IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Grumpus
Is it ok to give yakult to my 22mths old girls?
Im giving the yakult lite version, suppose to be less in sugar.
I also give milo sometimes...
Wondering is it ok to give these sweet drinks occasionally...

Btw, usually what meals u giving yr girl? My girls seems to be rejecting the food im giving them... Give them outside food?
Any recipes to share that its a hit with yr ones?

Talking abt constipation... My girls will have creamy stools when they have pumpkin... The stools will be creamy orangy colour.. Not sure if it will help with yr one...
And how abt barley melon water? I will home cook this drink probably once a week for my girls... Dilute with more water when i serve.

baby,
for my elder i control all these sweet stuff until 2plus but my younger already taking.
i think occasionally as a treat is ok. i give the yakult lite version too. milo i usually dilute before giving.

for lunch is usually one dish meal like noodle soup or fried rice, fried noodle cos can be prepared very quickly. and just by varying the soup base and type of noodles and the food (sometimes add mushrooms, sometimes tofu, different veges, sometimes chicken, sometimes fish etc) can become a totally different dish already.

for dinner is usually rice with dishes and they eat watever we eat for dinner. usually will hv 2 types of vege and 2 meat or egg

maybe u just need to season yr food lor cos very hard for them to eat unseasoned food now. also gotta experiment, like my elder likes to eat everything chopped up and mixed into her rice but my younger prefers separate. like one spoon rice with vege, next spoon rice with fish, next spoon rice with meat etc.

Grumpus
Thanks for sharing!!

U not giving those traditional porridge anymore? My ones seems to hate it now lol... So lunch i give noodle soup.. Dnr time i give fried rice or our dnr food... I alrdy seasoned their food liao... But i try to give lesser...

Baby, sorry for the late reply. Busy training new maid.
My kids can self feed most foods.. Just the extend of mess! Lol.. I find Kway tiao n bee Hoon most messy!
My kids anti porridge v long. And for about one whole mth my eldest boy anti rice totally!! I serve different types of noodles every meal. Soup, w gravy, fried noodles.
Now I start cooking stuff like butter raisin rice, pumpkin butter rice.. Flavored rice he eats. Plain one w soup he refuse.
Fussy fussy!

Panda
No problem mann! I also guess u are busy with yr new maid

So far so good?

So anti porridge seems to be quite common huh... Even mummy see liao also scare.. Haha...
U mean u serve different type of noodle at 1 meal??? Got to give so much variety ah? 3 different tods with 3 different likes of food.. Hmm...

How u cook butter rasin rice? Sounds yum yum...

baby
my kids never eat porridge. I've been cooking noodles n rice for ages!
for dinner I will plain steam 2 different types of vege n let them eat the meats which r seasoned. I try to balance out the seasoning in tat way

for noodle soup I usually dun put any salt or soya sauce in the soup. sometimes I serve dry wanton mee with shredded chicken, fried yee mee, dry fried bee hoon or fried bee hoon with gravy, sometimes I serve fish slice bee hoon with some milk in the soup. everyday vary a bit lor

Thanks for yours advise.

Soon-to-be,
She now everyday taking Protexin Restore (Multistrain Probiotics Plus), take orally 1 sachet daily dissolved in water. Already took abt 3 weeks but seen don't have improved ler. Is it good for their health at such age ?

Baby,
Now she suffer from running nose/cough, once recover, will try your method. Last sunday make her soya milk but she refuse to drink, so sad ....

Gan,
Have been try Skied method using straw but after 1 week she dun want liao, throw away the cup and straw. Want new thing to attract her.

Yesterday she able to poo poo twice although each time only 1 big stools. Will monitor today again.

OEO
my elder girl suffer constipation for many years. she can eat one whole bowl of fruits everyday n lots of water n still poo pellets. I tried most of the different fm brands too. I also tried probiotics everyday too, flaxseed oil daily too n lactulose daily too but no inprovement. dr said some ppl hv very slow digestive system n colons.

I started her on sambucol with vit c and her stools hv improved a lot. vitamin c is a natural laxative. there r no side effects as excess vitamin c just gets passed out n causes diarrhea like symptoms (ie soft stools)
this alternative treatment was recommended by Dr Ang from tmc. I hv included some links in my above post for u to read

OEO, I checked with my PD before and he said ok to give after 6m. So, I have been giving to my kids. On top of that, I make sure they drink a lot of water and take a lot of foods and vege too. By the way. I give them biogaia probiotics drops as a daily supplement

Similar to Grumpus, I'm also giving Sambucol to my elder boy. However, if I'm not wrong, it can only be given to 2yo and above.

OEO
u can just give regular vit c tablets. those we take as adult or those effervescent tablets type. give 1/4 - 1/2 tablet

for sambucol u can get from vitakids which is very ex or buy online from bulk purchase (cheaper) or order from overseas spree (even cheaper)

soon to be
sambucol us version states for 2 n abv. uk version states 1 n abv. my elder takes the adult version with vit c which states 3 n abv (uk version)

Grumpus
Guess im gg to offer lesser porridge and more noodle for lunch... Hehe...

Today cooked lotus pork rib soup. Gg to use that to cook kway tiao for their lunch... Will use the pork in it and throw in chopped green vege... Simple lunch. I also dont put any salt and soya in my soup... I do drizzle some seaseme oil thou..
Some soup i put dried scallops... The soup taste quite salty to me....

Grumpus, ya, I jus realized there's a UK version for 1 yo. I will prob stick to e US version since I bought half a dozen in 1 go, and my elder son is used to the taste now. Initially he rejected it.

Now my younger son kept "eyeing" it as he sees his elder brother having it every morning.

I used to gv cod liver oil to my elder son too. But stop after thinking I m giving too many supplements. Now he is only taking probiotics n sambucol daily n cordyceps twice a week. He shld b getting his daily vit c dosage fr fruits. My mil makes it a point tt my boys eat fruits in the morning every weekday.

OEO, my Fren recommends to get fr iherb.com. She said it ships direct to Singapore. I ordered 6 bottles n I think it cost me ard $90-$100 including shipping. Still cheaper than to get in Singapore. However, they only carry e US version.

Yday gave my girls porridge for lunch after stopping for many days... The result? Terrible!
Althou they still manage to finish up... But its after many coaxing! My small girl even shiver with disgust when she took one mouth.... Mummy decided thats it... No more porridge... Lol...

Today fried rice for their lunch. Pumpkin, mushroom, french beans with cubed chicken and egg.

baby
My #2 still takes porridge and his baby cereal. My elder also takes porridge till now. But its the thick type of porridge not the watery type. You can try to thicken it.

Just to check to stop bf-ing or not?

I am considering FET asked my gynea but he did not say must stop bf-ing to proceed on FET

Can anyone tell me must stop or not?

Bubbybear
I also give thick porridge. But they dont like.
Maybe i will try to give plain porridge with dish.. Rather than one pot porridge...

Panda
Hows tins so far? New maid ok?

I just brought my girls out to novena for lunch with my new maid... Went Fish n co... Elder only wana eat fries and nothing else... My small girl had fries, fish and rice....

We Then took a train to my mil pl...

Baby, my new maid can't handle my trio. She felt so overwhelmed by them that in less than a week she wanted to resign! I pursuaded her to stay to try for at least one month.
I hv also decided to send d kids to cc in nov. I found a job already. I think it's time to let go. I can't handle 3 demanding active toddlers at home myself. They are so active that I can't keep up, they get bored / frustrated n start crying alot.
Everyday I hv to handle a few mass melt downs myself.. If I continue to keep them at home I will go crazy.
Hb says they go cc will have activities to let when channel all d energy positively instead of crying n crying at home.

My maid v fresh. I hv to train from v basic. Still teaching.. Not d best maid I hv had, not the worst either. Most Impt has a kind heart, hardworking and willing to learn. She is considered "guai" coz v fresh. No Hp, no off days, also no frens here. So hopefully won't giv me problems after loan period is over.

Panda
I hv been telling my hb that if im a maid, i will rather work with those employers that have no children or only 1 kid. After getting so many maids.. I have become more realistic... I have to set my expectations lower... Else i will go bonkers everyday... We also scare our new maid will say quit after seeing my two little monsters... So we try to be patient with her and do most of baby stuffe ourslvs..

Lately im so stressful when it comes to meal times.. Both keep refuse to eat.. Whether its home cooked food or eating outside... So many a times both went screaming when dining out.. Refuse to eat and sit in highchair... Refuse my maid... So poor us.. When also cant eat... Put them on our lap also dont want.. Keep wanting to get down...

U sending yr trio to cc next mth? Nov 1st? Which is very soon from now...

Im also going crazy at home with their demands... Keep whining... Fight and fight.. Cry and cry... Bring them out also same... Now best still... Refuse to sit in stroller... Walk awhile want us to carry... Breaking our back mann... So going out has been a chore now... Wana bring them to outdoor but keep raining... Hai...

Baby, starting them 5nov. Intially was mid nov, but I wanted to rest and also spend some proper time teach and train d maid before I start work. So send them earlier.

My maid hardly help w d kids .. Coz they keep crying for me. So she felt v scared also. If I continue to keep them at home the whole day w just me n maid, she will definitely resign again soon.

My kids bully me all d time. When my mum comes n I go "hide" in my room, they r perfectly happy and can play on their own. But the minute see me all start crying or start fighting w each other to get my attention! And almost every meal time will hv mass crying lor. Coz all want me to feed and refuse to let me feed the others! My girl will scream wanna sit on my lap to eat. D boys will try to whack her from the high chair or tell me they don't want meimei!! Ask her to go away. Faint!!

Now my boys always gang up bully my girl n refuse to play w her. Mummy headache....

Baby, hv u tried bringing ur girls to the library? My kids love going there! Good for rainy days too... Go library v v happy one n never ask me to carry also won't fight for attention !

My kids r ok in strollers.. Cry I just continue to push. Don't care! Coz only me n maid!

Panda
Walau same here mann.... Lol...
My girls also very guai when im not around... I will quietly sneak into my room and take a breather... My girls can play on their own.. Can laugh and laugh with my maid outside... But once i come.. Both cry and run towards me and wants me to carry... If i carry one.. The other will cry like kana abuse..
My inlaws always say they wana sai nai mummy and daddy... Cos when we drop them at my inlaw pl and go out to run errands.. Both v guai... Didnt fight or cry... But once we go back.. Both start to show all their usual patterns...
If my inlaws feed them.. All guai guai sit in highchair and eat.. But if we feed.. Both refuse to sit still... Also keep spitting out the food... Run here and there... Hai...

All my maids tell me my girls all v guai when mummy not around... When mummy around all very noisy.. :p

Panda
So far hvt bring them to library.. Cos my hubby scare my girls v noisy and disturb others hahaha...
Which library is good? Yr trio like to play with books? No toys one right? Heee... Long time didnt go library liao...

We tried ignoring their cries and continue to push.. But they dont stop crying! Till everyone keep looking at us... Aiyo.. So paiseh mann... Give them biscuit to munch also refuse... Cry and cry. And keep wriggle their body and try to get down from the stroller... Imagine two screaming tods... Gosh.. Like going to tear down the building... lol..

Now we dont bother to bring stroller when out... Just let them walk... Keep ignoring their requests to carry... Walk and walk.. Haha...

Btw any good and nice neighbour playground to recommend? Those that is suitable for our tods age. Can let them climb and play without much supervision... Alot we went not very suitable for them... Slides either too high or stairs too steep...

baby, you are not alone. I also got problem feeding my girl. In fact, I don't feel like cooking anything for her. She see porridge sian. I see her eat until like that, also sian. I give her fries, nuggets, bread, cake, all those nonsense stuff she like, she auto open mouth. Today, I will give her more snacks... every 3 hours or so. At least she wont feel hungry. I don't give her milk during daytime. Only at night before giving to sleep or early in the morning when she wake up.

When she's outside, she only likes to eat chicken. This entire month - her favourite meat is chicken. PD says its normal.... as long as she's growing well.

just faith
I make my own fries n nuggets or chicken patties n oven bake. at least not as unhealthy
I also make burgers (patties kiap in bread)
semi junk food but at least still home made n less salt. can also hide veges in the patties
can also make egg omelet kiap in bread or serve with fries

all these r 'junk food' which the kids can feed themselves

Just faith
I guess its a phase... Hopefully this food rejection thing will pass...

I also dont give milk during daytime... They have milk when they wake up and a small milk before morning nap and bedtime. Occasionally i will give cold fresh milk during the day as a tea break. One small pack both share.

I see them eat until so sian.. I see also sian... Totally clueless on what to feed them.

Yday i give them porridge for lunch... Add some cereal and mix in the porridge... Teabreak let have macdonalds... Fries and nuggets... Dnr tabao kway tiao fishball soup. Im trying to feed at least 1 home cooked meal a day. Sometimes i see them eat those unhealthy food makes me kinda sad... Worried they will develop bad eating habits...

Grumpus
How to make patties? Using minced meat? Will the meat be very rough and too chewy? Cos i tried using minced pork and chicken to cook... The meat too rough.. My girls dont like.

baby
depends on how well yr gals chew I guess. but if they can eat macs nuggets they shd be ok
I use mince pork mix with mince fish. the fish makes it less rough. then I add veges like grated carrot, grated zucchini or even finely chopped green vege leaves. pumpkin, corn, mushrooms etc
sometimes I add grated cheese for flavour sometimes maybe garlic or onion powder or herbs like rosemary, parsley

pan fry lightly or bake. sometimes I dip in egg n coat with breadcrumbs before pan fry. many variations.
I cut into cubes or strips n let my girl self feed with fries

Grumpus
The minced pork is those ready packed in supermarket or u buy pork fillet and minced yrself? Cos i find those ready pack ones more rough...

Yr recipe sounds yummy.. Will try it one of the days..

Today lunch ok... Make it thu... Now worry abt dnr.. Haha..
Going to fry rice for them.. This time i dont put in meat.. Just mushroom, french beans and egg.. Will see whether the meat is the problem not... Let them munch on nuggets later for meat.

Panda
Im inside my room now as i write this message...

My girls outside with my maid... I can hear them... Both happily playing... I made myself a cup of kopi.... Little this me time can keep my sanity in place... Else full time mummy like us really can go crazy any min with our little monsters.... Lol..

Does yr maid cook? My new maid cooks dnr on wkdays for us... She will prepare the ingredient beforehand.. And cook during evening when my girls had their dnr.

Baby, sometimes I add abit of corn flour so the meat not so rough. You know what I give today? Marcoroni and sweet corn. Lately she siao sweet corn. So I will let her self feed. Less messy. Lol. The sweet corn is from the ABC soup I cooked for lunch. So long as she eats... Mummy is happy. I am giving her Meiji. Half cup every morning with at least one slice of bread/cake. She likes anything that comes with pandan flavour.

Grumpus, I am using airefryer at home. Supposedly using less oil. But somewhat I still don't think it's healthy. Only difference from Mac is I don't add salt. Yes, I also try to make patties but not frequently. Lol

baby
last time I buy pork fillet and ask the butcher to grind 3 times for me. but now no more cos my girl can eat almost anything

Just faith
My girls dont fancy macaroni... Gave them couple of times but result not too good... Sweet corn they also dont like...

U only give plain macaroni and sweet corn? Any meat?

I give marigold fresh milk. It come with a straw so find it more convenient... Haha...

I did put corn flour but also very rough.. Even i dont like it myself haha...

Grumpus
Im still using pork fillet to cook their porridge.. Tried using normal pork loin.. But too rough for their liking... Expensive palate.. Lol

Baby, no lah, I add ABC soup for her. Majority ingredients are sweet corn. The rest are carrot, potatoes and meat. She self feed most of the times, I see that she didn't scoop the carrot and potatoes today. Nowadays I seldom buy pork fillet. I give anything as long as it is not fatty.

Today, before dinner is ready, my girl keep pointing to table and said "cow cow bread".... She ate two slices of bread and forgo her dinner. I really give up.....

Just faith
What is cow cow bread? Cow brand?

Today dnr consider good.. Both had a bowl. After finish both screaming for soup... But i didnt cook today.. Cos usually they will have soup for dnr after their rice... Both had 2 nuggest each.. Wana have more but i stop them...

On some days i will bring them over to my mil pl for dnr. Let them eat whatevery my mil cooks. Usually rice with fish, vege and soup.

Girls, you are so not alone. Seems like all our kids going thru the same phase now!

My ones also going thru food strike these past few weeks. Now they are trying to learn self feeding, my girl refuses to be fed... she insist on self feeding but can't do it well. Then half way thru, lose interest in the food and refuse to eat anymore. Nowadays very hard for them to finish their food. When I serve the food, can see already their face look bored and not the least interested... I see also sian. Think they fed up of rice/noodles.

Yesterday brought them out to eat Piri piri chicken - they both ate more than a quarter chicken and fries between themselves. I think I need to shake things up a bit... thinking of trying more ang moh for a bit, then go back to rice/noodles later. Will try meatballs, fish fingers, pizza, chowder, macaroni & cheese, shepherd's pie.... see if they like it.

Btw, if they skip their lunch/dinner (eat 2-3 spoons then refuse to continue), they will not eat anything else even if I offered. But they can still play play and don't seem hungry at all... sigh.... but normally they finish all their milk. They hv milk morning when wake up, mid afternoon and bedtime, 240ml each time.

Oh yea, and they go thru all kinds of phases. Once I cooked spaghetti bolognese, cook the tomato sauce separately and add the minced beef in, my girl ate 3 spoons then don't want. Ended up she only wanted to eat the plain minced beef with no sauce.

My boy for the past 3-4 months will eat his lunch/dinner half way then refuse. I must add banana into his rice then he will eat. And it has been like that for the past 4 months... everyday eat banana with his food. Then finally, he also got sick of it... now add banana also won't work. Sigh......

Looks like its a normal phase to go thru.. Hopefully it will pass soon... Else really stress up when meal times comes.. Dont knw what to cook for them...
Only 1 thing has not change for my girls.. Both love to eat their fruits! Usually will not reject fruits... Esp my elder.. Love to munch on apple, pear etc.. Certain fruits they dont like i will add into yogurt and they will happily eat.

Today lunch porridge again... Pumpkin, broccoli, tomato and pork porridge. Since the last two attempts is a success i shall try porridge again.. Haha...

Working wife
Same here.. Can see they are not at all enthu when i bring out their food... They even go hide to avoid eating.. I see also sian half liao...

I give 240ml milk only for bedtime. Morning i give 200ml and mid morning i give only 100ml. In total a day milk slightly over 500ml.. I read toddlers this age should not have more than 500ml.. More than that will deprive them of food.. Cos it will fill up their tummy and thus no room for soilds. But i do give fresh milk on some days.. And other days they will have yogurt, cheese...

In fact i prefer them to eat than to drink milk. :p

Btw working wife, how heavy is yr twins now?
Last weight, my elder is 11.4kg. Small girl is 10.8kg.
Both getting heavy to carry! Breaking my back.. Haha.

Baby,

My girl only 8.7kg, my boy is 11.6kg.

I tried reducing their milk intake but the food intake is still the same. so overall they seem to be taking less, so I go back to normal milk. Anyway, my ones love milk, can drink 240ml milk even after just an hour from their meal.

I will observe and see, if this time food strike still continue I will try to reduce morning and afternoon milk again, see if they will eat.

Gan,
How's grace doing @ cambridge Cc ? I just received notice from them to confirm entry in jan / feb'13. I m getting nervous as my boy is like gum when he sees me or my hubby. Really don't know if I can be steel heart ...