Mummies staying at Fernvale

Lawshe, why dun you put in infant care? Heard got one call House of Kids. Its near our place You can google their website.

Anyone heard or put their children in House of Kid? Yesterday morning in the lift, saw one of my neighbour send her daughter there, but no time to ask more questions.

Hi Evie

Have not got the powder yet...when pass by Kiddy Palace will get to try.

happy CNY all!

some good updates

<font size="-2"><font color="0077aa">
Feedback Content

We are looking into the suggestion to prune the trees within the forested State land to minimise bird stay.

We will update you our decision shortly.
--------------------------------
NPARKS Public Affairs/NPARKS/SINGOV</font></font>

crayonmum, i just skimmed through the archives. Did you put your boy at Canaan? I tried the blog site but it's not available anymore. Any feedback on this school?

Hi Emmie,

Yes.. my boy was enrolled in Canaan.. They have changed name to Honeytree Schoolhouse after converting to a Childcare Centre.. but the mgt is still the same. This is the new webby: http://honeytreecanaan.blogspot.com/

The teachers fr Honeytree gve feedback that he was running ard in class and not participating in the activities for 6 mths. So I enrolled him in another sch this yr .. a sch with a smaller class size and a more activity-based curriculum instead of sitting down in front of teacher and learning kind of environment (like in Honeytree)... and my boy has stopped running ard in class. Guess he was kinda bored in Honeytree.

Different kids react differently to different schs and curriculum.. I dun think Honeytree is bad.. just that it din suit my boy's active character.

crayonmum, so which sch is your boy in now? I'm looking at kindys for my boy now...so any feedback on the schools around this area (preferably with sch bus services) would be really helpful. Thanks!

Hi Emmie,

My boy is in Learning Horizon..located at Grassroots Club beside Yio Chu Kang MRT. Bus 70 (abt 20 mins ride but waiting time can be up to 20 mins too) fr Yio Chu Kang Rd goes straight to the Bus terminal where there's a sheltered pathway all the way to the club. There's sch bus service too.

Webby is:
http://www.learninghorizon.com.sg/pages/Programmes/Playgroup/19/134.aspx

Teachers' profiles:
http://www.learninghorizon.com.sg/pages/Trainers-Profile/Playgroup-and-Preparatory-School-Programme/20/147.aspx

How old is ur boy? Learning Horizon currently caters up to K1 level (5yo) coz they r a relatively new set-up.

I'm happy wif the sch and teachers thus far and have no complaints.

thanks crayonmum... will check out learning horizon as well

My boy is 5 this year. He takes a while to adapt to new environment. So kind of kancheong about making a right choice if you know what i mean...

Any mummies who is interested to get Hope Relief cream? I am ordering from https://s0.ssl.net.nz/pharmacydiscounter/products.asp?product=hope.

I am ordering HOPES RELIEF CREAM 150gm PUMP X 3 at NZ$100. 1 bottle cost NZ$33.33, after conversion at 1.029 , it costs S$34.30. I am buying 1 bottle, need another 2 mummies to share. I hv checked the expiry date with the online shop, it's expiring in Jan 2011. There's no shipping cost, it's free worldwide delivery. Anyone interested, pls pm me. Thanks.

Yes, it works on me. It helps to moisturize and heal my dry, itchy and cracking skin caused by eczema. That's why I'm looking for mummies here to share, cos the spree for the cream is already closed. It's not so greasy, and a little bit goes a long way. It does not relieve itchiness straight away, you need to let the cream work for a few min into yr skin, and the itchiness will be gone. My sis used it for her eczema, she also used it for her kids' insect bites and it help to heal the bites.

You can read more success stories and product info from Australia.
http://www.hopes.com.au/index.php?page_id=3
http://www.hopes.com.au/index.php?page_id=4

Do note the packaging is different from the website that I'm ordering from but it's the same product.

How is yr son's eczema like? Cos eczema varies with individual.

New School Open House today 10 am to 4 pm
Infant Care / Playgroup / Nursery / Kindergarten

Young Talents
Blk 439 Sengkang West Ave #01-01
Tel: 97964986 / 96776076
www.youngtalents.com.sg

Free Registration till 31 May 2010
Free young Talents Sun Hat worth $15 upon registration
Free Door Gift

Evie,

I'm just glad that the old provision shop is gone. The way they illegally construct the shelter and the way they place their goods poses a potential fire hazard. Next to my block.. so I'm especially concerned. :p

Yah.. there're a few 7 Elevens ard our are actually, Shell, Jln kayu, FV Pt.

I think the old folks who are the regulars will miss the provision shop. They told me veggies are fresh&amp; need not to walk out so far to fernvale pt.

I will miss the old provision shop and the vegetable stall. The vegetables sold are quite fresh and cheap, so I prefer to buy from them.

The 7 eleven shop replacing the provision shop is from the Fernvale point branch, they will close their shop there, as their business is greatly affected by NTUC which is operating 24 hours too. This is what the provision shop staff told me. Btw, the 7 Eleven shop at Jalan Kayu has already closed down. Went to Jalan Kayu last month and could not find the 7 Eleven shop.

Evie,

Hmm.. dat's true.. it's further for the older folks now to get their groceries.

I also chked out Young Talents.. and it happened that the principal was my boy's form teacher at his ex-sch and she was also the previous principal of Smartie Cottage. She's a very nice lady and my boy likes her very much.Yes, the fees are high.. $500 for halfday.

Pingping,

oh.. din know that the 7Eleven at Jln Kayu has closed down.

Sigh...looks like only the people of our age will miss the time of having a provision shop in our neighbourhood.

Young Talent is indeed expensive. Where is the other place where my boy can go to when he turn 18mths? There is one currently in RC still is it? Is that school good and how much?

daish,

i think we ard same age bah.. or maybe i'm older than u.. hahaha.. i'm halfway to mid 30s liao.

U mean Appletree at the RC? It's for 3yo only.. they count by birth year.

$160 per mth but still gotto pay for June and Dec when they have 1 mth break. U can consider Educlinic at FV Point. My boy went there for 6 mths after I withdrew him fr Appletree. My boy cried non-stop for 2 weeks at Appletree. PingPing's kid is there now.. maybe she can share more.

Should be la..me the 70s mummy

wow...cry for 2 weeks? What did the teacher do to your boy? So its for 3yo?

Anyone keen to bring your baby over to be my son play mate during afternoon time? He usually cannot sleep once he wakes up from morning nap from 1pm onwards. He is 14m now.

yes.. we r the 70s mummies. hehe.

teacher din do anything to him leh.. i was wif him throughout the 2 weeks.. he refused to let go of me.. dunno why but he just din like the classroom, environment, teacher? but he was ok at Educlinic.. funny...

<font color="0000ff">hi daish,

i hv called up fv pri and lady mentioned it is not exactly an open house. requested by a parent to view the school and happen that this group grew by numbers :p

will you be there too? :D </font>

yeah will kinda miss the provision shop although shop's appearance wasnt that great. haha

hi daish> my boy is 10mos old, &amp; he is taken care by an auntie residing @ 404A on wkdays.

Heee I actually was one of the mummy called up to request for the tour la...but unfortunate my coy arrange a course for me to attend that very day, so I cannot go lor...

FYI.

Watch out for GMO food ingredients in food labels.

Warning: This Common Food Causes Devastating Offspring Defects in New Research Study
http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/05/22/jeffrey-smith-interview-april-24.aspx

You CAN avoid GMOs, if you know what to look for.

First of all, remember there are eight genetically modified food crops:

1. Soy
2. Corn (not sure if corn from Malaysia is GMO free, anyone knows?)
3. Cottonseed (used in vegetable cooking oils)
4. Canola (canola oil)
5. Sugar from sugar beets
6. Hawaiian papaya (Should not be applicable to us, as papaya is imported from neighbouring countries)
7. Some varieties of zucchini
8. Crookneck squash (this one never heard of in Singapore, so may not be applicable to us)

Based on this list, anything containing soy or soy derivatives should be avoided (e.g. lecithin, found in most processed foods), as well as anything containing corn, the most obvious ingredient being high fructose corn syrup.

The easiest way to avoid ending up with GM foods in your shopping cart is to do some pre-planning using the free non-GMO shopping guide, available at www.NonGMOshoppingGuide.com.

Hi Mummies @ Fernvale,
juz notice this thread. I m a fernvale mummies too. Juz give birth to my 2nd child is a boy on last year national day. my elder one aleady in pri. 2. my 2nd one was not plan, m glad to experience pregnancy n child birth after 7 years
heeheheee..

thanks crayonmum.

i saw poster during on RC notice board at my block. there is a visit to Omni Theatre on Sunday, jun 27. Only S$3 for adult and child. juz sharing thought is quite worth.

Just went to see young talents at 436a. E fee are quite high at 550 after subsidy for working mum. Is e place worth e fee?any mummy with kiddie there?

I am quite new to fernvale, any more full day childcare options within walking distance from fernvale point? I only can find young talent

hi woofwoof,
I have been staying at fernvale since 2003 sep.
there is another child care center at Blk 409B and Blk 405B.

there is one child care center at the sengkang recreation center where the sengkang stadium and swimming pool is.

I went to their open house in late april2010 as well, the whole place non air con after subsidy for working mum personally my opinion i dun see it worth.

Hi April
thanks, knew about e childcare at 405 &amp; 9. It is abit tricky as my no 2 is coming and I am alone with no1, making our way to e childcare. I am at 436.

Are u saying tat e fee for young talent 436 is too high, I thought so too for a set up like tat. When I asked them abt e curiculum, nothing impressive and dun think they throw in any enrichment.

Hi Woofwoof,

yes, the blk 439 infant &amp; child care ctr dun throw in any enrichment.

my no#1 attend child care ctr at saraca rd the cambridge child care ctr, they hv music enrichment included in their curriculum. m oso sourcing any nearby good child care ctr for my no#2 for next year, when he turn 18 mths old in march2011.