IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Just faith
U have stop bf?
Yr gal finish one tin enfa in 5to6 days??
My twins finish one tin in also abt 6 days too... I have two bbs drinking and my bbs are older than yr gal!! They are drinking 120ml...
U also bought yr enfa at carrefour? I buy from ntuc..
I wonder will carrefour deliver... Hmm.. Cos troublesome to travel there to buy.. Duno does carrefour also carry fitti diaper

baby,

Yes, stopped after CNY. And I also been busy attending courses. Hehehe. Yes dear.. you read correctly. 1 tin in 5 to 6 days. I usually stock up 3 tins at one time. No lah, I didnt buy at carrefour. I seldom go town these days. Also didn't buy from NTUC. NTUC slightly more ex leh. I went rivervale plaza. Bought from 仁泰堂. Very popular among sengkang mummies here.

By default, I will feed her 120ml. But now, she is asking additional 30ml for alternate feed leh. Is your gals taking enfalac too?

Just faith
Ya my girls drinking enfa also...
Rivervale mall selling enfa at $40.80? Should go there and buy... Can go the ntuc there too...
Some times my girl also want more than 120ml.. Then i make another 30ml for them..
The rivervale plaza is the one that have the kidsclinic also is it? Or is it rivervale mall?? Im confused liao...

Thanks Grumpus! Think I will start that programming in April since I m planning to start work on 5 may. Hmmm base on what u said if my supply can maintain n not dropped alot by dragging to 12 hrs pump I can still feed my gal 80% bm like now?

Wow just faith ur gal is a good drinker!! Mine still mini drinker... That time I stopped bf for 1 week, she finished a 400g tin in 6 days so if 900g she wld take more than 2 weeks, she is drinking 1/2 of what ur Bb is taking!!

baby,

rivervale mall is the one with kids clinic where my gal to for her jabs.

rivervale plaza is the one with koufu, kopitiam, wet market. yes, enfa only $40.80 (buy 3 tins, less $1). last time, they sell friso at $31.50, while ntuc was selling at $40. their drypers also cheap $11.80. suggest u go in the morning. they usually replenish stocks in the morning. go and get a carton back la.. you have twins leh.

Gan/Baby,

I hope my helper is not drinking the milk secretly or sending the milk powder to philippines. Yea.... she finishes 1 tin in a week.

Baby,

Since your gal on total FM and also 120ml, how often does she poo?

Gan,
Hmmmm I can't guarantee u'll still be able to feed yr gal 80% BM cos when I dropped to 2 pumps a day my girl was already 8mths old and was already on solids. I didn't sustain pumping 2 times a day for that long cos I weaned my girl off BM at one yr old.
It does get a bit tiring after awhile cos it takes longer to pump out the 'target' amt of milk. Imagine every morn and night u hv to pump out at least one full 240ml bottle of milk.

Baby,

$11+ is the promotional price lei.

My bbs wear Fitti for 12 hours also no leak until recently. As they get older, they pee more but it doesn't happen everyday

Grumpus will try n sustain n hopefully I can get the 2 240ml bm at least till she is 6 mths old. I m hopping to give my gal bm till at least she is 6 mths old, though not full bm but I guess whatever amt is good. Just that not sure how is work when I m back.
U r also planning to bf ur number 2 to 1 year old?

prayhard,
i dint standby fm, only aft 3wks or so when my supply cannot meet my ger's demand, den i tried fm on her. bought s-26 n smilac coz kkh using these two brands when my ger was there. but she drinks fr instant one not powder form similac at kkh, okie leh...but when she drinks powder form similac bak home, becomes merlion.

gan,
when i brought my ger to c pte pd, asked for recommendation on fm, he at first said all brands d same, but later very 为难 n asked me try A+.

Gan,
Just do yr best n give yr girl whatever u can. Jia you!
Yes, I'm also planning to bf #2 for at least a yr.

Prayhard,
if u intend to tbf then dun standby FM. If u really need to supplement then just send someone out to buy. It makes u work harder to bf cos u can't just fall back on the tin of FM sitting on yr kitchen counter

Hi ladies I jus popped on saturday n I'm bk home with CL here
My baby's jaundice level Yday was 9.4 n I think he is at risk cos his face looks yellowish. Dr said he is dehydrated. I had colustrum n I bf him in hospital but dunno y still dehydrated ??

Now at home he demands more n from Yday day 3 onwards I tried to latch him but he is impatient n screamed. So I exPressed n managed to get 20ml milk each 3hrs I try.. But desperation drove me to sub with some formula too..
Is that ok? Really no choice he is not peeing much

pink d, aft u pump ..try hand expressing. i usually can get somemore bm ..the pump doesnt really clear all the bm.. hopefully u can express more for ur bb..

dun worry abt the fm now..ur ss will slowly increase n u can replace the fm w bm....

Pink d, 20ml every 3 hrs during first few days is good ! Jja you! As u pump/latch diligently ur supply will increase. Personally I feel it is ok to supplement with fm if ur supply initially doesn't meet ur son's demand. Especially dr said he has jaundice n is dehydrated. Impt to ensure ur boy is sufficiently hydrated. But it is how u feed ur boy fm so that won't let him have nipple confusion. One way is to cup feed or syringe feed. Also read that if u want to bottle feed, ask someone else to feed so that baby will always associate mummy to breast.

My gal has jaundice n in fact quite prolonged as she took bt to monitor until she was 7 weeks old. I was desperate n my gal was impatient n didn't want to latch when hungry so I expressed bm to feed her. But I fed using bottle so she had nipple confusion. During her first month she doesn't want n know how to suck the breast. It is only after her full month after a few tries, she resume sucking the breast.

If u r feeding bm, cut down on Ginger as ur boy has jaundice. In fact I didn't take the Chinese herbs too. Some said ok, some said better not. On the safe side, I didn't take any. Only drank the Longan red date tea

gan... i m oso planning to stretch the pumping hours further...esp when my parents r not here the whole day after new maid comes... thinking if can sustain to giv bm for at least 6 mths before i stop.

what grumpus said works...coz my supply at 6 hrly pump quite stable now...comparable to previous 3 hrly total daily output. in fact on some days even more...dunno if its due to the fenugreek or papaya fish soup.

Pink d,
Dun be stressed. I faced exactly wat u faced when my #2 was born. I think cos our bbs r small so they hv less reserves? On the 3rd day my milk ss also hadn't really kicked in n my gal also wasn't peeing much. I started expressing, giving whatever I could pump out plus supplement with some FM. It's ok, it's more impt they r well hydrated and flush out the meconium from their system.

After my gal started peeing n all tat again, plus milk ss kick in, I went back to latching. But latching very frequently, like every 1.5-2hrs.

Jia you, all the mummies here r behind u

Thanks ladies... these few days are HORRIBLE...
I was persistent in not using FM coz BF books advocate 100% BF-ing... so even when I had that bit of colustrum which was insufficient,I refused to supplement...until I learnt that the jaundice level is so borderline...
sigh too many heartbreaks in a few days...from the unexpected birth wt to borderline risk og jaundice... actually cried a few times looking at him and pitying him...

CL was encouraging...by 3rd day and today, i managed to squeeze out 20ml each pump from 2 boobies...but my boobs are very tired, sore and heavy... i suspect engorgement coz sleeping and turning from side to side is heavy and sore...

My boy jus had 20ml BM and 20 FM and it did not seem enough for him...

Pink D, the feeding cups was given to me by kkh nurses, it is actually those small plastic cups hospital used to put pills and give to patient. If i remembered correctly, during the prenatal course, TMC said they sell the feeding cups at the parentcraft.

For babies with jaundice impt to make sure they pee and poo so that the meconium is flushed out like what grumpus said.

I too supplement with FM.

Take the cue from your baby, if he is still hungry feed him. Dun worry about if you are feeding more FM or BM at this stage ya.

Massage your breast before you pump. start with your nipples, roll your nipples up and down 5 times,left right 5 times then your aerola similarly roll 5 times, and then use your palms to massage the flesh of your breast. massaging the nipples would open up more pores for milk to flow.

Pandawife my pumping has been haywire, like no proper schedule, that's why now only sufficient for daily feed, no extra to freeze.

When is your 2nd maid coming? Your current maid helping you to babysit already?

I on one hand look forward to my maid, so that i can take a break from washing, cooking etc and just take care of my baby. but on the other hand the thought of having a stranger in our small home doesn't feel good. really no privacy lor.

Just faith
Oh i see.. I went to rivervale mall before but not rivervale plaza... U bring yr bb to kidsclinic? The waiting time is crazy mann.. Once i was told to wait 4 hrs at least! Siao mann!

My girls poo once everyday... But sometimes once every two days.. But each time the poo is quite alot...

Singapoh
Huh the $11.95 is promo price ah.. Then what is the usual price? Should have buy more that time.. But cos i first time use so dont dare to buy too many in case i dont like but end up i love it! Hee...

Maybe i should call up amk ntuc and ask them..
But abit lazy to travel there... :p

Blissful, Singapoh,

For stroller, think will get the Combi one but not sure Take Fair or Baby Fair offers better price leh...

As for FM, will listen to the mummies here
Won't standby any...just concentrate on pumping & pumping & pumping...

One thing want to ask the mummies here, do you feel breathless at this stage huh? Recently, I feel quite breathless leh, even sitting down...how huh?

Baby,

Heehee.... my waiting time at kids clinic is super short. The nurse will call me when there are only 2-3 patients ahead of us. By the time I drive, it is almost our turn liao. I like the PDs there. My gal is seeing Dr Allyson Tan.

Singapoh,

I usually make 4oz of water + 4 scoops of Enfa. 4oz of water is abt 114ml. After adding the milk powder, I get abt 130ml of milk. Usually I dont let my gal finish all the milk, as I worry that she will start to suck air. So I pull out the teats with some remaining milk of 10ml.

On the Enfa tin, it says, for babies 8-12weeks old, they can drink 180ml of milk, with 5 feeds per day. ie. 900ml per day. I gave my gal more feeds but lesser quantity. Her consumption for milk yesterdays was 840ml.

gan, last i heard, the maid is suppose to come end of mar.

my current one only doing housework..coz i found out that she is only 18yrs old. still contemplating if i should replace her. smtimes her behaviour very childish.. i doubt she can take care of the bbs.. only wanna play with them. now i let her handle all the bottles washing, sterilizing, preparing water for baby bathing/body wipes.

the good part about her is she does housework very well, know how to recycle water, conserve electricity. also learn fast.. teach her once, she will know wht to do next time.

Pandawife,

you are taking care of 3 babies leh.... you get tired easily. you are not getting enough sleep, and not enough help from your parents/MIL.

if i get tired, i will pop chicken essence.

gan, w the maid around, i hv more quality time w the babies.. its worth the exchange for the privacy. and no need worry about my meals.. and washing up after tht..

my hb says to see how things go after 2nd maid is here.. he feels tht if i replace my current one, i might end up with a worse off one.. he is hoping the 2nd maid if gd w bbs, can guide the current one slowly.

i dont hv much time to talk to my current maid..leave the allocation of housework to my mother.. plus my mum can communicate w her in malay.. it takes a long time for her to understand what i want in english...i dont hv patience to talk to her when busy..keke..

just faith..i try to get as much sleep as possible.. usually my hb will take over duty from 9pm-12am ...then i will sleep and wake up to take over the midnight feed. the after midnight sleep time depends on how good the bbs are. last night 2 of them slept all the way until 530am. only 1 woke up at 330am for milk... so i managed to get decent rest.

my mum is helping me alot.. she will help be bath n body wipe bbs everyday..otherwise very tiring for one person to bath 3 bbs... i ever tried..at the end of the 2nd bb, i m exhausted already.

but mil not so helpful.. she only helpful when all 3 bbs cry together n i need an extra pair of hands to carry them.

baby, the fitti promo seems to b happening very often..coz i always see it at the ntuc near my place.. u shld b able to purchase more easily.

pink d, u can also use warm water bottle to roll on ur breast before pumping..will help to relieve engorgement too.. wht i do is i fill the avent 125ml bottle w warm water.
i remember during the first week, my boys were only drinking 30-35ml per 3hourly feed.

Feeding cups can be found in mums and babes. It's about $3 and can be sterilized. The brand is medela.

Isetan having member sale this friday. They have 15% off for stroller, car seat and high chair. Maybe can compare price with taka baby fair as well since they are within walking distance.

Just faith
Thanks for telling me!
Will go there and stock up soon cos i still have 3 tins milk powder left...

Do u gals clean bb ears and nose? Should clean leh cos its super dirty! Im surprise that the exterior ear and the inside nose v dirty lor.. I use bb cotton bud to clean..

Panda
I bathed and wiped my girls alone all by myself leh...
I enjoy the evening wipes the most! I will do it slowly and talk to them.. Hee.. But when they start to fuss.. I will fast forward hahaha.

U using which shower bath? Im using avent.. But find it abit costly.. But i try using kodomo.. But no smell at all one.. Avent has v nice smell... Even pigeon also no much smell one leh...

I wonder which other brands has nice smell and cheaper than avent... I usually stock up avent wash during 20% sale..

baby, my bbs dun like the body wipe...every evening is screaming...hv to super fast forward!

i using avent. my sil working in philips, so help me buy at 40% stuff px.

u want nice smell, k try pureen. i tried a small bottle given by tmc.

gals i think im going mad...
feeling sooo useless and i only hv one baby..imagine you gals with more than one...

had lotsa problems...
firstly engorgement...breasts swell so big like rock melons and i thought pumping would help...then pump out blood on right nipple...the whole bottle of milk was bloody!

coz it was over suckled by my son who prefers the right nipples...so cant pump right breast...

left breast only let out 10ml...

felt like a failure...

why is BF so hard... im really on the verge on the giving up...despite pumping religiously every 2-3hrs...still so much barriers...
and i jus kept blaming myself...now can hardly raise my hands coz very sore...

called LC to visit me later...but not sure if its useful...

Pink-D
It is hard initially, but soon you will get the hang of it. Engorgement is normal, means milk is coming in. Apply lanolin cream and let the right breast rest 2-3 days till its healed b4 letting bb suck again. Make sure bb is latch properly, the LC should be able to help. Just massage hard and manual pump to relieve the engorgement, just press on and u will get through the difficult period in the next few days.

Baby,

Can't remember the original price of Fitti. Kiddy Palace also sells Fitti.

Shower gel smells nice means got a lot of perfume lo. My bbs r using Cetaphil, fragrance free and no foam.

Panda,

Nowadays really hard to find a maid who is hardworking and good hor. My 2nd maid is 26 and I find her a bit childish too. My 1st one turns out to be slightly younger than her. She is matured, hardworking and plenty of initiatives and she cooks well too.

My ex maid is actually in her early 40s but she declared 37 years old hor. Lazy, housework sucks and climb up my head coz she thinks I m young enough to be her daughter. She is also a liar and a thief :s

Pink D,

Good that u hv a LC visiting u. She should be able to help and guide u. She can even help u to clear lumps but there will be a lot of pain.

Dun feel that way. U just pop few days ago. Dun give up so soon girl!

After u bf or pump, u can apply some of yr bm on yr nipples.

The LC just left...she said i dun hv engorgement but rather too much milk...so she taught me to BF again and tihs time lying down...baby and I like it...
she taught me how to massage (it hurts!) and then squeezed out my own miilk to heal my wound...
breast is still sore but my boy looked like he was drinking very happily... we felt relaxed...

hopefully tonight i can manage that way too...

btw she said I pumped too much and the milk came in alot...hence the whole boobs were so heavy...
jus hope i can persist in my BF-ing... this aint easy...

Pink D,
Hang in there! The first few days of breastfeeding before the supply kicks in maybe tougher but don't give up yet! Just like you, I had engorgement 4days after delivery. Engorgement means that the supply is coming. You have to use hot compress, massage and pump to clear the blocked ducts. Latching on is even better as LC said babies are the best pump.
LC will be able to massage for you to help you to clear the engorgement and guide you on how to breastfeed.

Just faith,
The baby products are quite cheap at the shops at Rivervale plaza. Too bad I'm staying very far away. Otherwise I'll go there to stock up all the baby products. But Enfa at Carrefour is still the cheapest I can find in Sg. I'll stock up 12 tins the next time I go there. Oh I just realise that Carrefour provide free delivery for purchase above $150. That's even better.
Baby Gina can finish 1 tin in 5-6days? How come so fast? My twins finish 1 tin in 5 days leh. Is your maid drinking the FM??

Pink d, Hang on there....I tink BF is really not easy...But at least the LC commented u got alot of milk which is a consolation right? Jia you!

baby
wow ur gals so good, can sleep on their own. so envious. how did u manage to train them?

gan
I'm like u, need to carry and walk my boy to sleep. he even knw when i sit down and he will start to fuss..so naughty!

grumpus
ya i also worry when my boy gets heavier, it will be hard to carry and walk him to sleep. but that is the only way he will sleep. he can never sleep on his own. tried putting him on cot, after a while, he will start crying. if don't carry, he will cry till all face red and no voice. very poor thing leh, we can't tahan he in such state.

bing
thks for info re enfalac cheapest at c4. will go get from there. every $1 counts, coz the FM seem to finish so so fast.

Happy hippo, i think my gal is used to sleeping at 9pm....so no need to carry to make her sleep. she would auto sleep at around 9pm. been like that the past 2 days.
I carry her to sleep coz i was trying to make her get used to sleeping betweem 9pm to 930pm and also carry to sayang her.

Just now she was fussing abit around 9pm and i thought she was hungry as she put her fist in her mouth (her usual indication she is hungry), went to heat up my ebm and came back she is asleep. =S Dreamfeed her, she took 10ml and push out the teat

Gan, I wish my gal can auto sleep at specific timing. The only thing she has been set on auto mode is after her evening wipes and milk, she can sleep longer hours. On Monday evening, she slept from 5pm to 430am the following morning. Last night, wip at 6pm, play play until 8pm then sleep. Woke up at 3am for milk.

Even her morning shower can range frOm 8am to 11am+ depending on what time she wake up.