IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Baby, has bot all necessary items except the BP, nursing bras, disposable undies and maybe some small items bah.

I bought the latex mattress from Tangs. The cot and mattress will be delivered on 4 December.

How abt you? all shopping done?

Gan
Yr cot delivering so late ah... My cots already arrived.. Airing the cots now...
I also have some small items hvt buy... Bumper, bedsheet, maternity pads... Maybe will buy more disposable undies.. Cos i only bought 3 pkts.. Total 15pcs.. Like not enough...
Which breast pump u buying? Maybe can buy online to have cheaper prices..

Gan,baby
Your blood pressure should not fluctuate so much, if there is such a big difference, means your pressure is irregular and your heart is working extra hard. So if need to take bp meds just take ok, it is to regulate your bp. The longer you delay taking, it may become worst. Dr don't simply prescribe meds, they have your safety at heart and just want to minimise any complications you may get.

baby,
my last pregnancy my bp also very unstable. take at dr always 160+ then dr ask me rest and relax, take again more acceptable at 140+.
at home i monitor abt 130. my dr also never once brought up bp med to me. end up my girl was born underweight.
this time round, my bp is so stable. always 130 regardless of when and how many times i take. so i think it does play a part in bb development.

maybe u want to ask yr dr abt it the next time u see him

Grumpus, so you think blood pressure was the reason for your girl's low birth weight? Did your doc say anything when he/she detected slower growth rate?

Baby, will be buying medela swing at kkh pharmacy after birth as i wld be given a $100 vouchure to spend there.

Gan,
i dun think it directly cause my girl's low birth weight but i think it indicated that something was not quite right. my dr did note my bp was higher than normal but just ask me to monitor at home. when i monitored at home it was normal so he never ask me to take bp med.
a few times i had protein detected in urine but when urine sent to lab for culture came back negative so it was left at that too.

i was under very close monitoring for the last 8 wks of my pregnancy but there was nothing definitive, so just continued until my girl was born lor.

this time round we took a lot of preventive measures, extra calcium supplements plus aspirin. so far my girl is bigger than my elder girl at the same stage of pregnancy and my bp is very stable. so seems that there is a correlation.

My last BP check at clinic D was already 132 & I was 8wks only...

My dad's side of family has history of high BP. Really scared will affect me ... am trying to cut down salty food but since I don't cook I need to eat outside daily ...

juz fyi, when my last BP was 130, Dr Loh told me that was considered borderline high. Asked me to do a retest and then it was less than that. Mine was usually ard 125-130.

JJ,
my family also has history of high BP.
dun worry, although yr BP at 8 wks is 132, as long as it remains stable and doesn't keep climbing up u're still ok. as pregnancy progressess, not necessarily BP will keep going up and up.

Thanks grumpus - i also hope my BP maintains, if dr loh give me meds for BP I'll take cos I've seen what high BP can do..

Early delivery in twins is already somewhat fated, added onto to that high BP which will trigger even earlier birth is scary.

Just Faith,
hehehe yup, had lots of fun but xiong also. u didn't see the pics when i carried my elder girl in a backpack carrier on my back and walked....

grumpus wow, u carry one in tummy and one on ur back! Must be tiring....

How old was ur elder girl when u start bringing her to travel?

Grumpus

I kinda admire you carrying your gal when you have a little one inside. Saw yr tummy. You are in late 2nd tri right?

Gan, protein leak in urine n low bb weight are linked to high bp. Protein leak can be a result of GD too. Good control of sugar level n bp will stop protein leak. That is why every visit bp n glucose levels r tested. They r all correlated. All medicines have side effects. drs give when benefits are greater than side effects. Medicine will stablise the bp n not cause fluctuation. bb aspirin thin the blood but still mtbs take. Dr will Nv insist tt patients shld take coz the choice is with us as we take the outcome.

Gan,
hehehe actually is quite ok, better than carrying her in front with my arms. at least on the back in a proper carrier her weight is evenly distributed. carry in front i get very bad backache cos all off balanced :p
i cleared it with my dr and she said it was fine. i read online and seems ang mo mothers do it all the time too.

we first took my girl travelling when she was one. that was to HK also. then last dec we took coach to KL and this yr mar we drove up to sunway lagoon and most recently to HK again.

Just Faith,
yup am 26wks now. Actually no choice lah, if u hv one kid already and preggie with another u will do the same. cos is not fair to the elder kid mah...

Hazel, yes when protein are detected in urine and coupled with high BP, Preeclampsia is usually detcted. I am currently taking bb aspirin. Will discuss with Dr Loh next wednesday after my growth scan to see if i shld take the BP med.

How are you doing?

Wow...good afternoon all ladies. This morning after breakfast, suddenly felt giddy and slept through the whole morning. Strange, whole body seems very very tired.

Gan, dun worry about your BP, monitor closely and since Dr Loh never insist you have to take the BP med, its up to you. Thought you are in the advert line, coz I am in designing line. :p

Grumpus
I have the same situation as yr previous pregnancy... High bp during dr visit but home reading normal... Dr also nvr mention bp med...

Also detect protein urine.. But urine culture come bk normal..

Yr girl born underweight... During antenatal visit yr bb weight is normal or below avg? Cos my bbs weight is slightly above avg... So not sure whether cos mybbs growing well so dr not so concern...

If urine culture comes bk normal means there is no protein? So means no preeclampsia?or urine culture only test for bacteria infection?

baby,
my girl's weight was below avg from abt 26 wks onwards, by 32wks she stopped growing totally. if yr bbs are growing well, water level is good then dr won't be as concerned.

the urine culture is to test for protein. mine all came back negative so officially i was not diagnosed with pre-eclampsia. till today the cause for my girl's low birth weight is officially unknown.

Grumpus
Yr bb gal stop growing at 32 weeks... Whats yr gal weight when she is born? Born at how many weeks?

My bbs weight at 27w + 2 days is 1.2kg and 1.17kg... Dr says very good... Water level is good too... So i suspect thats the reason why dr not concern on my high bp.. My bp has nvr been normal at my dr clinic.. Dr says im too anxious liao.. But im not leh so i also find it strange when so high...

Urine culture also test for protein... Preeclampsia sure have protein urine? If i dont have means i dont have preeclampsia?

Baby,
My girl was 1.86kg at birth. Born at 37wks through elective cesarean cos my dr said no pt keeping her inside already.
There are 2 conditions, high bp and pre eclampsia. High bp is just high bp, pre eclampsia is high bp + protein.
Both conditions can cause low weight bb and/or pre term delivery.

rose...hmmm dunno leh, i already kiasu asked for free samples last nite. =p

grumpus how long can we keep disposable? Got expiry date?

Just Faith, Grumpus,
U girls have each other on FB arh.. I also wanna see pics.. Can add me? I PM u my email k...

Have u already got something in mind what insurance plan to buy for ur baby/babies? Read some can buy as early as for 15 day old baby.

rose, not yet leh....will call them maybe tomorrow or friday.

Nancy insurance as in health or those savings plans for study? Which co u looking at?

Rose
Prudenital prufirst can buy once u reach 18 weeks of pregnancy. But i read from somewhere that they dun cover those that conceive thru IVF. Have u checked or spoke to any of their representative?

Yes, nancy. I spoken to my prudential agent. She also said very difficult to get if conceive thru IVF. Furthermore, I have preexisting condition... But she said after giving birth can get for the newborn.

Gan
I also dun know....just thought maybe the earlier I buy after delivered the better. Guess I will be so busy with the babies after delivery no time to do all these research so kiasu find out more first. My hubby not the kind to do such work so cant depend on him. Dun have any company in mind..

nancy my hubby also dun do research on such stuff....in fact usually i am the one who researched and feed him the info for decision. Hmmmm...good idea since i am home, nothing to do this week..can check out some info.

Rose
U mean after the baby is delivered we can buy the prudential prufirst and start from there? Is ur agent good? I dun know any prudential agents. Maybe u can PM me the contact? Thanks

Nancy, yes, this is what she told me over the phone. She has been my agent for more than ten years. Sure, if you wish to contact her...I PM you now.

Gan
Thought my hubby is the only one that leaves everything to me. All baby stuff let me decide
It's not he dun care but he think all these let the mum decide better he just concentrate on making $$$ to feed us since now I have no income. Plus in 7 weeks' time, he needs to feed a family of FOUR haha.....

Pls share the insurance info if u have any later on. Thanks

Same here. I do the searching and feed my dh with info. He will do the decision making, coz I pregnant, cannot think logical at times. :p

Online seems quite tedious to find the exact policy leh...give up. Think talk to agent is easier...

Sleepy again...

Rose
Haha...yes some of their websites not comprehensive or even informative. Have a nice nap of course with air con on of course....so warm !!!

nancy, no leh..today no appt... feeling tired..haha.. slept most of the morning away.....

afternoon very stoned... i m reading the posts...but lazy to type..keke... so warm n humid...

Twin mummies - Are u guys getting a CL ? I've asked for a price & its $3K (incld meals for me & DH)

if take away meals (2700)
Told my mum & she was like huh so ex $3K!! then she say she can do ... which i really doubt she can cos she getting on her years liao plus its been some time since she took care of new born