MMI @ katong shopping centre

just spoke to Mei, unfortunately cant waive off the school fees due to their franchaise regulations

hi smallbell,
thanks for e advise...
Actually i like MMI very much.... n can see Zhaohui is learning there... but when comes to money MMI is really ex... We will see how it goes... actually hubby says let ZH stay in MMI for 2 yrs then change cos he wants ZH to build up his language since MMI's teachers speak very good english.... n i must say tat so far Yu lao shi n Gao lao shi show their patient to my boy too which i like it very much....
I actually wants to let ZH stay throughout e whole N1-K2 but after calculating... is really ex... 1 yr $700*12= $8400 then *2 which will come to 1 yr $16800... *faint*
I believe they are really worth e money.... but will Cherie hearts which cost half e price give such good service too?? I went to one at eunos link.... terrace hse... but condition of e place sucks..... teacher "sian sian" also can u imagine when i'm there they also give those kind of attitude.... tat is SUPER BAD...

hi jamie,
then no choice, wasted a month. But maybe when Chloe recovers, no need to be mc for one month, could return to school soon.

hi elaine,
maybe you check out the other one at starhub centre and see how is it. Do agree with your hubby that the foundation years is very important. Your maid left already or will be leaving? another suggestion is to get a maid and send both children half day MMI.

Back at NTUC, though cheap but i do agree that the teachers don't give much attention. One teacher complain to me that they have lack of staff and the ratio is many students to a teacher. I get to sit in the class for a few days when Patrick first enter the cc. When the main teacher is busy preparing the stuff for the next activity, they just ask the cooking auntie (the one cleaning the floor) to sing songs to the kids. So her chinese is the hokkien style chinese. After 5pm the teacher just switch on the tv to let kids watch, all the way till parents come to pick up.

hi smallbell,
maid will be leaving end of this yr...
didnt know cc do on TV for e children to watch... **faint**
i will go over starhub centre take a look... anyway still got few months...

hi elaine,
at MMI they have no tv, so this is good. Kids wait at playground for parents to pick up. At NTUC, for instance i always pick up 7pm on the dot, so the students already watched 2 hour of tv daily from 5-7pm.

just curious, how much is the maid cost per month?

hi linaang,
MMI school environment is pleasant. There are no separation of rooms for the different classes, only low shelves. There is a play room inside the school itself. Teachers are patient with their students. You can take a school visit and see if your child likes the school. Hope this helps.

hi Lina,
I agree with smallbell,
MMI (Katong) has very clean environment with patient teachers.
hi smallbell,
my maid salary is $320 per mth plus $170 maid levy.

hi smallbell,
little tree house, ubi development, cherie hearts at Jalan Eunos, cherie heart at Ubi, n 1 more cant remember e name but is malay foundation one..... so far i have been to all except one.... then all not good :p as compared to MMI :p

ya lor... might check at later part of e yr or let meimei go mmi 1st.... then see how..

Jamie,
How's chloe now?? since they cant wavier off e sch fees then u might want to consider letting her back in sch if not very wasted.
Is really part n parcel of their life to get sick when they just go into sch....
My little girl dont need to go sch also cant be sick cos pass by Zhaohui :p hope this can make her immune system stronger before she start sch.

Smallbell n jamie,
I will be celebrating SiZhen 1st birthday on 30th May (saturday)... would like to invite u n ur family. I will let both of u know e exact time n detail when it comes nearer

elaine
thanks for the invitation

chloe is ok liao but still on neubralier till next week. but hubby wants her to stop school as per our PD instruction till mid next mth lor, anyway will see how lah, i also feel so wasted for the school fees.
my boy is just like Sizhen, also will kenna sick coz pass by chloe keke...
u mentioned last time that 2 of your kids sleep together in the same room & same bed. they dont kick each other when they asleep? coz mine both of them can turn 180 degrees leh.

hi jamie,
so far they dont really kick each other la... just tat sometimes Sizhen will put her leg on Zhaohui's stomach or vice verse then e other party will make some noise then i will faster separate them then they will continue there sleep... but some times if they dont make any noise i wont know then only found out when i wake up lor.... they also do turn 360degree one... but dont really go to e extend of kicking each other ...(maybe got kick but i dont know...)
there r days when i will sleep inbetween both of them too...
u r placing both of them in separate rooms?? for me i have 2 queen size bed on my masterbedroom them hubby zzz on one then me n 2 kids sleep on e other one.... wait till both of u come to my girl party then u will understand how we zzzz

elaine
i sleep with my boy in my room & hubby sleep with chloe in her room. last time wanted to train chloe to sleep on her own but she's very wakeful at nite for assurance & very tiring for us to always go to her room when she wakes up so hubby decide to sleep with her lor coz then i'm already pregnant with my boy so need more rest. chloe sleeps on a super single mattress while hubby sleeps on a tatami mat. both cant sleep together coz hubby too big size liao & chloe always kicks him off.
my boy still sleeps on the cot. was thinking to put them sleep together in the same room when he knows how to walk. intend to get those kids bed fr ikea. just hope the 2 of them can sleep well together.

hi jamie,
wow... ur boy still sleep in e baby cot... so good
my girl only sleep for e 1st few nites then i bring her to sleep beside me so easier to BF at nite... after tat she refused to go back to e baby cot... heheheee actually becos i'm lazy to pat her at her cot so put her beside me is easier

ya i did saw e bed at ikea but very small only rite?? it looks even smaller than a single bed in terms of e length. Anyway i havent decide wat to buy for ZH n SZ once they have their own room... cos still dont know when it will happen
talking abt this it makes me very sian sian sian liao....

hi jamie,
Maybe during the meantime just home school Chloe so that she get used to cc time table when she returns.

BTW, how do you manage to keep them occupied at home? when i was SAHM, starting part very on, will prepare all the teaching materials, do all the fun stuff then time goes, become lazier. Then i gave up, return back to work.

elaine
chloe & my boy never sleep with me or hubby on the same bed, we dont want to make it habitual otherwise its going to be difficult to make them sleep on their own.
yup the ikea's bed is smaller than a single size normal bed, its those children size. but i tik the only disadvantage is hv to get their bedsheets fr them. we still hv not decide coz both of my kids are quite tall so we may end up get 2 normal single size bed.

smallbell
chloe's attention is very short. hv tried telling story but not very successful. as for phonics, i only know a handful coz already stop the sat mother toddler class so i dont know the lyrics for the alphabets. so now i let her draw & colour & let her watch those educational program like barney & hi5 which she enjoys.

hi jamie,
SiZhen never win lor.... during photo taking she didnt smile cos she is sleepy liao...
then after she wake up i brought her for health checkup.... but she didnt respond much when e nurse give her some blocks to see how she react...
nevermind la... is a good experience... e one tat wins got lots of experience liao... cos she was on TV last year participating e TCS baby contest....

smallbell,
no la... is e winner, we recognised her she participate in e baby contest held at jurong point last yr... very sweet n pretty girl.

elaine
its ok lah, wrong timing. near to nap time sleepy & after nap still abit stoning. but its a gd experience lah.

hi ladies.....
gOOd afternOOn...

Yesterday taught Zhaohui how to make a caterpillar using recycle eggs carton n intend to let him bring to sch today but he refused to bring it saying that cannot let his friend see... so in e end never bring.
\
Jamie,
how's Chloe n ur little boy??

Smallbell,
yesterday saw ur hubby got fetch Patrick from school cos i went very late too....

elaine
both of them are great! tks for asking. my boy super active now, learning to walk. just brought chloe for a swim tis morning

wow u so creative ah? shd bring to school to "show off" mah

hi jamie,
i'm not creative la... i saw it on babycenter website :p
Zhaohui dont like us to mention anythg abt his sch when he is at home leh.... when he is at home we ask him do u like this teacher that teacher... all he will say dont like same to his friends... but when he saw e facebook photos of his friends then he will be super excited n name us e name of his friends..... weird weird boy

hi elaine,
i saw the caterpillar pics in your FB, so cute. I was laughing at the funny comments you indicated on Sizhen with the caterpillar. And very creative leh, did you take a long time to do it? Maybe Zhaohui still not familiar with his friends, should be ok soon.

Hubby sends him to school as he was not working that day.

hi jamie,
how is Chloe?

hi smallbell,
very easy to do want.... just go buy 30 eggs those put on e cardboard carton type... then cut 1 part out, paint it with watever colour u like.... let it dry using a fan, while waiting u take those nylon string n cut into small pieces n tie a knot on it. then take a black marker then colour a piece of tissue paper black then roll it into a small ball to be e eyes...
after e paint is dry, u just need to glue e eyes n also paste e legs underneath e body of e caterpillar.... take ard an hr if ur paint dries up very fast.

smallbell
chloe is doing fine. shall let her enjoy her "honeymoon" before resuming school mid next mth haha ...
btw, just checking, does MMI increase school fees every year? hubby was working out the sums, feels that its kind of ex to send both of my kids there by the time my boy is ready for N1.

elaine
wow your caterpillar sounds interesting! shall take a look in your FB

hi elaine,
that's easy. I will try to find time to do it.

hi jamie,
yes, let her enjoy first. MMI does not have a fix timing to increase school fees. So far, they increased once only, saying that due to the school high cost, so they increase. For working mom, i had subsidy, so that was quite alright. How much subsidy do you have now?

How about choosing flexi hours for your boy when he is N1. I feel that younger kids don't really need half day school, more important is the K1 and K2.

smallbell
for half day program, subsidy is $150 for both working & non working mums.
i did equire abt flexi hrs program before but not in MMI. most schools/ CC actually dont really encourage that.

hi jamie,

tat's also wat me n hubby calculated when we thought of meimei need to go in next yr...
But seems like e school is quite alrite so if we change will it be a better one or worst... headache

both of u r so quiet today

Wanna share a few nice place to bring ur kids during ur free time...
they are e farm in Lim Chu Kang

Yesterday i brought ZH n SZ to e organic farm, frog farm n koi farm in lim chu kang n ZH enjoys it.....

elaine
i'm bz planning my trip to perth lor.
wow u really go all the way to LCK? aiyo how can u tahan our weather bringing the kids there? i'm one lazy mum here keke...

i used to stay in LCK so very familiar with that area.... sunday weather was very gOOd... cos is those kind of want to rain dont rain weather... with a bit of dizzling then stop.....
u going to perth?? when??
1 of my good friend is there n actually wanna go there to stay with her but hubby cant get long leave so i dont want to go for just a few days then come back.... i heard a friend saying SQ got some promotion so e tickets r very cheap... but must book by end of this month.

i'm goin in june. i know its school holiday but no choice coz my hubby can only get leave during this period. our usual trip is usually abt 5 days coz hubby also cant take very long leave.
wow u can save on accommodation since your buddy is there. we usually stay in svc apt so at least i can cook for the kids lor.
yup, SQ got promo now, just in time for that keke...

Hi elaine,
i went to the frog farm before. Are you referring to the organic vegetable farm Bollywood? I also visited the goat farm but i think now touching the goats are not allowed.

Hi jamie,
Perth will be nice for the kids. Enjoy your trip!

hi smallbell,
not e bollywood organic farm... another one cos e bollywood farm needs to pay to go in so i only been there once.
Ya e goat farm is closed since dec or jan till now still cannot let ppl feed e goat, nowadays Zhaohui keeps saying want to go to feed goat so we tell him e goat sick :p
jamie,
so u always go there?? i nv been to australia but see how 1st lor... cos if i want to go i prefer a real long one like 10days+++ which is not easy since hubby leave is reserved to study his exams...

elaine
yup, i been there a few times liao. funny thing is when i was young i really dont like perth, coz its boring & slow. now with kids, its a different story haha...
my last trip was when chloe is 10mths, as its our 1st trip with our bb, we did it slow & easy lah afterall its meant to be a relaz trip so we didnt really do much. now she's older, i tot it would be interesting to bring her to the farm.

wow u so ambitious ah? 10 over days to cover western australia?? keke... i think u hv to wait till your hubby finish his course. by then it's also much easier coz both zhaohui & sizhen are older liao. they will appreciate & understand more.

Hi elaine,
aiyo, goat farm close. Think they are afraid of disease. That's a nice place for visit. Is the Qian Hu fish farm at LCK as well? i had wanted to visit when i saw people doing fish spa there.

Hi jamie,
i agree, perth is more relax and would be really educational too, with the farm animals to feed and fruit trees.

Qian Hu is nearer to Choa Chu Kang estate.... but u have to drive to e old choa chu kang area.
I've tried e fish spa twice... quite nice... Patrick will like e place becos he can catch fish there.

hi elaine,
wow, sounds good. Next time i visit. Or can suggest to school for excursion. Last time they only went to kids kampong at Pasir Ris.