Preggie Friends Since 2003

Hi StyloBB,

Saw your photos in Facebook. Wow.. the food looks so good. What's the situation like in Japan now? We are tempted to go to Hokkaido again this decemeber to ski but KB is worried that we may come back and "glow in the dark" because of the radiation. haiz....

I want to convince him that Japan is safe.

Hi Hong,

Initially i thought SZ is Suzhou.

Hi M2B,

I've not been to Thailand for a long time. It must have changed alot. Food there nice?

chris/m2b/preggie
This is one place that I miss after returning.
I did not encounter any bad service, everything was so pleasant.

Situation is the same leh, ppl get on with life.
Got radiation in Tokyo??
Summer sale is now on. Gap/Muji - some stuff are 50-70%. Muji carries kids' tees/clothings. Went to H&M too - but the outlet that I went to only had ladies/men's stuff.
Just so many shopping malls and outlets.

A lot of kawai things for gals leh...
Boys - toy cars, remote control vehicles.

I have a better idea of the train system now, and it's really easy.

Apparently it's quieter now cos less tourists but everyday it's still crowded everywhere (mostly locals though) especially at the basement food and sweets/cakes sections.

They cut down on usage of electricity everywhere and I respect them for being abiding.
Electricity at airports, hotels trains, elevators, escalators are not at 100%.

Preggie - maybe not to Hokkaido bah... that's quite near to the area, right.

Now I know why you lug back a lot of things! Many nice things to see/buy...

I ate a lot of good food, thanks to my ex-boss.

m2b - I really had a great time w/o kids...aha... anyway it's too hot for kids in summer...
I had to wear a hat and carry an umbrella..

chris - there is a factory outlet reachable by train. Quite an interesting place to check out. They have Coach, Agnes B, Kate Spade - must check the prices as not super cheap.

m2b
Thinking of going BKK too... but airfare has gone up quite a bit on the budget/no-frills airlines.

Ai, I should hv gone for a massage when I was in BKK the last time...

stylo
ya jpn is a nice place to go over and over again. nice scenery, nice food, nice service, nice shopping! only not nice is things ex and language barrier...
used to like uniqlo, but now so common not interested already
h&m coming spore soon! sep?
i bot prada at hokkaido factory outlet b4.. consider cheaper.

Preggie,
BKK is nice to shop coz of the currency exchange...massage is dirt cheap too! Yes, the food is nice too...we had tom yum almost everyday! I miss the food and massages!

Stylobb,
W/o kids, dun have to settle them when reached back to hotel lor...can just shower & relax! LOL

Yap, airfare to BKK is not cheap...some hotels are still cheap though...yes yes, massage is a must-do in BKK coz very cheap...we went for an hour foot massage on the last day only S$7...and a 1.5hr full body massage is S$40+...skills and services are really good!

chris
Yes, their yen is still so strong....
Hmmm... I never bot anything from Uniqlo except for umbrellas (small ones).
I only bot a Cath Kidston tee in Tokyo cos the design is nice.

H&M - at Orchard Building, right?

In Tokyo, at any time of the day, ppl are at the shopping malls.. they don't need to work?

Btw KL now has Uniqlo and Sephora... I doubt prices are cheaper though...

m2b
W/o kids... yeah man, prob. that's why I sleep so well too..haha

Any recommendations for cheap BKK hotels?
Good to compare notes...

stylo
my mum recently went uniqlo in kl. she say cheaper in kl for same item compared to sin.
not only tokyo, spore oso a lot of pple in malls haha..
i saw the cath kidson tee in spore too, u into floral? hehe
bkk hotel - i usually stay novotel siam sq.. ard sgd200 per night. very convenient location

Hi Chris,

H&M is my fav! Hopefully they will have nice kids clothes too.

Hi StyloBB,

The last trip to Japan, KB bought a lot of stuff from uniqlo. He bought mainly heat-tech clothes for himself and the kids. Their winter jackets are also inexpensive, lightweight and nice.

Last time they use to have hush hush.. now no more?

preggie
i saw hushush during my last trip there. but not so nice already..
i have no chance to walk into a h&m store b4 lei.. pf bot some back from his uk trip but i hiam too little liao, shd buy more!

chris
Uniqlo - so it's cheaper... hmm... I didn't know.
I think they discontinued kids' clothes here but they are still available in Tokyo.

Hb bot pants/sweater from Shanghai previously but they're cheaper in SIN! I guess things are gnrly exp in Shanghai.

Cath Kidston - saw a lot of imitations at the Toa Payoh shops since so easily replicated! haha.
My tee is not floral though...hehe
Asked my coll to check if she can get frm UK. Not really crazy but I like the clasped purses.
I bot a double clasped purse from Topshop KL and it is really useful.

Kose/Shiseido face masks are really cheap in Japan.

H&M - pf bot kids' clothes?

preggie
Think it's worth it if the clothes are in the season that you want. Now it's summer sale.. mostly bermudas, and tops, that sort of range.

I didn't see hush hush, but muji has basic range of kids' clothes...soft/nice material... The biggest Muji at Yurakucho station is interesting...
At the basement of Daimaru, after the food/sweets section, there are many cute shops -- and other shops like Tamiya, Plarail.

Now read that more radiation found in their stuff .. I really hope no harm goes to them... the country's really nice.

Good Morning Mommies!

Stylobb,
We stayed in Baiyoke Sky this time but my previous trips all stayed in Novotel Siam Square too...much more convenient location I feel...I think you can check our agoda.com on reviews about hotels in BKK...some are really cheap but may be out of the way...for me, I dun really like Baiyoke Sky location lor although it is cheap...

Chris,
Hi5! We also always stay at Novotel Siam Sq coz of its great location!

good morning mummies!

stylo
i tink cheaper in msia bcoz of weak RM$
i like to buy their discounted kidswear in jpn for homewear, very comfy. i oso bot uniqlo from beijing, cheaper when there is a sale.
h&m - ya kids clothes, so cheap lei. scolded him for not buying more...

m2b
i stayed baijoke sky once.. dun like that area, quite 'luan' downstairs where the wholesale centres are.

m2b/chris
I don't like the Baiyoke area either...I rmbr some of the t-shirts they sell has paint smell.
I think Platinum Wholesale centre is better.

With kids, we try to take a better grade hotel like Westin, Metropolitan. Was at Amari, Arnoma, Le Meridien before. Best if near to the trains stop otherwise need to walk a lot. My gf says the Pathumwan Princess Hotel is good, near to MBK.
Another recommendation is the Somerset Lakepoint apartments. (Btw I stayed at the Somerset apartment with my gfs in KL, it was very spacious. If not fussy, it's ok for the price although one needs to walk to reach Lot 10 area.)

chris
Think we wl drive in to KL in Sep.

I bot some nice tees (Body Glove) at the japan factory outlet.

Talking about kids' clothes, just went to check jesse's stuff and found ten nice tees which he shud be wearing now, otherwise cannot fit liao!
And just gave away the gals' Chateau dresses to a gf.

I bot quite a number of swimming costumes for them as they are going for swimming twice a week.

Btw have u checked out www.rakuten.com before?

hong/mummies
You went Sunway Lagoon before, right? How is it?
I saw the place when I was shopping there - looks v big.
I understand there are different entry fees for different places - will just going to the water area be enuf?

trans
I saw CY/ur mom stime back - he is very tall!!

Chris & Stylobb,
I just find that Baiyoke Sky is not near the shopping belt thus need to waste time to walk to train station and change trains somemore...the rooms were big though...it is within walking distance to the Platinum Fashion Mall...

Basically BKK is a nice place to visit for food and massages but not really suitable for kids lor...

Stylobb,
We went Sunway Lagoon in June 2010...it is a big theme park with a big shopping mall...kids love it!

Stylobb,

I went Sunway Lagoon with my cousins last Dec and we didnt like the waterpark. I feel its old and cleanliness is questionable when people go into the water fully clothed. Plus they walk around the waterpark area barefooted and walk right into the water pools after.... I had to remind Josh not to let water get into his mouth cos I think its quite gross. The bigger pool is a sand-based pool which makes it worse. The shopping centre is quite nice though.

Wow, all your 3 kids go swimming twice a week?

M2B,

I stayed at Baiyoke area before too but found it very "za", too messy for my liking. I like Arnoma though.

Chris,

You never been to H&M in HK before? During their summer sale, its really cheap. Josh has a pair of pyjs that I got for $10 and after 1yr, it still maintains its shape and material still soft and comfy.

m2b
BKK - yes, more suitable for adults.

minnie
... I agree about the 'za' part for Baiyoke.

Yes, they swim twice a week.. now they are v brown...

Too bad I didn't see any kids wear at H&M in Tokyo... but nvm lah, I think as they grow older, they don't need too many home clothes since they are perpetually in uniform...keke.. it's us mummies who like to buy....!

Sunway Lagoon OIC. (Thanks, m2b, for the feedback too.) I guess that's the thing re these sorta of places, unless they upkeep/upgrade, they will look dated in no time...
The shopping mall is nice! Has a good mix of shops and pretty big... good for me...!!

good morning mummies!

stylo
i just packed ash clothes too.. plus mine + shoes.. hehe.. time for new ones!
we planning to drive to malacca in sep too. got a few sch hols in aug/sep.. can go during long weekend.
swimming - i usually buy arena
rakuten - sounds familiar, but never go c...
i stay patuwam princess b4.. just next to mbk, but i still prefer novotel, bcoz can walk to both mbk and wtc..

minnie
i have not been to hk for 10yrs+ haha.. planning to go this dec bcoz at the moment not planning to go jpn haha.. jpn is still my top choice

m2b
i brot ash to bkk when she was 2 yrs old hehe.. still ok la. most of the time shopping & eating, but there was a nice aquariam at siam paragon, not sure if still ard..

Stylo,

We went to Sunway Lagoon in June this year. I must say it is a really fun place to visit. We took the 3 parks package where the kids get to go for rides, watched animals and water play.

I find the water quite clean (visually clean). Rides are fun and exciting. Janelle took a few rides that I dun think I will want to take. Jan, Jul and I took the log ride that came right down and they wanted many more rounds but we have to proceed on cos no time and Q was long.

Finding 1 day is really not enough accessing to the park per day is not cheap as well.

I am quite impress with the animals and felt sorry for the tiger cos it was not really a good location to house him.

Hotel and Shopping - clean, good services from the hotel. Shopping mall is connected and many restuarant, shopping centre (parkson, metro, Giant etc)

We managed to get Arena rushguard for Law and a swimsuit for myself at a fraction of the price we see in Spore.

One thing to take note is you have to pack your own towel. We didnt know and have to buy a towel to dry ourselves before we went back to hotel for shower.

Is H&M in spore? I love their clothes. Regret not getting more when I was in France.

Halo Mommies!

Minnie,
Frankly, I dun quite like Baiyoke Sky too...like Chris, I prefer Novotel Siam Square...

Chris,
We brgt Raine to BKK when she is 3yo too...brgt her to Dreamworld Theme Park...other than that, not much for the kids as it is a lot of walking

We are gg HK this Dec too...already book the tics and hotel...gg for 6D/5N in Dec...

Hong,
I agree the shopping mall at Sunway Lagoon is really good!

Hi Mommies.

Chris/M2B,

I am also bringing Josh to HKG in Dec! When are your travelling dates? I am leaving on 22 Dec but only booked air tics but not the hotel yet. Which hotel did you book? Maybe we may bump into each other there! Haha.

m2b
so early book liao! i still waiting for sep natas to book haha.. which agent u book with? how much?

minnie
we planning to go on 24/12 for 6-7 days.

Minnie & Chris,
We are gg on 12 Dec for 6D/5N...book tics liao and tentatively book hotel with Butterfly on Prat...spending 2 nites at Hollywood Hotel though

good morning mummies!

m2b/minnie
just booked my tickets to hk on 24/12! minnie, might bump into you since we eyeing to book same hotel

Chris,
You gg HKG for Xmas ya?

Heard from my close coll & think is it Hong who said how crowded it is in Dec so we decided to avoid Xmas period...but now oso worried that mid Dec, it's gg to be crowded too lor...

Hi M2B, Chris, Gen,

Hongkong is my favorite holiday destination!

Hi M2B,

I think HKG is perpetually crowded. Now with the influx of mainland chinese tourists, it's gonna just get more crowded.

Disneyland should be ok la... coz apparently, the PRCs prefer ocean park to disneyland ;)

good morning mummies!

m2b
not intended to be xmas on purpose but since my co shutdown during xmas/new yr, dun waste hehe

preggie/m2b
i heard prc always cutting q in disney

Hold the kids tight and near you. As there are many kids missing in Disneyland.

I went HK twice, still it is not a place I feel like visiting. Not the food, not the pple, not the shopping.

I realised the HKians can distinguish between Chinese not from PRC. Most of the eateries attendants treated us very well. They knew we couldnt speak good cantonese and they approached us with broken mandarin.

Helping us to find place, trying to understand what we want while ordering our food. It was not as bad as my mum thot.

I'm not use to the fast pace living, the crampy building. Instead of relaxing, I am feeling more stress up.

The only time I feel I was in HK was when I went UP the mountain to see the buddha.

Even the Wong Dai Xian Temple was commercialise. It was not like what we see in the long long time photos where pple will knead infront of the temple to pray with alot of joss stick burning.

We queue to enter the temple, was ORDERED to take X number of joss sticks and not more. Follow a sequence to pray.

I only love the Nov/Dec weather, there was a huge drop last yr but we all enjoyed the coldness. We was lucky, brot my mum and sis's family to the lady street and next day it was burned down. hahaha....

If possible, shld dropby shengzheng and visit Wonder of the world. We didnt have time for that.

Good Morning Mommies!

Chris,
Ya, your coy got shutdown so better dun waste that duration

Hong,
We are planning to hop over to Macau...shall see how...diff to explore with 2 kids ard...

good morning mummies!

m2b
shutdown deduct leave one.. definitely cannot waste! hehe
i shd be gg 1 day trip to macau too. think more than 10yrs i havent visited hk!

Chris,
OIC, deduct leave ya then really cannot waste man!
Hi 5! Initially we though of staying a day in Macau but hb says no point, just go there see see can liao...we went to HK in 2009 but 4D/3N too short lor...

presidential election cfm on 27 aug so one more day leave! yeah!

m2b
pf dun wan to stay there bcoz have to move luggage very mafan..
we going 7 days this time so hope to see more stuff yet have a more relaxed itinerary... imptly time to shop too! hehe

Macau is packed with tourist too. Try to go as early as possible. All the casino hotels are so colorful and posh with gold deco.

Good Morning Mommies,

Happy National Day in advance!

I guess all the kids should be having celebrations this morning and looking forward to their 2 days break.

Chris,

So maybe we won't bump into each other leowz since staying in different hotels? Heh. Is it confirmed that Aug 27 is a PH?

good morning mummies!

minnie
ya ash sch until 11am today..
i tink shd b lei.. my HR already announced will credit leave...

chris/m2b/preggie/hong/minnie
As what chris says, it's crowded everywhere!!!
Influx of ppl into countries... I also wish for a less crowded place....it's worse when ppl are not civil-minded, cut queues, talk loudly...etc etc..

chris
Decided to drive to KL next week instead of Sep becos of primary school shut-dowm...beta still, as it's still mega-sale period... hehe...

hong
I hv seen shenzhen's wonder of the world years back... not sure if they maintain the place well..?? keke

trans
Yes, just bumped into them again... was telling ur mom that CY is v tall!

Hi Stylobb,

I tink this boy of mine is on a growth spurt. He's been eating a lot of and has become a milk monster. He seemed to have grown a lot since the Jun sch hols.

stylo
ur scenario is very familiar.. and spore is worse hit.. looks like we are becoming minority soon...
ya next thu & fri sch close.. but i no leave.. cant go anywhere

minnie
18-19 aug sch close for psle oral.

trans/minnie
ash is catching up on my mum soon haha.. she is at my mum's shoulder already.. but my mum is short la hehe
ash put on weight during jun hols too.. we say her face looks like pancake haha.. but now she lost weight again after sch opens.. heng ah.. if not her face can upgrade to chiffon cake liao haha

On leave today and just wasting the day away at home wz CY.

Minnie/Chris,

One day CY came and told me very excitedly that he has reached my sis' ear. I turned around and told him that my sis is very short lor. Hahaha!

He won't be taller than me so soon lah, maybe in higher pri?

Halo Mommies!

Trans,
Was on leave ydy too and spent whole day revising with Raine coz of all the tests that are coming up

Stylobb & Chris,
Ya, influx of PRCs and indians into Spore...just a train ride and you will see many!

Height - Hb's cousin commented that Raine is tall, said she looks like P5/6?! Got so kuazhang meh??!!

I'm another one who took a day off from work yesterday.

Woke up at 10.30am coz i was so tired from the party the night before.

Spent the day baking and cooking. The results - I think i'm not cut out to be a housewife! hahahaa!

StyloBB, Chris, M2B,

On the topic of foreign talents, during the NDP, there was a scene of the merlion park where people gathered to watch fireworks. You would have thought the merlion was in INDIA!!!

I have no issues with having foreign talents in Singapore.. BUT not at this alarming rate.

I'm beginning to feel like my home is not really my home anymore

halo mummies!

trans
ok la.. u not too short.. shd be harder for cy to catchup hehe

preggie
i have the same feeling as u too.. seems like sporeans are the minority nowadays...

I didn't take leave.. rather busy.

minnie
Yes, 18/19 Aug - no school...

Hopefully no jam at the immigration...

chris/preggie
Now we gotta siam them, give way to them!! sigh....
The other day I glared at this man cos he kept on talking and talking on his hp in the MRT.. u know how things go, no signal after a while but he kept on going 'hello?' 'hello?'

Some of them talk so loudly in the trains...!

Actually have experienced many times of such behaviour.. I just wish ppl wl be more considerate...

trans
Think CY shot up vertically...cos still lean ..keke.

Hello Mommies

Chris, Stylo, Preggie,

I was at Jurong East Swimming Complex on Tuesday and I thought I was in Little India! Even Josh commented so loudly when he was playing at a pool: Welcome to Mumbai, Mommy! :p So many Indians around!!! Aiyoh... And some even lay down to sun-tan and I seriously wonder why do they need to sun-tan when they are already so dark? Note: I am not racist but I feel there is too many of them around. So easy to work and stay in Singapore till Singaporeans have no place to call home anymore.

Good Morning Mommies!

Preggie, Stylobb, Chris & Minnie,
I share your sentiments! Whenever my coll and I took train home, we will be squeeze by PRCs and Indians, thats why we have so many complaints

National day, my coy had an event at MBS and we got in the Milo van...guess who are q-ing for the free drinks & gifts?! The PRCS and Indians too!!!

on another hand, they are contributing to our nation by taking up all those low end jobs that we singaporean do not want to take up.

construction worker - too tough, too tiring, too energy exhausted.

cleaners - too dirty, long hrs

bus drivers - long hours, cannot rest on public holiday.

without them, we don't have the nice houses to stay in, clean place to eat, transportation could be worst.

i also feel that there are too many foreign talents and their behaviours are terrible but we have to be thankful to them too.

just some thots...

Cla
2 entirely matter altogether.

Jobs vs Behaviour
It does not mean that by taking up these jobs, such behaviour is condoned. It's no wonder more S'poreans feel like foreigners. The government is now stepping up the qualifications needed by foreigners to come here, right? (We certainly do not need more /dubious looking/ foot massage parlours....)
Parents are complaining they are deprived of school places in schools.

Just like you go to a friend's house for makan or stay, you do not mess up the friend's place or take over her place. You would behave properly.

Gnrlly we are nice to the foreigners around us. But can't help feeling irritated by those who talk loudly or behave as if they own this place...

minnie
Suntanning...er....hehe..... hope those where were swimming didn't wear their day clothes...