Mummies in Australia?

hi Mumbebes,
I am in melbourne. Last year or the previous year, we heard of a architect who came to look for a job. He got a job after he went coldcalling at the firms. Meaning going to the archi firms and ask if they have jobs. However he got a job after 6 weeks or so of cold calling. But it is not at the same kind of position he was enjoying in sg or malaysia.

You have to be realistic. You will not get the same status and pay here as Singapore. And they usually will not offer you perm especially during this time. However, if you are good, usually they convert you to perm.

My advice is same as manta, unless you have considerable savings. One of you should come here and look for a job first. Or else, you may have to live with the possiblity of not getting a job for 6 months or more.

Unless you are very very very good, or your skills are really in demand, they will not look at your resume now if you are overseas. Becos, I heard for for the same job, the number of local applicants have increased alot compared to last time.

Hi Mumbebes / Manta / Hopeac,
My HB and I have been trying to apply for a job in Aust frm S'pore for YEARS! This despite both of us being Aust PR and my HB's occupation is in the list of high-demand skilled tradesmen.
Recently we were told, and just like Hopeac mentioned, that the employers there respond better if u knock door-to-door and doing cold calls.
So now our plan is to save up for the possibility of not getting a job for abt 6 mths - 1 year.
We plan to move in 2011, so hope we'll meet our target by then...

Hi @ndrea,
My budget is abt $50-80 aud leh...
Also, prefer to get from someone living North of the river...

hi athelete,
heheeh I am also in MODL. But it is not so easy to get job this year if you are in MODL even if you are here.

hopeac,
i'm not surprised...
even FIFO positions, which apparently were hard to fill, now they're even letting pple go...

mngo, thanks for the info. maybe ill check out perth...we were there 2 yrs ago for holiday. my hubby loves the place, but we were thinking if there are lots of job vacancies there than sydney and melbourne. but maybe ill check out. any suggestion where i can start?

manta, hopeac, thanks for the advise. yes we are considering that one moves first and find a job. hoping for the best.

athlete, where you moving to? goodluck to us!

Hi Athlete,
No worries. I'll let her know you don't want it

You can check this Ebay link for cots that are being sold in Perth.... Ebay page

Or this Gumtree page

pinkyfur,

Thanks for the info on HFMD. A bit scary cos the places that u listed r the places that we often visits.

So many virus to watch out for these days... swine flu, HFMD, so on n so forth...

glad to have found this thread ...!

am moving to Sydney next yr with 3yr old daughter + hubby.

Guess excited but lost too, not sure what/how/when to start preparing...hehee

Was reading all the archive, abit blur ..so much to catch up! lol...

If anyone still hv the check-list they relied on previously... pls pls share with me k!

thks thks

clodie
I dont have a comprehensive checklist. But these are the important stuffs
1) Medicare
2) Bank accounts
3) Centre-link
4) Car
5) Accomodation
6) School
7) Vaccination
8) Things to bring

thks mngo!!

was reading abt the sch threads earlier...wonder if they really cost AUD$100 per day for full day in Sydney!

is there any good sources to help non-PR in Aust with accomm/schs etc?

clodie
When you say sch - do you mean daycare/childcare?
If it's daycare, then YES. good ones cause that much. My son's daycare charge 71 dollars a day. and it's a normal one. He goes there to play, and dun really learn any thing.

As for the non-PR sources, i am not really sure.

hi mngo,

would you know of any gd daycare or half day sch in Sydney to recommend? ie ..near Gray St Kogarah

i guess i shd probably look for part-time then to afford the living expenses.

hopefully the schs wont have a long waiting list like ours in sg!

clodie
i hv a 3 plus old dd too...will be moving to Melb hopefully, by Dec, if not after CNY next year. Hee i've not done anything yet either as hb's work permit is still in process...i'll b sahm there though.

hi all..

anyone in perth can advised how much ur paying for house rental and utilities bill eg. water electric and home line/broadband. Cos i need to do an estimation wat to take note for mthly payments.

did u all bot a new/ 2nd hand car(cos not sure whther it's reliable like sg?)..how much roughly is the price , u'd budgeted. where to find reliable car agent?

if tings goes well my hub is going to perth by jun2010 to find a job...so at least we hope that he's stable enuff to support the whole family when we moved over to oz in jan2011.

my eldest girl will start yr 1 in feb 2011, if i cum over in may2010, can i make it to register for her? is ther any particular registration dates they have like in sg?

talkin bout mummies in Australia, makes me think of my good friend with 2 cute adorable daughter staying there. Must make time to visit them.

sarah_koh, coincidentally I got 2 daughters and am residing in Australia

Which Australia state is your friend staying in?

My hubby and I got Aus PR. going to expire end next year.. My hubby is still not prepared to move, due to good paying job here and his family.

I wanted to move, at least go there and hunt for job, but now preggie liao also new house coming next year.. seems like alot of commitment in SG and cannot move.

Anyone , Any ideas if still can renew PR or will there be hinderances if re-apply for PR since give up the first time?

Hi Pet

What hen says is important. A relation of mine, was not extended due to that reason.

You have so many committment in Spore, why move ?

Hi Pet
I agree with manta, if you have so many commitments, then do not move for the sake of moving. There are far too much challenges...

im postponing my move to Sydney till end of next yr, hubby suggested we shd apply for Aust PR now. Friends told us the process take quite long and we hv to fulfill the 2/5yrs stay before they grant us PR anyway.

so does it mean during the period while waiting for PR, we also cant get subsidies for childcare etc?

clodie,

What your frens said is wrong.

PR is granted once the application is approved.

RRV (resident return visa) is granted after you stayed a certain number of yrs in AU as a PR and it is the thing that allows you to stay in AU. You have to renew it every 5 yrs, and you can only renew it if you hit the min required stay in AU.

And I think it's no longer 2/5 yrs, shld be more... You gotta confirm this with your immigration agent.

Once you are a PR, you will be entitled to benefits and subsidies.

oh...thanks hidora!!

I better try and apply now, hopefully i can get it in time.

was in a delimma how to settle the kids, one infant and the other 4yrs old

sorry, may i know...how to apply for the baby?

Im currently expecting....was reading through the form, no section for pregnancy?

Or rather, you can only apply when the baby is out. If that's the case, I suggest you wait until you give birth then apply. Else it will be another sum of money to apply for the baby.

oic...baby is due March :p

mngo/hidora, which part of aust are your in?

looking for syd directions/accom info ..but many are in perth

Clodie,

I'm in Perth too.

Since it's just 2 more months of waiting, apply for PR after the delivery. So you can save a few k up.

clodie,

If u apply for PR now (ie b4 baby is out), then your application only covers your hubby, yourself n your 4yr old. Assuming that your PR is approved b4 your baby is born, then when your baby is born, you'll apply PR for baby under Child Migration (the baby will get a different visa class).

On the other hand, if the application is still being processed, n the baby is born, u can try to write in to advise them of changes (ie an addition to the family) n request to add one more applicant to the application. You may want to call the embassy to check if this is possible beforehand.

Then again, the save all the hassle n $$$, like what mngo & hidora advised, wait til baby is born and then apply all together lah.

thks all, yes...i think ill get all the necessary documents ready now then till bb arrives, will send in the application.

just scared that it wont be approved on time ma

Seriously, 2 mths difference in submitting is not gonna make a lot of difference. But if you are worried, and got extra cash, can always submit the application now and apply for your baby later.

And like what mngo said, submitting the form now doesn't mean you will get the PR by yr end. Kua heng sway one...

hi Clodie,
It seems, nowdays it takes much longer to get certain classes of PR. Those on bridging now takes more than 1 1/2 years, Skilled TR visas also halved. So unless your skills is on MODL, it could take much longer than you expect to get your PR.

hi Clodie,
You not a PR, you do not get medicare, centrelink and you pay full price/international for schooling. You do not get subsidy for childcare. Alot of employers also are not willing to employ those who are not already PRs.

Especially for families, it is not advisable to come without a PR. It is really expensive.

Yes, it's not advisable to come over and stay while waiting for your PR. Because if you apply for PR offshore, you have to be offshore to receive the visa. And if you apply for it in AU, you will have to be in AU to receive the visa.

Hi, can someone recommend a good public primary school in melbourne or perth? we plan to migrate to either one of these states and am starting to look for a school to enrol my son there in 2012. he will be 7 yr old then... tks.

praise
Good ah? There is no good schools here.... there are only good students that make good results!!

anyway, if you want to enroll him into those top or good result schools, it all depends on where you stay.

The schools in perth goes by zone.

Praise,
You have to realise melb and perth, the cut off month is different. Melb is 30th April and Perth is 30 June. So your son could be in different grades base on the cut off months.

So your 7 year old son could be in year 1 or year 2 depends when he is born. Year 1 work is very similar to primary 1 work, and you are expected to know how to read simple books.

In Melb, most people go to schools around their region. And in most good/safe areas, there is 1 relatively good primary school. You can to http://www.myschool.edu.au, to search by area to see the naplan results. And some schools are zoned. I think you should decide which area you want to stay first before decided the school. Becos some of the so called good public schools are located in areas where rental or housing is really very exp.