IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

My girls run too... So fast till i cant catch them in time!
They even run faster when they know im behind chasing them!

Panda, where did u get the child gate? I bot from ikea.. But the length not enough.. Got to go back and buy the extension.. Need this to keep them away from kitchen.. Cos the kitchen sliding glass they aldry know how to open...

baby, mine is luckily baby brand from kiddy palace. i got 2 sets. one to block the corridor leading to the bedrooms. and another one to use for bb room next time. put them in there to play, n lock the gate.

kitchen sliding door u can get a child proof lock.. i use tht for both the kitchen slide door n my bb room sliding wardrobe..

i so scared they run trip n knock their teeth out leh! tht day lucas fell bite himself n bleed, i nearly freaked out... i was carrying him n he bleed on me!

working wife, hows ur boy's cut? hope not serious.. bbs fall down most heartpain is mummy....

Panda
That time my elder also fall down and knock his chin against my bed frame... I think she bite her lips when she fall.. Bleed too... Her blood drip onto my hb shirt... Alot lor.. I tot her tooth gone... Scare me leh.. Luckily its her lips not her tooth.. Her gums also swollen... Sigh... I guess its hard to prevent falls.. Cant always hold onto them while they walk and run...

Pandawife,
How's your Lucas now? I hope he's better and you can get enough rest.
What kind of cream sauce do you use for the shepherd pie? I let my babies tried the chicken and mashed potato pie from coffee club yesterday and they both love it. So I'm thinking of making it myself. How do you cook the chicken in the pie? Do you steam the chicken/ potato and orher ingredients, mash everything, add cheese and put into the even?

Baby,
Where did you get avocado? Cold storage? It's out of stock for Ntuc at NEX and Toa payoh for the past few weeks. Tried shop and save also couldn't find. I think it's not the season now.

Bing
Wow... U can me an idea to let my girls try chicken pie from cafe too! The coffee club pie v nice? V salty not?
How much yr bbs ate? How old is yr bbs now?

I got the avocados from ntuc finest thomson plaza.. I always saw it there everytime i shop there le... Or else u can get from those fruit stall?
I also saw it at compass pt cold storage few days bk...

Bing, he is better..fever under control. but gums still sore n cranky.. everytime he cries the other two mimic! :S

i make my own cream sauce, the thing about making ur own, u can do it according to ur bbs' preference.

cream sauce v easy, heat up pan w butter, add milk and flour, stir. once boiled switch off flame n add cheese. i hv also tried adding tomato based pasta sauce to the cream sauce for making the pie.

chicken i will either steam n chop, or cook together w the veg like carrots, pumpkin, zucchini, mushroom etc. potatoes i steam separately coz my bbs dont like mashed up foods. if i cooking together w the rest of the veg, while stiring the potatoes becomes all mashy. i cube them n steam n only add to the rest of the foods when all cooked.

can also use salmon, or pork instead of chicken.

have fun!

its hard to find avocado these days! i hv problem keeping up the supply to let them eat 1 a day... i managed to get NZ ones from the NTUC near my hse yesterday.. but more costly.. 3 for $4.50 i think...

Panda
Then how abt the pastry for the pie? How u make without using oven?

The cream sauce sounds easy to make... Its a form of cheese sauce right? U use chilled fresh milk? Which kind of cheese u use?

Avocado hard to get ah.. Hmm.. I didnt really notice cos always have when i wana buy...
U give 1 a day?? Everyday? Wont it be too much?

Im simmering light porridge for dnr.. My small girl not much appetite.. Didnt finish her porridge for lunch...
Cooking white brown rice porridge with tomato and tofu.. Later steam fish... Hope it will interest her... Heeee

baby, i dont use pastry for their pie..

i use fresh milk, cheese i hv tried both KIRI and SCS cream cheese. both ok..

3 of them share one avocado not much... yup they eat everyday unless i cant find it... its healthy fats for the bbs.. wanna beef them up before go CC! hahaha...

dinner here is brown rice quinao, creamy carrot, pumpkin zucchini soup w chicken.

Panda
Today dnr total failure... Both didnt want to eat! I suspect cos the threadfin too fishy.. I think not too fresh.. Cos i store in the freezer for quite some time...
In e end make cereal and mix in the porridge... Both finished abt a bowl...
Stock running low in the fridge.. Need to go ntuc again... Gosh.. Its so exp... Need to go marketing once a week.. Everytime go ntuc sure spend more than $100... Shiong!!

Wana go buy ingredient for making cheese sauce... The sauce can practically mix with anytin right? Thinking to use it to drizzle onto rice to let them try... Also to use it for potato as a meal...

Panda,

My boy is ok... got a cut on his cheek but nothing too serious. Thank goodness. Need to go buy the childproof gadgets now!

Wanted to check with you, you had mentioned before using this tomato ketchup which doesn't have salt? What brand is it, can buy online? I actually have the Annie's Organic Ketchup but it still has salt and sugar... wondering if its ok to use that for my pasta sauce. Anyone used Annie's before?

Baby,

The pie recipes for babies usually don't have pastry. Its like shepherd's pie... inside filling is meat + vege and top it up with mashed potato. All ingredients cooked already before finally putting in oven to grill or bake.

This happy call pan seems like the answer to all cooking! Where can it be purchased? Is it really that good?

working wife
I think it's almost impossible to hv ketchup or pasta sauce with no salt n sugar.
I make my own ketchup/pasta sauce with tomato paste. can get pure canned paste with no sugar n salt.
simmer a few tsps of paste with some water, add a dash of salt n sugar to balance the taste otherwise it'll be very sour.
add dried oregano or parsley, a sprinkle of grated cheese n it's done

Grumpus, for home made ketchup how long can we keep n fridge?

Panda / baby how does ur helper wash ur baby's clothes? Mine uses machine, and dry with dryer but I find that my gal's white bodysuit, white towel etc all turns yellowish, or with brown stains... Very ugly...the white bibs also turns to a brownish, yellowish colour, like very dirty. Not sure is it the way the clothes are washed? My gal's clothes wash once every 2 days, but bibs, hand towel etc will rinse with water after eating.

working wife, the one i buy is not tomato sauce..its actually tomato paste. no salt in it. its bottled form. its not baby food..u shld b able to find at the supermarkets there.

gan, my helpers hand wash, otherwise cannot get the stains off. hv to soak, and scrub. i m very particular about this.. even milk stains if not washed properly turns yellowish. the brown ones are probably food/fruits stains. machine wash cannot clean v properly.

my maids will boil the wash cloths and bibs weekly.. to remove nasty stains..

Panda boil as In Pour hot water to soak? How often do ur Helpers wash the clothes?

My helper is not that fast so I think abit impossible for her to hand wash as she is already like spending all her time with housework, cooking, feeding my gal. But maybe weekend when she has less things to do I can boil the bibs etc. I ended up kept buying new stuff to replace all the 'old' , dirty looking clothes.

Gan, no, use an old pot boil over stove. After tht cool down wash n scrub. This way u can get the clothes v clean. Another more convenient alternative is to use vanish detergent on the stains. Oso ok... For clothes I do that coz I don't wanna boil clothes.

I hv 3, will go bankrupt if keep replacing. My maids oso not fast. Hv to train one. I show them step by step what to do n set time duration on how long they shld take to complete each task. N I always let them do bb stuff first. Followed by mopping floor. Other things they do when bbs sleep at night. Or wkends when my Hb is at home.

They r oso unable to multi task. I hv to plan for them. Like always put the laundry in washing machine early morning, so tht when bb nap they k hang Liao n catch the afternoon sun. If I leave it to them they will wash when bb nap, then bb wake up no time to hang; laundry turn smelly in the machine. Or like switch on the water to run then go prepare the bb bathing things. They used to prepare d things then stand in the bathroom watch d water run!

Oh bbs clothes n my clothes handwash every night. Other laundry machine wash once or twice weekly. Bb clothes hv to wash daily coz it's alot. Just towels hv 6, if we go swimming tht day there will b 9! N after every meal hv to change clothes..
They handwash, but spin dry use washing machine coz I don't want d clothes dripping wet at my balcony.

Grumpus, I don't put sugar or salt in my pasta sauce. I add plentiful of carrots n pumpkin which is sweet.
DIY tomato paste will b like pure tomato purée?

working_wife
Nevermind, next time come during summer. U will go ga-ga over the fruits and veg here. Some more kids can go fruit picking, quite fun. Now they are still tots, still too young.

Grumpus
Kid friendly activity in Sydney, not much. Sydney is good for opera/theatre/orchestra performances. There are a few kids program during the colder months. Are your kids into Hi5, Wiggles or Elmo ? They are touring here over the next few months. Then there is Sydney Aquarium, the Wildlife Park in the cbd which are suitable for young kids and also Luna Park, a theme part which pale in significance to the Movie World but enough for young families, alot of rides are suitable for kids. My #1 loves the bumper car most. Buy unlimited pass can stay there the whole afternoon. If you have time, go for some nature walks, very scenic and relaxing too.

Panda kept buying and replacing is quite wasteful, especially I m thinking of having a #2, needs to plan the finance. But I really can't stand the stains etc. Will try the boiling this weekend. Do they take long to handwash?

Bubbly u have any morning sickness this time round?

Grumpus normally u will freeze the tomato sauce, n use when needed?

panda
tomato paste is like very thick n concentrated tomato purée

bubbybear
thanks. my #1 loves hi5 n Thomas. blue mountain has periodic day out with Thomas events. but unfortunately none coincide with the dates tat we'll be there

gan, used to take 1 hour to wash all the daily bb laundry. now 30mins.. i hv to teach step by step.. even down to the v basic of how to scrub the clothes, which common dirty areas etc.

baby,
i took lucas to see Dr Ang today. his weight has been quite stagnant..not v much growth. Dr Ang says drop all the milk and giv 5 solids :S
he ask me not to b concern at all if they dont drink milk n dont bother about minimum milk intake. i was also checking out the book first foods, i noticed from 12-24 mths, the daily planner shows milk intake of only 1/2 cup + 1/3 cup.

today i replaced the 3pm milk feed with avocado kiwi chicken salad. so only 2 milk feeds today..one morning one night..

made mushroom chowder for them to eat for dinner with brown rice... very tasty.. still got left over, later i eat it for dinner too

pandawife
wow, cut all milk feed like quite drastic leh. how old is lucas and what is his weight? stagnant for how long?
that day my pd was telling me shd take abt 600ml per day, 800ml even better ..hahhaha its ok lah, i guess different pds hv different views.

gan
u planning for no2? you doing fresh cycle or fet? when you planning? btw did you used to see dr zou?

happyhippo, my boy is 14 months and 10kg. my pd uses this chart.. according to the chart.. the growth rate is minimum. i think for about 3 mths his wt no difference...

i will probably keep 2 feeds, the morning n night one.. n add one more to make 4 solids meal a day. 5 is too much for me to prepare n feed them....

pandawife
my boy is 14mths+, he is 11kg. think for the past 3mths, he is between 10-11kg. looks like not very much growth also. hmmmm.. wonder if that is a concern...but my pd didnt say anythg leh.

Happy will be FET, I see dr zoo when I was trying to conceive my gal but for #2 dun think can afford the time coz hands are full with #1.=) I think my gal is starting her terrible 2! =S

Are u planning for #2 too?

Happy I shld be older than u, I m 40. u have any frozen embbies? I have 6, so think will try but with an open heart, ie success or no, up to God's will

Haha ya she just turned 14 months...she starts screaming...n when I says no, she no longer listen but purposely do it with a mischievous look...

grumpus
When the kids are abit older, more activities for them here. For young kids, most of the time, they are contented just to be at the playground..haha.

Gan
I have no MS but have been spotting since Thurs. Saw my Dr last Wed, he ask me any problem, I said 'no' although can see a small clot from the U/S. The moment I said that, the next day started spotting already. Talk about 'jinx'...sigh. He told me to rest, not to carry/lift heavy stuff, no hsework etc. But how not to, got to look after the 2 kids. #2 also having flu...super clingy also, last night woke up 3xs.

Bubbly u have to take care urself now. I had spotting for 4 weeks of my early pregnancy. I find that minimize walking helps. I was also given weekly proluton jab, maybe u can ask
The doc for the jab? I find that more effective than those hormone pills.

Gan
Trying my best but can't help carrying my '10kg sack of rice'...haha. Regarding proluton, in AU if the blood test shows enough progesterone in the blood, they will not give, Dr says no difference, but ivf pregnancy they usually give additional support during early pregnancy. According to Dr, spotting is common, as long as don't see red or cramping...I can only do and pray for the best.

gan
i got no frozen embbies.

grumpus and other mummies
now that our kiddos are running/walking, i just want to prep abit in case they fall on hard ground and scrape their knees. do u know what medicine/first aid we should do if this happens? tot maybe shd put some of these items in our bags when we go out.

happyhippo
just get some iodine or antiseptic cream n cute plasters. wash the cut/scrape under water n pat dry with tissue.
I use the cute plasters to distract them n cheer them up

if they cut their mouth or lip against their teeth, for my elder girl I will ask her to rinse n give her a pc of ice. for my younger I use those teethers filled with water pre placed in the freezer to let her suck on

Panda
Talking abt dropping milk feeds... My small girl only took less than 200ml today... Hmm... Not interested in milk.. Dont know why... But when give solids like bread, cake, biscuit, noodle, porridge she eats... So i try to give cereals where i can mix it with milk...
Im thinking to intro fresh milk.. Maybe she will like a new change of taste... Also let her tummy get used to fresh milk so next time go out easier..

Yr salad sounds yummy... How u make?

Bubbybear can I check, for sydney, is there strong wind? I see that weather is about 20 degrees now, I can still wear my usual clothes, no jacket required right?

Happyhippo
Why r u concern about age ? Afraid cannot handle or complications is it ? My SIL 40+ already, expecting #3. She said she is going to have as many when she still can n she is FTWM.

Gan
The weather is abit unpredictable. This summer is colder than previous, alot of rain. 2 days ago we just had strong wind n thunderstorm. Early morning temp, can be <20. When r u coming ? We r goin into autumn soon. For now, a light jacket or long sleeve will do.

happyhippp,

My hubby don't want my girl to go CC. I am sending her to playgroup fr 2 May. 1.5hrs. Test test water. Lol

Gan, you asked me previously abt the playgroup centre I m sending her to. It's at buangkok mrt. 150m fr my home. Genius tots. It's a small set up. 1.5hrs. 3 times a week. Will decide later if I want to change to 5 times a week.

Most of the PG starts at 18/24months. Not ready for registration.

bubbybear
i think age does make a difference to the success rate for ivf. yes also the possible complications. wow ur SIL so good. her's is all natural conception?

justfaith
oh why ur hubby don't want your girl to go cc? it is becoz of possibility of falling sick often or too young to be taken care by others. ya sometimes i also prefer to send my boy for few hours instead of wholeday cc, coz really dont know if the cc will take good care.

sorry need to rant. has anyone of you sold thgs on the forum and get other people riding on your post to sell their own thgs? i find it abit irritating lor, whats so hard to start your own thread to sell. ok lah maybe it is a small matter, guess i encountered quite a few times already, so am getting quite annoyed!

bubbybear, congrats!

Gan,
when r u cycling again ? I just saw my gynea for my fet plans. Initially I wanted to start with my next AF. But now i am thinking hard on how to handle no.1 if things work out.

Grumpus,
did u handle ur elder daughter by yourself while u r preggie ?

Happyhippo,
Yes. I get quite annoyed recently while selling stuffs on smh forum &amp; fb groups too. Its common that ppl will just conveniently ride on other's thread to sell things.
. Some asked short &amp; long and reserve the items but last minute they decided to put me aeroplane. Pizzed off.

My baby just turned 7months and he has been on pureed porridge &amp; oatmeal. We tried giving him rice rusk (which can melt easily with saliva) and he always landed up choking himself and he will start wailing. We got quite worried and stopped after each attempt. Guess he is not ready ?. Should I still stop giving him or keep trying.

Day shld be after July bah. I am also not sure how I will handle 2 espcially my gal is very mischievous . But guess will take things as it comes. So u planning to start next month? I have alittle fear of getting pregnant coz of the events I went thru during my last pregnancy. If only we can carry the baby without going thru the 10 months of roller coaster ride!

day
except for 2ww, the rest of the time I handled my elder girl by myself. but dun forget my #1 was older. she was 2 when I did my IVF.

at 2 she can walk n run perfectly well by herself, I can get away with carrying her less. she also can understand instructions. food wise she basically could eat anything we eat so if I was too tired etc I play cheat n let her eat da bao food.

the closer the kids age gap the tougher it will be.