IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

panda, hang in there! right now, I leverage my CL whilst she is still here and I try to get some sleep at night. I don't bf at night and sometimes even too lazy to pump. I know I should but when bbs go to sleep right after feed, I always stay awake cuz scared they throw up milk (happened a couple of times before). So end up I fall asleep at odd hours and for 2 hrs here and there.

my boy also want ppl to carry. The minute we put him in the cot, he cries. The minute we carry him in our arms, he sleeps. I am so tempted to use pacifier but for now still tahan lah.

btw, what is the name of the Fisher Price rocker that you are using? will be asking my friends to buy for me, need to give them the name. Thanks!

Just faith
My girls also will split out milk after feeding.. Got to always go chk on them.. Change their top several times..
So i try to burp them longer and carry them in sit up position longer before putting them in the cot..

The fisher price rocker is call Newborn to Toddler Rocker.
Its v useful.. Can put them in there after feeding cos its 45 degree can help to prevent split milk and my girls usually feel more at ease in there than the cot..

Baby, you blur Liao. It's ok.
. Anyway, brought my gal to PD yesterday. PD said my gal's rashes minor. No need to change milk powder. If prescribe steroid, will think baby's skin. So I leave it as that.

Oh, she weighs 4.16kg with blanket n clothings on. So doc estimated her weight around 4kg. She's 20 days old.

Anyone still has the Lucrin needles with you to give away? I am going for 3rd and final cycle this friday and really would like to grab the BB luck from you and BFP this round..It is said the needles will bring good luck..

Any kind mummy please contact me at 98395865. I can pick up from you..Thank you in advance and all the best to you.

Working wife,

Yr CL should be taking care of yr babies. U get some zzz since u are not bf at night. Do u intend to stop bf soon? Coz if u dun pump/ latch at night, it will affect yr supply

singapoh,

i a bit scared...
dun know what to expect from natural birth n c-sect.
both sounds painful...

siao liao, think i will scream like hell...

Pandawife, hang in there! Dont know how to advise you but hope things will work out for you slowly.

Rostrum, hope your visit with dr loh is ok.

Hazel, **wave**
Hope everything is good for u

Update me ya!

JJ, so you bot the medela freestyle too? Where did you buy it and hw $ huh?

Btw you saying that bb gal weight is lower than average and scheduled for scan the following week. Is it the growth scan you did? What does the scan includes?

Hi Singapoh... Yah, now I'm trying to at least pump in the night. Currently I pump after every feed, but don't seem to get much, is it becos bb already empty the breast? And I still haven't felt the full breast kinda feeling like its full of milk. I will also pump at night when I don't bf. Is that the right way? I wish to bf as long as I can... Just headache how to increase supply.

Imp22 - I got a fren to buy for me direct from USA, haven't gotten the total billing but its much cheaper compared to buying from Spore.

Think its the normal scan when they notice cos growth scan only start in my 30th week (another 4more weeks) just that they highlighted on her smaller size

Hi Rose,
I'm likely to deliver next week too, pending some blood test results due to high BP. Dr Loh felt it is safer to deliver bb earlier rather than wait till edd.
My thigh pain is torturing me. Can't imagine labour pain sia.
I hv no iphone and unlikely to use internet so often till maybe after confinement, as bedrest seem to ease the thigh pain more.
Have a smooth delivery!! Maybe we will deliver on same day. Lol.

Working wife,

Sure no milk after bb latch on but by pumping after latching, u are telling yr body that u need more milk.

Pump and/or latch every 3 hours around the clock. I also dun get full breast unless I miss many hours.

bbhopeful,
so dr loh wil induce u? got fix date liao? wats ur bb weight?
u take gd care hor. c u aft ur confinement.
n wishing u n ur family a happy chinese new year!

baby
did u go back to yy yip for jabs? u opt for 5in1 or 6in1? i'm going for 6in1 but not with yy yip.

i deciding if shd do 6in1 before chinese new year or after cny. was thinkg good to be before cny coz during cny will come into contact with alot of pple. but then scared kena fever and will be cranky over cny. anyone know if there is anythg we can do to prep baby to reduce chance of fever?

Anyone giving similac fm to yr bbs here?
I switch bk frm nan1 to similac yday.. Today both bbs stools are different.. More watery..

Happy
I brought my girls to take the 2nd hep b injection.. I didnt know abt 5in1 and 6in1 that time.. Cos dr yip told us to go bk for the hep b jap and also go for eye check.. Now then i know if u aldy took 2nd hep b jap.. Next jap will be 5in1 at 3mths..

U gg to which pd to take jap? So u wont be gg bk to yy yip?
I realise his charges is on the low side.. $35 for consultation... I went to neighbour pd.. Consult alone aldy cost $45-$60..

I also intending to let my bbs take rotavirus and premouccal japs...

baby
oh yy yip is cheaper? ya the bishan pd (dr oh meng choo) i go to charges $40+.. cant rembr the exact amt. hmm.... now i hv 2nd thots abt going bishan pd.
so did yy yip do the 1mth assessment for ur babies? was he detailed eg tell u which percentile babies' growth falls into?

Happyhippo what does the PD check for 1 mth assessment. Today brought my gal to see kkh PD for jaundice, I asked if 6 in 1 will have fever, he said some babies will have. He also mention after the injection use a Cloth with ice and apply to the injected area to reduce swelling. My gal will be having her injection right after cny.

Thks grumpus.Ive finally decided to get a Medela Swing cuz heard of many gd reviews on Medela pdts. Maybe when my milk supply is gd then wl invest on e Freestyle bt its really not tat cheap to buy e local set leh...

Baby Pandawife which enflac u fed ur babies with? My small tin of s26 left abt 1/3 so need to buy a new fm as backup if not enuff bm for baby. I asked the PD which fm he wld recommend today. He said he doesn't recommend fm at all. =s

gan
my pd checked my bb's eyes, put him on his tummy but i cant rembr what it was for. overall body examination.. actually it was all quite fast and i also cant rembr details coz pd also didnt really explain wat she is chking.
it was only after the appt, i looked thru the health bk and noticed there are charts showing the percentile.

how do u count 2mths for the 6in1 jab. is it the birthdate or by 8 wks from birthdate?

Happy
Ya i read abt dr oh meng choo at bishan... I went to two different pds so far.. One at kidsclinic rivervale mall.. Dr allyson tan.. She is quite good but the waiting time is crazy there.. I walk in yday i was told to wait at least 4hrs. I then went to kidslink at compassvale dr vanessa tan... She is also quite good.. V approachable and nice to talk to.. We talk quite abit so consult alone cost us $60...
Im also surprise how come yy yip consult only $35... He didnt tell us abt percentile... He only chk bbs lungs.. Tummy.. Vaginal.. And he will hold bbs hands and pull them up to check whether their muccels is strong not.. Thats all.. I dont personally quite like him cos he dont seems v appraochable and will only share info when u ask him.. But he is a high risk pd that specialise in high risk and also premature bbs.. So i presume he is more exp than other normal pds...

Gan
I bought the enfalac A+... i ask two pds so far and they also say no recommendation for fm.. And say all fm is the same.. Only slight difference in some additions.. Pd say similac is the most popular among parents and gives bb soft stools.. Nestle nan and s26 is the longest in the mkt and done the most research.. Enfa is also the next popular one but lag far behind similac..

How come u wana chg fm? S26 no good?
So far i have given similac, enfa, nan1 to my two girls.. Change so many fm within a mth.. Hee.. Dont know can just switch fm or need to do it gradually...

Baby coz heard from gfs s26 more heaty compared to other fm. I can't tell if heaty coz bb like 90% on bm, so the poo usually yellowish soft with curds. But seems like most of u let Bb take enfalac so I guess it is better?
Btw my period came! Back to days when I see red monthly. How is origins massage? Worth the $?

Gan, my son has been on S26 since birth...now he's on total FM....drinking stage 2 and taking solids...No constipation...err...sometimes, he poo 2-3 times a day, otherwise, once every day...

Hi mommies, this is pink-destiny...dunno if you still remember me.
Hi old frens like panda and grumpus!
Grumpus - heartiest congrats on your birth!

I just wanna check if this is true - that the infant need not be fed if we have no breast milk supply upon delivery?
Wouldn't he go hungry?

Grumpus and Singapoh now I pump bm into the medela bottles and now I have excess bm, can I put the bottle in freezer or must be in milk bags before putting in freezer? Normally I put in fridge but now I have 1.5 bottle of bm in fridge so thinking of putting the new bottle of bm who I just pump into freezer. Can I check when I want to use the frozen bm, can I defroze the bottle of bm in fridge coz the bottle has 150ml but my gal takes 100ml normally so if I put in warmer the frozen bm , I can't put the extra 50m back to fridge for subsequent feeds right?
Which brand of milk bags do u recommend ? Where can i buy? Thks!!

Soon to be thanks so s26 not really heaty like what pple say lah....

Gan, I think the brand of FM is really subjective, depending on individual baby.

We also heard S26 is v heaty prior to the arrival of my son. But we decided to just give it a try....so far so good..we are happy with it...8)

Pink D!!!
we missed u...hehehe
newborns have enough store for about 3 days and during these 3 days our breast will be producing colostrum which is 'liquid gold' and should be fed to them. Theoretically, they do not need to be fed anything else (formula, water, glucose etc) during these 3 days.
However, there are exceptions like if bb is very jaundiced or is smaller in weight then we may need to supplement with some FM. If bb is not peeing and pooing enough then unfortunately we will have to supplement with some FM.
For my girl, her weight is on the low side. She only had enough store to last her 2 days (after that she was not peeing enough), so for day 3 and part of day 4 I had to supplement with some FM until my milk supply kicked in.

grumpus! Miss you too!
I have been a faithful silent reader though hee...trying to learn as much as possible! :p

I am now in my 32nd week...how time flies ya and soon I will be popping soon!
hence I gotta do crash course asap :p

Ok, looks like BF is really not easy...I hope I can cope with it!

Gan,
FM is very very subjective. My elder girl gets constipated on Nan and Enfa. So far only Mamil makes her not so constipated.

I used to keep my BM in the fridge for 24hrs. If not used within 24hrs, I will transfer to milkbag and store in the freezer, so i feed my girl fresh EBM at all times. Dun think it's advisable to store in the freezer using the medela bottles, otherwise u will need a lot of bottle! Not sure if they're freezer safe too.
I defrost frozen BM in the fridge (right at the back) and dispense and warm up watever is needed when time for feed. The defrosted BM should be used within 24hrs.

There are many economical brands of milkbags out there. Boots, Lansinoh, Blue Egg, Nanny Milkbags etc etc. Can get online. Check out the bulk purchase threads on this forum.
If u need them urgently, First Years milkbags can be bought from Kiddy Palace, Robinsons etc. But are very ex!!

Leapgal,
I'm a medela fan too
The swing is a good choice too. i used the swing for my elder girl and bf her for one yr just through pumping.

I'm also thinking how to make my fridge into a good organised compartments for storing of EBM.

Gan - I purchased both Lansinoh & Medela milk bag, either online / direct from USA. Moving fwd will bulk purchase from online (see my supply 1st). Makes more sense to store in milk bags then bottles cos save space

Gers - might be a silly qus, so that means the freezer portion of the fridge store only the milk .. no other foods can be stored there la ... etc ice, frozen foods, ice cream ?

Gan, JJ,
One tip is to freeze the milkbags lying flat. Saves much more space that way cos they can be stacked on top of each other.

JJ,
u can still store other foods there lah. wat i did was reserve one shelf for EBM and the other shelf is for frozen food. For frozen food I always double bag them, meaning the food itself is in one plastic bag then that bag in another ziplock bag.
For EBM, the same. EBM in the milkbag then double bagged in a ziplock bag. Or u could invest in those big lock and lock containers to store the milkbags.
When u freeze flat, u can put ALOT of EBM on that one shelf.
it's a pity i didn't take a photo of my freezer last time.

Grumpus thanks! But dun think I can make a trip to Robinson n buy, hubby working late too.... Maybe tonite I lazy fun pump in the wee hrs or stretch longer so that my Bb will finish the ebm. Will take note of storage tips in freezer.

JJ there r also other food stuff in the fridge where i put my ebm leh. But I put at top shelf at the back with vits etc.
Initially when my CL was here, freak me out when I notched she leave the raw food uncovered in the fridge, though differrent levels from the ebm. So I asked her to cover the raw food before putting n fridge

Gan,

Always pack yr ebm enough for 1 feed in a bottle/milk bag before u freeze it.

I use Lasinoh milk bag, bought from bp. I thaw the milk in the fridge overnight. Use warm water to heat up. U can also put the frozen bag under running water then warm up if u hv forgotten to take out from the freezer.

Wow ! Thanks Grumpus, u can build up yr supply now & take photo again .. haha ...
I think i will take the idea of putting all in a big lock lock ... cos my mum will be staying with us to look after the bb's .. I've seen her fridge (Eeks) so hard to change her habit esp if she want to do marketing & buy food store in the fridge.

Luckily that time I upgrade my fridge now inside bigger space

United square? Ok will ask hubby check out if possible. Dun want my parents climb up 5 levels too tiring for them.

Singapoh the ladinoh milkbag but from bulk purchase too?

Gan
Yr period is bk? Full period or staining?
Strangely how come so many here got their period so soon even on bf.. Gan, panda, happy... Me too thou i aldy stop bf but mine not sure whether its period not cos only staining..

I put my milk bag in a big Tupperware in the freezer then transfer to large ziplock bag before transporting to my MIL's in a thermal bag and ice.