IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Fruitree,

Yes, you are right..babies are most impt now..

i just woke up from nap to take lunch round 2 :p

hmmm.. i dun tink the swelling applies to all...but like nancy, i dont hv any swelling thru out ... so if it happens, it could mean smthing for me...

try to elevate ur feet when u sit down and minimise long periods of standing or walking..

r u drinking alot of water? i everyday force myself to water parade... actually, lying down more often on our sides also helps to process the fluids in the body better ...hence lesser water retention ..which can reduce the swelling..

Panda,

Yah think I need to drink more water. Also need to lie down more. I rarely take naps in the afternoon. ONly at night i lie on the sofa to watch tv and then at bedtime at night.

Hmmm, guess I should start getting horizontal more often.

fruitree,

i read from the multiples book, tht it is recommended we take 2 hrs nap, 3x a day.. so we get the horizontal rest and also conserve energy for the babies.

smtimes i cant nap the 3rd time..so i will just lie in bed n watch tv....

water intake very impt..coz the babies need to refresh their amniotic fluids... n drinking enuff will also prevent early contractions

Talking abt drinking water, I'm having hard time to drink the required 2L (or more !!) of fluids cos the taste of water isn't appealling to me now.

I rather drink juice, soft drink, flavoured drinks, drink soup.... my office water taste weird to me

JJ,

I cant drink much plain water too.. i mix berries flavoured syrup to create some taste..and also drink juices and plenty of milk everyday..

JJ, 20 week scans must make sure your twins cooperate, open their legs. my gal was shy and never open so during my 20 weeks scan, the sonographer could not determine her sex.
So on my detailed scan report it was indicated as sex not determined.
But i already knew i was expecting a gal when i was 14 weeks coz i did my scan at Camden

huh ... so naughty ahh ... 20th wk still don't want to let mummy know. Cham liao la .. for my DS scan 1 twin not cooperative didn't want to get into correct position so i spent almost 1.5hrs there

can't imagine for detailed scan ... my poor bladder

Gan, I was discharged yday...

Just Faith,
I was discharged yday.. I actually didnt feel any contractions after my water bag rupture.. But the night b4, I felt some mentrual like cramps after my dinner..

Babyhopeful,
I didnt buy the IVF insurance as I transferred 3 embroyos and the insurance is $700plus and the claim if required is only $100 per day only. So we tot its not so worth it after all. So didnt buy. Anyway, doc says she will stay ard 7 - 10 days. If condition is good can go back early also.. So hopefully she can be discharge early too..

grumpus,

Pandawife,
She does look very much like her sis esp when her sis was just delivered. My dad put a pic of her sis when she was 2 days old beside her face and they look exactly the same.. I just registed her birth and did her birth cert today too.. Today PD started her on phototheraphy cos she has abit of jaundice le.. Then I also busy trying to establish my milk ss so that I can have enug to buy to her to drink..

BB Rabit is here,

jeinthiangel,
Thanks! Your turn coming soon. Feeling excited?

skies,
Ya.. me now trying to pump milk to establish milk ss b4 bb comes back... Then also resting too..I was early so CL couldnt make it in time. But she taught me what I should do and eat.. Then hubby ask maid to cook for me and he cook soup for me everyday too..

bubbybear

Fruitree,
Dun think Mt E has different class for the NICU. Its a fixed price I think...

ok.. me gg to take a nap le.. Nitz!

Tickles,

Yes you;re right. The class and downgrading only applicable for govt hospital. Din realise you are with Mt E.

As for IVF insurance, the phamplet says $300 claim per day per baby if they are in NICU. But $100 a day if lesser care like SCN. I think it depends on how extensive the care needed for baby is.

But since your baby is gonna be discharged soon, it doesn't matter.

Happy napping!

Ya the ivf insurance is $100-$300 depending on the level of care the bb needs.. Max only can claim $300 a day for the highest level... Better than nothing esp when u have more than a bb...

Tickles
Congrats again ya!! Now u focus on resting well.. So u will have the strength when bb comes home!!

Hi girls, finally back from my doctor's visit. Today was very long. The growth scan took an hour and then we wanted to do 4D scan but bbs not cooperating, dun wanna show face. Sonographer suggested we go see doctor first and then come back for the 4D. But second time round, bbs still don't wanna show face! Also had to do second round of steroid jab for the lungs... by the end of it, so tired!

My boy is 1.68kg and girl is 1.23kg (i'm 30w 1d). Although girl is small, according to the charts, she is still within the normal range (on the low side) whilst boy is on the high side of the range.

Dr Cheng not concerned abt the differences becos he said again cannot be TTTS, and also more importantly, they are both growing consistently and proportionately vs last visit, blood flow is normal and they are very active. So looks like my girl is petite leh
He even said luckily girl is the petite one, not the boy!

I asked Dr Cheng to give me a target, he said 38 weeks! *faint*. He said next target is 34 weeks (before which prevention of labour is very aggresive), then 34-36 weeks where prevention of labour not as aggresive and depending on situation, can deliver if have to, then 36-38 weeks where its definitely ok to deliver if need be.

Tickles..glad to hear tht u hv discharged n little gal is doing well.

Working wife, u must be progressing v well for doc to say set 38wks as a target! Thts gd news.. Plus babies r growing well.

Baby..how r u today? Any more contractions?

I start to feel these final weeks r really a tolerance test..discomfort levels increasing everyday.. Yet must stay zen n relax...ultimate challenge!

Working wife, your babies weight are both very good. Especially your boy. I'm the opposite of you. My boy is the smallest. Girls are bigger.

When did your doctor start you on the steroid jabs for lungs? And how often you need to have this jab?

Today went for dr visit. Both of them are abt 1.9kg at week 34. Dr says wt okay since they grew abt 200g from last scan. From now see dr every week and dr stopped the jab for lungs but continue med to relax uterus. Every week see dr like very fast ... Hitting the panic button already

My hubby and I almost decided to do GA c sect cause I scared of what will be going on below while on epi. Plus worried my tummy is big I can't curl to do proper epi at the
spine.

working wife,
so ur boy eating more than ur girl..must ask ur girl to eat more n ur boy to save some for his sister.. haha!

baby,
thanks! ya... now try to puump more n rest more.. then look forward to bringing her home... anyway my cl not here yet too she can only come next wed.

fruitree,
anyway that time i decided not to get the insurance so nvm ba... nothing to claim also.. just hope she can go back soonish... ;)

Panda
Today contractions are much better than yday.. Thou i do experience once in a while.. Dr say he is happy with it..
Will continue to monitor..

Working wife
The 4d scan exp?
Then cannot see the face still need to pay?
Yr boy has v v good weight! How come need to jap steriod every 2 weeks? My dr say it can last for a mth...

Baby,
I also dun know leh why steroid jab every 2 wks. Seems like their protocol, Nancy also the same.

No, if cannot see, they won't charge. There was one pic of the boy can see partial face, sonographer printed out for me but no charge. It was v fast, less then 10 mins cuz once they establish cannot see, then will stop already. I dunno how much since didn't pay.

Tickles
U pump out bf to store in freezer?
Do u bring to hosp for bb to drink or bb is drinking fm?
Now at this stage how much can u pump? If only a little, u store in bottle and put inside fridge then next pump add into same bottle or need to use another bottle?

Tickles
Congrats again, pretty mum
Hope ur girl can come home soon . U going to hospital every day to try to latch her ?

No need to curl alot ? I am afraid I may freak out if I was conscious thru out the c sect. I also wanna see my twins first hand but I am scared. My hubby also scared to be inside the delivery room. So finding comfort and assurance from him maybe a bit hard. Later he faint inside dr got to attend to him worse haha ...

Working wife
My appt was very late today. Was there at 5 plus and see dr only at 6pm. Busy day as usual plus wed clinic was closed. Actually I did my growth scan at week 32 yours at week 30 ? Hm ... dr asked u hang on till 38 weeks, very good. Dr didn't give me a date yet just asked me hang on as long as I can.

Baby
glad to hear the contractions are under control
are u eating well there ? Must drink plently of water ... Come to think of it ur babies wt are very very good. Yours 1.9 kg at week 32 mine week 34 is also 1.9 kg.

Panda
yes I agree that everyday the body condition is changing. Today able to do this the next day cannot do haha .. Ever changing. U are doing very well so far so add oil together

Nancy
Eating wise still ok.. But abit sick of hosp food liao...
My hb or mum will buy outside food for me...
Ya im trying to drink more water but i pai seh to bother the nurse here to bring bedpan for me... So trying to balance..

My bbs weight is good.. But i tot can cross 2kg haha.. Too greedy me... Tml i will be 32 weeks + 3 days. Counting down.. Dr and me is aiming for 34 weeks at least... Like still have a long way... 11 days more...

Baby
ya sometimes keep asking mee see to help with bedpan a bit pai sei but no choice have to drink up. I thought can cross the 2 kg mark today but still 100g short. Sometimes I was thinking if they cal the Edd correctly hee ..

So now u have short term goal till 34 weeks. Maybe u can hang on longer than that after this episode
u still on the ctg machine ?

baby, good that the contractions are under control. no need pai seh about calling mee see leh.. drink ur water! its more impt

nancy, thanks for the encouragement! i tend to feel more frustrated at night ...hehee...esp just before bedtime... i hv progressed to sitting down to brush my teeth liao.... so now toilet has 2 chairs...:p

tickles, saw ur fb photo update.. she looks just so adorable! like a little sweet princess...

fruitree, not all docs giv steriod injections..i tried asking my doc for it at 28wks..he refused to give..hahaha.. told me i don't need it.. he will only administer when necessary.

last night i had a tummy itch attack...first time whole tummy was itching very badly..... even after applying the cream my doc prescribe...still din work.. had to toss n turn so much n bear with it until i fell asleep....hopefully its a once off thing....

pandawife skin stretching that's why the itch? The olive oil doesn't help?

Baby, ya dun be paiseh, drink when required.

Fruitree our edd is exactly 3 weeks apart.

Baby,

Yeah dun feel paiseh to call the nurse. It's their duty to look after u.

In the initially days (weeks), milk supply won't be so much for most women so there is no need to freeze. U can express and keep in the fridge and combine to give to baby. When my gal stayed in SCN for 4 nights, she had fm. I didn't wanna stress myself too much.

My twins are turning 6 months soon and I hv decided to bf till they wean off themselves since I already closed shop

Gan,

my hb thinks its skin stretching ... i m clueless...just very itch...

i applied the olive oil as usual... n dr paul also prescribe a cream to be used when there is itch...both din help..

previously itch only some parts of the tummy... last night was the entire big watermelon very itchy....n i was trying so hard not to scratch it....

Singapoh, dunno if its the hormones causing the itch.. aiyoh... now itch again... :S

i suppose just hv to bear with it....

Me in labour ward on drips now. Felt painless contractions at 4am. Though no pain, cld feel it every 10 mins.

Baby, my heartbeat also v fast when on drip. Abt 120+ leh. What was yrs?

Working wife
U at kkh labour ward? Ctg show contractions every 10 mins? Is the contraction strong or mild?
My heartbeat can go up to 138... But usually abt 120plus.. Thats the sideeffect of ventolin drip... U will feel breathless..
Whats yr drip dose?

Working wife
what happened ? Is it weak contractions ? They put u on drips ? The last time I had weak contractions they didn't give me any drips. How long have u been there ?

Baby - drip dose 15 units. Initially strong contractions but now seems better.

Nancy - think cuz its so frequent n some registered qquite strong. Trying to stay calm but still scared... 30 wks only

Working wife
yes, can be quite scary inside labour ward with the machine beeping next to u. Try to relax ..talk to ur babies tell them it's not time yet. Dr cheng seen u already ? What did he say ?

Prayhard - me too scheduled for detailed scan nxt mth, 9th.
U know yr bb's genders lei ? I still have no clue abt mine.

Working wife
Ya can understand yr worry.. That time im only 28weeks plus when i have contractions... Usually when u on drip the contractions will stop... 15 units is normal... My highest was 35 units... Now im on 10 units plus oral ventolin... But i still feel contractions on off... Will see what dr says later...

Singapoh, u r right.. skin overstretched.. now i hv itch n stretchmarks attack all together... cant escape... but its a happy problem.. means babies are growing

working wife, must try ur best to zen n relax.. coz stress will cause more contractions.. hope all is well now... take care!

prayhard, i m fine... going thru the final lap to seeing my little ones

Hi all, thx for yr concern. Contractions looks under control now but doc wants me on drip thru the night n try to play w dosage. Prob hv to stay 3-4 nights here while he slowly wean me off the drip n onto oral meds.

Actually I think i'm quite relaxed, but pulse still quite high from the drip. I'm using 10 units now

working wife good to hear that the contractions r under control. Did dr mention what causes the contraction? Do rest well.

Baby how r u today?

Pandawife so the itch is due to skin stretching? I was at M&S buying new underwears coz the old ones, spme r getting tight...the sales helped to measure my butt andi borrowed her measuring tape....my tummy is now 43 inches!

Gan, i googled, and it could be a combination of overstretching as well as high levels of hormones... i will ask dr paul if he can prescribe alternative anti itch cream next week...

wow..ur tummy also growing fast n furious! i giv up on buying new undies... now i m wearing disposable ones.. :p

working wife, glad to hear tht contractions are under control. hopefully u can discharge and go home soon...