IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

JJ, yes.. thts about the mkt rate ... i was quoted 3600 - 4000 for triplets lor...

so in the end decided not to hv CL... coz 1 CL cannot possibly look after 3 babies on her own.. not worth paying the price..

instead, we will get a daily part time helper to do housework and laundry.....

my parents n mil will concentrate on looking after babies n me....

Panda
Hide in a air con room..very humid. Drink more water

JJ
My CL is charging me $2800 for twins for 28 days.

panda
U found a daily part time maid already? I was thinking of asking my current part time maid to come after the cl leaves. How many hrs u asking the part time maid to come daily?

I am wondering if i can cope with twins with the part time maid coming daily for few hrs still. My mother and MIL stays too far to come help daily and also getting old. Employing a full time maid to stay with us is the last resort......

nancy, my mum will be asking her fren to come n help... everyday 4-5 hrs... help clean kitchen coz mil will cook everyday, clear laundry n fold all the cloth nappies....

i will still hv my regular pt helper who can only come once every 2 weeks ...to do the more intensive cleaning....

JJ,
Nancy's CL seems to be quite reasonable. Mine singleton already $2.2k le. But that includes angpow la. She specify that 2k is the charges and $200 as angpow. I think is quite alright. At least I dun need to fret over how much $ to give her and if it will be too little.

Nancy,
I think its good to get a CL since yours charges quite reasonable price. Cos at least u get to rest. For my #1, I did not get any CL and tot I can managed the baby myself with the help of my mom and maid. Ended up, I feel paiseh that my mom despite being tired help me take care and offered to help also. Then my maid only help to wash the bottles and do laundry and other housework. Then I was really tired, cos of taking care of the newborn, pump milk etc. I totally gt no appetite to eat my catered confinement food at all. I always gt the feeling that by the time I finish doing everything, its time for next feed liao. Simply cant find time to slp de.. Then I cried everyday and was always afraid to be left alone with the baby. Its quite tough for a first time mummy. So this round, my hubby told me, let's get a CL so that u can rest and concentrate of doing whatever I want to do, like pumping or resting and of cos having my meals. Cos CL is hired de so u wont feel paiseh to ask her to help out ma.. If parents help, they at times will feel tired and u will tend to want them to rest and u take care yourself. Thats my point of view...

Tickles - this CL highly recommended by other forum mummies who used her before, that's what I'm looking for cos there are simply too many horror stories of CL making trouble.

I think I will just go ahead to get her, since the old folks (my mum & MIL) isn't staying with us they can just come & visit during the 1st mth. its even worse if I 'force' my mum & MIL to stay with us then the fathers got to take care of their own homes (like laundry & hse cleaning)

Have to start saving my bonuses already.

Tickles
Thanks for sharing. Ur Cl already told u how much ang pow to give..hee. That's good no need to feel pai sei if she think we give too little. My sis had the same experience like u. First baby, my mum helped her during the day and sis was so tired with feeding and not resting well. Second baby she got this CL i am getting

The thing is this CL was hesitant to take me cause i am expecting Twins and no maid. So, we came to a compromise. The marketing will be done fully by my mum and mil taking turns. My part time maid will come in and help with housework maybe like 2-3 times a week.

Yes, I also afraid i will sink into depression since i first time mum. As for bf, i will do what i can but if i cant cope then give up and give the boys full FM. Have to give and take if i cant handle. I am afraid i stress myself too much with bf, maybe worse. Bad mummy hor ?

Actually we requested for ths CL to do 40 days (4k) for me since i going for c sect and may take longer time to recover. But she has yet to confirm if she can do the extra days for me.

Nancy, i tink maybe u need full time help with twins leh if u r alone.....

coz for me, mil staying with me for first few mths... parents will stay over during confinement period, after tht they are coming over everyday since they are only few blocks away....

the part time help is only to do basic housework..

Panda
Oh ur family members stay so near
Lucky u....
The horror stories i hear and read abt maid make me think twice getting one. Getting a good one like striking 4d. I am worried of the maid instead of helping me give me more problems in the end.

Most pple also say i will need help but i will try to care for the boys myself first. If i cant cope then bo bian get a maid.........

Pandawife, for the part time helper u are getting to come daily for 4-5 hrs are u paying her by the hourly like $10/hr or u would pay her a certain amt u agreed?

Girls with CL, at night, your bb will sleep with CL or you? If with CL, the CL will carry bb to you at night to breastfeed?

Gan,
last time my girl slept with my CL. usually CL will ask u to feed FM or EBM at night so it's easier for them.
but i know ladies who are on 100% latch on and insist the CL carries the bb to them at night to bf.
it's up to u to tell the CL clearly which way u want.

Gan, i tink we will pay a monthly rate ..easier.. but duno how much yet.. shld not be very far off from paying daily rate.. i leave it to my mum to settle..keke.. coz i want her to find smbody she is comfortable with.....

Grumpus, i was thinking i possible i latch on at night to bf. if that's the case would be better baby sleep with me right? coz she cries, i can go carry her and feed her. but my mum thinks i won't have enuff rest during confinement.
But if bb sleep with CL i also need to figure how to fit a cot in the room which CL sleep as the room is quite tight now.
Hmmm.. really not sure what to do

Pandawife, would be quite ex to have a daily par time helper, i think no difference from a full time helper but i guess the good thing is you have your privacy.

I will ask my part time helper to come once a week to do cleaning once i delivered. normal days, hubby will do simple cleaning but if we can't manage, would get the part time helper to comes in more frequently every week.

i also dun want a full time helper coz felt akward to have a stranger staying with us in our super small home, like no privacy at all.

I also want to find part time cleaner but don't know of any good ones in my area. Seng Kang area. Any good recommendations ?

Gan,
not necessarily if latch on better if bb sleep with u cos sometimes bb fuss not from hunger so better to let the CL handle. if really hungry then bring to u.

last time i didn't even hv room for my CL lor. she slept in the living room on a tilam and my girl slept in the cot outside with her.

Nancy, yeah...i deliberately bought flat near my parents... so tht convenient for us to pop by each other's place.... mil dun stay so near..so she opt to move over n stay w us for the intial mths instead of having to travel to n fro.....

Gan, yes its not cheaper to hv part time helper.... but at least its a local person, with good hygiene practices n knows what to do.... no need to train n puke blood...hehe..

of coz, the privacy part too...

its so warm today...tht i m craving for a cup of icy cold coke!

now drinking my red dates drink n trying to imagine its coke :X

grumpus, thanks, never think of bb crying not because of hunger. will ask my hubby to figure on the arrangement of the cot in the other room or maybe we buy a playpen to put in the room for the confinement.

Didn't think of letting CL sleep in the living room with my bb coz my living room is west facing, so living room would be very warm at night. At least the other room has air con too, so if bb sleeps there won't feel warm.

My cl requested $3k for twins... And she ask whether we have maid not.. Cos if got maid she can focus fully on bbs.. She say not easy to handle twins.. We will need a maid after confinement period..

Everyone tells me its really tedious to handle two bbs.. Esp for first time mum... Will be v hectic after cl leaves... So i also dont know whether i can handle not..
My maid will be cuming next mth.. She will focus on hsewk only... I will take care of the bbs.. But will need her to help me on little things like helping to prepare bath water.. Wash bottles.. Extra hands to pass me things if im carrying bb..

Hello girls! I see today's topic is CL

My CL cost me $3.3k leh, you girls so good, can get cheaper rate. But mine is over CNY period maybe that's why higher.

My friend who just had twins advised that definitely will need CL cuz you will be recovering from c-sec and if bf on demand, it will practically be round the clock. She even wished she had her CL for two months.

For me, I will have my mom, maid and CL. Maid will do purely housework, laundry etc. My mom and CL will tag team to take care of bbs, and my mom also gonna buy groceries. When hb on leave (for first one-two weeks hopefully), either bbs sleep w CL and she will bring to me for feeding or bbs sleep with us (hb says he wants bbs to sleep with us and he will do the taking care). When hb goes back to work, CL and bbs will sleep with me, hb sleep in spare room. That way, he will have energy for work.

Wah, I see all of you have each other's FB. May I also join in? V curious to see all of you leh (I've only seen Panda so far)
How to do this PM ah? I don't even know how to do that :S Those who don't mind, can PM me your add?

Working wife
3.3k is v cheap lo.. Cos yrs is over cny... Usually cl charge double... Its only $300 more than mine..

Yr arrangment is abt the same as me.. Maid do hsewk.. Cl and me will focus on bbs.. Mum will help out when can..

most of u are talkg abt high blood pressure, seems like im the only one with low blood pressure. my doc said nthg can be done
i do get a bit of dizziness these days. any ladies experiencing low blood pressure also?

oh some of u bought ur baby cot already? can tap on your research? which are the better brands to get? there are different types of mattresses to consider also? where offer got price? thks for sharing

Nancy, i think the last time u asked me what is the shipping charges for the braun thermometer? Just got VPost charges, it is $18.32

Happyhippo, there is a baby fair at expo, think can go check out the cots there. a few of us bought the shears cot from Tangs. It costs $199.

Happyhippo
Low bp... Does taking iron tabs help? How low is yr reading?

Gan mention alot of us bout the shears cot... Its quite nice and cheap... It comes with free foam mattress.. But u can pay extra for latex or coconut husk mattress.. I upgrade to latex for $149... Or u can go baby kingdom website to look at their cots too...

Btw when is yr edd? How many weeks are u now?

baby, gan
is the shears one or two hand operate?
how long can it last till?
did u hv otr brands in mind?

erhh i never ask doc my bp reading. he just said its on the low side. actually, before preggie, i normally considered low bp also. only difference is that lately started to feel the dizziness.
i'm in my 32wks, edd in mid dec

scary...like still got lots thgs hvnt buy yet... also deciding on cord blood storage. any of you gals considering it?

I specially asked my MIL to buy for me supper from chinatown. Guess what I had? 6 siew mai and 1 "da=bao". Scary hor?

My appetitie is really back!!!! hehehehehehe

talking abt eating, everytime my DH come back from his entertainment or meet up with frens I will ask "did u tabao anything for me"
the answer is always "No"

Happyhippo
The shears cot is the standard size.. I think can use up to maybe 2yrs plus old... It needs two hands to pull down the side rail... It comes in white colour only... Its the cheapest cot so far...

Just faith
Siew mai v small only.. Its ok lah... Eat more bbs will grow better hahaha... For bfast i already can eat two char chew bao plus one big bao... Hehe.. Yr one small case lah...

Happyhippo
Did u discuss with dr f on cord blood storage?
U having one bb so can consider storing...
Did u ask whether dr f will be on leave in dec? Cos i understand dr f usually will on leave for a few days during sch hols... Our edd is mid of dec.. We might deliver earlier in early dec... So if dr f is on leave during that period.. Dont know how also..

happyhippo
My bp is also generally low. Just make sure your iron supply is sufficient. By now u would have already had a full blood test to make sure your levels are adequate. Nothing much u can do with low blood pressure, can eat more food rich in iron, don't go to crowded places and make sure u get enough fresh air etc. If you feel dizzy, try taking a sweet drink, it can help. So far so good for me, I'm alright, still feel energetic and going to work daily.

Hi Panda, JustFaith, Gan,

So shy to ask, but can I also add you on my FB?
I wld love to see your babies' photos in future... it feels like not only do we know each other since our ET days, we also know each others babies already

Baby79 - you don't have FB as far as I can recall?

Nancy, Rose,

The PruFirst policy that you mentioned does not cover for IVF pregnancies. I have done alot of research on policies. Right now, there is no policy that we can buy.... can only consider one after baby is delivered.

Baby,

The siew mai that my MIL bought from chinatown is not small.. hehe. Moreover, that was my supper.... Anyway, thinking abt food, I am going to heat up 3 more "da-bao".... "da-bao" anyone????????

Pandawife,

Since we got married in 2007, my MIL will make us oatmeal for BF... very boring de leh. I know she mean well but really lorz... imagine eating the same food every morning for preggy ladies is a damn boring thing. Unless I beat her to it. That is, if I have my BF before she makes the oatmeal for us.. thats why I am steaming the buns now... LOL.

everyday oatmeal???? wow..... i can understand.. i alternate between cereals n oatmeal already boring leh! hahaha... n i try to mix with different fruits.... smtimes put yogurt...

today is raisins and a banana......

enjoy ur da baos! keke....

Just Faith,
Ya.. I saw.. Tonight I go cfm u k..

Working wife,Cant PM u my email leh. Can you PM me instead? Just click on my nick to send me a private message with your email then I add u..

Talking abt CL, I also intend to leave the baby with the CL at night for the first month. Try to rest well for the first month.. Thou think need to wake up in betwwen to pump milk but at least only once. If baby slps in with us, I experience b4, the entire night no slp no rest and just carrying the crying baby. Very siong de.. Thats why I tell u. I cry when baby cry cos I simply dunno what she wants when I have done everything. But I guess, maybe this round, 2nd time liao, I might be better le.. Fingers crossed.. :p

JJ, I also scared of CL. But this time round, this one was recommended to me by my fren who used her b4 and will be using her again for her coming baby. So I think she should be alright. Ya. I'm happy that she stated what she wants clearly. If she's good, will give her more, if find her ok ok only. Then just stick to the original angpow price lor. Plus, one thing good is she dun need us to pick her up etc, she say she'll find her way to our place.

However, for those who are engaging CL, will u girls be applying for work permits for your CL? Cos my fren who did her confinement recently did it for her CL leh. She say just need to go MOM website to apply can le. Cost is ard $200/$400 if I didnt rem wrongly.

I ran out of Anmum milk and opened one sample of EnfaMama... OMG, the milk was so sweet. Anyone taking EnfaMama or wants to try EnfaMama?? I have one EnfaMama chocolate flavour to give away. Dont think I will enjoy the chocolate flavour as I am who dun eat chocolate or sweet stuff.

tickles - mine also say don't need transport cost which is good cos I heard stories of some CL that demand that they be picked up from train station. now awaiting further discussions with both parents before I set a deposit. Btw how many bottles of rice wine is recommended to buy huh?

pandawife - I confirmed u lei! yr eyes are so big n pretty! haha...

just woke up & lazing in bed now, later go make my ceral then will set off to kkh for my Oscar scan

JJ,
previously i bought 10 bottles of the confinement wine. but mine is really full confinement, everything also use the wine.
if u intend to ask CL not to use too much ginger wine etc prob u'll need less.
after confinement also still can use if u know how to cook some simple dishes lah...

just faith - so far I'm taking fresh milk only. then sometimes miss drinking it cos by the time I reach hm it will be too late or I'm too lazy to drink

yr milk is in packages form? can I have some to try? I'm quite sick to keep drinking Milo / hot chocolate in office lei

JJ, thanks..haha.. my eye bags also equally big now...LOL.....

i hv replied ur FB msg

grumpus, 10 bottles!! wow...thts alot leh.......u hv it for every meal?

just faith - I just added u in FB in case u thot which stalker trying to add u = p
my name starts with J (of course)