Premature babies support group

hi fairytale,lily
tks alot
u ladies here are so sweet.

Hello Mummies

Email is down since morning,.... Now still down. Feel like going home liao.

Jane/ Stressed
We taught the boys their pleases and thank yous.
They are showing more willingness to say them now but at times still stubborn

Disneymickey
My boys progress from Terrible 2 to tantrums 3.
Lots of tears and screams now.
Talking is a very fun stage. My boys love communication and ask lots of What is this? lately.

Kkf
Remember the school which I emailed you?
They use Mandarin as the main medium of teaching.
This is the main reason why we choose that school. We want to let them get used to mandarin speaking environment and be effectively bilingual.

Jane/ Costa
My poster is almost done too. Cracking my head on the last part.
Jane take a pic and show us leh.

Lindah
We have a date... Dun forget.

Xbliss
I remembered once in NICU, hb and I tried to change a soiled diaper for Dylan because he poo poo.
Hubby pulled up Dylans hands, worrying that he may touched the poo poo while I pulled up our babys legs and wiped his bum.
And Dylan let out a loud CRY of protest!
That was the first time we heard his voice, so were his nurses. The nurses came running to check what did we do to him!
It was hilarious.
The nurses told us he was such an angel there who never made a single noise when he was awake. He would opened his eyes, looked around and wait patiently for milk.
Gosh... When he was home. The angel became a monster! His cries can be heard 2 houses away.

Fairylander
I heard costa is on msn with you.
Good good... She is a very kind lady who had helped so many of the mummies here.

mich
i had a good laugh on your diaper changing incident. Yes, i dunno why daddys are always worried their hands will touch poo poo?!?! my hubby did the same! but bryan din cry lahhh.. ahha. he only cry when nobody wants to change his diaper (daddy din wan to change.. he say EEEEEEHHH) And u are right, nowadays the nurses are more vigilant when his O2 beeps especially when we are there. Cos we are now more adventurous (shift his tubes, shift his body, adjust the bed slant, adjust the cpap, etc!) so they worry we dunno how to handle bryan. This bryan also always sabo us, he pulls out his heartbeat patches and the teddy bear or duck patch on his tummy all the time and the whole system goes haywire. Then we have to panic and find which patch went off. Sigh..

I really enjoy hearing all the stories on our monsters aka angels (depending on which personality they wanna take at different times!)

What's going to happen on 30 Nov? are you all going to bring your kids there?! must let me know if bringing ok? i'm so excited to meet u all!

lili
yeap, it's kind of silly saying this but i actually enjoy my time in NICU, and i think i would be sad if i can't participate in my child's daily activities! the bonding really helps. i noted many of bryan's habits and "patterns" already. haha. we already deduced that he takes after his dad. He only inherited my ang moh hair. haha

Hi fairylander and fairytales
I got confused by fairylander and fairytales!! thought its the same person too and how come fairylander was asking for advice one min and the other min talking about her delivery at NUH!?!?!? hee.. good to have more fairies around here. we need a lot of good wishes for our preemies.

fairylander,
my boy has been in NICU for 3 weeks. the bill is with my hubby so i'll ask him for the estimated breakdown later. Anyway, becos my boy required more medication and some minor surgical procedures and ultrasounds/x-rays, etc, his first week cost was very high. But most of it were claimable by medisave, like what lindah had quoted. As the weeks go by and as their usage of drugs and procedures reduce, the stay will be cheaper, but def not cheaper than the standard $100 a day for C ward.

precious_one
no fate today for us.. i walked by OTs but din see anyone near your description leh. Anyway, i believe angel's op is a success and i wish her a speedy and comfortable recovery now!

hi mich,
ya i was msn wif costa juz now.she really nice n gave alot advice.tks mich.

hi xbliss,
tks for the info.really found alot useful advice on this thread.all mummy here jia you.hope all premmies here is healthy n cheerful.

hi fairylander

my thomson gynae also refered me to KK.for ur reference, my babe stay in NICU/SCN for abt 47 days. she was 1015kg at wk32. bill came to $7500 after subsidy. C-class KK.

take care
all the best!

xbliss
hey, NICU and SCN sisters visited my gal at ward 55 this pm. I told them to tell Bryan's mummy that my T-shirt have 87 print. They asked me for your name but I dun know lei. They said there're a few Bryan.... hahaha

My gal's surgery was delayed until 5.30pm so I was not at OT area at all. Pai sei.

I hereby thanks all mummies here for all your prayers and well wishes for my precious one ~ Angel. Angel's surgery was a success and she is under observation for one night.

precious_one
congrates and so can bring angel go swimming already lor

I have already receive KKH invitation on the premmies awareness day but dun think can make it that day as i have a wedding function to attend. Are the mummies here going?

yeah! see angel in the swimming pool! dash has a date with her!

Chloegal, most prob going to the awareness day with my boy.

xbliss, yes, like to talk to the mummies here. At least we have similar experiences. People around me all have smooth pregnancies, and smooth deliveries, sometimes, hard to talk to them. Btw, dash is still same weight leh. Maybe the way I dressed him made him looks a bit fatter...haha.

Nice and cheap furniture! tempted...but dun think will get, cause house is overly crowded with toys, books, and many many things...

Talking about sticking to grandparents, my boy also like that. He sticks to his gong gong like superglue too. sianz. Sometimes, I really worry they will spoil him too much. He is already like a spoilt brat now. Or maybe like what you all are discussing, he is undergoing the stage of "terrible 2"???

My colleague also trains her boy to say "please". Now I am trying to also. My boy will say "sorry" and "please" upon our requests, but not sure whether he really understands the purpose of saying.

Welcome fairylander, think kkh has more experts and is cheaper.

Mich, yup remember the school. How's the school? I am opposite, I am worry about my boy's ang moh more than chinese. sigh...strange right? I know most parents around me speak to their children in english at home, so they dun have to worry about that. Me opposite.

going to zzz, post more tomorrow. gdnite!

fairylander
Thanks and welcome to the thread.

chloegal/kkf
I'm glad to have another choice of bringing my girl to during weekend - the beach.
Must ask ENT surgeon if she is ready for travel too.....

kkf
Ytd, I have 3 sisters from NICU/SCN insisting that I must bring my girl to the Premies Awareness Day (they wanted to play with my girl cos when they visited her, princess was asleep)....and ask me to do the montage....
I don't think I have the time to do the montage, cos new maid left last Sunday and I have to look after my girl's wound for a week. But I will consider attending the the event cos HANDSOME DASH is there... hahaha

hi mummies, good morning!

precious_one,
no wonder no fate. haha. Yar, the NICU Nurses don't know my boy's name well cos we hadn't given him a name yet when he was first warded so they used my name.

I am so glad for your girl and your family! Yes, do go ahead and look forward to those breaks that you have been thinking of. It is nice to visit different places and expose your girl to more things. You must have had a tiring day too. Do take some nutritious stuff to keep you going and prevent you from falling sick! your girl needs you!

kkf
the way you dressed him makes him even cuter!

Updates on bryan
Yesterday they removed his long line as he was stable without the nutrition already. Feeds are at 15ml and he is taking them well. Poos like 2-3 times a day. But they haven't started him on cycling though i was told maybe yesterday. I thought they might be too busy to try so, cos there are 2 new bbies and one of them seemed to require quite a bit of attention. But i have been preparing him mentally since last 2 weeks to use to his nose and lungs to breathe once he is off CPAP! heheh.. KS mum. keep teaching him where his nose is and lung is...kakaka.. dunno if he knows but dun care! oh yar, yesterday the bb beside bryan had a surgery so they used very bright lights in the room. Poor boy boy refused to open his eyes cos too bright, he looked like sour plum all the time cos he was upset that he couldn't sleep too. heheh. When i used my hand to shelter his eyes from the light, then he open for short while. That's very like me! i can't sleep with a bit of light or noise at all unless i really tired!

Re: Preemies awareness day
Wah, so many handsome princes and pretty princesses going. I will be looking around for you all! Good enough that i recognise some kids off the blogs. hehe.

Good morning mummies, i got this email this morning. its Unknown findings.. just for sharing

Also known as the Dragon Fruit, the Pitaya is a stunningly beautiful fruit with an intense colour and shape, magnificent flowers and a delicious taste. The fruit, apart from being refreshing and tasty, contains a lot of water and minerals with many different nutrition ingredients. It tastes light sweet and it's good for liver, laxative, supplementing fiber
and very suitable for diet.

Besides, dragon fruit is also good for person who has a high blood pressure. According to popular experience, obese person who has eaten dragon fruit regularly canreduce his/her weight naturally and have a beautiful balanced body but it does not influence on his/her health. Moreover, eating this fruit can stop and reduce diabetes. Hence, dragon fruit is a favorite fruit of many people especially Asian customers.

Benefits of eating the Dragon Fruit

1. Enhance the body metabolism (Protein)
2. Improve digestion (Fiber)
3. Reduce Fat (Fiber)
4. Improve memory (Carotone)
5. Maintain the health of the eyes (Carotone)
6. Strengthen bones and teeth development (Calcium)
7. Tissue development (Phosphorus)
8. Help to metabolise carbohydrates and produce energy (Vitamine B1)!
9. Improve appetite (Vitamine B2)
10. Moisturise and smoothen skin and decrease bad cholestrol level (Vitamine B3)
11. Improves the immune system and promotes healing of cuts and bruises (Vitamine C)

USEFUL TIPS:

How to Select and Store
They should be full-colored and free of moldy spots. Dragon Fruit should be refrigerated, unwashed, for up to 5 days. Serve chilled.

good morning mich
no no ooooooo .... no way i will show u my (duck leg duck hand made) poster :p. oh i won't be attending the event on 30 Nov cos really not much leave left.

hi didi
haha...siang become retailer? hmmmm maybe hor haha... :p

this afternoon i am on PM leave again as Siang have an appointment to see the SGH ENT Doctor for an review of an hearing test he did yesterday
so me gotten rush do my work now. chat with you mummies later

Mich,
haha, thanks for your praise...really makes my day, manz..

how come dylan and my son sama sama..can behave in hospital but cant behave at home..by the loud screams at home,i can hardly believe its the same baby i brot back from kkh..hahaha..

lindah/mich/jane,
almost finished my poster except got one empty space on the bottom right hand side dun noe wat to put there.....hahah..hp can pass up next wk...

hvnt got time to take pic....recently dunoe is it got ear infection after flu...no mood lah..

jane,
think the hand out says the clsg date is nov 15 leh..i dun noe whether i m wrong or not..let me get back to you on that...

chloegal,
u recd the mailer?so far, i din...thot kkh not sending out and deciding to call the parents one by one..i nearly fainted when i heard tt...

yr picture is on my poster leh....siang also..haha.....had to go and develop one more as i want to keep siang's picture..so chubby and cute..he looks more xiao ta ren now not like that time gathering..still vy boy boy...you noe the romper tt my son wore when he took pic wif siang, now he can still wear leh..aiyoh, machiam like never grow fatter lidat...

xbliss,
hope to see you on nov 30...maybe by tt time, bryan is discharged already....

hello xbliss
wow congrats on bryan progress. jia you jia you!

precious_one, hug hug angel for me.

fairylander, welcome to our forum, many mummies here knows quite a fair bit so hope we can all help you in some ways here

COSTA.....the dateline is 15 NOV!!!!!!!!!!!!!! beat my buttock really. how on earth am i going to meet that date line....diezzzz....

(from my above message, you can image actually how much percent of the poster i have complete. so now you know why i tell mich...nooooooo way i show her my poster :p) oh noooooo.......

costa
About siang size...erh i think he take after my lao gong. a bit big size one :p. what size is that stripe blue romper (is it from mothercare)? some romper belongs to the bigger cutting ones.

he outgrow baby look so fast...sian...now he everything also scream (i cannot imagine when he is in the terrible 2 :p)

jane,
i cld be wrong lah, anyway, from 20 nov to 30 nov, still got 10 days..maybe they say 15 nov just to make sure evythg is okay well beforehand...

tt blue romper i think is fm jshoppers...buy and can wear so long..even clothes tt he wore like beginning of this year, now can still take out and wear can u imagine...?can save alot of money leh..hahhaah....the romper he was wearing is small cutting one..my fren bot a set of mothercare rompers..he wear already vy "sexy" leh, becuz machiam like one side drooping off..hahah...

hi costa

oh oh ...wow. make me sweat :p keke. but then time is running short (i have also not received the awareness info) so this holi and this weekend i will work really hard (like mich say burn mid night oil) and finish up the poster :p and a small thank you card for NICU/SCN

oh...hmmm... that was from jshoppers, no wonder i see it so nice (the material is good too).siang is still wearing those few clothes that he had too ah. just that i stop buying rompers because i notice his body length seem to be longer :p. haha ya ya mothercare clothings is indeed of bigger cutting.

jane, no sweat, no sweat lah.....kkh will still wait for you to pass up...
no worries...i will double confirm wif you next wk on when is the actual deadline...

embarassingly to say, my son is still wearing those rompers tt come in that type of gift boxes he got as presents hahaha

Morning Mummies

Xbliss
I used to keep a small diary on the boys development during their stay in NICU. Something similar to what youve posted here their weight gains, feedings etc. Now I read back and realised some of those stuff which I had written are really hilarious.
Yes, I will be there on Preemie Awareness Day. I hope that Bryan will be discharged by then.

KKF
Kids pick up languages very fast. You start communicating with Dash now in English, I am sure he will be able to master it soon.
When we went to the school for registration, we saw 2-3 Caucasians kids there. Apparently, their parents are working in Singapore and decide to let the kids take Mandarin as one of the languages. Cool huh?
It is a very spacious school with lots of space for the kids both indoor and outdoor. There is a gymnasium and the boys will have gymnastic class once a week conducted by a qualified instructor. This is so ideal we were looking for such classes to further improve the boys motor skills. Now, everything is under one roof!
Has Dash started on the holiday programme?

Jane
Keep us posted on Siangs test ok?
Jshoppers rompers my boys are still wearing those which I bought last year. The material is very comfy.

Costa
Haha.... I was laughing at your post. Bern also same pattern.
I read that there are pictures of other babies on your poster.
Er... I hope it is just the babies pictures and not the mummies hor... Dun sabo ah!

Chloegal
The wedding is in the afternoon also ah? Such a coincidental... Sob Sob.

Urghhh....Me lost voice.

Anyway, after 2 months I finally decipher what dd meant by saying "Aiiiii-yaaaaaa".

She actually meant 'I want".

Doh. Slow mother.

hi costa...
i better really work on the poster :p nothing great will turn out on 'ideal' itself haha. must put in effort ah hehe. ok ok let me know if happen to know more details. thanks

bern is progressing well so size is ok

yes yes cost. now that mich say...please don't put my picture ler :p. i really look so auntie...

hello mich

ok ok, as of the test he did (unaided) his hearing is about moderate ie out of say 100, his hearing is about 60 (and not the profound level done 6 mths back). But he would need hearing aids for those very soft sounds (which is most important for accuracy of prounciation). then the ENT staff will see him 2 months later in January. today just go back see the professor in-charge of siang for the report done yesterday lor

hello stressed
you not feeling well? take care. i am curious how you manage to figure that out??? tell me...cos siang is aiiii-yaayayay a lot ler!! i kept on joking say "why you tired" ah. cos ai - ya sound like 'sighing' mah...like hiaz (same sound)

mich,
one of the nurses at the parent supp grp talk told me tt she wld remember bern as a boy who wld not cry for milk..haha, i reali laffed out loud...yes, he wldnt cry out for milk but at home, he wld scream if he doesnt get his way (which is vy often)..once i put him in the playyard, he wld "on" his voice for me to hear already...last time like miao kia(cat)...now like lao haw (tiger)

yes,i m putting up yr personal pix on the poster.hahha..no lah, just our group picture which we took at our gathering..(i got warn you before mah)..i also dun like to liang4 xiang4 (show face) but i just wanted to show tt our frenship goes beyond kkh..

ps..the photo dark dark cant see clearly..so dun worry..hahaha..jane is not in the pic as she left early..

Jane,
i got ask you before lah, whether can put yr picture..its not individual lah..got you, me, bern and siang and no lah you dun look aunty...at all, anyway you wun be there on nov 30. no one can recognise you hahha....

hi costa
hahahhaha...talking about roaring at home. i think when they go kkh, they are miao kia (so well said) at home...they are like lion/tiger :p. they really are all the same same keke.

ok ok .... dim the picture if u can ok hahahaha... hmm....just now i go and peek at the picture. i still look 'ok' keke. ya so true, i won't be there so OK la hahahah....

Stressed

Jane
You mean Siangs is able to hear better now when he is not wearing the hearing aid?

Costa
U very funny today.
I thot you were not serious about the picture.
When Dylan came back and turned to a lao Haw at home, my dad commented Very good. This shows he has strong lungs. Cry louder! Faintz...

thank you all for being so hopeful for bryan's discharge by 30 Nov! yesterday my hubby and i had a discussion, we felt that we would very quite scared to bring bryan back before the so-called 35wks or 2kg discharge criteria though the doc did say we could do so if he is stable and if we are confident. haha. So scared we dunno what to do if he got problem. We shall see how it goes.. we need to get more adventurous at NICU and later SCN, then maybe won't feel so inadequate.

Today very tired.. spent the whole of yesterday and this morning (dusk i should say..haha) clearing blocked ducts. After i converted to 4-hourly pumps, the ducts all decided to sabo me. Press until hand and boobs all pain. hehe. Also feel the supply seems to be going down a little so trying to switch some back to 3 hrly. Wonder how much bb drinks when they are like 4-6 months? i'm currently only getting about 700-800 ml a day. scared not enough for bryan next time. His screams are so powerful i better make sure i build up supply or think of alternatives. i got keep some domperidon just in case..hehe..

hi mich
Erh in my context, the answer is yes and no. Because for all test (no matter what is it), test is just a test. the actual condition could be plus or minus from the result of the test. it also has to depends on Siang mood. yesterday he had a good nap before going for the hearing test. so..... like all mummies is aware. before a test, the kid must be well rest :p so as to acheive best result. But so far, from my own monitoring, i know certain level of sound he can hear... but i still insist he put on hearing aids so he won't miss out any of the essential sounds.

talking about the volume they create and the conditions of the lung. i really think its co-relate. was telling my lao gong exactly what your dad comments (except i never say 'cry louder')....now mich really going to fall off the chair kekekekkee....

hi xbliss
About taking care of bryan...sure can cope one. do you have any standby help at home? who don't face problem when taking care of baby, it (if any) can be resolved...don't worry
bryan will be a cute one to handle.

perhaps you may wish to go back to 3 hourly. but then blocked ducts also symbol you have quite a lot of BM

siang was only drinking about 120 ml when he was about correct 6mths. in fact now (correct 11/12 mths) he only drinking about 6oz.

wow... looks like we are getting excited abt the preemie awareness day! i will drop by at lunch maybe but wont be bringing my son since i have to head back to work.

mich, costa,
yup... looking forward to our date. i hope i dun forget my poster leh.

jane,
dun wori lah. my poster half past six oni. but i will hand up just lidat. hehe.

precious,
good to hear tt angel's surgery is a success! onward to holiday breaks, swimming, and everything else!

xbliss,
no more long line is fantastic.
Now just have to wait for the cycling. Hope it goes well. Pump and pump your BM for him.

Mich,
me farni?now my ear and my head so pain..throbbing leh..

i serious lah, you thk i joking huh abt the picture...i even thot of the captions to put on the photo and already printed and pasted it on....In summary, damage done liao hahaha...anyway my face on it also but the environment was so dark, thk no one can see clearly...but i thot put some of the docs and nurses pictures will make it interesting and not so how shld i say self centred?

my father same thing, wld say crying is exercise for the lungs.....yterday when bern cried, my sister said the same thing,i said cant let him cry too long becuz his lungs are not well developed..

even after more than a wk, his nose still runny leh.....really regret over playing wif him at the pool last last wk

xbliss,
dun worry, got training before u ORD from SCN...got bathing sessions etc etc...i remember i nearly failed and supposed to redo but i din hahaha....

u got smbody to help you wif bryan when he goes home..try to bring tt helper there before discharge for some on the ground training....

fairylander
yes me delivered at KK. follow my gynae advice to switch to KK. She used to work there so refer me to her fren, Dr Irene Chua.

Precious_one
happy to hear ur Angel op success !

xbliss
hope ur ducts are ok already.ful.From what I read, the amt shld adjust to the stimulation(pumping or baby suckling) given. however stimulation from pump and baby is diff. Breastfeed is best if possible. dun worry, just do ur best! u are doing great! wah 700-800ml gd already le ;) I dun think I ever reach that hehe

Bryan doing well - congrats !

xbliss,
ya, i think you should build up your BM for him. when I started getting 20ml per pump sessions, i asked for domperidone again. anyway my son was discharged at 2 mths corrected feeding on 70ml 3-hourly. At 5mths corrected, he's drinking 120ml 3-hourly plus 1 x heinz plus 1 x cereal. he will puke the feeds some days though. we are not sure y. guess it's normal as long as he doesn't merlion that often.

jane,
after you told me abt siang, i suddenly see hearing aids as an obstacle that can be handled. before that, i worried a lot about it... you know lah... what if, what happens, how to handle and all that. thanks for sharing. it so called brought the problem back to earth (I think before that, the problem was floating around me in air and i cannot make head or tail of it... what to do... what can i do... all questions no answers).

Costa, Mich, Lindah, hope to have that 'blind date' with you gals on 30 Nov 2007 too

Mommies, can I know when is the right time to introduce porridge to my boys ? as they are now very happy with cereals, they know will ask for more (via crying), now I am feeding them thrice daily

Jane, ytd, went to taka with my boys, aiyoh, just feel happy it was about 6 mths since I last set foot at taka
not much retail therapy, with 2 boys HARD to shop

jane/costa
so true. same for Nada, now cry like tiger already hehe. then my dad keep calling her tiger hehe

didi,
u coming on nov 30..hp to see you too leh....how yr progress wif yr poster?

i also cant remember when i started my son on porridge

how to buy thgs wif two babies?unless yr kid bigger...

daec,
hahaha...yr bb so different now as compared to kkh, right?

didi,
maybe u can try 1 meal of porridge 1st. if they r ok, then can slowly increase to 2 meals a day (ie. lunch & dinner). juz in case, they reject porridge, u can always fall back on cereals
i rem giving my ger cereals 4 bfast (cos convenient mah), & porridge for lunch & dinner

juz someting nice 2 share.

called back during lunch time to tell my mom we r not gg back 4 dinner. she told me, she tried & call me earlier cos my ger ask 4 ma-ma. but i missed the call. then i asked her to come to the phone, she came & call ma-ma. so sweet

so sweet cos she seldom does tat. normally when my mom asked her to the phone, she'll juz smile at watever i tell her. she doesn't call me.

really made my day

abt crying loud, i dunno abt u mommies, but i had 2 jabs 1 day & 3 days b4 my scheduled c-section. the jabs r supposed to strengthened the bb's lungs. n the jabs r real painful man. n when my ger's borned, (& esp at home) her crying is sooo loud, tat my hubby always commented the jabs work! haha

juz a joke, but come n think of it. all bbs cry rt? so our bbs r juz normal

Costa, tell you frankly, I am the worse haven't even started yet.... will do asap
most probably will go on the 30 Nov 2007, love to meet you and bern bern

didi, thk if you got the photos shldnt be diff to do.smmore you got two babies, the pics will take up more space, easier, haha..

yah, hope to see u there...my son has appt at 3pm there, at the same time, kill two birds wif one stone..if not most of my time wld be spent there...