IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Btw mummies, what do you think of walkers? Is it good for babies to use walkers? I have read and also been advised by my baby's physiotherapist that walkers are no good for them and they need to learn to walk without using walkers.

I am thinking that currently its quite boring for my kids to sit in the rocker. Aside from sitting in their play yard and playing with the toys there, they are either in the rocker or in highchair. what do you think?

Gan, you also think I should put 3? Can i still change my mind later? Have thought of going Genting or Penang. But dunno if my girl is ok with the pressure in Genting though.

Working wife, I also dunno how I can feed her so much water. She's on milk strike tonight. Refused to drink her milk. She ended up drinking 120ml x 2 times before I finally put her to bed. I dunno the size of combi meal. But I can feed her 2 x half Chinese bowl. Since yr babies are not so into solid, suggest u dun give fish porridge now. For fish porridge, I will blend after I steam as I tried to smash, but my girl just wouldn't like it. For other food, I will smash with fork. Is it because your porridge is too grainy?

Happyhippo, #1 was natural. Pop today, checkout next day. Chop chop for me. Think i need extra pair of hands - very tired to carry her when she crawl "out of boundary". Because SAHM, that's why want to get preggy again. Lol.

Working wife, my girl can only sit in rocker for barely 5mins these days. She always attempt to crawl out or stand inside the rocker. Need close supervision. I grew up using walker so i have nothing against walker. I wanted to buy walker but I think my house is too small for her to bump around. She has too many stuff inside the house. Haha.

justfaith,

second one...wooow. good for u. i cannot imagine havin to go thru everything again. mayb wait for another year...

gan,
if put ur maid with ur mum place? bring maid along in room no privacy leh, with husband somemore...hmm...

anyone know when can replace lunch milk feed with solids if bb can eat solids well? aft 9mths? i thinkin of skippin 1 milk feed durin lunch n replace with porridge. my gal is near 6.5mths.

Working wife,

Why not give them porridge for dinner too? Yr boy wakes up at midnight for milk, maybe purée is not enough for him. When my twins can eat a full bowl of porridge and a variety of food then I replace a milk feed.

I never blend fish together with porridge before. After steaming, I flake with my fingers and add to the porridge. Threadfin is a good start.

Singapoh/rose, my parents are on hols too...that's why i planned this trip since i am on leave to take care of my baby. hmmm not sure about putting at my in-laws.

Singapoh, my gal takes cereal for dinner plus milk but she still wakes up at night...in fact last few nights twice. is it i didn't feed her enough solids?

gan,
better reconsider bringin ur maid along. think about it, aft so many years, its d first time 一家三口 go out n hav fun. unless u got parents taggin along or havin twins, if not can really do without maid. if ur inlaws cannot put, ur siblings or husband side? or friends? i just went for a hotel stay with my bb n husband, shiosk man. fun and really enjoyin family life...

working wife,
yr girl is abt the size as my elder girl at that age. she had a similar schedule of milk and solids every 2 hrs.
proteins like fish shd be introduced when yr bbs r better at eating so usually u just need to flake or mash with a fork. for pork and chicken, i usually ask the butcher to run through the grinder twice so it's finer.

hv u tried spoonfeeding yr girl water? i got my elder girl this really small milk bottle, think max 50ml only. pigeon has one, it states its for juice or something like tat. anyway i fill it up with water and let her play with it in between feeds. she used to find it fun to self feed with the bottle so she ends up drinking more water.

my girl hardly spends time in the rocker anymore. high chair i use only for meals or when i really need to keep her in one place for awhile, like when i'm cooking.
other than that she's roaming ard everywhere in the house with me. she doesn't play with toys proper, she plays with anything and everything, as long as it's not dangerous.

i personally never put any of my girls in walker. but my mum put all 3 of us in walkers and we all walked by the age of 1 yr old. so no developmental delay whatsoever. it's yr personal decision.

Working wife... So envious lor.. Yr twins can sleep thru.. My elder girl still wake up in the middle of night... Small girl sometimes...

Now i replace milk with solids... Either cereal or porridge. They can eat abt 3/4 chinese bowl.. Cos i use fm to make cereal for them.. So in this way they are also taking in milk on top of the cereal...

My girls can take abt 120ml of water a day.. I use normal avent bottle.. Sometime i give barley water also..

Gan, hubby just reminded me I am doing FET.
(. Dun plan too ahead. So I booked for local holiday at hard rock hotel @ $180 per night. Hope it is not another scam. Heehee

Rose
Have u collected yr bbq toy? I just collected mine... U can go down anytime if u hvt do so..
The toy is for 3yrs old and above... Still a long way before my girls can play with it..:

Rose
No lor.. They didnt call me.. I call up to ask them. The stock aldry here...
U can go down today.. Open on sat till 6pm.. Sunday not open...

Forum alot people selling? How much are they selling for?

Just fAith u book thru rws?? I was been cheated by the rws scam, booked to celebrate my dad's bday...there goes my $400!!

Rose no lah... The lady who did the bulk purchase is under investigation now. Take it as lesson learnt. I bot the package from SMH bulk purchase, turned out to be a scam.

Mummies how do u choose avocado?? Wanted to feed my gal just now but the ones I ot think not ripe snuff, can't mash with the spoon

Gan,
i usually buy the bright green even coloured unripe avocado and leave on my counter to ripen. it will be very hard when pressed.
the colour will turn dark brown green and when u press the top part of the avocado it'll be slightly soft.

Grumpus,

Your elder dot was same size as well? haha, ok at least I feel a little better. When I see the Jan forum where everyone comparing their 9-10kg babies, I feel like aiyooh,,,,, my girl girl so small
I guess she is just built that way... she drinks 700-750ml + solids a day but still this size. High metabolic rate? Something she will cherish when she grows up

Thanks for the tips on feeding the solids. I must still continue to figure out when and what to feed them. Currently I try feeding my girl solids two hours after milk feed, one hour before next milk feed... she don't want. Sometimes refuse to open mouth, don't look interested. Maybe she is still full. So I thought maybe try feeding her 3 hours after last feed, and then milk an hour later. So drag the cycle to 4 hours.

I also think they are quite bored with cereal already. I have finally purchased a slow cooker today and have made a batch of vege stock. Will try cooking porridge tomorrow. Will start with putting vege in first. Fish I will try later. I can't seem to find thread fin at the supermarkets here. Any idea what other fish I can use when I decide to intro fish later?

Grumpus,

So you never used walker... when did your girl start walking? Now, my boy can crawl forward a few steps and can stand when holding onto something. Though not pulling himself up to standing position yet. Man, when he starts that, need to lower the cot mattress.

Anyone let their bbs sleep on mattress on the floor? I wonder when is a good time to do that?

Baby, my boy not sleeping thru the night. He wakes up for milk once. And then he also wakes up 1-2 other times, not for milk but need to carry and put back to sleep.

Your babies sleep in their own room alone? How do you keep an eye and ear on them? I wonder when I can transfer my babies to their own room... because my boy still wakes up at night, its more convenient to put them in our room. But totally no privacy for hubby and me. Sigh....

working wife,
yeap my elder girl was small. my younger gal is bigger but still not as big as those 9-10kg bbs lah. she's 'only' 7.7kg at 7 mths.

when u hv picky eaters, it takes awhile to figure out wat they want. my younger girl rejected cereal after one mth, then i moved on to porridge. now after one mth of porridge, she is rejecting it too. now still trying to figure out what she wants.

as for fish, hmmm any deep sea big fish shd be ok. like garoupa? basically the ones u can buy in fillets. guess u'll hv to try out to see which ones are not so coarse so it's easier for yr bbs to swallow. eventually u can give cod or salmon too.

my girl didn't use walker and walked independently at 12.5mths

my elder girl fussed alot at night so she ended up sleeping with me on my bed from 8mths to 2yrs old. then i trained her to sleep on her own bed but still in my room. now my younger girl is fussing every 2 hrs and is prob gonna end up on my bed soon too....hahahaha

singapoh
thks, will check out daiso when can.

do you let your babies sleep on the pillows? i tried but my boy always end up rolling off the pillow.
also does your babies like to throw thgs out of where he is sitting? eg in high chair, throw thgs down/out of chair. any tricks to stop this? on the other hand, it is quite amazing where they learnt such thgs.

Working wife
I guess those with twins... Surely got one bb is easier to manage and the other more difficult haaahaha...

My small girl usually can sleep thru till maybe abt 6plus am...
My elder girl will wake up a few times for milk and pat to sleep...

My two girls sleep in their own cot in the room themslvs since birth... I dont practice co sleeping.. So i also didnt let my maid sleep in their room...
My room is next to their room.. So if they cry i can hear them..

Why need to keep an eye and ear on them? Unless they cry then need to attend to them.. Else just let them sleep and self soothe themselves...

I know if u do co sleeping.. Its v hard to kick off the habit.. And once they are older and u wana train them to sleep on their own.. It will be super tough.. I dont wana let this happen so let them sleep in their own room frm day 1.

happyhippo,
all bbs love to throw things off their high chair. they're learning cause and effect. and the love the sounds they can make, they'll get bored of it soon enuff

i hv used the keloid cream before. it works for me cos my scar has less keloid this time round compared to my 1st c-section. sorry i dun remember how much it cost. it was prescribed by my gynae, not sure if can buy from pharmacy. can try asking the pharmacist.

Happyhippo,
My hubby just bought the keloid cream from unity pharmacy today. However, they do not have the ultra version so we just made do. It cost $77.70. Quite ex but hopefully it works to reduce.

Working wife,

My boy has been sleeping on a mattress placed beside my bed for about 2 months now. I surround the mattress with many big cushions and bolsters. I decided to let him sleep on the floor as he likes to climb up and down now, so sleeping on the floor is safer. He used to sleep in the playpen but he had outgrown it and I didn't want to get another cot as I'm moving to my new house soon.

I've just started to let my twins take 2 feeds of porridge. I feed them every 3 hours. If you feed them too often like every 2 hours, are they able to drink/ eat well since they are still quite full from the last feed?

My PD said that babies can start taking fish at 7 months followed by pork, and chicken and finally beef. I think like grumpus mentioned, babies can take most of the deep sea fish, especially those with big bones which can be easily removed. That's the reason why parents usually feed their babies threadfin. Cod fish and salmon are good for babies as they are rich in omega-3. If you can't find threadfin there, maybe you can get garoupa instead? You have to let your babies try different types of fish and see if they like it cos different babies has different preference. My boy can take any food but my girl is a very fussy eater. She doesn't like the taste of salmon and she won't open her golden mouth at all when I feed her salmon porridge.

How are you doing in Bangkok? I see from FB that you seem to be enjoying yourself there. Any helper to help you out? You have relatives who can help you to babysit there?

my boy keep waking up every 2 hrs last nite. sighhhh....carry stop crying, put down start crying..
some of u mentioned that we need to feed him more during daytime. does it mean the last feed before he goes to sleep or throughout the whole day?
think i really need to start training and let him cry abit to sleep.
can I ask what sort of sleep rountine do you all do? also what can to do to train him to self sooth?
thks so much !

Happyhippo,
He wake up cos hungry or other reason? If hungry then yes, feeding more during the day will help keep him fuller and wake up less for food in the night. If it's not hunger, feeding more during the day will not help.

Happyhippo

I brought my girl to my brother's office from 2pm to 7pm y'day. She napped about 30mins two times in between. When she came home, she was totally KO! Slept all the way from 9pm to 730am. No milk feed in between! Wahahaha!!! - so I concluded with my hubby dun let her nap too much during day time. On other days when my girl fuss like yr boy, check the AC temp. Is it too cold or too hot... Sometimes if whether is too hot, baby cannot sleep well and will wake up easily! If too cold, then I check into thicker pyjamas!

Grumpus, you mentioned your elder girl slept with u until 2. May I know do you still have bedframe in your room? What's the bed arrangement like? You put the mattress on the floor? When yr #1 was 2, what are the sizes of mattresses u have? I am thinking of dismantling my bedframe and sleep on floor. Will get another 3 or 4ft mattress. But I dunno if this is the right move.... Especially when I have a weak right ankle, I may have problem getting up from low ankle.

Just faith,
Hb n me sleep on a king size platform bed. My master bedroom is 2 rooms knock down into 1. If my girl roll off the bed it's 2 steps.
When my girl slept with me she just slept in between both of us. When hb was away, I would just block his side of the bed with pillows. We hv a spare room with a super single bed, so occasionally hb will sleep there if our girl was kicking him too much.

When she turned 2, we moved the super single bed into our room. Tats the bed my girl is now sleeping on so she's actually sleeping on a totally separate bed from us even though in the same room. Eventually when we move hse I will move her to her own room with my younger girl.

My platform bed is quite low, when I was pregnant already hv prob getting out of bed sometimes. Tats something u need to consider if u r thinking of dismantling yr bed frame.

Baby,

I didn't have the luxury of so many rooms when I was in SG so no choice, the cots had to be in our room. Now in BKK, I have enough rooms, but the baby room is too far away from the master room. And also, since they wake up a few times at night, its so difficult to walk over to the other room to pacify them. Plus sometimes they don't cry full on, just whine and whine and then after a while, they start crying. This way, boy will wake up the girl.

For you, does your elder girl wake small girl up? in my case, the boy always wake girl up when he cries. Then the girl's sleep is interrupted.

grumpus, justfaith
my boy's last feed is 9pm - 180ml + 3 spoons of cereal.

my pd asked me to add cereal to the milk feed and if he waki during the nite, just give water only. this is to get him to stop waking up for milk. but dont seem to be working leh.

with 180ml fm + 3 spoons of cereal : i really don't know how long this should last him. so when he waki middle of the nite, i also cant really tell if he hungry or not.
i'm now estimating it to last 6 hours, so if he waki after 4am, i will give him a small milk feed (120ml). but this didnt work last nite

justfaith,yes i've chked all the thgs abt too hot/too cold ardi, but bb still waki waki.

this is my current feeding schedule. can help me see if i shd modify anythg?

8am - 120ml FM + 3 spoon cereal (cereal separate from FM. part of the FM is used for the cereal)
10am - apple juice (estimate 30ml)
12nn - 150ml FM
2-3pm - nursing him to take afternoon nap
430pm - apple juice (estimate 30ml)
5pm - Porridge
9pm - 180ml FM + 3 spoon cereal (cereal add into milk)
4-6am - 120ml FM

Grumpus/just faith/ baby I made some pork stock for my gal's porridge using lean meat but still can see some oil....is it ok to use that for porridge? If not how u remove the oil?

Gan,

Did u use pork bone or pork rib to make pork stock? Pork bone is oily. U can get a strainer for straining oil. Or simply put ice cube and the fats will go to the ice and u just scoop out. Make sure soup is not hot coz ice will melt really fast and dilute yr stock.

Singapoh I used lean meat. Will try pork ribs next time... If use prok ribs will there be small bones chips on the soup... U know what I meant? Where can I buy a strainer ? Can buy from ntuc or cold storage? Thks!

Got a ques to check with you. When you first make porridge for your babies, what do you put in it? I have just started feeding them porridge and wonder what I should use in the porridge. Am thinking of sticking to vege first, eg. carrot, sweet potato, spinach, broccoli, cauliflower.

Do you blend these vege and add the puree to the porridge?

Do you use meat to cook in the porridge to make it tastier and then when feeding remove the meat? How else do you make the porridge tastier?

Also, I realized that though the porridge I cook is 'lan' and the rice is quite broken down, the porridge is rather watery and in fact, midway thru the feed, it becomes more and more watery. By the end of feeding them half a bowl, its already become like soup water, and the kids just boo it out. How to make the texture more lumpy instead of watery?

Workingwife,

I used pork loin and veg like carrot, potato, etc to sweeten the porridge. I would remove the meat and veggies before blending. U can steam veggie separately and to the porridge to blend. Or simply add veggie purée.

If porridge gets to watery, u can add rice cereal to thicken it.

Gan,

Before making stock with pork (with bones), u need to boil it to get the dirt out. Rinse and wash the pork ribs. Then add to a new pot of boiling water.

U can check in hdb shop and supermarket.

Happy
I bought elephant organic brown rice. For white rice i bought thai organic rice from ntuc. I find it good cos its easier to soften than those normal non organic white rice..

Working wife
Use lesser water when u cook the porridge. U can add water along the way if u find it too thick... Its better to use lesser water first then add water if too dry.. Else too watery difficult to thicken it..

I dont add vege or meat stock.. I cook plain porridge and add vege puree... The vege puree i cook separately... I dont add to the porridge to cook cos will lose nutrients.. I add the vege puree just before i serve the porridge...

Sorry for the late reply. My MIL really spoilt my weekend. I have no mood to cook and do anything over these few days. Only felt better today. Hope it is not affecting my lining. 

Gan - I use boneless pork loin. Don't buy those shoulder butt / 五花肉。  It's too oily.  I ever tried pork ribs or those pork bones for making soup. For pork ribs, gotta use those less oily ones.  The soup definitely taste sweeter and more nutritious - especially the bone marrows.  But need to boil the pork bones over gas stove first.  Then I will use a drainer and filter out the soup. So the rice is cooked with the soup (not other tap water etc).  Alternaively, you can buy 银鱼 (not ikan bills). Also boil over gas stove. Drain out the small fish and transfer the soup base to the porridge. Abit lay Chey. For pork loin porridge, boil rice over gas stove. I use the smallest cooking pot. When the rice is "cooked" and with bubbles, i will add the meat before transferring to slow cooker. So the meat is cooked with the rice throughout.  Faster this way, I dun have to cook so early.  Cause the slow cooker i have is really slow! 

I usually feed my girl after she wake up from her nap.

Working wife - you add too much water to the rice le. Like what baby says, you can add water along the water. Like that easier to control the texture of the porridge. The texture should be runny throughout the feed.  Sometimes I realized I add too much water, I will scoop out the excess water. 

Working wife,
Once u got the softness tat u want, u gotta cook down the porridge until it's quite dry. Then it will be thick n lumpy. As u feed, the more u stir the more watery it gets. So wat u can do is scoop only a few spoons into the feeding bowl then when tat is finished then scoop more into the feeding bowl so u're not dipping into the whole bowl each time.

Gan,
When boiling stock with pork, need to 'wash' all the oil n gunk out once with boiling water. That first batch of water throw away then put the pork to boil in fresh water for the stock.

I buy from daiso these big teabags. I put all my stock ingredients in the bag to boil. Any additional gunk, residue, pork bits etc will be trapped in the bag. When the stock is done I just fish out the bag and throw away. The soup will be very clear, saves me the trouble of straining.

working wife, for vege porridge easier. I just steam the veggie the same day and smash with fork. I dun blend it. Only mix with porridge before servicing.

Grumpus, thanks for yr reply. This is exactly the same arrangement I have now. But now I am thinking of moving the guest bed to our room. So either hubby or myself will sleep on the guest bed. Cause my girl is taking too much space on our 6feet bed. She dun sleep in the same direction like us. It's like a "H" sign on our bed. Though she's already 7months. Hubby and I still check on her every now and then. See if she's sleeping well ... Breathing or not... Too cold or too hot. Shes always within my sight. When she's older, then I will let her sleep in her own room. So far, it works well for my nieces.

Just faith,
Yes yes yes! My girl slept the other way too! Like a H sign, tat's why sometimes hb get so fed up or if he's flying the next day and needs his sleep, he will sleep in the spare room :p