Pine Close Mummies

Ginger,

Err... until now I haven't try the Tze Char stall downstair. Too many choices here already I guess. Me really looking forward for the NTUC.

So long never login liao! Welcome addiction and ponnie.

Abt the new NTUC, i saw the hiring poster at Aljunied NTUC abt a month ago 'New position' wanted at Pine close.

If it's really NTUC downstair, it's not super mart liao cos the area so small....

Then the market there no biz liao...but it's good for working people like us and I don't have to buy and keep. Can buy fresh ones everyday

Last time everyone thought NTUC will open above the hawker centre but in the end it was not true.

Got to know this at the dr's clinic. The last day for the coffee shop will be on 28 May. NTUC will open in June 2008?

Downstair my place got Pasar Malam soon! Whahhaa

Ginger,

Alot of pple were saying it was mini mart. As according to the auntie selling Fried Dough. Their last operating day will be on 25 May.

sigh... keeping our fidgers crossed that it'd be a minimart

btw, anyone has the singpost mailer for friso 2 $5 off coupon? if u don't need can pass to me? thanks.

Oh..so it's a minimart. Then good leh.

Infact i see the indian and chicken rice stall closed liao.

So once the minimart is up, we will meet more often there. Hahaha.

hi ladies.... so fast... my kids turning one in july... my turn to look for caterer and cakes...... thinking of agar agar cake/3d cake/cupcake.... i saw some photos... look so yummy and so many choices.. i see until blur..... any recommendations...

also looking for venue that can accomodate 70-100 pax.... prefer aircon... any recommendations?

i'd b getting a magician that offers cake cutting... i not sure if he can do the cutting too.... hahaha... will check with him. so any recommendations?

ginger/gen i thot of those.. but think that suitable for when my kids are older so that they can enjoy too. for now i think the party more for the parents rather than for the birthday boy or girl..... so only need a room big enough to accomodate 80 adults....... and caterer.

any more recommendations? actually we thot of renting the grass field in front of jalan tiga.. think next to block 1... haha

btw ladies, i was at marine parade ntuc and saw a sign at the atm machine recruiting staff for new branch at jalan tiga so HURRAY!!!!! it's really an NTUC at blk 39!!! that'd be so convenient for all of us! i couldn't help shoutng hurray and yippee just now..... luckily nobody else near the atm.... haha

welcome aqua, my ger also borned in Jan but in 2004.

Mesh,
calm down. I can feel ur excitment over the net. hahaha.. U kids turning 1 soon. SO fast! 1yo party is really meant for adult. The kids dun even know how to enjoys them but when they are 2 and older they get to understand bday.

gen,
I went leisure park yesterday and saw that bambini is having a branch there. My ger is asking me if she could go and play. I told her when HFMD cool down a bit.

hong,

I went on monday too. What time did you go? My younger girl enjoy alot while my elder one was having her mood swing. They do take the safety measure to check their hand & sanitise their hand & make use the children wear their socks. I think it's still quite safe.

aqua,
Welcome!!! My 3rd son is born in Dec07.

Which PD are you currently seeing?

I am looking for reasonably priced and with night clinic during weekday preferably near our area. Any recommendation? I think our area very very limited.

Anyone tried Peter's Baby clinic at Marine Terrace?

I am staying in Pine Close too. I'm waiting for my little one to arrive in Nov.

NTUC is opening on 1 Jul @ blk 41 jalan tiga where the coffeeshop is now. The coffee shop drinks stall owner says the coffeshop will be closed from 29 May. I also saw ntuc recruitment advertisement @ my blk's notice board.

hi gen! wow... ur 3rd son? reali admire u, i got problem handling my girl, cant imagine hw to cope with another comes! peifu u leh

hong: is ur no1. attending playgroup/nursey? tink our area onli got PAP rite?

yen: welcome & congrats! is this ur first child? u expecting bb boy or girl

aqua,
Thank u. This is my first child. I've no idea if my baby is boi or gal yet. Now I'm 15 wks. Hopefully to know on my next visit when I'm 16wks+.

Hi Yen,
congrats! Do update us of ur bb gender!

aqua,
did u spot a church nearby?

I sent my ger to Chen Li Kindergarten which is situated at the Chen Li Church. I give good comments of the school cos the teachers are very dedicated and they have a aunty who cook for the kids.

Most impt, my ger loves the teachers, friends and school.

gen,
i went ard dinner time. I think we never meet each other before. I do see some families on the weekends when I on my way to the market.
Sometime i wonder is it any mummies here. hahaha..

Btw, what happen to your ger? How old are your kids now.

Mesh,
how are u celebrating ur kids bday?

aqua,

Don't admire me. I'm only "surviving" my each day only. I've my days that make me insane too.

Yen,
U went for the Oscar test?

hong,
I went after noon & left before 6pm

hong,
Thanks. My next appt is on 9 June. Hopefully,can see baby's gender.

gen,
No. I'm going for the triple blood test on my next visit.

gen,
btw, oscar test is $300+ and triple blood test is only $100+. My gynae has measured my baby's neck @ 12wks and she says is normal. Is this NT scan?

Yen,

Just check with my gynae, the oscar test is for 12wks to 14wks only. For your info, oscar test measure not only the neck, but the rest part of the body.

Yen,
how come u skip the test? Didnt the gynae advise u at all?

Infact, I didnt take the Triple blood test or the Oscar test cos we find they are just doing some calculation base on mothers age, blood etc.
My hubby and I taking the bet that we are still young and have not reach the "dangerous" age range so the % of having DS bb shld be very very low.

Some of my frds have very bad result and gynae told them that their % of getting down syndrome bb is very high. They end up doing amino test, which mean more $$ and the result is negative - false alarm.

End up have to pay more.

any feedback about Costa Sand Resort- Pasir Ris? As well as their in house Caterer: Bibik Caterer? Am searching for BBQ caterer.

Cake - any recommendation? With Buzz Light year?
Cupcakes too?

hong
My gynae gives me a choice OSCAR @ 12wks or Triple blood test @ 16wks. Both are the same except that degree of accurancy is higher for OSCAR as compare to Triple Blood. She has measured baby's neck @ 12wks and found normal so she advise to take triple blood as we are still young.
If results is not favourable, need to do amino test @ 18-20wks. Detailed scan to be done @ 20wks.

Hi mummies, i'm new in this thread, happy to see so many mummies ard me. Can i join in?
I'm staying at blk 1, and a FTWM with 3mths old baby, jus started working last week...

I just found out yesterday that my baby is a boy. Gynae is 80% sure. Going for detailed scan next month. Currently 17 wks.

hi jen, you are also sourcing around for your boy's bday party? u plan to do at costa sands? i'm hoping to do it somewhere nearer to home..... otherwise i might consider aloha resorts..... still have not made up mind about venue. any suggestions?

i tried enquiring at nussu guild house at suntec, chinese swimming club, but i think its too ex.... cracking my head for possible venues.

hi hong, i'm still thinking abt the bday party but time is running out.... suddenly its next month!!!! and i have not made any confirmed plans..... can share how you celebrated for your kids' bday?

hi Vonn,Yen, Aqua, welcome.... i'm at blk 11.

Ginger i'm also looking for a PD near home..... our place has so many clinics but no PD,..... all GP only. my kids currently seeing at spring.... although he is not PD, but he has 3 kids of his own and his daughter tests his medicines... haha.. we are comfortable with him but still hope to have access to a PD nearer home.

hi mesh, i already booked the chalet at Pasir Ris. It's just a small family celebration. Oh ya, try the cake from The Patissier. It's GOOD!

Hi mesh, ya..i also looking for PD near our place. Actually went east shore..but recent papers reported that the PD was suspended. So currently seeing healthwise lady doctor for jab as well.

anyone interested to run a pd clinic at our place together... i told hb... we'd have to source for a good pd and pay him well... but hb said the PD would rather open his own clinic... why should he receive fix pay... what do u gals think

good morning everyone....since we are on the topic of doctors/PD around our place, I have something to share.....

My boy usually sees a GP near my mum's place but I wanted him to take the chicken pox vaccine so we brought him to one of the GPs near our place last wk. This was my child's first visit there. My boy got the jab and I requested for some flu med to standby cos we had initially planned to go on a short trip (this was cancelled last min). The doc said ok but did not double check his age or weigh him to determine the dosage for the med. I knew she didn't know his exact age cos b4 I left the room, I enquired abt the pneumococcal jab which she swiftly said "when he turns 2, he just need one jab". when I replied that he had just turned 2, she said "oh.. then he can take it anytime. just need 1 jab" so by this, I gathered that she wasn't really aware of this exact age in the first place. After I paid and left the clinic with the flu med, I realised the dosage given for the cough and flu syrup was 3.5 ml and 5 ml - which I think was too high cos he usually take 2.5 - 3.5ml for his flu medications.

I personally feel that the doc should have exercised a bit more caution and professionalism when prescribing med especially for young children and I will not bring my child to that clinic again.

As for which clinic, I think it's not nice to mention the name. It's along one of the shops where 7-11 is and it's not mentioned in this thread these few days.

Hi mesh,
wow... ur babies are turning one ... so fast...it will be so fun (and tiring of course) to hv 3 tots crawling/walking around.

Hi Hong,
is ur gal still at Chen Li Kindy? Do u know if they hv an open house or something coming up? I'm interested to check out that place. May register my boy for some playgroup/childcare next yr. can you also tell me how much are the fees? I know u hv mentioned it b4 but I'm too lazy to search for it again. Thanks...

Morn Mommies,
I am not very active in this thread but when the topic is on our neighbourhood GP, I have lots to say.

Recently, my boy had a very high fever when he had just passed 1 mth old. Normally I would bring him to see my usual GP but coincidentally he was away. Out of desperate, I went to Healthwise. The Dr gave paracetamol & asked us to return 3 days later if his fever was still up. I was taken aback cos I heard that infant less than 3 mths should not be given any paracetamol due to immature liver. But I took her words since she's a Dr. However, my son is still having persistent hi-fever of 39.8deg! Next day, I bot him to my usual GP & showed him the med she prescribed. He got a shock & immediately refered my son to A&E. He told me tat infant should not be prescribed any paracetamol at all. From then, my boy was admitted in KKH for 3 days... and noone dare to prescribe this drug. So from here, can you imagine how "knowledgeable" is this Dr. I dare to raise her clinic's name in this thread so the mommies can take some precautious.

wow, bad experience with the GPs in our neighbourhood huh? me too,.. have bad experience with the one petals metioned. the dr insisted my son has UTI and wanted him to do the urine stick test..... in the end it turned out he has false measles. worse, he leaned v close to me when checking my son, and i keep moving back on the chair and he keep moving forward... no dr i have ever brot my son to had to lean that close to me when checking my son lor.... :-( my hb said he as too worried about our son to notice..... but we decided we'd not see him again.

as for the healthwise one,... i'm ok with her but i agree she did not check my son's weight b4 prescribing nurofen too.... her queue is super long too! i waited 2 hrs just to see her.. .and reason is her clinic opens at 8.30am, and she sashays in at 9.30am. i wakled in at 9am and came out at 11am..... i'd nevr waste my time at her clinic again. mayb she like to make her clinic look busy.

btw anyone gave your kids steriod for persistent cough and runny nose b4? i was prescribed dhasolone this morning.. still thinking if i should give it to him... my son had cough and runny nose for past 2 weeks... .finished one bottle of antibiotics and prometazine still no improvement.