MMI @ katong shopping centre

smallbell
yeah most likely going to shaws @ braddell. will be goin down to do up the registration on wed so either start her next week or 1st week of aug. bus fees not cheap leh at $130 one way, so total including school fees will be $730. almost the same price as pats school house liao.
not sure if chloe can be on her own in the bus after the 1st week coz she's the last one to drop off. journey takes abt 30mins to reach home.

so since fees are quite close to pats, we drop by their meyer road branch to look see & its indeed a nice environment with outdoor playground & mini s/pool
but they are also full & the next avail class is in jan next year.

hi jamie,
wow, the bus fee so ex. Maybe is due to the long distance from school. Seems like more worth if place her full day at shaw and your hubby can fetch her home after work.

Pat schoolhouse is really nice. I have watched a documentary on mio tv (moms on demand channel). They will feature different childcare centers each month and saw the great environment of this meyer road one. Lots of caucasian children there too.

smallbell
ya lor the bus fee really ex leh. we even explore buying a cheap 2nd hand car next year when my boy is ready for preschool so i can fetch them fr school.
we will gradually put chloe to full day probably second half of next year, all the way to K2.

yup, pats schoolhouse really nice!! i must say their outdoor playground is much better compare to shaws. chloe loves it haha... they also using thematic approach & learing thru play. i asked chloe which one she likes, she said both!! *faint*

hi jamie,
that's a good idea, can also get weekend car if the school timing is outside office hours. Must let her try out shaw first. Hope she enjoys. Is it aircon for shaw?

Patricia : She can't cook when she first came. Sent her for 8 sessions of training with my mom and then she's on her own coz' I give birth liao.

Quite true, we can't 100% trusts but sometimes we gotta let go a little, otherwise it's very straining for a SAHM = go crazy! And if there's your inlaws or parents to help supervise, shouldn't be a problem.
I am really blessed that I was given a good helper though she is a "qian jing xiao jie" back home. She's very playful so she could go crazy and play with the kids at their level. And since we're living alone, no help whatsoever. I gotta learn to trust her, treat her very well so that she work also gum-guan

When is this music enrichment?

hi smallbell,
oh.... i didnt sign up e gym becos ZH says he dont want... as for e music class is becos we prefer something tat after attending few month he can play e piano type which i guess mmi one cant provide. Anyway I've call seimpi n so lucky tat they are starting a new class from Aug for Zhaohui's age group.... which is known as MIM in ME. every sunday 930am... at e same timing they have another class which fit SiZhen age group so we can bring both of them to school at e same time n morning is e best timing for them, me n hubby will each attend a class.

hi jamie,
non air con will be suitable for chloe. If shaw braddell is good, you can switch her back to the mountbatten one in future, then nearer for you.

hi lily,
i agree, got to also let go when come to maid. She will feel that you trust her as well.

The music enrichment is on every tuesday afternoon.

hi elaine,
oic, that's great. Keep us updated on the sempi class after you attend.

elaine
yeah do give us feedback on sempi, if its good then will put my boy there so dont hv to travel to tanglin

hv finally enrol chloe at shaws braddell. starting 1st week of aug.

elaine
initially i also tot different level different colours, but its not. we can wear any colour we like fr the 3. not cheap too, 1 set is $30! for a start, needs 3 sets. think by the time we put chloe full day, may need more liao.

hi jamie,
do try posting on forum or do a search here. Last time i bought mmi uniform from a mom who decide to change school. All the sets are new ones and also sold me the mattress cover.

finally sign up e music classes for ZH n SZ but is at their Funan centre main branch cos when i call e branch last wk e phone was diverted to funan centre without my knowledge so last saturday happily go down to sign up then realise they do not have new classes coming up then e lady ask me did i call on mon or tue cos they closed every mon n tue then e phone line will be directed to e main branch :{
so disappointed but lucky hubby says funan centre also not very far so we went on sunday early morning to take a look at SZ class which is ongoing at e same time register for e class.

hi smallbell,
how's everythg getting on with ur pregnancy??
ya i remember seeing patrick wearing a t-shirt is printed MMI(thomson) isit?? heheee

hi elaine,
oh yes, recall seeing a music school at funan branch. But car parking fees at funan is quite ex. When will they start first lesson?

thanks, pregnancy is ok. Just that during detail scan found baby small size so now i am bucking up on drinking milk and eating lots of durian. Hope can let bb gain more weight. But strange is i am gaining lots of weight but does not go to baby. Oh ya, he wore MMI thomson shirt. Teachers also asked me why is thomson, so i told them i bought from another mom.

smallbell
yeah eating durian really "bu" leh. moreover now durian season & cheap too
otherwise if u can take beef, also can make baby bigger.

hi jamie,
ya e class for ZH start this sunday.... whereas SZ class in ongoing type which dont need to really start from e very begining...

Smallbell,
we park our car at ROM centre carpark then walk down to funan centre.... is free parking on sunday

ya durians can really make baby grow bigger...
dont worry abt small baby both my kids are very small at birth.... one is 2.385kg and e other is 2.18kg... but all growing fine
As long as they are healthy

hi jamie,
oh yes, i love beef. But would prefer those half cooked ones, now can only take those well done beef. For durian, quite strange, i thought is suppose to be heaty as my body used to be very heaty. I used to take just one seed of durian and will get sore throat. Now i can eat 2 whole durian and nothing happens. Could be hormone changed or body became cooling.

hi elaine,
good idea to park at ROM. Do agree with you that healthy is more important, not the birth weight. Are zhaohui and sizhen born earlier than due date?

hi smallbell,
ya both born earlier.... ZH was born exactly at 37wks cos i beg e gynae to induce me as i cant stand vomiting everyday throughout e whole pregnancy....
but for SZ we wanted to wait till 39wks... but who know during e 35wk c/u e gynae says she is not growing much inside.... so ask me to go for another detail scan and also give me a jab to let her lungs grow faster then at wk 36 he suggested to induce her out cos it can be dangerous since she is not growing well inside, so SZ is slightly premature but lucky e lungs are alrite so she dont need to go to NICU....

smallbell
yeah i also feel during pregnancy our body can really take heaty stuff, so i think its due to hormone change.

dont worry too much, healthy is the most important.

hi elaine,
wow, SZ was high risk but 36 weeks is not really premature, still ok birth weight. Any plans for ZH birthday in school? will you be getting the costume?

i just bought the goody bags, will get the sweets next week. Yesterday one of the student birthday, gave a nice ben 10 bag with home made cookie and cup cakes. I think that is a very good idea. But i don't know how to make cookies, so this is out.

hi jamie,
thanks. Healthy most important.

smallbell
so what will u be doing for patrick's birthday in school? i read thru shaws handbook & they dont allow any goody bags, that will save some money for me haha...

hi jamie,
only get a thomas train cake, give goody bag, make jelly and do some balloon dogs. Hur? why shaw do not allow goody bag? could it be objection from parents?

smallbell
they dont allow sweets & chocolates which i think most parents put these in the goody bags. coz it will melt & attract ants. they only allow birthday cakes, but will check with them again nearer to date.

when is teachers' day? do we need to give presents to teachers? coz saw in the BP thread selling honey as teachers' day gift.

hi jamie,
maybe can just give balloon or stationery inside the goody bag. If no food items should be alright. Teacher day is 1 Sep, last time i give a box of chocolates for teacher to share. Not sure if need individual gift. Oh ya, i saw the teacher day gift, also got one BP on musical bag for teachers, very cute.

smallbell
thanks for your suggestion on goody bag, but just realise chloe's birthday is on sunday so not sure want to celebrate in school.

there are 3 teachers in chloe's class so not sure if shd get indivdual gift or like u suggest give a box of chocolates for them to share.
her form teacher called me today to "touch base" coz chloe starting school on monday. was surprised to receive the call but its indeed a nice gesture.

ya teacher's day is coming soon.... how to buy individual gift huh... so many teachers...
if only give Zhaohui's teacher like very bad leh cos e rest of e teacher also got look after him in e afternoon...
let me see.... ZH's form class teacher will be teacher maz and yi lao shi, then e rest of e teachers he always mention will be gao lao shi, teacher siti, teacher amy, teacher stella, teacher Shuying.... if only give these few teacher will e rest mind?? if need to give all then will be alot... :p

hi jamie,
normally you can celebrate earlier, at least let her spend time with her classmates, will be quite fun. This new school teachers very caring, will even call up to ask about chloe. Keep us updated after she attend her first lesson.

Patrick's birthday is national day, so normally is holiday. We celebrate earlier in his case yearly.

hi elaine,
mmi abit difficult, there are at least 10 over teachers. So i just buy general gift (chocolates) for them to share.

elaine
i think for ZH's class teachers, u can give individual. The rest of the teachers in school just buy 1 gift (like chocolate) for all to share? thats what i intend to do for chloe.

thanks for e advise.... still got 1 month to go...nvm...maybe buy cake or cookies...

smallbell,
Patrick likes thomas e train isit??

how hv u all been?
my boy is going to start CC next wk... but not at CH @ Wareham
Going to My First Skool instead cos it's much cheaper there. Will see if suit him or not first. Is there anything that need to prepare?

Btw, do any of u know of any good PD around Katong/Parkway area?

hi bbethan
how are u? move to new place liao? u put your boy at my first skool along guillemard rd? my gal also starting school next week, i hv put her at shaws @ braddell. normally the school will let u know what to prepare & bring to school.

my PD for jabs is at glenE where i delivered. for sickness, i go to kinderclinic at parkway/ paragon & eastshore.

jamie
Super busy managing 2 kids. feel bad that I'm not spending quality time with boy. Trying to settle girl into a routine. Busy busy... no time for myself. I have not yet move. the reno is tortise slow. hoping to move before the 7th lunar mth. if not got to wait till Sep already. Yes... my boy's going to the one along guillemard rd. the school did tell me what to bring. was wondering what else to prepare him mentally. i'm v sure he's going to cry the whole place down for the next few wks.

Oh.. i heard abt Kinderclinic. They have a few clinics around the island right? Which dr is good? I usually go to the PD at GlenE too but is for sickness. Now looking for one nearer our place for jabs. But if Dr is good for sickness too, then may change to there too.

bbethan
i can understand how busy, esp after your 2nd one's arrival. till now i still dont hv time for myself too.
maybe u can try telling your boy more abt school, making new friends & also will get to learn alot of things which might interest him.

the PD at parkway is Dr Vas. she is good & very detailed. the clinic only opens in the morning & in the afternoon, she will be at paragon. her appts are usually full so i normally just walk in, but waiting time is abt 1hr. so usually i will bring my gal to walk ard 1st, the nurse will call me when its our turn.
my boy however visits the clinic at eastshore. think the PD is Dr Cheung, sorry cant remember coz my boy dont fall sick that often compared to my gal. the clinic is not that crowded & they open at nite too.

elaine
hows 1st lesson with seimpi?

smallbell
i just received a flyer today, there's a new preschool opening at eastgate - kinder U. u may hv received it too since u staying nearby
the preschool seems pretty good, haiz ... was looking high & low for preschool a few mths ago & couldnt find any suitable. timing not rite haha... hope chloe will like shaws & settle well there.

hi jamie,
SiZhen enjoys e class, but Zhaohui thought SiZhen is in e same class with him but in e end when he dont see his sister he keeps asking for her lor...
for e class i really need to know wat e teacher is teaching then come back to teach Zhaohui lor... e 1st lesson already play on e keyboard liao... quite fast
but i dont really like e teacher cos not local so her english abit different....

Patricia : I can't help but notice your entry on eating durians to "plump up baby". I used to have this mentality and worry so much about Aricia, who's really small. At the advice of my mom I went to eat durian every week.
Close to delivery, was talking to a chinese medical hall lady and she told me can't eat too much durian. Child will be ADHD. Gasp! A bit too late for me....
Guess milk is safer. Go for Ensure.
Ps : I've PM-ed you

jamie
thanks for the recommendation. i'll prob go Parkway then since nearer. today's my boy first day to cc. Fingers crossed that he'll adapt well. this morning, he cried when he sees that i'm not going out with him. keep sticking to me. usually if daddy or grandma brings him out, he's ok n will say bye bye to me. think maybe he knows what's going on.

hi elaine,
patrick had thomas cake last year and this year still insist on thomas.
so fast zhaohui on the keyboard. Does he need to purchase any musical instrument to practice at home?

hi jamie,
oh wow, another cc at eastgate? I have not receive the flyer. How much does the fee costs?

hi bbethan,
nice to have you back here. Hope your boy will enjoy cc.

hi lily,
thanks for sharing about the music class. Durian will cause ADHD? but the big problem is that not sure why this pregnancy i cannot take in too much milk. I will feel like puking after just one cup of milk. I used to be milk lover, during 1st pregnancy can also take 6-7 cups of milk per day. Then i might need to consider taking more beef now, since durian is out as well.

Anyone brought their kids to dentist yet? 2 weeks back patrick had a bad toothache, brought him to the kids dentist at united square (recommended by forum moms here). Very good service and he is not afraid. They played Hi-5 show, wash the teeth gently and gave reward sticker at the end of the session. But very ex, $120 just for washing. I wonder if there are any other dentist that might charge less?

elaine
think its normal for ZH to look for his mei mei. chloe does that too, coz they usually play & do things together mah.
so u must also pay attention in class since u need to practise with ZH at home

hows seimpi compare to kindermusik?

bbethan
u didnt accompany your boy? or someone else will? otherwise very poor thing leh esp he's in full day rite?
i went for the mother toddler class on every sat before my gal started half day in MMI, so as to let her familiarise with the teachers & school environment.

smallbell
the kinder U fees seems reasonable. they having promo now for 1st 40 students, full day only at $550 which includes enrichment classes like kindermusik, english speech & drama, kids gym ...etc., sounds good to me

i hv not brought chloe to dentist yet coz i feel she may not be ready. but the kids dentist u went sounds good since they hv entertainment to distract the kids but really ex leh.