside KKH. We want them to come and share and mingle with other parents, to give support and encouragement to each other.

Costa,
How is your ear infection? Can talk on the phone? Need your help. I will try to call you on this sat. Btw, dun worry, will try to "babysit" your elder son on that day, if I am not occupied. And hope that he will not get so excited to c so many people.

I am looking forward to c Mich's sons(D&D), Bernard and little Hami on that day!

In the meanwhile, do take care and drink lots of water and rest well.

Buzzbubbly, got me and my dash too! Why always left me out?

Can Dash perform?? erm...let me see, I ask him to dance? sing "twinkle twinkle"? Or can I perform? I am the oldest premature baby leh, I can sing and dance...haha...just kidding. But really you can ask everybody to look at me. I am a fine example of a premature baby growing up.

But think it is great to have preemies' awareness day.

Precious one you sosooooo cute again and again! haha. My dash's swimming suit is blue. haha. Yeah, yeah, matching clothes. But think angel will look nice in any swim suit. Frankly, I chopped a lot of girls liao, including angel. Chop chop, then let dash choose mah. haha.
"ning ke sha cuo, bu ke fang guo!"

kkf
If you are confirmed singing and dancing, I confirmed my attendance at the Premies Awareness Day. hahaha (Yes, I think you should speak up there, then can cast away all the myths of everyone that premies are slow learner etc.)

Aiyoh, you wanna all the girls' to be competitors ah? Tell u hor, I'm a protective mummy and I would not allow my girl to be No. 2 in situation like this. hehe (I also secretly chopping other boys also....hahaha)

mummies, need some advice on toys toys... I read that excersaucer is good for babies who just learned to sit.. but when i go to the rental website to see, the babies they used for demonstration like quite big..legs can stand and touch the bottom liao. Last time I saw some mummies posting photos of their babies in excersaucer like very comfy lei. Which brand will you all recommend? Can be a few hundreds for one right? Rent better?

kkf, can you give me the link to the toy rental shop again. Thank you

Also bumpermat, Lindah and kkf, last time saw you mention before. How big is the mat? How is it different from those styrofoam big puzzle like thingy? is it softer?

Thanks thanks.. going back to singapore next week so thinking of renting some toys during that period...

I dun have exersaucer, so cannot give you much advice on that.
here is the link:http://rent-a-toy.com/

For the bumper mat, ours is more comfortable, softer. Baby can sleep on it. For styroform one, harder, and not so comfy.

I used to have ABC mat, but find cleaning a hassle. Cause you got to take everything up to wipe the floor, then put all the pieces back again.

lili
My SIL lend me the exersaucer previously and the brand is evenflo. My girl enjoyed it previously.

I also used ABC mat initially and find it a chore to clean them. They are now all stacked up in a bedroom. Want to dispose them but they are also quite costly to buy cos I bought 2 sets to cover a bigger floor area previously.

Ha...Ha.... i got the ABC mat too and i have it thrown away recently. My son and ger always pull out the numbers and it has become loose and mess up the whole room.

Yesterday just bring my son son to see Dr Victor (ENT) and found that his right ear is stuck with ear wax and have to use olive oil now to dissolve it. Actually he wanted to see how is my son vocal cord doing but in the end didn manage to see it as my son got too much flam and needed to be given antibotics. Going back next mth.

Also went to buy bed rail and chair at kidzloft yesterday. They are having 50% discount till this sat.

hi all mummies,

wah.. i only 1 day never log in, the thread already "engorged". haha. Sorry if i can't reply to the relevant posts, no time to read properly cos now have to go new house which is under renovation to inspect, settle all the furniture stuff, see bryan, pump, etc! aiyoh.. my life is in a mess.. the schedules all mixed up.

kkf, getting dash to perform is a great idea! i will bring pom pom cheer for him!

precious one, u very got "ink" leh.. everything u say touch me a lot. good to hear that angel is recovering well!! i've been thinking of her all day yesterday.

lili and lindah, don't worry too much about the muscles. Would more protein help them?? Protein is supposed to help muscles develop better and also has some function of improving nerve systems. I swear by it cos when i was diagnosed with twin twin transfusion in august, i ate 2-3 bowls of tau huay daily and the twins started to improve a lot. Now i got a bit of soyabean phobia..

lili
what you pricked out sounds like dried milk?! sometimes i get that too.. when not diligent to clean properly after pumps.

I love to pump.. i can't imagine breastfeeding cos i'm quite sensitive to touch! lol..

kkf, i also big size mah! about 1.66m. you are not the only one!

Jac, *hugs* whatever will come will come. I believe we are all strong enough to handle it.. this thread is not for the faint hearted!

Re expectations on children,
In the past, i was full of expectations for my children (bryan and hopefully 1-2 more to come!), but with each experience, i slowly come to realise that it's not abuot their intelligence, abilities, or strengths anymore. As long as they are healthy, they are clever already. I don't think i would wanna bother much about which school, which hobby, which career for them anymore. Err.. that one is ideal and i'm working towards it. Of cos, i secretly hope they can all go rosyth pri.. hehe :p

Updates on Bryan!!!!
Bryan weighs 1.3kg yesterday! hooray!! He loves his milk and a hungry bryan is a scary bryan! He started his 1-hrly cycling successfully yesterday too!! Today when we go, we should be able to carry him. Cameras all ready. So exciting!

Buzzbubbly,
you work in KKH?! say hi to me if you see me and bryan!!

xbliss,
Tks for your compliment and I'm glad that you are thinking of my girl. Tell you what, I dun believe we are not fated to meet. I'm bringing my girl to ENT clinic at level 1 on 13 Nov at 1145 hrs for her post-ops review. And I will be at KKH Rehab at basement 1 on 15 Nov at 1230 hrs. Must catch up with you on one of these dates. You decide which one. hehe!

On Bryan, looks like he took about 1 week to put on 0.1 kg, so it is about 7 weeks to 2 kg or less. Very exciting. All babies has this very sweet smell, enjoy it!!! Show picture with you in it so that I can recognise you next week.

chloegal
I like Dr Victor. He is such a handsome and nice filo doc. So charming!! What's wrong with your son's vocal cord? How to clean the ear so that no ear wax?? Your son having cough?

lili, me bot the bumper mat from the bulk purchase thread
I bot the bigger size (2300 x 1400) cause the 2 boys need space to turn around
it is quite good they enjoy lying there to relax

precious_one
Is Dr Victor angel's ENT doctor too? He is a very nice young and handsome doctor and very patient too. Edric vocal cord is not loud and his pitch is not high enough and it take time to slowly improve.

For the ear wax have to used olive oil to dissolve it, no need to dig lor and it will leak out by itself. Can ask the ENT doctor to prescrib it to you or can get it at KKH pharmacy. Yap he is having a bad cough but is recovering.

chloegal
Angel's ENT doc. is Prof Henry Tan but I will always see Dr Victor beside Prof Tan after a surgery and he is the one whom I will ask loads of questions on changing dressing, home care etc. Dr Victor was the doc. who taught me how to change trachy tube previously too cos Prof Tan is the Head of ENT ma.....won't do this kind of nitty gritty stuff. Dr Victor has become more and more handsome and manly along the years and he is married. Prof Tan also said that Angel's vocal cord is not perfect on one side but hor, I find her voice so sweet and pleasant to my ears and cries can be loud also....perhaps I'm her mummy.

Angel didn't have ear wax lar, I'm just keen to learn how to know if a child has ear wax. I assume that if she can hear me each time I call her, her ear should be clear right.... dun know ... hehe

So how soft is Edric's voice and pitch? How did the ENT doc. find out about his vocal previously. Perhaps Angel is a trachy baby so she skipped a vocal test or what?? Not too sure if Angel has to now see ENT for vocal or not, will find out next week..... Dr Victor really so nice hor, you brought Edric to see vocal cord and he also checked the ear for him.

precious_one
Actually his voice still ok lar and compare to last time is alot more better. When he was a bb , it so difficult to know that he is crying from the next room caused not loud enough. His right vocal cord not very strong. Actually i also dun know his right ear kenna stuck by ear wax causd he still can hear us... haha... maybe using left ear.

Talking about Dr Victor, he really very nice, when he saw edric cough he even show me how to pat his back to loosen his flam and prescrib medcine for him.

chloegal
Dr Victor is so cute!!!! After Angel's eye surgery in July this year, she kena the cold and cough virus also, so since her medication given by KKH is always the same and she happened to be seeing the eye doc on that day, (I ran out of medication) I asked if he could prescribed... and he said no no better see a doc. hahahaha!

Next time I see you, you teach me how to pat pat the back to loosen the phlegm hor ....I think it is a very useful skill.

Wow.. looks like two mummies are praising this Dr Victor to the sky!! Hmm... he sounds like a very charming guy. Hmm... ENT hospital. Precious_one, now I know who to look for if I need to check Coco's eyes..

Didi, thanz for the info.. sorry, me very lousy in estimation!! the size you quote is in cm? how much is it? If buy from BP, is it new?

Ey.. but the ENT hospital here in Shanghai is for eyes too lei.. last time when I took Coco to do her ROP scan was at the ENT hospital here.. Oh no.. can someone enlighten me what ENT stands for? I'm so confused now!

lili
ENT = Ear, Nose and Throat Department in Singapore hospitals context.
EYE = Eye clinic in KKH

For Eye doc. in KKH = Look for Dr Quah (he's head of Eye dept and is also my girl's eye doc.)

For ENT doc. in KKH = Prof Henry Tan heads the department and one of his doctors, Dr Victor is a filo doc. and he is very charming!!

Sorry to confuse you. Both clinics are located in level 1 of KKH but has different entrances...hehehe

lili, no prob, yes I bot the brand new one, the measurement is 2300mm x 1400mm, it costs me S$230/- thickness 13mm

harlo,everybody,
how was deepavali for you all?

i went to the bottle tree park this afternoon and just came back not long ago..dem tired, man..tomorrow still gotta work..

buzzbubbly,
how r u huh?m planning to pass up my montage on monday next wk...it doesnt meet the size requirements but its A1 size..hope you all accept it..haha...finally finished it using my limited art sense...

now hv to tink of a way to lug it to work on monday and then lugging it to kkh during lunch..hahah..wish me luck...

went to see ENT doctor a few days back..guess wat.he said i got a pimple in my ear, causing my throbbing headache and pain..its better now..i still can talk..hv to dpd on it for my living..hahah....

u can call me anytime at my office betwn 9am to 5pm..i shd be free to talk...

talking abt playing piano, my sister put bernard at the piano today at my mum's hse and he banged on the keys and pulled the cover of the piano down..his forehead kena knocked and bruised by it..haha..so dun tink he can learn anythg to perform by nov 30..hahah..juz joking lah...

good nite, will log in again 2mr morning in the office......sweet dreams....

lili,
cmg back for holiday..hope to catch up then...

Dr victor? He sees adults? hee, then will have chance to meet up a handsome guy!! yeah!

I am currently seeing a ENT doctor myself at raffles. Want my life, very expensive, thinking of finding a cheaper one.

Haha, precious one and xbliss, yeah, do give us your support if me and my boy really performs...hoho.

Today for me is good. I have to go school but students wun be there. We are having promotion exercise to decide why to place those kids.

Yeah!!! counting down! one more week to holidays!

lindah
Have you gone to your holiday in Batam already? If yes, forget to ask you how's Hami's response. Last week, I saw an article in the paper with regards to some Aqua theraphy for babies, (Forget the term they use), but basically they put a float on baby's neck and soak the baby in a special basin filled with warm water. The baby will kick inside the water, like mummy's womb. Perhaps you try this theraphy for Hami and see if his legs muscle will be more relax. I searched for the paper at home ytd, but couldn't find it. If I'm not wrong, I think the shop is at Tampines.

lili
I read that this theraphy originates from Shanghai and it is popular there.

morning mommies,
1 day nev login, so many posts..gd

ytd was bit sick, loose stools. was so afraid it's stomach flu. but all is well now *heng*

tried to go IMM ytd afternoon, wapiang! q 2 the car park was sooo long, in the end, gave up, juz went to holland v 2 walk ard.

lili,
put my ger in exersaucer when she's abt 8-9mths. i think the most impt, is when u put her inside, her legs can touch the ground. at least she can 'jump' in it. we put her inside, n she's v happy jumping ard & playing w the toys on it. at least we can hav 10-15mins rest

got to go 4 meeting. ltr then write

lili,
bumpermat is thinner but softer i think. BP for my pooh bear bumper playmat is probably 119 or 129... i bought it off another mum for 80.

exersaucer, i have a Leapfrog one. My son still very stiff as he prefer to stand than sit. but not strong enuf to keep on standing... so i put one pillow behind him and one piece of towel in front of him so that he doesnt knock himself on anything. As for the toys around him, we are slowly trying to train him to play with them. i think the LeapFrog one is has more musical toys than the basic evenflo one. but the evenflo megasaucer is probably very good too.

buzzbubbly,
dun think i am bringing hami to the awareness day leh as i will be there on my lunchbreak.
heheh. but probably may see you when handing in my poster.

precious,
i saw that article - but it's in Punggol. If in Tampines, I definitely will give a try. But Punggol very far from my place, lah. and no, my batam trip is next mth... so yet to put him in water.

Preemie awarenees day sound fun. but can't come. it'd be fun to see Dash perform
HAve fun !

precious one
Angel so strong gal ;)

lili
the whitish stuff on ur nipple sound similar to mine. no pain but it can't come out. like pimple not ready to burst yet, must let it 'cook' heheh.
I just left it and breastfeed. then it come out itself after 2-3weeks. it pain a bit a while when
it 'cooked' but not very bad lah.not sure if the breastfeed helped it come out or it just by itself. I wanted to see gynae but it 'resolved' itself hehe.

Costa
Saw the pictures love the one which Bern sat under that Huge BottleTree. Nice Shot!
We bought the boys to Istana Open House in the morning. They played on the slide and Dylan landed on the mud! Urghh!
Met up with another preemie in the late afternoon at Pasir Ris Beach. The boys went wild at the playground and on the beach.
All KO until this morning.

Lindah
I PM you the articles URL.
It discusses about the brain development on extremely premature babies.... The 22- 26 weekers.

Jane
We did not promote that vessel to our client.
Yours is a half day or full day trip?
How was the review on Wednesday?

Kkf
Envy you leh... Holidays liao. Can start to do your Christmas Shopping.
By the way, are we going to display the montage which you did for us? Shall we print it out?

Buzzbubbly
D&D are Didis sons... My boys are D&E. :p
I cannot imagine how is it going to be like with so many babies, toddlers and children on that day.
Are you all going to set up temporary nappy changing areas, breastfeeding room and milk making counters? Hahaha... Just kidding.
Looking forward to it! Send my regards to your kaki!

Mich,
thanks for yr pong chan on my blog..hahha..hmm,i hvnt been to the istana in my life..maybe gd idea to go...dylan landed on the mud..aiyoh..u brot extra clothes or not, if nt can go plaza sing to buy..haha..

hi hi good morning..

Precious_one.. yes, this baby float around the neck is very common here. But what I know is that it is not so much of a therapy but a home swimming pool. I've seen advertisement selling the float and the 'pool'. It like a deep water tub and it is collapsible, just like the swimimming pool kkf bought the other time and she fill it up with balls, but this one is shaped like a bathing tub. I heard my landlord putting her grandchild at first or second mth into it and the baby loves it...

didi and Lindah, thanks for the info on the bumpermat. I went to BP to take a look. I find the mat very expensive. Do you think it's worth the money spent?

Disneymickey and Lindah, thanz for the info on exersaucer. I think my gal is not ready for it yet. Cos from both your descriptions, sounds like a stationary walker to me.

Sigh.. my girl sleeping pattern ganna disrupted again. Maybe I should be more strict by waking her up when she overslept. Cos sometimes I don't and just let her sleep up to 3hrs for naps.

Mummies, just to share and see if anyone got similar experience and advice. I started with semi solid for my gal about 4 days ago. The first meal in the morning. Started with avacado mixed with milk. She loves it and always finished all, though I only prepared about I teaspoonful of avacado. So I follow the 3 day rule and today I introduce gerber rice cereal - I add some milk to the cereal. I tasted it for myself and it is quite plain but at least it doesn't have the 'metallic' milk formula taste! But My gal is not very receptive to it. She took a few mouthful then started crying and don't want to eat liao. At first she so excited when she saw the bowl and spoon. Then after that don't want to eat.I'm worried if it is because the avacado tasted nicer and now she is choosy with food. My husband says I should have introduce the plain food like cereal first. Got such thing or not?

lili, I needed the bumper mat as my boys are constantly moving around and with this mat I can more or less leave them to play and do my things
think the mat comes in different sizes and thickness

mommies, May I know can I give barley water to my boys

Lili
How about add the avocadoes into the cereal and try again?
Do they sell Frisocreme rice cereal there? It is very fragrance and tasty.
Bumper Mat - I have one too. Love it! Very good! The boys still sit on it now to read and play.

Costa
Brought extra tops but not bottoms. We removed his bermudas before he went onto the car seat.
Lesson learnt: Always bring extra tops and bottoms. I won't know what mess the boys will get into nowadays when we bring them out.

hi didi, i gave barley water to my gal just about a week ago before she went for her 5-in-1 jab. Supposed to help her to cool down so that she will not develop a fever. She seems to be alright with it. Just make sure that it is not too thick if it is your first try. My friend told me that the whitish stuffs floating around the barley water is good to line their inner wall of the stomach and helps to strengthen their stomach.. Don't know if it is true.

By the way, how old are your boys?

Hi Mich,

No.. the brands or rice cereals here, other than the chinese brands, are gerber, nestle and heniz and one more brand with some french wordings. This french brand also sells baby canned food.. think it's quite common but I can't remember the name.

Yeah, i did think about that. But I don't know. My idea is that it will further promote her quest for tasty food and will not want to try plain food. Sounds like a wrong mindset hor? Cos I've this friend who always tells me that give baby plain food as far as possible or food that does not taste good like vege first so next time they won't be choosy with food. Dunno how true it is..

mich,
thanks! i havent rcvd your PM yet, tho. Will keep a lookout for it.

lili,
i dunno abt avocados but i know that you are not supposed to gv bb sugar or salt in their first yr lah... maybe you can give the cereal + cranberry version (also from nestle). my son more receptive to that instead of the plain cereal too. Actually these kids are very smart, hor.
they know which ones taste nicer.

lili, my boys are actual - 8 mths plus, corrected - 6 mths plus. Initially, I let them try the Heinz Rice cereal, then Nestle Gold Stage 1 (apple and cranberries) now they are on Healthy Times Organic Brown Rice
their all time favourite is still Nestle Gold
same as hami.

lili,
i think it's true. ur ger so smart. once tasted gd food, then dun wan blend food liao. so now u got to b more hardworking, & add stuff into her cereals
try adding pumpkin, potato. these r natural 'sweet' & nice smelling food. it'll enhance the taste of ur cereals/porridge & since they r natural, it's ok (i think).

until now, whenever i cook 4 my ger, i dun add any sugar or salt. cos all use natural ingredients, alrdy v sweet. ytd when i cook porridge 4 her, i added altogether 7 kinds of ingredients!! even my sis oso commented the porridge looks delicious.

fairylander,
hw are you?i just texted you but you din reply...

disneymickey,
mm, your porridge sounds interesting.wat you put inside huh...?

mich,
haha..now you learn yr lesson to bring extra clothes..smtimes i bring extra clothes for my elder boy also...hahah as he chew kena kar, can spill food and drinks everywhere, one...

costa,
i practically 'dumped' all i hav in the fridge haha. chkn breast meat, potato, shitake mushroom, spinach, tomato, fish, wolfberry, egg (haha, so it's 8-treasure porridge, not 7!!)

so tired today. there's a book fair @expo (think ending this weekend). anybody gg? maybe will pop in 2 look c.

costa/mich,
last sun, when i brought my ger out 4 bfast w my parents, i din bring any extra diaper as she seldom poo so early in the morning. but alas, she pooed in the car. so her mommy kenna scolding frm everyone cos so stinky haha. lazyy la, i tot it's juz bfast, heehee

disneymickey,
wah..yr porridge really ba1 bao3...8 treasures haha..

haha....yr ger bringing luck leh to the pple around by giving you gold...

will be gg for c-sect nect sat 17/11.hope my bb wont have to stay long in icu.coz according to gynae she is still small in size.didnt gain much weight.only 1.6kg in 34weeks.cross my fingers hope everything will be ok.

fairylander
weightwise 1.6kg sounds okla.. many of us had smaller babes, dun worry.

do take gd rest, take care!

when did ur baby starting eating solids ? my nada is abt 6mths(actual), that's abt 4mths corrected.

daec,
i started cereals when she's 6mths (non-corrected) & porridge when she's 7mths. added only veg. started adding meat when she's teeth. din add fish till she's 1yr old.

maybe u ask the pd. he/she will hav a better gauge on whether nada is ready or not

fairylander
Dun worry, your baby will be alright. She is big in gestation which means that her organs are more or less developed. You still have 8 days to gain weight. Try to eat more nutritious food, eat whatever that come to your mind, like buddha jump over the wall, sharkfins etc. just eat and eat and it will add a little weight to your baby. Meantime, just eat and sleep and your baby will be very chubby and rosy!

My whole pregnancy I hardly ate, or even if I ate, I threw up but one week before baby arrived, I ate so much. I could eat duck rice for breakfast and finished up the meat and cucumber, almost wanted to eat the bones (hahaha, just humour you lar) And tummy showed up after that and even the ward nurses also commented, wah how come so big overnight. hehe.

By the way, 17 Nov is my younger sis birthday.

Just think of food, nice food and keep eating.

daec
aiyoh, can't advise you at all cos my girl NG tube fed and we mix cereal with milk, then pour into the syringe that pass into the tube previously.