IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

baby
thks.

these days looking after my little one is getting tougher as he gets more mobile. always rolling around, semi crawling, kissing the floo, etc. yesterday just fell out rocker.hiyo, cant let him out of sight for a second. what do mummies do to occupy your babies and get a breather?

Thanks mummies for the tips! Wah, use pork to make the porridge sounds so leceh! for working mum like me difficult lah.

Grumpus, good idea to scoop out a few spoonfuls first. Didn't think of it, hahaha.

Now my girl not really into solids. Its funny cuz she used to be quite enthusiastic when i first introduced puree and cereal. Now, she sometimes don't even want to open the mouth. Or cry when I start feeding her. is it normal? Should I just continue feeding everyday until she accepts it? She's already 7.5 mths and still not really eating solids. Is that ok, will she ever learn to accept solids? Sighh...

I already tried to drag the time ie. feed solids 3 hours after last milk feed, feed after she wakes up from nap. Not interested

One more question mummies, any recommendation of things to add to avocado? My doctor suggested I feed my girl avocado cuz its good fats and can help beef her up. But the taste on its own is horrible (the last I gave her avocado, she gagged and puked out her milk!)

He suggested adding papaya or mango to avocado. Anyone has any suggestions which baby liked?

Working wife,
Teething can cause drop in appetite. Or maybe she likes to chew? My elder girl reject mashy food at 8mths. My younger girl now rejecting porridge at 7mths.

Panda's girl was not into solid food much but then she discovered tat she ate biscuits really well.

U can make a batch of stock weekly n freeze for daily use.

happyhippo, i put my bbs either in walker, exersaucer, playpen or i strap them to the rocker.. ur boy fall out of rocker when strap to it? these are must haves for me otherwise i will hv to rest time at all thru out the day!

working wife, u can try avocado with banana.. the texture of avocado is quite thick leh.. u might need to thin it abit with milk. i tried giving my boy before...he gagged too.....

grumpus, i just steam apple in slices.. going to let my girl try eating it herself later for tea break... i tried making very thick cereal with the bellamy porridge cereal which is very grainy..she likes it.. coz can chew n chew on it....

pandawife
we cant strape him on rocker coz too tight, we usually next to him on rocker. he was trying to lean forward hence fell. we took our eyes off him for few seconds only n he action was to fast. thks for sharing.

Wow seems like alot mummies giving avocado.. Looks like im gg to try it soon too... Hee..

Panda
U steam the apple slices to let yr girl hold and chew herself? Means the apple still hard? If soft cant really chew... I gave my girls raw cold apple slice to chew... The coldness can soothe their teething gums... They didnt really eat.. Just bite and chew.. Got some juice while chewing...

Yr two younger bbs eating solids better now? U intro porridge liao?

My small girl still cant take porridge.. Can only take cereal and certain puree... Got improvement.. At least now can take grainy cereal like oats...

i just tried mashing up fresh prunes, but by the time i done, it looked brownish. does it mean it is oxidised and no more nutrients? i still need to keep in fridge to feed later. would it be double no more nutrients if i keep it longer?

singapoh
which type of banana can we feed babies? i only know that preggie cant take the del monte types.

Baby,

good idea to give the apple to babies. how big is the slice? is it like cutting the apple into six slices (big so that they can't put the whole thing in their mouth?) then how long can they chew on it before it turns brown? will they bite off a piece or its hard enough that they cannot bite it off?

I think i will try to give my babies

Working wife
I cut the apple into half.. Then cut it half again.. Then half again.. I will sit and supervise them while they chew... Its hard so they cant bite it off... But still must watch yr bb chew..
They love to chew cos its cold and hard.. Can soothe their gums...

Baby,

I tried to give her apple slices too. She will enjoy it for a while before turning to bite the high chair. V jia lud. Everything also want to put inside her mouth

Happyhippo,

Though the strap is tight, but must still strap yr baby. Their movement is too fast. I always tell my hubby. I too old Liao, cannot catch up with her. Now changing her diapers also a challenge. Must let her hold one toy in her hand. Hahaha.

Grumpus,

Ya lo. When my hubby has to get up the following morning or had a tiring day at work, I will excuse him to let him sleep on the guest bed. But he keep saying not used to the bed and miss baby kicking him. And I also dunno why baby likes to place her head closer to mine and kick her daddy. Frankly, I really enjoy when my girl crawls to me and "Teh" with me. I have been yearning for "baby's touch" for so many years. Hehe

Baby,

There are price tag on the banana. Ntuc sells only Pisang emas (small), Belangan (medium) and Del Monte (Large). Can ask ntuc staff if no sticker on it.

Note: sometimes there are Large size belangan Banana. Belangan shape is not as curvy as del Monte type.

Just faith,
Haha, my elder girl use to use my tummy as her pillow when she was small

Until now when she fall asleep she must tell me abt her day, wat songs she learnt in sch and hold my hand then she can sleep.
I dun mind actually cos after she fall asleep I just move her to her own bed to sleep.
So tat period before sleep is like our bonding time.

I sometimes use avocado to replace butter for sanwiches. My #1 now big already don't like to eat avocado straight up, now disguise in sandwiches and smoothies, she also don't know and just take it...hehe.

grumpus,

I like the bonding time you have with yr girl. Really sweet. When I was still staying with my parents, my mum will come over to my room. I will nua on her until I fall asleep .... I like to smell my mum's clothes. So now my girl like to nua with me, I really like the feeling.

Is yr #2 sticky with you?

just faith,
my #2 was not tat sticky when bb. but recently has been very sticky.
so now both my girls roll on our bed till they fall asleep. then i move my elder girl to her bed and my younger girl to her cot.
if my younger girl fusses too many times in the night she ends up sleeping on our bed :p

Hi mummies, besides apple, pear, what fruits are good to make puree for 6month old baby. My girl still doesn't know how to eat, but would like to continue to try. So far, only made Apple and this week is Pear. So think of what should I make for her next week?

ru,

got avocado, papaya, banana, apricot, peach...
i havent try apricot n peach yet.

root vegetables can try pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot, sweetcorn, potato, spinach, brocolli...
i yet to try sweetcorn, anyone noes how to remove d seeds fr d corn huh?

Panda
Been v busy lately? Seldom see u here...

My girls are down with flu... Super cranky.. Me and hb are super shag.. Didnt have time to rest at all..
We are getting abit negative... Dont seems to enjoy parenthood... Feels so breathless..

How u and hb manage 3 bbs?

baby, yeah.. my new maid is here..driving me crazy these few days.. she is a very experienced maid in taking care of bbs.. work in sg n hk all looking aft bbs from nb. but she cant even carry my bbs properly! when i question her, her excuse is tht my bbs are big n fat.. those tht she took care of previously r smaller.. FAINT..

now i hv no choice but to let her do housework only.. already informed the agent i want a replacement after their raya..

me n hb also shag..heh..but we enjoy being w the bbs.. my hb comes home everyday at 6ish, hv his dinner quickly n will spend all his time w the bbs until they zzz..which is not much coz they sleep early at ard 730-745.

ur girls are unwell, thts y its more tiring to care for them during this period..hang on there..things will get better once they recover.

my eldest boy n gal zzz thru on most nights.. now i let my younger boy zzz in my room once he fusses... average 1 night he can wake up to cry 3-5 times.. n need to be carried n pat back to zzzz..n smtimes dont want to be put down..wanna koala.. me n hb take turns to carry n pat him at night.. coz he dont want my maid...so i cannot rotate between me n maid.

parenthood is alot of sacrifices.. its been a while since i had a proper decent meal, or taken a long bath.... looking after more than 1 bb is v challenging.. but its also more fun and laughter esp when the bbs play together..

Pandawife, remember you mention one of your bb likes sour stuff? I just made prune puree today for my gal......and it is sour when I taste!!

Gonna feed her tomorrow..hope she will eat.

Not sure you try before, maybe can try for your baby. I bot the prunes from cold storage...the sierre sweet prune..not sweet at all!

My gal has been waking up more often lately at night to ask for milk...tiring...and sometimes after waking up, i can't sleep immediately., so will play ipad games zombie cafe. hee... and be a zombie at work!

Panda
So true... Parenthood definitely needs lots of sacrifices.. Thats y people always say being parents is not easy..
But thats what we crave for so long to be a parent.. Now that it has come true.. We feel "not really that enjoying" sometimes.. Esp when we dont get enough rest.. But my little ones definitely brought lots of joy to our family...

Maybe cos they are sick now.. So needs more attention and harder to handle.. Last nite both of us didnt sleep at all.. Cos my small girl keeps crying and refuse to sleep... That makes us even shag-er...

We gg to arrange some plan to let us have some breather sometime.. Maybe put the bbs to my inlaws once every week or during one wkend.. So we can have some couple time and run our errands... Else can go bonkers.. Esp for me to face them 24/7... Its also a long time since i do "me" tins.. Long time didnt watch my fav tv program... Do my hair.. Shopping etc... Need to have some of my life bk.. Need to do some arrangement to enjoy parenthood more!

Im gg to get another indo maid also.. Which agency u went to? Good?

babyhopeful,
yoplait brand is the standard one u can get at ntuc for 6+ mths bb.
dun think u can serve it warm cos tat will kill the live cultures in the yoghurt.

wat i do is leave it outside for awhile so it's not so cold. but it's still cool.

Does anyone owns an evenflo exersaucer ? There r many models n which one is fun for kids ? How long can the babies play in them ?

babyhopeful,
yes there's one that states for 6mths+
think only vanilla and banana flavour.
sorry it's been awhile since i bought tat during #1 time. i haven't started #2 on yoghurt yet

Gan, my eldest boy likes sour prunes..hehe.. u can mix w apple or pear of ur gal finds it too sour. i hv given him sour prunes, sour cherries.. he loves them..:p

wake up for often at night means need to give more solids.. its a transition.. once she gets more solids, the night feeds will reduce. my eldest now one only 1 solid feed for breakfast..4milk feeds.. zzz thru the night .. his last feed is 7pm. when i try to dreamfeed at 10pm, he doesnt wanna drink at all.. n just zzz lor...

my younger boy woke up for 1 hr cry n cry last night. cry in his zzzz..nothing i do can pacify him.. me n hb just take turns carry him until he is done crying... :S

baby, my maid agency is ok. but not all the maids are good lah..coz i hv tried 3 maids from there, only 1 is good. now i m waiting to get the 4th maid .... its all luck leh..

if u hv 2 maids, u will hv more me time n easier to get ur parents or in laws to help while u go out. for me, me and 2 maids to 3 bbs is already very stretch.. i cant ask my in laws to help coz my mil is not competent to handle them. once they fuss she panics.. n my sil is popping anytime this week..so my parents will be busy helping her...

my new maid really everyday test my patience... blur like sotong.. lost in her own world the whole day..dunno tinkig of what. last night i spoke to her then she told me she has family problems!!!

Panda ur elder boy only 1 solid at breakfast?
I am currently giving 2 solids fees, lunch n dinner. Mostly cereal but recently I started cooking porridge. How much solids ur boy takes each time? My gal takes about 4 enfalac scoop of healthy times cereal n 130ml for milk, anything more she rejects. So q challenge to make her eat/drink more.

Btw does ur maid fast?? Recently my maid asked me can she fast... I scared she will faint Coz doing housework so I told her better not.

Panda, ur maid speaks to u in English? Better change another one cos if always got family prob n not concentrating might be dangerous. Dun let her handle baby food. How abt asking your other maid to train new maids?

Gan, I allow my maid to fast so long as she cab handle work n not eating in the day. I see that she doesn't fast daily too. So still alright.

grumpus
Will try put in #1 rice the next time I buy avocado. She just recovered from fever, now cough and flu, need to pack more nutrients into her. Took her 1 yr to gain 1 kg, after being sick, lost 1/2 of it in a few days...

My #1 is like your #1 when come to sleeping. The difference is the kids sleep in their own room, but I got to sit/sleep beside her, tell stories or talk till she fall asleep unless she is super tired that she fall asleep before I can join her.

babyhopeful
I sometimes buy plain yoghurt and add fresh fruits or puree, but plain yoghurt not very nice on its own.

Pandawife
These maids always use family problems as excuse, my friends also have similar maid issues in the end, their family problem give us more problems...haha.

Rose and grumpus: thanks for your list and link. Btw, all fruits before we feed, it is better to "steam" first? I did that for Apple and Pear. Example, do we need to steam banana or papaya or avocado?

Hi mummies: lately we face two problem. Feeding and sleeping issue.

My girl used to drink milk only while she is sleeping. So at least last time we could pacify, pat her and let her sleep when we carry her. Now she totally reject us when we put her down (feeding position). Cry and cry, doesn't want us to carry her in that way so we have no choice and put her down on her cot. Though she is very tire but immediately put her down she wanted to play. Especially she likes to turn and lift her head up. When the energy down her face also down and cries but still doesn't want to sleep and drink. Her milk intake daily now is fall to 500ml and she doesn't eat solid well. Still doesn't want to open her mouth.

Besides that, recently she can't sleep through because she wants to flip and sleep on her tummy.
Sometime she cries because she can't flip or she flip and wake up and cry.

Not sure why but we suspect is her IFC change the handling caused the problem. One day when i asked did they see my girl sleeps on her tummy and one of the younger teacher replied and said "yes" they purposely put her to sleep on her tummy so that she could sleep longer. Few days later I wrote a memo and told them we had a hard time to sleep at night nowaday and wanted them to stop the way. The pricipal replied and said "No" we never pratice this in the centre. So we are not sure whether can we still trust them. Besides that, during our daily conversation, one of the teachers mentioned your girl sleeps well and longer in the rocker compare to cot. So I suspect they started using the rocker to feed her again. When I first brought my girl to the centre, they feed her on the rocker and rock her very violently. I told them that I don't wish to feed her in this manner and want them to carry her and feed/

Any advice will be appreciated.

Ru
Payaya, avocado and banana do not need steaming.. Just mash it with fork.. Or push thru sieve if u wanted it finer.. These fruits are soft in nature... Apple and pear are harder thus need steaming to soften it and easier for small bbs to digest...

No experience in ifc thus unable to provide any advise.

Panda
My current maid also like to daydream... Sometimes she look lost in her own world.. Recently keep forgetting tins..
But no choice got to make do with it..
My girl is down with brochitis.. Sigh... Poor tin...
Gonna be shag days ahead for us...

Ru,
I can't help u with the issues with IFC but yr girl is already 6mths +. If she sleeps better on her tummy, there's no harm in letting her sleep tat way. My younger girl also likes to sleep on her tummy. If I put her on her back in the cot, she will try to flip, hit the side of the cot and wake up. So several times in the night I hv to help her change position. If I put her on her tummy she sleeps longer.

U mean u carry yr girl to sleep then when she's sleeping u feed her? Is it cos she dun like to be carried lying down anymore? My girls hate being carried in that position, always must carry upright. Last time when my elder girl hv feeding issue, I would carry her upright until she sleep, then slide her down to lying down position n push the teat into her mouth. I'm not saying tat's the right way. Just sharing some of the tricks I used to make my girl drink.

Bubbybear,
My #1 weight was stagnant also for a whole yr. Only recently then she started putting on weight again. Then she fall sick, and lose some, then slowly put on again. Very slow process

Baby: thanks noted.

Grumpus: Yes, usually she will signal us she is tire like pulling her ear. So we know she wants to sleep and will let her lying on my arm and pacify her to sleep. Very fast one if she wants to sleep (this is last time story leow).

So not sure why just suddenly she changed her mood and doesn't want us to carry her the way. Her normal 730om feed can now drag to 930pm. So now every night she will cry because tire and hungry but still doesn't want to accept the fact until she doze off after we tried many ways.

Last time when she slept on her cot and we changed her position, she is fine and just turn and turn then ok de. Now, we can't change her position, she will cry and then eye open and see us. So few time we changed her position, she waked up and ddin't want to sleep.

Because both hb and I afraid she doesn't know how to push herself up if she feels unconfortable. Sometime she flip sleeps on her tummy she then lifted up her head and though is play time. Then too tire and head down again and cry.