Preggie Friends Since 2003

M2B,

Actually, I think its quite common for schools to stream at P1. Dun worry, the test is quite simple, according to Josh.

Preggie/Transparent,

Does your kids have to do E-learning during these 2 days when there is no school?

Good Morning Mommies!

Minnie,
Thanks for the info.

Good morning moms!

Hi Minnie,

She has to do some NE worksheets online. I find this e-learning damm troublesome. To save time, I end up being the one doing them! haha

Hi, long time no post.

Buying of sch books & uniform - I did it the KS way. Got my younger sis to queue for books while I was in the hall listening to the talks and CY was in the classroom with his new classmates and Form Teacher. Then by the time we are done, the books are all bought already. I just need to queue for the uniforms.

I prefer to get everything over & done with in the same day, at the same place lor.

Minnie/Preggie,

CY's school very relaxed one leh. Nthg for him during the 2 days break, just some worksheets which we already finished yday.

He is now in the living room watching his Transformers DVD for the Nth time liao.

Hi Trans,

Welcome back to the forum

Wah.... your 全家出动 on orientation day ah? You have to join the kiasu parents forum la... you will fit right in! hahaa

I suspect Joey will also be watching tv the whole day. She's very into the Magicians' Secret now.

She's a tv junkie la... She's very happy that she won a DVD player... this weekend, we are gonna set up a "private screening room" under her bed. She can hide there to watch dvds next time.

Hi Trans,

That's like 50% of your household liao leh.. haha

She won it from a Borders lucky draw. If only she won book vouchers!

Hi Trans and Preggie,

This e-learning also make me very bo eng. Cos need to log on online and go through the powerpoint with him and then he has to do the Quiz online. The Chinese powerpoint has 4 chapters and there are abt 40 slides each!! So I printed them out and will go through with Josh in the evening. For Math, he has to do 18 pages of worksheets for these 2 days. I find him very poor thing cos only P1.

Josh also watch TV in the day and at nite, its homework time.

Preggie,

Wah.. so lucky to win a DVD! Blu-Ray? :p

Minnie,

Wah, that's very xiong leh.

Luckily CY is in a neighbourhood sch, not so much homework. In the day, usually my mom will supervise and make sure he finishes his work so by the time I get hm, its just to check and go through those that that he is not sure.

Hi Minnie, Trans,

I wonder if the teacher knows it's the mommy who did the work.. haha.. i try to make a few mistakes here and there to "disguise" myself. haha... It's not graded mah.. so i dun care.

I feel that i'm not as ON as compared to Sem 1. I noticed her chinese results slipping!

Hi Minnie,

My friend's daughter who is in St Hilda's told me that Radin Mas's maths questions are very easy.... she said St Hilda's standard is alot higher. My gosh, it must be quite pressurizing for the kids and parents ah.

Hi M2b,

Homework is school dependent. Good schools like SCGS has got little homework and their pace is very slow. No tests, no exams also but somehow, the girls can still do very well at PSLE.

Preggie,
Hehe I have read that SM is not an academic driven school so guess won't be so stressful for Mae and Rayna

BTW, I went Robinsons Sale on Sun...bgt Ocean fish oil for Raine and some titbits...heehee

Hi Trans,

CY in morning session so I think its a gd habit that he completes his homework in the afternoon and you check when you get home. I think its very important to cultivate independent learning from P1.

Hi Preggie,

Oh, not graded ah.. then ok la. Josh one is graded as part of his holistic assessment grades. I think they know parents will help, esp if its homework. Haha.. but you also very smart, purposely make mistakes. So funny la.

Yes, St Hilda's has 1 problem sums book, 1 Maths Practice book in addition to the My Pals are Here worksheets. Total 3 books for Math. And even I find the sums tricky. Really not easy but so far, maybe becos of MPM, Josh is still able to manage.

Hi M2B,

Dun worry, homework is dependent on schools. Some are more relaxed, some are very ON. Most important is the child enjoys learning.

Hi Minnie,

I have no choice la... i'm too impatient to wait for Joey to slowly click here click there to complete her online work...

Didn't help when there's a baby who's circling her like a hawk awaiting every opportunity to bang bang bang on the computer. Then there goes the whole drama of "mommy, jamie did this, jamie did that, i lost everything". haizz....

Hi Hong,

Can i ask Gen to help me collect the cordyceps from you? I'm meeting her next weekend
Gen will arrange with you.

Thanks both!!

Morning Mommies,

Year-end School hols are coming soon. What are your holiday plans?
Maybe can go Natas Fair to check for good deals. For us, we will be spending Christmas in HK and then off to Bali for a wedding.

Preggie,

Haha... Maybe you should get Jaime her own baby computer, then less issue. I bought the IPad just for Josh to do online learning cos my home lappy is too slow and old already.

Hong,

Possible for you to bring the capsules to work tom? Then I ask the same colleague to collect from you before he comes to my office. Thanks!

Did you manage to waitlist for Kong Hwa?

Hi Minnie,

I took leave to visit Natas.. On my list, it's either skiing in Hokkaido, Disney world at Orlando or Christmas wonderland in London. I've taken 2 weeks leave for december liao.

May be doing a short weekend getaway in Penang in Sept to meet up with a friend. I prefer to fly, KB wanna drive. haiz...

iPad... that's a good idea! KB hinted to me that he'll like to have one for his bday. Maybe i'll grant him his wish.. then Joey can use it. hahaa

Computer for jamie is impossible la... it'll be broken within hours. Coz apart from banging on the computer with her chubby fists, she also uses her toes to "type"!

Hi Hong,

Paiseh to trouble you.

Minnie & Preggie,
We will be bringg the gals to Melbourne in early Dec...actually I will like to bring the gals to HK Disneyland for Xmas but no $ liao =(

Preggie,
Your Xmas/Dec travelling list is sooooo tempting leh! Can I come along to be your maid?! =P

BTW, Jamie sounds like Mae leh! Mae oso very rough!

preggie/minnie/m2b
i oso tinking of a holiday in dec, but may wan to abandon the kids this time hehehe...

preggie
penang very far to drive right? issit like 8-9 hours to reach?

Minnie,
OK I hope I can rbr to bring tmr else I meet u at Tampines on Sat?

Yes, we placed Janelle's name but chances shld be slim. Never mind lah, have already settled Janelle in another school. I heard good comment of the school and I went thru the school website. Small school, small classes and alot of character building programme for the gers.

May be it is a God's plan for my ger. Lets take a step at time.

m2b
Blv or not, I'm still quite blur after ur explanation. ahaha... nvm lah since most of the kids got into the schools...

preggie
Huh? drive to Penang? Sure or not? Will take v long leh.... my as well just fly in.

jesse has 2 dates: Administrative Exercise (I hope that is not the streaming) and Orientation in early Nov.

Hi Chris, StyloBB,

I also think it's damm far... but KB wants to try out the car.

Hi M2B,

I wonder if Mae and Jamie can click. We shall see soon

Melbourne, you book already? December can be hot leh.

Holidays - Tomorrow will be the DAY i make that decision.

Hi Hong,

So in the end which school did you place Jan in?

Chris,
Flow-chart?! I hate doing that leh...heehee

Preggie,
Haha, ya, we shall see how the 2 gals react to each other!

We aldy book the air-tics...hb's coll wife is doing the planning for this trip...

Haha, Expo kid gg Natas Fair tmr liao! The Hari Raya wkend alot of sales at Expo hor? heehee

Hi Preggie,

Wow... All 3 destinations are very nice la!! Hokkaido would be pretty cold though.

Eh, Penang is very far and airtics are quite cheap for Penang. Makes more sense to fly there instead of driving soooo many hours there. Will be so tired by then.

Hi M2B,

Melb can be quite hot but its a nice place. I believe you should be doing a self-drive hol so will be quite relaxing.

Hi Hong,

Ya, as long as its a school with good values, Jan should be in good hands.

good morning mummies!

preggie
so u got the new car already?
update us wat u choose ok?!

m2b
haha me too, esp those need to shoot arrows all over kind
how much u book the tickets for? i rbr mine was $909 incl taxes last mth... i waiting for cheap airfare to taipei.. if not, mayb will go penang.

Good Morning Mommies!

Minnie,
Yes, we doing a self-drive this time so rather relaxing 8/9 days holiday

Chris,
Yalah, I hear the word "flow-chart", I very sianz 1...hahaha
We paid $1.3k+ I think...rather ex by Qantas...
I feel like gg Taipei too!
But we plan to bring both gals to HK for Xmas next year...Raine's wish

m2b
wow, tink bcoz dec is peak.. ours is by SQ and both way by A380, really very shiok! very quiet and stable..
haha i tink taipei and me are jinxed.. bcoz we booked twice but twice cancelled, 1st time bcoz of i was preg, 2nd time bcoz of typhoon hahaha
we are also thinking of a family holiday in jun in hk next yr.. ash has never been to hk.. which is kinda of funi bcoz she been to so many places!

Chris,
Yalor, Dec sure peak period but I dun care to check after it has been booked liao...if not bang wall hahaha

Raine and I love HK Disneyland...it is magical enough for us liao heehee Near and cheaper too =)

It's not cheap travelling with 2 kids above 2yo man! So this year travel to Melbourne, next year have to be somewhere near liao...

m2b
that reminds me! i shd plan our hk trip b4 zach turns 2 in june next yr.. can save a lot :p
lucky we managed to save on accommodation and tpt in melb (bil left his car for us).. i tink the std of living has gone up a lot.. a bot of coke (the small sized one) cost AUD3+ and a simple meal at the foodcourt (awful tasting somemore) cost AUD8+!

Chris,
U shd!

Yalor, so that's why I said after this Mel trip, need to visit somewhere near next year liao...sure burn big hole...but still looking fwd lah...heehee

m2b
No lah, my understanding is poor... hahaha

Expensive siak - 2 kids, me worse, 3 kids.. hb has 6 events in Dec, and reservice, and I'm also bz, not able to 'agree' to a common date leh.. haiz...he still dislikes HKG....

HKG Disneyland - can you advise which htl is better?

trans
Haiyoh, do you like the movie?
So cheem to me, I don't know what is happening except it is a dream within a dream, within a dream.... hb likes it v much, wanna get DVD when it comes out!
I thot not, cos his kids are still so young..keke

preggie
Is ur hb going to be the sole driver?
Another thing is if you intend to stay at Ferringhi side, the road is winding, so gotta be careful...

chris
No difference to me on A380 leh... but try to book seat upper deck ...

We ate v good food at restaurants in Sydney every night...haha
Also nothing much to buy in Aust, I can even order Oroton bags online, so no need to bother shopping at the outlets, refund my tax too.

Hi Stylobb,

I think the storyline is novel altho kinda cheem. I got a little lost when it went to level 3 or 4... Now I can't even differentiate the levels! & I dun understand the part when Ken Watanabe became an old man, is that level 4? Any other mommies who have watched this and can enlighted me?

I like Ken Watanabe & Leonardo although the latter is a little under-rated. He is quite a good actor. I liked him in "Catch Me if you can".

Yeah! I finally found someone who shares the same view as me! All my colleagues and my sis rather believe that he had woken up but I think he did not.

Next I want to watch is a local production "Sandcastle", read good reviews about it. Oso tot of watching "Haunted Changi" - The trailer is really freaky!

Trans,

I went to watch Haunted Changi on Wed at the Super Sneaks. Waste my $$ and waste my time. Came out of the cinema with a headache cos its handheld camera for most parts of the show. Crap show. A few people seated around us also commented that its such a letdown and a waste of time. My opinion la but if you wanna watch, you can. Not scary at all. Just over-hyped.

Stylobb,
Yalor, with more kids, it's really ex to travel...now that Mae is above 2yo, it's 75% liao so air-tics itself aldy $4k+...dun want to think abt it liao since already paid =P

HKG Disneyland, we stayed in both hotels and I find both great but hb prefers Hollywood

Minnie,
I envy you and family gg to spend Xmas in HKG Disneyland...it will be so magical!

Trans,
I quite some time never watch movies liao...

trans
Hahaha..yah lor, when the show ended, I went "What happened???" Hb was laughing at me. He thinks it's a great show and wudn't mind watching again!
The co-leads were great! esp Joseph Gordon-Levitt.
After a while, I got lost.
Also a bit irritating when his wife kept appearing.
Leonardo - unfort. he still has the baby face, that's why he has to put on weight and grow beard/look shaggy so as to hide the baby face...
Ken Watanabe - he has presence...we watched "Shanghai".

Try "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" V good show! I read the book after watching it at the Film Fest. The books have become bestsellers and the movies doing v well.
The 2nd part and 3rd part are coming. Too bad the author died suddenly. It seemed he wanted to do a 10-part story.
Hollywood wanna do a remake for Part 1 and they are going to have Daniel Craig take on the main role but I wonder how he wl be.. cos the one in the original is this unfit looking 40s guy.. not hunky type!

trans/minnie
Movies with those shaky effect give me headache. That time, I watched "Cloverfield" I don't know what the big deal ... so nauseous ...
I also dislike those typical scenes where they flash here and there, so stupid.

m2b
Ok, thanx for feedback on hotel.

M2B,

Josh requested for Disneyland Tokyo and HK was a cheaper alternative which he didnt mind. :p Nowadays kids very lucky, all quite well travelled. I remembered the first time I sat a plane was when I was 10!

Heh, you can bring your gals to HK for Christmas next year when Mae is bigger. Think she will enjoy better too. But book your airtics early, if you are doing a F&E as its peak season so airfare will increase closer to date.

Stylobb,

Ya, me too. I had to stop watching Haunted Changi for awhile during the show cos I cannot take the flashes of lights/fast forward/handheld scenes. Its a totally silly show and I watched it only cos hb wanted to see.

You gonna bring your kids to Disney too?

stylo
i am quite scared of turbulences and i tink A380 is so stable that i can only feel a few small ones!
we went to rockpool at crown in melb.. supposed to be atas one.. ate beef.. quite nice but not really as fantastic as i expected...
we went shopping at dfo and i hv a lot of fun sweeping from pumpkin patch and cotton on kids hehe...

m2b
nearer to ur trip, i will tell u where to go shopping hehe...

Stylobb,
No prob...you oso planning HK?

Minnie,
Actually I dun have a good memory of Tokyo Disneyland bcoz of the crowd...my gdness! I still think HK Disneyland is better, smaller and less crowded...still magical!

Yes, Mae will enjoy more coem next year...last year, still young

Chris,
Yes yes, must give me tips

m2b/minnie
HKG - I don't think so leh... cos hb is not for it... we can't even find a stretch of a few days free .... he has 3 SIN events, 3 overseas events for Nov/Dec... will see how... will try to plan sth lah...maybe resort lah...

minnie
How can ur hb con you to watch "Haunted Changi" ...haha.

Yah, kids are so fortunate....

chris
Did you go to Chadstone when you were in Melbourne?
This year, the exchange rate went down a bit... I'll prob. go SYD with hb lah...

Is Pumpkin Patch really cheaper? I went to the factory outlet at Birkenhead and didn't find it so. Anyway I'm too lazy to look at kids' clothes, get them all almost online.
I just got rid of 2 bags of new clothes!!

M2B,

I love the movies! I'll get withdrawal symptoms if I dun go for a long time. I can even go on my own, escape from reality & immense in a world of fantasy.

Stylobb,

I dun mind watching Inception again oso, can analyse the plot. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is CUTE BIG TIME!!! Love his boyish looks and smile.
I watched him in '500 days of summer' recently.

My sis watched The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo & told me it was good. I hvnt read the book yet. Daniel Craig - I dun like him leh...

Minnie,

Haunted Changi is crap ah? Then mayb I rethink about it. Do u rbr we watched "The Maid" together?

I wish my parents had the time & $ to send me to swim & music lessons when I was young. Kids these days hv all the opportunities that we din get.

Good Morning Mommies!

Stylobb,
Resort is good too...my hb was saying ydy that we shd plan a cruise one day...

Trans,
Hahaha, withdrawal symptoms somemore ah...my hb hor, always so busy so no chance really to go for movies on weekdays lor...then weekends are for the gals/ cartoons (if we go)...hahaha

Yalor, I oso hope to learn swimming and piano when I'm young but parents no $ coz so many mouths to feed! hahaha

good morning mummies!

stylo
AUD went down a bit, for only for a few days.. when we went, its 1.22 liao, credit card charged us rate of 1.26!
PP - i aim for those clearance one la.. i bot a lot of shorts for myself from urban angel, the teen line from PP, most of them ard below AUD10!
for kids, i bot more from cotton on.. most top/bottoms are like AUD5-8 only.
i din go chadstone lei. wat is that?

Good morning mommies!

Hi Hong,

Nice meeting you at NATAS
NATAS is like a place to meet friends.. I bumped into a few and even Joey's principal!

Do you reckon that the deals at NATAS are only so-so ah? The only perks are the freebies.

Hi Trans,

I wonder if our kids will tell their children, they wished their parents didn't send them to so many classes.

Withdrawal Symptoms - I get that with HK drama. I've just finished watching "A Pillow Mystery II) starring Bobby Awyong and Hester Hsuen.

Good Morning Mommies!

Stylobb,

Hb asked if I wanted to see show. I said ok, whatver show he choose also can. End up, he chose Haunted Changi and it did look quite scary from the trailers. Thought I will be in for a horror experience and it was a headache experience instead.

Trans,

Ya ya and the Maid was so much nicer and scarier than Haunted Changi. So you know how crap Haunted Changi was.

I think cos last time life was hard so many of our parents cannot afford the many classes. We should be thankful our parents gave us a good education, thus enabling us to find good jobs now. That itself is a blessing already.

Chris,

Chadstone is one of the biggest malls in Melb leh.. You didnt go ah? I also bought a light jacket from Cotton On for AUD$2 only.. Heh.

Preggie,

Was Natas very crowded? I wanted to go on Sat night but the long line of cars put me off. I also dun think there are alot of savings from Natas but more of freebies to attract the crowds. Nowadays, I not so keen on packages. Prefer to do F&E so dun have to rush with the group.

Morning,

Preggie,
Yes, nice bumping into u and family. I was expecting to bump into more pple but only see u.
Finally I get to see Jamie, she really looks like u.

NATAS fair deal not really the best but is a one stop to compair prices and all the freebies credit card company is giving. We end up with a small travel agent cos we have fun bargaining and joking with each other.