IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Winnie,
The Cheng choon store is mainly looking at catalogues. It is a small neighborhood shop. As for discounts n stuff, not all items necessary cheaper than the baby fairs. If u have an idea what u want to buy, can just call to enquire the price instead of going all the way down.

syrah - but what do they sell? I'm waiting for taka baby fair to come leh, so far I only bought 3 packs of mittens & botties & baby wipes

winnie, hypermart sells more strollers and they hv 15kg dumbbell-like dolls for u to put on the strollers to try and that gives u an actual feel of the strollers if u intend to buy a stroller that last slightly longer.

Gan: I saw the rocker last yr at OG at about $120+ after discount I think... and didnt wanna buy...
then the price went up from $149 to $159... haha coz they said very high demand...
im thinking of getting one too, since it sits new born ya?

day - looks like I'll give hypermart amiss since my sis is passing me 2 strollers. there's a baby shop in amk near the polyclinic, shall go there to buy some bath towels, hankies & home wear

winnie, hypermart sells some cots, play pens too.bb kingdom sells smaller items. Was told that Waterloo St has got a shop that sells bb home clothings/towels etc etc but I haven't been there before. Anyway happy shopping!.

day - its at queens street, play pen I need one more but heard from my friends balestier has a shop that sells cheap play pen too. last nite met up with my confinement lady & she gave me one long list of herbs to buy

Winnie,
Oh.... The queen st should should be the same one as I m referring to. U bought any stuffs from there? Do u know the shop at balestier ? I stay somewhere near there n may ask my hb to take a look at the pens there. Oh, ur CL is a local ?

day - I haven't go there to see cos I just started shopping for baby. I get the balestier shop address from my friend then post here. my CL is a msia, she happens to be here yesterday so called me to meet up with me

Rose, my dh has the same mentality as u....船到桥头自然直
I am trying to adopt this thinking too....hahahaha....but sometimes quite difficult cos my character is not lidat...

Pink D, according to the website, yr bb should be v close ma..So I tink shd be ok?
Do u think eating fruits by itself will be better than fruit juice? Just a thought....

http://www.babycenter.com/average-fetal-length-weight-chart

Winniepooh, yr CL give u a list to buy for yr confinement? Are u due soon? Hmm....Not sure whether to give my CL a call before I am due or not?

Day, u hv the actual address for the Queen St Shop? any idea they opened on Sundays?

Mummies, is the fisherman rocker recommended to get now? Seems like alot of u are getting it...It helps in calming babies?

Winnie, *wave!* how are u doing?
Agreed with Syrah, most of the things you can call and ask for quote thru fone (esp stroller etc, quote the model#) for Cheong Choon store as they dont carry alot stuff there due to space constraints. Not all things r cheaper, but some like the Avent milk bottle starter kit selling $39 is cheaper than I saw some selling $60. I bought mine at baby kingdom at $49 and tot I hav a good buy! The cots they selling at Choon Seng is more expensive, not sure cos of different brands quality but all are 4 in 1. Maybe other places selling even cheaper, I haven't really compared again.

Talk abt CL, mine start to sms me to drink papaya soup weekly and red dates tea now?
Anyone been drinking before delivery? I am only 26weeks+ now.

Imp22, yr CL is so caring...she is from S'pore? My CL did not tell me anything lei...nor the things to get...maybe I will give her a call nearer to due date ba..

rostum - the address is Blk 269 Queen's Street #01-246, they shld be open on weekends

imp22 - I'm fine, back super aching if I sit for too long, I'm only 22 weeks turning 23 weeks tomorrow & this ache will get worse when I reach 3rd tri I drank red dates tea during 1st tri, papaya soup my CL say she'll cook for me when she's here

day,

there's a shop in whampoa that sells cheap bb home wear, towels, hankies etc. they sell alot of other bb stuff as well.

winnie, thanks for the info...

Did u consider to get the support belt from Mothercare to help with yr backaches?

I think baby and pandawife using...seems good...

There is a Mothercare sale coming up...perhaps u can go and try and see whether u like it or not? It costs about $49...

Rostrum, yes she is from Ipoh. She happens to be in SG this month for work and sms me abt the soup receipe..

Urs from where?

Winnie, yes backaches n all.. Did you get any maternity belt for better support?

rostum - I didn't buy from this forum, but another forum friend casually ask if I wanna buy from her & the condition is ok so I just buy

everytime i kanna cheated by mothercare sales one ... that time i went only their soft toys were up to 50% (very few items somemore) then the other more essential items no discount almost.

From this forum lor ... search thru the WTS sections, of cos got to gauage yrself if the product is worth the discount or not cos some condition really horrible...

But 2nd hand items have to lower expectations but hey if got savings I am all for 2nd hand items.

Imp22, mine from Ipoh too....think Mar and May she got assignments, maybe I will call her around May..hopefully not too late...
How much did yr CL charge u? Mine is 2.9k....

Winnie, I see...

U ladies intend to invest in Medala Swing breastpumps?

I was at mums & babes couple of days ago & saw another couple buying the maternity belt. I'll buy when I cannot tahan any longer

JJ, so the mothercare sale not worth going? Soft toys are of no use to us at this moment lei..

Ok, will go take a look at WTS sections cos some items not worth to get 1st hand lei...

winnie, I find lying down is the best for backaches...now when I sit longer my buttock will be painful also and must walk a bit...dunno issit the pressure from tummy?

Rostrum,
Winnie gave the exact addy. I was given Directions instead ...
> The shop is located along the same stretch as the fruit wholesaler call 再生水果 which is somewhere beside the Waterloo market & food center.

Grumpus,
Is the shop that you had mentioned at whampoa is located at blk 82 Whampoa drive .. Somewhere near to the ntuc ? That shop carries lotssa bb stuffs too ?

rostum - now in office cannot lie down leh, when I sit too long, my buttock will ache & my thigh also ache! some items I find really not worth to buy brand new cos baby will outgrow before they turn 1 yr old. I dun mind 2nd hand as long as its in good condition, trying to save my wallet as we already spend a big bomb for my fresh cycle & first tri support med

Rostrum, I hv the same problem as u ! Though I m not big yet but I can't sit up on the chair for too long. Can't last long even with my legs prop up on the sofa. Laying down seems the best. Am considering medela Freestyle ....

rostrum - up to you actually. Can go browse if you not too tired out. For me I am not going. I rather conserve my energy to go to the taka bb fair.

Cannot lie on back for too long once u reach yr 2nd tri hor .. it will cut / slow down blood supply to the bb's. always sleep on left side.

I bought Medela Freestyle BP direct from USA, got a friend to get for me.

Rostrum, mine charges 2.7k
Intend to extend to 1.5mths if possible, still exploring this possibility so that can lessen our load.

Am interested in getting Medela Freestyle, per experienced mummy Grumpus she is very happy with it hehe.. so far found from SMH spree with no local warranty at $450 (retail selling ard $899)

Me also wana explore the WTS section to c if anything worth buying at lower price. Some things can only use for certain # of months which we can explore 2nd hand items.

Rostrum, day,
Yup tat's the one! Went to check it out the other day. I stay whampoa so many yrs but hv never been....haha
They do sell a lot of bb stuffs.

winnie, same...my buttock will ache...dunno y...last time is ok...now cannot sit too long, must walk a bit then sit down...
True lor, I hv spent a bomb also...so trying to see where I can cut and save for other areas for babies....v siong!

Day, I tot I am the weird one....ok...so its norm....I always alternate between sides and back....always fidget on the bed with lots of actions...lolx..

JJ, I always preferred to lie down on my right but recently I noticed whenever I lie down on my right, I will get kicks on tt side....so I quickly chg to left but in the middle of the nite, I will still lie on right unknowingly...

Imp22, yup...kw abt the spree abt the Medala Freestyle pump....but I v afraid my determination not strong enuff to continue BF after going back to work though I v much wanted to BF...will try my best...maybe I will leave breast pumps to later part ba...now still early..
The charges for yr CL is v v reasonable!!! I tot mine is already a good deal...haha....Ya, 28 days of confinement is really not enough....U kw Zoe Tay is hving her confinement for 100 days?? If I hv the money to spare, I will go for long confinement too....cos if confinement not done properly, next time to "bu" back is next confinement liao...so I tink confinement is v important...

grumpus, ok...will drop by soon...

Ladies, so its better to get our shopping done by 2nd tri and rest during 3rd tri right?

Day - total in all est paid S$470. (inclds freight charge)
Comes with pump, pump accessories, the blue pack ice pack, small black bag to store the milk bottles, Big bag to carry everything in, the accessories so can clip onto nursing bra hands free

Imp22, for the Medala Freestyle from the SMH spree, do u think they come with so many bundle set like wat JJ is getting?

Do u hv intentions to get a helper? Are u going back to work after delivery?

pink D
your baby is of good weight leh..
don't worry too much. just enjoy the rest of the pregnancy!

Rostrum
congrats on your princes!!!

re:pupsik sling
i have one which i have only used twice. let me know if any of you gals wants it. can let it go for 20 bucks cause my boy don't like it. prefers the sarong sling. bought at 45 bucks.

btw, any ladies need nappy liners? brand new ones as my mil decided not to use cloth diapers anymore. can give it to you gals for free if any of u need.

rostrum - maybe u ask the person in charge on the contents of the freestyle. Better to make clear what items u buying.

Forgot mine also came with 4 small bottles

But got to buy the plug adaptor hor...

Rostrum,
The medela freestyle is a standard bundle regardless of purchase from where. Mine is uk set, also same stuff.

Ladies who delivered in KKH, can ask for the babies nursery ward charges ($$) is it pay in Case / Medisave/ Cash + Medisave.

forgot to ask when I enquired.

Thanks Liz!

Thanks JJ and Grumpus...actually I am clueless on bb stuffs now as I hv not started shopping on it...only by reading from the posts in the forum...think will start looking ard so tt I can ask more advices from u girls...

JJ, did u sign up the FAST scheme at KKH? Think they will give u a $100 voucher upon delivery which can be used in pharmacy purchases. But I m not sure whether it is still the same now?

JJ
i didn't need to buy the plug adaptor leh. i just use a multi-plug.

Rostrum
if u want, i can send you the baby list which my fren gave me once i find it.

JJ cash + medisave.

From my own exp, some of the things can buy after delivery, buy if you need. a number of things i bot before delivery, till now never use. like nursing pillow, nipple cream, breast pads, waterproof pants etc.

Rostrum, u can get a list of things to buy from taka, robinson, the major shopping places. The list will advise what to buy for bb and yourself and the quantity.

Thanks Gan! Ok....thinking not to get so much also as I dun want them to become white elephants after babies out and waste $$$....

I m thinking to get breast pumps after babies out...maybe before tt will get the pigeon electric pumps from my fren to test out first, but again the accessories also need to get new ones.

grumpus, no...er i never wear bra at home. =P yea got leaking breasts. hehehehe

Rostrum, breast pump i didn't regret buying coz that motivate me to pump to make the $$ worth. ha ha...i think breast pumps is necessary if you intend to breastfeed. i bot though i only intend to breastfeed my bb during my ML but now seeing how well my baby is growing, i think i will continue to provide breast milk where possible. when i return to work, like grumpus and singapoh advised, physco my breasts to produce milk only in morning and evening. so no need to pump at work