Pine Close Mummies

mesh, my boy was given steriod abt few months ago due to persistent cough and flu. Steriod (prednisolone) is a very strong medication for kids and adults. Got lots of side effect too. My boy recovered in 3 days time.

Wow topic on GP/PD...which clinic is Petal referring to ah? There are 2 near 7-11, unless it's the one extremely nearer to 7-11.

My experience with Healthwise is ok and she is much more friendlier than the other one near 7-11

mesh & Jen,

What happen? your boys have allergic or what? From what I know from my pd, steriod is the last thing a pd will give.

mesh & petal,

I agree with you that the GPs in our area don't have very good knowledge. I do have bad experiences also that's why I prefer to spend abit more money to see a pd instead. Come to think abt it that's the reason why they are a GPs & not the specialist right.

GP vs PD. My hubby feels that our kids shld go for PD. Since we found a PD that is more affordable but slightly further away. He dun mind driving all the way to Pasir Ris Elias Mall to see the PD. Even my PIL trusted the PD very much cos he did a thorough check and only give wat the kids shld have.

For the GP at our neighbourhood, unless my PD is away for holiday and the kids could wait then we will visit the GP here. However my hubby is quite secptical abt the GP so we end up see the GP but only take the medicine for a few times and rush back to our PD to reconsult him again.

U know some of the clinic will give those white bottle which mean they rebottle the medicine? We dun like it cos we dun know the content like how many mg etc and there is only dr feeding instruction but no manufacturer instructions.

Petals,

I just wrote something for Cat at the other thread on Chen Li Kindy. Open house is usually end of the year but it is not really an open house to me leh. More like seeing the environment and by then it is holiday, no kids having lessons at all.

Fees: Per term of 10 weeks
Pre-nursery: $550*
Nursery: $450*

Kindergarten 1 and 2: $450*
*Not inclusive of uniforms, books and stationery. U can pay by baby bonus.

At Pre-nursery
the kids learns
Phonics from Letterland
Music and movement
Chinese
Art & Craft
Fun and Play
Mathematic.

It is the same for Nursery this year but the teacher is teaching them chinese strokes, Rythms, simple spelling, numbers to words like 1 = one, etc. They have more writing to do but no homework as in now. For nursery class, the teacher will ask each kid to talk on a topic to rise their confidence.

The kids do morning praying, Nusery - K2 will assembly upstair for National Song. There will be tea-break after 1hr - 1.5hr then follow by outdoor play at the playground. Sometime they will play bicycle, water play, sand play etc. If weather dun permits they will do something indoor but I dun know wat activities.

Food - to me is very good and healthy. Monday they will give biscuit or bread to the kids cos nothing to get from the market. Other days will be fish ball noodles, fried rice, porriages, fried bee hoon etc etc.

Friday - kid only need to wear the school tee & pants.

They have a field trip end of each terms.

The teachers are very friendly and caring.

Here is their website. http://www.chenli.edu.sg/program.html

gen, my boy was down with cough and flu for quite a while. GP doesnt really helped him. My mil brought him to the PD at toa payoh and given him steriod lor, since he have cough on and off for almost 3 weeks. I think partly also because he just started attending 'duo duo' classes too.

Petals,

I agreed with you 101%. But it seems the clinic is also always crowded....

My hb said won't go the next time unless all other clinics closed down at our area.

I also dare not see the one near guardian. Everything also see, so quite skeptical about their skill..

Any reasonably priced PDs to recommend near our area??

Any one realised that ever since the clinics have to breakdown doc charges and medicine cost, the fees went down??

Hong,
thanks for the info on Chen Li. Will try and find time to pop by the kindy to take a look. Do u know what will be the best time to visit the place?

Ginger,
the GP I went last wk was still billing a lump sum - no breakdown at all. I did my own maths and figured that she charged me abt $20 for the 2 small bottles of cough and flu syrup which I don't think is cheap - and it's those rebottled mixture which most GPs prescribe.

So far, I've visited 2 GPs around our area.
The one opp the wet market (corner) Chong's Clinic and 1 along the guardian (cannot rem the name sumthing women and children clinic).

Chong's clinic is not bad and opens @8am. I find his charges reasonable and can give gd advise. He also willing to spend time listening to u. His clinic a bit old and nicely renovated.
The other clinic is expensive but very nice deco.
I think there's 2 docs, 1 lady and 1 man. Both quite young. I've seen both & consultation is short.

I also want to find out any good and reasonable PDs around our area.

Petals,

You mean the GP at our side? Healthwise's bill is breakdown into 2 segments liao. Dr fee and medicine fee. Her medicine is quite cheap though. Not sure about the rest.

Ginger,
yes, it's the GP next to 7-11 - actually I can't remember the name of the clinic as well. there's no bill breakdown.

Yen,
is the doc at Chong's clinic quite senior? Somehow the impression I get from the exterior of the clinic is that the doc shd be quite old. but I believe he shd be quite good cos the clinic is usually crowded too so I guess he should be quite established in this estate.

Petals, the clinic beside 7-11 is Spring clinic. The dr is Michael right.

My hubby went Chong clinic cos was his previous coy dr but he said he was not detailed enough.

Yen,
so the result is no gd? U still going to amino test? Dun worry so much, most of the time is false alarm but it is good to check to ensure.
I already have 4 friends who have the same case as u. triple test result no good, one even went thru OSCAR test. Two didnt take the amino test cos they will want the kids no matter wat happen to the kids.

1 went thru it just to double confirmed and bb is ok.

the other one is my sister frd, her decision is she wun want the bb if she has DS. Reason that she is already near 40, and she fear that no one will take care of the kid when she passed away. That is really a personally choice.

BTW, congrats that u having a boy.

Petals,
they are having school holiday now. Why dun u drop the school an email to see if they allow u to drop by during the school time. May be they will allow u to visit them during the school holiday but u wun be able to view how the teacher teaches the kids.

My feel is - they dun usually allow parents to just walk in and view cos it will be quite distracting to the kids.

There is one mummy who send her son to NTUC childcare. MaY i know which mummy?

Hong,
no, not spring clinic. It's northeast, a lady doc, quite young. ok, will call or drop chen li an email before going down. I'm quite busy lately, can't take leave so I can only probably go down in July when the new term has started.

Ginger,
ah... sorry I just cannot recall.
Urs is a boy right! Did u always send ur boy to CC with ur hubby ah? U drive to work or take bus?

Petals,
Oh. Beside 7-11 is Spring. The one beside the guardian ah. I visited the clinic before but everytime i go is a diff doctors. I will only visit the clinics if my coy doctor is not ard or I really have to see a doctor at late hrs.

July shld be a good timing. U planning to enrol ur kid to Nursery for Pre-nursery next year? I will be enrolling my son for pre-nursery next yr althot he is only 2.5yo.

mesh,
u ask me abt the bday celebration. The kids 1st bday is always at our place. We didnt rent any chalet etc cos I find it troublesome to transport the kids barang barang. Home is better cos the kid can put to sleep anytime if they are tired. Furthermore, I dun have alot of guests.
However, there is alot of cleanup to do after that, which i dun really mind.

Jen,
The reason why I ask you if your son have allergic or not is becos, my girls have it. Did your doc ask you to do a skin prick test or blood test to determine the root problem?

Hong,
Chen Li kindergarten sound quite good to me. But it's a long distance to walk. Not to mention to walk to & fro under the hot sun or heavy rain.

Petals,
I remember North East charge the most expensive bill in our area. I think they charge more for medicine if I didn't remember wrongly.

gen, my boy is always down with flu. Think it's allergic. Where did you take the skin prick test or blood test? How much will that be?

As for childcare, have u consider PAP? It's just next blk of you!

hong, thanks for sharing on your kids' first bday.... we are expecting 100 pax, so i doubt we want to open up our place.... moreover i think of the cleanup, i faintz. hehe

i called up indoor stadium.... can consider :) very happy.
also considering the restaurants at leisure park/around indoor stadium

hmmm..gen, my kids no allergies.... just cough and flu for past 2 weeks... lots of phlegm..... feel so sorry for them when i hear them cough and couldn't help them expel the phlegm... they always cough so hard that they throw up all their milk or food. very sim tia.

my hb and i find choong's clinic not very professional.. once my hb had flu and he wanted to explain how he feel and inform dr he has gastric, the dr cut him short and told him the prescription without listening....

thanks jen for the recommendation for pattisier.... the name itself sounds nice... i'm sure the cakes must be yummy.... unfortunately, i find them too ex for me ..... hehe.... cheapo me. i heard good reviews for ecreative. yummy and not that ex. btw anyone need to order cake? a fellow mummy organising a bulk order with ecreative.... i'm joining them... the more orders we have the more discount we get :p

pm me for details if u interested.

Hong,

Yup, mine a boy, same age as Jen's son but younger by months.

He's attending NTUC now and actually we wanted to transfer him to PAP next year but he didnt want. He's very happy at school now.

Mesh,

Last time i heard you can rent a place at CC but not sure if they allow now. I read from other thread that one mummy actually booked the outdoor hall (the hall linked to our HDB flats)from town council.

Hong,
ok, so it's beside Guardian... haha...I'm very blur.... our boys are of the same age so he'll also be in pre-nursery if he joins Chen Li next yr. He just turned 2 in April and I hoping to let him join some playgroup in 2009. So if he joins Chen Li, our boys will probably be classmates.

Mesh,
I think Ginger is referring to the multipurpose hall near Blk 3. Yes, u can rent that from the town council - but no aircon.

I dun think Spring is that bad. My whole family has been seeing him ever since he started here. Sometimes, he do some upgrades by taking courses & seminars at SGH, so he's probbaly the most updated Dr in our area.

mesh,
I think I met u at the Spring.

Why not consider booking a chatlet at Changi? Fairy Point Chatlet 7 is huge to accomodate your guests.

Ginger,
no, it's not Spring. it's the one next to Guardian. the doc didn't give me wrong med, but I think that the dosage was rather high for my 2 y.o and she didn't take my child's weigh or double check his age b4 prescribing the medication. sorry if I wasn't clear.

hong,
Thanks, my pil was happy to know is a boy. I've not got the blood test results yet and I've heard most of the time, the results are no good so I dun worry too much. I think I will proceed to amino test if the results is bad but I not >35 yrs old so. At the same time waiting to do detailed scan for further check. The results should come in another week's time or few days. Anyway, the nurse mentioned if there's no news mean good news

Petals,
There are 2 Dr Chong's in the clinic. I believe they are in 40s. They split into 2 shifts, think 1 morning and 1 afternoon. Then the evening sessions, they also take turns. So far, I only see the morning Dr Chong (younger 1). His charges are cheap $19 include consultation and 3 medicine. Used to be $18, then increase to $19. I think he should be around the estate for quite some time and they could be staying nearby. Once I saw him walking from the bridge to his clinic and his mum did marketing @ the mkt.

Which clinics are good? I've no idea as I've only seen 2 doctors so far and then stick to Chong's clinic.

Oh...I never tried the Northeast clinic before only Spring and Healthwise.

We prefer Healthwise as we have been seeing her since we were staying at Dakota.

Jen,

I got it done at Paediatric Centre in TMC. The no is 62595913 or 62563291. Any Doc there can do a skin prick test. I feel that the charges there is very expensive and the medicine come in the refill bottle type. & now my kids just switch to Dr. Terene Tan in Mt. Alvernia. He is a nice doc. He will take the effort to call you bk personally to answer your question but the clinic do not have skin prick kit.

Cat,
u said the infant below 3mth cannot take paracetemol. I remember My pd ask me to give it to my boy when he is 3mth+ but in a very low dosage. I'm wondering where you get the info?

cat_tail.... i remember now.... a little girl with a baby brother at home??? haha.....no wonder found u familiar!!!! aiya... u shd hv told me. your gal v cute leh.... very drama..... act act when the clinic attendant spoke to her..... next time must call me hor....

if i book the hall at blk 3, i will invite all the neighbours i know too... haha... then it'd be more than 100 pax. but hor... do u all think its really ok? i mean usu they book the hall for funeral.... like not v auspicious leh..... although i should not think in this way... we did consider this option in the beginning. it'd save us a lot of money.

We just saw Dr Vasanti at kinder clinic parkway.... total bill for 2 boys plus medicine and nebuliser.... $512. faintz. i think i'd try to find a gd pd at kkh instead.... the one we were using since they were born only sees patients on fri.. so very inconvenient. i'd ask her for advice on this.

Mesh,
if u can travel all the way to KKH, why dun u try the one I go? It is at Pasir Ris Elias Mall and it open at nite but not afternoon.

Yen,
Dun worry may be the result is not as bad as u think.

Mesh, for me i wont hold the party there lar wat u mentioned too..where do u bring yr kids for walks? normally i fetch son ard 6.40...still can meet up?

Healthwise nt so good for baby? I jus bring my son there for rashes leh, wonder the cream she use ok anot...seems like Michael is better choice for babies?

The choong clinic ar...go in chop chop, 1 min come out liao...dnt give much explainations too.
The am doc normally drops his mum at clinic then park his car at the bus stop carpark and then he walk over, notice him doin this alot times liao
If nt wrong 1 more clinic at the bakery shop there....anyone been there? any comments?

gen, thanks for your info!

I alway walk to the playground behind blk 11 on sat and sun around 6/7pm. Think too late to meet both of u.

Vonn,
the Cassia clinic if I am not wrong.
Cannot rbr the dr name but i find him not bad. I see him sometime if I am too lazy to travel to geylang to see my coy dr. He is quite patience and willing to listen and do explaination. Fee wise, is at the normal range.

gen,

usually ard $30 for simple illness like coughing etc but that also depend on the medicine he prescribe.

Of course there are time we pay like $80 when we get 3-4 bottles of medicine. Last time his consultation is ard $10 - 15. I think he have raise his fee to $20.

However, compare with other PD, he is still cheaper. He was from NUH, and have come out to open a clinic.

He will answer any question u ask althot sometime he will "scold" us for over-reacting. hahaha....

I requested for him to be my son PD when I delivered my son in 2006.

my kids born at kkh and as they were staying in scn for a while.. .we managed to get them downgraded to subsidise class. onyl my elder boy who discharged earlier still in pte class.

nebuliser rental was charged at $10 per day.... the medicines to be used with the nebuslier over the 4 days comes to about $100 i think....

oh tell u gals something funny..... my fil went with me to teh clinic as hb had to work.. .every staff at the clinic incl dr called him the daddy.... i was so embarassed and plucked up courage to correct them ...

hong your pd rates are v affordable.. .i'm interested to check him out... .can u pm me his name and clinic and address? thanks,

gen,
U already mentioned your infant is above 3 mth, so it's alright for him to take a very low dosage.
Anyway, I got the info from hospital.

mesh,
Yup, yup, that's me!! So sorry that I din call u out cos I am not very sure whether it's you.. heehee..
Haiz... my gal is forever a drama queen... She can never let me sit down there in peace.

cat,
My boy was only a few days over 3 mths & furthermore I gave birth to him when he was in 31 wks in my tummy. By right, he's chonological age is a new born. This is something new that I learn. Thanks for sharing.

Hong,
That's very cheap. Would you mind to share with us his contact & address. I think it's worth the travel time.

gen,
No prob. I used to work in SGH so I am lucky to get a little knowledge from the medical staff. Anyway, I have just switch my career & doing my home management. :p

mesh,
Nice meeting u at the playground.

Hope u can find yor lost items soon.

cat_tail, yea, its nice meeting u at the playground. i usu sit at the badminton court next to blk 11 when i go for walks in teh evenings.

luckily, last nite, ard 10, i received a call that my pouch which contains my wallet and hp was found and returned to the police post..... so phew.... yes, it will be reunited with its owner soon. haha....

so brave of u to switch job... i'm very keen to switch too but scared i'd lose my m... but on the other hand,... feel a pain when my kids cry for my helpers instead. torn between the 2 options......

the clinic info.
Pasir Ris Baby & Child Clinic
Blk 625, Elias Road, #02-322, Elias Mall, Singapore 510625
Ph : 6581 0032 ; Fax : 6582 2219

Dr Sim.
He opens from 0830 - 1230, close in the noon.
opens at 1530 - 2100 on weekdays.
0830 - 1230 on Sat
Close on Sunday.

He dun take phone reservation so just go early to register.

mesh,
I used to walk around the Blks too in the evening with my daughter.
Who noes we may bump each other again.
Well, I am not brave lah. Just that I really got no choice since noone helps me to jagar my kids. Oh yah, I saw 2 helpers with u rite? So far so gd?

thanks hong!!! just went for follow up with dr vas again. $200+.... she was nice,.... let me use nebuliser for free for 5 more days.... and charge my gal follow up rate even thou she's seeing her first time today.

found out my gal actually have reflux!!! all these months..... i have asked my pd at kkh b4, she said dun have... she din even check my gal. my gal hates meal times... only likes milk. and often throw out her food and milk like a fountain. we thought its just a phase she going thru.... :-( poor gal has been suffering, since she was home after leaving hosp....

cat_tail.....ya... me very easy to spot when i go for evening walks... mommies who spot me pl acknowledge me hor.... eh... u got see my 2 helpers? anyway.. they are ok... seem to genuinely love my kids... but the usual lying and vainity is there.... we told them off for lying and it has not happened since. that was abt 1 month back.