IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

so stressful.... this is my 6th week and i saw red yesterday! it's just a gush of red when i went peeing! i was so scared.. luckily, I happen to have an appt with my doc for a scan so was just about to set off to the clinic with my hubby... the doc scanned and saw 2 sacs, one with heart beat, one not yet... he immediately gave me a jab of progesterone. he said tat my preg is not stable and is suspecting that my hormones are not sufficient to support the twin preg. must really bedrest and reduce movement the next few days... and 3 days later, go for jab again.

now, is much better.. no more red. praying hard that all will be well and the twin babies will fight this battle with me..

Ashly

Is difficult to tell ppl, esp your boss, hey, I can't meet the dealine cos I am "different status" now. So sometimes rather don't say anything. And I never pin hope that other "normal" ppl will understand us, there is no such thing. They will say, pregnant only mah... what is a big deal??

Dodo

As long as you are under close monitoring, should be alright.

And not everybody can see the heartbeat in 6 weeks, but can only see it 1 or 2 weeks later, so don't worry too much. But you really need to have bed rest for this period.

koala,
i suggest you may want to discuss with your boss on your work areas and job scope if you really foresee there would be disruptions and you are having difficulties meeting the deadlines. your boss can help to see if other colleagues can help to cover you in some of your areas. ya... other people may not fully understand, but if you share more about what you had gone through, I believe most people will understand. well, I am speaking based on my own experience cos I shared quite a lot with my close working colleagues and bosses and they had been very supportive so far.

Dodo

I want to say that you are very lucky to have such supportive colleaugues and bosses. But, unfortunately, not every body can have that luck.

Moreover, my boss is not in the "most people will understand" group. As I told Jeni before, even I told him I need to have bed rest due to my unstable condition, he still asked me to go back to office to follow-up/complete the job on hand. (And he knew that I had 1 m/c history before). So since then I know even I tell him how much suffer I have been through, it is useless.

Stacy,
not realli all boy boy.. some do have princess too

Rae,
so far haven set up my cot,playpen n pack my bag yet

Koala

Are you back at work this week? If not, hope u are resting well at home...
as u can see, most of the employers here in SG are quite "kee siao", they have zero tolerance esp for us ladies trying to start our families... *sigh*

hui,
tink u can do it next month
at least get the basic, nec & impt stuff ready. Others, can ask ur hubby to buy as & when needed

Koala

Thanks for the info

how's your appetite? Me still okay... still can eat but get bloated very easily... You at home?
I dare not go shopping for clothes yet...

Ashly

Why dare not go shooping? I mean if you really can't fit in to your current clothing, must buy new one mah. But I think the mert. clothing may be too big for me as my shoulder is very small, see how lah.

My appetite good but is only for half day, after about 4 or 5 p.m., the bloatedness start to kick in until the next morning.

In office also can log in mah. Where is your kee siao boss? Not disturbing you liao?

Koala

Lucky this is my last week of work... really running out of clothes to wear... none of my pants can zip, for the past 2 weeks, everyday wear skirts to work... i look like a fat cow now.

My "kee siao" boss go for his tea-break liao... this morning he called for meeting and then ask me to "wrap up" my work... he think "wrap up" so easy... have to be detailed or else sure "kena" complained after i leave... *sigh*

koala,
if it really gets unbearable, then you may want to think about leaving the job cos, really your little darling is more important! pls take care there ...

Ashly

Hack care, after you go, where can he complian? Unless you want him to write you a referral letter, if not, just "keh keh" and write some outstanding list for him loh.

Dodo

Thanks. I will. U take care too.

Ashly,
How many months are you now? Is it singleton or twins? Pardon me for being backdated...
Did you go back to Dr Toh for 'an tai yao'?
Please take care of yourself!

Jeni

Yes... been awhile... i'm only still in "weeks" *sigh*... still a long way to go
Mine is also a singleton like yours

Nope, Dr Du didn't give me any medication, but we are in close contact.
How's work? Do take it easy okay... esp when your boy gets active... heh... heh...

jeni,
3rd trimester starts 28 weeks onwards. having a maid is always an extra burden. but again, you get ppl to do things for you. especially now we are preg.cos for me i cook everyday, and all the washing i can get her to do for me, so that i can cut down on the standing time spend verytime i cook. i just start to have swollen feet, i guess i have stand too long.so far she's doing alright, cos only me and hb.sometimes hb flew off and left with me with the maid. there is really not a lot of things for her to do at this moment. so i told her to slowly learn and do things properly. if dono can ask. but when next time baby comes things will be different already.

i have not bought pramp yet. but already have a particular brand in mind. I'm getting maclare. i will only get it aft baby is born. cos 1st few months i wont need it. even i do, my cousin can spare me one of hers. she has twin boys(not IVF) and she happen to keep 2 sets of trollers. Lucky me hor? hehe.... as for diapers, hb got a pack from japan when he was there. It's actually mamipoko, but over there they name it differently. and his fren told him tat it's very good buy from there. so he brought back 1 pack. wanted to buy more but couldn't carry back so many at one time... hope he gets more japan trip, so can stock up more. otherwise will just buy from NTUC loh. my cousin told me mamipoko is good for new born though.

Stacy,
my maid is from indonesia. we brought her in ourselves without going thru agency. you heard abt this Capt Budhi? who's doing charity work for the poor over in indonesia, help them to get a job in singapore.... we got the maid from him. he doesn't charge us a penny. and the maid gets to earn her money the moment she starts working. unlike those agencies will make them work for nothing during the first 9 months... Now the naid so free like i told Jeni, i ask her to make kaya for me. hehe... i've been craving for that for many months. but making kaya will need to stand there for 2 hours to keep stiring, plus the preparations also not good for me to do it myself now. so since the maid is here, she do it for me loh. Smart hor??

i'm now seeing Dr. every 3 weeks. hope you will get to see your bb's gender this coming Fri ya.

koala,
hi hi, of cos i remember you lah. just tat i seldom post these days.... hope you are doing good. i also gave her a time table to follow. but at this moment, though she finish all the routin things yet have lot of time left. so i will think of other things for her to do. whenever i do baking i can get her to do all the washing, like tat i can enjoy my baking more. hehe.... but now my legs start to swell, i also don dare to stand too long already. but i still very very 'GIAN' to bake. haha...

i don ask her to cook. i'm afraid she make mistakes and i will get upset. plus i stil cant trust her hygiene standard when handling my food stuff. somehow she's still very new. i rather my hb eat my cook food if possible. i'll just tell her what to prepare and clean the uncooked items, then let her do the washing aft i done wt the cooking loh. now got to teacher to speak english. or else she always want to speak bahasa to us. when she's free, i write her some english words and told her look up the dictionary. hope she will learn bit by bit.

renee

We have no choice but got to ask the maid to cook as I am working. I have trained her to wash her hands first before start cooking. But last time during weekend, I always cook myself and asked her to do the washing. But now, I couldn't stand the smell, so got to ask her to prepare every meal.

But, frankly if I have a choice, I wouldn't want a maid although is very nice no need to do house work at home.

How much you pay her every month? So if she is not through agency, you really have to teach her every single thing.

koala,
Ya i know what you mean. during the 1st 3 months i also couldn't stand the cooking smell. so whenevr hb's around he will do the cooking.

i'm paying her a little less than others, but will increase her pay aft 3 months. so far she's quite easy to teach. and she knows how to find things to do when she finished most her chores. and have not reach the vomit blood stage yet. haha....

renee

Actually I was a very hot-tempered person, but I have to face the maid since day 1 I got married, I bo bian and have to learn to be patient to them, if not, just like you said, vomit blood...Most of the chores, I will try to do it myself until I was in 2WW.

Ya, is not easy for me during this period, every day run out of idea what to eat, sometimes can't even finish half portion of the foods, I will push it to my HB liao. So now, the results is he has already put on 3 kg but I lost 1 kg... ha ha.

koala,
i heard some mothoer to be lost weight during the 1st 3 months of preg. but later when the MS is gone they will enjoy thier food very much and there after when the honeymoon period will come-2nd trimester. hope your MS will go away soon and start to eat well and bb grow healthy. i know how terrible it is now. you feel very hungry, yet when the food is right in front of you, you simply can eat. end up your hb is the one who put on weight. but for our bb this is worth it. my MS gone when i step into 11 week. then i start to eat well and good appetite. some more i move like as if i'm not preg. but now, i move like an elephant.... aft standing too long i feel starining at my back and tummy. must sit down and rest. now i get maid to help me to do some preparation for cooking, i feel much better.

if you can, try to nap and sleep early. don be like me. always sleep at 12a.m. every night. next time i think my bb wil also be late bird. i will have hard time to make him go zzz.....

renee

Ya, I hope I can eat more after my 1st trim, I was a big eater, can eat two plates of chicken rice last times, ha ha..

You now is in 3rd trim will be a bit "clumsy", so now just fully utilise your maid to help you through.

I couldn't sleep much cos always wake up in middle of the nite and have to eat some snack before go to sleep again. Partly also easy to worry this lah... Dr Loh said I am over-worried. Hope everything will be fine.

Cath,
I'm In week 19 now. Have already bought the support belt but not yet used it. My skin also feels itchy easily, b4 pregnancy I already have very sensitive skin. At nite, I only get to sleep 2-3 hrs bcos night rashes will appear and suprisingly it will gone off in the morning. Now, I only try to catch some sleep in the daytime, or else I'm going to turn PANDA bear soon. The other problem I have is swollen legs. All the old shoes have worn out and have to buy new sandals, that make walking more comfortable.
Same as you I've confirmed B/B in my last detail scan. hi-5!
779929.gif
. Both birdies are clearly shown on the screen by sonographer.

Renee,
You are rightto suggest there should be at least 1 boy and I ended with 2 boys. Think my princess dream is hard to achieve. Dun dare to try the 2nd round
but still contented with the result as both bbs are healthy and I've passed the OG test.

Congrats, Stacy!
Two little boys!
Think you can start buying things now as later, it will be too tiring and difficult for you to shop around.
I have started my shopping yesterday and bought a cot which can be converted into a toddler bed as well as a reading sofa when my junior is older. I think it is very useful.

Thanks! Thanks! Jeni,
I think we can set up boy's club here hee..
I just bought a normal cot, plan to re-decorate 1 shared room for my boys when they turn 3. Now, plan to let them sleep with us.
Have you done the Glucose test? I was given apppt at 9am and i reached the treatment rm aroung 8.45am and it was already very crowded (think everyone is given the same 9am slot) and had to wait until 9.30am to have blood drawn, later I was given a big cup of sweet glucose drink ( veri-veri sweet type)so be prepared. The nurse told pls dun vomit out, orelse will have repeat the whole process..Have to wait for another 2 hrs to have another round of blood test. So my precious and I almost fast for 11 hours plus then can start to have intake. The most "xingKu" part is when hunger striked, cant eat. So should eat alot more on the eve, so at least stomach will not so empty. Dr said Luckily the result shows normal, not need to prick daily."PHEW!" Must cut down on sweet things. Now i am more conscious of sweetie stuff. Dun wish to repeat the test again.
Now my consultation is once every 3 weeks, instead of monthly.WOW! Can see my bbs more frequent.
781920.gif

Stacy,
I don't think I can withstand the hunger. I have been suffering from gastric pain...it is very uncomfortable. The test is being scheduled on the 11th May, so maybe by then, I will feel better hopefully.
Have you been to the shun li industrial park to look at the baby stuff?
I am planning to get a peg perego stroller but not sure whether it is worth it. Do you have any idea which brand to get?

Jeni,
I 've only been to Kakit Bukit Industrial to look at baby stuff. There are 2 hypermart and usually very crowded over weekend. Not too sure of the stroller brand, as I only look at twins stroller and it is quite limited in the market, only with less than 3 brands.
Yesterday been to OG (Chinatown) and there is 20% sales. Bought something there and Still waiting for GSS , hopefully can complete the shopping list by then and rest for the next 2 months.

Stacy,
the 2 hypermart that you talked about are the same ones that I told you. Peg Perego has twin strollers too. I took one brochure and saw this model for twins is fantastic as I think the seat can be turned so that the twins can dace each other. How fun would that be! The model is DUETTE SW.
I am thinking of getting the shopping done by GSS too so that I can rest after that as even now, I get tired easily, especially my feet and back.

Stacy,
Yeah, we can start a B/B thread.

Stacy and Jeni,
I've bought my strollers from Combi, 2 single one as I read from somewhere that twin stroller are very difficult to control when it comes to shopping centre or narrow entrance/exit. Therefore my hb and I decided on 2 single one instead, or we can just bring 1 stroller out while the other baby being put on the sling or baby carrier. Another reason for us to do that is sometimes, u might not want to bring 2 babies out (eg, 1 is sick), u can easily just put 1 baby in 1 stroller to see the doctor while the other baby can stay home with parents/grandparents. Just my penny of thoughts.

Catherine,
that's a good and practical idea!
Hmm... I didn't think of that...
By the way, my mom went to the food centre at Kallang Airport to buy the baby shirts and they are quite cheap... Just sharing the infor as I think newborns need not wear too expensive clothes as long as they are comfortable... Let's just share infor and ideas so that all of us are able to save some money here and there... hehehe...

blackcurrant

Glad to see you here. No, I didn't take any anti-ms medication although I had very bad ms even until now. My doctor only prescribed vitamin B6 for me.

You are also under KK?

Happy to be here.Me was warded b4 blood test.Very bad vomit and diarrhoea.Stay in KKH for 1 day and that is the day i need do the blood test so got the result in ward.
Bad ms, backache and bloatness.
Koala,
I'm taking vit B6 also was given by TCM which i've been seeing for almost a year.Been taking TCM even doing IVF.Now OK can eat a little.For bloatness i think it takes a few wks

Kim

Ya, glad to see so many of us here again

Are you still under KK or have been switch to private? I think most of the previous cycle buddies EDD are quite close to each others.

Vit B6 is proven can help us to anti-nausea, but to me, it just helped a bit.

Bloatedness is normal and is a good sign that bb is progressing, so just endure it.

Did you go for your 1st scan? When you see the bb, then you will forget all the discomfort.

Koala,

Yes I under KK with SF Loh. Vit B6 is help to anti-nausea?

I went to KK emergency due to bleeding and mentioned to the doc in charge. The doc precribed me Metaclopramide for vomit and nausea.

Blackcurrant

I also under Dr Loh now. May be you want to check with Dr Loh directly about the med precribed to you, becuase Dr Loh has asked me to "tahan" the ms esp when we are still at very initital stage and don't take any other anti-ms medication except for vit B6.

So I guess you are waiting for your 1st scan?

blackcurrant, Kim75,
Welcome
784764.gif
and congrats....
Kim 75,
i remembered I was hospitalize a day for diarrhoe and vomitting too, that's in my week 5. It was a very tough period and we have both pull thru. I find MTB journey is more challenging that IVF process

blackcurrant,
MS is part and parcel of prenancy symptom. In fact everytime Dr will comfort us that MS is alright, at least it send out signal that our baby is developing and hormones is changing.I only asked vitb6 from Dr Loh for MS relief. You can email to Dr to check whether Metclopramide suitable for pregnancy bcos I dun really trust DR in 24 hrs women clinic.....

am having irritable contraction and now on medication to reduce contraction.. my cervix open 1cm liao..son now weigh 2466g @ 35 weeks

Stacy,
Yes, MTB journey is more challenging.Things change,have to slow down my movement.
When i was warded Dr SF Loh visited me,i was touch cos i know he is very very busy.
Blackcurrant,
Last week,me also saw blood stain after peeing and feel pulling cramp so worry.Call up KKIVF,nurse Sara said must rest on bed and no shopping shopping hor.HeeHee.Now ok.Very slow movement.