Premature babies support group

board-post.cgi

good morning mummies,

hi jac - i stil keep the apple making receipes
. it is in my list of favourites.

Really hope you would find one good eye doctor soon. let us know when you coming over
KKH shld accept foreigners. perhaps you wish to visist their web page and write in to ask for details?

hi stressed..oh...dd also walk then crawl?? hmmm...but then that will not be what the physio accept wor :p. ah ya..so long they walk ok la...

hi lindah - enjoy the holiday this sat

hi kkf - dash will be ok this sat. that time my boy also like wanan fall sick before his birthday :p but heng ok. i think weather not very good ah... putting aside all the not confirm guest. the best person dash wants is Mummy and daddy for his birthday

I am currently 23 weeks pregnant with Twins. This is my 1st pregnancy. I went for my ultrasound today and my gynae told me that my cervix has started to open up by abt 2cm... The term they used was 'funneling'. Anyone heard about 'funneling'? ... Is it the same as 'dilation'?

Please share with me your experience as I am worried. Will my cervix continue to open up more these few weeks resulting in premature delivery? Will Twins born at 24 to 28 weeks be able to survive?

Thanks for all your advice... will really appreciate it

Costa, same lah me also no schedule
suka suka give one

Jac, thanks
at least now I have a rough idea

Mich, trying out fruits cause everyday they only have rice cereal, kinda of boring for them

Jacelyn
KKH has an International Patients Dept which handles overseas patients.

International Enquiry: (65) 6394 8888
Fax: (65) 6292 5145
Email: [email protected]

In your email to them, tell them briefly what is your sons condition and include:
- Childs name as in passport
- Date of Birth
- Mummy or Daddys name
- Residential address in Malaysia
- Contact number

They said it will be good if you can get the medical report or test results from your Malaysia Hospital. This will give the KKH docs a good idea of what was the diagnosis.

With the report, they will know what tests have been done and they will try not to repeat the same tests unnecessarily so as not to traumatise the child.

I asked them can you choose which doctor you want to see? They said they can try to arrange but it is subject to the doctors availability.

The price is S$90.00 200.00 per consultation. There will be additional charges for tests and medicines etc, if necessary.

---------------------------

Sweet Rose
Google and found this:

Cervical funneling is a type of shortening of the cervix often associated with an increased risk of preterm labor or delivery. The opening to the cervix, or os, remains closed or nearly so, but the cervix shortens and the thick muscular ring at the top flattens out and dilates. This can mean a greater chance of premature labor.

Are you on bed rest?

didi,
told my mum to feed my son more regularly since he so skinny...the maid said he dun wanna eat, wat can she do....

hi sweet rose,

i am sorry to hear abt the funneling you are experiencing. i cant comment bcos for my case, i went to kkh too late. i was too far dilated so chop chop had to give birth. did the gynae say if you should get cerclage done or bedrest or anything like that?

you can look at our table of forum members. you can see that we do have micropreemies (i.e. less than 26weeks gestation).

Mich n Chloegal have 25 weekers while precious_one, costa and me have 24 weekers. Mich has twin boys.

My son still very young but Mich and Chloegal's sons are > 2yrs old oredi. precious_one has a 24 weeker girl who is also > 2yrs old now. Costa's son is > 1yr old oredi. They are all doing well. Mummylian and kkf have 27weekers who are oso thriving.

That said, of course there are a lot of risk involved when delivering so early as (I have learnt). Altho the baby is born perfect, he/she may develop complications due to his immature organs, treatments and their susceptibility to infections. So, whatever it is, try to keep being pregnant for longer, ok... Baby's best place is in the womb.

If you realli have to give birth, do get the steroid jabs that help the baby's lungs mature whilst in the womb. Mummies who get 2 jabs, their bb's lung issues are a lot less. I only had one jab so my son was dependent on oxygen for quite some time. But thankfully, he is generally ok now but i worry abt his devt - he has to play catch up.

you can PM me or the mummies here if you need advice, one. the mummies here are very helpful to me.

hope you can hold on for as long as possible. take care.

mich,
thanks for for good information.
i will call them . really thanks ha....
chat wth your later cos need to give them makan after that bring them to pontian jalan jalan. kukup,hear before?

Jane, kkf, Lindah, Nana
thanks for ur compliments! heheh she has my hubby fairness whereas I brown and pp say she has my eyes. but mine has lot of dark rings heheh ;)

Lindah,
me too sometime worry so much cannot enjoy being with my girl. kan cheong ah. keep telling myself to calm down as it will help. guess must try best learn new skill to shut out everything and just be in the moment with our kids.

anyway when my mum play with her - she makes all this loud cheery noises and say in 'happy' tone - wahhh Nada roll!,clever Nada,clap hands etc. Each time Nada do exercise,she will cheer 'yay!' I think it does help Nada (as well as me!) to relax more and c those exercises as fun, play time.

Selamat Hari Raya! great that our kids are with us to celebrate

kkf
yeah I also hope to carry next baby to week 35 or more unlike my past 32 wk. hope so we can !
meanwhile I sorta doing more reading in hopes of find more info to help. its mostly inconclusive and no guarantee though, just trylah no worries ;) so far taking more magnesium seems like gd idea tho. posted e link previously.

will share if got info.

sweet rose

sorry to hear abt ur experience. cant comment much as my case was different. just wish ur gd luck and hope gets better. As Lindah say, there are other 24 weeker babies who do fine.

anyway, ur baby is still in ur womb rite now.still might stay in longer hopefully. do get some rest and take care ya ?

Yeah, I also experience some problem with the posting. You're right, Lindah, I forgot to remind you must keep an eye on him when he is sleeping on his tummy. For my gal, her bedtime is around 8pm. So i put her on her tummy at abt 8plus to 10 plus or 11 depends. But definitely before I go to sleep, I get her on her back again.

Also, you can try putting a rolled-up towel under his armpit when he is having his tummy time to support his upper body. Towel is across his chest and under his two arms. I got this idea from babycentre.com I saw them using a bobby pillow too. Those arch-shaped pillow that pp used for breast feeding. They prop the baby inside the hole in and the arms over the arch. Then put something infront of the baby to amuse them. I don't have that pillow so I use towel.

Costa, my elder boy also like that, never drink milk on time (ie 3hrs interval), frankly I don't have the patience to feed him, luckily this maid of mine got patience to try and feed him now and then, otherwise he will be lagi skinny. Now my younger boy also begining to change 'pattern' like his brother, sometimes reject milk too, don't know if it is teething, that's y
bernard looks tall for his age
chould it be he is gaining height instead of weight ?

Jac, good life huh ? can go kukup
been there when I was a teenager, you staying at the kelongs ? can I check with you is Port Dickson Fun ?

kkf, your colleague notti hor, bet she receive the wedding invitation way ahead, she should have told you earlier, I hate people like this, but at the other hand at least she inform you, some worse don't come don't inform.

Jac
U really keep good track of the timing for ur children. Really envy them.
Actually wanna to go to kukup for a nite stay over the weekend but they are fully booked
Been there 4 times liao. My kids enjoy it.

Sweet rose
Cant advise much cos i din have this condition. Mine was jus the breakage of my waterbag. Stayed in KKH for 5 days before my girl was born. 27 weeker as Lindah mention.
Thank god she is fine so far
she is now 1 year 1 mth old. Hang in there!

Costa
No news about the little premie born in CZ.
Wat is Bern's weight now? How is he?

Jane
Agree with some of the mummies, Siang may jus skip the crawling stage. No worries. I used to massage my girls leg n help her to cycle.I do this for my elder boys too. No worries but still keep track of his milestones.

Lindah
Really empathise with ur bb condition but no worries... he cld jus pass the next one. Have faith in our little warrior

KKF
Hope that Dash recovers before his celebration!Give ur colleague a miss! Hee.. tat''s wat i feel
Btw, hpw old then can sign up the schshida class huh?

Mich
How's ur little ones doing?

Jac, just look thru your schedule again, wow you are really a GOOD mommy, your boys are eating very well
btw, do you think I can buy those Nestle Brown rice cereal for my boys ? or should I get those milled by sinseh shops ?

echo wat kkf say that happy to share with other mummies go thru similar experiences. Its helpful and I feel better.

cousin got full term normal delivery. while I happy for her, it triggered me remember mine. i got so cranky yesterday until argue with my hubby coz my he dun understand why i still upset at not having fullterm norm birth

well takes time to heal emotionally too

Jac
Kukup - I went there once. 2 decades ago!
I am interested in the soya bean powder which you put in the milk for your boys. Can share more information on this please? Thanks!

Mummylian
Hello! My boys are good. Thanks!
They are very talkative now, especially Dylan.
Yesterday, my maid told me the only time that Dylan stop talking or singing is when he is eating, drinking milk or sleeping. I think my maid entertains him until 'mouth dry'.
Read that your no. 4 most likely is a girl. Congrats!

KKF
Wish Dash have a speedy recovery and have fun on his birthday.

Sweet rose
What is your gynae advise? If anything dun understand better ask them to expain in detail. Try not to squat or walk around too much and never never carry heay load. Take Care

My hubby just went to visit baby Craydon today.. He is doing pretty well there and gain to 1.6kg now.. Drinking 15ml now too..

My mother in law book a big karaoke room from RC yest to celebrate baby Craydon 1st mth.. I dun know whether he can be readily home by then..

mummylian,
thanks. i hope he'll do okay too next round.

daec,
my 2cts worth, putting myself in your shoes... it's my womb, not my hubby's womb. so naturally I will be the one who would be more upset than my hubby. i know it's not my fault, it just had to happen (cos you know lah - qada' n qadar) but as humans, cant help feeling guilty.

i was okay when my SIL gave birth. but before that when my boss did, i was oso half-happy half-sad. v happy for her, but v sad for me.
but it's not anibody's fault... so we slowly have to get accept it.
till now i can cry when i think of his NICU days but I am so glad those days have passed. Nada dah kira OK lah, at 32 weeks. You dun worry too much. Miss seeing your mum. She's so frenly. Can imagine her playing w your little one.

good job, little Craydon!

alicia,
neonat will give you notice of when discharge day is near - that will be when he starts sucking well. they normally can tell if it's within a week's time.
your son should be fine, lah.

my case was a surprise. they only confirmed his discharge 2-3days before discharge day. I was taken unawares becos waited very long, man.

mummylian,
bernard is fine except skinny..about 8kg or so and doc khoo says he is dem active, he threw some cubes at her the other day during his visit..haha...he has to go for occupational therapy as his fine motor skills r not so good although the other day he took a remote control and pokked me on the head.....

hows ezanne?read abt the heart issues thingy?hope evythg okay...

did u read abt the open heart surgery on two preemies which was in the papers today...?

yterday's mind yr body section also had a section on a pharmacist at kkh who specialises in medicines for neo nats..

Alicia,
guess as long as he can fulfil the requirements for discharge, craydon wld be heading home...hospital though safe is not the cleanest of places..so if ok and can go home, better faster faster go home..

Daec,
yr gal vy good size huh......

didi,
bernard is still considered as below average percentile....though doc khoo said same thing..he machiam like thin and looks tall.....

i still at house, my hubby haven drive car back yet, still waitting for him, really angry abt him, lucky not far from my house, abt 45minit, actually not stay there, just jalan jalna only, later come back, before everning.
mich, i will share wth you the photo and email you, i dont want other mummies think i was recomment product. maybe night.ok, wait for me ha...
didi,
actually you should feed your boy finish the milk every time, try dont let them delay, i never do that that why i seldom waste my baby milk, they always finish, i never force them, i just try many way to let them finish, the maximum unfinish is 40ml only. sometime i carry jalan jalan when drink milk, until they finish. some people say no need to do that, but in my thinking is i want them finish, so i need to do that, i can allow them reject the milk,and never drink in right time.this is my patend. Dont worry, sure they will like that, my twins always reject milk when teething, like my 1st twins reject 7 time perior as he got 7 teeth..ha..ha...i already mamu. now a day i give them ceral more than bottle feeding milk. really tired, spoon feeding faster than bottle milk.
ok, you go and buy nestle gold which stage 1 cereal wth canberry &apple, very nice, sure your boy like it, now i try stage 2 oat wth prune, they finish within 10minit. and poo poo very good too.
Dont worry, sure you can do it, some more you have mother and maid help right.
ya, you can try causeway brown rice too, very soft., not too heaty too.
port dickson?i am not sure lei, i never go before, i go desaru before, not bad, they say near port dickson got one tiara resort, not bad too.
actually thinking to go genting next year, cos now a day i bring my boys to playland, they like to sit at the misical machine, which put token and the aninmal will move and goyang one, they like it so much, they also know how to hold the stearing and house head, when we take photo, they will smile wth us.
mummy lian
actually now they say kukup not good place liao, more dirty and very expensive, maybe you can try go desaru?not bad too.

alicia,
dont worry, your boy very good, 1.6kg, sure will recover soon, my twins born in 30week,1.51kg&1.19kg. they back after 57 day, my one more long, they have more problem, i think your one will be faster.
wait for your good news.

costa,
ur boy can't b skinnier than my ger la. haha. but i'm used to & ok w these comments alrdy. i know she eats, A LOT in fact. so i think she shld hav enuff nutrients. maybe it's the genes lor, like her daddy. i'm oso super skinny when young. but now balloon liao la.

daec,
wow.. she's so cute.. nice eyes!

jane,
my ger's name is Wen Shin. but she used to (actually now still, sometimes) worm so much, her daddy call her "worm shin" haha

btw, if u dun wan to use the frog & make soup, can steam & then give the meat (like giving chkn meat like tat).

didi,
must boil apple meh? (sorry har, jac, maybe u r the expert here..heehee). i used to puree fruits 4 my ger. then slowly, juz cut into small pieces & used finger to flaten it, then give it to her.

kkf,
dun worry ok. n when he c so many toys/ presents/ balloons/ pple, he'll 4get everything & enjoy himself..wasted i'm not in, else u invite me la, my ger will enjoy herself..gd food & balloons haha. juz joking

morning got prob postings..suddenly so many mails..
btw, wan to update & share w all, last wk i said my ger can say 5words arldy. now, she's improved to few more.. she can say yeh-yeh (cos she refused to say yes, i taught her yeh-yeh). this morning, hubby say, she tried to say bye-bye. like daec, we oso need to 'act-happy' n clap when we wan to encourage her to speak. she likes pple to clap, so we told her, u say **, then we clap.

her favouite word is still "duck' (???)

disneymickey,
pblem is my son dun like to eat...aiyoh, ask him to eat is like dun noe wat..put him in high chair, he wld twist and turn and dun want means dun want that type...and i really got no patience..once he open his mouth, i quickly chuck the food in and most of the time it lands on his face or on the floor....

i like the worm shin part, vy farni leh...yr hb got great sense of humour...

i like frog legs leh......but tink too late for me, my legs not vy strong even after eating..hahah..

wah, yr ger so clever noes so many words already...she learns fast..huh..

lindah,
forgot to say i like yr post leh...vy informative and educational leh...

costa,
thanks, not sure which post you mean... the physio one ah? aniway, what i know or hear of, i share. you guys have shared so much info on the board that i shud contribute too.

i agree... worm shin joke is very funny but i dun think wen shin will like the joke much when she grows up... hehehe.

oh ya, lili,
thanks for the tip on the towel. i will try. so far i tried using pillow which seems okay oso. but i think towel can prop up his chin better... will try tonight.

lindah,
the post which i m talkg about is the one u mentioned abt the jab etc etc lah...vy educational, talk like trainer cikgu..haha...

go back, better be kuai kuai do exercises wif hami..just treat it as bonding time.....

costa,
maybe he's not hungry? i oso will get v angry & impatient when i feed her & she doesn't wan to eat. but now i will try to feed only when she's hungry. n if she really doesn't wan to eat, i'll tell myself. nev mind. ltr give bread or milk or watever. no point getting upset.

i wish she can really talk..at least we know wat she wans. sometimes, really dunno wat she wans.

disneymickey,
dun noe leh, he dun like to eat, one loh maybe due to being tube fed too long last time and discharged wif tube feeding..

did you let yr ger watch the basic signing times?i nvr buy any vcds but my frens say their kids can sign leh......and indicate their wants...
dun noe how true though..

hello mummies, wow suddenly so much posting

jace - hope you enjoy your trip later. have fun yeah! i used to love to go kukup. oh oh..your schedule for your boy really wonderful! you really a great mummy ler! what is the nestle gold oat with prune?? me too always add brown rice to my boy milk. but your twins really good can drink so much water (70ml). and i want to check with you, do you always everday give them the feizaishui (gripe water)?

hi disneymickey - your hubby so funny
thanks for the info on frog legs

hi mummylian, thanks
. so far...siang (now is corrected 11mths) so in terms of milestone he is consider to be on track pah.

to sweetrose : take care. for me too, my waterbag give way and i was hospitalised for 12 days before my boy delivered in his 26 weeks.

jane,
it's a new kind of cereals. premium. there r 3 kinds - oats w prune, apple & cranberry & brown rice yogurt. maybe can let ur boy try.

costa,
my ger backside got needle 1. can't sit still. so dun like to watch tv. think her favourite is juz advertisement. esp the mr inverter (air con) ad haha

Jac, ya, got to be patient when feeding the bbs
will try harder
oh, my mother has return home already, so now I am taking care of the boys with the maid, not so bad at least got another pair of hands

disneymickey/jane,
the cereals thingy..i bot one of each for my son yterday...i let him try before..tink he okay wif it...

it costs $4.45 for one packet but dun tink that there is alot inside...

disneymickey,
hmm, mr inverter advt?is it got jack neo one and also got cartoon character?i blur, vy long never watch tv liao...

costa,

eh, you teasing me ah? tsk tsk tsk...
ya, i will go home and play w hami tonight. but my room still havent clean for hari raya yet... sigh.

lindah,

no lah, kakak, not teasing you lah....its true..m sure the rest wld agree leh....aiyoh, u still hvnt cleaned yr room, dun tell me from last time you told me until now, huh..hahah u trying to strengthen his immunity agst dust huh...

Lindah
thanks for ur words and empathy. appreciate it

I keep in touch with another mum. Though our kids same born at 32weeks for pre-eclampsia,her kid still have health issue unfortunately.hole in heart,pneumonia so I guess I worry more when I hear that. addon the first time mum kancheong :p

somemore before all this happend, sorta take it for granted that be normal full term. never xpect.. yeah lor somehow must accept. take time to heal..

disneymickey, costa
Now,she's abt 5mth(actual),3mths(corrected). yes,so far her weight is gd. Its a bit over,so maybe consider plump hehe. Her head circumference is bit small tho but dr say shld be ok

costa,
paisei to say i think i vacumm my room only once a mth. hehehe. haiya. lazy mum. :d

daec,
pneumonia? so poor thing.

i'm the same as you. at 25 w no family history of preterm labour, i thought wud be no problem. what to do. want to happen will happen.

Hi costa,

The babies were with us in NICU after op and Baby Glady was also just discharged few weeks back from SCN(MRSA) aka the same place where bern discharged. She is a fighter and very adorable.

Daec,
ask the mum to join us on the board lah..so we can share ideas...

hmm, my first child was full term but can never guarantee anythg...

wow..yr kiddo good weight huh....keep it up..

hmm, rgdg hole in the heart..hope its minor for the bb and close on its own...

lindah,
i dun vacuum even, my maid use the traditional broom and pan thingy........lagi worse..but cant be too clean lah......but then again wif chronic lung also cant be dirty..

buzzbubbly,
harlo, how are you?so glad to hear tt the two bbs mentioned in the papers did well...can ask them to do poster hahah......

i finished one poster liao leh..doing the second one and did some in the office today......hope u dun be disappointed in the standard....

bernard has to go for Occupational Therapy...was dem sian but bo pian lah.....

hi disneymickey and cost...so its a new brand? how to prepare? mix with milk then serve warm like that? i thinking. should find some alternative to let my boy eat while we are outside. cannot bring porridge everywhere we go ah keke. so cereal maybe is a good alternative. and i pai say to say...my boy has never eat cereal. the only cereal like i say he does have is the brown rice cereal mix with milk and let him drink :p.

ie, i am trying to say, i never spoon feed him any cereal. gosh, why i so long winded today keke.

ok ok will go check out this neslte gold thing sound so good..so much favour like that...and somemore got yogurt :p

Need to read thru the posts...my boy really sick, sigh...cough, phlegm and running nose, and worst thing is he doesn't drink the medicine. He very smart now, will spill out everything, or blow out everything...sighhhhhhhh

Whats the news about? Me interested. My boy went thru heart surgery before too...

Muslim mummies, happy hari raya puasa.

tomorrow my malay colleague will leave at 1035am, so good...hee

Hi disneymickey, enjoy your phuket trip.
Jacelyn, have fun in kukup.

thanks for all the wishes, really wish dash can be incredible, and have speedy recovery...

sigh, must force the medicine down first.