IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Singapoh, wow...I hope mine will recover soon. U bgt d urine pan? I dun dare to sit dw on d floor wif d bed pan, scared will aggravate d soreness. My mum also says I shd soak myself with warm water n salt everyday to prevent infection.

I hv sterilizer but my fren was telling me not to sterilize d breast shield parts as they will wear off easily. Instead to boil it with hot water instead..

D nurses did teach me how to massage my breasts fm nipple to aerola to breasts.. The "u" n "c" method. But other than d colostrum produced yesterday morning. after tt I dun c anything.. V disheartening!!! I tried to latch my Bb yesterday. He did suck but I guess there is nothing.. It is only stimulation. Btw, if we latch our babies, do we need to massage before tt?

It's a pity my babies can't discharge wif me today else I tink latching on will better...

Hope my milk supply will kick in soon..

rostrum,
i used the steam sterilizer for my medela parts. it's ok. just dun sterilize the soft shield and the tubings. the tubings actually dun need to wash at all unless u saw some milk get into them. (by right, no milk is supposed to go through them but sometimes it happens)

if u're doing dual pump, no need to pump for 30min continuously, it'll be very tiring! abt 10mins will do. when yr ss kicks in and if u hv engorgement then u pump based on 'feel' not time.

dun get discouraged, everybody gets only drops in the first few days. just keep mooing

Yup I also sterilize all the medela parts except the tubing. I m using the hard shield so ok to sterilize. Soft shield can't use steam sterilize.

Pandawife after u shave ur gal's hair, thicker hair is growing? Ur gal has more hair now??? Trying to make a tough decision if shld shave my precious's hair

Rostrum,

I use the pan on the toilet bowl, not on the floor. Too low. Make sure u rinse with water after u pee. If not very acidic, slow down yr recovery. Also avoid eggs. Threadfin fish is good for healing wounds.

Yeah u don't hv to wash the tubings everyday. Once in awhile or when milk flow backwards.

I didn't hv anything in the first few days and now I m still bf ;). Need to work hard in the initial weeks to see results. Jia you!

Gan, my eldest boy n youngest gal both hv little hair to start with.. after shave hair seems to be growing more.. BUT its still uneven grown..

mommies,
i think my 3-month old is on a milk strike!
drinks little and when i tried to feed him just now after 4 hours from his last feed, it was like bringing him to the slaughter house!
i dunno wat to do...he drinks 125ml every 3 hourly and now requires 2 sitting to finish his milk... he would fuss and use his hand to push away the bottle...
on good days he would smile/coo n talk n use his tongue to push the teat... this is really stressing me!!

Panda so need to shave again? My gal only have these few hair at centre growing longer that they stand up.. The rest not growing n she has a bald patch at her back coz she kept scratching the area

Pink d, did u try changing the teats or bottle? Sometimes cos be the milk flow is too slow so Bb frustrated. Feed him in a quiet place too as he is at stage where he is curious n very playful. My gal also gets distracted during feeds, so now we feed her with tv off n make sure minimal distraction. As a guide Baby at 3 mths old will be taking abt 100ml per kg their Wt so their intake may drop or stagnant. I think milk strike is a passing phase. Just have to be patient . No worries as long Bb is happy, pooing, peeing n alert.

Gan,
i already fed him in his room which is minus distraction... changed to a bigger bottle n bigger teat already...but he will scream and shake his head!! it alternates btw playing and screaming the house down... it makes me very fristrated...
he is exactly 3 months old today...weight is abt 6.3kg... think at this rate he wont gain much

Pink d,
How abt distracting him while feeding? I used to give #1 something to hold in her hand, hanky or toy. N when she's busy playing I'll just pop the teat in. She loved to listen to me so sometimes I even sing to her all through the feed.

With #2 I literally hold down her hands while she feeds or I let her hold on to my fingers. Otherwise her hands will be all over the place n she'll unlatch.

Gotta keep trying to see wat works. Their pattern always change.

pink d, i was also very worried abt my gal's wt gain when she is on milk strike coz i am kinda always reading into the numbers as she was borned small.. but then the PD told me you won't want her to gain 1kg every month...which i counted she would be like 13 or 14 kg at 1 year old! PD told me as long she is putting some weight and not losing, she is fine. wt gain now is between 200 to 500g i think. The last visit to PD, he told me 250g every month is fine. So baby K's weight will be lesser compared to the first 2 months.

Maybe can try distract him like grumpus suggest coz babies are so smart, they have alot of patterns.

Rostrum
Congrats ! Enjoy your little ones !

baby
My baby tried porridge already, but not everyday, only when we adults have porridge then I give him a little with veg., otherwise difficult to cook for one baby.

Can just bring them to the pool, no problem, just make sure they wear proper swim wear cos water can be cold. I brought mine to condo pool here a few times already and I bought a baby float and let him sit and kick in it. Bb enjoy himself.

Congrats to rostrum!
Hope u r coping fine nw.

Thanks pandawife, Grumpus n singapoh for the info, will read up on ebm storage

Btw hw much ur bbs drk by one mth old? My gal drinking 90ml with problem n takes up to an hour to finish after much coaxing, intervals etc. Hw to stop this bad habit of drinking milk in "instalment" huh? She jus can't finish in one go n will fuss n shake head, slam bottle n cry if forced. Had to let her rest ard 10min b4 trying again n it repeats. Today she finished 90 in 2 hours with intervals to rest n falling zzz halfway.

imp,
the formula is 150ml x bb weight in kg to get the total vol per day. divide by total # of feeds per day to get the vol per feed.

do u break in between to burp her? one mth old is when they start those gassy/colic kind of issues. if she is uncomfortable she won't be able to continue drinking. it's not a bad habit lah, she's not doing it on purpose. she's either full or something like gas is bothering her.
90ml seems alot, i dun remember my elder girl drinking so much at one mth.

sometimes it's the bottle. some brands and teats suit some bbs better than others.

Grumpus, hmm if based on this formula my bbs r over fed. They r drkg like ~90ml per feed n up to 10x on 2 hourly interval a day. If I'm using weight of ~3.8kg for boy to calculate he shld b drinking ard 50+ml per feed. But he's drkg well Leh n at times if bm we give 100 he gets hungry ard an hr later n we feed him another 20 n he still drk. We r thinking of trying him on 120ml next time. M I on the right track of feeding them then?

Yes I burped her few times during the feed to get her going.
She will drk aft burps but not everytime. At times gota let her rest in order to continue again. Today she poo greenish poo n CL told me must b due to crying too much fr last night. Any remedy to greenish poo? They say bbs r frightened then will hv greenish stools. I was trying to carry her at night after feed to let her get used to me n zzz w me as CL leaving soon. Then she cry for ard half hr b4 finally falling zzz. CL says she
cries too much n wind get in also no good but I hv no choice as I need her to get used to me
is my method wrong? She doesn't wan pacifier when she's crying de..

Grumpus, I read the link on ebm storage. Based on the info it means I can store ebm in fridge for ~8 days n travel back in ice bag ala I reach sg in 24hours?
M thinking where to buy ice bag as don't think medela bag is enough as it can only take 150ml bottles rite?

IMp ur babies are on 100% bm? When my gal has only 1 feed of fm, her poo is still mustard yellow but as I increase her fm percentage of intake her poo gets more greenish in colour. So cld be the fm ur Bb taking.

Ur babies are drinking alot!! My gal been taking 60 to 70 ml until she is 5 mths! Until few weeks ago she increase to 120 to 130 per feed.

imp,
the formula is a guideline. some bb drink alot more than that and some drink less. if yr boy can drink more then let him drink, but if he seems to be uncomfortable or starts spitting up milk then u may want to reduce, or if he can't finish then dun force him lor. for yr girl u may want to consider to reduce since she seems to hv so much trouble drinking. girls usually hv smaller appetites. u can slowly increase back up again if she seems like she can take more. if u're feeding her 2hrly, 90ml is definitely too much.

green poo due to fright is an old wives tale lah. if bb drinking bm, sometimes they get green poo cos they got too much foremilk. sometimes it just happens. either way it will usually go back to normal by itself. if u want u can try feeding some gripe water for the colic/gas/fright/green poo

i dun think wat u're doing is wrong, bbs will cry and u won't always hv the CL ard to help u. u need to keep trying and learn on the job.
but dun assume that the reason why she's crying is cos she dun like the way u carry. eliminate other reasons like gas, tummyache, hunger. too full also can make bb uncomfortable. try applying ru yi oil when she's fussy, it helps calm bb down.

imp,
yes, if u are able to store the ebm at the back of the fridge, away from the door where the temp will not fluctuate. and if the temp of the fridge is 0-4 deg, then u can store for 8 days.
and if u hv a good ice bag, u shd be able to transport it back.
but remember when u get back, u still hv to finish using up the milk within 8 days of expressing date n provided u keep to the storage guidline of 0-4deg.

check out the brand "fridge to go" it's a good brand of ice bag. not sure if u want to invest though if its going to be rarely used.

here's a mother who detailed how she pumped n stored n transported ebm back when she travelled.
http://www.jerblinn.com/2010/12/transporting-frozen-breastmilk.html

Funnily they wake every 2 hourly n cry n still drink Leh. I'm not sure if they r drinking rite since it varies alot fr the formula, ESP my gal. 50-60 is like when they r discharged the first CL oredi giving them this amt. Haha v confused nw.
Jus nw tried 120ml on my boy n he can drk 110ml, not forcing more as he is on verge of vomiting, n hes hard to burp. He has been vomiting on off n I was told it's common n didn't bother ala he's drkg well.

No la my milk not even enough for one Leh.. Jus supplementing with whatever I hv, only abt 2 feeds per bb a day. But only these 2x then her poo greenish Leh tho she's been taking both fm n bm.

Seems ruyi oil is savior! Will def apply often to soothe them.

Gan, hw many mths is yr gal now?

Thanks Grumpus for the link

imp,
no need to be confused. just follow yr bbs cues. if they can drink more, give more. if cannot then dun force.
some bbs hv very small tanks, they can only drink a bit at a time, but need to feed very frequently. if u try and increase their feed so they can last longer, they get very uncomfortable and may even throw up. so no choice, may just hv to feed small amts 2hrly. tiring for mummy

2 feeds of bm per bb is 4 feeds for a singleton. that's not too bad, doing well

after i started cereal for my boy, his poo is not longer watery, its now one big lump - is this normal?
he also cry whenever he poo & his farts sound very painful leh...is he constipitated? do you know what i can do to help relieve his painful poo?

Happy
Cereal is actually quite heaty... Did u feed yr bb water aft eating cereal? Did u feed bb other vege or fruit other than cereal? I usually let my bb drink some water aft eating cereal.. Cos cereal is thicker than milk so i feel bb may be thirsty aft eating... Im feeding my girl vege and fruit puree together with cereal so their poo poo is ok...

Mummies, I always miss one time to wake up for d pumping session especially during d wee hrs one.. Will this affect d stimulation? I m still seeing little precious bit of colostrum only.. Zzzzz

And I can feel my breasts now are harder.. Not as in v v hard, but can feel fuller n harder. So I dun nd to apply any hot towel over right? Just keep massaging while pumping will do ?

Imp, do u pump 3 hrly? Then do u wash n sterilize all parts yourself after each pump? I find pumping part is ok. It's d hassle on d washing n sterilizing.. My cl n helper not in yet..n I dun tink I gonna trust my helper in tt initially so I wonders whether my cl will help? Now is either me or dh doing it..

rostrum,
i used to pump once before i sleep abt abt 10pm. wake up once in the middle of the night to pump and then next pump in the morn when i wake up.
it's should be ok. u need yr sleep too.

yr ss is starting to kick in already, just keep massaging and pumping. if u get engorgement then start applying hot towel.

yes the washing n sterilizing is a real pain. very tiring esp if u pump every 3 hrs. during confinement, my hb used to do all the washing and sterilizing for me. my cl once in awhile help to wash the pump if i left it at the sink. she didn't do any sterilizing, even the milk bottles i sterilized too.

Grumpus, hehe my ss not catching up with bbs increment in their demand for milk. Seems m staying constant in milk ss for sometime n didn't increase. But m stil trying n also not pumping 3 hourly as it's v v tiring. I tried 4 which to me is very tight too if I help to tk care of bbs, so m doin like 4.5-5hourly pump. N I can't wake to pump at wee hours n only cont pump e next morning. V lazy hor?
Didn't wana force myself on this n would do it at my pace in order to b less stressed.

Gan, your gal shld b on solid nw rite? N she's drkg 120 now ma? I told CL abt ur gal n she say then ur bb is small eater...

I'll tk e cue fr bbs then, ESP my gal. My honeymoon ending soon n I'm gonna b hands on this wed onwards.

Rostrum, ur helper not here yet??? Who's helping u then? I let maid wash my pump parts m sterilize etc. She even prepare milk for bbs which some ppl don't trust maid.
My CL doesn't auto wash my parts for me since it's been maid washing all e while. At times hb help me wash when hes hm at night. Even bringing the herbal water into my rm I ask maid to bring in to avoid strangers goin into my
rm.

I'm doing 4.5-5hourly pumping hehe

I let my maid handle all the washing and sterilising... Bottles and clothes...
So i can focus more on taking care of the bbs..
If everything wana do myself.. I will lose my gripe sooner or later... Especially true for mummies having multiples...

If i feed my girls porridge.. Can it replace one milk feed? My girls are 6mths plus old... Cos i pressume aft eating porridge..sure cant stomach milk...

Gan, your gal scratch head too? my younger boy scratches his forehead every night..n wakes up with cuts :S i tink its a habit liao... some nights i see him scratching, i will stop him n let him hug his bolster, then i see him scratching the bolster!

my gal dont hv bald patches..but the hair growth is uneven..some parts are longer, some parts are shorter .... i dun plan to shave anymore..jsut let it grown see how...

Panda/gan
Has yr bbs teeth cut? My girls just cut teeth abt a week plus ago.. Prior to that.. They keep scratching... Scratch me.. Scratch their pillow... Then their teeth cut.. So i assume cos its icthy so they cant really stop the icth.. So they scratch pillow to get relieve...

Panda my gal scratches the back of her head n sometimes she can't sleep coz of the itch I think. If she is on her back n can't scratch , she will turn her head side to side to ease the itch, on tummy she will scratch ... I think it's itch coz she always have red rashes when she is hot.... Once cool down in air con room, she is ok. My mum said she is high maintenance.=p coz my parents utilities bill increases since my gal goes thee during the day.=p

Baby my gap no teeth yet ... She likes to scratch the bedsheet too but I tot that was becoz she was curious abt the sound when she scratches.

IMp ya my gal small eater... But luckily her weight gain is ok. She is at 50% on growth chart so I guess ok bah

Gan, ya ala bb growing ok then no worries

Btw which pd u ladies go to huh? Any gd pd near punggol? M still tinking if gg pd for jabs or continue with polyclinic first. Heard gp like healthway also offering vaccine pkg, anyone tried?

Ladies who delivered in kk, did kk refer your bbs to pd after one week of birth for a general check up? Kk only tell me go polyclinic for jaundice but not for general checkup. The next appt w kk pd is aug Leh, isit too late or I shld go for a general check nw?

My girl also scratches her head. Worse sometime face. I trim and file her nail almost everyday. But still got cut :< I think very difficult to trim their nail, moving here and there and also so small can't see well

Last night I discover my gilf slept face down, lucky she knows how to "kei kei" so I wake up and quicky carried her out from Cot and put her slept next to me? Beside this method any other solution to avoid this situation?

Imp, we got a real fight wif d last agency giving us all sorts of excuses on d delay for d maid which took more than 8 weeks. In d end, we got a trf maid fm another agency n she is coming in a few daes time. Since my babies not bk yet, wil get d cl to train my maid on cooking first n my dh teach her on hsewk.. These few days I m depending on catering food n dh helping me on others..

Mummies, I start to hv more colostrum but it is getting thinner, my fren told me milk is kicking in.. Is this true?

impt22,

ya, juandice monitoring is go polyclinic. they will test d blood for jaundice level. kkh gives u appt for their pd is general growth checkup, if u want vacination, u can tell d kkh pd at ur comin visit.

baby
thks for the info. i feed my boy with cereal then finish up with bottle of milk. hardly give water... maybe that's the reason.
when feed cereal, do u still give milk?
today i gave 2 times gripe water and he pooed 2x. is tat normal? is your babies' poo still liquid-like or solid-like?

Hey rostrum,

Wanted to check in with u on your itch.. Did it disappear after the delivery of your little ones?

I m so scarred by my bug like rashes.. And it's itching so so so much for the past month and it's getting worse! M only qt week 32.. Can't imagine scratching myself silly for the next 6-8 months!! It's a nightmare...

The only thing that keeps me going is my little girl..

Happy
I usually wont give cereal and milk at one time.. I will space out abt 1hr.. Eg if i give cereal at 12pm... Milk will be at 1pm.. But now cos my girls are used to eating solids.. I dont have to time it near milk feed to make them hungry enough for solid food... So i give their usual milk... Then feed them solid food an hr later... This is to ensure they drink enough milk... Cos milk is still their food for now...

I give my girls gripe water once a day.. I will put it in abt 30ml of water water...
My girls will sometimes poo twice a day... Poo is sometimes watery.. Sometimes creamy...

Rostrum, CL not here yet as u delivered early isit? When can bbs b discharged? U gg daily to c them then?

End up u changed agency? The fees can get bac huh?

Imp, cl cannot come in early as I informed here quite late n due to sch holidays she can't get an earlier tix to Singapore.. I will extend her..

Yup, my deposit with d previous agency is full refund.

I m going to c my babies wif d colostrum daily n sometimes will latch on for stimulation n bonding. I guess once d cl n helper is here later this week I can't do tt anymore as I can't leave them alone at home ma n my cl quite strict in confinement lei.. Bt I hv already broken alot once discharged fm hospital.

Rose, u continue ur pd at Kkh ma? I'm only given an appt in aug with the pd but bbs r due for hep b 2nd jab soon.
Just wondering if we need to bring them ourselves to pd for general growth checks as aug means my bbs r ard 3mths old Liao..

Val, where are your rashes?

U are in week 32 already? My itch subside quite alot but certain areas still itch at times. D rashes slowly turn blackish n dries up. As my area of rashes is quite extensive so I tink will tk abt another 2 weeks to clear up. My demartologist says once they darkens, it will soon disappear. I m currently using old Grandpa's pine tar soap n it seems to speed up d recovery. One thing for sure after delivery d itchiness subside alot..

My rashes are on my back, legs, arms and even palms.. Super miserable coz the itch can break out into hives.. Very scarred  and looks like chicken pox scars too esp on my arms and legs.. The ones on the back are more patchy .. I tried using grandpa pinetar soap previous but found it too dry so using cetaphil, physiogel a1 moisturizer, elomet and taking piriton or zyrtec on nights I can't sleep due to the itch

Enduring for the next couple more weeks!! I hope the itch subsides soon. Little one still in breech position as of last week at 1.6kg.. Hope she turns soon for me to try natural birth!

So happy for u!

Val, did u consult any demartologist? Seems like u develop d rashes quite early in your pregnancy. I understand Hw u feels. It gets even more itchy at Nitez causing us unable to slp. I tried to use aloe Vera gel n it relieves quite a bit n also
Lightens d spots. I suffer d itch for 1 week n I pop already.. Mabbe my babies dun wan me to suffer long

Hang on there for Yr little one.. Hope her head turns soon n u can go for natural. Talk to her to turn
hope to hear Yr good news soon..

Mummies, I m using d disposable medala storage bottles for my ebm. If I hv already freeze for d 1st pump, can I mix d 2nd pump into d same bottle n freeze again? Cos it's quite wasteful to store only a bit for a bottle each time.

And Issit normal to hv increased colostrum till now? I m 4 days past partum now.

Pls advise.. Thanks!!!

If u freeze it in the freezer compartment, I am afraid not. But if in the fridge only yes can mix them on the daily basis(I meant same day ok, if next day then put separate bottle or milk bag)? If u has more then u can use milk bag to store them in the freezer it will save a lot of space

rostrum,
if freeze already then cannot combine and refreeze. u can combine same day ebm once they've reached the same temp. dun combine freshly pumped warm ebm with the previous cold one.
so store pumped ebm in the fridge in separate bottles then when they're all cool, u can combine them.

btw, how come u freeze yr ebm? ebm can store in the fridge for at least a day, depending on the temp of yr fridge. u can combine all yr chilled ebm and deliver to yr bbs daily. yr milk ss should be coming in soon. as long as u see an increase in pump vol, u're on the right track. slowly u'll see the colustrum getting whiter and becoming milk

previously when my elder girl stayed in nicu for a wk, i visited her and delivered ebm to her twice a day. my cl didn't say anything, cos she understand tat i will definitely go and visit my bb anyway. no way i'm just staying at home until she discharge.