IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Gan,

Dun keep thinking abt it. Already drank and nothing u can do abt it. It's normal for bf bb to poo very often and poo is "lan"

My gal and big son took abt 3 weeks to clear their jaundice. Are u avoiding Chinese herbs and limit Ginger?

Gan,
hmmmmm i'm not sure on the levels of jaundice but is yr gals jaundice considered high? has it gone down at all or still as high as before.
i've always read that breastmilk jaundice is never a reason to stop giving breastmilk. As long as she's peeing and pooing enough, the jaundice will clear up on it's own. it's not harmful except maybe the frequent BT for the bb lah...actually why need BT to check jaundice level? i remember my gal was always checked with this forehead scanner thingy, no need BT leh...

i've been to a number of full month celebrations where the bb still looks yellowish lor...and not all are fully breastfed.

Singapoh yes no Chinese herbs and minimal Ginger lime 2 pieces when steaming fish... Already asked cl not to put any Ginger when cooking fish can bear with the fishy smell. Ur gal also go for bt so often? I really Heartpain .

Grumpus her level is 229 based on kkh standard levels above 260 need phototheraphy. The cause of her jaundice was due to our bloodgroup diff, so I had antibodies of her blood that break down her red blood cells. According to hb doc said her level is stabilized but need bt to monitor. Singapoh mentioned before must bring to below 100

Singapoh, u r right..got to really close eyes n ears w mil. very very challenging..

today when my gal got prick, she din cry. my hb came out n told us she was very brave.. then since this morning, my mil kept telling my bb gal tht she has thick skin!! :S

hb corrected her a few times, to tell her to say ger is brave...she still keep harping she has thick skin. and somemore tell us next time we will "know" when she grows up *argh*

i buay tahan.. close my bedroom door, dun wanna hear her say those things anymore..if not i cannot control myself, might go out n ask her to shut up...

my son refused to go to sleep on his own, so far he is either latched on to fall asleep or after drinking milk to fall asleep.
this evening, he had his milk, still wide awake, we put him on the cot and he started crying and refused to sleep.
how do u train ur newborns to go to sleep?
i read abt the "cry it out method" but its really heart pain to see them cry so much.

panda,
stay calm. for some reasons, old ppl often likes to say the opposite n hurting words. n some just cant stop nagging n complaining. stay away in room is a good way to keep your cool.

should we follow the lunar calendar or the Ang mo calendar when doing full month celebration ? Both side say different things sigh....

Panda,

I think it's not her comment that makes u angry. I think u are still upset with her when she keep pressing u abt yr milk supply so anything comes out from her mouth is negative. Take it easy la. Take it as a joke lo. We need to hv a big sense of humor to survive motherhood!!

Actually I didn't feel anything when my bbs cry during bt lei. My gal's voice is superloud! Can hear her from a few houses away! My hb said got MIL's voice. She also laugh! My boy has small voice :s Mei mei took some of his voice away. Wahaha..

Happyhippo,

U can't train newborn to soothe themselves to zzz yet. Wait till they are a little older first.

I trained mine when they were 9.5 weeks old. That method is for 1 bb but I trained both together. Very seong for me coz this training is 24/7 for few days and yr family members need to support u 100%

Singapoh,
Haha this time round very slack lei. I only just washed all the newborn clothes. I still hv to wash the cot sheets, towels n cloth nappies.
Still need hb to move the cot level up.
I didn't even bother to setup the sterilizer, warmer and breast pump :p

Singapoh, u very cool mummy..

i dun even dare to go into the lab room.. i told hb i cannot see wht they will do to my babies.. n when i hear the cries from outside... i wanna break down liao :S

i find it rude tht mil kept saying these things about babies.. we were taught during antenatal classes tht we should not say things with negative connotations to the babies.. coz they sort of will understand ..

i tink i m turning into over protective mummy.. just now i was telling my hb.. now the feeds are abit haywire.. and i hv no idea how much babies are drinking each feed, neither do i know if their poo are ok n how many times they poo n pee. everything out of control.

the log book tht i started to record the feeding times is a mess....

Pandawife my mil likes to use the word 'stupid' on her grandchildren...... She will say things like 'Ho chun' in Cantonese on things the grandchildren did. I think I wld definitely be offended if she used that on my girl coz I dun think we shld say negative things in front of the kids.... I guess not so much abt being overprotective but different way of teaching kids.

Gan.. u r rite..different way of teaching..

last night before i went to bed, my mum n mil feeding my babies.. my mil started calling my boy a pig coz he drinks alot.. n my mum called my gal a bird coz she drinks v little.. i nearly fainted...

so i told them pls dun call my babies animals.. coz i dun wanna b mother pig nor mother bird! they both say i overprotective lor..they only joking...:S

really generation gap.. i dunno how to explain to them..they always like to use on me "in the olden days..........this n that"

happy hippo,

my PD told me yesterday to start to "teach" the babies to differentiate betw day n night. coz most babies are born night clubbers.

try to put them in brighter places in the house during the day time.. at night, when lights out, don't use white or yellow lights.. use infra red lights if u need to feed or change bb... the infra light will send a certain "sleep" signal to the babies brain.

Pandawife ya generation gap..,,.When I was preggy my mil always ask me if my baby kick, I wld tell her yes and she will start saying my girl is naughty pig. =S and she will repeat it many times!

its also different family culture, my parent never call us animal names when young. but my in law side call their children names like silly sister, silly dog, pigs etc... and their children in turn greet them as uncle n aunty instead of ma or pa...funny thing is sometimes they will be pissed off n said their children r being rude. hahaha...

Hi mummies. I hv promoted!!! My baby girl arrived this morning after 19hrs of contraction. Her weight is 3.1kg. She's so fair n hairy!!!!

Love,
happy mummy, just faith

Just Faith, congrats!! can feel u r oozing with joy! welcome to motherhood

Congrats Just Faith! Enjoy motherhood! So u went for natural birth? I think you're one of the few amongst us who managed to do that!

Girls,
Now beginning to feel nervous about tomorrow. Now I'm beginning to doubt if I can do epi c-sec. Keep thinking abt it and getting scared.... V tempted to just do GA and then can relax already, no need to think anymore today.

Panda - sure u weren't affected by the pulling and tugging although no pain? How abt sounds, smells? Today I asked my doc, he explained to me the process, quite scary leh. He said will have smell of blood and burnt flesh permeating the room, and then I shouldn't move upper body too much as it wld make lower body move and then their job harder. Then he said some ppl will feel weird, like the upper body being disconnected with lower body. Wah.... Dunno I can tahan or not.

How girls who hv done epi c-sec? Yr experiences?

working wife, smtimes knowing too much works against us. i only felt pins n needles n the shivering aft epi was done. i din smell or feel anything else...hahahah... the shivering quite bad leh..so i just concentrate on breathing and looking at my hb..... n before i knew it, i saw charming dr paul holding a baby in front of me! by then shivering also forgot liao...hahahahaha

i did not ask dr paul abt the procedure details before the op..i just knew tht i wanna see my babies first hand..its an experience tht shld never be missed...smthing u will share w ur hb in the many yrs to come. n hb gets to take plenty of pics of babies in the OT too....before they were being cleaned up :p

sounds huh..hmm ...there were quite a few pple in the room..but i only heard dr paul asking the nurses to adjust the lights, n he will also tell me which bb he is going to deliver ..n after all babies r out, he told me he is going to clean up and do the stitches... no feeling at all.......

dr philip also check on me occasionally to ask if i m feeling alright.. i tink he is suppose to adjust the epi dosage in the event i do feel any discomfort....

Just Faith - Congrats !!!!!!!!!! remembering back when u just started not too long ago. Today u reap the fruits of your hard work !! Happy happy for u !!

Working Wife - i also think knowing too much is not good .. just go in & go with the flow bah... I will also opt for epi c-sect if mine really need c-sec .. I see on TV those bb's come out to greet the mummies i already cry ... can't imagine if its my own bb's

Just faith congrats!!! Have a great moo moo career !
Did dr loh deliver for u?

Working wife dun worry ..... I didn't smell or hear anything on fact i tot it was very quiet on the OT .

Grumpus,

Aiya, dump everything into the washing machine to wash.

The sterilizer, pump, warmer r easy to set up ma. Just bring out and wipe wipe only and run a cycle or 2 for the sterilizer.

Just Faith,
Congrats!! 19 hrs of labour...wow!!
kaypoh ah, did u take epi? :p

working wife,
good luck for tom!! dun worry and think too much. c-sect is very fast. once yr babies are out u won't care abt the rest of the surgery already.

Singapoh,
i can dump everything into the washing machine. but no place to hang everything! so no choice hv to do in batches.
I know sterilizer, pump and warmer are easy to set up, that's why not bothering to set up now. if i can latch successfully i will just latch 100%. if need to pump and bottle feed then i can quickly do it once i'm home....

hahaha...sound so pro like that. come back sure chaos....

Panda,

U are A panda mummy, that's an animal too. Wahaha..
Some people very pantang say their bbs are cute, good looking after delivery. They will say bb is "ugly" so that evil spirit won't harm them.

When I saw my big son, I was like "aiyo like an old man!" My mum calls him "little old man!"

I also tell my MIL that my big son is like a monkey, super active! Those who met my son agreed! I jokingly asked PD if he has worm inside. Haha..

My twin boy is very chubby and my MIL said don't say that wor coz pantang. Doesn't make any sense to me lei.

Happyhippo,

My trainning involves a lot of crying. If u can't stand bb crying then it's not for u.

I can't remember all the steps Liao. My gf bought a book and she shared this method with me. The book title is Gary Ezzo's babywise

Grumpus,

This is yr 2nd bb, I m sure u will be more relax than the first time like me. Hehe.. Bb cries like music. I m sure u will cope better than me coz u only hv 1 bb.

Wah ok ok, I will be brave! Actually decided on epi already but doctor said final call by anesthesist. So I leave in their hands. My request is for epi but for some reason if they say GA is better tomorrow, then so be it. As long as bbs healthy.

Actually I never ask that many questions... Dr started explaining one! Hahaha. But that's my style... Need to know first how it is then I will be mentally prepared. I fully trust the docs and know I am in good hands. Its me myself that I'm scared I will freak out in there. But I will do it. Don't care lah. Owe it to myself to hv this experience if I can!

Wish me luck!

Singapoh,
Bb cry like music...haha
But it's true. Nowadays when my elder cry and throw tantrum I can sit there and calmly eat dinner. Last time when she bb, one eh only and we're all jumping out of our seat already.

Eh u r my role model lei. I always tell myself if u can do it with twins I can surely do it with only one.

Panda,
I think it's the tone and intent when the older generation call our bb names. If they r complaining and being mean then of cos it's not nice. But if it's done affectionately I think it's ok.

I always call my girl monkey girl when she climbs everywhere but it's all in fun and joking and she doesn't take it as anything bad at all. I call her silly goose when she does something silly and last monkey when she eats her meals slowly.

Working wife,

Have no fear! I kept telling myself Scared or not still got to go through it. I chose the latter.

One staff nurse told me better hv GA coz fully knock out.

Singapoh - yrs is hands free pump right ? my freestyle also got handsfree device

Oh ya i went swimming once le .. ke ke ke .. felt so light in the water .. but heavy again when came out of the water (-_-)

Panda ,

Dunno how to explain lei.

I use left hand, lower arm to support left pump, fingers hold right pump. Right hand will be free. Can understand bor?

When bbs were smaller and wriggle lesser, I bf 1 side, pump the other side and use iPhone. :D

JJ,

Somebody shared a video on how to DIY Handsfree pumps, I tried and it works. All u need is 4 hair rubberbands and a nursing bra.

Swimming is good but dun swim till u pant hor. No good for bbs