Preggie Friends Since 2003

Hong,

Actually, some small travel agents sometimes do offer gd deals too. Just need to source around. Where will you be going for your holiday?

trans
Wah, didn't know you are movie fan!!!

I cannot imagine Daniel Craig in that role loh.... well, perhaps Hollywood will glamourise the role...

Do you like to watch horror movies?

I think my parents only sent us for swimming. We also quite guai, never demand for anything...keke.
I rmbr going to the second-hand bookstore quite a lot during my teens... heee

chris
I don't know where it is, hb brot me there.

When I went to SYD, we went to Westfield Bondi, also pretty interesting, big mall. Got Target.
We were saying must go Manly this time round. We didn't manage to go cos that ptr day, the temp soared to 40C!

preggie
I dislike if they give freebies like bags and caps, so useless...!!

m2b
Yah, maybe resort....

Minnie,

We are going HK Disneyland with my sister family and my mum. Will go Macau and ShenZheng for a day tour. Traveling in Dec so I guess it will be Xmas Disneyland.

minnie
no lei, my bil and sil din mention chadstone to me.. i only managed to find AUD2 tees for zach haha.. if jkt very worth!

stylo
i went to target too, got one very near to my bil hse.. i like to go kmart, target and the factory outlets for gd bargains.. i saw oroton at the factory outlet.. din go in and see bcoz not supposed to buy any bags this yr liao

Hong,

Oh, you going HK too! Which dates have you booked and which hotel? I will be gg from 22-26 Dec but havent booked my hotel yet. I think Disneyland will be very magical during Christmas season.

Chris,

Alamak. Chadstone is so big la. Haha. I also like Kmart and Target and of course, Coles. The outlets along Burwood Highway always have very good bargains. Managed to get a few CARS tee for Josh at only AUD$6. Heh.

minnie
haha funi that they din mention. but we went to another shopping mall called highpoint instead. bcoz its like 10-15 mins drive from my bil's place. coles & kmart is just 2 streets across from my bil hse. my fil can go coles 3-4 times everyday haha. mayb my bil hse is very accessible to other shoppings which is nearby, so they din mention chadstone. even gg to city is very easy, the train station is like 5mins walk away.

Stylobb,
My coll gg Bali in Nov and HK in Dec as her hb refused to accede to her request to go Japan so she booked 2 short trips instead...hahaha

Chris, Minnie & Stylobb,
Seem good shopping in Aussie huh...but dun think I will shop much in this coming trip as with 2 kids, not easy lor...

Minne & Hong,
Ya, I agree Disneyland will be real magical in Dec!
How I wish I'm there with the gals!

m2b
hehe lucky i can throw my kids to my bil.. he happily babysat them for us while we shopped
dec shd be gd time to shop, bcoz they will carry summer collection. you can shop la, but be fast hehe

Hi StyloBB,

We got a luggage which is damm ugly and i'm gonna give it to my aunt. Also got a bluray dvd player. This is the 2nd free bluray dvd player i got in a month!

Hi Hong,

Don't forget to visit Citigate when in HKG. Oh you can also get some ergonomic schoolbag and school shoes for Jan at Dr Kong. Available at Citigate too.

Hi M2B,

I think cruise will be nice and relaxing if you go on the Royal Carribean line.. At least there will be fewer gamblers.

Hi Minnie,

I went on friday and sat. Friday to book, Sat to check out if i've missed out any other good holiday deals! haha

Both days, i was there, i won't say it's very crowded leh. But after i left, i see a long queue of cars.

chris
Yeah, Chadstone is huge but I guess from what you mention, your bil’s place is v convenient.
Can understand your dad going to the supermarket several times – there are just so many things to see/buy…hahaha.
I also like to check out the supermarket…heee..esp when they open like 24 hours…!!

Oroton – I think best to check the website first, and wait for sale, then order online if available on website… no point lugging it back unless really cheap.
I think we again plan more time on eating than shopping …hahaha. ..
I don’t think I need more things. The kids got so much clothes.

m2b
Aust - Hmmm…don’t know leh, I think must check out sales and factory outlets, otherwise I don’t find the things cheap.
I doubt if you can wear their dresses fit you, cos you are v slim right, their dress are more for their body shape…hehehe
The shops also close early, if you go sight-seeing, you won’t be in time to shop!

Wah, Bali and HKG .. good what!!

Yeah, difficult to shop with kids around. I went to KL with my two gfs again…. we had such a wonderful time! We’re thinking of BKK next year….

hong
Oh you going HKG too.. how nice…!

Is the NATAS sale more for year-end or do they have it from now till year-end?

minnie
Do you know if Bali has such a thing as monsoon during year-end???

preggie
Ugly luggage..hahaha...

What's special about the school shoes by Dr Kong? Pls elaborate... hee

Preggie,
So go citigate for Dr Kong bag, similar to SPI right. Ok I will look out for that.
WOW u won a DVD player, wld be better if u get the LED/LCD right. hahaha..

I have problem with the HK district. I still dun know where is Kowloon, Wanchai, etc etc. I have to keep refering to the map.

I got another trolley bag from the mastercard draw. Sianz another bag.

Stylo,
Yah cos my sister and mum wanna go. I guess my mum will like HK cos no problem with language and food. Julian has not fly before so he is very excited abt it. If not for Disneyland, i dun think i wanna go back HK.

Chris,

Your BIL's place seems very convenient, so no wonder he didnt mention Chadstone. Haha. Anyway, the main shopping in Aussie are the ones we mentioned here and the factory outlets. But I dun find their fashion very nice. Casual clothes are ok.

Preggie,

Aiya, if the luggage is nice, I doubt it will be a free gift! Haha.. But aunties like such things la so your aunt should be very happy!

You very ON, go 2 days. I think from your place can walk to expo rite? So near...

Stylobb,

I am not sure if Bali has monsoon but I hardly hear people mention monsoon in Bali. I come back then tell you if got monsoon or not.

Trips with frens are always enjoyable and fun cos no need to worry abt the kids. Just do the usual gals stuffs and no need to shout at all. Haha..

Hong,

HK is quite easy to navigate, esp since the train stations are very well located. Ya, I go HK also becos of Disneyland, if not will go somewhere else already.

good morning mummies!

minnie
ya i oso bot casual clothes only.. their fashion dun really suit my taste too.. no wonder my sil always come sin and stockup on officewear.

preggie
so where did u book eventually?
haha another dvd player? this one for the maid liao issit hehehe

stylo
ya his place is very convenient.. he said its supposed to be an atas district haha...
ya my fil very funi, everyday he will ask wat we wan for dinner, then his daily excursions is just going to coles or the vietnamese wet mkt shopping for the ingredients.. for the whole time we were there, he only went out sightseeing with us twice.. other days he is happy to stay home and cook & wait for us to come bk....

good morning mummies!

minnie
ya i oso bot casual clothes only.. their fashion dun really suit my taste too.. no wonder my sil always come sin and stockup on officewear.

preggie
so where did u book eventually?
haha another dvd player? this one for the maid liao issit hehehe

stylo
ya his place is very convenient.. he said its supposed to be an atas district haha...
ya my fil very funi, everyday he will ask wat we wan for dinner, then his daily excursions is just going to coles or the vietnamese wet mkt shopping for the ingredients.. for the whole time we were there, he only went out sightseeing with us twice.. other days he is happy to stay home and cook & wait for us to come bk....

Good Morning Mommies!

Chris,

I also went to the Vietnamese market which is at Springvale right? Their Pho is quite nice and tasty but I think its quite pricey. But its so nice to shop for fresh produce in Aussie cos everything is so fresh! I like going Coles cos got so many nice food stuffs there. Hehe...

Good Morning Mommies!

Preggie,
Will hv to check on the cruise thingy…Raine says she wants to go Batam play golf??!!

Stylobb,
This trip is catered mostly for sight-seeing…I agree Australia fashion not really in type…I’m not that slim lah…hahaha

Chris,
Your FIL went there to cook for all of you ah? But guess he is aldy very familiar w Melbourne liao since he goes every year!

Good morning mommies!

Hi StyloBB, Hong,

Dr Kong shoes are well made and can last a lot longer than the bata shoes. They are like hongkong version of clarks.

The staff will also scan the kid's feet and recommend the sole padding that's most suited for the child. My HK friend will go back and stock up on these shoes for her 3 kids every year.

Their ergonomic bags are better than SPI (IMO). It's more lightweight and cheaper!

Hi Chris,

I like supermarkets too! My mom usually lug back "Fluffy" brand softener and McCain's ready mix sauces.

My destination is Hokkaido coz it's the only place that still have seats for 12 to 18 pax.

Hi M2B,

Golfing in Batam? haha... Does she play golf?

Hi Minnie,

Expo within walking distance. I usually walk to expo and ask KB to pick me up coz walking there is downhill, walking back is uphill! hahaa

I'm so glad i bought this place coz it satisfies my shopping needs! Next week Carrefour is having a warehouse sale!

Am so happy that there'll also gonna be a downtown line station outside my house where the Shell Station is. It's gonna bring about so much convenience!

minnie
the one he went to is at footscray. i oso like their pho.. haha ya, but their seafood is really crap and ex..

m2b
haha ya his definition of relaxation is to cook..
he very familiar liao la.. he walk or take the bus/tram everywhere.. he can take a bus again to the vietnamese mkt just to buy a bottle of soy sauce bcoz he forgot to get it during his 1st trip in the morning.. everytime he go out, my mil will ask him where he gg, he will say 'coles/footscray'.. after a while.. she oso dun bother to ask him liao haha...

Preggie,
My hb wants her to learn golf and we bgt a 2nd hand kid set for her which hb is using to coach her at home...I'm not so keen as it's an exp sports!

There's oso a Popular sale next week rite? heehee

Chris,
Your FIL must be feeling so at home there! How nice...

Hi M2B,

Yeap! Popular coming next week. These days there are more variety of sale at EXPO. You can go there next week leh..... coz it's 顺路!hehe

Golf - my friend has a good coach for her kids. Will you consider sending her for proper lessons. I can pass you the contacts.

Hi Chris,

Will you FIL consider moving to Melb?

Abt the dvd player, i gave it to my mom.

Hi Hong,

Yah lor.. i would have preferred the LCD TV. The lady in front of me also won the same DVD player.

Wah... This thread suddenly so alive chatting about holidays and warehouse sales. Hahhaa...

Preggie,

Yes, staying near Expo has its benefits cos many sales are held there frequently. No need to go all the way to Suntec. In fact, alot of my "westerners aka Jurong/CCK/Bukit Panjang" colleagues envy me cos so near!

Ya, I read abt the new MRT line. It will be so convenient for you cos MRT at the doorstep.

Chris,

Haha.. I think your FIL enjoys the shopping experience and moving around Melb on his own. Weather is so nice too.

chris
Your fil is definitely enjoying himself ..haha
He can live there liao... only thing is v hot in summer. I rembr I cud feel the heat on me when we were driving around.

m2b
Melbourne - lots to sight-see... definitely worth it... but may be hot year-end. Bring moisturiser and sun-block, and maybe hand-held portable fan...hehe

minnie
Do you know of any good Vietnamese restaurant in Sydney?

Trips w/ gfs - totally agree.
We dressed up for a nice dinner too! hahaha... With kids, it's a /working holiday/... haha. All eyes on them and serving their needs...and be the photographer...

preggie
How much are the shoes?? What are they made of: leather or canvas? Sounds good leh.

Need to ask ur re KK and Shangri-la Tanjong Aru.
1. Does one need to arrange transfer from airport to hotel?

2. How far is it frm airport to hotel (in terms of time?)

3. Is it far to go frm hotel to city centre?

4. What is there to do? I rmbr u mentioned u guys kena fleeced at some restaurant...

stylo/preggie
his grandkids are here, my bil has no kids.. so i dun tink he wanna stay there for long... he will miss ash & zach too much hahaha

Preggie,
Yes yes, on the way next week! I want to go Popular sale!
Must plan to go before or after

I'm def not keen on letting Raine take up golf...once she starts P1, no time for anything except weekends liao as we are thinking to send her to student care after school...

Stylobb,
I'm some1 who is really scared of cold...so guess summer is def better for me hehe

Chris,
Ya, I agree...your FIL won't want to shift to Mel coz now can see the grandkids so often!

Good morning mommies!

Hi Minnie,

I think Simei is a nice area to stay in coz it's small cozy and not too crowded. Unlike Tampines, it's really packed with pple all the time. Last nite i went to Tampines 1 at 9pm and there are only 5 parking lots left. KB was saying next time go shopping at T3 instead... it's empty and GST free!

Do you know of a giant slide at T3? Do you know where it is? Next week, i'm taking a few days off to do a staycation. Planning where to bring the kids.

Hi Cla,

Enjoy your holiday! What you wanna buy from Popular? I help you buy la

Hi StyloBB,

Tanjung Aru is not very far from the airport. I think about 15 to 20mins away? It's very accessible to the city too. I don't remember having to travel very far to anywhere, except for the day when we went on a sunset river cruise along River Klias to see fireflies. The driving time was like 2 or 3 hours.

We left the kids at the kids club for 1 day. They had a great time! The kids club is nice big and clean. Staff are great too. It's a place where i will consider going back again.

Hi M2B,

I think you better go before, rather than after. If parking is a problem at Expo, you can park at my place and walk over.

When's the expo sales? I'm working there leh always go to expo when there's sales keke

Preggie,

Ryan had played the slide a lot of times! There's 2 levels. One starts from the 3rd floor and the other on the 2nd floor. The one on the 3rd floor need to have a min spent of $30 in a single receipt and there's a height limited of 130cm. I'm collecting tokens for that as Ryan has not reached 130cm yet. It's on the other end of T3. Gosh, not very helpful right? I'm going tomorrow, will help you to see it's near to which shop.

Minnie,

Not changing job anymore. Change of mind last min so ya still in Changi Business Park! And guess what, I will go Simei once every 2 weeks for lunch.

Sales again. Singapore is a sales island. Haha.
I am hoping popular can bring in more good chinese books cos some of the parenting books are better than the ang mo.

Din know T3 has such a giant slide. The kids cc is told to close for 10 days so I am on leave this Friday. Look like I know where to bring the kids now. If not the cc closure happen to be during the school holiday I think I wld just go for a short vacation

Good morning mommies!

Hi M2B,

why you say mike jian4 bu4 de1 ren2 ? haha

Hi Linda,

Thanks!! Please check for me. The slides issit very crowded ah?

I'm on leave from Wed next week to take the kids out. Now planning where to go and what to do.

Hi Minnie,

I was telling KB that we are still not very assimilated to the east yet. The other day we had to take Jamie to the doc and didn't know where to go, end up we drove all the way back to Cantonment to see the doc! We need to explore the east more.

Hi Hong,

If the popular sale is similar to the one a few months back, then there's a big selection of chinese books. Be prepared for long long queues though. It's more popular crowded than NATAS! haha

Good Morning Mommies!

Stylobb,

Not sure abt Viet restaurants in Sydney but I can ask a gf who is there. I am in KL for work now and staying at One World Hotel. Nice and convenient.

Preggie,

East ah? You want a PD, you can go Kinderclinic at Eastshore ( I thk they changed name already). The PD there is quite gd. For us, we normally go to the Northeast Medical centre at Simei MRT to see Dr Kelvin Goh. He is nice and reassuring. Bonus is he has a young son too so he is understanding to the issues we face.

I also dunno how to explain to you the location of the slides. Hah.. Just go airport and explore can leow! I only know got free parking for first 3 hours. Heh.

Linda,

Huh, you changed your mind last min so staying on at CBP. You ah...

We drove in to Bukit Indah yesterday. The place was rather empty and it was nice to walk around a bit. Had Jap food for lunch, then ice-cream, then brought back Nando's for dinner. Hb managed to find the way from 2nd link after trying the 3rd time turning.
The kids went to the indoor playzone, hb went to jagar them... anyway very few kids...
There were mooncakes, lanterns on sale.
Went to Daiso there too..haha... easier to shop as there was hardly anyone.
Bot 3 necklaces from PDI/Vincci.

preggie
Thanx for info.
Is the Rasa Ria resort the same as the Tanjong Aru one?

Simei - yes, my gf likes it too, the only problem she has is she kena angry cabdrivers whenever she returns from overseas trip cos it's too near to the airport!

Giant slide - where? We only know of this place where parents/kids can sit/drive on animal cars, and another one with the Segway (not sure if this one is still there.) I see a lot of locals at T3...hehehe..

m2b
Ur hb shy or what??

hong/preggie
Chinese books - feedback from some mummies is the chinese books from Popular are not really v good. Most of us get from dangdang.. they help me to buy lah...

hong
Ur kids' cc closed due to HMFD?

linda
Hi hi... do u have a maid now?

minnie
Hotel - is it new?

Ok, thanks.
Hope it won't be the one in Chinatown as it was completely empty when we went there the last time.. hehe. /looked like a tourist trap/

Stylo,
Parenting books. Yes, Dangdang has a big range but no time to go thru them.

Yes, cc closure due to HFMD.

I like bukit indah. Did u try the food at the herbal soup restuarant? We like the food there. Soup is nice and they have this mee suan set meal which the kids found it very delicious.

good morning mummies!
preggie told me our thread is alive again! indeed it is

stylo
i still like tebrau city more... pf sent me a list of the top 10 shopping in jb but i deleted the list liao, shd hv shared it here.. but i rbr the no. 1 is tebrau city, followed by angsana mall (never been there b4), no. 3 is bt indah.
do u know there is nando's at bugis junction now?

Hi Chris,

Can you dig the Top 10 list from PF? Then share with us la.

Hi StyloBB.

Rasa Ria and Tanjung Aru are both shangs but at different locations.. Ria is very far away and it's not as nice as Aru. They have resident orangutans though. But the location can be inconvenient la.

Viet restaurant. My sydney cousin brought me to one before. The pho is delicious.. I will ask him for the name when i see him online.

Hi Minnie,

Oh.. there's a doc at the MRT? Good!! That's very convenient for us.

Animal cars at T3? Wow.. there's a lot of entertainment there for the family!

hong
Herbal soup rest on 2nd floor?
So much to eat, only can eat 2 meals...hehe

dangdang - I'm also blur when I tried to look...hehe

chris
Where is tebrau city??

Nando's .. yes. Went w/ a mummy friend there but expensive compared to KL. WE each had only a 1/4 chix w/ drinks, it cost us nearly $40. In KL, my gfs and I ordered a platter (sausages, wings and drumlets, pita bread, etc), and one chicken and had drinks, only M$100... hahaha
The chix is bigger somemore...

preggie
Thankx... cos they put that swimming pool under reno and can ferry guests to Rasa Ria and I wonder where it is.

Ok, thanx for finding out the Vietnamese place.

We went to recci the one and saw nothing inside. Later we walked around and saw a Korean restaurant full of ppl..so we ate Korean. It was v good.

Actually T3 is filled with locals...hehehe

Stylobb,

No, the hotel is not really new and its linked to One Utama so very convenient to shop/makan, etc. Double Tree Hilton has a 2 for 1 promo now if you are interested. But One World is nearer to my office so that is why I normally stay there.

You went to recci what?

Preggie,

Er.. you didnt know they have animal car rides at T3??? Been there awhile already. Its at T3 B2, I think. I think airport is a popular place for families cos got aircon space for kids to roam/run and some activities to occupy their time too.

stylo
tebrau city is the place where the other jusco is lor.
nando's - then eat in msia more worth hehe.. i find the kenny rogers in msia nicer too.

preggie
yes i saw the animals car at T3 when we went to fetch ash 2 wks ago.. they oso hv car boot sale there.
hehe i will ask him la, see if he still hv the list.

minnie
OIC... we were at 1 Utama this time. My gfs said there is a nice Teochew restaurant at the basement... terrible....ate and ate..

What is Double Tree Hilton?
We might hv to go KL in Nov cos hb coll's wedding, so far no news yet....

I meant hb/I went to recci the restaurants in Chinatown, was telling him there was this Viet place that was recommended in Lonely Planet or Trip Advisor, scully we went there (walked past), it looked pathetic.. hehe.. so we didn't go.

chris
OIC.. jusco...

Yes, eat in KL, not in SIN... I only had Kenny Roger's once, I find the meat was not marinated, all the spices/taste were on the chix skin.. maybe they have improved... in short, so many choices..

Good morning mommies!!

I have a very short work week next week. Took leave to do a staycation. Any recommendations on what to do and where to go?

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the link! Will check out some of these places when we go fishing.

Hi StyloBB,

Somehow the poultry in msia is nicer. We love the KFC at one of the bridges along the NE highway, near Malacca.

Good Morning Mommies!
On leave ydy coz Raine insisted I bring Mae to attend her end of term performance at Tien Hsia...brgt her along for my facial and Raine waited for 2hrs+ there for me...kudos to her patience man!

Preggie & Stylobb,
Aiya, my hb doesn't like to follow us for gatherings 1...so it's always 1A 2C for me hahaha...he dun mind driving us there lah =P

Hi M2B,

My eyes played tricks on me.. I thot i saw Mae has got a term performance at Tien Hsia.. Was thinking "Wah.. Mae goes for Tien Hsia at such a young age!"

Hi Linda,

Thot you said you gonna recce for me the location of the slide? hehe

Preggie,

Have you been to Universal Studios? If not can try. Alternatively, can do a day trip to Pulau Ubin to see Chek Jawa.. Support your organisation. Hehe..

preggie
Yes, meat is juicier...haha

Yah, stay at one of the hotels in Sentosa?

m2b
In this way, my hb is same as ur hb...hehe

minnie
Tx for the info... v useful and wl keep in mind if we do go, we may have a wedding to attend in Nov...

Here Here Preggie!

I go recce, come back and forgot again! keke peisai. But you shouldn't have a problem locating it.... me at KL going out shopping.. I see if I can come back again..