IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Mic1980 ur bb cld still be constipated, loose stools cld be that bb is not passing outthe solid stool onlythe liquid stuff is passedout... Not sure u knowwhat I meant.
Notsure how old is bb, but suggest bring bb to see PD

Gan, my gal 3 mth 2 weeks.

Last saturday bring her see PD, but i blur as sotong, forgot tell the PD her stool is soft type.
Doc also din ask me what kind of her stool..

Looks like alot here starting to give lumpier food.. Im still giving soft puree.. Only gave grainy oats porridge to my girls..

I also bout bellamy pasta stars.. Gg to start giving soon..
I also gg to intro fish to my elder girl porridge tml... Hope she likes..

My small girl still dont like porridge.. Only taking cereal...
A fussy eater!

Panda,
Char did well! 1/4 bowl of thick porridge is pretty good already!
There isn't really a time frame for when bb shd be eating textured food. Some bbs still eat blended porridge at 1 yr old. But u do want to encourage bb to learn to chew. It's impt cos it builds up jaw muscles which will be impt for speech later on. Children who chew well tend to be able to enunciate their words better.

Would giving Lucas more finger food, biscuits n stuff help him learn to chew more?

Mic: If only drinking FM or EBM, I think the stool should be loose one right. When my girl was like 2-3mth old (Full EBM), the longer she didn't poo was about 4days, before we brought her to C doctor in that morning, she completed her task (I remember also loose one). In fact, my girl on and off has this constipation issue. So now started to give her pear puree (advice by sister here). Hopefully she can to poo poo daily.
BTW, my CL and school teacher like to use "Ru Yi You" to massage baby leg and apply small dot on button and tummy.

Baby, my boy stil on purees n cereal. He only takes porridge if I blend it.

Grumpus I tried giving him rice cakes. He doesn't chew n tries to swallow. End up gag... Tried bread tOo..same thing, gag n puke milk. Now I gv him the sweet cOrn rings..melts in the mouth he just swallow too.. Mayb he is not ready. I jus hv to patiently wait n try again...

Ru,

Because my mum help me look after my bb at Msia while i work at here (Spore), so i not very what kind of loose stool. My mum said when she din poo after 2 days, her stomach have a lot of wind and cannot sleep well in the night.

By the way, where can i get the pear puree ?

Mic: Your bb always has this constipation problem? Last time, because totally on EBM so I didn't give water so now I have instructed the caregiver to give water. But bb always very smart, water no taste so she doesn't like. My girl now 6+ mth so can start solid food so I introduced her pear puree. Your bb, I think still still small maybe wait a bit older. I think if always has this problem, c doctor and get the medicine for standby. I have collected the medicine but forgot the name (only for standby). If your bb totally on FM, give more water. Check with other sister, whether can give a bit barley water or not (I didn't try so can't advice you)

Grumpus, need your advice. My girl is rejecting milk! She was taking enfapro stage 2 since she was 6months. Also changed her teat size to #4 then. Since Saturday night, she has been rejecting her 150ml milk. She drank about 30ml only. Prior to this, hubby an I already noticed she has not been finishing her milk. Sunday was worst.... Refused to drink from bottle. Spoon fed her still ok - but had about 60ml. Tried to give her in cup straw. Reluctantly drank 60ml. Interestingly when I give her water in another avent bottle, she will drink without resistance. At night time, pattern change again. Dun wan spoon feed and cup straw. So I gave her baby bottled food again. She slept from 9pm all the way till 730am. In between only woke up for water two times.

Today I tried to give half enfa half friso. She reject. So I asked MIL who seldom feed her to give her milk. Surprisingly my gal gave face and drank 60ml+ in milk bottle. After my MIL went to work, I tried giving her the same. Enfa + friso. She rejected again. This is her erratic feeding schedule today. I usually dun give her so much solids. But since she is not taking milk, I gave her more food but in smaller amount.

730am woke up
8am shower
9am reject milk (friso + enfalac). So I gave her egg custard 2/3 big bottle. Finished happily. 
10am slept for 40mins
11am friso 2oz (milk bottle)
12pm porridge 1/3 bowl
115pm slept 45mins
2pm gave biscuit and puff for chewing
4pm rejected 4oz of milk (straw, milk bottle everything dun wan. Replaced with half bowl of porridge. She finished happily. 
5pm slept an hr

Now I really dunno what to do except to continue to give her milk. If reject, will try spoon feed or straw again. I am doing FET at Kk tomorrow. Thinking of buying more fanciful milk bottle for her. U think it will help?

Any of yr babies like that before? Reject milk? She's only 7months 23days old.

Just Faith,
does she hv teeth yet? if no, could be teething. or she could be coming down with something. or she just loves her solids too much
some bbs r like tat. they call it self weaning although yr girl is abit young to be self weaning. maybe she knows something big is happening tomorrow
anyway, just monitor for a few more days and just keep offering milk.
i remember there were times when my elder girl totally rejected milk too. whole day only drink abt 30ml, plus solids and water. i also try everything, straw, spoon, cup etc but she hardly drank. then 'magically' after 2 days she start drinking again.

dun worry too much ya, as long as she's still happy and active, 1-2days with no milk is ok cos she's on solids as well. just make sure she's well hydrated.

good luck on yr FET tmrw. dun get stressed!!

just faith, my gal has also rejected milk on some days. her track record is 6 hours no milk n she wasnt even on solids! i hv no choice but to try feeding her every hour until she wanna drink.

i always joke that my little gal is vain n on diet when that happens. i checked w PD before...he says bb moody..hehe...so long as its not continuously for many days n bb dont appear unwell...its alright de..

Same here!!!!

My small girl also keep rejecting milk since dont know when.. She is teething.. Her upper teeth cut thru..

We need to distract her with toys.. Rocking.. Let her watch tv then she will drink... Sometimes all doesnt help and she simply not interested... Solids also dont want..
She can go for without milk or solids for 6hrs.. Just wana sleep...

Even now also difficult to make her drink.. Must let her watch tv then she will quietly drink... Its a bad habit.. But no choice...

Pandawife,
My boy also refused to drink milk 3 hrs after taking the bellamy pasta. He couldn't finish 90ml of his usual feed. I think the pasta is not easily digested and makes them feel very full. I tried a few spoonful of the pasta since my girl refuesd to eat and felt a little bloated after that. My nanny added 5 tablespoons of the pasta to boiling water and it took very long to soften. Perhaps it takes longer to cook a large quantity. Anyway, I think I won't give them ballamy pasta until they reach 1 year old. Maybe will try pasta made of wheat.

I see that your babies all got different characters and you have to feed them different food. It's really not easy for you. I have 2 and they are already driving me crazy sometimes. I can't imagine you have 3!

The mushroom float looks interesting. I'll go and check it out. I see that your babies really have fun at the pool and I can't wait to bring my babies to go swimming soon. Oh do you order their swim suits at the BP too? Can you give me the link? Ordering online can save me a lot of time.

Gan,
What's the max weight that the seat float you got from mothercare can take? The baby sit on the float and the whole body won't get wet?

Grumpus,
Thanks for sharing your tips on childcare. I was telling my hubby that I got a lot to learn from you in this area.
Some books say that wheat will cause allergy in babies so it's better to avoid before they reach 1 year old? But it seems like many babies are taking wheat before 1 year old and are fine.

Just faith, all the best to your FET tomorrow!

Bing, up to 11kg baby's chest downwards will be in water. First time I just put my gal in the pool and the water was very cold though it was 5pm, think my gal got a shock n cried. So. Bot a baby warmer for her to wear n second time she was enjoying,

Any home based baker/ confectionery who can bake good fondant birthday cakes to recommend? I'm planning for my twins' birthday. Singapoh got 2 very pretty cakes for her twins. I got the contact of the baker from her but she's no longer baking for sale now.

Gan,
Can take up to 11kg only? My babies are already 9kg+ so I think I have to look for other alternatives. I didn't know there's such thing as baby warmer. Where did you get it?

Just faith,
You doing FET tmr? All the best to you! Hope to hear good news from you soon

Grumpus have u tried feeding red beans to bb? Can we cook red bean soup but without the sugar to feed? Thks

Panda where do. Buy the corn snacks? Remind me of those cheese snacks

Gan,
nope i never fed my bb red bean soup. my elder girl now does take red bean soup though. the regular one that we adults eat, sugar and all.
but not very frequently.

if u dun add sugar, i think it shd be ok to feed bb. red bean soup is supposedly bu xue.

Grumpus & mummies, yes! My girl finally drinks her milk. 100% friso. I figure out she might need a change of milk powder because I noticed she dun like sweet stuff. And friso is less sweeter than enfa. I purposely gave her diluted milk. Gave her 180ml but only 5 scoops instead of 6 scoops. She happily finish all. She has not been taking milk since Saturday night. So she has lost weight - she looks 1 size smaller.

Baby, my girl is just the opposite. If I on TV, she can't finish her milk. Very hong sim. I usually bring her to a quiet corner and give her milk. I also notice she can't finish her milk when I feed her in public. Too much distractions.

Thanks mummies! Just done with FET. Still resting on KK bed. I am not very hopeful. Anyway my girl has kept me busy to think of the outcome. Just hope for the best! Hehe

Gan, I think red bean without sugar is ok. I also gave my girl "tau Huey" without the sugar. I bought at whampoa mkt. She loves it.

re constipation -
my boy also poo only once 2-3 days. then everytime is hard stool and he always cry, very poor thg. I started giving more fruits eg prunes, cherries, blueberries. seems to hv worked. but then hor he sometimes poo 2x a day, smaller portion. now thinking maybe i overfeeding fruits...hhahah

pandawife, gan
which pool do u bring you babies to?
how do you handle? who else goes with you? want to try bringing baby to pool... but need to work out logistics. tks.

justfaith
yes keep urself busy with your girl, think that's the best way so that u dont stress over ur FET

btw, just wondering are u a SAHM?
take care !

justfaith
yes keep urself busy with your girl, think that's the best way so that u dont stress over ur FET

btw, just wondering are u a SAHM?
take care !

Bing, yeah lor. All 3 character v different. Smtimes drives me crazy what to feed them. I m still at trial n error stage. This morning I was so tired tht I got up 30minz late. Bbs all refuse to eat their food n cry for milk. All my cereal n purees wasted. Now I m cooking porridge for them to hv dinner instEad.

The swim suits r from fox baby during their summer sales. Only $12 per outfit. I dun dress my bbs in warmers. I let them get use to the water temp leh. N at home I oso start to use less warm water for baths. I normally will observe the weather before going. Afternoon sun must b v hot..so when we go betw 5-6pm the water is not so cold. N I let them sit half body in water on the steps play water first instead of bring them straight in.

Happyhippo, I gO to the pool at my bro EC. It's big logistics for me to go swimming w them. We need 5 adults to 3 bbs. 3 adults go into the pool w bbs n 2 stand by on top to help change dress n carry bbs when they r done.

Alamak... No time to create fb lah.. Hee...
Just finish preparing cauliflower and pumpkin puree to store.. Shag mann! Still have broccoli, sweet potato, pear, apple in the fridge waiting for me... Haha..

I dont even have time to explore new food.. Wanted to try prune, nectarine...

I heard my friend say can let bb drink some nourish lung water. Use yellow pear, apple, 蜜枣, 南杏,北杏 to boil... Can help to strengthen bb lungs...
Anyone try before or hear before?

Give me yr fb link la.. Can see photo no need to view video la...

i PM u the link..

i read its best to give plain water as long as possible.. before giving flavoured drinks. unless really necessary to giv these drinks...

Panda
Ya i dont accept pm.. Hee.. Nvrm la..

Plain water is the best.. However chinese always believe some nourishing boiled food water is good... Esp the older folks believe in this.. Thats y i give bb barley water.. Recently heard abt this pear apple tin so thinking to try also...

Of cos i wont add sugar in this drinks... I also dont give fruit juice to my bbs.. Dont wan them to used to sweet drinks..

Baby,
I use 蜜枣, 南杏,北杏 to boil stock for my elder girl. I didnt start giving all these until she was older, abt 1 yr plus.

I use the stock to cook noodle soup for her. U can use to cook porridge then dun need to give bb as water to drink and worry they get used to drinking flavored water.

I also don't give fruit juice to my kids including my 4 year old. If my eldest child wants a soft drink, I give him soda water at home. It has no sugar in it. Sometimes I just add a bit of ribena.

My 2 younger ones only drink plain water and milk.

baby, singapoh
u all talked abt not giving fruit juice coz it is very sweet - are u to those bottled gerbers/heinz fruit juice or fresh fruit juice ?

dont knw why everytime when i feed my boy, he will always poo a lump of poo... is it becoz he exerting strength to eat then end up pushing out his poo? any idea how to stop this?
tks

Happyhippo,

I don't give jar unless I travel overseas. I don't give fruit juice even if it's home made. It can cause tooth decay and diarrhea. Plain water is the best.

Sometimes my kids poo during meal. Won't be able to stop them.

singapoh
oh? didnt knw fruit juice will give tooth decay & diarrhea. i tot fruit juice got lots vitamins so gd for babies. so you give them whole fruits ie u dont extract the juice is it?

Grumpus need your advice. I totally stop pumping since last eve. So now my both(breast) felt heavy. So basically just let it be it right? The pain will disappear by itself?. Thanks

ru,
yes just leave it for now. if it gets too engorged n painful then just express out a bit n then leave alone again. just keep repeating n slowly the milk production will dry up.
can also use cold compress to reduce the pain

angeline,
definitely not true.
yr breasts r ready to produce milk even before u deliver. it's all a matter of supply n demand. get yr bb latching well and/or pump to stimulate n yr milk will kick in.

i bf my elder girl for 1yr thro exclusively pumping. my younger gal is now almost 8 mths n still 100% bf. both r c-sect.

angeline
like what grumpus said, u will hv breast milk after c-sect. dont worry. u must enjoy your pregnancy now, when baby is out, life will be very very different