IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

Panda
What is yr weight gain so far?
I also find the weight goes to my thighs and calves.. Duno is it nature way to help us support our belly better.. Haha..
My weight gain so far already abt 11kg leh... Still got abt 3 mths more.. Sure will gain more weight.. Abit scare scare.. Hoepfully after delivery can shed off the excess easily and quickly... Must not eat too much fatty food during confinement.. Then straight after confinement must on diet liao... I heard once u pass the first 3 mths nvr shed off ... It will be difficult to lose it after that...

baby, i gain 11kg too......

my gf who had twin boys told me not to worry abt weight gain..she says most multiples mummies are slim...coz we wil hv no time to eat n sleep after babies are out! hahaa.....

i wanna bf for at least 6 mths..dun tink i will try to diet during this period..

I check on the website.. For normal weight mummies.. 17-25kg gain is normal for having twins.. Gosh... My gynea says abt 15-20kg is normal...
Diet i mean eat less fatty and oily food.. Not in terms of reducing food intake cos bf needs more calories... Each feed we will burn abt 500 calories.. Must try not to eat fast food and fried food after delivery... These are the food that makes us gain weight...

Ya right nw dont worry abt the weiggt gain.. As long as bbs are growing well.. Its fine... Im sure we will shed off the excess pretty fast with taking care of multiples!

baby... i will be stuck with home cooked food for a long long time..coz parents n mil all babysitting in my house.. so they will be cooking the meals.....

gan, i bought the avent hair n body wash...also their liquid talc..

k, just bot the avent hair & body wash from OG...got 20%, also bot 1 karmy sleepwear...not many nice design left

Tickles,
wahhh yr girl so good, turn on mobile can get drowsy and sleep by herself.
with my girl if i turn on the mobile her eyes will be big and will not go to sleep.
so i only used it as a distraction, if i want to keep her occupied for awhile and change diaper etc...

gan2973
i also went to look at karmy sleepwear after hearing u all talk abt it. but design like not so nice leh. did u get the 1 piece gown type or 2 piece top+long pants? thinking which type easier.
if got visitors come to house, thinking if it is presentable or need to change out

happyhippo i bot 1 piece gown type...if got vistors i definitely will change...coz abit shy to let pple see me in skeepwear. I bot another 2 piece type from aussino during the 45% sale last weekend. Pants i wear below my tummy.

Pandawife...i was initially worried i can't wear coz free size...surprisingly can fit and got some room for expansion!

happyhippo,
all my home clothes now are karmy sleepwear, been wearing them since i delivered my #1 3 yrs ago.
if during confinement ppl visit me i dun bother to change, not my prob if they insist to come to my hse during confinement, afterall i never bath properly etc etc already so who cares as long as i'm comfortable :p
if not during confinement of cos i will change lah.

Can chk out ubermums brand at og for one piece sleepwear.. Cheaper than karmy... I bought it at $22.90...
But also not much designs lah...

Hmm... I havent buy the liquid talc yet... Will go og tml.. But no more 20%... I think use card got 10%... so still not too bad...

went for gynea appt yesterday and bbs have crossed 2kg mark. It was an relief for us but have gained more weight than before (prob coz of d mooncakes).

Anyway have tentatively booked d c-sect date on d 10th oct. But should be changing to 11th oct. Have opt for epidural instead of GA but d final say is not w me. The nurse told me d anthestist have d final say. If he finds that I'm not strong snuff for epi, i have to go for GA. Now feel so nervous coz hospital bag not packed, etc. And feeling a bit scared.

Skies
glad to hear that babies are above 2 kg each
how much weight have u put on? 10/10/10 is a popular day for delivery . Heard got surcharge hee ....
What do u mean not strong enough for epi ? If GA then hubby can't go in with u. So excited for you
jia you

Skies, last stretch!! So exciting! Good to know you've finally made up yr mind, now you can just focus on getting ready for their arrival.

Yeah, 10-10-10 is very popular... I guess if you want more unique birthday for your bbs, then choose 11-10-10... heheheee... if not next time all their classmates same birthday!

Did Dr Cheng suggest c-sec finally or you decided on your own? Well... all the best and will be praying for your safe delivery and speedy recovery!

Panda,

R u sure u wanna put all 3 babies together to zzz at night? I put my twins in 1 cot. Both were colicky. Everynight dh and I got no peace. Extremely tired.

Unless yr bbs are very guay, u need an emergency plan!! Maybe each of u zzz with 1 baby. U will be extremely tired if u latch them directly every 3 hours.

Gan, yeah.. Karmy's cutting is quite stretchable..hehe.. i tried to find 2pcs.. nothing suitable from there.. so ended up buying at sorella..but the cutting slightly smaller compared to Karmy.. the sales lady says wear for confinement ok, but now cannot fit..hehehe....

baby, you got stand by pacificers? i bought the avent 0-3 mths ones..

i noticed hor, my babies like to play with my bladder leh! aiyoh... it feels like they are kicking or punching the bladder and i get sudden urge to toilet break kind of feeling. :S

skies, feeling excited for you!! hmm... my doc never tell me epi or GA is not my final choice...i told him I want epi..he says ok..hahaha...

u can start to pack your hospital bag already! the date is drawing very near....

Singapoh, we will try to put them together... thts the "ideal" situation.... haha.. but whether can do it anot..we will know know when they are out.....

hb dun like the idea of babies in our room...coz once they get used to it, very difficult to put them back into bb room to sleep... n the last place we want them is on our bed....

hopefully babies are guai guai... angela did share with me its possible for all 3 to sleep together..some of the triplets mummy there have done it... so we will give it a try....

Singapoh - you mentioned that initial period you let both bbs sleep together and then you split them. What do you recommend? I was thinking of splitting them cuz my friend who had twins said they set each other off, so very hard to get sleep at night. So hubby sleep with one, she sleep with one.

But also read in the books that if twins are separated, they are sometimes also cranky and if you put them together they can sleep better. What happened for yr twins? Trying to figure out configuration of the rooms now

skies,
Wa.. 11.10.10.. Thats very very fast le.. Time flies. I rem that time we were just cycling tgt and now u're ready for delivery liao..
Start packingur hospital bag lo...

Grumpus,
ya.. my girl gets slpy the moment she hears the music from the musical mobile.. so quite easy for me. But of cos need to turn the lights off la.. Total darkness with only lights from musical mobile.

Panda,
Like that arh. My next appt is still 4weeks later which is on a sat. But I think after that will start to be 3 weeks then 2 weeks then weekly liao. We shall see how if I gt a weekday appt, I email u ya..

Skies
Wow so excited for u!! Cant imagine when its my turn.. I think i will have cold feet and palms... Hee..

Panda
Yup i got two avent pacifiers bought during taka fair.. But i wont use it unless really no choice..

Gals
My boobs are quite sore now leh... It is something i should be concern abt?

baby, same here.. its for standby purposes...

i oso hv very sore boobs... tink its normal.. last night slept on my left side..n first time the boobs felt so painful after I woke up...

in fact, my whole body aching today..LOL...

nancy:

Think I put on 20kg. Did not monitor for 1st tri so not sure bout weight gain. I did ask bout extra charges coz its a weekend. But he said since he suggested so there wont b any. There is a lady who booked on that day at 10am.

Working wife:

Gynea is ok w natural birth but he mentioned that complication for 2nd bb is more in case she turned around coz got alot of space then might need to go for C- sect. He had some cases when d mummy has to go through natural n C- sect which I think will be quite drama for me. So I guess to go for one type of birth plus I'm not confident enuff to push 2 out.

pandawife:

When I told my gynea I want epi, he said ok. But when d nurse booked d schedule, she said GA then I was shocked. I told her I want epi and she double check w gynea. After that she told me, I dont have d final say. But I did not ask on what conditions does d person decides.. But on d whole I booked C-sect w epi.

Panda
Same here! It started yesterday when i woke up.. My boobs v sore... Today also same thing.. Now my whole body aching too.. Like i went to run a marathon...

tickles:

That's very fast lor.. And Im not really mentally prepared!!! Will start packing.. Still need to buy pyjames n disposable panties.

baby:

Im starting to get cold feet. But 14th is d last deadline for me.

Btw for disposable panties, do I need to prepare enuff for d hospital stay or for whole month???

Skies
Ya i can totally feel yr excitement yet scare at the same time.. I also will feel the same when my time comes... The thought of it already make me have cold sweat mann...

I think the disposal undies is more for hosp stay and during the first 2 weeks when the lochia is heavier in case it will stain the undies... Afterwhich i think can wear own panty liao cos the flow will be lighter... I prepared abt 3 pkts.. 5pcs each pkt.. If nt enuff will ask hubby go buy.. Watson also selling..

Panda
U will go for epi or ga c sect?? Did u discuss with dr paul? I havent talk abt it with my gynea yet...

skies,

ohhh.. ok.. then i better be prepared also..just in case hv to go under GA... prefer epi too....

baby, we hv 3 more mths to go... hv to bear with the discomfort... i m hoping can sleep better when the chair is here...now i sleep with 1 memory form pillow, one full body size pillow and a pregnancy support pillow...but still alot of bodyaches... esp the sides ...

baby, if possible, i wanan do epi.. i already told Dr Paul i dun want GA..hehe.. he says ok to have epi... wanna see the babies immediately when they are out! it will be a once in a life time experience..coz will not have triplets again after this pregnancy...hehehehe :p

skies, i bought 5 packs of disposable undies.. TMC will provide disposable undies and maternity pads during your stay there...i m using the disposable undies for confinement..so no need to worry about washing stained undies....PJs can just throw into washing machine to wash...

Panda
I heard with epi u can still feel pressure but no pain.. I scare scare lah... But ga recovery is slower.. And will feel drowsy after waking up... Hmm.. I think i will go for epi c sect... Shall ask dr during my next visit...

Have u decide whether to store bb cord blood?

Hello, went for my OGTT and baby growth scan today. Her size is average.. hehe. I am also happy that baby is now 823 gms today. Also measurement her body's circumference, head circumference too. I am 26weeks+1day. btw, when does 3rd trimester start?

Pandawife, i put on more weight finally... but abt 4.5kg.. phew. lucky baby got absorb.

baby,

it depends on individual n the doc.. i hv frens who told me they can feel some pulls n tugs..but some who said they dun feel anything at all....

have not done by research on cordblood yet, u decided?

my baby cots are here... looks bigger in my house compared to at the store..haha.. luckily the two cots can fit into the room with a single bed...

PandaWife,

Ya lor, kinda worried. Cause got people says I lost weight... I think because my tummy rounder, so body becomes smaller.. haha.. they need new pair of glasses.

Oh 28 weeeks ah? okay, thanks. I need to set a deadline to finish my shopping list.. but target to finish shopping by end Oct or 1st week of Nov.

Dr Loh says must feel at least 10 movemnts per day. Then I told him, no worries, she is very active, I feel movements almost 24/7.

Skies,

As you get nearer to delivery date, lesser movements for you. Baby getting ready their positions. So, this is one of the symptoms when you are going to pop.

Are u working? I stay at home most of the time. Lying on bed.... so her movements are obvious to me...

Just faith,

Sometimes I really duno leh. I can feel their movements are greater now but not as often.

Today is d last working day for this year (hopefully). Tmr have to start prepare d rest of d things in case I will get panic.. Only left few days..

skies i think when we are working, we may not notice baby movement so much bah. I dun feel my gal move every hour...more after meals, or at night when i am watching tv or abt to sleep. And sometimes during meeting, can feel her movement when pple are talking

Just Faith,

So early got to count movements ah... i asked Dr at 24wks visit.. he says now no need to worry about movements.. if baby is facing inside..will not feel the movements. only when they turn n face out, then we can feel...

u still have alot of time to slowly shop..enjoy urself!

Panda
Yr cot is definitely big lor... To me it looks so huge at the store haha... When i show my hubby he straight away shake his head in disapproval... Haha..

I hvt decide on cord blood yet so tot of asking u... Cos we have more than one bb so storing its not cheap...

Just faith
When will yr edd be? During dec?
U only put on so little weight? So nice.. No need to worry abt losing weight after delivery...

baby,

yeah..hehe.. we put it beside the single bed..its like almost as big.. shld b able to last the babies a few years before we hv to change beds...

i tink during the doctor's talk session, the cordbanking pple will be there.. so i will check on the necessary information...

i read that we can use the baby bonus to pay for the storage.. they will do the necessary deduction from the bank account ....

Pandawife ,

I just sign up with cordlife 2 day ago. U can use CDC acct to pay when u deliver. Now they don't collect any money from u. They will also give u the kit to bring to hospital on the day u check in.

According to the sales from cordlife , we need to inform our gynae that we are storing our bb cordblood.

Fashion/panda
Cordlife is private bank right?
What is the baby bonus amt? If twins we will have two share of baby bonus?
So we dont have to fork out a single cent from our pocket? But sebsequent yearly must pay from our cash or can use the baby bonus?

Working wife,

If both babies can zzz together in harmony then let it be. If nobody gets any zzz , then separate them at night and see how.

Baby,

Yes cordlife is a private banking. For the initial payment can use bb bonus and even the yearly as long as ur CDC acct got money n till 6 or 7 yrs. If I'm not wrong. For twin I'm not sure how much bb bonus is. The yearly amt is abt $250. U can choose yearly renewal , 10 yrs plan or 21yrs plan. U can call them n the consultant will advise u .

fashion spree did u do a comparison between cord life and stem cord? Why did u choose cord life? Seems like cord life more popular

btw i changed my appt with dr loh to 8 oct coz hubby not free on 13 oct. Dr loh also not replying my email regarding high blood....

baby/gan, i was reading off cordlife, stem cord and SCBB websites... got the below off SCBB... we were also considering donating..but seems like for twins/triplets/high risk pregnancies, its considered not eligible.

In the event that the donor/child or family members need the donated cord blood for transplant can the cord blood unit be requested?

Donated cord blood is not reserved for the specific family’s usage. However, if the family requires the cord blood unit and it is still available in the bank, we will work with your Transplant Physician on the release should it be found suitable. If the cord blood unit has already been released for transplantation, we will also work with your Transplant Physician on finding a suitable unit.
Data shows that it is most unlikely that donors should ever need their own cord blood unit as most Transplant Physicians may not feel that the patient’s own cord blood unit is the best choice. This is because it may already carry the genetic abnormality that led to the blood or immune system failure or cancer in the first place.

How are cord blood units matched?
All cord blood units are tested for Human Leukocyte Antigen (HLA) when they meet the banking criteria. The HLA results are stored in a central register so that when anyone needs a cord blood unit, they can search the register, compare it with that of the transplant patient, and see, if there is a match. It is too late to start testing for a match only when a patient needs it. That is why it is important to make sure that the HLA typing results are on a public cord bank register.

A well-matched donor is important to the success of a stem-cell transplant. Half of our HLA markers are inherited from the mother and half from the father, so each sibling with the same parents has a 25% chance of matching. It is unlikely that the extended family members will match. According to the NMDP registry, about 70% of patients who need a transplant do not have a suitable donor in their family.

Panda,
actually, when i had my elder girl i did also consider storing her cord blood. i asked my bro who is a dr for his very honest opinion whether he thinks it's necessary.
he also said the same thing, that based on current research there are very very few illness where a person could use back their own cord blood. only in situations where stem cell transplant is required for a non-genetic illness. which is very few lah. the other option is when u hv more than one child and the cord blood may be used by another sibling provided they are a match.

but he did qualify saying that this is based on current research. storing cord blood is a life long thing, who knows what the situation will be like in 40, 50 yrs time. so some parents take it like buying insurance.