Preggie Friends Since 2003

Trans,
It is oso my childhood dream to play piano! Thatz why I’m happy that Raine is fulfilling my dream for me and I’m so happy when I saw her performing lor…heehee

Chris,
Can let me know what school Ash attending the art class? Coz Raine interested too. Thanks!

ICR is really good! Now Raine can read so well and w/o me teaching her lor..now can read for Mae too.

Stylobb,
Yup, the woman is w/o kids…I like some of the things written…I share with you all later. =P

Hi Chris,
The pics are so nice. I love the self portrait. Where's your art school?

Hi Stylobb,
Mine Filipina maid. Her English is bad. She put in her biodata English is good and she has diploma.

My friend's maid Indon maid, cannot speak at first, but now can speak some English & Chinese. Guess mine is not really a learner. She always has this blur look. Cannot even smell burning smell. Can't even fell aircon is on. The only reason we're keeping her is we're so scared if the next maid would be worse.

Ya..it's tiring spending the weekend sending kids here and there. Now Saturday got 2 lessons, if we add in more lessons, sunday also gone. Won't have time to go for outings or sleep late.

Morning,

chris,
very impressed with Ashley's work. So nice.

Stylo,
Nice art work from Jesse. He really have talent, u shld put him in a good art school.

The kids are in the new childcare on Monday. Janelle is doing very well, super proud of her. She adapt very well, even help to jagar Julian.

Julian adapts super fast comparing to Janelle last time. He still cry when we leave him there in the morning but the teacher said he stop after a while.

I put Janelle in full day immediately. Planning to let Julian go on half day in Nov but I see that he has found a teacher to attach to so I told the teacher to let him try full day on the 2nd day.

Teachers commented that Julian was doing very well. Only cry a bit in the morning, he engaged in all the activites, finished his lunch, have many servings for tea-break and nap a bit.

Janelle also eating well, till now she didnt complain a bit.

The teachers are reporting their progress to my MIL when she goes and fetch them everyday. MIL says Julian is so happy with school. He is singing from school till he reaches home. The teachers are toilet-train Julian for us.

Janelle says she wants to learn music and art then I want to send her for swimming. So many things to learn and so little time.

masshiro/m2b
ash is at lollipop, at ten mile junction, opp my place at bt panjang
you can go www.lollipop.com.sg for more details.

m2b
wow, tot raine got many classes liao?
ash went for her 1st swimming class last thu but she refused to go again bcoz she said she prefer a female coach or younger male coach. mayb she was a bit scared of the male coach bcoz he in his 30s and dun shave one... mayb too rugged for her haha

stylo
got big earrings meh? mayb its her ears? hehe.. i was quite hapi now she can draw, paint and mix colours on her own with minimal supervision from the teachers. the self portrait is so far my fav and its hanging in her bedroom wall now.

hong
thks!
gd to hear j&j are settling well in their new CC

stylo
oh ya, the gal is her classmate and oso her nanny's niece's daughter. her nanny and her sis live next door to each other. so ash and the gal are playmates and classmates. both 2004, ash is older by ard 6mths.

Hi Chris,

Ash's painting looks great! The sch seem to be quite interesting too... will check it out.

Hi Stylo,

Jesse is always very detail in his drawings, i still remember his fire engine...

Hi Masshiro,

Maid problem will never end... it all depends on luck to hv gd maids...

cla
ya u can chk it out, since so near our place. u can sign up for their holiday classes to try out. i have enrolled ash in 3.

Thanks Chris.
I have reserved a place for Xavier this Sat. Good thing it's quite near my place also. Let Xavier try out and see if he likes.

Hi Cla, Minnie,
I suppose there's pros and cons of having blur maid...too smart will also come with other problems. So close one eye lor..just that everytime got to repeat instructions very tiring. Make me feel like a nag. She's a new maid. I scared to get transfer maid after hearing horror stories.

My maid has been with me for 8 mths. Put on more than 5kg already.

Hi StyloBB,

Joey is currently doing a holiday programme with Little Artist at Mandarin Gardens. They use different mediums for their art... One the first day, she came home with tribal art and today, it's a farmyard.

Though she seems to be having fun, but i find art class very messy leh... she'll come home wiht paint all over the hands, face, legs.

My enrichment priorities:-

1) Chinese
2) Ice Skating
3) Swimming
4) Music

Joey's doing ok in ice-skating.. She's now moved on from learning to skate to figure skating.

Hi Masshiro,

My maid is very geh kiang.... the other day i bought a small teether for jamie and when i asked her to go and wash it for jamie, she told me "Can let baby suck meh? Cannot la!"... WAH LAU EH! i wanna tell her "WHO"S THE BABY"S MOTHER??! YOU OR ME?!"

I think your maid must be very excited about the genting holiday that's why she packed so much for herself. Did she pack a scarf and lots of winter wear for herself too? haha

Hi M2B,

So envy your raine... joey is still at the stage of learning Do Re Mi.

Hi Chris,

I think chemistry with the coach is very important. Joey also didn't like her tennis coach who happened to be an old uncle. He's not good with kids and keep asking them to go and pick balls! I wonder why i'm paying him to make my kid run round the court picking balls! So now, tennis is temporarily cancelled until i can find her a better coach.

Hi Minnie,

One of the crocs i bought for joey is giving her blisters.. I think might be too small for her.

3 for $10???? it's a damm good deal leh. coz the quality of their t-shirts and pants is not bad.

masshiro
Yah, in a way, blur maid is stimes beta.. so long u hv someone around to watch over her... does she watch ur bb on her own?

hong
Don't u just feel so assured and happy when u see them adapting well in school/childcare?

preggie
I also feel Chinese is v impt....

good morning mummies!
on leave today!

masshiro
you attending the morning or afternoon class? ash is attending the evening class on sats but this sat no class bcoz they gg excursion to hortpark on sun am.

preggie
i oso dun wan to force her. will be on the lookout for female coaches.

Good Morning Mommies.

Masshiro,

On the contrary, I was looking for a transfer maid. Reason is because I have no time to train a maid and a transfer maid would have some experience in household and childcare. Plus my most important criteria was I must be able to interview her previous employer so that I can know her performance there and the reason why they dun wanna keep her. Maids who dun allow me to interview will have something to hide. My current maid's ex-employer invited me to her place for a chat and I was pretty comfortable with her honesty and so I decided on this maid. So far, she is ok. No major issues and does her work well. Josh is very attached to her now and always wanna go home to play with her so I am glad. If you remember, it was quite a challenge in the beginning when they couldnt click. Maid will guide him on his assessment, play dinosaurs wif him, read wif him, etc so pretty ok. Guess its true that if you change your current maid, it may be worse. I also keeping my fingers crossed that my maid dun start any nonsense.

Chris,

Going shopping today?

Stylobb,

Wat school did you contact? Finally ah.. Hehe..

Preggie,

You bought 8/9 for Joey rite? Did you get any 10/11?

angeline
I finally managed to wake up at 6.25am and went for a jog!!

masshiro
Hope ur maid will improve.
Next time u hv to gv her a packing list for herself! haha

I don't like those maids who talk loudly or try to act smart (like preggie's maid).

My maid is finishing two years soon liao... she wl be continuing... she takes v good care of my kids leh.

minnie
Got from the thread above ours...

Studio Rus at tpy... but now they hv no classes cos holiday. They say Sat classes v v full and wl hv to wait a few years (more atas than NAFA hor..hehe)... they suggested weekdays, hv asked them when they open again.

Another one is Studio Miu at Taka but sounds exp...hehe... maybe wl check later.

Just woke up... feeling zonked! Later going to Etonhouse to organise a farewell party. We got them a bouncy castle and a balloon artist.

Wanna ask if any of the mommies here went for the bookfair at Suntec.

Hi Minnie,

No i didn't buy any 10/11. KB asked me why i bought such a small size. should have bought bigger for future use. sigh.....

Hi M2B,

Sorry.. i know i asked you this before. Can you tell me which brand of sling did you buy? Issit good and easy to use?

Am considering the baby bjorn, pupsik or the ergo baby sling.

Hi StyloBB,

Yes chinese is very impt.. if i have a choice, i will want her to learn hokkien and cantonese too... wonder if she'll be able to pick up some cantonese from watchin HK drama with me and my mom. haha

Hi Preggie,Stylobb, Minnie,
She has my MIL to supervise her so at least not so bad. Problem is they have problem communicating cos my MIL doesn't speak Mandarin. So a lot of misunderstandings. I suppose Minnie's suggestion of interviewing ex-boss is good. I didn't know we can do that. But if anyone of you got good maid and wants to let go, must let me know hor.

Hi Preggie,
I got Baby Bjorn and I really like it. Used it very often with my 1st boy, but 2nd boy doesn't like to be strapped. But it's very comfy and very stable.

Hi Chris,
Mine is Sat 1.30pm. Dunno if this one for 3-5 yrs old one or older. Forgot to check. Is Ash attending the 3-5 yrs old one? Yah..i heard about the hort park, that's why starting only next week. Sounds fun. Hope Ash enjoys herself.

Stylobb,
Wah..u so on. Get up so early to jog. I can't wakt up every morning. Got to drag myself to work. Baby still getting up at 2 times every night.

Hi Preggie,
I also love tennis and would like XAvier to learn. But agree coach very important. So far haven't found one I like. Besides, so many things to learn now. phonics, gym, art...the rest just have to wait.

Hong,
Glad J&J are coping well in cc…it must be a relief.

Chris,
Haha, Raine wana take art classes leh…

Preggie,
I went to the book fair at Suntec on Mon…bought some books for Raine…dun really find it worth gg though…

I bought the sling from a BP organized in this forum…it is from US…great and easy to use but then I seldom sling Mae now…she is normally in stroller when we are out unless the trip to cinema last Sat…hahaha

Masshiro,
I AGREE! So many things for the kids to learn…luckily, Raine quite pro-learning now…heehee

Hi Masshiro, M2B,

I need to get a good sling that won't give me backache coz i will be travelling with bb in December. I've sort of given up on the sarong sling i bought for joey long ago coz i can never get the position right and after carrying her for a while, i felt like my shoulder is gonna fall apart and my back wanna break!

Hi M2B,

I didn't get to go to the bookfair though i wanted very much to. I dunno why.. but this maternity leave, i seem to be so busy... i wonder why i don;t have so much personal errands to run when i was working. hmm....

Hi Minnie,

Although i had issues with my previous maid, i still miss having her. There was even once i dreamt of her visiting my house and i asked if she wanna work for me again! She gave me a smile and that was the end of my dream! haha...

Hi Masshiro,

I find tennis too challenging for Joey... she's too uncoordinated and half the time she's dreaming when the coach is teaching (and of coz the other half of time, she pick balls). So you say worth spending my money on tennis or not? haha..

here are some evidence of her "immense interest" in tennis

1910844.jpg

Playing dead during the lesson

1910845.jpg

Playing golf during tennis lesson

Good Morning Mommies!

Preggie,
I oso like so busy during the 2nd ML coz like so many things to do leh...but for me, it is more like making up for lost time shopping hahaha

Joey so cute!

Actually the Book Fest also nothing fantastic lah...I end up buying assessment books for Raine at other popular stores leh...

M2B,
Nice meeting u on sat. The hungry caterpillar is nice but Janelle commented too slow.

She prefered the Disney Princess more.

Stylo, Minnie,
can u send me ur Amazon order to gongsh_99@yahoo? I may want to order within these few days.

anyone wanna order from amazon?

M2B,
confirm leappad right.
Btw, wanna check. When is Tekka market ready?

Hong,
Nice meeting you on Sat too! So coincidental!

Yeap, I cfm the leappad. Can get the books from Singapore easily right? Sori, suaku lah...

I see if there are any more things I wana order from Amazon. :p

Went swimming again yesterday.

preggie
Cantonese is nice but I don't see any relevance in learning it except to watch the serials..haha

Tennis - think you beta w/draw her if she's not interested... maybe the balls are too difficult/heavy for her to hit at this stage??

minnie
Bintan - hb does not wanna go there.

Rus studio - wl call them beg. of Jan to fix a class.

hong
Ok, wl go and do it afterwards.

Tekka? U know the famouse vegetable stall?
May wanna check how much he charges for the rocket leaves?
I got some and a pack of salad from NTUC for salad w/ cherry tomatoes, ate it with the balsamic vinegar sauce.. v nice leh..

We go there for the famous chix briyani loh.

masshiro
Twice a nite? So siong leh.... no joke...

Yah a lot to learn but not enough time.. some mummies recommend abacus classes ...??!!! haha

How was the art class?

Stylo,
OK email me ur order.
The Jazz vege stall? yes, I visited his stall when I went there. He sold vege that u dun usually see in the market. Alot of pple buying from him. Vege are very fresh too.

I missed doing marketing there. I went to the makeshift Tekka market. Not shiok. Law may need to work on some weekends so I can only go there selectively. I find the threadfin is cheap and fresh there.

M2B,
Raine new hairstyle is very nicely constructed. Has her bruise getting better? Mae very big leh.

halo mummies!

masshiro
yes ash is attending the 3-5 yrs old one.
she enjoyed herself at hortpark, come back sweaty and face so red, so she said fun! i tot its quite nice of the sch to organise such events bcoz its not easy bring 45 kids out!

m2b
raine is really very hao xue!

Hong,
Just wana check are the books for the leappad ex? I got a reading pen for Raine last year from Popular and it function the same...the books are sold in a set of 4 or 5 books at $22+ only.

Thanks! I like Raine's new hairstyle too..maybe a good change from long hair.
Oh, her bruise is better alreay..I got questioning from my MIL when she saw...hahaha

Chris,
I hope she will be like that all the way.
Talking abt that, she is beginning ICR Stage 2 today and there will be more homework from now onwards...

M2B,
the book is ard US8.99 each. Defintely more expansive compairing to location production lor.

What is ICR 2? Piano lesson?

Hong,
Hah, then abit bo hua, is it ok that I drop my order? sorry leh...coz Raine seem happy with the reading pen I got for her from popular leh...just got her a new set of books too.

ICR 2 - I Can Read Stage 2.

Aiyoh.. our thread 2 days no action?

I'm sick leh...the weather was so hot when i went out yesterday i think i almost kenna heat stroke!

Hi Chris,

HortPark is nice hor? But until now i've not brought joey there yet. I'm not into greenery and gardens.. hahaa.....it's an irony i know.

Hi StyloBB,

Dialects, i think it's good to learn... it's like bringing them closer to our ancestral roots.

good morning mummies

preggie
i din venture into the park hehe.. jsut wait at the entrance for her to come out, but it looks nice from the outside.
for dialects, recently heard ash speak in complete hokkien sentences quite often. that day overheard this conversation with her and my dad.
out from toilet, she asked my dad 'ah zhu leh' bcoz she cant see me.
my dad said 'hmm zai'
ash said 'le eh za bor kia leh, an zua le hmm zai yi na tor lok'

hong
We have a few colleagues there too.

Tkfully I cancelled phuket... don't know how situation wl be. Their king's birthday is coming up..

chris
jesse got a notepad with the addy but I forgot the addy. Googled but can't find. Nvm, I wl check whenI go home.

hong
Hv u placed ur amazon order? I just rembr I may hv something to get....

Good morning mommies!

Am feeling well again! Yay! Today, i'm gonna start my Xmas shopping and prepare for Joey's bday.

I saw this advertisement on the papers today "Fly with Thai to friendly, vibrant bangkok"... i laughed when i saw it! I guess they are referring to "friendly" protestors and vibrant display of firearms, flags and banners? hahaa.. The only saving grace is that the advert didn't appear on the same page as the many news articles on the unrest in bangkok.

Hi M2B,

Luckily you went to Bangkok earlier. Was watching the news yesterday, they interviewed this angmo lady who was feeding her kids in the bangkok airport. She said her kids are sick and all she wants to do now is to get home quick. I felt so sad for her.

My Annual Tribute

I can't believe a year is nearly gone
I thought I just typed my last poem
Super mummies we are still
Never-ending tasks to fulfil

Career, family we have to juggle
Being wife, mummy, and even employer
I wish I could be horizontal
I mean, sleeping, not dead, my dear

Are we too tired, familiar or busy
As our thread has been slow
Is it we become too lazy
Or that we have no more woe?

The faithful ones are still writing
Keeping the thread alive
Where are the rest of you hovering?
When can we all say "Hi, Five!"

When once we talked of bm and sleepless nights
Or who has gone on another flight
Now it's sports, classes and learning curve
Who drew this and who spouted big words

Our children are growing older
Relating to them can be a challenge
I hope we are getting wiser
Be firm yet loving, not 'violent'

Prices are at an all-time high
Inflation looks set to rise
More stress, wonder in our minds
Should we have another child?

At least some have added to the population
Despite missing the incentives
Others are thinking about the calculation
Another round will yield the benefits

What is your wish for the new year?
Which direction should we be heading?
Gotta to be vertical
That means health and a job to get going!

preggie
Yah, so terrible, stuck in Bangkok, alone is bad enough, imagine with kids!!
Phew....

Then it's Mumbai blast.

We just watched the movie "Body of Lies" about terrorist activities....

Btw, is the annual zoo pass still SGD150?

Stylobb,

That's a good one, as usual! I can relate esp to the part about being loving & not violent. Haha!

I'm going to watch Cape No. 7 tmr!!

Hi Stylo,

Nice poem! i think i am getting more 'violent' again... 2 monkeys can really get us to the nerves

Hi M2B,

Happy Birthday!