IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

guess wat, i bought 5 bottles of fenugreek coz suddenly motivated to bf more diligently coz bb lately poo only once a day and didnt the last 2 days. now feeling abit guilty tat i hardly bf him lately.
also not sure if it is the nestle HA that is causing it. thinking if shd switch to another fm.
when bb was newborn, i used enfalac, it was ok then but not sure if it was becoz he was newborn then.

Happy
Im using eversoft organic olive oil for my bbs.. Can it get frm watson... Im also using avent magic cream to apply on my bb skin after evening wipe.. Cos they sleep in aircon rm.. Before using their skin is dry.. Now ok liao..

U didnt bf often? Yr boobs wont be engorged if u didnt bf?
Yr bb is drinking nan ha is it? My big girl stools are abit hard when she on nan1 but not HA... Now on similac her stools is nice creamy yellow.. Poo twice a day

Why u switch frm enfa to nan? Do u find there is alot of bubbles in the milk for enfa? Does yr bb has wind problem when on enfa?

baby
daytime i try to latch my bb, but mostly rely on fm to keep him full, coz i cant tell how much bm he is getting. at nite, only pump once. so overall not very diligent lor. ya boobs gets more full over nite, so when bb wake up abt 6am, i bf laying on bed.
ya now into 2nd can of nan HA (for newborn). actually no real reason for changing from enfalac. we just tot try different types. i find enfalac harder to dissolve, didnt notice the air bubbles. my boy farts alot, i also apply ru yu oil daily to help. thinkg that is helping with the wind.

Baby,
How long have your girls been taking similac? They have been pooing more than once everyday ever since you started taking similac? Just like your girl, my babies used to have yellowish creamy stool every when they were taking mamex gold with ebm. Then when I switched to similac, they had very loose stool a few times yesterday. But they have not poo today. I'm monitoring their poo now. If it's not suitable for them, probably I'll try enfalac.

I switched from mamex gold to similac cos alot of my friends told me that mamex gold will make babies put on weight very fast but the nutritional value is not as high as similac or enfalac. These 2 brands seem to be more premium and popular among parents. Since I intend to stop breastfeeding soon, I want to give my babies gd FM suitable for them.

Happyhippo didn.'t buy the magic cream leh.... Shld have bot it when I saw it at centrepoint last Sunday.. Got 20% off. I got olive oil from PD, it's olivin olive oil. I just bit 1 bottle of fenugreek. Actually my pumping not so regular now but managed to feed my gal bm unless we r not home. My gal is too impatient to latch, tried for 1 of the feed in afternoon n she was screaming and crying.=s

Baby the magic creAm apply on the whole body of baby or specific area? Just saw my gal had some white discharge when I change her nappy, is it normal ??

Happy
How comeu buy HA for nan? Yr bb has allergy problem? I read that for HA.. There is one ingredient lacking.. But forgot what is it...

Bing
Same same... I also stopped bf so wana give the best fm ti my twins.. So been trying several brands from similac, enfa, nestle nan... Actually my bbs are fine with nan.. Will pass poo once a day.. But cos similac and enfa seems more premium so i chg to similac.. Tried enfa but saw alot of bubbles in milk so i scare will cause wind...

My girls taking 2nd tin of similac now..

Gan
I apply the magic cream on body, arms and legs.. Can even apply on the face but i didnt cos my girl have small little pimples scare will make it worst..

My big girl also have white discharge frm vaginal.. Brought her to see pd.. Pd says its normal.. As long as its white.. Not red or yellow..

Just to share... Just went for detailed scan today. I'm expecting a boy & a girl.

Baby,
My babies don't like to take Similac. They have been taking very long to finish their feed these 2 days even when they are quite hungry. My girl will reject the milk and my nanny has to coax her to drink. We didn't have such problem when they were taking Mamex gold. I just tried tasting Similac myself and found that it's not as sweet and as tasty as Mamex gold. It has a fishy smell too. No wonder my babies don't like to drink. How about your babies? Do they like? Oh I just saw on the similac tin that it claims that the milk will prevent colic. Dunno whether it's true.

I just opened a tin of 900g similac yesterday and they are finishing soon. It can last less than 3 days only. They are drinking really fast.

Bing
My bbs are taking similac well.. Didnt reject the milk.. I also find the milk fishy.. My small girl just pass loose stools again.
My big girl just had her 4th poo today... I thk im gg to change them bk to nan...

Baby,
My babies didn't poo today. I think they poo too much yesterday already. Anyway, I think they really don't like the taste and refuse to drink much. My girl was fussing when we fed her just now.
I guess I'll have to switch back to Mamex gold. No choice.
My babies took NAN for 3 weeks since they were born. Then my CL told us that all the babies she took care who took NAN were quite skinny. She told us NAN is not very nutritious. We tried Mamex gold and babies responded quite well so they have been taking for 2 months.

Thanks Singapoh, Gan & Rostrum!

Btw wana check for multiple mummies, did your doc prescribed Nifedipine & Progesterone (Utrogestan) pills to start consuming ard 20-21th week? I understand the med is to help prevent pre-term contractions. Then his next comment was like see if my body can take it for 3 months. My mind was turning too slowly to ask what he meant by that. What are the possible side effects of taking such med now? Any idea?

Baby the bubbles is because the way babies drink? I feed ebm also see bubbles at the teat when I feed

Rostrum, ur spotting ok?

Rose , Baby hopeful

u guys are next one to pop.. all the best....

update us..

Syrah,
Congrats..

Rostrum ,
u had a appointment to meet Dr.loh for spotting rite. what happened? all z well.

Syrah, I was prescribed utrogestan even fm my week 15. Dr Loh says is to stabilize the womb n prevent preterm delivery. He say will prescribe another support medi in my next Appt to tk together. He Nvr say whether my body Cn tk it or Nt leh? Hw many pills of utrogestan r u tking now?

Ladies, I m tested +ve for strep b infection. I had a culture test done with dr Paul at tmc. Apparently all my spottings n bleedings is most likely caused by this group b infection which kkh did Nt detect when I was in n out of a&e so many times. I m currently on antibiotics cos if left untreated there will b risk of midterm miscarriage. My spotting stops since Monday but will hv very dark brown discharge whenever I drink milk which mks me v puzzled also.. Anyway I m loading lots of yoghurt now to introduce good bacteria into my body. I suspect cos I did Nt eat n sleep well during tri 1 n I can't stomach plain water also, immune system become low thus gt the infection.
Honestly after this incident I m rather upset with kkh for not being able to pin point my problem right fm d start except to give me jab n send me home. Maybe to them it's v common to hv bleeding n spotting in an ivf pregnancy. But our pregnancy dun cone easy... Sometimes just find they lacking of personal touch n too overload to look into the problem for each individual.

Gan, I read back past posts n found out u hv group b infection in Yr early pregnancy too. After d antibiotics treatment, everything ok?

I would also like to say a very BIG THANK YOU to all d ladies whom pm me n share their advices to me. M really v grateful... U know who u are... Muacks and thank you... I hope after this infection solved. My pregnancy will be more smooth sailing from here...

Rostrum,
Yes these two med are to prevent pre-term delivery. He'll probably prescribe u Nifedipine at your next visit.

For utrogestan it's 2 pills at night only.
For Nifedipine it's 1 pill 3x a day.

Praying that all will be well and smooth for your journey ahead!

Syrah, Oic.. Ya. I understand these 2 are prescribed for preterm delivery only for multiple pregnancy.

Utrogestan is v good ESP for night cos can give u better sleep as it will cause drowsiness... I actually like tking it.. Lolx...

Pray all will b smooth from now onwards...Better do all Yr shopping during tri 2 so tt u Cn rest more during tri 3... Resting more Cn prevent preterm delivery too n of course stress free.

Singapoh/Grumpus, could I check for freezing bm, must the bm be freshly expressed or i can freeze the bm i expressed yesterday which is in the fridge? frozen bm can keep for 3 months? Thanks!

Rostrum, i was also tested for infection in week 5 with my previous gynea at TMC. I went for second opinion there as my spotting didn't stop after 1 week despite given the injection and increasing my duphaston dosage by kkh. Was given anti bitoic, i emailed Dr Loh with a copy of my swap test result and also confirm with him the antibiotic is safe to take during pregnancy. Dr Loh in his reply to me told me group B infection is ok. I took the anitbiotic but couple of weeks later, i actually had bleeding and durin the scan with dr loh, there was a blood clot, my womb was bleeding. And prior to the bleeding, i still have on off spotting. So whether group b infection is the cause of the spotting i am not sure.

So are you changing to Dr Paul in TMC? He is a very nice doc.

Did you ask Dr Loh why the spotting persisted despite the jabs? Did he advise anything ?

BTW, if you are having natural delivery, you will do a swap test for group b infection. if positive, antibiotic would be given so that the virus won't be pass to the baby during the delivery. I did mine when i was week 35 and was negative then.

Gan, in most cases most preggie women will not hv any symptoms for strep b infection and therefore a swab test will b carried out before delivery. But if d infection becomes serious it will cause a threat to d pregnancy.

Like u, my spotting n bleeding did not stop despite d jabs n increased oral support. Dr Loh did not offer much advice as whther my spotting is caused by d infection, the last time I seen him he is rushing thru my consultation. Think he got something urgent to attend to ba.

For my case, there is no blood clots or anything ard the womb n no low lying placenta too as cfm by dr Loh n dr Paul. Both of them laugh when I say cld it b a case of placenta detaching... Haha...

I m considering in d switch but due to twins I hv alot to consider... Dr Loh is v experienced in handling multiple pregnancy but Shd there b any complications/premature cases, kkh wld hv better facilities to handle.

I dun blame dr Loh la... Cos he is really too overload.. Cn understand his frustrations..

Twinstars/gan
Dont know why i see alot of tiny bubbles when my bbs drinking enfa.. I dont see it with other brand of fm.. I v scare my bbs will swallow alot of air due to the bubbles..

Bing
I have decided to switch similac to enfalac.. Cos my two girls still having loose stools on similac.. Started to give enfa since yday night.. This morning their stools are nice creamy yellow..
So i shall wait and see their poo when on enfa..
And i also notice they will get hungry earlier when on enfa than on similac.. Cos i thk similac is thicker so can fill their stomach more...

Hows yr bbs poo today?

baby,

i have also spoken to my sis in law who has two girls abt the change of milk powder. my SIL do not encourage change of milk powder at one shot. she thinks milk powder (old and new) should be mixed. as otherwise, baby may not adjust within a short time and may have diarrhoea/loose stools. my mum also agreed.

when i asked one of the ex-nurse working in kkh, gave a different opinion. she says its ok to give the baby at one shot, and observe if there is anything (eg. diarrorea). Currently, all the milk products in the market is around the same, and should not be a problem.

Did anyone advise you to mix the milk powder? or okay to change at one shot? i already bought one new tin of friso gold (tempted at the price, only $31.50, compared to enfa $39), but still very hesitant to change her milk powder.

rostrum,

you may want to see both doctors concurrently. dr paul is really a nice doc. as u r expecting twins and may deliver early - records with kkh may come in handy to help you save the hospital bill. just my two cents worth.

Just faith, yes I m tinking abt tt cos kkh appts is 5-6 weeks apart which in my opinion is too long ESP for twins. I might sound kiasu bt I hv come this far... I jus wan to hold my precious-es in my arms...

Dr Paul leave a v good impression to me. He is v handsome too with good bedside manners. Though we only met once, he call me bk twice almost immediately personnally when the nurses brought my question across. I m v touched.

Dh has make an Appt to see him in 2 weeks time as he has not seen him yet. Nevertheless I will still keep kkh file open...

Syrah,

I started on the 2 support pills from 20 weeks to 34/35 weeks. Between that period I had regular belly hardening (contraction) so Dr Loh increased the dosage to double.

I just emailed him about my hardening and my hb went to collect more pills from his assistant. I didn't see him. 34/5 weeks onwards is safe so he took me off the pills. I popped at 36 weeks, 3 days

Gan,

I usually freeze straightaway or not more than 24 hours in the fridge.

It depends on what type of freezer u are using. Deep freezer can keep longer.

Singapoh I m keeping in the normal freezer, ie the top compartment of fridge. How long can the frozen bm keep? Thinking of start stocking up bm for my Bb when she goes infant care in may.

Just faith have u switch fm ? Or friso is the first switch? I switch from s26 to smilac immediately , seems ok except first time when she drank similar she rejected after 20ml. Second time she is very hungry so just drank. So far tried 2 times

Baby,

I read in a Mamex Gold brochure that when we change formula, need to do it gradually so that bb can adapt to it. They recommended changing one feed every 1-2 days eg. For every 4 feeds, only change the 3rd feed to new formula. Then couple of days later, can change the 2nd and 3rd feed to new formula. Then couple of days later, change 1st, 2nd and 3rd feed to new formula and then lastly can completely switch to new one for all feeds.

I have been using Similac since day 1. Because I read in Mrs Wong's book that we should consult pd before changing formula, so I've never changed it. It seems to be ok for my kids... But I don't have any other comparison lah, cuz only tried similac. They poo 4-5 times a day, sometimes runny but I guess that's because Im also breastfeeding.

Gan,
what is the name of the olive oil doc gave u? Can we buy from pharmacy? My girl also has very dry and flaky skin on her forehead, and some red rashes there. Doesnt seem to go away.

Just faith
I asked two pds abt switching fm.. Both say no issue to switch at one shot unless u are switching bf to fm.. Then must do it gradually...

So far i been switching to and fro between brands of fm.. No problem so far.. Nestle nan also cheaper than enfa.. Enfa is the most exp.. Thou same price as similac.. Enfa is smaller tin.. Different brands of fm really has a direct impact on bb stools.. Similac gives the most watery stools.. Enfa normal stools so far.. Will watch it further cos just switched only..

Gan,

no leh. She has been taking enfa since day 1. I hv no courage to change fm. PD says to stick to enfa as she is taking enfalac + ebm well. Only reason I want to change is becos friso is cheaper. Sigh.

FYI, the ex-nurse at kk shared with me that kk gives friso to most babies, ESP premature babies as premature babies tend to throw up after taking other milk. When she knows my gal taking enfa, she asked me to stick to that. Her preferred choice is friso. Then told me she know some friso salesmen, can buy cheaper milk powder. So I back side itchy, went to buy friso but in the end, I hv no courage to change.

Mum says, if baby responding well to enfa, why want to save that $10.... Haha

Just faith
Friso is also another popular fm among mothers.. Actually u are giving bm and u have one bb.. So the frequency of drinking fm not alot.. So why dont just stick to enfa.. Those with more than one bb are the ones who really need to save on fm mann! Hee...

But if u really wana try out friso.. No harm also.. U can always switch bk to enfa if u dont like friso.. I aldy been changing from similac to nan.. Then to enfa.. Back to nan again.. Then to similac once again.. Now finally decide on enfa... Haha..

baby, you are right loh.... sometimes i think, already spent so much on IVF.. why still want to save that $10.

OK... i will reconsider abt changing FM after CNY. btw, do you bring your girls out? how do you manage that? this morning, was the first time i took her out for morning walk - 30mins.

i asked my PD about changing or trying out different FM. He says unless there is constipation or diarrhea..he doesnt recomment changing.

i hv an extra can of similac ...which he says if i want, can replace one of the feeds per day to similac..while majority of the feeds shld still be enfa.

baby, u r right..hehe... more than one bb total FM very siong leh. now 1 can of enfa can only last for about a week max for me.. n thts provided i pump very diligently to supplement with bm.

Just faith
I brought my girls out several times liao.. Abit troublesome.. Imagine got to bring two strollers out.. Feed and change diaper.. And some places no lifts.. Got to push the stroller up the escalator..
I even brought my girls to few temples to pray..
Yr girl full term still alright to bring her out... My girls now only 2 weeks old if count the gestation age.. I aldy brought them out when they are not even a day old!!!! Opps... Hehe..

Baby,

Well done men! Did you manage without your hubby? .... we celebrated her baby shower in advance last weekend. officially, she will be 1 month old tomorrow (lunar calendar). So, after tomorrow, then I can bring her go temples. So your girls "guai-guai" sleep in their strollers?

My sister in law has arranged for reunion dinner at their restaurant in boat quay. It's quite a challenge for me. Keeping my fingers crossed. Hope she wont fuss in the restaurant.. haha. For my parents, reunion dinner will be at my parents house. So not so bad.

Just Faith, i hv only gone out 2x for PD checkup and straight back home. just going to clinic already v challenging.. while waiting...i will hv crying bbs..who wanna be fed, diaper changed or just plain fussing.. its very tiring!

baby, got to salute u..hehe..still can go temple.. i m avoiding having to go out as much as possible.. told my parents n in laws tht reunion dinner hv to b at my house.. no going out unless absolutely necessary.

syrah - I'm also taking those preterm meds too. its a orange oval shaped pill & white round pill.

So far side effects for orange pill is mild headaches, giddy feeling after taking it.

the white pill i take at night & sleep straight so didn't notice any effects.

Now im 27wks with boy & girl too !

Singapoh Thks! Good u can retire from pumping.... I still need to pump coz my gal latch base on mood. Now she is latching to sleep while I surf Internet .. Hehehe

Working wife the olive oil is olivin olive oil. Actually can use any brand coz PD initially asked me if I have olive oil at home, I didn't have so bought from PD. U try the California baby cream, I purchase from bulk purchase n received it last night. Applied twice n the eczema seems slightly better.

Just faith when we r in kkh babies are fed friso. I can only buy fm with packaging of 400g else can't finish within 4 weeks. I still left abt 1/4 of s26 but started on similac since that s26 opened for 4 weeks le

Panda
Ya mann... Fm really v costly.. Esp when im on total fm.. One tin of fm can only last abt a week or so.. Diapers also exp lor.. Im now using small size of huggies.. U?

Yr bm got increase in supply? Aldy used to bf and pumping?
Admire yr determination in bf! With three u can still manage to find time and energy to pump!