Pine Close Mummies

cat_tail

I think my boy got a bit of sensitive skin and also the weather last week a bit crazy...

Me looking at doing the reading cards actually, how much are you selling your maths kit ? I can check with my husband

Petals

The Kallang Leisure side is going to be like a sports center...so i guess anything deals with sports will be there and also heard a cinema too...

hong

Ya lor..quite sick of our famous hawker center

Ok mummies let's see who can join us in this potluck...would you all prefer home ( maybe someone can offer their place ) or outside like a picnic at the beach kind ? Let the fathers take care of the children while we gossip hahahah

Potluck : dreambabyd ( Egg Mayonaaise Sandwich )

Gd morning...,

cat_tail,
hopefully Leisure Park comes up fast, then we'll hv another place to go..

Adding to the list...

SAHM:
dreambabyd ( Blk 11 )

FTWM:
jen (Blk 28)
cat_tail (Blk 1)
Hong (Blk 56)
Petals (Blk 11)

hi, more ftwm than sahm......

SAHM:
dreambabyd ( Blk 11 )
mesh (Blk 11)

FTWM:
jen (Blk 28)
cat_tail (Blk 1)
Hong (Blk 56)
Petals (Blk 11)

Dreambabyd, i'm keen on the flash cards, but its too early for me, though i don't mind starting on it as early as 2 months after they born ..... haha.... kiasu mummy.

cat_tail: how much u selling the maths GD card.... hey... i hav a good idea..... why not you sell to dreambabyd, and then when mine is ready to use them, dreambabyd can sell it to me later.... hahaha.

my dream is for my babies to be able to read on their own by 3-4 years old. hehehe... i love reading when i was young and i hope they cultivate the habit from young.

hong, i don't mind being wheeled over... then it may have to be one of our places, but hor, our places all too small to accomodate all of us and the kids hor.... maybe beach better....

dreambabyd,
Ya, weather is funny. Does applying snake powder works? Edna oso has heat rash occassionaly & it works very well on her.
I am not too sure how much that maths kit worth cos I bot together with the words. U take a look & then see whether u keen first.

Petals,
Quite happy to see the Leisure Park up by this yr end. I am sick of going to PP or Suntec to do my marketing. Very the far & crowded.

mesh,
U have time doing GD with triplets?? Haha...
I started the words & then drop out halfway cos I am dead tired to start after work. But I still make sure I read books to my gal before she sleeps. Now she's addicted reading books.

cat_tail, all the more have to leh... imagine 3 toddlers coming to you for attention.... better if they can pick up books and read to themselves right,.... hehehe.... in my idealistic world

this thread is up and running again... hee hee... I sound so bad... :p

Wow if the NTUC is up, then will the business at the wet market be affected? I believe it will be to certain extend.

I put both of my hands up that our area is very boring... I am also sick of the food at the hawker centre. Sheng Siong is quite a distance away and I find it quite messy and not well stocked.

The prices of the flat there is really exp. Told hubby that I will be crazy if I buy a unit here, not worth it. I also do not have so much extra cash to pay as well.

SAHM:
dreambabyd ( Blk 11 )
mesh (Blk 11)

FTWM:
jen (Blk 28)
cat_tail (Blk 1)
Hong (Blk 56)
Petals (Blk 11)
jastan (blk 7, only there on weekends)

cat,
Thats it! I saw you in bus no 33 and also once at your blk's lobby. At that time you, your daughter and MIL (i guess) were walking into the lift and I was there with my hubby, my mum and SIL talking to a housing agent. There's a unit at 15floor selling at $360k. Wa piang when I went to view, very disppointed it does not worth paying that much man. Alot of things need to renovate again.

JasTan,
Though the prices of the flats there are ex, their prices don't depreciate instead they are always appreciating. But now is not the time to buy property cos the prices are all going up.

SAHM:
dreambabyd ( Blk 11 )
mesh (Blk 11)

FTWM:
jen (Blk 28)
cat_tail (Blk 1)
Hong (Blk 56)
Petals (Blk 11)
mgteo (Blk 10 mum's house)

gen,
So what's your actual name? Which primary and secondary school you from? hahaha
me like interrogating.

mesh,
For your info, their attention is very short... haha. Normally I on Hi 5 to freeze my gal while I do my watever biz. Still very effective. :p

JasTan,
U r here! Heehee... all of us moved here.

mgteo,
Probably that's my maid or it's another happen to pass by auntie cos I dun go out together wif MIL. Cannot see eye to eye lah. :p
I guess that's the price for our area no matter how down the unit is. 15th floor should have a nice sea view rite?

cat,
But this unit cannot make it la. Its the smaller size of 4room flat which is (85sqm). So is yours the 4room or 5room?

Hubby and i pretty lucky, we tried the balloting system years back. 4 rooms at 103 sqm and come with the old store room, not bomb shelter kind.

Maybe we can organise a small gatherine at the playground one weekend evening!

MgTeo,
Cannot blame the owner cos our area pricing is going high soon. With MRT station coming soon WOW cant imagine how much it is going to cost.

Cat,
Can u sms if u are going to get Ang Ku Kueh ?
I got craving for it. hahahaha..

mgteo,
That's really exp... did u check the Blk 11 ones? I am lucky to get my 5 rm from balloting. Was paying only 333k in yr2003. Think now can sell more than 400k...haha

hong,
Either tomolo or the day after? Still got the car cos hubby is outstation.. hyiak hyiak.. SMS me the no. of kuehs u wan.

Cat, Ok.
TQ very much. I go and collect from u cos i dun know wat time i will be back home.

Jen,
ur balloting period is the same as mine.
Mine is also 4 rooms the 1st unit along the corridor.

Ya Hong, we're lucky to get them! Was choosing which blk to go with at that time. Floor 17 @ abt 260K that time. What about yours?

mgteo,
U wanna wait another 2 more years. I might be thinking of selling my flat. Interested?

I don't think it's very safe to reveal too much identity to the forum. ai yo! When you are free, meet up one day loh. or meet up during the potluck loh. That will satisfy your curiosity.

JasTan,
Some ppl said that it's going to be pcf cc instead of NTUC leh. I also dunno, just heard from others.

dreambabyd,
Huh??? What meet up you are mentioning? I thot I only know Ginger & you in this forum. As for your boy's rashes, have you try desitin creamy. Last time My girl got it my pd advise me to apply that. I think picking heat powder might not be suitable for our little one as they might inhale it.

SAHM:
dreambabyd ( Blk 11 )
mesh (Blk 11)
gen (Blk 39)

FTWM:
jen (Blk 28)
cat_tail (Blk 1)
Hong (Blk 56)
Petals (Blk 11)

cat,
Aiya me itchy backside lor...I was in the queue for the first balloting but I didn't go for the selection. Then when those yellow blks were out for balloting I went for the application but was rejected. Regretted that I gave up during the first one.

dreambabyd,
As for rashes, if its just temporary you can try applying calamine lotion. If not you see any gp ask them for hydrocortisone which contains a bit of steroid and this one will really works. Remember Claira has slight eczema. Some times if it gets really bad and she keeps scratching I will apply some of it. I will also apply the cream if she got mosquito bites cos her skin will get real swollen and red whenever she's been bitten. At the same time we'll apply calendula cream everyday for her.

Morning ladies

mesh

Good idea on the GD cards...cat_tail you want to consider on the English Kit ?

gen

Hahahh sorry got mix up a bit...how are you ? Still working part time or no more ? I just saw Ginger the other day when i was taking an evening walk ...why you want to sell your flat ?

cat_tail

Thanks for your advise...dont really like the idea of putting powder coz PD says powder not really good for children...so i usually put body lotion daily after bath...

mgteo

Where you get the calendula cream ah ? What brand ? Ai yo I miss Claira leh..when want to meet up ?

MgTeo,
why u give up? Wat a waste! the old blk floor area is so much bigger.

gen,
I was the 10 selector on the last day. We are so sad when we saw our Q nos cos we thot no chance but on the day of selection we realised there are pple who came and told the officer they din want.

Didnt really decide which blk but we drop the blk 9 cos a bit warm there.
We decided to chose those 4rooms unit that none of the room facing coridoor.

Do u realise we have alot of windows!

WOW suddenly this thread is so alive...

Maybe those SAHMs can conduct a flash card session to those FTWM's babies. Think my son is really too far behind his peers. I see everyone so into flash card, i am starting to get worried...

SAHM:
dreambabyd ( Blk 11 )
mesh (Blk 11)
gen (Blk 39)

FTWM:
jen (Blk 28)
cat_tail (Blk 1)
Hong (Blk 56)
Petals (Blk 11)
ginger (Blk 39)

cat_tail
Yes, am here too and so are you.. hee hee...

As to where the agents get your home no. from, it is quite easy to get them, just from yellow pages residential listing will have the info. My parent's place also get such calls but always looking for me coz the home no. is registered under my name. That's how I guess where they got the no. To prevent is not to have your home no. listed in the residential listing.

gen
A lot of rumors about what the new hawker centre will house.. guess just have to wait for it to complete.

mgteo
You might want to try GIGA soothing lotion, it is organic product specially suitable for eczema condition. I have their baby wash as well.

ginger
Don't fret. I didn't do any flashcard with my boy, me just too lazy and no time also. Whenever I bring the cards out, my boy will just take and play with them instead. So I just give up.

wow, our list is getting longer... that's really great... always thought that our area is a small estate and it's really great to see so many "neighbours" in the forum.

so what's the proposed plan for the gathering coming up? if it's going to be a weekend evening, it has to be sat cos sunday evening we will be at my in-laws place.

dreambabyd,
I get my creams from one of the BPs lor...I'm collecting my items this Sunday. Let me know if you want to get one cos I can spare you one. Claira is speaking Singlish nowadays really can't stand it! My SIL keeps talking to her in Singlish...all the lah lah lah....'buay tahan'!!

hong,
ya lor...so silly of me to give up right...that's what everybody has been telling me.

I can't the windows in the bedroom. Nowadays there's this window for compressor, with that I don't know how to place the bed man...(realise when viewing some of the houses).

Jas,
I've tried GAIA but it doesn't work for my girl. Don't know why she gets worse when using the product.

dreambabyd,
I get my creams from one of the BPs lor...I'm collecting my items this Sunday. Let me know if you want to get one cos I can spare you one. Claira is speaking Singlish nowadays really can't stand it! My SIL keeps talking to her in Singlish...all the lah lah lah....'buay tahan'!!

hong,
ya lor...so silly of me to give up right...that's what everybody has been telling me.

I can't the windows in the bedroom. Nowadays there's this window for compressor, with that I don't know how to place the bed man...(realise when viewing some of the houses).

Jas,
I've tried GAIA but it doesn't work for my girl. Don't know why she gets worse when using the product.

mgteo

Whats the name of the cream ? I let you know if never clear by this week..

By the way ah..when Claira is potty training, she straight away use adult toilet with children cushion seat on top of the normal cover or she use those put on the floor kind...coz i think my boy dont like on the floor kind leh..

dream,
Cannot work liao leh! Ever since my maid left. Present one still can't trust her enough to let go. You might want to go for a skin prick test to see if he is allergy to something? To find out the root culprit that is causing the prob. Just sent my younger girl. She is allergy to Wheat, egg yolk, mushroom & peas, where my elder one is allergy to egg. so difficult to cook right.

Ginger,
Although I do bought the flash card but I didn't flash to both my girls too. Don't worry, when time comes, they will naturally pick up. Like my elder girl. She used to speak only english but now she can even recognise a few chinese word.

Hong,
I suppose more windows are better. I like my hse to be breezier. My hub & I were the no. 10 household on the first day & yet can't get the unit we wanted. We prefer the highest floor.

mgteo,
What is this calendula cream all abt? Is it good for mosquito bites. My elder one is very prone to mosquito kiss & will get real big swollen bump from it.

mgteo,
Very sayang! That time when I go for balloting, still got so many leftovers! They even go for 2nd round balloting & then finally walk-in sleection.

dreambabyd,
R u refering those word cards as the English kit? I have those too....
Btw, how bad is your boy's rashes & which part? Yup, I am aware that it's not gd to put powder on their buttock so I only apply the powder at her neck cos she prone to get heat rash when the weather is hot. Will apply by using the sponge so it won't fly around.

JasTan,
The weird thing is we dun list our numbers on the yellowpages... these agents are very resourceful!

ginger,
I dun flash the cards though I have it. :p
Just too lazy to sort out the cards each day & it's bulky. I do get those picture cards from Popular & flash her when I am free. It's smaller & easier to reach.

FLASH CARD
You gals don't console me leh. When dreambabyd told me abt it, I know my son is wayyyy behind hers liao. Cos i only showed him less than 10 times so far nia.

MILK
Anyone can tell me what else can substitute milk for calcium besides ikan bilis and cheese? My 16mths old son milk intake is very pathetic, thought of giving him other food to supplement the calcium.

OLD AIRPORT ROAD
I also have been staying here for ages liao. Think about 30years already.

dreambabyd,
The cream that I got from GP, I think is called Gertisone. Its effective on Claira when her rashes or mosquito bites are bad. But as you know all these that contain mild steroid will cause thinning of the skin when use too often. It can also cause dryness to the skin so thats why you have to apply moisturiser.

Re: Potty Training
Claira uses both. Usually at my house she'll use potty and at my mum's place she sits on the toilet seat with the small toilet cover.

gen,
Calendula cream is more for people who has eczema or sensitive skin not ideal to apply for mosquito bites.

Ginger,
Dun be so pressurise abt the flashcards. It's just one of the ways to teach our child. Remember every child develop differently.

How abt giving yogurt with some fruits.

cat_tail
I use calamine lotion instead to apply on Joel's neck cos he also tends to get heat rashes on the neck very easily.

The agents sure have their means to get the info, this is their rice bowl. Sometimes I get so irritated by the calls, in my heart feel like telling them, I will sell the unit provided you provide me with another better unit FOC first.. hee hee

mgteo
Oh guess maybe not every is suitable for Gaia products.

ginger
I am not consoling you, I really didn't do any flashcard with my boy. Actually my boy is also lacking behind esp in his speech, but I try to take it easy lah... Don't put too much stress on yourself and unknowingly unto the kids, it's no good. They should enjoy their childhood...

Actually our area lack of good child care centres.

Anyone tried the CC near the temp hawker? I heard it's a cina CC so not sure if the standard is good or not??

Ginger, the CC under blk 49 right? I ever asked before. Seem like cina leh, and daycare abt $400 per mth. I'm still considering..

Jen,

Yes that one. I also find quite cina. So hoping to hear comments for this CC.

You went to check the price liao? $400 per month is full day or half day? Quite cheap leh? I thought most CC charge abt $500..

Ginger, Jen,

i went to view the CC for 3 times but didnt send Janelle to it. Initial plan was to send Janelle to the Playground when she was 2yo cos i was preggie with my son then.

My sister is also a CC teacher and she notice that the classroom is not decorated with the month/week themes.

They never displayed children works. The teachers just let the children play and we saw one kid pulling the other hair and she didnt stop them.

My sister said better NOT. hahaha..

Thus i waited Janelle to be 3yo and put her at Chen Li Kindergarten.

There is a NTUC CC ard our area. Why dun both of u drop by and see?

Morning everyone,

looks like most of ur kids are quite big already eh... can cosider childcare etc...mine is just turning one end of this month...still long way to go man....

my baby boy always has this tendency to scratch is ears, usually it's the exterior. I have checked and there's no discharge, just some dried skin and sometimes a bit of dirt. we tried cleaning it regularly but he still seems to feel very itchy and yday, he stratched so much that it became red and a little swollen. any idea what I can do to ease the itch?

Ginger,
do u know where is Chen Li church? There is a rd in, u just walk right in and it is just behind the Chen Li Church.

Petals,
I have a son turning 1 in July.
How are u going to celebration his bday?

Ginger, the one at blk 49 for $400 is for full-day. NTUC CC is behind Hong Li and along MINDS.

Hong, pls correct me if i'm wrong!

I'm still deciding which to go with but somehow many said that it's best to let them go when they're older..

Hong,

intend to keep the bday celebration small, most probably just within the family. just order cake and mini buffet.

anyone has recommendation for mini buffet? i know of neo garden and YLS - any comments on these 2?

Jen,

You mean the NTUC CC is near the Fatty Weng restaurant?

But I checked the weblink just now. The nearest one is Haig Road leh. It has the guillemard address but the map location says it's near Kallang Industrial park.

I believe there is another CC at Blk 68 there (masionette block) but not sure if it's still there.

Anyone knows?

hong,
U noe when will Chen Li open house? And what is the youngest age intake?

ginger,
Confirm there's a NTUC CC along Guillemard Rd. I always see the parents bringing the kids back from Fatty Weng to Pine Close Blks.

Morning ladies...

mgteo

Brought him to see doctor..doctor say is a rash that is delay from 2 weeks ago when he was not feeling well...but luckily is not contagious...got medicine...

Ginger

Dont be stress over your boy's development coz I stay at home thats why got lots of time to do all this ...i guess working mom after work reach home sure very tired...so take it easy la...how's your new maid ?

cat_tail

His is hand but now worse coz body and legs coming out...can feel it when bathing him...but luckily doc say won't spread so i can bring him out yeh !!!

The English kit good a not ah ? worth to spend so much do get the set ? coz i thought of diy...buying blank flashcards from a lady in the forum..

JasTan,
Ya, young kids get heat rash so easily. Calamine solution is gd too, but I dun like when it dry up. Haha.. guess I am a bit vain. :p

Dun noe why nowadays the agents are calling very freq! Our estates are hot? But the calls can be very irritating.

dreambabyd,
The rashes is due to the fever rite? Hope your boy is recovering soon.
Well, you have to be consistent if you want to start the GD method. For me, I am lazy to do it..haha.. But if u want to DIY, got t put in a lot of effort. My frd even bot a machine to laminate the cards! "Pei Fu"

Jen is right.

Ginger, Jen, Cat,
Do u know there is a path that u can take to walk to the NTUC CC. The path is just behind the Fatty Weng Restaurant, along blk 9. U dun have to take the main road.

Ginger, i think the website map is a bit wrong leh. Is beside the MINDS.

Cat,
I enquire abt it before. U can sign up Edna earlier but edna will repeat the module again next yr. U get wat i mean. Or u wanna email the principal and check with her again? They just change a principal.

I dun think they have open hse. The other time i went they said open hse + registration. When i went, nothing to see cos they keep all the furniture for the registration. That time i am so desperate to put Janelle to learn something so i just based on my neighbour recommendation and register her. SO far the school didnt disappoint me.

U email them and see if u can drop by and see their program. Another alternative is to peek at the windows. Level 1 is for N1 class which is wat Janelle is attending now.

hong,
Yup, am aware. Always bring Edna to the playground after work. Saw many parents fetching their kids in the standard NTUC CC uniform. Heehee..tat's how I noe the CC.

Actually I did enquire thru email but they din reply me. U have their number? I try to call & ask.

Ya.. my frd siao ONZ. She will print the words or pictures, stick on the card & then laminate.. very neatly done. I totally salute her effort.

cat,
I've called Chen Li few weeks ago to enquire also. Acccording to the principal, the open house will not be so soon. I'm intending to view the school with my daughter sometime in May which the principal suggested. So most probably I'll sign my girl up for the class starting in July.

The minimum age is 21/2 years old and it also has to depend on how well is your child's development. I would suggest you call to enquire.

ginger,
Cat is right. There is an NTUC child care at Guillemard Crescent (to be exact). My nephews were at the child care before. Regarding blk 49 child care, I've heard bad reviews. I thought there's another one at blk 3 or 5 cannot remember.

Ginger,
As for your "milk". Yes, yogurt is a good source esp our little one need the probiotic in it to balance up their stomach's bacteria. Be as creative as possible, like serving the milk using diff bottles etc. Hope this help. Met you FIL yesterday. Heard from him you just change a new fillipino maid. How is it? Is she good with children? Are you looking for a CC or just a playgroup?