IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group

working wife,

my gf shared with me that bottle brushes have tendency to "scratch" the bottles.. she ask me to buy pigeon sponge washes. comes in two sizes, one for bottle, one for teats.

sounds like u had fun at OG!

Tickles
hope ur tummy is feeling better

Gals
the baby cot at tangs big enough for two babies in the first few months ? Hubby out of town can't go down take a look. Thanks

Baby
I also afraid cAn't cope bf the twins. I Standby fm just in case. Dun intend to stress myself to bf them though got pump everything ready. Do what I can. What a bad mummy hor

og sales
today last day......

Nancy,
Yeps.. I'm better today le. Went to see a doc on mon night when my tummy ache didnt get better. Wa on mc yday and enjoyed the time with my #1 cos she was also sick and couldnt go to sch..

Working wife,
seems like u enjoyed ur shopping wor..
Bought so many things..

Just faith,
Erm.. ur MIL really very pantang.. Maybe u tell her lor, when the guys come and install the cots, u dun stay in the house lor? Same goes for when hubby is installing the armchair? Actually hor, my hubby installed my girl's kiddo bed few months back. But he was in 1 room and I hid in another room. Then he shifted the finished product into our room. Initially wanted to shift the position of my bed to accomodate the kiddo bed. But my mom told me not to shift the position of my own bed till after confinement. So that one I listen. But I think as long as when the installation is done and u are not ard should be ok de. Just do that in dec when ur cots arrive can le.. I guess ur MIL also anxious abt the babies only..

Nancy,
Actually no need to stand by fm de. Cos u also dunno what milk the hospital use. Later the babies nif not used to the taste will reject also. Or u can also get free samples from ur PD clinic when u go for the first check up. The PD will recommend de. I rem for my #1, cos of my low milk ss, the PD suggest that I alt feed with fm and she suggest NAN Ha to me as it taste very similar to bm so baby will not reject and she gave me free samples too.

Dun think that u bad mummy la.. Actually if ss low also no choice de. That time I also, cos too tired, no help plus no appetite to eat and also 1st time mummy, so ss very low. Just do whatever u can.

Panda,
Wa.. spend so much on the armchair arh? Take a pic of the chair and post on fb leh. Then I can go see see.. The way u describe like sounds so comfy.. I also have not been slpin well. Always wake up in the middle of the night then fall back to slp again. Cant slp thru de.. Now also becoming Panda liao.. (@_@)

Just Faith - I also bought that ikea chair long ago but now its in the living room, will shift it to bb room when deco-ing up the room...
I agree its very comfy but don't have stool to put up leg ... but can improvise & get those small cushion stool for the leg

Girls, im also in a dilemma over this superstition...
I have lots to pack to free the room for BB...which includes shifting a huge cupboard out, installing curtain rods and curtains etc...
however we were advised against it...and to do it when the baby arrives...
Im catholic and my MIL thinks it's alright..but my mom and grandma think otherwise...and yes i agree i rather err on the safe side... so nothing is done lor...
that lack of preparation freaks me at times..

PinkD,
my mum is very pantang abt these things too and u know i'm not lah.
can compromise? get hb and other ppl to do it while u step out of the hse for awhile?
my mum was ok with that.

Pandawife - the newborn cheap clothes is at Ang Mo Kio Blk 722 near the AMK polyclinic is it ?

how abt the Full House furniture shop, can provide me the full add ?

cos both of these are near my hse I can go view when nearer to my due date

Tickles
glad to hear that u r well
thanks for the advice on fm. After the babies are discharged do hospitals give us some fm to bring home ? Maybe I should see which brand they drink well and ask hubby go buy the tins.

I will try to bf as much as I can but since I first time mum with twins and without help after cl leaves I am not sure if I can cope. Maybe with fm also can't cope hee.... Take one step at a time.

tickles, yeah.. the chair quite expensive.. but really comfortable. it has cushioned arm rests, attached leg rest and also reclining at different angles. when its delivered, i take a pic n show u.

JJ, yes yes, the amk shop is very near polyclnic. its the same row as emi cake shop if u know where that is?

The address of Full House Furniture is:
56, Serangoon North Ave #01-01

if u wanna check out the chair, the display set at the store is a 2 seater.. but its also available in 1 seater..

RE: shifting of furniture...
we also did shifting of furniture from bb room to study room... while all the action was going on, i hide in my bedroom.
all the bb furniture will be delivered and assembled this week.. coz we wanna have everything in place and packed before i go my mum's place from wk28...

tickles, i m also very sleep deprived.. u see all my photos..the eye bag so big ! even after using many layers of cement to cover, still can see the dark eye circles de... now i cannot stay in 1 position for more than an hour.. will wake up from the extreme discomfort n hav to try and turn to the other side....

Just faith/JJ
This chair looks comfy but its not fixed right? Meaning it will move when u move yr body.. Would it be abit giddy??
And the arm rest looks v thin.. Can support for bf?
I too wana get a arm chair frm ikea.. But cant find anytin that look comfy for bf leh...

Just faith,
The cot will be delivered in assembled form. We started buying furniture for our babies quite early as we are afraid that I will be too clumsy to walk around in 3rd tri. My MIL is also pantang like yours. That's why we don't dare to tell her what we've bought. Luckily she's not staying with us. Otherwise sure alot of things can't be done and can't be said.

the chair cushion are big & fluffy hence comfy if seated on it.

baby u very observant - the handle is indeed thin & also metal so in aircon room will be cold. I solve it by stuffing with pillows there ...

its a swivel chair so will move around.

Panda - thanks for the tip! Will check out the sponge wash.

Baby - yeah, applied OG card before that so managed to get the points for the things we bought. No discount cuz the stuff already on 20%.

If you plan to use normal pillow for bf, is it the firm type? Cuz i see the twin nursing pillow is firm one, you can just leave bb lying on both sides without carrying. My gf said super useful especially when u need to bf both at same time.

Also, she was telling me don't worry if u hv to supplement with formula milk cuz it is very hard to bf two.. just do our best and sometimes need to supplement with fm its ok.

grumpus: i know they have our welfare at heart and seriously I cant afford anything adverse to happen to the little one...hence i haven done anything...
i wonder if i can leave the house while HB does the stuffs...

Working wife
Can give me the link to see the twins bf pillow?
I know mybrest friend pillow is firm type... I think it cost abt $90 each... I dont know should i buy bf pillow le...

Maybe we can wait till we deliver.. We can use normal pillow first.. If cannot then ask hubby to go buy the bf pillow..

baby, i m not getting the pillow.. seems like alot of mummies are selling theirs preloved on forum.. coz cant use for very long.. once babies are bigger, not very useful.

rather invest in items that are of longer term use... i read in a multiples breastfeeding book...that a good bfing chair is a must have ...i see the picture..the mummy sit in an armchair, put two pillows on her..n the two babies on top ....

Mothercare Harbour front is giving $10 voucher wz $30 spent on regular priced items on a single receipt wz DBS card. Voucher can be used for new purchase of min $50. Till Sep 30

Panda
Ya lor.. That time when i take the bf pillow at taka fair.. One lady came up to me asking me whether i wana buy her 2nd hand bf pillow.. She say she didnt use it at all.. In the end i put back my pillow and didnt buy... Cos its not cheap and seems like alot mummies letting go their bf pillow..
So u are right.. Might as well spend it on other tins...

This is why i wanted to get a arm chair.. But i dont want to spend too much on it... Actually a 2 seater sofa not bad.. Can stack up pillows on our sides.. Wont scare bbs will fall frm the sides... But take up too much space.. Hmm.. Headache

Btw, do u intend to attend the tmc doc talk?

baby, i din buy 2 seater ....i bought a 1 seater..coz space constrain too... now will put in my bedroom to sleep.. after babies are out, we will try to see if can fit into babies' room... the eventual plan for the chair is it will form part of our sofa set... coz it comes in over 30colors..u can pick one tht is closest to ur sofa...

yup.. wanna attend the doc's talk.. u not going? mine is 12 Oct..

Panda
I saw a armchair not bad at ikea.. But cost $359... Abit too exp... But if cant find a good armchair.. Will be difficult to bf..

My doc talk also on 12 oct.. Its at a school... Like abit troublesome... Hmm.. I may not attend..

baby, same timing at 7-9pm? yeah..its at SCGS if i remember correctly....

hmm.. not sure if a good armchair is a must hv to bf... but for me ..i need it to get some decent sleep now! haha.... hb very concerned tht i m not sleeping well n getting enuff rest.. very scared i get pre natal blues!

u almost completed ur shopping already?

i still hv some small items like thermometer, the pigeon teat sponge cleaner, night lamp for bb room, and a wall fan... but too lazy to go out ...will ask hb to settle them...

mummies... do we need to buy cot musical mobile now ..or still ok to buy when babies are about 1 mth old?

coz 1st mth bb sleep alot ...will there be a need for it so early?

Baby - looks like you've decided not to get the nursing pillow. In any case, here is the link if you want to see it.

http://www.amazon.com/EZ-2-Nurse-Nursing-Breastfeeding-Pillow-Waterproof/dp/B003ET02NE/ref=pd_sbs_ba_1

I will still be getting it cuz its more mobile, can bf on the bed in the room, or on the couch. don't think i'll get an armchair cuz firstly my house absolutely has no more space for more furniture! And also, for armchair, you will need someone to help you remove the babies. If want to bf them on your own, then couch will be better cuz you can take the baby from the couch beside you and put them down there.

But I admit the idea of an armchair sounds really nice, especially for resting! well... maybe when i have a bigger house next time!

Also read that a firm nursing pillow important to support baby at the right angle so that they are not more prone to reflux or colic. Maybe will ask Mrs Wong about it at class this weekend lah. see what she advises.

panda,
not neccessary for cot mobile now. can wait and see one mth got anybody give as present or not :p

newborn they won't be able to focus on it anyway so it really doesn't serve any purpose then.

Working wife
The pillow looks so useful.. Hmm.. Im abit tempted leh.. Hee
Usually for bf pillow.. Its easier to bf while sitting on a couch right? If use this pillow i dont think one seater armchair can accomodate this pillow...

Panda
I did most of the shopping liao.. Storage also buy liao..
Left some small items.. Like sponge cleaner.. Thou i already had brush that comes with the steriliser.. Maternity pads.. Etc
As for cots.. I will go settle this wkend...
I also intend to get a standing lamp for bb room.. Will go get it at ikea

For newborn babies, how do we fix the baby to the car seat? I have not check out on car seat, but think I saw car seat with basket (for newborn) or stroller that comes with a basket...

Any clue on what to look out for when buying car seat for infant?

baby, i m looking for wall mount kind of night lamp.. save space in bb room.... din see anything suitable when i was at ikea..

oohhh.. almost forgot..i need to get a set of baby monitor tooo....... i tink can buy after 1st mth...since they will sleep in our room during tht mth.....

Panda
I saw some v cute wall lamps at ikea.. I saw one that is flower shape one.. V sweet... But more for girl girl lah.. U got combi so maybe not so suitable...
Hmm.. Ya hor.. Standing lamp will take up space... Hmm.. But i saw one that is v thin one... Then can choose the top lamp pattern...

I already got the avent monitor at taka fair... Or u can wait for people to buy as full mth gift... And dont buy mobile musical cot now.. Cos im sure full mth u will get it frm yr frds.. Somemore during first mth.. Baby dont need them.. Its pose as a hazard also.. Imagine it drop on the bb.. When bb still so small and fragile... Wait till they are bigger...

I definitely not gng for the dr talk cos i rem my hubby will not be in sin that period.. So no need to think liao hee...

Panda,
I feel that baby monitor is not necessary. Was contemplating buying it when I had #1. BUt someone told me its not required de so I didnt buy and true enug, I dun need it at all cos u wont leave ur babies too far away from u de. If they cry, u surely will hear them too.

Re: Musical Mobile
Can wait for baby shower. Most of the time frens will ask what u want de. Just shop for it and write down ur wants list then tell them can le.. My frens asked me what I wanted. Else ask them to give u gift vouchers then u go buy it yourself. Better this way then can save $$ too. But of cos for me, my frens ask me what I wanted la. Unless ur frens are those who wont ask de.. The same goes for car seats, milk warmers, at times even strollers too. so if never buy enug nvm, when frens ask and if many people sharing, then can ask for more ex stuff lor.

baby, i dun like the flower shape kind leh.. haha.. i saw when i was there.. comes in two designs if i recall correctly...

i hv an ikea standing lamp in my bedroom, the stand itself is very thin..but the base of the stand takes up space... n also when cleaning floor, need to move it here and there.. on the wall easier.. thts y i will fix wall fan in the room too...

hb wanna get video monitor.. basic set for summer infant costs almost $500 here.. dun tink anyone will buy such expensive gift! haha...

i will get the cot mobile after 1st mth.. coz it seems bb will outgrow it quite soon too..hehe.. max 5mths, they know how to grab things..then hv to remove it...

i wanna attend the talk coz it also covers in laws conflicts..LOL.. want hb to listen n help me deal w mil when she is helping us to babysit! :p

tickles, i also tink no need video monitor..but hb insists... we wanna train the babies to sleep on their own... so after 1st mth, all go to bb room... n he wants a portable monitor so tht we can see them from any part of the house....

Panda,
I LOL when I read your posting abt putting cement on your face.. u damn kua zhang lor. I see your pics looks ok what.. still very pretty..
*Give me a treat hor* wahahaha! But lately really hard to slp thru the night..

I told u right,? I did a 3D scan.. I compare with my #1's 3D scan, then my hub say, oh no, the nose looks flatter. wahaha! I did my #1's 3D at 8m and #2's 3D at 7m, so maybe still not as develop yet. Shall do it again next month since mine is free de. No extra charge. Then if can take a good one @ a good angle then I take 4D that comes with a disc.

My girl is 1.1kg at 28weeks. Then I gain 1.9kg in the past 1m. Total weight gain is 7.9kg..

Panda,
I dunno abt other babies. But my musical mobile was there till I transfer my girl to her kiddo bed leh. Its works wonders for me. My girl always become very drowsy after hearing the music. But of cos when she's bigger like 1 year plus, she learns how to on and off the musical mobile and thats when we know she wake up liao. But we dun bother just act that we are still slpin, after a while she will go back to slp again.

Huh? Then how many monitors u need? Just ask for vouchers from frens lor. Then can at least sponsor part of the monitor?

Panda,
btw hor, 5m still cannot grab la.. Unless they can stand up le. Cos u need to also adjust your cot level de ma. Once they can flip, need to adjust 1 level down le..

Panda
Oh i dont like the flower design ah.. I find it v cute and sweet..
But i prefer standing lamp cos usually wall lamp not v bright.. I thought of using the lamp to check on bb during the nite and feeding...

Arrghh.. Im so hungry now.. Waiting for hubby to come bk.. Will go comp pt to eat sakae sushi... Yummy.. Hee...

tickles.. no problem lah! hahaah.. we shld meet up one of these days!

ur hb very cute leh.. after u take the 4D pic, must share share..wanna see ur princess too!

dun talk about weight gain, i m totally sad... last mth i ate so much fast food, i gain 6kg...this mth i change to all healthy diet n no fast food for 1 whole mth, i put on 5kg.... i was telling ning, like tht i might as well continue to eat fast food! hahaha.. she laugh at me n says if i eat ...i will gain even more weight lor....

i tink all my weight gain went to my thighs n calves leh...coz i feel tht they are very heavy now....

i only need 1 monitor.. coz day time alot of pple in the house.. can manage...but at night when my parents go home.. my hb says we can check on the babies via the monitor .. so we can be in the kitchen, or living room/bedroom.. n still hv access to whts going on in the bb room...

wah..if can use until so long like ur ger..i will need 3 mobiles...hehe..is tht a happy problem?

baby, brightness of the lamp depends on the kind of bulb tht u use.... n night lamp suppose to be dim so tht baby will drink milk n go back to sleep easily......

i m becoming too lazy to eat out! haha.. dun wanna leave the comfort of my sofa to just hv a meal....

Panda,
yaya.. we should meet up one of these days..
Maybe try to fix a day when we both meet to go Paragon for check up.

4D hor is in CD one. Can see movements de.. I think its not pics/photos types.. Cos I rem I saw my fren's 4d and can see the baby's movements.

Ya.. u will need 3 mobiles.. Its a happy prob.. Erm.. My girl loves her mobile and best part is it makes her drowsy and slp at night.. Just put her in her cot, turn off the lights and on the mobile can liao. After a while, u peep at her, she's aslp le.. If gt mobile then no need night light le. cos mobile will have lights de..

Oh, ur parents will go home during ur confinement arh? Then at night u and hub will be very siong leh..

tickles, i dun go paragon on wkends..hehe.. unless u hv wkdays appt....

no.. confinement my parents n mil will all camp over... after tht.. at night will be just mil staying.. until babies wean off night feeds... so i tink can get the monitor after my confinement... no need to buy now.. so the warranty starts later..keke....

oohhh.. then must see 3D scan pic liao..kekek.. since u will be doing both....

i noticed not all mobiles comes with lights.. tht means must buy one tht has tht feature......