IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

hi humble

My MS like on and off... and weather dependent. Tends to be bad when the day is hot!! At this stage, i think my stomach still cannot digest well... and hor, ever since pregnant, the food i like has a dramatic change. And they change so often!! haha... sometimes got to comfort myself that i am trying to satisfy 3 pups, ie 3 different types of appetite!

Hopes
No prob. Be glad to assist. Let u know my result next week. Oh yes, gave u wrong email add, u can write to him on hotmail.com. The front user id is the same , only change to hotmail.com

Humble
Take yr time, u have my hp number rite. For faster reply, sms me loh. I will only access net later afternoon.

Good luck

Joy,

I think my pregnancy stage is about the same time as you. I also feel down because of the so called 'MS' feeling. Keep complaining to hubby and mother

not sure if mine is MS but i feel the urge to vomit. keep eating sweet sour things. I am eating orange peel and gan2 lan3. help at times.....mine is not that bad that i will throw up everything. i try to 'hold it as long as possible'.

my stomach also have some sort of 'cranky' feeling. cant tell if its hunger, cramp or 'vomit' feeling...hiaks..

my appetite is also poor. Now when i think of food i am fearful. Cos i never know if i can 'like' what i see on the plate.

i guess we have to tide through this period no matter how! Luckily i work freelance, not everyday, if not, working is really a torture..

i have trouble falling asleep too. cos of uncomfy feeling at stomach, plus worries at the back of my mind. I also wake up in the middle of night to pee..

maybe u want to try aromatherapy ? But better check on the essential oils u can use..

~same boat

rainbow,

I have discharge every now and then too..maybe thats the wet feeling u experiencing

Koala
Thanks for the link, had went to the website earlier. Just want to know any success case under him. Heard lot of bout him.

chloe, ya loh true, the food preference keep changing every now and then, i liked sandwiches at first then my mil and hb will buy back different types of sandwishes, once i see them i switched off to porridge, then mil started cooking that everyday so again my taste bud changed, i started eating fruits only....it goes on and on........now i like chicken rice and mee pok think will change soon haha...

stumbled by, looks like my ms also started like yours, hope u dont get as bad as me.

rainbow,
congrats! welcome to mtb's thread! I also had backache early but did not have the discharge until week 8.

gals,
I think i have flu for the past few days, today its really bad, headache, constant sneezing and body pain. My temperature is 37.2, do u think i m running a fever, should i see the GP? Do u gals take panadol or the Gp medicine if you have fever? Please advice?

thanks for all yr replies...really appreciate it...m thankful to be able to pour out to u gals...

this is my 1st icsi with dr foong...
m glad tt i m preg, tried for 4 long yrs...just tt being so sick can be quite demoralised... n the fact is tt i m worried too when i cant hold my fluid...i had a miscarriage b4, 1st preg also like wise..throwing up like a merlion...n i cant hold any fluid... plus this time round, i worried tt the med/vit is not absorbed by the body. has anyone took the drug tt doc prescribe for anti-vomit...i m still indecisive whether to take it, dun noe got side effect...

Chloe,

i know dr foong is a gd dr...both me n DH like him alot. btw, prob the tiredness due to lack of sleep n the vomiting thru the nose took away the joy of being preg...plus DH away for 5weeks...really a challenge for me...

Humble/Chloe
Of course appetiate differs as u had 3 little cuties inside fighting for their foods. Two of u must take good care of yourself.

Humble - If fever, can take panadol. According to my doc, panadol is perfectly fine and can cure pain and fever too. After ET and ER, I got severe pain on lower stomach, and took 2 panadol. It helps to reduce my pain but not totally. But still need dripping at that time.

Stumbled
Had u went for yr scan? Confirm singleton? How many weeks are u in? Guess MS is so terrible that all MTB had to go thru. But strange leh, some ppl very lucky don't have MS at all. My ex colleague preggy for 6 months and she don't even know as menses irregular. No MS at all, stomach also no big. Baby around 2kg only. When she realise she preggy, she only got 3 mths to go. She still go clubbing and drink and next two days went for check up and realise she is preggy. She had a shock of her life. Coz no symptons at all. Imagine 6mths bb inside her stomach and she can't feel anything. Just take good care of yrsf. I understand that for 1st Trimester better don't take too much nourishment like dang gui soup, herbal soup, black chicken, bak kut teh, etc.. Is it true?

hi humble

Please check with ur dr before taking any medication, which includes panadol. i read that some panadol contains muscle relaxant and preggies cannot take them! Please hor, check with dr before u start swallowing any pills. Take care!

joy, do take good care of urself, i know it's kind of tough to cope with this on ur own when ur hubby's away. Are u staying with ur parents or ILs?? Better to have someone look after u during ur hubby's absence. If u feel bored, can look for us at this forum.

Gals, had my fortnight review with dr today. Babies are fine, about 8 cm at week 14. Dr took a long time to measure one of the babies' cos he/she was too active, while the rest were all in sleeping position. aiyoh, the same baby also gave us the same prob during NT scan... Think i will have a hard time chasing after him/her next time, looks like he/she is not the obedient type...

Forgot to mention... humble and verona, dr checked my cervix today to see if there is any dilation. Cervix is closed, so dr has no intention to stitch up my cervix yet. But i need to continue with progesterone jab *pain pain*. Starting calcium and iron tablets today.

hi chloe, so do u still hv backache? I hope my backache can go away soon. Also tummy is very big even though now is only 5 - 6 weeks. Tummy very hard and stretched. Already can't wear most of my working attire. Need to start changing wardrobe.

Stumbled by - do u hv same feeling cos i am one week behind u.

BTW, when will the dr start to scan us after we tested? I am getting panariod and wanted for the dr to take a look, but the nurse keep telling me it's too early and dr won't be able to see anything. She gave me appt for next week as she said this week is very full.

I am currently on progestron jab 'Proluton' every three days. In addition, hv to insert a soft gel capsule 3 times a day called Utrogestan. Any of u on these medication?

hi rainbow7

Yes, me still having backaches, and pain below the tummy. Hope u are coping well.
i started my scan at week 6... Me taking the injection twice a week.

chloe,
Went to see GP last night, really cannot tahan liao, he gave me cough mixture and running nose medicine, he asked me to take normal panadol for fever, i asked him twice whether will this have any effect, he said, normal panadol is proved safe during pregnancy, so i took 2 panadols and the cought & running nose medicine, was able to sleep well last night, the cough seem to have subsided but the sneezing still there. Dont know whether good or bad la....but i just cant tahan the fevr anymore. Thanks so much for your advice. Need to ask gynae during the next visit what to do when have fever.

oh so cute your little activie one! haha...think u r gonna be very busy, better rest now as much as u want ok? so now u r in your second trimester? good luck!

qoo,
thanks for the info, thats what the GP said, he said can only take the normal panadol and nothing else for fever.

wow this thread is getting very lively with so many newcomers.

humble,
if u still feel unsure, panadol is perfectly ok. Doc Loh told me many times that if I'm ferverish, I can take panadol. I also fell very sick in my first trimester, had very very bad flu but I only dare to take the panadol and let my body recover on its own cos scare too much medicine may be bad for bb.

Just to share a little experience of my own... I also had very bad appetite in my first and second tri, it's only after I pass my 23 weeks that my appetite starts to pick up. I only put on 2.6kg up till my 24th week. So I believe for mummies who don't hv good appetite now, u will start to eat more later

My bb is also very active, she keeps kicking me everyday and it's a joy to see my stomach 'move' and 'popping' when she moves inside me

chloe/rainbow7,
If u know how to do pelvic exercise, it helps to reduce backache... it goes like this...
Just lean urself against a wall, bend ur knees a little. U will feel a small space between ur lower back and the wall. Move ur lower back towards the wall till u fill up the gap. Remember to move only ur lower back (pelvic) and repeat 10 times.
I learnt this in my antenatal class

hi humble

Glad that u are better now. i hope i din frighten u in my previous posting... maybe i too kam cheong. Do check with ur gynae when u see him next time, cos i remember some panadols got muscle relaxant which we cannot take. If ur dr said his panadol is pure panadol, i guess should be ok.
Do drink more water, it helps to bring down the fever.

blue_rabbit, thanks for sharing with us the pelvic exercise. heehee... got free lesson from u.

hi gals, hv been mia from tis thread for a while.

Din sleep well yesterday nite, mayb having Oscars scan @9am at TMC. 1st, i was late. Then instead of gg to my gynae's clinic on 3rd flr, i went straight to 4th flr where the scanning is done. But was told need to get a form from clinic b4 gg to4th flr. *sigh*

so after getting a form from clinic, went back to 4th flr again. Was told to drink water for the scan. While in the room, sonographer mentioned tt bb was very active & then rite after she said tt, bb din move!!! BB must be petty as from then on, difficult to measure the neck. So was told to hv my blood test 1st b4 continue with the scan.

After blood test, went back for 2nd scan & this time, BB's position still no gd. 10mins later, BB seems to be tired of us looking at him/her, so he/she turned downwards!!! *argh* So sonographer asked if i had my b'fast & i said "no". So had b'fast at delifrance & pee b4 gg back for 3rd scan.

Went back for 3rd scan at 11am & both myself & sonographer kept quiet initially (afraid of saying wrong things... haha). While showing me the monitor, BB was stretching himself/herself & this is the gd time to get the measurement *BINGO*. Finally, after spending 2hrs+, we got the measurement!!! Will need to wait for the blood test results & clinic to call me tmr morning.

According to a nurse, it's common for BBs not to cooperate so dun worry too much if anyone here hving the Oscars/NT test later.... BTW, the sonographer managed to scan the bb's gender & it's most likely a girl.... :p

Dear Rae

Thanks for sharing ur great experience with us. Appreciate it very much.

And congrats to have a little princess soon.

Hope can "upgrade" myself to this thread soon.

Best Regards
Koala

qoo_gal

yes, confirm singleton. i think mine is 7 weeks today..

rainbow,

i don have backache. just MS..seems to be getting worst. My tummy is normal. can still wear old clothes...

humble,

yalor..i hope it doesnt get worst

did your complexion go for nosedive ? my face is blemish prone but not that bad. now its really red and flaring..OILY and pimply...RED and DRY...sigh...

hi stumbled_by, i hope ur MS will go away soon. So far, my nose area tends to be more dry & it's flaking. Rest of face slightly ok only..... we can't use any medicated pdts for now cos preggie. u may want to check with ur gynae on the pdts tt's suitable for preggie women...
very fast hor, 7weeks already....

qoo,

i have no appetite now. so wun even think of taking herbal soups. in fact, now the sight and smell of food makes me........

Rae,

u mean u refrain from using all your usual skin care products ?i thot only Retino or vit A related cant use..

hi stumbled by

My skin is ok so far. Are u taking enough fluids? Maybe can try to take more water and see if it helps. i think it is quite normal cos dun forget, our body is undergoing lots and lots of hormonal changes.

I was away for two days and am still down with flu.

blue rabbit,
I took two normal panadol, two days ago and the fever went away for a day only its back again, the cough and running nose medicine i took really no use la, I m still sick, slight fever and coughing and sneezing badly, just took 2 more panadols but very scared to take anymore. Its almost more than two weeks, how long were u sick during your first tri?

chloe, no la you din scare me, its good to caution what! I really couldnt tahan thats why i took the medications but end I m stil sick so i may not continue to take the medicine. Ya you are rite i have not been drinkin enough water thats why.

Rae, so fast can guess the gender ah? so good!

hi stumbled_by, i heard whitening pdts oso cannot be used...
& i oso kena slight dandruff
*sigh* mil noticed it 1st. On thurs i was having my hair cut, hairstylist said so too. But he said it's norm for preggie women to hv all these cos hormone changing. Before her pregnancy, my ex-coll had skin prob (acne etc) so she will buy those pdts recomm by friends to use. After she's preggies, her gynae advised her to stop using it cos those pdts r too strong for preggie women & no gd for bb. Tink for bb's, better dun use..... better be safe...

hi humble, for preggie women, it will take a while to recover as the med prescribed by doc is not very strong. I had a sec sch preggie friend who sick for almost 2weeks before she recovered... *sigh* do take care & rest well....
ya, tink some MTBs oso mentioned they r able to see bb's gender during NT scan....

Stumbled
7 weeks so fast. When is yr next scan ? Yup, heard lot of preggie woman hate the smell of food. Can't even step into the foodcourt/market.., they just feel so 'yucks'.. Don't worry this is normal MS..

Chloe/STumbled/Rae/Humble
When did u gals have yr first MS? In which week, 5 week or etc?

Humble
Hope you are better now. Did doc say anything? Is it normal to fall sick during 1st trim? Take good care leh of yrsf and little humbles..

Blue Rabiit - thks for sharing on the pelvic exercise. I am rather lazy. Walk very little, and after every meal, will just lie down. Going to be a piggy already.

Had cramps again on thur midnight and called gynae. The cramps is like pre menstrual cramp and i was quite worried. He told me to put in another progesterone insert and take 2 panadol if the pain is real bad. He also mentioned panadol is safe thru out pregnancy. Went to see him the next morning and showed him the pain near groin area. He said that is ok as the ligament is trying to expand. However, still hv not pass the next critical stage yet which is to hear the bb heartbeat. Will hv to see him again next week. When can we start hearing bb heartbeat????

I was spotting since yesterday and this morning when i went to the toilet had dark brown blood gushing out, but it stopped immediately. I feel so paranoid and panicky now. I m also not having any Ms since yesterday, I m soooooooo worried if everything is ok.

will be going to kkh 24 hours later but scared to death now.

Prayng hard like never before!!!!

Hi Humble,
Was just reading the thread. Maybe you should call your gynae now to let him know about the bleeding? He might be able to advise you instead of waiting until tomorrow.

Just a question to anyone...I was looking at the table listing all the Mummies-to-be. Regarding the column on b-HCG levels, how do you calculated Day17? Is it calculated from the date of ER or ET? I'm a little confused 'cos there's a 2-3 day gap betwn ER and ET.

humble,
Oh dear, how's the result, is everything ok? Be very careful now as spotting in pregnancy is not a good sign.
I was sick for 2-3 wks in my 1st tri before I recovered. Horrible experience... nvr felt so sick before.

stumble_by,
It's common for breakout during pregnancy. It's cause by hormones. My SIL who's hvg a boy hv breakout too.. For me my skin becomes better than pre-pregnancy and everyone says that I look very radiant. Maybe becos I'm hvg a gal and hv more female hoemones lor

humble,

be careful! i still have spotting now and then but its very very light brown. will have to chk with gynea tomorrow too..

pregnancy really a lot of worries...

blue_rabbit,

is my condition okay ? Very very light brown ? just occasional ? hmm...that means mine may be a boy ?? anyway...doesnt matter... ;)

qoo,

first scan at almost week 6. yalor...now i cant stand the smell of food, even when my mum is cooking. cant see food too! not even from magazine...

Rae,

Just whitening products ? i dont have pigmentation issues so i don use whitening products..

hi stumbled_by, i mean incl whitening pdts. u r lucky u dun hv pigmentation.... i hv some freckles so was using whitening & AHA pdts b4 so hv to stop now...
nw tinking of wat pdts to use...

hi qoo

i had my MS somewhere in week 6. 10th week is the peak, then seems to get better, but always like on and off type. i was still enjoying myself when tested positive in week 4.

rainbow, i saw one of my baby's heartbeat at week 6, the rest at week 7. It varies in individual, some may not see at week 6, but in week 7 or 8, should be able to see already.

humble, how's everything? Did u consult ur gynae? so worried for u as u mentioned the discharge was like gushing out... Do update us soon.

hi choco_latte, i started counting from ER, as this should be treated as Day 0 ie. ovulation day. DPO1 is the next day after ovulation.

stumbled_by, oh dear, better take good care of urself, u working today? Should take leave and rest at home... Brown discharge is not as bad as red. If red, esp a lot, cannot wait liao, must go see dr immediately. If brown and not a lot, the blood tends to be old blood, and it could be coming from the cervix. i had brown spotting when i was in first trimester. Rested a few days on bed, and turned out to be ok. Another thing, dun exert too much force on ur tummy, eg. when passing motion, sometimes can also cos bleeding. i understand from my dr that during first pregnancy, our body is not used to the sudden change in hormones. So the cervix tends to bleed. Watever it is, better check with ur dr tomm. Take care.

welcome to the thread choco_latte!

Thanks blue rabbit, stumbled by and chloe. I went to the 24 hours kkh the doc didnt say much, she said its ok now, but i should come down immediately if there's anymore bleeding.

I m also having mild pinching kinda pain at the sides and inside my V, is this normal? I will be seeing my gynae on wednesday, so trying to have more bed rest and staying calm now.

Take care all!

Hi Humble,
Good that everything is better. As for your pinching feeling, I also had a similar ache/pulling feeling at my sides a few inches near my hip bone, esp when i turned from side to side lying down. Was worried but doc said not to worry...if it's happening at the sides, it's most like likely just ligaments stretching to accomm the expanding uterus (which is still quite small and is in the centre). Just need to monitor if you feel any abdominal pain/ache quite often a day and lasts for a few days. Mine occurred sometime in my Week 7 or 8 and only happened a few times. After that, no more pulling. Hope this helps... If you are worried, just mention it to your doc during your next appmt to clear your doubts.

Chloe,
Thanks for your explanation!

Humble,
happened to read about your spotting. Glad that it's not of any serious issue. Take good care and rest well

All mummies to be, I been promoted to this thread. Hooray

Humble
I was reading bout yr spotting, luckily not serious. Take good care leh.

Humble,
pls stay clam ok..i read some books sometimes preggie will have spotting but nt heavy..esp u have triplets n u muz realli rest well

take good care my dear buddy

Thank u so much for the great support and kind words, I feel so pampered by all your concerns and advice. Thanks you so much!

i m back to normal again i guess, my ms came back again and no more bleeding (tho there was some staining until yesterday). I think my ms is triggered by milk & milk products and soya products gosh, my bones are so week now that i can feel the pain. I have also lost about 4 kg since last month.

Hope all of u are doing great!

qoo,
welcome to the mtbs thread!

hi humble

Glad to know that u are back to normal.
Are u on calcium tablets? u should check with dr whether u can starting taking them. i also got backaches... very pain... like u lor, my lower abdomen and vagina also pain... sit too long also pain, worse if i try to stand up after sitting for a while... haha... i feel that my lower body seems to be running away from my upper body.

stumbled_by, seen ur dr already? Is everything ok?

qoo

your m'sia doctor is really marvellous! congrats..

chloe,

doctor said some slight staining is okay. Guess for them, having 'seen the world', he cant read into every symptom that 'detailed' like us

humble

so glad u are okay! wow.......4KG is a lot, but i know, MS is really a chore to go thru. Although my MS may not be as bad as yours, i cant identify which food cause me to throw up. but i know in the evening, i have the 'puke urge' n i try to control 'as much as possible'.....

Maybe u want to eat spinach and green veg which are high in calcium. Ikan billis too altho they can be quite salty..

Thanks chloe and stumbled by.

chloe,
I m not on any calcium tablet, Oh u have the pain too is it? oK that means it should be normal, For me i m getting skinnier and skinner (I m already a very small size person). See what doc says! U take care ok...when are u scanning to know the gender...really hope we get a mixture of boy & girl.

Stumbled by,
my ms started in week 5 and then got worst in week 7 until now. Ya thats what i m doing eating ikan billis and geen vege. Really hope this ms will go off soon and i can enjoy all my favourite food.

so how is your little one doing? Have u told your family members yet?

humble,

good that u can eat ikan and green veg. sometimes when i see green veg i cant eat too. esp when it looks too healthy ;p

My little one is okay. Saw the heartbeat yesterday
But one funny thing, yesterday the size is shorter than 2 weeks ago(week 6). was it bcos gynea din really measure that accurately or because when its too small u cant read too much into the size ?

only my immediately family and in laws know. Four of my frens know it, due to my 'choice of words' (accidentally). Do not plan to let frens know so early but ....once said cant take back ;p