IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Thanks ru n Grumpus, din kw once freeze cannot combine cos d lc at Kkh freeze my colostrum each time I pass to her. I forgot to ask her abt storage part but keep asking how to increase supply only.

Grumpus, yes d vol did increase but still miserable.. But I m happy enuff..n meanwhile my breasts start to leak while slping n is becoming real real hard. I tried to apply hot towel over it before each pumping session.

Actually I m not v keen to visit my babies also cos my heart wrenches each time I leaves n they are still there. D feeling is terrible!!

rostrum,
awwww it's ok then. ask hb to deliver ebm then. how long more will they hv to stay in scn?

breasts leaking and getting hard are a good sign
now when u pump, dun go by time, go by how yr breasts feel after the pump. before pumping they'll be hard, after u finish the session they should be soft. keep massaging and pumping. if u get full blown engorgement it'll be painful and hard to clear. u need to make sure u reduce the hardness each time u pump.
keep doing tat n yr ss will slowly increase.

I miss the leaking breasts leh! Keep up the pumping ... Think abt ur princes when u pump n ur Ss will increase. My breast used to leak more when my gal cried.=p

Mummies who are working , how do u keep ourselves awake at work?? I have a hard time keeping my eyes open at meetings sometimes. Last night my gal woke up at 3 am and 5 am.... Not sure if she is teething coz she was crying in her sleep.

Grumpus, I hv no idea yet.. Was told everything is ok now waiting for their weights to hit at least 1.95kg in order to b discharged. But my elder boy was tested for jaundice ytd n d level is v v near to d failing rate so they put him on phototheraphy ytd. I was told tt if mummy n babies blood grp is not d same, there will b high chance if them getting jaundice. So my blood was taken ytd too for some checking.. Din really catch Wat they gonna chk, only kws to chk for some antibodies.

Ya.. Now I feel d urge to pump whenever I feel so full n hard!!! Woke up at 4+ to pump cos it's too hard for me to continue slping... Hope my milk supply start kicking in soon.. Actually quite enjoy the process of pumping except d washing part as I m not v mobile yet.. Keke.. Hopefully I can continue n preserve.. Guess this is something little tt I can give to my babies now..

Gan, yes.. Whenever I m pumping, I will look at their fotos fm my hp first before pumping.. This is what keeps me going

U took care of your girl overnight? Wah.. Cham.. Next time is my turn to fall asleep during work Liao.

Do u Cont BF after rtning to work?

rostrum,
my elder girl was born 1.86kg, took her 6 days to reach the required weight for discharge.

actually all bbs will get jaundice, just a matter of how severe. yes, if mummy and bbs blood grp not the same, jaundice tend to be higher. Gan went thro that with her bb.
also, bm sometimes can make jaundice higher also, but dun take tat as a reason to stop bf-ing ok?
my younger girl was on full bm and we struggled for 6 wks with up and down jaundice but now she is perfectly fine and i'm still bf-ing

Grumpus, my boys weights are 1.894kg n 1.845kg when born. But they lose some weights this week n I was told it's normal. I kw tt BF will cause jaundice. But I will not compromise on tt cos I kw it's pretty normal for babies to hv jaundice.

In order for them to gain weights n discharged soon, they are already on fm
but d LCs at the scn are v supportive. Will call me everyday to chk whether I hv plms in expressing out n whether I will go dw to latch babies..they are v pro BF though. Its fm there tt I learnt Hw to football cradle my twins for BF

Yr girl gain weight v fast during tt 6 days!!! I hope mine will b discharged soon..can't wait!

Gan: I stopped coffee for many years but now no choice every day at least one cup :> My girl also cring while sleeping. I realise from last weekend, her crying tone changed. Now like shouting and screaming before she wants to sleep. I am not sure it is due to teething or change pattern again (she is 4 mth old today). That is why last few nights very tiring has to hold her tight to near me to sleep.

Rostrum
My girl put on weight so fast cos my pd is very aggressive. She lost weight the first 3 days, which is normal. for the first 3 days she was on watever BM I could provide n supplemented with FM. On the 4th day, the nurses feedback tat my girl was hungry all the time, esp those feed which r BM. So my pd suggested we stop BM for awhile to let her gain weight faster. Also, instead of normal FM, she was fed special FM meant for preemie bbs even though she's not preemie. cos my pd said tat preemie FM has higher calories per ml so my girl can get more without having to drink more. In 2 days she really gained a lot n was discharged on the 6th day.

After my girl went home, I switched to full BM.

Imp22, I stay in sengkang n delivered in Kk. I didn't bring my girl to polyclinic cause the wait at sengkang polyclinic is terrible. Since her birth, she's seeing dr Allyson tan at The Kids' Clinic at Rivervale mall. I also took up their vaccination package. My girl just completed her vaccination today.

Instead of taking yr baby to polyclinic for jaundice test, it can be done at the same clinic too.

Imp22, I stay in sengkang n delivered in Kk. I didn't bring my girl to polyclinic cause the wait at sengkang polyclinic is terrible. Since her birth, she's seeing dr Allyson tan at The Kids' Clinic at Rivervale mall. I also took up their vaccination package. My girl just completed her vaccination today.

Instead of taking yr baby to polyclinic for jaundice test, it can be done at the same clinic too.

Just faith
Hello! Hows tins with u?long time no see!

The wait at kidsclinic also super long mann... Once the staff told me min waiting time is 4hrs... Omg...
I give up... Went to another clinic also near compass pt.. The dr is fantastic!

baby,

I am doing great! Thanks! Got another maid to help out. Now full time taking care of baby.

The clinic asst will usually call me when there is 2 or 3 patients before me. I usually wait less than 30mims. Hehe.

Grumpus/mommies,
I have bought the freestyle n was told that i only need to steralize the parts (excluding the tubes & shields) for once before use ? After use, just wash them with baby liquid detergent ? correct me if i am wrong ! - thanks

Gan,
Fyi, osh kosh online having their seasonal sale n there is 30% additional on top of their clearance items from today for 2 days. Its really worth it !

day,
where did u buy yr freestyle from? locally?
from wat i know, western practise looser sterilization rules for breast pumps. cos supposedly bm has antibacterial properties and hence we only need to wash the pump with hot soapy water to make sure we get any residual bm off and sterilize the pump parts once a day.
this is stated on the medela website as well.
http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/tips-and-solutions/11/collection-and-storage-of-breastmilk

but in sgp, i think most of us very ks and sterilize our pump after every use in the sterilizer. although i do know some mummies who sterilize their pumps once a day only and in between just keep in the fridge or wash with hot water and baby detergent.

Rostrum,

U don't hv to travel to kkh daily to see yr bbs. Let yr hub do it for u. Take this opportunity to rest and recover. Once yr babies are back, u won't hv a chance to rest for the next few months at least.

My gal stayed in SCN for few days, I let the nurse feed her fm while I tried to establish my supply. Her jaundice was quite high too but didn't require to be put under the phototherapy light.

Gan,

Have u stopped bf? I am still bf my twins. Can't bear to stop =p

Grumpus,

I got 2 sets of funnels so no need to keep on using the sterilizer. I just sold my pumps

Singapoh,
i'm sooooo tempted to sell my pump n sterilizer but still undecided on whether we're gonna hv #3 or not :p

day,
the hard plastic shield is ok. it's quite tough, and can take the sterilizing.
the soft shield will go out of shape and turn yellow. when i used the soft shield i just rinse with boiling water.

Grumpus,

Wah thinking of no.3 already? Why not? The more the merrier ;) For me Confirm close shop for good. I am selling off my baby stuffs now. Anyone looking for bb stuffs please pm me ah..

Singapoh... Stopped bf 1 week after I returned to work.

Grumpus when u think u will try for number 3? I think I close shop le.... Too old to go for number 2.

Ru will u try for number 2?

Gan,

I hope you won't stop at #1. Imagine our gals will have no siblings/playmates when they are older. My gal really brings us lota joys! And alot of things which I used to think are important, are not important anymore.

I don't think I m old to be pregnant again. But I really think I am old to take care of babies. Here pain, there pain. Lol.

Just faith
So u have total 2 maids to help u?
Recently i cant keep myself sane.. Keep feeling frastrated and helpless in taking care of my two bbs.. Esp when they are teething now.. V cranky and refuse to drink their milk...
Hearing u feel so happy with yr girl makes me feel so lousy.. I scold and smack my small girl during feeding as its so difficult to feed her! Im a bad mummy...

Gan
I havent switch yet... Still on enfalac.. The tin says can feed up to 12mths.. I asked my pd.. She say if my girls are not taking solids well.. Can continue for a month or more.. Cos stage 1 milk as more nutrients thats y more exp... If bb take solid well.. Can switch to stage 2...
I thk i will switch when my bbs are 7mths plus old...

Panda
How do u keep sane when handling 3bbs?
Sometimes i feel im gg crazy... Esp during the daytime when i only have my maid to help me.. There is no one ard to pour my feelings...esp during this teething stage when they are so difficult to handle.. Im so afraid i will go into depression...

Im thinking whether should i get another maid to ease my load... I simply dont have time for myself... Everyday stay at home taking care of bbs... Or is it the sacrifice one has to make to be a mummy?

Baby,

Dun feel that way. We are not superwoman, also can get frustrated when we r lack of zzz or dunno why bbs fuss.

It's important to hv some me time. 30 mins or 1 hour is also good enough. During weekend can ask yr hb or yr mum/mil to help bbsit while u hv some me time. Please leave yr house hor. Not me time at home.

U got whatsapp? Can chat with me, panda and Nancy. Gossiping is good too. Lol

GAN, my pd ask me not to change n continue w enfa Ha until bbs r 12mths old as they r allergic to cows milk. But my Hb n I r keen to try enfa pro. Will discuss w pd again next week when they go for their jabs.

Baby, I m nearly bonkers alot!! ESP when I dun get enff zzzz at night. Nancy n singapoh r my daily chat mates who keeps me sane.

My 2nd maid is coming in 3 weeks time. The work n effort to tc of three of them has increased as they now demand more attention...n I hv to constantly make sure maid is cleaning toys n the playarea well as bbs r eating everything they get hold of! Smtimes I sit in front of 3 bbs in their rockers n sing until no voice!

Baby it's ok to feel frustrated... We r not magazine mummy who can smile and look pretty when we try to soothe a cranky baby, trying to make sure they r drinking well yet they refuse to drink no matter how we plead/pacify. But guess at the end of the day is how we get ourselves outta this emotional downtime.
I 100% agree with Singapoh abt me time. When I was on maternity leave n taking care of my Bb alone, I sometimes have this 'in a jail' feeling coz I m home 24/7 with my Bb, no one to talk to, whole life seems to revolve around pacify, feed Bb, wash, change nappy, pumping milk etc. And the feeling was even more overwhelming when Bb is cranky n hard to pacify. At such times when I felt overwhelm with the caregiving, I will ask my hubby take care of her for awhile during Sunday while I go for a pedicure or even just go novena square walk wAlk. It helped to clear my tots. N when I m away from my gal , I actually miss her n felt the break rexhargE me to take care of her.

I think it's not easy to be a mum and especially a SAHM coz u are home most of time facing babies on your own. But chin up, am sure u r doing very well as a mummy.

Thanks mummies... Feel so much better aft pouring my tots here... I guess its a passing phase for me... Its definitely not easy to be a mummy... No wonder people always say mummy is the most noble figure! Sahm is also definitely the most difficult job in the whole wide world!!!

I shall arrange some me time for myself.. Else really can go crazy anytime!

Baby, u dun bring ur bbs out anymore? It's easier for u to bring them out compared to me bringing 3 out. Every morning I will go for walks in the neighbor hood w the bbs..hv from fresh air...itherwise at home 24 x7 wil kee siao

Just faith, do u still rmbr how's the vaccine package like?
So the nurse auto calls u ard 2-3 persons ahead of u?

Rostrum, I broken many rules n heck. Not wearing socks at hm, washing my hair daily n longest is 2 days once, blowing direct at fan, zz ac, bla bla. Guess everyone surely broken some rules here n there. Hw to tahan not washing hair or bathe one mth rite?
Heck if CL strict la. We pay them not to control us but to assist us. I'll jus tell CL I'm not doin it when she nags, n together w my mil or mum at times omg.

Sounds like mummies here r really pushed to the limit by bbs at times.. My turn to turn full time tmr till I go bac to work :s hope I'll succeed!

Gan: yes planning to try 2 in the year end. My hb stop me for coffee but no choice so told me a small cup is fine. Don't want to give so much food restriction at the moment. Basically need to walk up twice 3 and 5am so a cup of small coffee keep me awake especially just reach office.

hi baby,
i dun hv twins like u and im mostly overwhelmed.
Reason being I strive to be a "perfect mom" and i guess we all do..and to a certain extent, the pressure was more...
Just last evening my BB wanted to be carried to sleep for his nap and the moment i put him down he wailed so loudly...the whole cycle repeated itself from 5-630pm! and i was exhausted and frustrated I must admit i was quite rough with him. I was engorged, need to pee and hungry and tired but I could not let him go...
but when he eventually fell asleep, i was so consumed with guilt...

sigh...
now im also battling with returning to wk VS staying at home...milestones are impt... Milestones when young, values grounding as a toddler, education and responsible behaviour as a teenager...it's a lifelong committment Guess it's unless I decide to devote a lifetime to chid-rearing or else some prioritisation and sacrifices need to take place some time... so still wondering when I shd go bk...esp now there's a kid and maid...i wld like to enjoy some financial independence too...

and well because of this "stress", I never dare imagine having a No. 2...
I guess I shall close factory for gd soon...otherwise I conceive naturally..dun think I wanna go tru the perils of IVF again

Baby, it ok. After I return to work I don't have much time for my gal n I miss her .
Either I'm in the office or pumping milk.
How I envey you, Pandwife n Singapoh to be SAHM

Pink-Destiny, haha I was like you one is enough but as when my son gets older he tends to feel lonely. So there I was trying no 2 which took me many rounds of IVF, but was glad that I did it seeing my gal.

Good morning moms:

Re when to close factory:
All these while, I had always wanted to have one child. right from the day of deciding to concieve up to facing difficulties and mcs. Definitely understand the arguement that only child can be lonely but also hold that view that even with siblings and if siblings age and sex and very diff, it can also be lonely. And given the fact that I know myself quite well (need to have a life outside of baby eventually, enjoy own hobbies in due time), the decision to stick to one is firm.

Of course there can be social pressure when it comes to just having one child, but I know that is what I want in life and altough I will not be giving my daughter a sibling, there are ways that offset this so called shortfall such as better resources for her education in Singapore that is facing increasing competition given its metropolitan status.

Gan,
My gal can wake up a few times these days as it teething time for her. On bad days, wake up and cry in pain so must pacify and pat her in the wee hours. So will take the chance to sleep whenever possible. For instance, after feeding her at 7plus and she sleeps around 8-8.30pm. I will quickly finish up all the cleaning and washing and once done at about 9plus. I will quickly catch a nap before waking up to feed at 11plus. Its a lot of broken sleep but better than no sleep. With these fragments of sleep, can still function at work somehow. And hubby and I will take turns to pacify her. Means take turns to feel fresh/tired...heee..

baby,
getting out of the house for me time is very impt. i used to leave my elder girl for 2-3hrs with my mum and go do mundane things like haircut, grocery shopping, run errands etc....
but u'll be amazed at how good it is to be all alone and not be harrassed by bbs needs 24/7
when she got older, i would send hb and her out for some father-daughter bonding time so i could bum at home, catch up on drama series etc....

u need to get hb more involved so tat on some weekends u can leave him at home with maid n bbs n u go do yr own thing. even one hr is good enuff

pink d,
when bb is older, like 1-2 yrs old u'll start thinking of #2

Gan,
IF i hv #3, it will prob be in 2-3 yrs time. i think the age gap is just nice. but i also feel i'll be too old by then :p
and cos hb n i r both hands on with no helper, we wonder whether we can cope with 3. now it's just nice cos each of us takes one. also, we kinda want to move on, take the kids on holidays, do stuff together etc...if we hv #3 we hv to start the whole cycle again and wont be able to do other stuff for another 2yrs or so.

Babygalore we must have playdates for our bbs since they are only child! Hehe.. I bring my gal for gymboree class every Sunday n she is always very happy n excited when she see other babies, maybe she discover there r other similar size pple and not all tall n big like her parents n grandmas n grandpas! But the class activities are repetitive, so really more for her to socialize.
Lately my gal will cry in her sleep in middle of night a few times n I have to pat her to pacify. Quite tiring n doesn't help I m trying to recover from a persistent cough . Hard for me to catch nap after baby sleeps coz we r at my parent's place so by the time my hub is back from work to pick us up and go home, it's 10pm. Need to prepare her clothes n milk powder for next day etc when home.

Ru I m taking at least 2 coffee a day!!

Day thanks for the info on the sale! Btw I m buying thru SMH overseas spree now coz can save on shipping cost...previously I bot direct myself n spent at least $30 on shipping.

Baby,

My posting didn't mean to make you feel lousy. Apologies if i did. Guess you really need to take some time off from baby sitting. Like grumpus suggested, get your hubby involved. Then you can have some time on your own to go for hair cuts or shopping. On weekdays when hubby is not around, I will tong-bang my maid n baby at my mums place - so that I can have 2-3hrs on my own to run errands.

Frankly, I really miss those days when I was working. Spending on hard earned salary to buy those stuff that I like or suka-suka spend a few hundred dollars to nua in hotel. I was financially independent then. In fact, I feel bad cutting my mum's allowances.

I have not forgotten those days you were admitted early for early contractions. And you also "black-out" when delivering your babies. Pls dun think you are lousy just because you vent frustrations on your gal.... My dear, you are handling 2, not 1 leh, unlike me. I always think ivf mummies are great mummies! We don't conceive by chance! I dun wan to imagine how cranky my girl gets when she is teething. But I do know now she is learning to crawl is keeping me busy all the time as she is crawling backwards, and am afraid she will fall from bed. Faint.....

Grumpus,

My big son sticker to me like glue 24/7 for almost 2 years! I didn't even trust my mil to bbsit him. I didn't even send him to playgroup. No me time at all. Very tiring. Now with twins, I have learn to let go a bit. I can't be a supermum. Haha..

All along I plan for at least 2 kids. It's nice to see them grow together. My house is like CNY everyday. Hehe..

Just faith
Aiyo.. No need for apologies lah... Hee..
Haha u still rem my dramatic delivery ya...

Panda
I still bring my bbs out on some wkends with my hb and maid.. But still like not enough to keep me recharge and refresh leh... Hmm...

Thanks mummies for all the encouragement and kind words!
Hearing u gals say makes me realise im not the only one.. Definitely makes me feel much better...

I believe the problem why im feeling this way is im facing two bbs since their birth till now... Everyday take care of them.. Make me feel jealous that my hb can break away frm them when he goes work.. Leave me with them and maid..
I shall arrange to leave the girls with him while i go run my own errands...

Hi ladies I kpo here.

Hello babyg finally got sometime to join u here after my da sao sleeps

Ru
There is this positioner thing which u can get. Basically 2 foam Pieces joined together to stop bb from turning. Baby will be sandwiched in between

Re: no 2
Can't wait to have no 2 although Im not sure if I can handle it. But I'm an only child and I dont like it. Feels very lonely. And the burden of having to care for aging parents is just too big. If it can be helped I would love to have another. But given the great difficulty it took to just have my boy. Getting preg again will be a super bonus to me

Baby
Hello! Understand your frustrations I'm a sahm after being retrenched after maternity leave. Really can go crazy and I only have 1.

Babyg
No me time at all. Hb can't handle. I let him take care for 1 sat. I go into the room. Bb crying he sleeping. Carry bb in his arms he sleeping. Whole day bb nvr sleep. Haiz

mummies/ 2nd time mummies
just need some advice, this is my 2nd pregnancy via fresh ivf, and previously did not have MS or vomitting, this time round, just tested positive (hcg around 600) 15dpt and having severe vomitting.did any of you had severe nausea and vomiting in early pregnancy and how did you deal with it?

baby,
i feel the same way that hubby could feel well assured and "lead his life" while mine seemingly has stopped?!
And i do feel bad feeling this way...n worse when i look at my bb (after i feel frustrated)... i guess this is natural...caregivers burnt-out n stress...
rber to take a breather here n there if possible

Pink
Yes totally!! Like we cant get our life back.. Everything and everyday revolving around bbs... To make tins worst when they get cranky and we are deprieved of sleep...
No one seems to understand our feelings being a mummy..