IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Btw, can we give those long del monte banana to bbs?

And those buying cereal from agape.. There is this babynat fruity cereal i buy... Walau the smell is horrible mann.. I thk cos there is this quino grain in it... So regret buying it.. I thk i wont give it to my girls.. Gg waste the whole tin..

Some time back, someone mention here that organix products have harmful content is it? So is it safe to give bbs? I tot its organic.. Suppose dont have harmful content unlike those not organic tins??

Grumpus
Oh is it?? I didnt know ntuc also selling..
What is the english name of ngor he?
But if buy frm ntuc.. Cannot choose those cut that is no bone.. Cos if buy frm mkt can request those part that is no bone for bb porridge one...

baby,
quinoa is a good grain to give yr bbs. some ppl says it smells like ginseng actually, i think it smells like beans.
anyway, quinoa is good cos it is classified as a grain and eaten like rice but is actually a protein source unlike rice and other grains which are carbo.

Grumpus
Ya i know its good.. But hor.. The smell really puts me off mann... Hee... I did give my elder girl.. She seems to like it but i cant bring myself to prepare it.. Hahaha...

Oh nghor he is threadfin fish.. I didnt know.. Ok ok.. Will chk out ntuc.. But i wonder is it as fresh as wet mkt.. Hmm..

baby, time flies one leh.. tht time we still waiting to pop, now bbs already 7-8mths.. i tink i will she bu de when its time to send them to cc leh! dunno will cry anot..haha..

my mum still helping me..my new maid coming next week... my mum will still pop by until my sil pops..her edd is 3rd week of aug..very soon.

now bbs are older, 3 adults to 3 bbs not so bad lah.. coz they can sit n play independently.. my eldest boy n youngest gal can play toys in the play yard for 30-60mins session one. only my 2nd boy very needy..super glue to me all the time. i set up many play stations...so when they are bored, switch toys or activity... and i bring them downstairs for stroll 2 times a day.. morning before their morning nap, and evening time to wait for their daddy to come back

its normal to hv good days and some not so great days! hehe. most nights i also concuss once bbs zzz...luckily my ones sleep early..if not i also cannot sustain the energy..

yeah..happy bellies cereal is good. i am using their multi grains.. bought the oatmeal and brown rice but not yet try. my bbs eat cereals very slowly.. i hv to finish what is opened before trying new ones.

i bought a pack of heinz organic vanilla custard to try leh.. its egg free one.. quite tasty! just stir w milk n add fruit puree.. my boy likes it.. maybe a change from the boring cereals taste...

Baby, i already gave my gal ngoh he for about two weeks. It's $50+ per kg. So one slice costs about $8-$10. You can buy from ntuc but i prefer to buy from kovan market. I find it a challenge to cut into small pcs for her. End up, I got a blender because of fish porridge.

Thanks Ru n Prayhard. My gal Recognise pple so I m not sure how she will adjust but guess has to start somewhere Coz even if I dun put her in infant care early next yr, she wld be going Childcare at 18mths, guess she still need to adjust .

Just faith how much fish fo u give ur girl each time?

Anyone using Pet Pet size: M? I have some (about 40 - 50pcs, I didn't count) to give away. My girl has outgrown it.

Self collect in Seng Kang. I can meet you at SK MRT. Anyone interested please PM me.

singapoh
when u buy whole salmon from ntuc, do they cut it up nicely for u? like the way they sell the individual pieces? do they cut out the bones for u? coz i scared buy whole fish come back dunno how to handle, but yes its tonnes cheaper to buy whole fish.

ru
re beaba cook - initially i also bought by the nice colour & design. but after reading amazon review, seems like there is a design flaw. so now not so keen to spend so much on it. sorry to be ant-climax abt it. coz i usually go read all the one-star reviews to know what are the negative points of the item so that i hv a better idea.

i was reading review on happy bellies cereal. some negative review on the rice cereal, but not sure if comments is reliable or not, what do you think? i'm not very detailed with ingredients.

http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Cereals-Probiotics-Choline-Canisters/product-reviews/B000YSTGGW/ref=cm_cr_pr_hist_1?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=0&filterBy=addOneStar

hv u bought ur high chairs ardi? wanna go shop for it at taka fair. hope to find one that is super stable that baby dont topple over. any recc?

Happyhippo,

Yes they clean and cut for u. Just tell them how u wanna cut. For me, I want fillet cut. They will pack in a bag for u. U can tell them to pack the heads, bones separately.

Today and tomorrow, whole salmon in Carrefour is $0.99/100 gm.

Singapoh
Thks for the tip abt buying whole fish! But for a start i thk i will buy small slice first to see whether my girl is receptive not..

Happyhippo
Alamak... The review looks v scary... Hmmm..
I been giving cereals to my girls.. Now im concern abt the content in them..

Baby,

It's my pleasure! U can eat salmon too. Last round I bought a 5kg + salmon. It lasted close to 2 months.

After I bring home, my maid will wash and cut to size for 1 meal and packed individually in a plastic bag. Sometimes 1 slice is shared by my trio. Usually steam, sometimes bake.

I haven't login for a while. How's everyone doing?
I have been very busy recently. Busy with work, taking care of babies, managing my 2 helpers and running the whole household. My husband had just gone to work in Japan and I have a very heavy load now. My husband asks me to stop work and be a sahm instead but I can't bear to give up my career. In a dilemma now..

Singapoh,
Is the threadfin and salmon at supermarket fresh? If it's fresh enough for baby's consumption, I'll buy from supermarket next time. I have been going to the wet market once or twice a week to buy fish for the babies.
What is the min amount of milk a 9 month old baby should drink in 1 day? IS 600ml enough? I'm thinking of feeding my babies porridge for lunch and dinner. If my babies are taking about 200ml of milk for each feed, do you think they will take in sufficient milk if I feed them once in the morning, in the afternoon and before they sleep?

Bing,
My elder girl was taking abt 500ml or so of milk only.
By one yr old the typical schedule is 3 milk feeds (between 180-240ml), 2 solid meals n snacks in between, so I think it shd be ok for yr bbs.

Prayhard,
I guess the getting sick part is can't avoid de. My elder girl use to get sick once a month too. Maybe when she starts taking solids, can try to give her more veg and fruits to make her more healthy.

Ru,
I saw that steamer and blender. Its quite nice, nice colour. The containers also got very nice colours too. But looks ex thou. Didnt see the price.

I rem someone mentioned abt keloid. Can I know if there are any creams that can be used to lighten the scar? Any effective creams?

Grumpus,
Does this work for u? My hubby went for an abcess surgury last year and till now still have a very big and ugly scar due to keloid. Its under his ear and he will complain abt itchiness and pain at times. Apply creams also no use too.

Grumpus,
Reduce as in the redness of the scar? Or the size of the scar? My hubby's scar is still red and seems to be getting bigger even after 1 year.

Tickles,
reduce the redness and the size of the lump.
u can try the cream and see if it works. if it still keeps growing and is itchy and red, need to see a dermatologist. my friend needed injections and laser treatment to remove her keloids cos it kept growing and was itchy and pain

Bing
Same here... My girls also take abt 3 milk feeds a day.. Two solids meal.. My girls are 8mths old.. They have their milk when they wake up.. Cereal for bfast... Milk in the afternoon.. Porridge in the evening... Milk before bedtime..

Bing
Same here... My girls also take abt 3 milk feeds a day.. Two solids meal.. My girls are 8mths old.. They have their milk when they wake up.. Cereal for bfast... Milk in the afternoon.. Porridge in the evening... Milk before bedtime..

Bing,

I have been buying fish for my kids from the supermarket.

My twins are having 4 fm feeds a day. (210 ml each feed)

Morning milk upon waking up

Breakfast ~ custard & a slice of home baked bread

Mid morning milk

Lunch ~ soft rice/thick porridge with soup

Mid afternoon milk

Dinner ~ soft rice/thick porridge with soup, fruit

Before bedtime milk

Sometimes give snack in between but not everyday. They see us eating, they also wanna eat.

Grumpus
I agree mann... Singapoh bbs can drink!
My girls only taking 170ml per feed... Only the last feed sometimes can drink 210ml... Porridge/cereal can take 3/4 bowl...

I started to let my girls drink barley water..
How often can i let them drink? Alt days? 3 times a week?

Grumpus,
From how many months onwards was your elder girl taking 500ml of milk? I feel that at 9 months, milk is still an essential part of diet. So I want to let them take as much milk as possible even with 2 solid meals.

Singapoh,
Your twins really can drink! Can even have 2 milk feeds in the morning? That's a total of 420ml just in the morning!
How much porridge do they take for every meal? 1 adult bowl? My nanny is feeding my boy 2 bowls of porridge for lunch now. After he finishes the 2 bowls, his tummy will be so big with the food inside. I feel that my nanny just wants to stuff him with as much food as possible cos he's not been gaining much weight recently.
I'm going to start feeding them 2 meals of porridge tomorrow. The schedule will be luke this:

6am 120ml of milk
9am 200ml of milk
12pm 1 bowl of porridge
3.30pm 200ml of milk
6.30pm 1 bowl of porridge
10pm 220ml of milk

Is 1 bowl of porridge for lunch or dinner enough for babies at 9months? My boy can finish 2 bowls at a time but I find that it's too much for him.

Baby,
What's the weight of your girls now? My girl is 8.5kg while my boy is 9kg. Their weights are in the 50th percentile. But I find that their limbs look skinny now. Used to be very chubby. So my mum is quite worried.

Bing
Wow.. Yr boy can eat two bowls!! Im trying to control my elder girl diet.. Dont want to let her eat too much.. I will only let her eat 3/4 bowl of porridge.. Cos since she started on solids.. She gain quite alot of weight.. My small girl is the opp.. Lose weight ah...

My elder girl is abt 8.6kg.. My small girl is 8.2kg... Now at 8mths old.. My small girl dont like porridge.. So im giving her cereal...

Bing,
My girl at 6mths plus already drinking only 500+ml of milk a day. At one yr old she drank 180ml x 3 feeds a day only.

I think 2 bowls of porridge is too much! One bowl is enuff. If u want, u can feed other snacks in between. Better to feed frequent small meals than one huge meal.

Bbs will slim down once they start to crawl n walk, it's normal. 50th percentile is ok wat. From now they will start to lengthen out so they will seem less chubby.

Baby,
Depends on how heaty yr gals r. If just 'maintenance', think one a wk is enuff. If very constipated, I give everyday until my girl poo.

Grumpus barley will help constipation?? My poor gal is constipated... Her anus is red coz she poo a few times since yesterday but each time only little hard stool. I gave her per puree yesterday n today n feed her barley cereal but still the poo is still solid not like last time... Think I didn't feed her snuff water last weekend. What else can I feed her to help soften the stool? Brought her to Thomson med, the gp gave her stool softener. I have fed her once but trying to minimize med, thinking of using natural way.
Any advice?

Gan,
u can try barley water. if u use it to make fm, u can get yr girl to drink quite a bit.
how abt papaya puree? that helps constipation too. and of cos lots and lots of water. hv to keep chasing yr girl to drink, if she everytime just drink 10-20ml, spread out over the whole day can add up to quite a bit.

the stool softener the gp gave is lactulose? actually it's ok to give lactulose. cos once the stool harden already it's hard to soften it so no choice may hv to give stool softener. in extreme case, u may hv to insert a suppository to help yr girl clear out the hard stools. once yr girl poos, u hv to prevent the stool from hardening again by giving more fruits and water. some kids with chronic constipation take lactulose on a regular basis for long term. it is safe to take because it does not cause the child to become reliant on it unlike suppositories.

Gan, when my girl constipated the first time, her anus was red and poo Fishball-like poo. Very dry n hard. I kept giving her fresh puree like apple for lunch and pear for dinner. Now I give her barley once a week. Not those normal or china barley. I buy from medical hall for 7month old baby. Those normal barley are too liang.

Thanks grumpus, have been giving her more water today,,. Poor baby she pooed 8 times!! Each time a little hard poo... Only the last one before she slept was paste like. Btw do. Know where can I buy organic pears?? Do u give organic pears to ur bb? I just found out pear is ne of those dirty dozen fruits but I can't find organic at cold storage so bot normal pear, wash n steam without skin.

Just faith how do u ease the redness? I think the skin there looks very raw now. Btw there is barley for 7 mth old? Pre processed?

Gan
My small girl also poo many many times a day.. Each time only abit hard poo.. Anus even bleed due to numerous of cleaning.. I gave her barley water.. Drink more plain water.. Apple and pear puree.. I also gave her Happy bellies prebiotic cereal... Finally her poo is creamy.. I notice my girl starts to have hard poo ever since she on cereal.. I thk cos its heaty and dry.. So must drink more water.. She now only abt 100ml of water a day... Sometime even more..

If yr girl still constipated.. Stop giving cereal.. Give milk and vege/fruit puree instead... And let her drink water..

I also buy normal pear.. Steam without skin on... But apple i buy organic.. Also steam without skin.. Pumpkin i buy australia instead of china or japan.. Its sweeter..

Im steaming carrots puree to store now... Shag..

Baby I just made 1 batch of pear puree. Haiz first time she constipated.. I suspect is the oatmeal cereal. Wow ur gal drinks alot of water, good! I must train my gal t drink too

Gan
Ya my girl also first time constipated.. Its due to the cereal..
Must let her drink more water and eat more fruit puree...
I stop giving her brown rice cereal.. Giving bellamy white rice mix with happy bellies oats cereal...
Usually i will mix different type of cereal in one feed.. I will mix brown rice or white rice with flavoured cereal... I dont wana feed whole flavoured cereal...

Now bbs on solids must drink more water.. If yr girl dont like plain water.. U can try adding some leftover water when u prepare the pear puree... At least got some taste and at the same time taking in the nutrients as well!

tickles
my gynae gave me Asiscar. i'm not sure if it is helping or not leh, coz i still get keloid. so it is either helping me to reduce coz it could hv been worst or it is of no help at all. but i'm just so so envious of pple not getting keloid on their c-sect line.

Gan,
good tat yr girl finally cleared the hard stools!
i dun give my bb any organic fruits and vege at all, so can't help u there :p

yes oatmeal tends to be heaty and cause constipation.

my younger girl doesn't like cereals and loves water and fruits. that's why she doesn't hv constipation prob

Happy hippo: thks for asking us to reconsider buying baeba bbcook. After reading the comment I have decided not to get it. Last weekend use normal way, steam thereafter transfer to blender to make some pear puree for my girl. Think she is still not use to it so take very little. But saw some improvement this afternoon.

Grumpus: when use bottle to feed water, do we need to wash the bottle after baby takes a few suck. Or can keep the bottle for a day.

Ru
I also use tradition way to steam fruit and vege over the stove.. Then transfer to blender to blend... I also dont like the idea of using plastic container steamer...

I didnt wash the water bottle.. I will use it for the whole day.. Now my girls are 8mths old.. Im not that particular like when they are much smaller...

My 14 months old twins enjoy eating and drinking. They love water especially my boy. Yesterday I was eating chips and my boy saw. He smiled at me sweetly and hope that I would give some to him but I didn't. Haha...

Eventhough they eat so much everyday, their weight gain has slow down compare to few months ago. Their portion is a Chinese rice bowl.

They don't eat the same thing everyday. Example of their meals steamed fish or/and steam meat, pasta, sherpard pie, baked fish, chicken stew, noodles, Couscous once in a while, etc plus veggies.

Gan, regarding redness on anus, I have been using esemtan for my girl's shower and after poo. The redness went away within a day. It's better than those normal baby shampoo. Cetaphil is also good.

Since day 1, I am anti cereal. It was my MIL who bought the cereal and I dragged on a few weeks before feeding her cereal. Otherwise, my girl has no constipation problem. I also feed my girl more water after her porridge. You must experiment and see which way she enjoy water. My girl can drink from straw, feed with spoon or drink from cup. But she can't hold the cup so steady yet. I try to make sure she drinks 200ml of water per day.

Ru,
For bottle to feed water, I will wash after use, ESP if used to feed water after meals cos usually very messy with food residue. If in between milk feeds I will reuse.