Preggie Friends Since 2003

long time I have not logged in, wonder u gals remember me.....went thru a bit posts....congrats to preggy and M2B....

transparent, stylobb
ur mother and mil are very good, they supervise ur kids...there are so many things to learn, is good that mother and mil can help else the time left after work is not enuff to cover all subjects and areas....

M2B
Raine has so much classes....she is so disciplined to finish homework that you have planned, I am impressed...she can do spelling when Felicitas cant even regconise all the alphabets....how did you do the teaching...did you teach her aftr work, i realise after reaching home, bathed have dinner, is almost bedtime...

stylobb
the drawings done by Jesse are v.very good, felicitas is still doodling....is he having arts lessons?....

how do u manage 3 kids?...sonmehow i feel that i cannot divide my attention and would leave one of them out....esp now i am clinging on to an infant...i am letting her cry out so that I could have more time and give more attention to the elder kids....but somehow in me i felt that this does not seems right...

The dresses are pretty...

Hong
janelle can read 70% of her books too?....wow....she is good too....oh no....and she is very disciplined too....she will pick up and learn herself....that would never happen to my kids...the best is you do not need to put in
effort...**I am stress**

I spend alot of time on alphabets and that took up so much of time.....and she is not learning....

Preggie
what has happened with Eton House, that you need to start a war....sounds serious...

Re Maths
is really no easy for primary one kids, one of the sum is
@+@=%
%+%=#
#+#=16

What is @?

I am stunned... how to do teaching and explanation?...

Chris
I love red shoes too, but very attention grabbing and difficult to match clothes....I only have a pair of red crocs which i wwear with anything...

Hi Angeline
Nearly forgot who u were until u mentioned Felicitas..hehehe...

How I handle ah..guess I have a bit of advantage cos the twins grow up together, same age, so if we teach them, they learn the same stuff at the the same time. I don't hv to divide my time amongst three in that sense...

U mean Felicitas can't read the alphabet??

Why u worry abt Maths now?? hehe.
I would start frm the last line teaching that # is the same value and work backwards...

No, jesse is not attending art class.. wonder if it wl be of help to him... he only draws vehicles... all the while he likes to draw and just let him loh.... he wl observe what he sees on the road and come home and draw the vehicles...

How old ur is nbr 3??

it has been so long....if u have forgotten me, i would not be surprise
... nbr 3 is 3 mths old....Felicitas still cannot read and write alphabet let to say do spelling...is it very slow for her?...ur 2 qn mark makes me more worried...i used to take it easy til i came back to this thread...i am not worry about maths now, if she can do simple plus n minus i would be jumping in joy, i am just shocked by the difficult level of the maths of a primary one standard...Jesse is very talented, and since is an interest i guess it will do him good to attent art classes....i uess for twins is different to different age group 3 kids hor....

Hi Angeline, I just join this thread not too long. Don't fret. Normally kids even out when they are 9 or 10 years old. That's why MOE only do streaming when're primary 3 or 4 (current). This is based on the research that they're done. So for those that do not have steady start will eventually catch up and those are already quite advanced will also eventually slow down unless the kids are gifted or genius. Take my niece for example, she couldn't really read when she was in Primary 1 but now that she now tops her class in English and Science. She's now Primary 4. I believe MOE has done their research before they set that age to do streaming.

Good morning mummies.

Talking abt worksheets or homework for school holiday, i am another mum that didnt do anything for charlene. Basically, i just let her enjoy her school holiday. I am not worry abt it cos i think she will sure pick up when times come. Find it so stressful for both me and her if i force her to do homework everyday.

good morning mummies

cherly
me too.. pf is against stressing ash at this age. let her enjoy her childhood. for me, i just too lazy. prefer to spend quality do nothing with her hehe..

angeline
hi! how's your 3 Fs?

stylo
i got the glide! havent try it tho. got it at $11+ from watsons in west mall.
sweet dresses! where are they from?
pf saw jesse's drawing and commented they are very cheem for a 4 yr old boy. very detailed.

Morning,

Toking abt hol enrichment classes, etc. There was an article in the papers over the weekends that kids shld be allowed to enjoy their sch hols, instead of going for too many enrichment classes.

Angeline,

Long time no 'see'. How r your kids? Got pics anot?

When I saw your symbols, I tot u scolding bad words leh.

Stylobb,

Jesse's drawings are very detailed. CY doesnt quite draw, he prefers to write. When he has pen & paper, he will write his name lah, copy words from magazines, etc.

From what I see, Jesse doesn't nid drawing lessons wat, he is 'over-qualified' liao.

Good Morning Mommies!
Went shopping on weekend again…but bought stuff for myself instead,…cosmetics and an over-sized sunglasses…heehee, vain mommy…

Stylobb,
I bought the same 1 as you…

Angeline,
True, by the time I reached home, bathed and have dinner, it will be almost 8pm so thatz why I give Raine homework during the day so I just need to check…as evening time is piano practice and reading time…no homework in the evening as she has done her share in the afternoon…on days that she has enrichment classes, I won’t give her homework though…glad she is enjoying her enrichment classes as I told her not to stress herself, just go and enjoy but I’m glad to see her progress after 1 or 2 terms…at least $ is well-spent…heehee…weekends and PHs strictly no homework coz it is our relaxing days…

For homework, I give Raine English and Chinese writing, some Maths sum and a few spelling words to learn a day…not too much so that she can still enjoy her TV programs and playing with my nephew…

DJD &v Chris,
Hb is the relaxed one, asking me not to stress Raine but for me, I believe in setting a good foundation for Raine so I dun have to worry much when she is older lor…maybe I KS…but I won’t scold her if she does her homework wrong or didn’t do for that day though…

Trans,
Same here, Raine likes to write her name, Mommy and Daddy's name and phone nos...and also take attendance when she has a pencil/pen and paper...

periwinkle
what u say make me feel more balanced...i do not want to be a kiasu mum...pushing my kids, stressing them when they are not ready....but if the kids are ready, preparing them more, y not...mine somehow she is either not those study "liao(4)" or she is not ready....i do not knw yet...hoped she is not ready like what u said...

Cherly
i am really very stress when i hear all ard kids are wow...but i keep on telling myself, if she is an average student, every year no big problem then i be ok....

Chris38
how did u knw i named them Fs? hee....

me too very lazy though i knw others are doing very well....but i make it a point to sit down with her when she is playing...i think she rather not me company her....cos when i sit down i will start to talk abt alphabets....n she is like shut down....

transparent
looks like scolding hor....din realise till u mentioned....

pictures, i have..can find it here, http://felicitasworld.multiply.com/....

M2B
Raine is very good....can write mummy and daddy name...Felitas would not even know my hp number and dun even knw how to call me at my hp...

Good morning mommies,

So fast June already.. Half the year is gone.

Came to work really late today coz, on the way to the office, i realised i forgot to bring the tool of my trade to work - my NOTEBOOK!

Had to detour and go home to get it. Aiyoh!! what a way to start my monday.

Hi Trans,

I read the article too!! When i compare myself to Victoria's mommie, i feel like i'm such a good mother leh.. hahaa.. never load my kid with so many activities! haha

I have a very good and free "tuition" teacher in the form of my FIL. When he plays with Joey, he can make learning fun for her. For example, he will draw a very big O on a paper and ask her to form alphabets from it, then from the alphabet formed, make a word out of it and then a sentence. I find it a great way to learn coz it also builds on her creativity.

Hi Periwinkle, Angeline,

There are many issues with the school. The teacher-student ratio (3 to 27kids), the space constraints (27 kids in a small classroom), the adequacy of facilities, learning aids, the standard of english, rude bus drivers, fee increase but service never increase, hygiene problems, keep asking for donation from parents, children have limited access to the library, ban of crocs, etc.

Our next move is.... if management doesn't budge, we will leave the school en-mass and find a school which will take all our kids.

If this happens, the school will stand to lose $280,000! Well, we see what the school says lor....

Angeline,
stress not. Felicitas will catch up.
I think Janelle find me too lazy so she will find work for me to do. haha...
However, Law still complained that I did not spend enough time with Julian.

I dun know how am I going to deal with 3. I hope I can have the magic of the Monkey King who can tranform 2 mummies out to give each my attention.

Preggie
$280k is alot...the school would not treat this simply....I din knw good schools like Eton House will have so much problem...the management sure will do something ....

hong
very stress....i hoped i wun let my stress affect Felicitas...Is not easy to find time for all the kids....with 3 i find i m creating "middle child syndrome"...i am still finding ways to have time for all and not leave anyone out...i wonder how do our mother coped....

Hi Angeline,

They used to be good.. I have no complaints when Joey was in N1 and N2.. but K1 is a different story altoghter.. sigh... Overcrowding is a big issue. I asked joey how she liked her class and her respond was "how do you like it if you sit on the floor and people sit on you all the time?"

She also told me that she has a classmate who is made to eat less coz the teachers say she is putting on weight.. Wah lao eh... who are the teachers to decide whether the kid is fat or not.... they are not dieticians lor!

Preggie,
it is really not worth paying so much to continue with Eton house. Did u give the school a deadline to respond?

If the school is giving healthy food, why must they stop children from eating?

Preggie,
My nephew was told by the teacher that he can't eat too much and they will give him a smaller bowl of lunch as he is overweight too...my sis also very pissed off...

Hi Hong,

Some of the parents are looking out for new schools to take our kids. They have some options and i think we will go with along with them if the management of the school does not budge.

Oh.. then there's this incident where the teachers will put the photos of the notti kids on a WANTED poster and paste it on the corridor... This kind of name and shame disciplinary method if very UNPROFESSIONAL!

Had an enjoyable weekend. Firstly weather was quite nice. Secondly hb is fine liao.
Went for belated M's Day at Whitebait. Kids enjoying the whitebait and fries and capellini while I gorged on capellini w/ crab meat and tikka chix w/ mango.

Brought them to the playground three times. The funniest was yesterday after they ran and ran, I brought them home. Maid bathed and fed them. Then I saw chara lying flat out on the carpet. Hands and legs stretched out. I peeked at her. Eyes nearly closing!! quite funny.

Question for the day... what are two of your favourite colours currently??? hehehe...

trans
Yeah when I read that Victoria's schedule, it is so scary... !! Hope none of us end having to do that.
I think too much of these can stifle a kid's mind.

Good that CY will copy and write, also a way that he is learning... Every kid is different and their interests vary too.

chris
From CP... but hor, I find dresses boh hua, cos I got feeling the gals wl outgrow them v fast.

Did u get anything ?

trans/chris
Yah man, his drawings are quite detailed... he even drew the petrol tank underneath one of his trunks drawings that day. Anyway I just leave it for now.

chris/cherly
Actually not so much as to stress them, but give them some targets to meet during the school holidays... ie by doing some writing....otherwise they tend to forget their strokes when school restarts.

m2b
Big sunglasses? Must be careful when u wear them cos u are preggie...

angeline/periwinkle
Yeah, maths is rather scary. The kids need to have a good foundation in English.

preggie
Posters...wow! This will not work. It's better to be positive. From what my colleagues who are trained in education.. if the schools put up DON'T this and that, it won't work. Always better to encourage and reward for a good action than to punish over nothing. Of course disciplining is important at the appropriate time.

Stylo,
I think I am influence by chris. I will tend to look at green tops. Current favourite is blue & green.

Preggie,
u mean the whole batch is moving to the same new school together?

stylo
now i into silver & gold. hehe
yes, i settled head to toe for my d&d liao. very satisfying shopping trip esp on fri.

angeline
hehe.. got a little birdy told me... over the other channel

preggie
wow, i hope the sch really buck up otherwise it will be a HUGE dent to their reputation and pocket.

Stylobb,
No fav colours recently coz I surviving on the few tops and bottoms I have for my last few weeks of pregnancy...

No lah, think I will wear those sunglasses after I delivered instead...heehee

Chris38
thats 60%...should drop by to see if there is good catch....

Preggie
wanted poster...how could they do that...their small little soul would be hurt...esp plus their peers laughing at them....and u are right...who are they to determine fat or not....

M2B
How could they limit their intake...

Stylobb
I heard abt the maths is like testing them their command of english...not easy...

fav colours for me is green too...and white...

Hallo Mommies.

Stylobb,

I like Red and Black for the moment.

Chris,

A friend drove us to Gelang Patah, near 2nd link, for super yummy seafood on Friday. We had the following: 2 Pepper Crabs/Pork Ribs/Sambal Kangkong/Yam basket/Beggar's steam chicken/Seafood Salad You Tiao/Wild Boar Fried w curry powder/Seafood Horfun + 5 rice/tea/juices. Total damage: RM$135 or S$58... Cheap hor? Wonder if its the same as the one you went? The black pepper crabs were meaty and nice!

minnie
no, the place i went to is near the old eden hotel. i oso been to some place near 2nd link for seafood some yrs back. but cant rbr the pricing. yours is really cheap!

styloBB, I like yellow, green, white at the moment. But then again it depends on whether you're referring to favourite colours in clothes, shoes, car, crockery and so on. Car, I like black or silver. Shoes, I like silver, brown, red, black. Ha..If I go on,list will get too long.

Minnie, wow s$58 is real cheap. I m heading to Genting and K.L next week but have no clue where to get real good and cheap food. Anyone can fill me in?

Chris, are you going to BBP tomorrow? They have "Hello Kitty" show over at Garden Plaza around 7pm. I'm gonna drop by after I pick my girl up from Lollipop.

Preggie, I would expect more from a school like Eton. Their exorbitant prices should at least account for better teaching staff. You mummies should stay united, that's the only way to get the management to change. Having said that, sometimes it's better just to change school than to have teachers nursing grudges and we won't know what they'll do to our kids.

periwinkle
Oh I meant more for clothes lah.... who cares about crockery in this thread? Not many domesticated moms here..haha

I think I can't take mustard / yellow... my skin looks washed out.

hong
I like green too ... also influenced by chris? But not easy for find green leh.

trans
U so tam sim... I don't really like black but just that it's a practical colour to wear...

Mine: I like red loh... actually I also like deep pink but again like green, it's such an elusive colour...
I find as one grows older (ahem!), one prefers brighter colours.. haha see the aunties, oops! hope I don't end up dressing like them!!!

Oh I wanted to ask u about Takeshi's movie.. was he about to kill the gal but then he fell in love w/ her? DId the movie hv a happy ending?

Movie - thinking to watch Indiana Jones or Narnia? Hb says he wants to space out at Prive...

minnie
Wow, that's real cheap wow...

I like white too but it's like black, a practical colour.

angeline
Less 50% less 10% is not equal to less 60%... ur maths is worse than mine..hahaha

Good morning mummies.

stylobb,

At this moment, beside black & white, i like silver, gold and grey. Recently, i also bot bright yellow, red and green top each. My wardrobe now become so interesting and colourful. Hehe

Good Morning....

Stylobb
u rite...maths real bad...used to practise alot before exams....more like memory work...

Periwinkle
me too feel that changing school would be a better choice...we this kind of price there are other better good school who care...

Morning.

Stylobb,

I do hv clothes in other colours like purple, yellow etc. But I usually end up wearing my black, white & blue lor. Easier to match, no nid to tink. Hehe..

Takeshi din kill the gal cos he felt that she had not accomplish her goal in life. Its an interesting story that spans on abt 40 yrs maybe? U shld go watch lah.

I not interested in Indiana Jones leh, wanna watch SATC.

Good morning mommies!

Hi Periwinkle, Angeline,

One thing i'm grateful for is the strong parent support network we have in the school (which we formed ourselves la!).

Soon, joey will be starting swimming lessons with her classmates. One parent has volunteered to ferry abt 8 children to the pool every friday and help look after them until the other parents come and collect the kids at the pool.

2 weeks ago, another parent organised a movie cum party nite at their house. The kids had so much fun making pizzas, watching a kiddy movie and just playing and enjoying each other's coy.

All these are our kids "ECA" which has nothing to do with the school.

Hi StyloBB,

For colours, i dun mind any colours. I cannot be choosy coz it's hard to find clothes my size.. so as long as it fits, the colour does not matter.

Morning,
are we still at colors?

Black bottom is easy to match. I find green & blue very calming.

Periwinkle, There is nothing much to eat at Gentings. KL - I find good food everywhere.

good morning mummies!
at home now bcoz this morning woke up with a stomachache..

cherly
hey finally got someone got same colours as me - silver & gold! recently i was looking ard for a colourful flowery top and i finally found it last wk at forntieer.. so hapi, got 30% off somemore

periwinkle
for genting, there is a restaurant slightly down the hill called mushroom garden (loosely translated from mu gu yuan). they have mini buses picking up patrons from 1st world hotel every night. the fried fish is yummy but price not so cheap since everything is not cheap in genting. for kl, we always go jalan alor for their hawker food.
i asked ash to ask her nanny to bring her for the 1pm show. tink will be less crowded in the afternoon sessions.

Good morning mommies...

Sigh.. bad day today. Had a fight with joey this morning and i've got a serious case of pimple outbreak! I think my nose has also started to spread apart!! ARGH!

Hi Periwinkle,

Like what chris suggested, we've eaten at the mushroom farm before too... the food is not bad. You can give it a try.

Good morning mummies.

Preggie,

What happen between you and Joey? Just awhile ago, my ex-coll just called and complaint she has a bad fight with hb (she is currently 4months preggie), i told her to relax cos all these could be due to hormone changes.

Periwinkle,

I will be going to Sunway Lagoon and cameron highland on Friday, wanted to go Genting but cant get room. This morning heard from news, there is a coach come down from genting got accident.

Chris,

Yes silver & gold are my fav colour since early this year. I got gold & silver shoes and skirt but don have gold top. Another fav colour now is grey.

Hi Cherly,

Haizz... It's just one of those days that she's in a foul mood..... She's going for a P.E excursion today and she insisted on wearing this stoopid sunvisor which is too big for her.... then she complained that her sports shoes are too tight (which is utter nonsense). And becoz of her dilly dally, we only manage to leave the house at 8.30am!!

On the way to school, she gave me this mega sulk and big tears which really drove me up the wall!

I shouted at her and told her she's UTTERLY Inconsiderate and spoilt! and of coz tat made her cry even louder and made me even angrier!

Mushroom rest? okay will go check it out. Actually I haven't been to Malaysia for ages!!

Cherly, I heard the news too. Think it was raining and the coach was speeding. Went out of control and crash.

Preggie, pimple outbreak? Same here. Don't know why at this age still having pimples. I always get it on temple and chin. Nose part quite rare.

Any mummies lost, misplaced library books before? Sigh! Librarian told me I haven't return one chinese book. But I have searched the whole house just couldn't locate it. I can't even remember whether I return it. According to their records, I haven't.

Preggie,
Sometimes the kids just get on our nerves...cool down.

DJD,
I emailed High Commission of Malaysia and they replied that "Pregnancy above 6 mths won't be allowed entry to Malaysia"...now dilemma whether to go ahead or not...

Tmr gg to see my gynae to get clearance...dun wana disappoint Raine leh although my sis volunteered to bring her if I can't go but then she only scared of me so sure misbehave when with my sisters and nephews...plus my colls said Genting very crowded during school holidays...

Perwinkle,
I lost a library book b4 and just have to go library to pay up for the cost of the book plus admin fees...

good morning mummies!
for mummies gg to msia, the white card issue seems not solved yet. better get one ready, just in case.

cherly
i bot silver and gold tops from bysi recently hehe.. oso fond of silver and gold accessories.

preggie
cool down.. dun make jamie worry hehe

Good morning all mummies
Haven't been into the forum for quite a while and this thread is picking up speed....

I am on recovery from cough but the bad thing is that Joel kenna the virus from me... sigh...

Any mummies intent to bring their kiddos to the Barney show or the High school musical ice tour show?

hong
Me too also a lazy mummy.. didn't give Joel any stuff to do during holidays.. I think Joel is enjoying it also... guess I better get him to work on some assessment. I find Joel tends to play a lot and don't really like to study. He can't remember simple words that was taught in school like 'in' and 'put'.

Periwinkle
I tried mushroom farm restaurant before also.. food not bad and consider slightly cheaper than eating at the rest. in genting itself. But during holidays can get very crowded, better to go slightly earlier during lunch and dinner hours.

stylobb
In general, my 2 favourite colours is blue (any shades) and red/pink (darker shades).

Just went back to malaysia last sat...

Dont need to fill up the white cards still..

M2B,
Better dont take the risk, malaysia custom sometime wont want to see the letter...

M2B
Last year when my elder sister want to visit us in singapore when she was preggie, custom dont allow her to come in lor...

My sister got letter from gynae also but no used cos the official said if accident happened, who want to bear the responsible?

That time my sister only 7-8 months nia..

So the decision still up to you...

But no easy for preggie who travel long journey, When i pregnant that time went back to my hometown. 3 hours journey by car already cannot tahan cos sit too long and the backache like killing me ...no joke at all.

I will be on leave starting tmr and will be going back to my grandma place at msia for a week.

Jas,
May be we find one weekend and make the two kids sit down and do work together. hahahaha..
Janelle will mixed up 'a' and 'the', very funny when she try to recall them when she read aloud to me.

Didnt know Msia is so strict abt preggie visiting the country.

preggie
Wah, joey so grumpy today ah... if jesse complains too much, I give him an earful.
Once he complained about having to walk home instead of mil fetching us back, I told him he shud be tkful he has strong legs to walk.

m2b
I don't think you shud go... scully kena turned away then how... and don't know if crowded or not...

cherly/chris
Silver or gold? By gold, I guess u mean burnished gold, not the shiny gold bah..

jas
U sick ah? Beta rest. Nowadays not easy to recover w/in a day.... my hb was sick for a week...

Mummies (chris? cherly?)
MyPaper today reported on Citibank's service to customers who want to shop online.
Go check out this link!
http://www.borderlinx.com/SG_index.html