Preggie Friends Since 2003

preggie/hong
We also have no reward system. To study hard and be disciplined is part of the package.. I don't want my kids to expect that they can get sth for sth that they are supposed to do anyway.

chris
60 words!!! That's scary.. !! Hope she enjoys it!!

So, none of your kids ask about "Death"?

Stylo,
No. I didnt even tell her abt the death of my maternal grandmother.
Reason that I'm not doing it myself cos I dun know if i can keep my promise.

M2B,
$2599 a piano. That is alot of $$, so the piano had reached your place?

Chris,
60 words? Faintz.. but young kid can absorb faster so shldnt be a problem.

Back from meeting!

Hong,

You oso know I will be bz with minutes ah? My working life is full of meetings, minutes, meetings, minutes...

CY was not wz me that morning. Wat shocked me was he shoved the Happy Meal toy aside & told my fren he already had one, without even saying thanks, and then went back to his game. And during the game, he kept makign noises lor. Like when e car crash, he will go "Bang!". Mayb I am picky, but I cannot tolerate that in public. It's a restaurant (altho fast food), not a playground. If the kid needs to be entertained, why not bring a book? I went out with bbgal and once saw Ray brot a book along. I tot that was a good thing to do.

M2B/Stylobb,

I've heard that 2nd hand piano is better tho. Cos the keys are softer and easier to play.

Stylobb,

I so so so agree with you that there is a time for everything. There is also a place for everything. I dun allow CY to bring toys to dinner table. If we were out, I allow him to bring a toy along to keep himself occupied during rides and only after he finished his meals, he can take the toy out.

CG - Yah, LOTR is really good. I like Avatar's CG too, like the way they make things look so luminous & glowy.

Death - CY has not asked me directly b4. I think he got some idea when his paternal grand dad died last yr & he needed to be at the wake & cremation. I oso bring him to the crematarium yearly during Qing Ming. He said when I die, he will bring his wife & kids to pray to me. Hehehe... Your kids asked you?

Trans,
How old is the kid? Luckily Julian n Janelle still enjoy rx the Happy meal toy. hahaha..
I get wat u mean abt making noises. Can be very irriating.

bbgal is such a good wife and mother. She makes ribbons for Ray and now she venture into sewing. Recycling all the old clothes into something useful. She really make SAHM life very meaningful. Very Green too. hahaha..

Comparing Piano and Violin, think violin is a much cheaper instrument to lend.

stylo/trans
i read one article abt a girl breaking up with her bf bcoz she is too obsessed with her iphone. every single min, she is glued to it, until her bf cant stand it and demanded a breakup.. talk abt a third party...

Chris,
Ya, there will come a point in ICR where the teacher won't circle the spelling words so they would have to learn all but once the kid is good in their phonics and blending, shouldn't be too much of a prob

Hong,
Bo bian leh...guess what, the 1 I bgt is one of the cheapest 2nd hand liao hahaha

Trans,
The 2nd hand piano was reconditioned to new standards thus look no diff from the new...I get the lady salesperson to play for me (coz Raine just woke up from her nap in the car and refused to play)...the lady strongly recommend us that unit so we just bgt

All iPhone users, what other nice apps to recommend huh?

Hong,

The kid is 5yo.

Agree wz u that bbgal is doing a such good job. She upkeeps the household and keeps Ray sufficiently engaged too. She hasn't complained to me about hvg no 'me-time'(despite being a 24/7 SAHM), gives me encouragement and share her experiences when I run into prob wz CY. I really applaud her. I dun tink I can do as well if I am a SAHM.

I think violin is more difficult to learn, altho it may b cheaper.

Chris,

The iphone is the 3rd party lor.. hahaha.

trans
Don't know leh, looks like many parents are rather laxed with bringing up and discipline.
I mean, I see parents letting the kids go wild and do what they want. Like toddlers who bawl or lie on the floor becos they want sth... and I recently saw a girl burst into tears becos her mom said cannot buy the toy she wanted. She still took the toy and marched to the cashier! Hello, who is the one who has the money to pay???

If we don't teach them from young, how to correct the behaviour when they grow older?
I expect my kids to sit and eat, but of crse, being kids, they do get restless. I would tell them they hv to finish their food 1st before they start to fidget/move about. Yes, I let them bring toys but to be kept during mealtimes.
Of crse, I'm not saying my kids are the best behaved (nor am I ever patient) but I do blv in instilling proper behaviour in them. They do go ballistic at times!!! running all over the place...!!

Rewarding kids is ok but it should be an exception and not become sth that the kid keeps expecting.
Anyway, these are just my views....

Piano - prob. depends on the condition of the piano.....

Ai...supposed to run tonite but I'm feeling lazy....

m2b/hong/trans
jesse made 2 remarks about death recently:
(1) "Everyone dies. Chara will die, Julien will die, right, Mommy?"

(2) "Mommy, when you die, can I borrow your camera?" Duh.... this I have to correct him and I asked him if he knows what it means for Mommy to die. I said, it means 'you won't see Mommy anymore, after school, no Mommy to fetch you, no Mommy to hug you, help you do things'... etc etc by which time I guess he kinda got the idea and his eyes started to tear and he wiped his tears away.. and kinda nodded his head....

hong
Then guitar is even cheaper.... kekekeke.....
Cos we asked jesse if he wanna learn piano, he says he wanna learn guitar...haha

Wow..bbgal, applaud her ...... I think sewing is a very valuable skill leh.....

chris
That's rather funny. Maybe she won't even know he is gone....hahaha

Trans, Hong & Stylobb,
I let Raine play the iPhone while waiting for her food to arrive and after she has finished her meals too...but not during...weekdays strictly no...only on Fri nites and weekends...

I agree, discipline from young is very impt.

Stylobb,
Raine will ask abt death when she sees funeral wakes and ambulance...then we will explain that people can die of many causes.

BBgal,
I also applaud you! So you into sewing now?

Trans,
I agree w you that bbgal is a very patient lady...she has the qualities to be a great SAHM

Stylo,
My way to get the kids to concentrate on their food is to prepare the food they like. However, sinseh said mushroom is hard to digest and ask me to give them less.

How come Jesse will ask abt death?

Did u allow Jesse to use your camera? Still using the Nikon compact camera? My collick brot G90 Canon recently. The photo turn out very well, one of the best pictures I have even seem from a compact camera.

Yah agree guitar is cheaper. When shld a kid start playing guitar?

M2B,
so the price include the conditioning and delivery? Raine must be very happy with it.

Trans,
Duh, only 5yo! I rather my kids play with my cameras. I was teasing bbgal, if she could help me to recycle some old clothes. hahaha..

m2b
mostly i use the bus arr and facebook app. i just downloaded tap tap revenge hehe.. pf's cousin who is in sec 2 recommended one.. mayb too 'young' for me but i havent try it yet

trans/stylo
hehe i was tinking, mayb the bf has to send a sms or post on fb to let her know he is gone...

re. babygal.. ya i agree! she shd conduct a model sahm course for aspiring sahms! hehe

Alamak.. Now i feel like a bad mommie! haha.. I dun cook for the kids.. but when Joey kuai kuai do her work, i will reward her with a special treat box which i will ask my maid to prepare and put in her school bag...

Compared to bbgal.... i feel so 惭愧! hahaa

I cannot sew to save my life man... last time duing home econs.. my mum was the one who sewed the culottes.. hehe

stylobb,

My kids asked abt "death" when they were much younger as they never see J&J's father. Once J&J said going to pray their dad, there was the time charlene asked abt it. However, think she don't really understand why. She asked if i will die when i am old, i said yes. She said she don want me die and awhile later she said she know after i die, i will reborn as her daughter and she will become my mother. So we still can see each other. Innocent mindset.

M2B/Stylobb,
Talk about piano, my rich colls just bot a new piano which cost $28990 for his daughter. I said he siao.

Hong/Preggie,
I also said bbgal is very good. Same as you, i cant sew too.

Wah mommies, you all gave me a hat 100x bigger than my head! Hahaha. I thought I better clarify! I'm definitely not a model sahm nor have the qualities to be a great sahm. I'm very impatient one,scold very often and I dont cook well, only Ray and myself can stomach my cooking.

Zoie's mom, Melody, can attest to all these cos she's my listening ears for all my complaints and grumbles! Think she will fall off her chair to read all the above

I feel even more 惭愧 cos I'm not even half as good as you moms think I am lah!

good morning mummies!

bbgal
wah.. all the praises make you appear here!

stylo
abt death, ash more interested in ghosts.. she once asked me if ghosts exist... her classmates told her have.. haiz, how to explain such things to her.. and why kids talk abt ghosts not barbie dolls in class nowdays?!!!

Good morning mommies!

Lovely morning today! So cooling

Hi BBgal,

Welcome back! Long time no see you. We must say something to make Melody appear too! haha

Really, i think both you and Melody did a good job as a SAHM. You can sew, Melody can cook and do art. I wish i have these qualities.

Joey complained abt me to my FIL yesterday.. saying that I have 2 off days a week but she doesn't coz i make her work so hard!

Hi Chris,

Joey will tell me she's not afraid of ghosts coz they are fiction! hahaa

Death - i think she doesn't understand the concept of death. We will use scare tactics like telling her that if she doesn't watch out for cars, a car may roll over her and she will become a roti prata! The thot of becoming roti prata scares her more than death! haha

Good Morning Mommies!

Hong,
Yes, the amount is inclusive of everything including delivery...I search until quite sian liao so glad that it is settled...Yes, Raine is happy but Mommy's pocket not

BBgal,
Can tell you are a patient lady lah, dun feel paiseh...and you are great in handicraft and now sewing...must show me what you can do then I can orla =P

Chris,
Talking abt ghosts, I dun know if I have told you gals, Raine came back from school 1 day saying she doesn't want to go to St Margaret Pri liao coz her classmate whom sis is studying there say that school got ghosts...then my nephew whose school is my 2nd choice told her, my school oso got ghosts so you also cannot come my school liao...hahaha

So cooling last night....

hong
"prepare the food they like" == will be french fries for my kids...!! no no!!! keke

My S90 camera is v good leh.. but too complicated for me, I leave it on auto mode...keke.. and no need for flash even indoors and the pictures turn out v sharp. No, I don't let jesse touch it, no way!!

Death - hmm....can't rmbr how he come to ask about death.

chris
Hah? Ask about ghosts? did you ask her why her classmate said that??

cherly
V sad re J&J's father.....

Piano, I thought you typed an extra "0"....keke...

preggie
Don't worry, me also cannot cook or sew!!! haha....
Sewing - same here, I used to bring the clothing home and asked my mom to help me.
I think I'm totally hopeless domestically!!! And now that I'm so bz, it's worse. Tkfully have a helper at home...

I was hoping and praying it will rain yesterday and it did! But heavy downpour at nite as jesse and I walked home from his class. He told me his legs were tired...

bbgal
U finally appear...keke

m2b
Eerie.... my nephew also said sth about his school leh....

Morning,

bbgal,
I think you head is bigger to fit the hat now. hahaha..
Too me u are still good, U wanna know how to cook well? I can help u then u can wear the 200x hat. muhahaha...

Stylo,
same as u. I will ask my mum for help when come to sewing.

Cherly,
ur collick buying a grand piano or wat? Think a grand piano only cost $16k leh.

M2B,
think of the pieces she can play for the family. Priceless.

Chris,
I rbr there is a model of doll that look like ghost to me. Dun show that to Ash else she may ask u to get. hee..

preggie
i told her 'wat you cant see is not real'...

stylo
her classmate told her, when her father was young, his hse got a rocking chair. the chair will rock even when nobody sits on it.. but her father can 'see' who is sitting on it.. so they get an old man to come and do something to the chair, then the chair stop rocking and the father stop 'seeing'... wah piang, telling me this story give me the creeps.. i dunno why the classmate father tell his kid such things oso.. so that's how the ghost topic arises lor...
death - ash experience pf's grandma death.. she knows lao ma is dead.. now the tablet is at my in laws' hse.. so everytime they pray on occasions like anniversary, ching ming.. ash will pour a cup of water and 'let lao ma drink'.. nobody ask her to do it.. she just did it from the 1st time praying...

m2b
sch ghost stories also a lot! hehe..

Bbgal,

No nid to be paiseh lah. U & Melody are really good lor.

You gals are surely not so hopeless right? I can cook & sew, but I cant sew stuff like bbgal lah. Mend clothes, sew buttons can lor.

Ghosts - CY believes in ghosts too and I duno why leh. I will tell him there are no such thgs.

Hi Cherly,

I think your colleague might have invested in a steinway and son piano? It's around that price range.

Hi Trans,

I really am this hopeless leh.. I don't like to do any domestic work.

Trans,
Yes, I can sew buttons and cook simple stuff too but Mike dislikes me to do it coz it means lotsa cleaning up after that...hiaz

Chris,
Yalor, so I told Raine, if everyone tells her their schools got ghosts then she no need study liao lor...

Hong,
True, I love to hear Raine plays...coz it's my childhood dream to play the piano...

DJD,
The piano is really ex man...$2.5k I already feel the BIG pinch hahaha Chris, there goes my Miu Miu bag budget

M2B,
nvm can start saving for ur bag from now.

I told the kids that mummy so fierce the ghost scare me so wun come and disturb them. hahaha..

Hi M2B,

Piano more value for moeny than a bag.. the piano so big, the bag so small.. hahaa..

Hi Hong,

Can you give me your picture? Then i can scare ghosts away! hahahahaaa

Hi Mommies
I agree with Hong and Trans, everyone has each unique abilities/strength.

Preggie, Trans
Melody is really good, she cooks very well for the family and somemore looks after two!

M2B
hee I'm just recycling some old clothes, or sew simple stuff for family/friends.

Hong
I'd be the lousiest student you'll ever teach! Thk must video then I come back to review and do at the same time! :p

Re:ghost
Ray has this night light which she used to tell ghost story. There's a tiny ghost 'staying' inside the light, in the form of shadows of the parts inside the light. But hers is friendly ghost. Not sure if she's exposed to the scary ones from her friends :p

good morning mummies!

preggie/m2b
hehe pf once compared my bag with a sofa.. leather more but same price!
m2b, cheng hu lang just got BBB right :p can get your bag liao la

preggie/hong
hong's pic.. hehe preggie, u very noti!

Hong,

CY says mommy is strong & fierce, so mommy can protect him!

Chris/Preggie/M2B,

I will be sim tiah to spend $2.5k on a bag but for a piano, I think it's consider cheap.

I guess for parents, we are more willing to spend on our kids than on ourselves.

Halo Mommies!

Hong,
Yalor, must start saving again…I just open a MySavings account to force myself to save additional amount every month…

Preggie,
Hahaha, yahor, the piano is definitely BIGGER than a bag!

BBgal,
Must show me pics of your recycling ya =P

Chris,
Hahaha, yalor, sofa more leather than your bag…hahaha
Yalah, me and hb just got B but need to save up plus with the purchase of the piano…cannot spend liao…

Trans,
I was thinking of rewarding myself by buying myself a bag lor…but never mind, just slowly save up again…hahaha

$2500 = 1 miu miu bag = 1 piano = 1 leather sofa = xx terms for enrichment class = 1 holiday = ?? more??? which one will you choose??

Yes, same as trans, too heartpain to spend on a bag, will think of the kids first...

trans
Household chores - I really dislike ironing!!!

Have you heard of this brand of Olive Oil? Apparently v good...can ask for samples....
http://www.olive.sg/contact.php

Chris,
I think it is not abt my look leh.hahaha..

Stylo,
I keep in my bank acct or may be Camera if I feel rich. hahaha..

Hong/Preggie/stylobb,
Piano's value, i am not sure. I did not type extra "0" hor, that is the price he paid, when he told us he is aiming it, we knew he will buy. Probably too rich liao, 48 yrs old but consider retired man. Work in my office to pass time.

Preggie/Hong,
I saw preggie's posting also want to laugh.

Hi styloBB,

2.5k? Definitely gonna spend it on a holiday! haha.. i like to pamper my soul la..

Hi Cherly,

So good can retire at 48. I dun think KB or myself can retire at this age leh... he's already 40 and still struggling... Me, 32 and like haven't achieved much.

If we kenna #3, even worse! Dun even dream of retiring at 62

Preggie,
U mean possible for 3#? Go for it, since both of u love kids so much.

U sure u want my photos? I probably scare u off before I scare the ghost.

good morning mummies!

hong
you better dun give preggie your photo in case she trying for #3.. otherwise she look at your photo too much when she preg and #3 looks like you and kb will wonder wat happened... hahaha

stylo
olive oil for cooking??

i buy for myself as well as for the kids.. mayb thats why i shd be the broke-est here hehe

Good morning mommies!

Hi Hong,

Haha... just kidding la

#3, yes, we certainly want a #3. Even have a name for her/him already. If we have a girl we will call her Juliet Khor En Qi. If we get a boy, he'll be Ian Khor Yi En. End of this year we'll start trying.... maybe will be a made in Hokkaido? hehee

Hi StyloBB,

Oh ya.. was going to ask the same question that chris asked. Is it olive oil or the extra virgin one? I like extra virgin olive oil with tomatoes and baffalo mozzeralla.

Such a heavy downpour last nite.... lightning and thunder at my office area....

chris/preggie
Erm...sorry, this olive oil is for applying on hair and body...keke..

preggie
Going for # 3 ah ... all planned out somemore...

To be able to retire at 48.. but need to have an idea what to do, not just shake legs....

hong/trans
We bot tkts for 2 movies for the Film Fest.

Watched 'Kick Ass' - funny!

Feel tired cos we went home late...

Morning,

Stylo,
U and Kenny are regular for film fest.

Olive Oil - Have not venture into that. U have tried it, good? Is it very oily? I am into organice products. I realised Australia have alot of such products.

Hi Moms.

Stylobb,

I've seen a parent applying olive oil instead of sun block on her child b4 swim class. Do you know if it works as a sun block too?

Preggie,

Boy not Jordon anymore?

Just curious, u said u r 32 but havent achieved much. Wat sort of achievements are u looking at? M reflecting on myself. Turning 34 and I can't exactly say I hv any achievements too leh. At least career wise, I think u r more advanced than me.

Retirement - I am tinking of takign it slowly when CY is in tertiary education. Won't stop work totally but mayb find a more senang job.

Hi StyloBB, Trans,

When i retire, i wanna see the world. Do some volunteer work and maybe take on a part time job as a receptionist or something similar.

Abt Olive oil - KB used to apply them as aftershave. He will use that cheap Ginvera Olive oil. hehe

Hi Trans,

No more Jordon.. coz Jordon sounds like a hairy big sized boy. hahaa Ian is more 斯文. and rhymes with Yi En. Maybe i'll even shorten it to just Khor Ian. Short and easy to write... no sweat when he needs to fill up luckydraw coupons in future! haha

Halo Mommies!

Stylobb,
I used to apply Ginvera olive oil on my hair when I was younger...

Trans,
I saw parents applying olive oil on gals' hair before swimming especially if they dun wear swimming caps...it is to protect their hair from drying...

Preggie,
Good good you trying for #3! Hope to hear your good news real soon!

Hahaha, easier to fill up lucky draw coupons...a good idea!

hong
Yah man, but recent years we have had to cut down on the nbr of movies to watch leh.
We watched "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" from the book by Stieg Larsson (who has passed away) - pretty good, with a solid story.

preggie
Seeing the world is a good idea provided hv enuf funds...

Jordon - new spelling?
Ian Khor sounds like 'Ian gor' --- brother in Cantonese...

Same thinking for easy spelling of names.... but not coupons lah, more for their worksheets...

trans
Not sure leh, you can check out the website and the information. One thing that holds me back frm using is I don't like to feel the oiliness...

m2b/trans/preggie/hong/chris
I use Body Shop's Amlika Stay On Conditioner - it's pretty good. Thinking that I shud apply on the gals' hair... their hair is getting long again...

Hallo Mommies,

Hope everyone is well. Havent come in here awhile cos busy with work recently.

Preggie,

My boss would be your idol. She is retiring at 52 in June this year because she wants to travel around the world. Currently, she is enjoying herself touring around Japan for 1 mth...

Stylobb,

How is Jesse enjoying MPM so far?

Now I am dealing with another issue from school - Love notes from Josh classmate. This girl will give him cards and notes to say that she loves him and includes "Kiss Kiss", stickers of prince and princess dancing, in the drawing. Quite cute la but only P1, so matured. He says she is his gf woh.. Josh returned her a drawing with "Kiss Kiss" too!! Aiyoh... But when I ask him abt her, he dun really seem to understand what Love and Kiss Kiss actually means.

Hi Minnie

Nice to hear from u again.

Actually retired at the age of 52 is not a bad idea. Like me i always wish to travel but last time due to work i cannot take leave. Last time when my gal in K1 i travel with her. But now i can't due she is already in P1. What i think in her mind is earn enough and enjoy life and not wait until she old and cannot walk then think of travel. My mum is a good example she is old now and cannot walk for long even to bring her for travelling she won't be able to enjoy.

Hi Minnie

Nice to hear from u again.

Actually retired at the age of 52 is not a bad idea. Like me i always wish to travel but last time due to work i cannot take leave. Last time when my gal in K1 i travel with her. But now i can't due she is already in P1. What i think in her mind is earn enough and enjoy life and not wait until she old and cannot walk then think of travel. My mum is a good example she is old now and cannot walk for long even to bring her for travelling she won't be able to enjoy.

Stylo,
someone is also looking for Olive oil. hahaha..
Body shop items dun suit me.

Minnie,
wow love notes. Primary school life need some events to make it exciting.