Premature babies support group

Mummylian,
no worries abt the poster, mayb u can just email one of ezanne's pictures to kkf for her to compile the poster...

the prem awareness day is on nov 30...i guess i wld be gg there as well as my son has appt that day..hp to see you there...

maybe you can raise yr concerns wif the gynae and get closer monitoring....

didi,
glad tt daryl is better now...

jane,
siang is a smart boy....zhai pei him well...hv a fren's ger whom i told you is doing well and is gg primary one next year....arrangements wld be made wif the school to facilitate such students..

No outing for my family this weekend as hubby is down with viral fever. So during my idling time just now, the following came to my mind.

A premie's voice

I am a little premie
Born weak and tiny
Hear me, this is only temporary
Believe me, I'll grow to be healthy

I am a little premie
Though my beginning is harsh
Hear me, I'll not be crushed
Believe me, I'll make smooth the rough

I am a little premie
One who needs early intervention
Hear me, I'll not just meet your expectation
Believe me, I'll excel beyond imagination

To all premies' mummies
We're sorry our early arrival cause your worries
Hear us, we're specially picked from a crowd
Believe us, we'll definitely do you proud!

Hope this lighten heavy heart, if any. I have discovered during my walk with my girl that writing helps a great deal in dealing with stress. So I just write and write. The more I write, the more I'm lifted. Of course, I also pray a lot.

I am not a poet so please feel free to improve on it. Cheers

precious_one,

thanks 4 wat u shared. anyway, told my mom to stop it. cos we find tat her method may not b correct. like wat mummylian said, maybe she's not ready yet. will wait a while more.

stressed & kkf,
wish u gd luck in potty train

didi,
hope ur boy is better?

Precious_one, hmm, nice poem, it really motivates me !

Costa, DisneyMickey, thanks, for your kind concern

Disneymickey
Bingo!! I came across an article that mentioned the child has to be ready to receive toilet training! My first attempt in May this year was unsuccessful. I tried again two months' later and succeeded. Your girl is still very young. No hurry!

hi precious_one, nice poem there. very touching and true. write more when u are free!

mummy_lian, thanks for the offer but jane has beat u to it! hehe. actually the nurses do not want my milk cos already stockpile in NICU.. so i am keeping them at home. I went to get more bottle caps again from the shop yesterday so i believe i should have more than enough now!

small update: bryan had another phototherapy session yesterday. he is tolerating the milk well and it has been increased to 5ml. He is also putting on about 10g or more everyday. nurse said can hold him soon.yay!!

xbliss
I'm going to tell you this, when you hold Bryan for the first time, your tears is going to flood NICU again!! This time round, it is Tears of Joy!! I'm happy for you.

Hi mommies, may I know whether do you take any supplements to enhance your 'energy' for taking care of your little ones ? for me, I want to be up and well (ie not fall sick easy)
any vitamins etc ?

didi
I've been diagnosed as being very anaemic just a month ago. At the advice of doc. I'm on iron pill once a day. On top of this, I'm also taking supplement from GNC - Wowen Ultra Mega (2 tablets), Ultra Evening Primrose oil(2 capsules), Ultra Strength Fish Body Oil (1 capsule) and anti-oxident (1 tablet). I've been on it for one month plus already. After taking them, I have signs of cold and sore throat but did not go into full blown kind. You know what I mean? Having said this, I still get my fair share of headache if I didn't have enough proper sleep. So I pop panadol.

Nice poem precious one!
Meaningful! yes! all premiees will excel beyond our imagination and do us proud!

My health is also lousy now didi. Sianz...I take flu vaccination, helps a bit. But I really do feel weaker after giving birth.

didi/kkf
haha, is flu vaccination considered supplement? Ya, I also took the flu vaccination at the advice of the doc. in Jul this year cos he said that since care giver work directly with the child, it is better to take one. My girl took the flu vaccination at KKH 1st and I took mine after her at normal GP. But this jab is a yearly thingy.

As why I pop all that I've mentioned, I just walked into GNC and asked for what is necessary for woman. I also tell them I'm anaemic and feel tired all the time. My last symptons (just last week) of cold and sore throat, I did not see doc. but took stepsils on my own and they just vanish. Perhaps the pills do help in certain ways. I dun believe in supplements previously but this time round perhaps I'm SAHM, I have the time to remember to pop them deligently. Plus, I needed the energy to meet my gal's demand.

hi mummies, i realised it's a bit quiet here on weekends.. all busy with kids uh?

precious_one, i'm sure will got tears.. but i will hold them til i finish hugging bryan. haha.. dun wanna flood him. the 2 bbies beside bryan are graduating to SCN very soon.. jealous :p they drink like 18ml.. bryan is at 6ml today and i think it's a bit too much for him, when they draw out, got quite a lot of milk.

Talk about vitamins, i'm all for them! cos i hate traditional chinese medication, i choose vitamins which are easy to pop! i take multi vitamins like centrum, which has very good dosage of almost of basic essential vits, and i think it works very well. I also drink essence of chicken regularly and double dosage when tired. hehe. Last but not least, i would exercise when i have the time, e.g. brisk walking, jog, and i love badminton! there is a open air badminton court below my block so hubby and i would play on weekends.. for now.. cos kena c-section, i suppose badminton and jogging is a bit out. maybe we can all organise some weekend sports today someday!

Precious_One, kkf, I only take 'Women Once A Day' vitamins, I dared not take actually as I have taken b4 other vitamins and I will get sore throat
maybe cause I never drink enough water, I only take Vitamin C without fail everyday as I am also prone to cold. The only time I take chicken essence is after delivery

didi,
i nev take supplements. but chkn essence occassionally (left-over frm my confinement haha). i put in office, so drink more often. if left at home, will go expire b4 i drink.

mommies, wan to share something which i was v angry. ytd went to my ILs' place. MIL was playing w my ger while hubby & me read papers. then suddenly, i heard the car remote sound, tot she brought my ger outside. then i turned ard & c, OMG! she juz left my ger sitting on the floor & the gate was opened! this is not the 1st time. few mths back, she left her alone & when i realized y so quiet, my ger has alrdy crawled (she can't walked yet) up few steps up the stairs. i nearly fainted. so ytd, i was again v angry. luckily, hubby scolded MIL, told her y cannot let us know if she needs to go outside & take something frm the car? the gate was left opened 2. wat if she walked outside by herself? there's steps there & she can't go up & down steps yet, sure will fall. so angry.

sorry to vent anger early on a mon morning. but really v angry

good morning mummis

busy weekend for me. sat went shopping and sunday went for a colleagues boy birthday party.

Thank you to all the mummies for the hugs and cheering up and all the information sharing.

Somehow, perhaps i can only say i am 'lucky' in some sense because am not sure for what reason, i manage to get the right help at the right time and buddha has blessed that kind sould have appear in front of me and let me personally know 2 parents whose kids have hearing impairment and both is doing well hence somehow i felt 'all is not lost'. so everytime i am not sure of certain things, i go and ask either the clinic or the parents that i happen to know. at the end of the day, most important is siang be healthy and happy

to all mummies : i am just glad to share and oh yeah, latest discover, my boy seem to love the VCD on "wheels on the bus" (not sure how many of you have seen this vcd). its awesome!! i can simply sing the first two words of the song and my boy can immediately turn and dash to the TV! my sis told me the 'disney vcd' also is very good :p

Lindah - i got PM u last friday

didi - hope your elder boy Darryl is ok

xbliss - you are another brave mother
i am sure bryan will do just fine.

read about the toilet train thing. my mum somehow can 'find time' to sshee and mmm my boy ler. but i can never do it :p. for poo poo, my boy will make the mmmmm sound then i quickly let him be on the potty lor, then after that go toilet and wash.. but for urine, that is somehting that requires really quite a effort. work hard all mummies

to all mummies and babies, good health and stay happy

going for lesson, posting a quick post.

Jane, I have all 6 vcds on wheels of the bus.
My boy loves it too. He will always say "kan bus kan bus".haha.

May siang be forever healthy, strong and happy.

hi disneymickey...wow...lucky your ger ok. that was close shave. thats why my mum always say, whenever baby is very quiet, we must check... never leave them alone...

don't be angry ah...

kkf
har?????i thot the wheels of the bus got only 3 VCDs? its really nice hor..i am going to get the full set :p my sister tell me to buy the disney VCD she say that is really good.

but she also say the magic enlish best keke. i am going to get that too haha

you are wonderful

to think i tell myself. NO TV for my boy haiz.... but still, i try to limited his TV time. one day maybe like 20 mins like that. or 2 VCD one day keke

disneymickey

I'd be so angry if it happen to me too. Thank God, ur girl ok and nothing happened. Its good ur hubby got talk ur MIL abt it, some pp would be too paiseh to make their parents realise mistake

hope MIL can learn from it so that more vigilant
such things can't do much - except learn from it
so it dun repeat..

xbliss
YAY! ur boy reached 1kg! Congrats

didi
hope ur kid fully recovered already.

jane,
ya, wheels on the bus got 6vcds. i oso hav. but my ger dun like leh.. but i'll sing the song whenever i wan to make her zzz. hope siang enjoy all 6. actually the songs q catchy.

i was v angry ytd. but now i tell myself, always ALWAYS keep an eye on them when mil is w my ger. ytd evening, she oso left my nephew alone on the sofa while he watched barney. my FIL scolded her. she claimed "he's watching tv wat". wapiang! i juz rolled eyes

Hi Jane, you are a very strong mum. Thanks for sharing. Very glad that Siang is responding well to his HA and that's the most important at this point so that he can develop his language skills. I agree with you. At the end of the day, it is most important that our kids are healthy and happy, that they will grow up to love themselves and love others. I'm sure Siang will grow up fine cos he has a mummy who is so optimistic and loves him for who he is. Your posting remind me once again to let my girl grow at her pace and not to compare her with other kids and to love her and enjoy her for who she is... thanz...

Precious_one... very nice poem..
You got a lot of 'mo-shui' eh...
Very nice. A lot of time, we only give attention to the emotions of preemies' parents and we forgot to look at things from their point of view.

Disneymickey, gee..glad all is well. My own mum is now taking care of my girl and sometimes I also get impatient with the way she handles her. Last night, I had a dream that I was soooo angry with her because she left my girl in the sink while she clear the rubbish!!!!!! Such a stupid dream right?? But I was so angry in the dream. I'm so glad it was only a dream, man!!! But maybe the anxiety during the day has caused me to have such dreams at night!!!

hi didi.. talking about supplements, I don't take them dutifully. Maybe I should be more conscious about it now. I think supplements do work when we take them on long term especially for women. Sometimes I take Yang-Ming-Jiu (DOME equivalent) and I find that it helps. Just one tablespoon everynight is good enough.

Precious_one, I see that you are taking quite a bit of supplements. Why don't try the Yang-Ming-Jiu? I think Chinese medicine is quite useful for long term use.

hi disneymickey
oh you also have the VCDs. hmm looks like its really popular hor (jane moutain tortise keke). ya ya, he like the song. 'when the bus go round and round round and round round and round...' then when the bus come..he will see until eye big big :p

oh think mayabe have to tactfully highlight to your mil need to keep an eye on the little one

lili
I tried Yang Ming Jiu and DOM but each time after I drank them, I felt like sleeping. Not suitable for me now when I still need to watch over my girl. I'm taking evening primrose etc. because I've menstral pain/sore breast etc. a week before mensus and during mensus and was told that it helps to reduce/soothe the pain.

Tks for appreciating the poem. One little bird whispered into my ears that morning and I felt a need to write it here.

disneymickey
You're blessed with a good hubby who dares to reason out with his mum if she did something careless/wrong. Not every man can do that! Thank goodness, your girl is alright!

hello li li
we are all here to share, like what mich say. looking back one day, we will all pat pat ourself to say "wow, we have all come so far" and thankful to all the good soul and friends around and kados to this forum (once again thanks to costa as the founder of this forum). i think its difficult not to compare, esp this is a very competitive world. i think its important to polish up areas where our kiddo is lacking but its also important to teach them to live life to the fullness.

my fil is one case, never enjoy life, work very hard, end up....die because of liver cancer. soo... that is life.

wow...think u must have your fair amount of concerns about how your mil take care of your ger (hence the dream). hey but i heard of one saying. if a person had a bad dream, say it OUT loud and it will be just a dream. so don't worry, things be just ok. sometime my lao gong dream of bad things, i just tell him to say it out...:p (sorry, i may just be talking nonsense but i believe in not keeping to ourselve).

how is your ger belly button? oh oh...soon you coming back hor
excited about the trip?

hi precious_one, i like the little bird...cheep cheep cheep. haha you must be wondering, this jane is really full of noise. believe me, when my boy is home, there is lots of noise always. keke... sound (kkf, lili correct me) perhaps is the right word. sounds....is what he need to thrive.

dear mummies

my mom passed away yesterday in hong kong(stroke) and now we are planning a trip to hong kong. bringing ruby who is only corrected age 3 months seem like a big hassle...any tips on plane ride and transpotation of milk?

should we bring her along or leave her in Spore?

amy,
sorry to hear tat. hope u r coping well.

if u bring bmilk on board, ask 2 b put in the fridge immediately once on board. my SIL tried pumping (using a battery operated pump) under the blanket. when taking off & landing, try to give her some water or milk. so tat she can swallow & her ears won't hurt. oso, my ger's 1st experience on a plane = poo 3 times on a 5hr journey. so bring diapers! but if u r travelling on SQ, they do provide diapers.

well. if u'll b having a lot to do there, prob dun bring ur little ger. else u won't hav time to either do ur stuff or take gd care or her. maybe u shld discuss w ur hubby/ family then decide whether to bring her or not.

take care.

Time passes so fast when we are having fun. Weekend is over.....

Didi
Handling twins is tough, especially for the first year.
Think on the brighter side: there are 2 to kiss and there are 2 to hug.
My boosters are Chicken essence, black chicken soup, bird nest and 8 hours of sleep every night.
How is Daryll?

DisneyMickey
Pat Pat.
I open my eyes BIG BIG too when at in laws house.

Jane
What is your harvest from the weekends shopping? Hee..

Costa
Monday blues ah?

Lili
I have some questions regarding hospitalisation in Shanghai. Can I PM you?

Amy
My condolences to you and your family.
I PM you on the air travel issue.

Mich, do PM me. will be glad to help you in anyway I can.

Amy, sorry to hear about that. I'm also bringing my gal up the plane soon in 2 weeks time. She will be about 4mths plus corrected then. About the same as Ruby. Yeah, I'm worried about ear block for her so let her drink when taking off and landing. Other than that, I also have not much experience. But I'm not sure if it will take a lot out of you if you have to take care of Ruby and at the same time see to the wake. It might be very strenuous and I do agree with disneymickey that if you can get help and leave her here, it may be a better option.

Mommies, thanks, Darryl is much better, still must monitor him closely

Mich, thanks, Darryl is better now
but must take good care of him, you know what whenever I feel stressed for taking care of two, I alway remind myself what you have told me (ie the above phrase) it really make me happy

Amy,
I'm sorry to learn about the passing of your beloved mum. Be strong. In this trying period, let me know if I can be of help in any way. If you have someone reliable whom you can entrust Ruby to here, it is worth considering after you discuss it with your hubby.

Jane
There an old saying that goes like this, one type of grain feeds hundred types of people. You happen to fall into the cheerful and optimistic lot that will bring joy to many... How I wish I have your personality ... so keep the thread noisy...more fun!!

Hi Jane,
Thanks. My gal bellybutton has improved tremendously if not I believe it's already healed. Now, it's just a lot of wrinkled skin around it and it hasn't become a 'dent' yet like our normal belly button. I think as she grows bigger, the extra skin will sink in and it will look more normal. But I'm just so glad that it has gone down and I don't mind even if it looks kind of unsightly. Cos at one stage, it look like it will burst so it's a great improvement from then.

Amy,
My condolences to you and yr family on yr recent bereavement..hope that your questions on air travel can be answered...

Mich,
yes, wkend also not fun and back to work again...singing the monday blues

Lili,
hope tt yr ger tuqi wld be gone down nicely...

didi,
hows daryl now?better?was he discharged wif any medicines?how did they treat him in hospital?

i brot my son swimming last saturday and goondu me, let him swim too long and yterday and today got runny nose....bad me

hi mich
haha jus went bukit timah plaza buy some clothings for my boy then also buy lots of 'noise maker' toys haha!! oh oh oh...something very exciting coming this weekend for us. we are having family day at Sentosa this sat. i AIM to bring my boy..but shall see how. like mission impossible. i dunno how did lindah, disneymickey manage to bring their kiddo overseas. to me going to sentosa is already a challenge...oh manzzz....

Hi Amy.. My condolences to you and your family too. take care. i guess stroke is a very common illness about the elderly. On bringing baby on board air plane, i think disneymickey would have information to share..

hi precious_one, you are got ink (sorry my mandarin really cannot make it one - so is my ang mo haha). i think...i think perhaps because because i happen to know of other parents who faces much than i do. cannot say that the future is bright but the ENT people have been very nice. they give me the path to walk and every time during review, they would plot and discuss with me what is the next step. every day is a new challenge to me. when my boy utter a new sound (no matter what is it), i think it is a milestone. maybe i am just easily contended pah... as my name goes, i am plain.

i am glad to bring a
to anyone that i know

hi lili, so we see the power of faith. just yesterday i bought a training cup for my boy with a sprout (hoping he learnt to drink from a straw soon) but he does know seem to know how to then my mama tell me, Please la, he alread can sip from the cup!!!! i was like EYE big like saucer! to think i spend $19 on that training cup just to realise he can drink from cup! gess!

so, i am trying to say things be just ok
, like just a while ago (really its like just a while ago thou i am sure all these while you been quite concern about your ger belly button) you were concern, now everything will just be alright.

oh just to share with you. i were borned with a mole on my tighs...i used to think its ugly and had wanted to remove it. but then....haha, somehow, i realise it can be a symbol for me (afterall, not everyone have it :p). so....each of us is different individual. have individual look etc. your ger will bloom and grow into a swan.

jane,
wow, ur boy so clever. can sip frm cup?? we tried for a while to train her to drink frm straw. but the results sure is satisfying when u c her drinking frm straw. hubby kept wanting me to feed her milk frm straw & cup. but she resisted. my colleagues say maybe not, cos some kids like the sucking feeling (frm drinking frm bottle). so we juz wait & c

but really, u hav a v gd outlook , always so happy. keep it up

hi disneymickey, well....must be careful when he (do u call sip) drink from the cup. i seen it myself this morning. but i thinking...shld let him learn to sip from straw ler...i also dunno which way is correct keke (sometime my mum confuse me :p). i think...most important is they drink and eat la hor, who care how :p. i am a really new mother, lots of things i also dunno keke.

maybe i just like the pigeon training cup design. its really nice :p opps! now i speak the truth why i bought that cup keke.

me? i also duuno. frankly, there is time when i really feel rotten..and i really will just rot :p. who don't ... i be lying if i say i can do everything :p. i everyday pray and say same thing to godness....everyday say same thing because that is just what i wish for :p thou i know by making wish, it will only be just a wish (maybe it won't come true) it is human effort that eventually makes a different to things. i meant, that is just my thoughts la... :p

Costa, ok kkh put him on drip cause he is dehydrated, and gave him the lactobacillus acidophilus sachets (they also discharge him with that) to consume that's all, think what they want to make sure is that he consume milk and no more watery stools that's all

me too, dared not bring the boys to swimming, the previous time I brought them they sneezed a few times, worry that they might caught cold so think will stop going for a while....

Jane, after reading your post on Siang, I really salute and admire your positive attitude
me must learn from you

Jane, ar,
this is the second time i brot bern for a swim..first time, he got runny nose one wk later, so cant blame it on swimming

but last sat was the ultimate, i brot him down for a long time and even used a scoop and poured water on him..tink it was really overboard

after that then my maid said, shldnt hv brot him down at 4 pm..please lah vy late meh..bth..but nevertheless cant blame her as she is the one who kena as she has to take care of him...

yes, admire u to be so cheerful..really each preemie got their own challenges to face....even for bern...i must stay cheerful although smtimes a little bit of thgs get me down...

didi,
oh they gave him "good bacteria" to fight it out huh...must he go back for follow up...

Jane,
You say I got ink ah, your last few postings give me the feeling that you a bit like "tonight got liquor, tonight get drunk" kind... I might be wrong though..

Anyway, it is good to stay positive at all times cos no one can predict what's going to happen tomorrow. I took me a while to walk out of depression so today I live as if there's no tomorrow, in this way, I treasure every day.

A religion gives comfort to one's soul and mind. So when your mind and heart is at peace, you will have a clearer mind to work towards your wish and goal. Everything is possible. As it is, all our premies are already miracles.

hi costa, think also is the bad changing weather that might have cause the running nose (not only because of the swim). siang also like kind of sneezy recently.

who don't have down dayz... every monday i feel blue :p. please..don't admire me...i really lousy really.

precious_one. i tried to planned for tomorrow but if tomorrow does not turn out to be what i planned then.... i live it and try to make it the best i can.

i tell all mummies a joke. just now i ask one of my collegues a question ...

Jane (very serious) : Mr A, Do you have any paper to submit (for approval) for next monday xxxx meeting?

Mr A (give a very serious look) : I?? I got many toilet paper in my office, do you want?

Jane : What brand is it, let me consider. jane give a sweet

hahahahhahaha... its just a joke. mummies, smile and be happy :p

jane,
u cute

late nite dunno wat happened. my ger kept crying. hubby got 'initiative' to switch off air-con (cos normally, if it's abt 5-6am, after we switch off aircon, she can zzz well). but the rm became so hot. sigh. n she kept tossing & turning & whining. asked me to hold her hand, cover her ears, etc. so since 2+ i din sleep well. now so tired. ltr got yoga some more *yawn*

but i'm on leave tmrw. got to clear leave. intend to bring my ger out 4 lunch, then to office & collect stuff, then maybe go tampines mall shop shop.

disneymickey
hahahaha... cannot tahan me hor. my another collegue who was quite near (in her room) just say, Mr A, give it to her la...wait she really go and ask you to go buy toilet paper keke :p

sometime...we can only learn to take things a bit easier and laff it off isn't it...

hmm....my boy too ler, recently at night he sleep he will like cry (very ke lian like that)...wonder why?

wow..have a fun and relax day tomorrow
there is lots to shop in tampines mall. OH OH go ikea. its big and nice

haha.

jane, funny one.

hi mummies. today forum move very fast. i din realli read everything. had meeting in morning so a bit zombie after tt. haha.

amy,
my condolences to you and your family.

gee, my girl also having this crying spell in the night for a while now. So every night I kena awaken at least 4 times, she will want pat pat, if not cry for mama if not use my hand to cover her eyes etc. Why huh? I am like a walking zombie liao....damn sleepy but cannot sleep. Helpppppppp!

Hi jane jane!! You having family day at sentosa? me too leh!! My sister got this family day tickets (she is working in prison), and she bought for us. I am bringing my boy there this saturday!
You too?