Preggie Friends Since 2003

Hi Star,

Yah, its very nice to retire early to travel the world but need lotsa $$$!! My boss 2 kids are doing their degree and Masters respectively in Aussie for the next 4 years and she can retire now. We really envy her.

Hi Hong,

Yaman. I told Josh to make sure that they do not kiss each other physically in school or I will definitely be summoned to school to see the teacher!!! He told me this gal is the best of all his gal-frens cos she treats him very well. Always giving him stickers, erasers, pencils, etc.. I said he is to stop receiving any more gifts from her. Never knew gals will chase boy at 7yrs old!! Hahaha.

Minnie,
Josh is a hunk so no wonder gals will woo him

Kids nowadays really matured fast huh...hope Raine doesn't do that coz if not, the allowance I give her sure not enough man as she needs to eat and buy gifts for boys...hahaha

Stylobb,
I get Raine to use the rinse-off conditioner that I use when she shampoo her hair...if not, very diff to comb after that...

Hi Minnie

Then i really envy her too. Maybe she married to a very rich hb then no worry. Today, my gal bought me a gift. It is a dairy she wraped it and pass it to me. She spend S$0.60 and i ask her then u didn't eat during recess. I wonder how many kids like to buy things at their sch book shop. Seem she likes to buy something everyday. How to teach to stop buying ?

Sch ask the class to bring an object for show and tell. I m thinking of asking my girl to bring a cup. Any other item or what to talk abt
anyone hv this answer that can help me to teach my gal. I m very stress as i don't know where or how to start.

Star,
why a cup? How abt a toy like a teddy bear or barbie doll?

Minnie,
I am surprised too. I wonder how much does the parents give. Luckily she didnt ask Josh a kiss.

Stylo, M2B,
I used Loreal kid shampoo on the kids hair. I find it quite good, easy to comb after that but she used Sebastian conditioner at my IL place.

hong
Er...sorry, who is looking for Olive oil??

I also don't use any other Body Shop stuff as their stuff is also not v suitable for me and I don't really like them.

minnie
Yah man!! Need lotsa $$.. your boss really good life...

MPM - he enjoys it! Think he likes the challenge.. he can even tell me what a problem is about... haha.. it's also good in a way that he learns to sit down quietly to do the work....
but wl be easier next year when he only needs to attend once a week instead of two.

Love letter - my goodness! So scary, now the girls chase boys, not the other way around!!!

M2B,
There is a mummy told me to apply olive oil on hair b4 going into the pool, this is to protect the hair turn dry after swim. So far, i didnt try cos charlene always on cap.

Preggie/Minnie,
The colls of mine confirmed resigning in Aug by giving company 3 months notice. When i asked how he going to pass his time after retired? He said will be full time driver to his children. U know when he travel for business, he call taxi to send the children to RJC & RI. I thot the kids are old enuf to be independent, however he thinks otherwise. Mummies, what will you do next time?

Morning Mommies!

Stylobb,

Just read this morning's papers that MOE is considering lowering the weighting of Mother Tongue for PSLE. Not sure if its good or bad...

BTW, I dun nid to be baked in the sun during CY's swim class anymore
. His class is now changed to weekday afternoon so my mom will bring him instd. Now its my poor mom's turn...

Minnie,

I saw a very puzzling scene this morning when I drop CY off at e sch gate. As usual I kiss him gdbye and he walked in. Then a small girl came up to him & held his hand and said, "Bye bye kiss'. CY jus looked at her as if he doesnt know her & then keep walking. Aft awhile, e gal let go of his hand & walked ahead of him into e sch. Strange leh, I wonder if she is CY's classmate, cos e way CY behaved, it was like he doesnt know her. Will ask him this evening.

star,

I guess the cup is fine if your gal has sthg to say about it. Dun be too stressed over it.

My boy is exact opp of your gal. His recess time is spent playing in the field, not even interested to buy food. I asked if he feels hungry and he said, "Even if I am hungry, I'll still be in the field!" I just leave him since he already had bfast in the morning.

cherly,

I oso tink by sec sch the kids shld be independent enuf to go to sch on their own, but diff strokes for diff folks.

For me, since the sch is so near, I am tinking mayb from P3 onwards I will jus bring him to e traffic lights, and then watch him cross over & go into e sch on e other side of the road. Mayb by P4, he can go on his own liao. I won't even bring him down.

Good Morning Mommies

Trans,

Maybe CY is shy? The gal saw mommy kissing him so he dunno how to react. Haha... Nowadays gals are really more initiative. Josh tells me that the gals in his class also likes to hold his hand. Yesterday, he told me that he has 2 gfs in school!! One is the classmate and one is P2! I asked why? He said the gals told him that he was their boyfriend. Aiyoh... I said those are schoolmates, not gfs and he said ok.

Cherly,

Is this the colleague who bought the $29k piano? I think its gd to let kids be independent thus I dun agree with what your colleague is doing. Primary school is ok cos we worry abt their safety so maybe booking a cab is fine. But sec school, I dun see a need. Singapore transport system is quite gd. Unless your colleague wants the kids to sleep in later than I guess its his choice. He feels like those parent who will buy the child a car once he/she gets their driving licence!

Stylobb,

Glad that Jesse is enjoying his class. Oh, Josh attends MPM once a week since K2 cos I do not have the time to send him 2x a week.

Ya, my boss has a gd life. Hubby really pampers her. Her 30th wedding anniversary pressie was a 4-carat rock, specially crafted in UK. Our eyes almost popped out when she showed us.

M2B,

I think the gal brings the stuffs from home. Heh. If not, I doubt her allowance is enough. Nowadays things in school also not cheap. A donut costs 80cents and chicken rice is abt $1. I give Josh $1.20 daily. I think different schools have different prices.

Star,

For Josh Show and Tell recently, he brought Pasta shells and the outer paper covering from a can of Spag sauce. He wanted to tell the class about his favourite food. Other times, he brought his dinosaur, his toy car, his goggles, etc. I guess a cup will work but it can be boring. Barbie doll and teddy bear like Hong suggested is gd too. They can talk abt why they like playing with them.

Morning,

Star,
I thot she will have more things to talk abt if it is her favourite toy. If she likes to draw she can also bring her drawings.

Cup is ok if she has thing to talk abt. Hmm.. Favourite cup, get to chose this cup for bday, sharing the cup with ants, see ants swimming happily in the cup using it as their swimming pool etc etc. It abt getting creative.

Trans,
CY expression must be very funny and the girl just let go after a while. I read abt the mother tongue new in mypaper.

Minnie,
Do the kids know the meaning of girlfriend and boyfriend? Or they are just using girl and boy to distinguish between the different sexes. hmmm... but schoolmate is a better word to use.

Gd am!

DJD,
Yalor, Raine also put on swimming cap so I never apply any oil...maybe I shd start so as to protect her hair...

Trans,
Tats really puzzling...tell us what CY says ya?

Minnie,
Wah, stuffs are so ex in schools nowadays??!! My nephew has $2 at P4...but he doesnt eat in school so he saved up...

BTW, Raine likes to bring things from home to give her classmates too (but gals lah)...so far never hear abt bf/gf from her yet...

minnie
Yeah I rmbr the diamond ring...hehehe

MPM - I'll be glad when it's once next year. Yesterday after running, I went home to bathe, had a quick meal (of soup), brot him there and waited for him instead. The other week when I went, barely was I home for 15 mins, the centre called me and said he was done!

minnie/trans
Wonder if linda's ryan also has this problem with gals.... hee

trans
U kissed CY on the forehead at the gate?? Maybe that's why, the gal also wanna follow ...kekek.

As in the standard of Chinese?? Oh dear.. why lower??

Btw how much pocket money do you need to gv CY??

m2b
U give Raine pocket money for school? Is it needed? We gv jesse pocket money too but not for use in school, cos nothing to buy leh....

I think I will apply the leave-in one as well.

cherly
I want my kids to be saavy but not easily influenced, you know what I mean, at least street smart and not overly reliant on parents. Of crse we wl be concerned if they travel on bus, etc on their own but I guess at some point they wl hv to learn to do it....

star
Show and tell - what about a painting that she might have done, a doll, a necklace that she made, any type of craftwork, a book that is special to her.

hong
You hvn't told me about ur olive oil statement leh.

Agree it's not appropriate to use bf/gf at this stage, I am sure they don't even know what it means... just say schoolmate or classmate...

Hong/Stylo,

Err... Apparently, the gal feels that its exclusive. Not distinguishing between gals and boys but rather "you are my bf/gf" kind of scenario. The heart and love on the drawings says it all. Haha. But I always tell him must be friends with all his schoolmates, cannot be bf/gf all the time.

M2B,

Ya, food in the school canteen is not cheap. If you wan a meal plus a packet drink, need abt $1.50 for recess. But Josh has no interest in the drinks so $1.20 is enough for him as he manages to come back with some savings daily too.

Stylo/Minnie/Hong,

I dun really kiss him per se. Just press my cheeks against his & go 'muacks', if u know wat I mean... He once told me his best fren got teased in class cos his mom left lipstick mark on his cheeks aft kissing him gd bye, so I am mindful not to do the same.

Stylobb,

Its abt lowering the weighting of MT in PSLE. Now all subjects hv e same weighting in contributing to the total aggregate. And a lot of students got pulled down cos they dun do well in MT, and as a result, can't get into a good sch. So by lowering the weighting and giving the other subjects higher weighting, this helps bring up their aggregate scores.

Just wonder if this is right. So next time if the kids dun do well in other subjects, then lower the weighting too?

Pocket money - I give CY $1 per day.

Stylo,

Bbgal is asking me abt Olive oil the other day but I have no answer for her.
May be you can help her.

Minnie,
I heard parents telling me that some of the famous Primary school will ask students who did not perform well to transfer to another school. Does it happen to St Hildas?

Stylobb,
No lah, I dun give Raine pocket $ for kindergarten...

Minnie,
Gosh, the stuff really ex ya...but I guess $2 a day should be enough...my coll's son oso kept buying stuffs from the school's bookshop and then lost them...textbook oso lost, she is so angry man! Today during lunch she has to go hunting for a new textbook for her son...

Trans,
I also think they shdnt lower the weightage just because students dun do well in that subject...they should increase the weightage instead so the students will buck up on that subject...

How about students who can excel in MT yet cannot do well in English right?

minnie/trans
Wah, now we also hv to learn how to each our kids (esp boys) how to rid of these gals..keke

trans
Think they shud decide what they want to do re weightage and not just lower becos of that. So scary, schools are under pressure to perform well.... no wonder me/other mummies were talking about how few s'poreans there are who are creative..what to do... constrained by the system... everything gotta do with scoring marks..

minnie
I don't think kids shud be buying pkt drinks from canteen.... plain water is best.

hong
Oh...then tell bbgal to ask for sample from the link that I posted loh. Apparently their shop is at Beauty World...

Morning.

Minnie/Stylo/M2B/Hong,

I asked CY re the girl who held his hand yday. She is actually from his class. I asked why he acted like he didn't know her and he said he doesnt like gals to hold his hand. Hahaha.

Stylob/M2B,

I will be disappointed if they really were to lower the weightage. Like not getting to the root of the prob, 治标不治本.

I rbr toking to CY's Chinese teacher who said he doesn't agree with the way Chinese is being taught now, but he has to teach it the way that it is mandated. How sad when the teachers themselves don't believe in what they teach...

Stylo,

CY do buy pkt drinks from the canteen, like ice mile, ribena, 100 plus. I do agree with you that plain water is the best, but when they are in sch with their peers, its quite hard to control...

Morning Mommies

Trans,

Oh, so the mystery of the gal is solved. So he only will hold Mommy's hand? Hehe.. But what happens if they are made to hold their partner's hand in class and he happened to be paired up with a gal?

Trans/Stylobb,

Ya, plain water is best. But packet drinks are quite controlled and they are normally healthy drinks like fruit juices and Yakult. I agree that if their schoolmates buy, they may be tempted to follow too so that's why I give Josh enough $$ for a meal and a bottle of Yakult, if he wants, but he hardly bothers to buy cos watever free time left from recess is spent at the basketball court playing!

M2B,

Josh sometimes also comes back with rubbish from his bookshop. Erasers, stickers, ping pong ball, etc. But I just let it be cos I let him manage his $$ on his own. As long as he buys something to eat, I suppose no harm if he spends 20/30cents on something small. Most of the time, he still manages to come home with some savings for his piggy bank.

Hong,

I am not sure abt how Josh school handles weak students. But haven't heard anything abt students being transferred out because of poor results. His school standard is quite high and I can see they really push the students, esp for Math.

Morning,

Chinese - I think none of us really agree. From HYPY to using English to teach Chinese then lower weightage.

Either the parents speak too much English or we are not expose well to Chinese now.

I brot Janelle to watch a Chinese CrossTalk performance last Saturday. I myself have to pay 100% attention in order to catch what the performancer are saying. Janelle did not seem to enjoy the show in the 1st place but come to 2nd half she got to know what crosstalk is abt and able to concentrate on it.

Gd am!

Trans,
Hahaha so CY doesn't like gals to hold his hands...

Yes, I agree 100% that they are not solving the prob by lowering the weightage...

Minnie,
Ya, once in a while is ok but I will not be too happy if Raine comes back with erasers, stickers etc daily...rather she spends them on food or save up.

Was on MC yesterday... kenna the flu bug

Now back in the office clearing emails and work which has piled up after a 1 day absense.

Hi Minnie,

Joey will come home with presents from her classmates (boys and girls). So far, she has collected a pokemon card, a magnetic marble, a spring, a tub of playdoh and a stress ball! haha

I asked her whether she returned the favour by buying stuff for her friends, she said No! haha..

Hi StyloBB,

Jordon, Jordan, does not matter la.. coz i will prefer a Juliet. haha. The 3 girls can go shopping together, gossip abt boys, share clothes.

Hi Trans, StyloBB, Minnie,

I got a call from the learning lab yesterday offering joey a place for english and maths. Now I'm torn between sending Joey for MPM or Learning Lab.

Anyone has got feedback on learning lab?

Morning Mommies.

Preggie,

I heard Learning Lab is gd but pricey and they only take in students who already have gd results. Meaning, they are selective so I suppose Joey is quite lucky to be able to get a place. My colleague has a child who attends English classes there and she said its ok. Maybe cos the students there already are quite smart so minimum effort is needed to teach?

You not going Phuket already?

So long didn't come in here... to be honest, I have almost forgotten about this thread!

Chris,

Very nice photo. I like the retro feel... Zach look like a big boy now!

Stylobb,

Hope, Ryan don't have the bf/gf problem. Daddy asked him about it and he said he has got no time for the girls!

Preggie,

I have the same thoughts as minnie, the students are smart already so it's easier to maintain the standard.

You want to have 3rd baby ah? Me too cos I want a girl >_< Dunno if I can cope though... think most likely will close 2 eyes and Just Do It! hahaha don't wanna think too much liao.

Chinese
Why lower?! I can foresee another problem if they do it. There will be a wider gap for SAP and normal schools.

Pocket $,
Ryan loves to play AND buy rubbish from his bookshop! He can forgo his meal and use the money to buy stuff. I don't like it because he has early lunch. It's as early as 10am. Tried a lot of methods... the most recent one is for him to tell me what he want to eat for the day and I will give him an extra 20cents. End of day he brings back 20cent to exchange for a dollar for saving. If he needs to buy anything from the bookstore, he gotta tell me and I will see how he perform recently to determine if he gets the extra money to buy. So far Ryan is a honest boy, even though he knew I will scold/beat him if he tells me he didn't eat, he will still speak the turth.

Extra lessons,
I'm giving Ryan tution for english and chinese as he don't have the time to go for lessons. Maths I'm teaching him myself but it only happens once a week.

Thot this thread died'ed.. until Minnie revived it.. haha

Hi Linda, Minnie,

I find learning lab very secretive in the way they do biz...

Anyway, I've decided to sign up for maths but not english coz joey really needs help with numbers, and i'm of no help!

P1 Moms,

Can i check whether the school have bookfairs all the time? For Radin Mas, we have like as often as once a week! And Joey ends up buying a lot of lousy books or useless toys.

Hi Linda,

Yeap.. planning for #3... the 2 girls are having so much fun, we feel a 3rd one will add to the joy

Hi Minnie,

Yeap.. not going to Phuket already. We cancelled our airtickets and hotel accomodation. KB feels that it's dangerous coz a civil war might break out. Although i read in tripadvisor that Phuket is quiet and safe... he doesn't want to take the risk.

Will be going to the Natas fair this weekend to book another trip. It'll be either Mauritius or Gold Coast.

good morning mummies!

m2b
hehe ya, his background and props are more or less the same..

hong/linda
ya lor, i oso tink this pic got a fu gu feel, its my fav

preggie
i gg hatyai next weekend with pf, he will continue on his biz trip after that... he say hatyai shd be ok too

Halo Mommies!

Chris,
U quite efficient in packing liao lah...imagine you sure have many clothes, bags and shoes to pack leh...heehee

Aiyo, my fats are hidden man! =P

Chris,
You shifting soon leh...you dun need to wear so many clothes till then mah...shd start packing those liao coz you have so many to pack leh...heehee

Ya, my fats are very well-hidden

m2b
only we 2 talking here? :p
haha ya lor, i shd start planning and leave only wat i need for the next 2 wks. i just nagged at pf last weekend he shd do his 1st since he will be away next week and he dun need his full wardrobe hanging there.

hi chris n m2b

i hated packing, i used to buy many clothes,shoes and bags but now i realise is not necessary. so many things to pack is a headache.
may i know where to start to pack 1st and where do you dispose those things.

Chris
Yalor, only you and I here talking nia...
Shd pack whatever possible since you dun need all in the next 2 weeks...hahaha, ya PF should pack his 1st since he is gg away...for me, Mike doesn't have much stuff to pack, it's me and the gals that have more things...

Star
Chris is packing for her house shifting in mid May

For me, stuff that I dun need will go to Salvation Army.

m2b
haha the others find moving hse topic boring?

star
i oso give stuff i dun need to salv army.
i cleared the storeroom 1st.

Chris
hahaha, we making the rest bored?
let's talk abt shopping then hahaha
Any hot buys recently?
I went town over the weekend and boutiques like Prada, LV and Chanel were so crowded! I was telling my sis and cousin that now people's Mothers' Day pressies all so high-class liao ah??

m2b
not really lei, been shopping mostly for the house

my most recent buys is from the southaven sale, at hbf.
wow.. mayb our girls will get us gifts like that in future???

Chris,
That's big items purchase man!
Settled all the furnitures already?
Hahaha, by the time they can afford those items, think we won't want to carry liao lor =P
Somemore I see those who take Chanel paper bag, all big big 1 leh!

good morning mummies!
any plans for coming jun holidays?

m2b
ya furniture all settled. just got news ash bed is delayed though.. sian..
haha i dun mind ash buy me a chanel even when i 60yrs old hehe..
now seems chanel in trend.. but 4-5k one bag.. how to buy???

Morning,
No plan for June holiday since the kids are in CC.

M2B,
Now young mummies high class.
I dun think my mum will know how to appreciate LV, Prada or Chanel. She just wanted a good leather bag. We just got her a massage chair for Mother's day and bringing her for dinner tonight. I am still cracking my brain where to eat.

I thot of going to Korean Restaurant for a change. The Korean food at the foodcourt left me such a bad impression that for a period of time I dun dare to touch it. However, my collick and I went to this Kim Rest at bukit Timah last week n I have a different perspection abt it now.

My youngest sister smsed me last night that she scored HD for her management paper. So proud of her since she doesnt have management background at all. Will be awarding her with a good plate of beef. kekeke.

Thinking to try BBQ Korean but I think Law is going to frown on this idea cos he hates BBQ. hahaha...