IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Gan, I always looking at the cameras when bb wakes up. But hv blind spots and I can't go into the room. If Linus see me will cry even louder for me. Smtimes they stand at the cot to pat him their body block my view too. So I can't see what they do ... Last night was coz he choked I rushed into the room and saw my maid still holding the bottle n Linus in the bed. Thts how I know she fed him in the cot.

I m going to bring Linus back to my room.. Later will discuss w Hb. I always tell myself if anything ever happens to my bbs when they r under my maids care I will never b able to forgive myself!!

I do a lot of things myself. N the tasks I need my maids help they still can't do properly. I just scrub n clean the two bb foods steamer myself. They clean until got a bad smell when I took out to use. The mini steamer has a lining of foods stucked..I use a brush lightly brushed all came out. Haiz!!!!!
Alot frens kept asking why I need to do things myself when I hv two maids! But if I don't do myself they can't do it properly..despite me showing n explaining many many many times.

Pink d today I brought Grace to see dr Ang at TMC... He actually surprise grace is drinking 800ml a day.... He
Said milk shld cut down n take solids! In fact he
Mentioned solids impt Coz 1 balance solid nutrients is
More than 1 feed of milk. I shld encourage more
Solids and wean her off milk

So dun worry if ur boy taking solids well n
His milk intake not alot

Panda
Ya sometimes i also get v angry when my maid did sometin i dont like... Then my hb will always tell me that they are maid.. Some are not even mothers yet... So they wont know what are the proper tins to do... We just got to keep reminding them and monitor them...

Maybe yr maid doesnt know cant feed them lying down... Or they are simply tired... Cos must take note that they got to do hsewk and take care bb which is not easy... Further more the bbs are not theirs... I as a mother also get irritated by my girls cries and waking up at night... Imagine the maids...

Dont give up on letting linus sleep with u... Cos it wont solve the problem... As he grow bigger its even harder to wean him off... How long do u want him to sleep with u? Its not good for him either...

Gan
Yup i got the korean strawberry from ntuc last night... Looks pretty... I gave them to my girls this morning for bfast.. Apple blend with strawberry... So far i hvt let them self feed.. U gave yr girl the whole strawberry or half?

Panda
Btw my pd says hor.. One yr old must take porridge liao leh... Cereal is not enough... Can only take for bfast.. The other two meals must be porridge or rice... They must take 3 meals a day now... Jialat.. My small girl still cant take porridge.. When i ask pd.. She say i just got to keep trying and spend more effort... Else her daily meals not balanced. Must also take all meat.. Pork, fish and chicken... She still only on fish... Hvt intro chicken and pork.... Gosh.. Got to crack my head!

Panda for cleaning of things even baby like the sterilizer if mine didn't do a good one, i will ask her to do again while I see her do it. I can understand what u mean abt not forgiving urself but for housework I personally think u have to let them do...'not satisfied do again, so that u have more time play and take care of bbs else u will overtire urself .

Baby I give her 1 strawberry n she will eat everything herself. Now we let her self feed orange, pumpkin, bread

Gan
Haha.. So qiao..my pd also says the same tin.. Say must take more solids... She say my girls are not bbs anymore... So must eat more rather than drink... My small girl also taking 800ml a day now.. 4 feeds... Now i will try to drop one milk feed and try giving porridge... Hopefully she will take...
Yr girl taking porridge well now?

Ya panda i agree with gan... Cleaning part must let yr maid do.. Cos its not that serious.. At most only not clean.. Can always ask them to wash again... If everytin u wana do yrself then they will nvr able to improve... Worst still they purposely dont do it right so they dont need to do.. Cos they know u will take over!

My maid also sometimes dont clean properly then i just tell her to wash again.. I also fang xin to let her look aft my girls alone... I also let her bathe my girls.. Change diaper if im busy... Feed my girls... Etc... Else base on my two hands.. I will faint! The only tin i will do myself is cooking my girls food...

Baby my gal is a pricky eater...: and vegetarian. Dr Ang said if she eats eggs ok not to take meat for a while. Last weekend I blend carrot, potato n pork she took 1 mouth scream and cry. She takes about 1/2 small bowl of porridge for lunch n dinner

Gan
My small girl also picky... Loves her fruits but not vege..
She take egg yolk... I put it in her cereal... Now pd say must intro egg white... How to give? Hard boiled?
I give half egg yolk in her cereal each time... Today bfast give her egg yolk vanilla custard cereal... Apple strawberry puree.

Aldry prepared spinach, tomato, butternut squash and pork porridge... Gg to feed her when she wake up frm her nap. Last milk feed at 7am... Hope she will be hungry for porridge..

Baby my mum gives hard boil egg white. Eggs must be cook. Maybe when I m on leave next 2 weeks will try experiment more ways of cooking. She also self feed egg white. My mum gave her 1/2 n supervise as she self feed

Baby,how much milk is your elder girl taking now? I'm struggling to keep milk intake over 500ml for both my kids. They r on 3 solids a day (1 cereal, 2 porridge). Though my girl don't like cereal so sometimes can only feed bread/cheese/biscuits for breakfast. Did yr pd say 500ml is the minimum if they r on 3 solids?

My pd said that after 1 year can give them vitamin drops if fear they r not getting enough nutrients. Did yr pd mention anything abt that?

Btw now yr kids are 1 year old, what milk will u give? Same one, move to stage 3 or move to cow's milk?

Grumpus, other experienced mummies,

Is formula stage 3 better or cows milk? A lot of ang moh websites encourage moving to cow's milk after 1... Wonder why?

Baby, I envy you... 3 milk feeds can reach 600ml dy. I have to feed 5 times a day including midnight feed sometimes just to reach 500ml. Sigh...

Pandawife, I was like you. Everything also want to do personally. Got maid's help = like none sometimes. I am not a fussy employer..... But many a times.... I find myself losing my temper in front of my baby. That's why I sent off my maid last month - 13 nov.

Now everything I do myself Loh. Likely to start part time cleaning next week as I plan to get some workers to paint up my house. Last painting was done in 2007.

Gan, FYI regarding baby sleeping on our bed. My girl has been sleeping with us since she was 4 months. She needs a big bed to roll and Nua. As long as she sleeps well, I dun intend to chase her away. Haha.

Grumpus, ask u hor, what is the height limit to enjoy free rides on mrt and buses? Is it below 90cm or 120cm? Or above 120cm must pay adult fare?

Gan
My small girl took abt half small bowl porridge just now.. Not bad for a start.. Half hr later i give her milk cos the portion not enough for a meal...

Yr girl can munch quite well.. Can eat strawberry and egg white on her own... I didnt really let my girls self feed except for biscuit.

Working wife
I envy u lor... Yr bbs take solids so well.. I wish my small girl can be like that too...
My elder girl take 180ml each feed.. Total 3 feeds a day. Plus two porridge and a fruit puree. She can take another milk feed but i drop it.. Cos dont want her to over full. She can eat a full bowl of porridge each time.

My small girl take 210ml each feed. Total 4 feeds. Plus cereal fruit puree for bfast. And a fruit/vege puree for snack. Now i try to drop one feed for porridge.

Just faith the pd said I shld feed her 5 times a day! Breakfast, teabreak, lunch. Teabreak and dinner. He
Also mentioned 2 milk feeds is sufficient as our baby are coming to 1 year old so shld wean them from
Milk. I forgot to ask what is the min ml for milk Coz each feed my gal only taking 150 now.

Baby my gal doesn't chew well yet , just letting her practice .
In fact her porridge still with vege purée leh.... I have yet progress to cutting the vege and cook. Sometimes she will also gag.

working wife
alot of ang moh books recommend cows milk after 1 cos the assumption is bb shd be taking solids well n get most of their nutrients from solids. so milk is just for calcium which can be gotten from fresh cows milk or even replaced by cheese n yoghurt.
Asian cultures tend to be more kiasu n rely on formula for the added dha n what not. my elder girl is drinking stage 4.

just faith
above 90cm need to pay for bus/train fare. but I still cheat with my elder girl by carrying her up the bus :p

WorkIng wife all my 3 r on multi vit n fish oil. I hv exact opp problem. 3 milk monstes who refuse solids. These few days all cry once I try to giv foods. Once I show them the milk bottle they laugh happily.

I m not changing to stage 3 coz they r not eating well....Continue w stage 2

Nowadays they eat Cheerios w cheese for breakfast, lunch n dinner all reject. Pasta, rice, porridge, mee suah, all don't want !

Panda,

Oh, my pd said can start on vits after 1. So will ask him at next visit. How is the multivits given? Is it in syrup form and you just put in the milk?

Btw, how about you try feeding them everyday? No self feed, just focus on spoon feeding them for a period of time. Maybe if you continuously do it everyday, they will finally accept? With my girl, she also initially rejected porridge. So for about a month or two, I was feeding my boy porridge everyday but not my girl. Then I finally just ensure that I fed her when I was feeding my boy. She would reject but everyday I try. Even if its 1 spoon, also good enough progress. Then finally after trying for a few weeks, she finally started to eat porridge. Now she will eat the porridge everyday (touchwood!) But I can see she is a picky eater, and not receptive to new things. Cuz sometimes I feed pasta,or mash potato for a change, she don't really like, still prefer porridge. So maybe the trick is consistency, day in and day out, until they finally accept?

Grumpus,

I see... so actually not really much pros of cow's milk... except that no need to pack milk powder etc when going out! I think I will stick with formula too until they really don't want it. I remember when I was young, was on milk powder for the longest time, way into my primary years.

Gan,
Wow, my dream is when I only need to feed them milk 2-3 times a day. Right now, cuz I still try fit in 500ml/day, its like constantly feeding them milk in between solids. Sigh, x2 and the whole day is spent feeding feeding feeding. Yeah, did Dr Ang say what is the ideal amount for 1 yo since its 2 milk feeds?

Btw mummies, anyone started weaning baby off bottle? Ang moh website say should start feeding milk in a beaker/sippy cup. I think they will drink even less that way leh! Now when my bbs drink from straw cup, they will sip and sometimes let the water flow of out their mouth, like rinsing mouth. Faint! If feed milk, really cannot imagine!!

Panda
Yr bbs really love cheerios! Haha...

Hmm.. Maybe working wife is right? We just got to keep trying to feed porridge everyday till they can accept one day?
Maybe u give too much variety and they not in time to get used to each type of food?

Today onwards on will keep giving my small girl porridge.. Later gg to try to feed her.. If she dont take much then i give her milk or cereal... Carrot, zuucchi, spinach and cod fish porridge for dnr.

Just now lunch not too bad.. Can take abt half small bowl of porridge... After that refuse to open her mouth... I just got to keep trying!

working wife
yup I too drank milk powder way into primary sch yrs. in sec sch my mum still make me drink one cup of fresh milk n 2 slices if bread for breakfast.
I hv no plans to wean my elder off bottle until she self weans. u r right tat they will drink even less. the ang moh books all say wean off bottle aft 1 is also based on the fact tat they do not put much emphasis on milk aft 1. my sil who is married to an Australian n stays in Sydney even stop milk feeds totally. she tells me her son can easily get calcium from cheese m yoghurt.

I remember when my elder girl was 1 she drank 3 x 150-180ml of milk a day. usually only 150, occasionally 1feed out of the 3 she can finish 180. now she is still drinking 3 x 150ml per day

oh n when my elder reached 3-4 milk feeds only I found I hardly had to pack milk out anyway. the most maybe one feed only.
I did intro cows milk after 1 for convenience sake so i didn't hv to bring fm out with me or if we happened to stay out later than planned I could just buy fresh milk and feed to her.

Working wife my one is not food problem I find. They just refused to b fed. Even I handfeed their snacks they refuse to open mouth. But if I put in a bowl or their tray they wanna eat. Haiz... I hv been cooking porridge for mths! N we noticed they never wanna eat the same food the following day!

Really super fussy ...the good thing is they r so happy to drink milk n super fast.

I hv been cooking porridge for many months! Definitely one of the meals I will cook but end up I eat myself...

baby, they just refuse to open mouth when they r being fed leh...even their fav foods...

PD says thts the problem w 3 coz one refuse all will copy cat n refuse....

when i try to feed, regardless of the foods, i end up w 3 screaming bbs! i tried feeding one by one, but its just not logical n taking up too much time.... by the time i finish coaxing 3, its time for the next feed :S

working wife, multi vits in liquid form. i just add to milk. its also gd for building immunity coz the bbs go out more often now...

my maids hv problem w understanding the most basic instructions. just now was so mad i send all of them to my parents house n time out at coffee bean...

now even with me handling so many tasks, the 2 of them still cant do theirs properly. i definitely cannot trust them w bb alone.

baby, i hv 2 maids not 1 leh. and my house also not v big..n now dont even need to cook anymore. all their meals are ta bao or my mil cook! where got maids so good life? my 2 other bbs zzzz thru.. n the past 1 week i let both take turn wake up to pat linus.. prior to this its only me alone taking care of him 24x7...

its v stressful hving to tc of 3 bbs plus 2 maids n manage the household. even v basic daily tings like preparing for bb bath n meals also they can blah! can forget prepare bibs, or forget bowls or forget diapers...everyday i hv to remind n remind... i repeat until i m so disgusted w myself!

Panda
Sigh... Maid is problem... But without them also cannot..

Sometimes i face the maid whole day with 2 cranky bbs.. I really buay tahan... And my maid drives me to the wall with her stupid attitude... At times i scream at her... But without her i also jialat... I sure cant handle 2 bbs alone... No choice i got to bite and endure... Close one eye... But so far i can say my maid not bad liao... At least she didnt do anytin stupid to my girls so far...

Now yr maid dont cook anymore liao ah? How come? With 2 maids still cant find the time to cook? Hmm.. Quite good life hor... Considering got two maids to rotate... They only do hsewk and look aft bbs.. Still got u to oversee everytin...

Ya i thk 3 bbs feeding not easy... Can imagine 3 screaming bbs... Thats y i dont feed my girls together... With 2 i can easily feed one aft another esp when my elder girl can finish her food v fast... Usually for dnr i feed them aft their evening bath... My maid bathe my elder first.. Then i will feed her while my maid bathe my small girl.. By the time my small girl finished her bath.. My elder done with her dnr liao.. Then i can concentrate to feed my small girl... Same goes with bfast after their morning bath.

Panda
U mean just now u send both maids to yr mum hse then u alone at coffee bean with 3 bbs??

Just now dnr my small girl took 3 mouths of porridge and stop. Then make rice cereal for her with vege puree.. She again took a few mouths and refuse... I quickly go chop up mango to add into the cereal.. She also dont want! No choice make milk for her...

V stress when feeding her.. If i only have one bb i can totally focus on her.. But with two... Difficult... The daily basic chores and preparing their meals aldry make me shag out liao... By the time they sleep at night.. I drop dead tired!

Grumpus, what about mrt? Do u still carry yr elder girl? I find mrt staff are very on, sometimes they will stop the kids and check their height etc.

Gan, 5 feeds? If I can give 3 solids, very good Liao. How to manage 5 feeds? Also must check what is the ml required for two milk feeds.

baby, my maid used to cook, but i found out tht she is always rushing to wash the kitchen at night n end up anyhow wash my bb tbings! always milk bottle not clean and the sterilizer n hot water flasks all not clean. so me n hb discussed to let her focused on bb things..

but we noticed even without the cooking, the 2 of them still struggle w v basic tasks!

u r right..v good life. only housework n help me w the bbs when required. i bath, cook, feed, make milk, wash backside myself leh! they both see my bbs try to climb n crawl out of the bath tub, they also no confidence to bathe them... now all wanna stand n bathe...but still cant stand on their own without support..

my bbs hv to feed before bath..coz meal times is so messy..even if i try to feed them, they will wave their hands, shake their heads, hands go n grab the spoon then touch their hair, face or ears...

my eldest has an ulcer! no wonder refuse all the foods these few days... i think i will stop for a few days let it recover first....

no lah..i left the bbs n maids at my parents place. i went for a drink, n also buy my cny clothes.. thank god for the nearby mall....

Panda
Is it yr maids themslvs has hygience issue? Are they clean themslvs?
My maid is quite a clean freak.. She like to bathe.. Apply body lotion... Deodorant... Apply body powder when she goes to bed... She also uses mouth wash... And she also a v tidy person.. Even without us telling her.. She will auto tidy up the kitchen.. Wipe the kitchen every night even when we dont cook... So i quite fang xin let her handle all the washing..
Thats also one reason why i get a philpino instead... One bad pt is they are super prideful.. Will show attitude..

Baby, your maid sounds like my 1st maid. Very independent. Very clean and smell nice nice all the time. Also very prideful. Always want to use her ways to handle my baby and housework.

Pandawife, my ex indo maid also like that. Dont think they will change their attitude. They also cannot multi task. Follow simple daily instructions already got problem, not to mention follow "new" instructions. But I like their manners. No sweet talk, unlike Filipinos.

Just realised that I forgot to pass you the "instructions" for sarong. U want? Will show different ways of carrying baby.

baby, they also not clean themselves lor. i hv to check their nails, remind them to use mouth rinse coz their breath stinks! haiz.......

even their own room they cant keep clean, i hv to keep telling them to change the beddings, clean the fans, clean the windows! so u can imagine how frustrated i am... many times i tell them i think they r the mam, i m the maid!

just faith, u r right..my hb oso says their brain limited capacity... already max cant handle whats going on.. coz even daily routine work also cant manage. he even printed a "checklist" for them to tick coz always pack going out bag n forget this forget that...

today i found out they unpack the going out bag n totally empty it after every trip... we go out almost everyday..its so ridiculous n its not like we need those items at home. they unpack put all the stuff into different places, then the next day wanna go out go n gather the things put into the empty bag again! so stupid!! i ask them if they are v free????

ohh..no need instructins.. the indonesians r v gd w this sling... they sling their own bbs at home de... thanks again for the lovely sling!

just faith
mrt I also carry my elder thro. so far never been stopped. but maybe cos I always carry my 2 girls thro together the staff see me give me chance hahaha

Grumpus, thanks! My hubby lor. Very kiasi. Keep saying now my girl 80cm Liao... Very soon need to buy ticket etc. then I told them, put her inside stroller they won't know. Ok, will tell him u carry yr #1. Hehe.

Pandawife, ya! Brainless indeed. My maid last time also like that. Even going out again in the evening, she also go n empty the bag! On other days I ask her not to empty, she dun even bother to take out the tupperware (previously for porridge) or bottles to wash. They don't know to take short cuts to make their work easier. Talking about hygiene, I have to ask my maid to brush her teeth before going out! Can smell her bad breath leh....

Ok, then I will throw the instruction manually.

Panda I got the vit from dr Ang too... Can I check for the syringe to put the vit, do u rEcycle or use a new syringe everyday?

Panda
Thats the issue with indo maid.. Most of them have hygience problem... But their attitude is better than philip... Unlike my maid.. She super prideful... If i scold her.. She also wont say sorry.. And her face will look sad sad whole day...
But good thing is her hygience level good... She always smell nice nice... I dont need to tell her to use mouth wash.. She auto tell me she want to buy... And she dont eat onion cos she scare bad breath.. Hahaa...

And she also work smart.. Maybe cos she more educated.. So she knoww more things... Know which way can make her do tins easier...

Usually go out.. I will prepare all the tins and put on the table then she will help me check and pack into the bag... She is the one who will tell me i forgot to take what etc... Lol..

Talking abt vits and fish oil... My pd didnt mention abt it...
Actually does bb really need it? If everyday eat fruit and vege aldry have the necesary vits.. And if eat fish also dont need fish oil right? That time i read a report that till now its still a debate over whether does we need supplements in form of vits and minerals... All these med is artificial and some report show humans who take it will have shorter life span... So if aldry got the nutrients from food then its not needed for supplements... Hmm... What u mummies think?

Just now gave my sma girl broccoli, potato, tomato and pork porridge.. Ate few mouths and refuse again... Sigh.. Give milk in e end... Morning gave her cereal with spinach... Pear, rasperry and avocado puree...

Later gg to blend peach, strawberry with potato and broccoli and add salmon... Thats the only way i get her to eat vege and meat...

baby
shd get bb used to wearing shoe especially when outside. crocs r not suitable for early walkers.
branded ones will be like pedipeds, see Kai run, Colette etc. even Nike, addidas make cute pre walker shoes. or mothercare, osh gosh, fox etc
there r many choices. happy shopping

Crocs there is some safety concern Coz of being trap when on escalator ..... I did buy a pair of crocs for my gal for Mei Mei purpose when she is 9 mths. But
Now I let her wear see kai run though she hasn't really walked in those shoes as I tend to
Let her be bare foot when play or at home

Alamaks my bbs all don't like to wear shoes leh. I try at home they kept pulling it off! ESP my gal....

Gan u buy see Kai run from spree? How to check sizing ? These kids shoes not cheap n outgrown so fast ! Just like their clothes...

panda
tats y I say u hv to keep getting bb used to it. it's common tat bb pulls their shoes off.
if u let them get too used to being barefoot next time they'll refuse shoes n u can't possibly let them walk outside barefoot.
I always just buy fox shoes. my elder has never had see Kai run shoes!

I make it part of the going out routine so wear shoes always equals go gai gai n they're usually quite happy to wear them. although my younger girl always tries to put her shoes in her mouth when in her car seat.

when ur bb eats 1 bowl of porridge for 1 meal, do u mean with veg/meat puree or without veg/meat puree (juz plain 1 bowl of porridge)?

how big is the bowl? is the avent bowl size ok?

Panda her first pair I bot from mothercare ... But ex..
Subsequent buy from spree can save abt 40% to 50% . I bot her smaller by see kai run, the sole is softer. See kai run sole is harder but I think better when baby walk.my gal is wearing size 4 for see kai run which is siZe for 12 to 18 mths. U can
Check see kai run, their sizing is there. Alt can bing ur bb to try the size at mothercare then buy from spree.

I m a shopholic! Already bot 5 pairs of shoes for my gal!

wow.. ur little girl so lucky! hee.. i only bought 1 pair of fox shoes from the last robinsons sales.. cost only $6 ! planning to let her wear on her birthday...

baby, the multi vits r given on need basis.. my PD prescribe for my boys coz i told him they hv behavioral problems! haha.. so he says the fish oil will help mature the brain.. multi vit tht time was for my younger boy who has sensitive throat n cant eat solids at all....

Panda my gal was barefoot on her birthday celebration...hahaha was rushing out of house and forgot abt shoes!

Do u use a new syringe everyday for the multi vit?

Panda spoon? How to gauge is the right ml?

Baby hopeful, mine is small Chinese bowl, about 1/3 or 1/2. Porridge plus puree