IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda
Hmm.. Kinderland only serve chinese food ah..
Pat serve chinese and western.. In house cooking also..
But i dont expect their food to be very interesting.. Basic food..
By the time they goes to cc.. They aldry eating what we eating.. So i guess its ok..

Whats yr menu today?

Im now simmering white/brown porridge with chicken stock.
Later stir fry green zucchini, mushroom, tomato and egg.. Will try to give the shredded chicken in the chicken stock.. Dont know if they like not.. Cos so far i hvt give them any shredded meat except for fish... Pork and chicken i give minced.

Lunch i give mash potato and squash with chopped spinach and salmon.. Top with mango sauce...
I have so many mangos inside my fridge... My father buy 5 big ones for me... All ripe ones... Hmm.. Looks like i got to eat it myself.. Haha..

Just now give them a banana each for teabreak..

Btw the paul yogurt once open can keep how long inside the fridge? Its aldry 3 days... Still have 1/3 left.. I notice got abi of water inside liao.. Still can eat?

This morning i give it with apple and avocado for their bfast...
Yday night give it with raspberry...

baby, the only bad thing about kinderland is the food is external caterer and all chinese foods.

lunch i took them to swensens..ordered from the kids menu, Chicken Bolognese Spagetti and Sunny Omelette. Dinner steamed egg w mushroom, carrot, peas n minced pork served w rice n quinao.

saw this recipe.. going to try it tmr.. make it thick enuff to eat w mee tai mak.. bought one back of the kang kang one today..

http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/butternut_squash_apple_soup/

so tired now! we went out on train late morning to J8.. eat lunch, went groceries shopping while waiting for my hb to knock off.. aft that went to Nancy's place playdate w her twin boys...

already bathed all d kids.. now they playing w my sil while i take a breather...

Panda
Hows the swensen kids menu? Good?

U have a fruitful day... Haha..

Yr trio tried mee tai mak before? I hvt try yet cos its quite chewy. So hvt venture yet.. Still giving meesua and kway tiao..

The recipe seems easy to make.. For me.. I will just cook the squash and apple as it it and mash it up with fork.. Then add stock to balance it...

Btw both my girls had aldry drop their afternoon nap.. Now they only take a morning nap and sleep ard 8plus to 9pm...
Its good.. Prepared them for half day cc next yr.. And also playgroup at jg in the afternoon...
Without taking the afternoon nap.. Putting them to bed at night is a breeze! Both knock out once finished milk... Lol..

Baby the girls auto drop the afternoon nap? What time is their morning nap and how long? What time do they wake up in the morning?

Baby, my girl also started to drop her afternoon nap. In the morning, she will sleep by 11am. Will nap for at least 2hours. Sometimes even 3hours! But will skip her afternoon nap after that. I find it is easier when I bring her out. If really tired, she will KO in her stroller or car seat. And like what you say, will sleep earlier.

I m still training her to sleep on her own. No music, bo carry. Occasionally patting. Now sleeping is a breeze for me.

Gan
Sort of auto.. Cos i try to let them nap in the afternoon.. Both refuse...

They usually wake up ard 7plus am... Nap at 11am... Will nap for abt 1 and a half to 2 hrs...
Sometimes they will get sleepy during evening time.. So got to keep them entertained.. Drag till 8plus then let them sleep...

Just faith
Ya same same... Bringing them out now easier.. No need to worry abt napping.. If they really sleepy.. Will doze off in the stroller...

my ones still napping 2x a day.. honestly i cant imagine nap once leh! i hv no energy to keep up w the three of them!!

baby, i tried the recipe.. used all the ingredients... i din blend too.. after cooking in the stock for 30mins, all mashed n soft liao. i also used the spices, pepper, cinnamon and nutmeg powder.. very delicious.. smell so nice i also wanna eat! haha..u shld try for ur girls...

just faith, i m also sleep training linus! just throw him on a bed pat first... now no need carry but still hv to pat.. got to do step by step...

Panda
The soup v thick like cream mushroom soup?
U serve with mee tai mak?

Ya lor now that they dont take afternoon nap.. Harder for me to cook their dnr.. So i will ask my maid to handle both of them while i cook.. So far ok... Now that they dont nap.. Easier to keep by the schedule.. Can bathe early and have dnr by 5pm.. So wont take dnr v late.. Can control better.. Else last time when they nap got to wait till they wake up...
Usually dnr done by 530pm.. Then play till abt 8plus and change into pjs and bedtime!
Last time when they take afternoon nap.. Still awake at 10plus pm.. Hard to let them sleep... So i prefer they dont take the nap...

U training linus? U mean the other two can sleep on their own? Now only my small girl can roll and fall asleep.. Just put her in the cot and leave the room...

My elder will usually fall asleep while drinking milk... If not got to carry awhile... She is my pain... Last night she woke up like a million times...

And she sure need a milk at ard 5am... Unlike my small girl who sleep thru till 7plus am and wake up.. How i wish my elder is like her... And now my small girl eats better than my elder!

Baby, it's more textured n thicker.
I hv to train one by one...Linus first coz I suspect Smtimes he cry at night coz wake up dunno how to zzzz again. Thts y look for me to pat him. Mayb if he k fall asleep himself it might reduce d night wakings. He is my biggest pain now!! My other two can't zzz themselves too...but k zzz thru d night n pat oso less than 3-4mjn KO...

Panda
Looks like we cant be that lucky to have all guai guai huh...
Lucky my small girl is more managable.. Else i will have two big heads!!!

Just finished cooking their dnr... Waiting to pong pong them...
White/brown porridge with minced pork serve with stir fry green zucchini, butternut squash, mushroom, tomato...

gan
yr gal sleeping too much during the day tats y take so long to zz? or u're trying to put her to bed too early.

last time my elder if take her 2nd afternoon nap will take very long to zz at night. but if dun nap she'll be too tired to last till a decent time. there's sort of an in between stage. until she can last till a decent time without the 2nd nap then I let her fully drop tat nap

Gan, most of my bbs pat short while can zzz.. usually now more than 10mins max. its longer if i pat them leh..if my maids pat v fast they KO one.. coz they wanna play w me if i pat...kept talking and pulling my hair and pressing my nose! haha...

baby, i din cook dinner today. took them to United Sq, pop into petit bowl n let them eat there. the food not very nice..all of them din eat alot compared to home cooking. i ordered the creamy chicken penne and cod fish sweet potato w brown rice. dont think i will bring my trio there again.

went toys r us buy new toys again..3 of them went crazy in there refuse to come out!

Grumpus I tried to make her sleep between 9pm to 930pm but usually drag till 10pm or 10pm plus then she sleeps. Today she didn't take her morning nap, and slept from 2pm to 4pm.

Panda u must be a very good cook, weekends I buy petite bowl for one of the meals when we are out and my gal likes the food... Hahaha guess our homecool food
Not yummy! At din tai Fen now n let my gal try the chicken from the chicken soup and some noodles. She loved it and kept screaming for more.=s

gan, the petit bowl food really very baby food taste..hahaha.. to me lah.. now tht i let them eat outside food, i also try to make d home cooked ones more tasty..otherwise they also will not want to eat. use more herbs, some light seasoning, or use stock to cook foods....

Gan
If yr girl enjoying outside food and reject home cooked food.. Then must be the home cooked ones not tasty enough.. Lol..
Bbs also v smart.. Want to eat tasty food.. Just like us.. Heee

Now my ones also will reject food if not tasty enough..
Last time my porridge v bland.. Only use water..
Now must use stock to cook.. Then cannot dump everytin in to cook.. Must cook like adult style.. Porridge with a dish..
Even the plain porridge i use stock to cook.. My stock supply always run out super fast!

Tml got to make new ones again.. Making pork ribs with corn carrot soup...

Baby, my poor gal has been eating boring porridge with vege, meat cooked in them. =p I do cook stock during the weekend , when it runs, out, my mum will help me cook some chicken stock. But I never try interesting menu like panda. Weekend just seem so short to cook, to bring her out etc.
She practically screamed the roof down at din tai fung..must be the most yummy meal she had for the last 9 months since she started solids!

Gan
Dont compare yrself with panda la.. U are a working mum mah. I myself is a sahm i also didnt cook as good as panda lor... Dont feel guilty ya..

Maybe u get a bigger pot and cook stock in bigger portion to store.. So wont run out... Or during wkends u can cook some sauce to freeze so yr girl can eat during the wkday.. Like cream mushroom soup? Cheese sauce? Both can eat with potato or rice...

Baby my mum is very old school, she won't like my gal eat cream mushroom soup etc..those food I need to use cream, butter etc. She will scream if she sees me feeding such food to her. Even today she was nagging when she heard I gave my gal the chicken and noodles from din tai fung. Stock I read dun keep more than 5 days , so usually I make sufficient t last till tues or wed. My mum will cook simple chicken stock for the other days

haha..i see my nick so many times i stressss....

gan, ur mum will scream at u million x if she sees u feed grace the kind of foods i cook..hahahah....

Panda u r good la, cook so many different type of food with 3 babies. Btw how is the t3 outing?

I brought my gal to paragon the small indoor playground this evening as the weather was bad, can't do outdoor

Grumpus, when u said let ur gal drop the nap when she can last a decent time...what is a decent time at their age now?

Gan
How come stock can only keep for 5 days? If keep in freezer can keep longer mah.. I read can keep up to 2 weeks leh...

Why yr mum say cannot give butter or cream? She dont allow grace to eat outside food? Then when can give?

My father also keep nagging at me say im giving my girls too many good foods.. Say will get over nutrituous... Hmm...
He say last time we also didnt eat so many tins... He say scare bb body cannot absorb so many.

I use quite alot of butter in my cooking.. Stir fry vege i will use butter and butter for fried rice... Sometimes will use olive oil..
Cream i seldom use.. Only use it when cooking mushroom soup.. Will also use lesser than indicated.. I also dont quite like cream..

Pandawife, if yr trio takes 10min max to pat n sleep. I seriously think its ok. My girl self sleep very horrible one. She will toss n roll in her own bed, climb to my body and crawl back her own bed. Very pai kuan. Since young, I don't rock or carry. So she develop her own sleeping pattern. Like Gan, I ever take up to 1hr to put her to sleep. Thats where I tell myself enough, i can't follow schedule. As long as she can sleep and eat well, very good Liao.

Gan, at least yr my stock usually good enough for two days max. If aft two days cannot finish, I will pour away. Cause I will get a gassy stomach if I eat overnight food. So I apply the same theory for my girl.

Gan, u brought yr girl to marina barrage? It's a nice place. Can have mini picnic there. Water games for the kiddos too.

Baby, I can't remember where I read abt keeping 5 days... I put in freezer too, night before bring them down for next day use. My mum doesn't like me give outside food coz she thinks kids are young, kidneys shldn't take so much salt. I guess she is more worried abt grace coz I so old then have her.

Grumpus, I think tough for grace to have good sleeping habits at 730pm. We r home usually around 8pm plus from work. She used to sleep around 730pm till abt 10mths, coz kept being woke up when we carried her home.

Just faith, went marina barrage once last year. Yes saw the water play there like quite fun. Yesterday wanted to go jacab ballast for water play but rain, so go paragon instead.

gan
ya ang mo books r the one tat recommend 730 la. cos they leave on the dot 5pm, eat dinner 530, possible for them. impossible for us.
even for me 8-830 is the earliest

My girls goes to bed around 9-930pm without the afternoon nap.. Thou some days too sleepy... I let them sleep ard 830pm...

Panda
Whats yr menu today?
Im cooking pork ribs and corn carrot soup... Going to fry vege rice for dnr and serve with the soup... May just give the pork in the soup...

Today lunch i give mash jap sweet potato with minced chicken.

Morning run out of bread.. Gave quacker oats with chopped raspberry...

Now they are eating more and more like adult.. Not much baby food liao... All the baby cereals still inside my cupboard.. Lol

baby, lunch i tried veg n meat patties with angel hair pasta w mixed herbs. it was nice.. i ate 2 patties while cooking them myself..heehhe.. will do it again..

grumpus, my patties dont hold well together.. issit becoz i din use egg? i used potatoes, carrots, capsicum, onions, peas, minced pork n some spices mixed w some flour.

dinner i going to try egg tofu w egg plant and potatoes served w brown rice.

i also cooked soup today.. similar to urs.. i used ribs, corn, carrots, tomatoes and onions. balance will keep as stock.

panda
I dun use egg in my patties too. either u hv too much vege vs meat or yr vege r too chunky.

usually I use grated or mashed vege. I dun use vege chunks

grumpus, thanks! yeah i think i used too much veg vs meat... tasted mostly d veg..
i mashed the potatoes n carrots. the capsicum, onions and peas r in chunks..

will try again to get the portion correct and freeze for days i m too tired to cook..

Panda
U the ingredient in the patty are all cooked before pan frying?
Use butter or oil?
I also wana try making.. But these few days too shag.. My elder giving me sleepless nights..

baby, i steam the potatoes n carrot, mashed.. then mix w the rest of the raw ingredients, press into patties and cook. i use butter.

back from festive hotel for the wkend. now so tired. going holiday is no more rest & relax with baby tow... haaahha

oh was thinking of getting a small cooker for cooking porridge on trips. any mummies know of any small handy cookers?

gan, justfaith
u stayed at the festive family room? is the bathtub a jaccuzi bathtub?

panda
for pan frying try to use oil instead of butter. butter doesn't hold up to heat well. or bake or toast the patties dun even need oil

happyhippo
u can get those small slow cooker or a travel cooker. comes with a small container plus hot plate

Panda
The minced pork also raw?

U bot the pork minced or u minced yrself? Cos the minced pork in ntuc abit rough.. Its normal pork.. Not the pork fillet meat..

That time u mention u bring yr boy to see tcm for his night wakes... Did it help? If yes, im thinking to bring my elder to see also... Else she keep waking up almost every night.. She also has a bad temper.. Keep bully mei mei..
Which tcm? Where?

baby, yes also raw. i buy from ntuc those pre packed ones. they can eat normal minced pork.. no need fillet meat liao..

it did help him...but of coz still hv bad nights..but generally 70-80% of the x he sleeps better n wakes up alot lesser...

EYS at bukit panjang plaza. Dr Chan, he sees patients every tue n fri.. 9am-9pm...

bad temper hor, cant b cured by him..hehe...but of coz if she sleeps better at night, day time usually they are less cranky...

Panda
U still bring yr boy see him? He specialise in children?
U went to him base on recommendation by friend?

Or any eys also can?

Haha.. Cos i dont knw her temper is it cos she didnt sleep well at night so more cranky.. Heee
She keep using toy to hit mei mei head... And she will stam her feet in anger if she doesnt get want she wants.

So far i hvt try the pre pack minced meat yet... Cos i find it abit too fatty.. Can see those white fats in it..
Even when i use pork ribs or chicken breast ribs.. I will trim all visible fats... I dont like fats myself haha...

I still buying exp pork fillet... Cos i scare the pork loin abit too hard and rough.. I myself also dont like.. Lol..
Chicken i also buy exp chicken fillet weigh by grams...
I prefer to buy sakura chicken.. The fillet and the breast rib all sakura...

panda
dun freeze the patties cooked. freeze them raw. separate each patty with a layer of baking paper or cling wrap before stacking the patties on each other so u can separate them easily later.

when u wanna use. take out the patties to thaw then bake

Panda,
Wa, I see u really put in a lot of effort in making the cuties food! My naughty girl now only likes to eat rice and carrots. If she taste minced meat, she will spit out. heachache! Dunno what to cook for her every weekend. I either cook rice -like porridge or macoroni and cheese.

Grumpus/Gan
5.30 pm dinner I find too early, sometimes, #2 just woke from pm nap. Also want to wait for daddy to come home have dinner together. My kids if they sleep 7.30 pm, they wake up early like 5+ am, nobody in the house want to entertain them at that time, suddenly they are not adorable anymore, nobody wants...haha.

Panda
If u freeze cooked patties don't have to thaw, just put them in frozen in the oven. Good for times when no mood to cook and need a meal fast.

Tickles
Your girl easy to feed, no need to spend so much effort cooking...hehe. Sometimes if no choice, just grind the meat fine and add to the meal lor.

Bubbybear
Hahaha... U say it so cute.. Suddenly they not adorable..
i totally agree with u mann... My elder keep waking up at night i also find her v irritating.. Not cute... Not adorable...
But during the day find her v cute... Lol...

Bubbybear,
My girl doesnt like meat and fish. She spit it out when she taste them. Only likes carrots, else bread, cake or biscuits. Grind the meat as in using blender huh? Maybe I'll try this weekend.

baby
Yah, only mummy have no choice got to handle them at odd hrs. Then I have to wait till 7am to handover shift...haha.

Tickles
So she doesn't like lumpy food or is it the meat too bland ? Can try and use herbs to add flavour to the meat, so not so bland tasting. If its the lumpy texture, yes, just blend. Then stir into the marcoroni/ porridge or mesh veg. and intro lumpy food slowly. Fish maybe no need to blend, see how. Last time, I use to puree the meat and veg together and serve with the carb. Its very tasty.

Bubbly,
I'm not sure too. Maybe I try to blend and see if she eats it. But then again I think she doesnt like meat and fish. Cuz she still eats rice and carrots. Large chunks of carrots, she'll just bite and chew.