IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Just faith
So far i went out with my hb.. If hb no ard i wont feel confident to bring two girls out.. If only one bb i can manage but with two cannot la...

Panda
Haha.. Its also a challange for us to bring two out.. But i dont want bbs to restrict our outing.. Must have our life back even with bbs ard! But we will plan properly before gg out.. Yday we bring them out go coffeeshop eat dnr. Then go amk hub to buy clothes for them at fox.. But reach there both fussing for milk.. One of them poo.. So in the end we just buy then go straight hm...
And using lift with two strollers also difficult.. Esp when its aldy full of people inside.. Sigh.. I wonder how come these people with strollers and things dont use the escalator..

Gan
Gestation age base on full term 40 weeks.. If yr bb born on edd then consider full term at birth.. My bbs born at 34 weeks edd on 12 jan... So even they are born in dec.. Their age start frm 12 jan...

Singapoh, Grumpus,

Check with you... Currently I pump after I bf the twins, but I realize that is dragging the time longer than 3 hrs. Cuz my twins don't feed at the same time (sometimes 1 hr lag in between) so I end up only pumping after completing feeding for both and that will be 4-5 hours after last pump. I am afraid to just pump every three hourly cuz then I might be pumping just before a feed. How should I do this? If I just pump 3 hourly and then if its time to feed the bbs half hour to one hour later, will I still have supply?

The only pumps I can do regularly are the night ones cuz I don't latch on at night.

Also, do u latch bb on until they are satisfied even if it's more than 30 minutes? the nurse in TMC said to latch bb for 30 minutes then if they are still hungry, top up with ebm or fm. I'm afraid to latch em on too long cuz scared they will get tired and doze off even though not full, then one hour later will wake up.

Wow Baby, you very good leh, can bbs out evento coffeeshop. I have only brought them to pd and msian high comm to do passport and register birth. I feel theybareso small, like exposing them to germs outside.

How heavy are yr bbs now?

Baby
u even brought ur girls to temples. I yet to bring my bbs out. If wanna change diaper how ah ? Change using stroller ? Hm ....

Singapoh
ya u really save on fm. Now fm sooo expensive like property price keep going up. Ur girl is going back to ur place
can have more fun together

8 mths seems like a long time to me now ... Every night is a struggle after cl left

Working wife,

Yr babies are fullmonth already right? If they wake up at night to drink and doze off, let them zzz and u try to zzz too. During the day, keep them awake during feed.

Actually if yr twins are latching for so long, u don't hv to pump anymore. Slowly yr body will keep up with their demand if u feed them regularly. Top up only when they still make noise but first check why they cry. Maybe they just wanna be carried, changed, burped, etc. Crying doesn't always mean hunger.

Build yr supply slowly la. Make sure u also hv enough rest. As long as u dun give up, u will succeed in bf.

Working wife
Haha we plan ahead.. We didnt go at dnr time when there is alot of people... So still alright..
My bbs are weighing at 3.9kg and 3.7kg.. Exposing some germs can make their stronger mah! Hee...

Nancy
We change diaper in the car and bench in the shopping centre... If only wet diaper its easily changed.. But if soiled diaper might be abit more difficult..
Its always hard at the start.. Practise makes perfect!

Looks like im the only one that bring bb out hor.. Hmm

Nancy,

Fm price keep going up. Properties still go up and down. Haha..

Usually if I see fm on promo, I will stock up a bit la.

I am sure with 2 babies, time really flies! Before u know it, they will be 8 months old liao.

Yeah twins can keep each other occupied. Now my 3 year old play with my baby boy.

working wife,
i think what u're doing is right, pumping after u latch both twins. pumping 3hrly is if u dun latch at all.
but like singapoh said, actually u can use yr twins to build up yr supply. but it will be tiring in the beginning lah, cos each latch on will only be able to last them maybe 1.5-2hr. so it will be almost an endless cycle of latching with the 2 of them.

the nurses at Raffles also told me to latch bb on only for 30mins. but must make sure for that 30mins, bb is drinking actively. got to keep disturbing them so they dun fall asleep. if they can actively drink for 30mins, they should be semi satisfied already and shd not need top up.

Singapoh
Fiiti basic is cheap? How much is it?
I tried pampers new born.. No good.. Bbs bottom wet wet.. Huggies so far is good to use... Bottom dry even when diaper is heavy with pee... But not cheap la...

Baby,

About $12 promo price. I think S size got 80 pieces. FYI Ntuc only carry Fitti when it's on promo. U can use this as Day wear and night use more ex one. This is only the Basic range and already so good. They also hv premium range but i hv not tried before

Singapoh fitti is not sold in every Ntuc? I didn't see that at whampoa n square 2 Ntuc . I m using mamy poko now so looking for cheaper day use coz I change very frequently... 1 packet of 72 pieces last me at most 1 week

Singapoh
U mean ntuc does not sell when its not on promo?
How do we know when the diaper is on promo?
$12 for 80pc is v cheap!!

Gan
Mamy poko good to use? If my bbs poo only a day.. I dont hv to change that often.. U on bm i guess yr girl poo more than once a day right? So got to change diaper more often..
U using avent boottom balm? I find it quite good.. Can mositurise bb bottom and prevent nappy rash.. Sometimes if my bb bottom sore and red.. It help to heal too.. But its not cheap.. I think one tube abt $18...

Baby
u very gungho can bring them go coffeeshop somemore. Btw u bring ur helper along? Was wondering if I put two infant seat at the back on the left n right should I seat with them in between or the helper ? Just in case the bbs need attention ...

Do u apply the avent balm everytime u change diaper ? Or red then apply ?

Singapoh
which month ur twins start to like know each other exists ? Now when I put them side by side they simply start hitting each other

Gan, Baby,

I went to hunt for Fitti and 1 NTUC staff told me that they only carry during promotion.

Either in newspaper or just go to the bb section to check.

Btw it's on promo now

Nancy,

My gal came home few days later. I put her at the other end of the cot. The next thing we know, my boy moved closer to her.

When put them together, they hit each other. They were just few days old. Now my gal always give kor kor facial massage. Haha..

singapoh,
so good u r giving up yr pump. i just adopted my pump back cos hv to stop bf-ing for these few days. PD said my girl's jaundice level still so high after 2 wks is cos of breastmilk. Wants me to stop bf-ing so the level will go down.
Haiz....and she put on 500g in 2wks while on 100% latch on! Damn upset now

Grumpus u can give ur gal ebm right? I mean the doc ok with giving her ebm and not asking u give fm right? 500g in 2 weeks is good! She wld put on at least 1kg when she is 1 mth old.

Baby find mamy poko good but prefer goon coz not as thick. I got this hAbit of chAnging diapers after every feed and of course if in between she poo i change too. Yes using the avert bottom Balm. Just started 2 d tube. Now robinson got sale 20% off can go stock up.

SingApoh I was at Ntuc few days ago but didn't see fitti. Will check again this weekend

Er any of u ur Bb will pull their own hair?? My gal was pulling her hair and crying just now.... Have to quicy carry her and pacify her

Gan,
u check yr girl's scalp whether hv cradle cap? My elder girl did pull her own hair at one time, we tot it was 'cute', later on found out cos she was itchy!

Gan,
My babies use mamy poko at night and nepia in the day. IT's soft and absorbent. $15 per pack of 60 pcs for S size. If you order 4 packs and above, they can deliver to your house.

Baby,
My babies poo today. It was loose greenish poo. My nanny said it's not too good. I think Similac is really not suitable for them and they don't like the taste too.
Wow, you bring your babies out so often? The only time when we brought both the babies out is to go for vaccination. We usually bring one baby out with the maid and leave the other baby at home. Can't imagine handling 2 crying babies outside!
Milk powder and diapers for 2 babies cost a bomb every month now! My expenses for 2 babies including nanny and maid fee is about 2.5k!
I can't believe that my BM supply increased after all the regular latching, massaging and pumping to clear the mastitis. I actually intend to stop breastfeeding but it seems like I have to stop slowly to prevent engorgement. But the milk keeps coming so I can only continue to feed.

Grumpus like Singapoh said after jaundice cleared can bf again. My gal is 4.3kg now at 5 weeks, the PD said I did a good job in beefing her up. When I hear that was like a big accomplishment, felt even better than when I got a promotion.

Bing nepia do delivery ? Ok will check out too. Our biggest expense is diapers and wet wipes!! I think I shld buy carton of wet wipes since I use so fast. 2nd expense is her clothes .... Can't stop buying when I m out.

Bing
Ya similac give my small girl greenish loose stools too..
Now change to enfa her poo is bk to creamy yellow.. But my girls will cry for milk earlier when on enfa.. Similac last longer cos thicker...

I brought them out several times lo... I also brought one out before... Easier with one.. Two can be a headache.. Esp when both cry..

Thanks singapoh & JJ for answering my question. Will monitor n hope not much side effects.

JJ, u put a lot of weight? Btw when will they start checking babies' weight? During detailed scan seems like they didn't check that.

mummies who are breastfeeding,
can i check if u still pump after ur baby latch on?

coz during daytime, my baby can latch on for about an hour but i dont pump after that, in between baby is always fussing, he naps very short while also, usually just enough time for me to grab quick breakfast/lunch, wash bottles, boil water. so really no time to pump.
my bm supple is very low now, not sure if becoz i don't pump after latch-on.

Ya dr Hendricks ask me to slow down my weight gain liao.. Though I didn't eat especially alot.
During detailed scan they won't measure weight cos not significant yet. Should be the nxt scan at ADC around 25wks then they will start monitor of their weights

So far they nvr test on the sweet sugar drink to check on sugar level for me lei? Singapoh or anyone else when is this test usually done

Syrah,

I didn't hv any side effect taking those pills. Tired I think because I was carrying heavy load in my tummy. Hehe

JJ,

I did mine at 20 weeks coz I hv family history of diabetes, over 35 and also glucose traced on the urine strip

Bing,

So glad to hear that u wanna continue bf. Jiayou! I still got to pump coz can't just stop like that. Later traffic jam inside. Haha

Singapoh,
I got no choice but to continue pumping but with reduced frequency. Also very scared of traffic jam inside after having mastitis and engorgement.
You really saved alot on your FM. I have to spend like almost 300 every month on FM now cos I don't have much BM.

Gan,
Oh forgot to tell you that there's a stamp on each nepia pack. You can collect 10 stamps to redeem for $10 ntuc voucher. can call 6226 2650 to order.
By the way, guardian is having a promo on drypers. You can buy one and get one free when you bring along the wrapper of any other brands of diapers. For $14.85, you get 2 packs of 60 S size diapers, it's really worth it.

Hi bing thanks for the info!

Mummies how do you train ur baby to sleep after night feed? My gal woke up fir milk at 330Am after feeding her, she is not sleeping but kicking away in her cot self entertaining. I m latching her now to make her sleep ... Ur babies are they wide awake too after night feeds ?

Hi JJ,
I think glucose test is done only when u hv a family history of diabetes or when our urine test shows high sugar level. Juz had mine done at 34wks, so watch ur diet as much as u can. Every chkup went smoothly until I reach my third trimester, didnt know that sudden cravings for sweet stuff cld trigger my sugar level...

Leapgal,

Actually if yr body can't break down the sugar anymore, eating less sugary food also won't help much.

The GD diet is not only controlling sugar intake, it also control the carbohydrates. Too little carbo is also bad for bb's growth so must still eat in certain amount and after eating need to burn it off or sugar level will hit high.

Besides that got to hv a well balance diet and avoid all fatty food (deep fried, coconut food, durian, avocado, limited root vegetable, etc)

I followed the strict diet for 4 months :s

Gan..ur gal will play on her own? Mine will cry leh..last night 2 to 4am dun want slp. In the end we let her slp in the rocker.

Pandawife yes last night she was kicking, making noise coz of her stuffy nose but did 't cry. But she doesn't sleep I also can't sleep .

My two girls take turn to fuss.. Small girl doesnt want to sleep after last feed.. Keep crying.. Carry and pacifier doesnt work.. So i massage her tummy.. She lets out alot of gas.. Thk she has wind so not comfy.. Aft crying for 2hrs.. She finally sleep..
Big girl fuss early morning same as small girl... My hb and i so shack... Really tired... Deprieve of sleep

Panda, Gg to join u in panda club..

singapoh
my bb suck actively abt 30mins out of the 1hr, i hv to keep waking them up.
the minute my baby wakes up, he must have milk, nthg else will stop his crying. so most of the time if it is not time for full feed, i have no choice but to latch him on to stop him crying.
i very worried this is a bad habit leh. am i the only one experiencing this?

bing, thanks for the tip. i went guardian n bought 6 packs of the small sized drypers. :p hee..wanna buy medium too..but no more stock at the outlet i went to.

singapoh, i went to two ntuc outlets n cannot find fitti in small size. they only carry from medium onwards.. where do u normally buy from?

baby,
welcome to panda club!
i m exhausted too... last night depended on my mum n mil to feed to bbs...i only got up to pump and help them make the FM... my hb is sick again.. 2nd time since the bbs came home.

this morning went for my gynae check up, dr paul says i slim down very fast..hehe.. told him the credit goes to the 3 precious. going to start my post natal massage at 3pm.. the massage lady will also bath n massage the babies..hopefully after tht they will sleep better at night.

nancy..ur boys dont really fight right? they just like wave their hands and will accidently "hit" each other? my little girl is like tht..full of "Action"..put her beside her brothers, they will get "whack" by her..hahaha...but the two boys very cool de..dun seem to be bothered by her at all.

those of you who already have ur menses after delivery, how long does ur menses last? for me, the heavy flow lasted abt 5 days but the light stain has been going on for 1-2wks.. is there sthg wrong?

Pandawife yes I checked bishan and Toa payoh Ntuc only medium size fitti. I just bot m size coz felt abit sianz after shopping in 2 Ntuc go home empty handed. Hehe
Is drypers good to use?

Happyhippo my gal always wake up crying for milk!! Sometimes make me kancheong coz I alone, need to heat up ebm do have to bear with her crying while I prepare the milk

How do u know if Bb is constipated ? My colicky boy hasn't poo in 36hrs. Previously nice poo every day. Sigh... He drinks n cry while feeding for days already. Suck a few times then cry for no reason then pacify him then he sucks again n cry. Take such a long time to finish the milk... Really dun know what to do

Hi, just happen to come to this thread and read nancy post.. nancy, my girl was the same when born. u may check her teat, maybe the hole too small. it happened to my girl.

nancy, i also hav this problem w my eldest boy. cry n suck milk...but it doesnt happen during every feed... i m still trying to figure out what's wrong..... i suspect maybe the tummy wind making him uncomfortable...

joline, we just changed the teat from nb to 1mth+.... hmmm.... but since it doesnt happen for every feed... i thought it might not b teat problem ...

gan..drypers ok lah... if u not fussy about it being sticker kind of stick ons..not like pampers kind of velcro.... i use it during the day .. night time use either pampers/mamy poko.

with the current promo, its very cheap.. $7+ for 64 pieces.

Pandawife and Nancy I also have this crying and drinking milk problem lately ... Suspect is tummy wind and happens only at night. My gal face is always like a tomato when I burp her and when she farts... Like use alot of strength

Gan, yes yes! mine too.. whole face turn red and like squeezing with all the might.

i ask PD about the red face n squeezing b4..he says its the tummy discomfort from wind. bottled fed bbs very commonly hv this problem.

just now my massage lady says my eldest boy tummy discomfort from pressing on his calves leh. she ask me to massage his calves and also tummy everyday.