IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Bing,

Hospital will be giving you the leftovers they opened during they stay (think should be the same as all hospitals ba since they are charged to your bill). TMC is giving huggies NB. And prob you can surf net to ask for free samples now?

During my stay, I have free samples of mamy poko and drypers which I forgot when I asked for it le. But dont stock up too much of NB diapers in case your bb outgrow them too fast. MaYbe get S size. My friend told me Nepia is not bad but have to order at least 4 packets for delivery. If really running out, ask your hb to go to supermarket to buy. We did buy 2 packets of Drypers soft to standby.

Oh ya do you plan to breastfeed? If you are, you can try to ask glass bottles from hospitals in case you need to pump out and store them. The glass bottles can be sterilized. If not, can use milk bottles to store which is a much cost saving than storage bags. If supply is not in yet, can ask d nurse to cup feed them so that they might not get nipple confusion. Till now I still ask my MIL to cup feed them coz I still plan to breast feed.

working wife
the twin nursing pillow... i saw got lavender and lime colours... but different prices le... is it different colours different prices?
the pillow arrive liao?

baby, not everyday hv ai xin meals..hehe...wkends usually my hb will go buy food from outside...then i will eat all kinds of junk..LOL.....

pampers and mamy poko seems to be the two premium brands... but i also read that the cutting for various brands differ....so it might depends on ur babies' size at birth....

huggies cutting are generally smaller...my cousin's baby outgrown the NB size very fast.... thts y pass me a whole new pack...

not storing cord blood.. coz both hb n i feel tht if not safe for multiples to donate, then its also not safe to store..since the process is the same... dont wanna take the risk...

skies, how are u feeling? recovering well? u r cup feeding ur babies FM or EBM?

skies
Heard alot says Nepia not bad... NTUC selling Nepia or they only do home delivery?
BBs will outgrow very fast to S size? Then how many pkts of nb should be prepare?

panda
is it? how come not safe for multiples to donate? u mean the public bank dont accept multiples cord blood?

huggies cutting v small ah? hmmm... then maybe i get pampers....

baby, i read on the public bank website tht they do not accept donation from high risk or multiples pregnancies...

i m not sure what the gynae has to do after delivery of the babies in order to store the cord blood..but if the blood bank doesnt accept the donation, must hv a good reason due to risk involved.... so we decided to giv this a miss...

most impt is babies come out safe and sound....

yeah..huggies cutting is smaller... pampers is gd if u dun mind paying the slightly premium price..

panda
i see... hmm..

yes u are right... most impt bbs are out safe and sound...

pampers price is higher than other brands ah... i didnt know that...i hvt go check out the prices yet... but with two bbs... and breastfeeding will make bbs poo more often... i predict will use up alot of diapers... hmm..price do make a difference...

baby, yup... pampers and mamy poko are the "better" quality ones..but also higher priced as compared to other brands...

panda
did u check out the ralph lauren website?
heard my friends say can buy cheaper ralph lauren bb clothes online...

baby...i hv alot of clothes for the kiddos liao..haha.. will stop buying for now...

plus bil coming back from states in Dec..he will bring back alot too....

ralph lauren buy from their wbsite still expensive after sales.. its cheaper to buy from the US outlet stores....and babies grow very fast de... not worth spending on such brands i feel... i m quite happy to dress them in carters or gymboree... keke...

panda
yr reply v fast mann... u sitting infront of the pc ah?

what is carters and gymboree? pai seh..i very mountain tortise...hee...

I havent buy bbs clothes for the full month party and cny leh... all i buy is home wear type....
i figure i wont have time to shop for their clothes after they are born...

Skies,
You are right. I think bbs will outgrow the NB size diapers very fast. That's why I didn't stock up too many. I only have 1 packet of NB Pampers and Huggies. I will look at the sizes of my babies when they are born and stock up accordingly. I will be ordering Nepia later as alot of my friends recommended this brand. Probably will use Mammy Poko for night time.

How's your recovery now? Are you on total BF or have to supplement with FM? Oh what kind of cups do you use for cup feeding? Any small cup will do or need to get those with markings so that you can keep track of how much the babies are drinking?

baby, yeah lor..i m in front of laptop... chatting with fren on facebook.

http://www.gymboree.com/shop/asst_department.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302774749&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=1408474395917465&bmUID=1287300323366

http://www.carters.com/

i bought 3 outfits from BHG sales for either CNY or full mth party... besides tht, bil's last trip back in July, he bought back alot of carters and CK stuff for the babies.. n sil also kept buying ger ger dresses everytime she goes shopping... so end up i dun really need to buy much....

i bought the home wear clothes too...plus plenty of hand me downs....enuff to last the babies for at least 1st 6 mths..until they outgrow them....

pandawife,

My MIL is helping me w d cup feeding coz I still cant bend v well and Im not sure how to carry newborns. Im cupfeeding them w EBM unless running out of EBM then will supplement w FM (which I got fr hospital).

baby,

I'm not sure if NTUC sells NB and S size. Maybe you wanna check out first. But I vaguely remember that my friend told me NB and S size have to order online.

I also duno how fast they will outgrow but mine havent. Think it also depends on their weight when they are born? Maybe other mummies can answer.

Bing,

I got my cup feed from parentcraft TMC. It is a small cup but max volume is 30ml. So if bb drinking more than 30ml, have to split into 2 times to feed. Where will you be delivering? If they have, maybe can ask the nurse to charge to your bill. MIL feels it is better to feed EBM coz at least can keep track of how much they drink. If I feed them, I will feed them until they dont want to drink anymore thou PD say 15- 20 min on each breast.

Drafting my birth plan now. I think it's more for my hubby to make decision during delivery rather than for the midwife or the gynae. Also stopping my support pills today. I wonder whether the babies will take action soon once I stop taking the pills..

JJ,
This is the estimated bill size I got from KKH for A1 ward premier package for twins delivery:
-Normal delivery for 2 days (package & professional fee): $4180 (medisave claimable= $2100)
-Neonatal charges: $450-$1300 x 2 for twins (depending on whether the babies go to ward nursery/ special care nursery/ NICU)

I think the total bill size should be around $7000-$9000 if everything goes well and both mother and babies can be discharged within 2-3days

i just felt my bb ger having hiccups after my dinner! hehe.. first time i noticed it.. very interesting...keke......

she has developed the habit of playing with my ribs... gave me a few "ouches" today when she hit my rib bone.....:p

ladies, saw this post in one of the threads...

"Call the Nepia hotline at 62262650. They do free delivery for every 4 packs 0f diapers ($60). This saves us time and the hassle from carrying those heavy diapers.

In addition, they are willing to do one for one exchange for unopened packs if your boy suddenly outgrow that particular size. I appreciate this value added service as our baby have growth spurts."

Hi girls, good morning! Just back from my weekend away yesterday. It was great!! Stayed at Sentosa Resort & Spa, and it was so tranquil and nice. Am glad I chose that instead of IR cuz I don't think I can stand the crowds at IR.

Hb and I just had long leisurely breakfast, lunch & dinner and then just chill by the pool. And yesterday was first time I went into the pool for some walking... heheee.

Now its back to reality
today I hv appt with diabetics specialist to discuss starting insulin shots. Wish me luck... I'm really amazed at the power of the mind. I really cannot tahan injections but now I am about to learn giving myself insulin shots. Later this week is my growth scan and then appt w Dr Cheng. So busy week w the docs.

Baby,
yeah, I noticed diff colors for the pillows have diff prices. I bought the mocha one cuz it has waterproof cover and was one of the cheaper prices. Color not important to me. Haven't arrive yet.

Now I am left with strollers and some bedsheets to buy. Think the best deal is still OG for the Combi strollers that I want, cuz can get 15% discount w DBS card.

nancy, i dun tink so leh... size of tummy dpends on how strong ur abdominal muscles are.... smtimes bigger tummy could b the muscles are not as strong..so "drop" out more....

why u ask this qn?

Panda - the growth scan (its like the detailed scan that was done at week 20) is to check if bb's weight is growing alright. Usually done around week 30-32 but my doc said for twins to do earlier. Yes, done at TMC scan centre.

You did a detailed scan last week right? shld be the same I guess.

nancy,

How big is your tummy now? U are in week wat?
I realise my tummy still small despite in wk 24. Did you measure your waistline, how many cm?

working wife, my detailed scan last week is at KKH..hehe.. coz its my first time there..so they wanna check everything......

i did ask dr paul if after the 20th week scan, will there be anymore detailed scans...he says no more.... so quite curious when u mentioned u r doing growth scan... my next visit to see him will be 28wks plus already...

Thanks Gan! The price is cheaper there! OG after disc is $280 and this place is $250. But the stroller I want they only have 1 left leh... must try and see if can go today.

working wife, they can deliver ...above $150 free delivery leh..u dun hv to go down....

my gf always ask for delivery when she buys big items there....

Panda,

frm what I understand, its to check growth ie. they measure the femur length, abdominal circumference etc etc and check blood flow also. And its supposed to be ard 32 weeks... when Dr Cheng ask me to do the scan, his nurse said "Eh Dr... isn't it 32 weeks only do?" Then he said "Yes, but this one is twins so I want to scan more frequent". In fact, he said might need to do a few times ie. one now then maybe another one in 4 weeks time etc. Maybe cuz I have GD, and also my lil girl is smaller than her brother, so he wants to monitor closely.

Panda
I also ask my dr any more detailed scan.. He say no more..
Then i ask him no need to see the blood flow? He says no need.. One time detailed scan is enuff unless bbs not growing well then will order detailed scan..
He says when bbs are growing well that shows everything is ok...

Hello ladies, I am back to reality. No more shiok shiok aircon and good food. Back to old nest.

Pandawife, I have uploaded some pics in FB last week. You can see my vain niece.. LOL. You will not see me in the pics cos I am the one taking them. LOL.

just faith...cool, will check out the pics..hee...

baby, my chair is finally going to be delivered tmr!! hopefully can have some decent sleep tmr night....

mrs wong mentioned in her class to sleep reclining for later stage of pregnancy or multiple pregnancies... tink it shld b more comfortable....

pandawife, my gf with twins also slept in reclined position in her third trimester.

Working wife which combi model u r buying?? We initially wanted to buy combi well comfort.

just faith did u go to the big candy shop?? i like the shop very much!

Rose dun remember seeing graco at og, saw carpella and combi. Robinsons selling graco, did u check it out?

Gan, yes, I did. Cause we makan at ding tai feng two times. So on both occasions, brought my nieces there while queueing for our turn at DTF. I think the shop name is candylicious or something like that. But I didnt buy anything.... LOL.

We saw fireworks on both nights... when you are there last week, any fireworks?

Panda/Rose
Maybe due to hormones and not sleeping well, having lots of bad dreams. Few times dreamt that my tummy disappeared. First thing i woke up from the nightmare was to feel if my tummy still there....

Cause at week 28, forgot to ask babies weight and dr also didnt mentioned and said all okay. This friday going for week 30 appt. Last night I was thinking if my tummy is too small for twins and couldnt sleep whole night .....sigh.

Working wife
Yes, the growth scan is at week 32. The nurse made the appt for me at week 24. Maybe dr cheng wants to monitor u closely.

nancy, i tink its the hormones... i also have bad dreams leh... about babies popping suddenly or rushing down to see dr paul coz of emergencies.... i try to relax during the day..dun tink so much....

dont worry about tummy size... dr paul told me tummy size not impt..most impt babies are growing well

tell u smthing..i was at CARE for my jab couple of weeks back.. bump into this twin mummy to be...she is about 4 weeks behind me in terms of due date...but her tummy is bigger than my triplet tummy! she was with her mum.. n her mum kept saying how come my tummy so small leh :S

after tht i was also abit worried...then when i went in for my jab...nurse told me, dont worry..tht lady is overweight..thts y tummy so big! hahaah... so funny......

i tink hor, as we get nearer to the due date... we develop more worries .....

i feel abit insecure leh... dunno if i m ready to take care of the babies :S

my frens kept telling me tht it will all come naturally...maternal instinct..when they are out, i will know what to do....

Hi Gan,

Yes, went robinson saw Graco. Thinking of getting its travel system (infant seat cum reversible bar stroller). But thought of seeing more Graco designs. Anyone been to Aprinsin Singapore at Tagore Lane?

Panda

Oh u also got bad dreams. Once i even dreamt that someone trying to steal my babies and open up my tummy !!

Couldnt agree more. Though still got 7-8 weeks to deliver been feeling insecure abt if i can care for the babies. The other night was telling my hubby when i am alone and 2 babies wanna drink milk. How to hold both of them and feed from the bottle? And he said " When time comes u will know what to do" and then i was so upset .....

I am glad I can pour out here. Thanks, Panda
My hubby will only say " Dun worry all will be fine". I shall not worry abt tummy size and eat when hungry...

nancy,

yeah lor..i also hv bad dreams.. smtimes i suspect its becoz i worry during day time..so night time hv bad dreams too... must zen..... listen to music n relax....

lately i get grouchy easily...maybe coz also feel tired alot....poor hb suffer.. smtimes i can tell he also buay tahan me! LOL.....but can only bear with it....

we are here to lend each other support... going thru ivf is already not easy... but we all made it! so must continue with the positive energies.. the journey is still a long way to go...

Me too leh... I also have werid dreams lately...
Dream i went for delivery... V scary... Seems so real..
Must be the stress and hormones playing on us...

baby, until now i dun dare to watch delivery/c sect shows / videos...

smtimes ignorance is a blessing... know too much, tink too much... will feel very stress.....

i will just let dr paul do his job when the time is right..hahahahaa.....

just faith, i wanted to buy the m&m baby bodysuit at the candystore coz very cute. But we already bot the hard rock bb clothes for her, so didn't buy. Didn't see fireworks coz only available weekend. Is the fireworks good?

Panda
I also dont dare to watch delivery programs...
Scare i will keep thinking abt it...

Btw, my urine culture results is bk.. No infection leh...
Dr says the protein level might be due to the urine contamination.. Maybe when i pee.. The urine comes in contact with the external part of my skin have contamination..

Hmm.. Surprise with the results cos im expecting i have uti.. Cos these few days i saw thick yellowish discharge.. Not frm my vaginal but frm the urinary tract leh...