Mummies staying at Fernvale

Just found this thread. I am staying at Fernvale also. Would like to check if any mummies enrol their kids in fernvale primary sch? Is it good? Like to have feedback on the sch.

just to share that there will be a new infant & child care center name sparkle tots open at blk 441B Fernvale Vista area, under PCF.

just saw the banner along the road to LRT station

hey hey,

ya i saw the Sparkletots at Blk 441B Fernvale Vista. Its just next to my block. I'm at Blk 441A.

My twin boys are turning 1 year old next month. considering whether to put them in playschool when they turn 18 months.. any suggestions where to put them?

Hi April,

Thanks for the reply.

Are you able to PM/ email me their pricing? Not able to find it in the link you provided.

Many thanks!

New Event this week at Expo can go take a look.

Family Expo
<font color="ff0000">16</font> December 2010 - 19 December 2010

Event type : Retailer &amp; Sales
Venue : Hall <font color="ff0000">6A</font>
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules : Time: 11am to 10pm

Show Profile :
Exhibition featuring the best in Food, Snacks, Baby and mother products, clothes and accessories

Also got other Sales in Expo but start mainly on 17 Dec:
Crocs, MPH, Apparels, Bag &amp; Shoes.

Hi April,

Sry, din know that i din activate my PM.

Can email me at [email protected]?

Pls don't go to YCK Chapel kindergarten. Their principal is very rude, now I am thinking of transferring my daughter out cos I can't stand the attitude of the principal. I went to fetch my daughter home today, I was looking for her and guess what she said to me, "What do you want?" I was shocked and didn't react in time or else I would hv told her off I am fetching my daughter home of course, and question her attitude. I am so pissed off. Unless you hv a car and you fetch yr kids, she will be more than willing to help you. She gou yan kan ren di! Double standards!

Hi Ping2,
thanks for sharing. I am also sourcing for my son pre nusery. while talking to one parent in Fernvale, came to know she send her son to Dayspring kindergarten in Punggol. anyone here any comment on this dayspring kindergarten. She share her son with them since June2010. so far so good.

Hi April,

The YCK chapel kindergarten's curriculum is not bad but I am not pleased with the principle attitude. For Dayspring kindergarten, I hv read a few positive comments in other forums when I was searching for kindergarten. You can search in kiasu parents or other parenting forum. You can't get much feedback from here, I am speaking from my personal experience.

Sparkletots at Fernvale Vista only caters to children from age 2 mths to 36 mths only. I was thinking of enrolling my boy 4 this yr to their half day childcare. Ai, so sad.

Ping2, really?? Only until 3 years old? Meaning stop at N1? *scratch head* Or meaning from N1 onwards, they don't have childcare but normal kindergarten hours?

Butterwaffles,

I hv emailed them abt the enrollment for my 4 yr old son for half day child care, and that's the reply they gave me. They recommend me to go to Rivervale drive blk 194 branch instead. If you don't believe me, you can email them at the email address which April posted on December 8th, 10.07am.

Sparkletots is a childcare ctr, not a preschool or kindergarten. I wanted to enrol my son for the nursery class at PCF but their classes are full.

ping, hey thanks for the info! Yes, i know what Sparkletots is and im looking for a childcare centre for my boy. He's now at PCF sparkletots infantcare
I'll call them to enquire again because the last thing i want, is to change centre halfway lor. So how, have you managed to get your boy into any centres? I called the ones near buangkok and compass point but both are full.

ping, btw i saw this when i was searching for centres.

PCF PUNGGOL CENTRAL - K+ @ ARTS CIRCLE CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTRE

231, COMPASSVALE WALK, #01 - 436
SINGAPORE 540231

Telephone 68817901

I think this centre caters to kids between 4-6 years old. Fee is $600 including GST before govt subsidy ah.

butterwaffles,

Thanks for yr info. I didn't manage to enrol my boy into any ctrs. I wanted to enrol him to nursery class at PCF which is near my place for some exposure to class environment. Enrolling him to a child care ctr is my last resort as I am a SAHM. As my elder gal is in YCK chapel kindergarten which is quite far from here, I will hv to teach him for the time being first. I am still monitoring YCK chapel kindergarten to see whether my gal is able to learn anything. So far so good for the time being.

I saw their nursery class seems to be quite gd, but I still want to monitor my gal's progress and the school first.

ping, no wonder....i'm a FTWM so i die die have to find a childcare centre for my boy. Frankly, i feel there isn't many choices for childcare or playgroups around Sengkang/Punggol. If exposure is what you are looking at, i agree that PCF is good enough. Since your boy is 4, he should be in N2? Did you try your luck at this PCF kindergarten at blk 303A Anchorvale Link? Next to Renjong LRT station? My parents stay at blk 303B heh. How do you fetch your gal to YCK chapel??

butterwaffles,

There is another childcare ctr. This is the details:

Young Talents
Blk 439 Sengkang West Ave #01-01
Tel: 97964986 / 96776076
www.youngtalents.com.sg

I know you are a FTWM, otherwise you would not be so concerned over childcare ctrs. The above info was shared by mummy daish. She put her younger son there for half day. I fetch my gal by public transport or taxi (if it rains). I tried the school bus service, but it was so tiring for my gal as it takes 1 hr for her to reach school. It adds up to 2 hours to and fro, and she fell sick during the first wk. It only takes abt 15-20 min when I bring her to school, and she prefers me to bring her to school.

PCF Anchorvale is too far for me and I can't travel to and fro from there, as I am already fetching my gal from school by public transport. I can't handle fetching my kids from schools that require travelling by bus, esp from 2 different schools alone.

ping, that one i call liao, loooong waiting list! I want to faint already. This lady from My First Skool called me and she told me to her knowledge, for this year, it's full everywhere and she advised me to try further, like Hougang or Serangoon (!!!!). Maybe also because my boy is only turning 1 next month. But i have to be quick leh, else how right? 2 centres ask me to call back only when my boy turns 18 months *scratch head* I can't be doing that what....I'm calling another 1 later, at Buangkok Crescent. I also take public transport so the location is very important to me, must be direct enough from my parents' place &amp; from my workplace. For now, my boy is in infantcare and it's a 15min walk. When it rains, jialat sia but overall managable. Must be tough on you, i've always admired SAHMs, really not easy leh, 24/7 job. Frankly, i think from Fernvale to YCK not far leh, the schoolbus has to detour here &amp; there to pick up many students is it? I budget constraint so i really shortlist until i cannot shortlist anymore.

oh sparkle tots at Blk 441B oni up to 36 months! the details they email seem to up to 6 yrs old. is really a headache to find a pre sch for our lil ones! I m a FTWM, now my mum help me to take care of my 17mths old baby now. tot of putting him for half day in child care ctr when he turn 18mths old till 6 years old or wait till next yr put him in those kindergarten.

my elder boy attend the ikids preschooler @ saraca road back then when he was 2yrs in 2004, is a franchise of Cambridge child care ctr. not convenient if there is no car, some walking from main road take abt 10mins.

Yup, so far my 2yo boy likes Young Talent. I find they are more organise. The teacher there seems more caring. But if got better school, I will still go for it. He now recog and can say ABC, 123, very well.

My elder boy used to be at Smartie Cottage. Upon graduate he still cannot read simple chinese words. Now has to catch up in P1.

I choose the above school bcos of location as its near my block.

So it is really important to find a good school with good teachers and curriculum.

Hi Ping2,

Where are u staying? I am also trying to find an enrichment centre for my 2.5yo son.. but cannot find any in sengkang..I am not looking for childcare.. the PCF there also only accepts 4yo only.

Any recommendations for weekend playgroup for 3yo in sengkang?

thnks.

april, ya misleading right? I mean, i find it weird really. So parents who put their kids at 441B has to find another school before they turn 3? *scratch head* That's the last thing i want unless he is not progressing well ah. Walking is fine but it's a nightmare if it rains ^^

daish, good or not, have to try then we know right...my boy is now in infantcare and i feel curriculum is nothing unless the teachers can deliver. The teachers are so important really but they come &amp; go, so it's a headache as well. So you really think your younger boy learns faster because Yong Talent has better teachers compared to Smartie Cottage? Actually, i've heard not-so-good feedback about Smartie Cottage as well so i didn't call to ask about vacancies. Young Talent is not cheap right...

sugarplum, what kind of enrichment programmes are you looking at?

butterwaffles,
yalor *scratch head*

sugarplum,
learning horizon at Grassroots Club near Yio Chu Kang MRT, they hv weekend playgroup. I ever enquire thru email nvr reply want. yet to call them.

The Little Skool House
I like the curriculum of this child care ctr. But our area dun hv, the nearest one is Orchid country club and the KTPH both at Yishun. They have one at AMK HUB too.

april, for Little Skool House, got one at the east side right...still too far for us north-easterners ^^ I now residing at Jurong West actually and LSH at Jurong Safra is bursting lor.

<font color="0000ff">re: Sunflower Kinderhub @Yio Chu Kang &amp; Sunflower Tots &amp; Kids @Hougang &amp; House of Kids @Yio Chu Kang
Any mummies here have feedback on the above 2 centres? I'm visiting the YCK one next week, have yet to manage to contact the Hougang one.

Have been to a few centres and none are very satisfactory. Any mummies here who will be going ahead to put your child in the fernvale PCF even thou they only cater up to N1? I wonder if there will be N2-K2 in the near future....Sigh~ My husband says he feels the centre should be opening up N2-K2 classes if there is demand...he wants to go ahead with the fernvale centre if there is vacancy. What do you mummies think?

I'll be shifting into Fernvale this year, I'm looking for pre-school my children Nursery &amp; K1.

Anyone can advise me on the PCF Sengkang West Blk 436d-436a? How's the Teachers &amp; Principal?

butterwaffles: i had emailed them before to ask about the possibility of opening up N2-K2 classes if there are demand but the reply i got is "due to space constraint, they are only able to cater up to N1".

For eg: if i enrol my boy who just turn 3, he will have to withdraw at the end of this yr. (this is from the email reply i gotten from the centre.)

apple, not sure about 436 as its a kindergarten right? You can try surfing kiasuparents.com, i think it will have more info there

gigi, wow...meaning unless they have an extension, i can stop hoping they will open up classes for N2-K2. Actually, right below my parents' place (anchorvale), there is also a PCF but it's kindergarten. My dad told me they extended so they have alot more students now. Sigh. My husband is not keen on others as he finds them too expensive (in case have #2) and he's happy with the PCF infantcare that my boy is going to now BUT BUT BUT...we are shifting liao, so we cannot let my boy continue at the jurong PCF centre. So what's your plan? I do know there is infantcare for this 441B centre thou. Mummies who really need ifc, can consider this centre...

Maybe can ask them to let us know again if there's any extension for N2-K2 classes. Don't think i wanna switch my boi here and there.

Hopefully there will be another centre opening soon admist the new blocks that are now buliding.

Morning Fernvale Mummies,
Sparkletots @ Fernvale staff call me yesterday, there will be no open house, as there is long list, they will do a close door registration.

I did feedback to her never heard that a child care center oni accept kids below 4 years old.
glad to hear from her that the ctr mgr spoke to the MP. Decision had yet to finalize, they may do a extenstion to nearby void deck for N2-K2. and this need time may take a year or so.

I think i shd feedback to the MP too.

They called me too but end up i gave up because they cannot hold a place for my boy. My boy turns 18 months in August but they cannot hold that long, ask me to call back in June or July. They can only accept 16 toddlers at the moment so only those who are confirmed 18 months and above by March/April, they will accept. The centre will open next month...The lady also mentioned that nearby got this PCF K+ centre and they cater for kids aged 4 and above so they will see how...that if the K+ centre not opening up more classes for N2 and above, then they will try their best to open up their own.

gigi, the lady say it is a childcare centre, also operates from 7am to 7pm...There is a K+ centre in Punggol too i think, i think i saw it when i bypass it when i was leaving Punggol 24th Ave after viewing a couple of centres there. Still....very uncertain lar, so i'm giving up this PCF.

Dear mummies, i've managed to secure a place for my boy at Cambridge. I think as at now, the principal is still able to take 1 more toddler. The fees are very exp thou, $550 after the $300 govt subsidy but no choice, i cannot afford to wait for centres to call me, die die must secure a place for him as i have no-one else to help look after my boy. Mummies who decide to go for the PCF at Fernvale, do update here!

april, that's great! Fingers crossed for you...the lady told me they will try their best and it takes around 6 months to construct a new place should they decide to extend...actually, i would have gone for it if not for the fact that they cannot hold a place for my boy until August. Hence my decision to enrol him at Cambridge. Couldn't take the stress of not knowing whether he'll have a place in a centre by August or not ^^

april, no wor, my boy will be going to the Cambridge near Rivervale Mall...very near to this Character Montessori. Saraca road very hard for me to do fetching...i visited Sunflower @Hougang Mall, Kidz Meadows @Buangkok and Cambridge @Rivervale Mall, i feel that Cambridge is more suitable for my boy. Great that your boy can attend the PCF there, now my boy at PCF infantcare and he's doing very well
So am quite happy with PCF in general, keke. Lucky u!!