IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Humble, are u still thinking of starting the infant/toddler/childcare care centre? I talked to my hubby last night regarding this. We think it is a very good idea. We can partner...

Chloe, humble,

tks for your advise. I guess we must be open to whatever outcome. Getting pregnant is good enough already!

Li Yen,

Did u have 3 embbies place in too ? What was their grade ? I wonder if its singleton or twin does it mean the other 2/3 failed to implant. For what reason ? Hmm..dunno..

The nurse said everybody will have jab, so i thought everyone, be it singleton or multiples, will have jabs. Perhaps their jabs do not have HcG ? They did not do anymore blood test for me. I think the reason I had jabs is because I had spotting initially.

Did u switch to Jurong Clinic cos it is cheaper or because it is nearer to your home ?

hihi ladies... am back... been lazy to login & chat... dunno y...
regarding the pulling sensation, i had it too last thurs at my mum's hse. Awaken by it at 5am & last for 5hrs. Emptied my bowels for 5times & vomitted once but lucky ok after tt.

stumbled by,
Ya I had transfered 3 embbies, 2 good n 1 satifactory. By right for my age suppose to put in only 2 embbies. But my case is different because since I left with 1 satifactory so I was allowed to chose to put in. I was told that those embbies which failed to stick will died n passed out but too tiny for naked eyes to see.

Everyone will need to inject progestrone except special case. HcG injection is up to individual.

Both reasons applied, that why i am changing to Jurong East.

So r u injecting HcG at the monment? And where u first done yr IVF?

Stumbled by,

When is yr next visit to Nuh? I seeing Prof Wong next Tuesday morning.

Actually when I knew I was pregnant, I was too happy but at the same time like u keep thinking how many BB will I get. Personally I also want singleton but my Hb prefer twins. He said more value for money, n cute to have twins...haha...

So dun worry too much,as long as can get pregnant, who cares how many u will get, most impt to remember is bb must be healthy...

hi all, lately i have been having cravings for cold frizzy drinks
plain water is tasteless and no interest in ribena already *sigh*

i ate a few half-cooked cockles tis morning & it's yummy.... kekekeke

Li Yen,

yes injection HcG too. tho i wonder is it okay to keep injecting without measuring anything.....

How come u seeing Prof Wong ? Thot u transfer over to Jurong already ? My first IVF was done last december. i transferred 2 embbies then, cos i am < 35 years old. This time round, still < 35 lar.. but bcos i failed in fresh and frozen cycle(both are 2 embbies), they increase to 3 embbies for transfer. My quality(grade) is the same as u this time round.

ya..i am singleton too. I hope for singleton too, but i was thinking twins will be good so i can stop my factory after birth ;X now looks like i will have a small window before 35 after delivery to try naturally ......hiaks..

Below is an update of my particulars!

<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD> No. of Babies</TD><TD>Doctor</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Day 17 bHCG</TD><TD>Embroys Transfered </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD>19/07/2006</TD><TD>04/07/2006 2.78kg @ 38 wks</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Prof Chen</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tch</TD><TD>07/09/2006</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Twin Boys</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1488</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>verona</TD><TD>15/11/2006</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Triplet Boys</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3000</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>blue rabbit</TD><TD>16/11/2006</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>478.3</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>winter1</TD><TD>29/11/2006</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Twin girls</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>3063</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>curious</TD><TD>10/12/2006</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>226.8</TD><TD>SO-IUI </TD></TR><TR><TD>kiki</TD><TD>07-Jan</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>322</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>05-Jan</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>518</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>04/02/2007</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>L C Foong</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>1643.4(D18)</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rae</TD><TD>16/02/2007</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>260</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Humble</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1211(D15)</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Li Yen</TD><TD>22/01/2007</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>50.8</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stumbled_by</TD><TD>30/03/2007</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Singleton</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Trips</TD><TD>05/03/2007</TD><TD>TBD</TD><TD>Triplets</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1600</TD><TD>3</td></tr></table>

err...i dunno how to upload the textfile...

rachel,
ya me too couldnt drink plain water at all, only ribena and glucose but now can drink plain water ready but not too much la...

hey, i thot preggie women should not eat shell fishes especially semi cooked (cos they can cause some kinda of food poisoning thats fatal to unborn babies). I m not sure if cockles is one of them but please check it out.

Does any mtb have extreme phlegm? I m suffering from bad throat and chest phlegm and thus so difficult to eat or drink. Please advice!

chloe, didnt see u for sometimes, are u feeling ok?

wonder how are the other mtbs!

stumbled by,
I have stomach cramps until today leh..

stumbled by,

Will be the last visit le...cos to collect my blood test result+ NT scan.

Look like our case r quite similar..hehe...

Should be no problem injecting the HcG, but i ever experienced once a big swollen lump on my thigh. Doc said is due to the oil base injection not HcG.

When u found out that u got singleton? Quite fast leh?

I remember last time when I first done the viable scan is on my week 6.

My HB abit disappointed then when u saw only 1 sac.... But now he treated the bb so precious now, everyday listen n talk to my tummy... The worst thing is he keep buying alot of food to feed me thus now I am very fat liao.... sacred that i will kanna GD.

I do exoerience stomach cramps too.... Sometimes can feel the pull at the navel area.

humble n Rae,

Any reasons for disliking plain water?

Before I pregnant, I dun like to drink water but total changed after that... I need to drink at least more than 8 cups a day.For each meal I need at least 2 big cup of water.... Will I get water retention if I drink so much water?

Is it normal to drink so much?

Is cockles harmful to bb? I also ate some when I ate laksa n fried kuay tiao.Yummy leh...

Humble, Better dun eat oranges, this wat I heard from friends...

Li Yen,
Try not to drink water with ur meal, it'll cause heartburn. Drink in-between meals and yes, 8 cups of water is good.

Shellfish, shark, king mackerel and tuna are NO-NO
nono.gif
becos of high mnercury content... harmful to growing fetus.

MTBs,
Taka BB's fair is coming soon, from 9 to 27 Aug. So make full use of this chance to stock up whatever u need for ur bb/bbs.

Li Yen,

i just found out yesterday i have singleton. my first scan..its almost 6 weeks yesterday. but gynea din see any heartbeat or rather he din tried to see the heart beat. it just looks like a 'black bean' to me...tsk tsk..Chloe said she saw heartbeat in her first scan leh....

i think cockles or shell food may be contaminated, such as with Heptatis A. So better don eat

i have a bit of MS..dont know is it bcos of the injection. need to eat sweets to curb 'discomfort feeling'. Cant take too much for every meal and cannot eat some types of food (like oily and fried food).....

humble,

tks. so looks like stomach cramps is common as long as it is not too 'over'....

hi humble

me ok, better already, but sometimes still feel very bloated in the evenings. Tend to sleep a lot more nowadays. heehee... i am a lazy mommy.

Better avoid cockles esp if half-cooked, even if u are not pregnant. Cockles are are found in waters that are tend to be more polluted. Remember, we can only take food that is fully cooked. So that means cannot eat sashimi, and watever shellfish that is raw. Nowadays even when i eat beef, i will request it to be well done. oh yes, if possible, try not to eat pre-cut fruits. Only cut the fruits when u want to eat them.

li yen, good that u can drink lots of water.
i dun like plain water, tend to make me feel sick... but been struggling to drink more... Dun worry about water retention. In fact, drinking more water is a good way to flush out the excess water in the body, it helps to curb water retention!!

stumbled by

During my first scan at week 6, i could see only 1 heartbeat and 2 other sacs. The 2 sacs got no heartbeat yet. i only get to see the other 2 heartbeats at week 8.
The babies grow at different rate, some faster and some slower. So, not to worry unless ur doc suggests otherwise.

Hi blue rabbit, Chole,
Thanks for advising...
Wat u going to buy in BB fair.... Dun know wat to buy leh...especially when u dun know the sex of bb....

stumbled by,
I also din see any heartbeat at 6 week, just a black dot. Heartbeat only observed at 8 weeks.

have anyone try icsi on frozen sperm? As HB is based oversea, we would like to do ICSI with frozen sperm and is wondering if success rate is the same as fresh.

I new to this forum. I having a twin thru IVF and i already in my 5th mth.

Would like to check with those having twin, do ur gyna advise u to rest at home fr wk 28 to prevent pre-mature birth?

hi ahnie,
mine is fresh sperm so i m not sure, the other gals may have some idea!

whiteantz,
welcome to the thread! There are two mtbs here with twins, i heard that u got to have bed rest but not very sure of it.

chloe,
good that u can sleep a lot, me cant sleep well, I only sleep from 10.30 pm to 5 or 6 am everyday after that wide awake vomiting la... I tried sleeping during the day but end up i woke shivering and panic attack kinda thing, since then stopped napping.

Li Yen,
I also read that drinking a lot of water is very good during pregnancy.

hi ladies...

just to check with u all.. from the look of the chart.. DR SF Loh of NUH seems to have a good track record... is he very good at infertility treatment..?

i am currently going thru some tests and scans for my fertility problem in KKH and is thinking of changing to a better gynae to access my condition.. is Dr LOH highly recommended..?

hope to conceive,
Dr Loh is from KKH and not NUH, he is definitely a good doctor with a magic as far as i m concerned. A lot of ladies are under him in this board. Which doctor in kkh are u seeing?

hi humble..

yah..sorry..NUH(wonder why i type NUH instead of KKH ..hehe..)

i'm currently seeing this Dr Wong H F with regards to my infertility problem but he seems quite inexperienced in a way .. he said my condition is very rare and he has never seen such a case before! he is very nice though.. at least he is honest..

so Dr Loh is from the Private Suite..? I'm scheduled for some blood test and scans in the next two mths.. i dunno whether to change now or to wait till all the results are out.

any gals here with Amenorrhea here trying thru IVF?

wow humble!!

i just realised you are expecting triplets!! congratulations!

wow!! so exciting!! so are u all prepared for the 3 babies already..?

hope to conceive,
Honestly, I m not prepared for triplets yet!

Dr loh, is a senior consultant and you can see him either in clinic D or the private suit.

Ho,
the cost differs from clinic to clinic, where are u intending to do. As far as I know, KKH is the cheapest and it will cost from 6K+ or 7K+

hi humble..

take things as they come.. you can never be too prepared
but i still feel u are very blessed
imagine 3 little cuties .. will they be identical..?

so the cost of IVF per cycle is abt $6k - $7k, of which a certain portion we can opt to deduct from our medisave is it..?

can use hubby's medisave..?

Humble,

Thanks! I intend to do IVF in TMC but still considering. Haven't really decided. I ask my gynae and he told me that it is roughly $10,000 ++. Have been trying IUI but failed for the 2nd time and now going to try for the 3rd IUI. Believe after trying IUI unsucessfully, will have to proceed to IVF..Have been worried about the expenses that will incurred if I want to do IVF...

hoper to conceive and ho,
You can use hubby's or your medisave, first timer can use upto 6K, second timer 5K and third 4K.

You gals can join the cycle buddies thread, where you will meet more people currently cycling or going to cycle in a few months, there are also few of them from TMC is guess.

Hi Humble

very good morning to you. Really early huh.. wake up by the 3 little cuties?

Dear Ho

I am one of those will embark IVF in TMC by end of the month. Pray for ur 3rd try of IUI will succeed.

Ya, for the time being you may want to join us at cycle buddies thread. See you there.

Best Regards
Koala

hi ahnie

i read that fresh sperms are preferred over frozen sperms for IUI, as fresh sperms do have a higher chance of success. i heard that not all sperms can survive the thawing process... Not sure about ICSI cos in this case, the sperm count is no longer impt cos they will only choose a healthy sperm to inject into the egg... i am really not sure, have u checked with ur doctor?

whiteantz, not sure about twins. However, as i am expecting triplets, my doc advised me complete rest at home starting from 20th week. So, i guess twins should be able to tahan a little longer??

ho and hope_to_conceive, dun think i need to answer ur questions, cos humble has already given u the answers.

hi gals, how's everyone? Me got a terrible sore throat yesterday. Forced myself to drink and drink and drink. haha... drink until hor, urine is transparent!! Luckily i am able to suppress it, this morning ok liao

Anyone gone for the Robinson sales? Heard they got 20% discount storewide. Also Taka baby fair coming, i think it is starting on national day. Feel very tired nowadays, so dunno whether i can make it there. Any MTBs if happen to drop by, can help to let us know whether worth going?

Dear all MTBs, so long never log in. Have been hospitalized for awhile due to premature contractions. It was quite scary because doc said it is really too early for the babies to be delivered. Currently, on lots of medication and staying at home to rest as much as possible. Before this incident, some triplets mums have told me to rest at home and not walk too much. As such, I have stopped work since the 21st week but still go out during weekends. Guess this is not enough.

Humble and Chloe, try and rest as much as you can, especially from 20th week onwards. And rest means really lying on the bed!

Currently, I am trying to stay positive but can get kind of depressed at times. Feeling heavy and breathless and also suffering from backache. Appetite also not very good because of the babies pressing on the GI tract.

hi ladies..

seems that most of u are expecting triplets here..
is multiple pregnancies very common for IVF..?

Hopes
Chances of getting twins / triplets is quite high for IVF/ICSI. But still depends on yr body and also how strong are the embries. As long as can get pregnant, no of babies doesn't matter. Are u cycling soon or MTB?

Verona
Wow, carrying triplets is not easy, but u will have triple joy /blessings. That's means u had resigned or just take months of unpaid leave?

hi goo gal88,

you are rite.. as long as can concieve sucessfully .. number of babies are really doesn't matter..

well..i'm not cycling yet...i'm scheduled for some tests to confirm my condition first..but my gynae told me i'll probably need IVF to concieve.. so..right now i'm checking out the procedures and what to expect first

hi verona

oh dear, hope u will get better soon. i heard about the prematured contractions, and yes, really very scary hor. My doc will be checking my cervix tomm to see if it shows signs of opening up. He mentioned that if it shows signs of dilating, he will have to stitch it up!! i read from some websites that the procedure is known as cervical cerclage. Did ur gynae mention this to u?

i think we better be very careful cos triplets can cause premature contractions.
i read from some websites and it seems like the contraction can start as early as 20th week. That's why my dr advised rest at home starting from week 20...

humble, how are u today?

I m really dying from MS :-(...guess i m desperate...reaching out to you gals whom i have never spoken to... hopefully someone can relieve abit of my agony... damn low morale... yday started with not able to contain my food, throw out rite after my meal...water too also come out. i m worried, bcos i usually take med after food, will tt mean it has been throw out b4 even the body can absorb it? have anyone of you loose sleep? i seem to be waking up at 3am and cudnt get to sleep..plus my sleep is very consious..so feel very tired... still got 6 more week b4 1st trimester...really dun noe whether i can survive till then....i dun wish to be admitted again as i was admitted for OHSS 3weeks ago...financial plus mentally stressed...

Chole, i m with Dr LC Foong too...

Hopes
Doc will advise u the best treatment for u. Initially, we were thinking of IVF too, but chances is higher if we take ICSI. I'm in 2ww, and it's very tense for me.

Joy
I had a fren who is in her 8 weeks pregnancy and been admitted to hospital for 1 week. Her case is exactly like yrs, vomit at all times, and she almost go crazy also. Pls don't be sad/give up, we all had come such a long way, and in 7 more mths, seeing yr bb, all the pain/suffering/ms really worthwhile. U did IVF or ICSI?
Remember, pour your sorrow/happiness/etc here, there's lot of MTB who are very loving and caring in this forum, and we are here to lend each other ears, shoulder, etc...
Cheer up Joy.

Ho/Hope to conceive
To share with you the cost of treatment in Msia. U might want to consider
I did my ICSI in Msia.
IUI - Arnd RM3K
IVF - Arnd RM10K
ICSI - Arnd RM14K
All use our own hard earn money , no medisave. At the moment, I'm in 2ww, and wish for good news next week. So far the succcess rate for this doctor is quite high, but still depends on individual body and how strong are the embries. If you want to consider this doc in Msia, pm me. But there are few factors to consider for e.g tickets fares/accomodation/financially/emotionally/etc... U need to stay there for 2 weeks for daily injection and scan alternate days. PM me, I will tell u more the process.

hi goo_gal88,

yes yes..pls share more with me.. i've PM-ed u ..
thanks dear!

Joy..

do hang on... find some form of entertainment to help u divert the pain.. will PC games or drama series help..??

Hi Joy

Let me guess, most likely urs is through ICSI?? Poor thing, hang on to it ok? Hopefully u will feel better after the first trimester. If u cannot hold plain water, how about drinking syrup water like ribena? Must drink, cannot eat still not so bad, but fluids very impt. Dr mentioned can drink hundred plus, coke lite (non-coffeinated) if really cannot drink plain water. i could not tolerate milk, yorgurt and milo, so i avoided them totally cos they irritate my stomach and makes me feel like throwing up.

When i was in first trimester, i also cannot eat much. i din vomit much, but always feel very bloated and no appetite. End up, i ate lots of fast food. Not healthy, but at least eating something. u eating fruits? i like to eat sour fruits like strawberries and grapes. Taste very nice.

As for sleeping, i am rather lucky, sleep like nobody's business. Can sleep thru the afternoon and later on continue to sleep thru the night. Me getting lazier and lazier... like pig... erhh... so no sleeping tips from me, cos i by nature can sleep one...

Are u working now? Better take a break and rest at home lor.

Hey, why so low morale?? Not easy to get preggie even if undergone IVF/ICSI. u are one of the very lucky ones u know?
Dr Foong is a nice dr, i am sure u are in good hands.

hmm quiet happening today ah?

verona,
aw dear! I m sorry for your scare, it must have been terrible i think. I m also constantly worrying of such problems. Thank you so much for the advice, will keep that in mind. Actually, I m guilty of over walking today, I went to takashimaya for shopping and walked until my feet were aching like nothing. think i wont do this anymore. Please take care dear and lets pray the little ones will stay inside safe as long as possible!

chloe,
you already in you 2nd tri ah? You are one lucky women to have mild ms leh...hehe...touchwood, touchwood!

joy,
I m here to partner you in your terrible ms. I m one of the mtbs here who vomit like nothing and feel sick all the time. my ms kicked in about 5 weeks and i threw out everything immediately after food, even water didnt stay in, i was also desperate and almost couldnt take it anymore, i used to cry and torture hubby, MIL and my mother like no tomorrow. I was also abt to be admitted but i managed to keep some liquid down. It wasnt esy at first, but now i learnt some tricks like I'll force vomit first thing in the morning to get the acidic thing which triggers the vomit, secondly i eat only certain food like porride, plain bread, some fruits and easy to digest food. I totally avoid all milk and milk products and anything thats acidic like strawberry, lemon, gas drinks, and oranges. You should also see which food are triggering the vomit more and try and avoid them, oh i simply cant eat oily and spicy food cos it makes my vomiting very painful. Hope my experience helps you. I was also very down, infact still not enjoying the pregnancy as i should but i love my babies. i cant wait to eat all my favourite food soon, yum yum!

qoo,
I had PM you something.

qoo,
just check your email that you used to register this account and then u can send us a private message by clicking the link given.

hi goo_gal88

rec'd ur email.

thanks alot for ur detailed explanation..

u must have taken alot of time to write the mail..
thanks again!

Hi all, just tested +ve last wed. This shd be considered as my 5th week. Can i check u gals, do u hv backache cos i hv difficulty standing straight, and tummy is very big. Just now after shower, my back was very aching...is this normal?

Also i notice i hv wet feeling...my pantyliner is quite wet...any of u hv the same symptoms?

hi rainbow7

i've got backaches too, but that's like towards the later part of 1st trimester. As for discharge, i heard supposed to get more discharge, but i seem to behave differently, no discharge at all until i am in 13th week...

My tummy also very big, and tends to be bigger when there's a lot of wind, mostly after meals.

Maybe the rest of the gals can advise if they have similar symptoms as u. Dun worry, everyone is different, and that includes our pregnancy symptoms. But if u feel discomfort, do consult ur gynae.